You are here: HomeNews2014 02 26Article 301852

Analyst asks: Does Mahama understand elementary economics?

Read Comments Comments (85)

• Patapaa 10 years ago

Bad leadership in Ghana was started by Nkrumah. In fact all our problems started with him. Nkrumah was a dictator and very ambitious. He introduced one party rule in Ghana and made himself life president. He was neither carin ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

MAHAMA HIMSELF, TODAY, HAS VINDICATED ME. HOW COULD IMPOVERISHED GHANAINS REJECT FREE SHS??? NOW LOOK AT WHAT MAHAMA HAS DONE TO THE ECONOMY AND OUT OF DISGRACE, NOW TALKING ABOUT FREE SHS. I STILL STAND BY MY WORD, THAT, GHA ...

• Son of Ghana 10 years ago

Go and get educated

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

CHANGE IS IMMINENT!
    "There are 31,530,000 seconds in a year, a thousand milliseconds in a second, a million microseconds, and a billion nanoseconds.
    The one constant connecting nanoseconds to years is change. The universe, ...

• dan 10 years ago

god help us with mahama foolish voodo economic of tax and spend govrenment while all ghana people are suffring

Nobody can hide the light and true destiny of the great nation of Akan. they use all kinds of schemes and tricks to undermine or deny a proper standard to us but we shall never surrender. we shall change and adapt as like the ...

• Iman Erskine 10 years ago

NNo, no, no. Stop bashing the good people of Ghana. It's the NDC thuggery.
    The Election was stolen period. Afari Gyan i8s ready to leave/retire. HE made sure he got his corrupt millions
    and steal the elections for the part ...

• ADWEN 10 years ago

No vision, no plan. MAHAMA does understand nor practice even a single economic principle beside only principle of amassing wealth for himself and his cronies.
    MAHAMA doesn't care how many Ghanaians dies because of his incomp ...

• Samuel 10 years ago

.. Everytime u hear such unintelligent, confused, brainless, one-sided, completely foolih snd bias comments by so-called Professors and Analysts, THEY ALMOST ALWAYS ARE ASHANTIS.

Why are these people so mischievous and jus ...

• Who cares 10 years ago

Ewe half human being be quiet

• Akwesi Bongye 10 years ago

You are just been political.

• GHANA FIRST 10 years ago

Akwesi, please lets face the reality, thats exactly whats happening, the Prof is right

• GEORGE 10 years ago

So called professor, bring out your own state of the nations address and see if people would not find many loopholes in it. You are just a rented Ashanti/Akyem prof.

• Son of Ghana 10 years ago

That is all you have got in your head. Tribal bullshit. The prof is right. Mahama thinks the Cedi fall was by dwarfs. What a joke.

• George II 10 years ago

GEORGE, i do not think you understand the Professor. He is not talking about tribalism and what he is saying is true. I think we ghanaians Need civil education to understand what Democracy means. god bless ghana

• Ato John 10 years ago

Thank you George II, we all need to educate those of us that know and understand what is really going on.

For the last 33 years our education system has been gradually bastardised to where it is today. We have become so me ...

• Ghana 4 Ghanaians 10 years ago

This copy & paste professor too. Is the Pres. a supper human being who shd know evrything?

• okofo 10 years ago

It's a sheer stupidity if you still support imcopetency insofar as it's coming from your party in government!!

• okofo 10 years ago

It's a sheer stupidity if you'll still support INCOMPETENCY insofar as it's coming from your party in governemt

• Asem nie 10 years ago

I think this time NDC is going to bring back all the stolen money (Dollars/Euros/Sterling) hidden abroad to fund the free high school education.

• Say the truth 10 years ago

The prof. spoke the truth and you are calling him stupid. I wonder what sense you have got in your head?

• Idiot Akwesi Bongye 10 years ago

Dirty brute, primitive wimp, useless pig with big, smelly mouth, did I hear you right, that the man is a useless Professor? Did you see how you even spelt "useless", as "usless"? So who is useless? Isn't that alone enough pro ...

• Atongo 10 years ago

I am an akonfem dealer and feels insulted by your coments. I have never voted for NDC but now I have no choice but to vote for them. It is better to suffer under Akofem Gov than to bear your arrogance and fullishness.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Your name is nothing but "Atongo". What is fullishness? There is no word like that. The word is "FOOLISHNESS". Free education and still you cannot.... Vote for NDC and the rest of your guinea fowls will fly to Burkina Faso ...

• okofo 10 years ago

Stop this please, the man will be bankrupt!!

• josaa 10 years ago

Well said Prof. This has to do with serious analysis and thinking before one could decide on these fates. John Mahama should know better. But lets see whats happens.

i dont blame anybody but the those who voted for ndc. aaaaahhh, president talking like this, hmmmmmmm, there is danger ahead of Ghana. coup awaits Ghana, lets pray for our dear nation.

• HAWA 10 years ago

THUS ON POINT!

• OSO 10 years ago

Those of us in America, could tell he read what was written for him.There was no sense of sentiment; comparing him to likes of Obama, Slick Willie, Dr Nkrumah nor Rawlings.
    He is just like; as the Bible refers to as the "hir ...

• OSO 10 years ago

What happened to our gold that landed in Turkey? Why should all govt contracts go to the Chinese?
    How is Mahama going to get money to do all those stupid programmes he listed?
    He did not mention how he's going to creat a f ...

• MAJEED KOKUVI AMADIE 10 years ago

I have always called Mahama a thief and a fraud. I always say this governmrnt will only make progress when Mahama apologises to Ghanaians for the lies, false promises and the mess he has put us into. Anything short of this wi ...

• KWAA 10 years ago

The President thinks,Ghanaians have forgotten the hardships they are facing right now.Hence all this promises of free education,building of infrastucture.
    Some workers have not been paid for years,there is water shortages ev ...

• Kweku 10 years ago

YOU ARE CHURNING OUT CHAFF FROM YOUR FACULTIES. TEACHING THEM ONLY HOW TO STEAL. FOOL.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Tell us anything new that Mahama said that makes sense? He is just whitewashing a dirty wall to make it look new. Look at the people around Mahama and that tells you why he cannot deliver. Those around him have no sense when ...

• OSO 10 years ago

Kweku, you have the same mind-set as your president and y'all will amount to nothing.Shame on you and your ignorance!

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Most Ghanaians are like a girl who is being "words" by her new boy friend. The boy will say whatever to get the legs open them to "hell with you". How many times has the president said that Ghanaians have short memories? ...

• BRONI ANTWI 10 years ago

YAO AKUFFO, WHAT IS THIS SO CALLED PROF IS TALKING ABOUT? ONE DOES NOT NEED MOMEY BEFORE HE THINK ABOUT AN IDEA.PROF. PLEASE GIVE US A BREAK

• okofo 10 years ago

Bring your own analysis out in the open if any, otherwise, the Professor's own remains superior!!!

• mky 10 years ago

Richard Amoako Baah is a mealy-mouth partisan hack who takes immense delight in ridiculing everything that the President says.....he seems to me to be obsess with Mahama and in doing so, he Amoako demonstrates a stunning lack ...

• Mentalist 10 years ago

The Prof simply said that Mahama's notions do not pass the test of common sense which is the basic feasibility measure of ideas. Unless you present a more transcendent perspective detailing why his supporting arguments are fa ...

• mky 10 years ago

My 'transcendent perspective' to use your rather convoluted phrase, was laid out in my earlier comments....at the pain of sounding redundant, let me indulge you again, however briefly....the current slump we are in isn't a re ...

• Mentalist 10 years ago

Unfortunately your response to the assertion that there doesn't seem to be the resources to undertake the propose projects of Mahama in light of current begging priorities which have not been met falls short of cogency. You s ...

• mky 10 years ago

You of the strong mind; I did not admit it, rather I trenchantly stated that the economic is in a slump......temporary negative economic growth....it is not in a recession I reiterate....a full scale onslaught of negative eco ...

• Mentalist 10 years ago

Oh! So you really have nothing to say but out of "gall" for those who dare to challenge the president to do better than citing past economic hardships as reason for Ghanaians to accept their current woes, you are ready to for ...

• Kafu 10 years ago

Political science lecturer talking about economics? what does this man know about economics.Pontificating on economic issues that he knows nothing about.sorry man!

SOME THESE GOOD FOR NOTHING PROFESSORS ARE ARE VERY IRITATING TO SOCIETY. YOU WHO CLAIMS TO KNOW ECONOMICS WHAT CAN U POINT TO AS A MEANING FUL CONTRIBUTION TO SOCIETY OR THE ECONOMY OF GHANA. WE KNOW TRUE PPROFESSORS IN OTHE ...

• Garth 10 years ago

this is the worst govt we have known since independence, and also the most corrupt and yet he keeps lying to us. Contractors haven`t been paid, every thing is in a mess, our streets are so dirty, oh God where is he leading us ...

• Akua 10 years ago

Useless write-up. The Prof is just doing the hatchet job for the NPP to come to power and loot. GHANAIANS DON'T HAVE SHORT MEMORIES. THIS PROF WILL NEVER SEE ANYTHING GOOD IN THE MAHAMA GOVT. WHAT DID NPP DO FROM 2001 TO 2008 ...

• Kwesi Gyan 10 years ago

Prof, I disagree with you and millions of Ghanaians do disagree with you. Fr the first time in the history of this Nation, the Minority Leader acknowledged that our President got it right. And he did in so many respects. The ...

• KWADWO A 10 years ago

Prof. can you tell us which country are contractors paid before work is initiated?

• Kwasi 10 years ago

Mahama was just campaining 4 the 2016 Election ,Oye Aboa piiii.

• Big Jay 10 years ago

Prof. Richard Amoako Baah, I agree with you in to to. John Mahama can best be described as a 'Talk man.' There was no substance in the state of the nation address delivered yesterday. It was mere rhetoric devoid of any econom ...

• Ganyo 10 years ago

It is easy to sit in the sheltered confines of the university and take potshots at the president. I guess this guy was dumb during the eight year misrule of the NPP and only just gained the ability to speak. Every dingbat thi ...

• KWEKU BAWUAH,ONTARIO-CANADA 10 years ago

THIS PRESIDENT IS SIMPLY BAD NEWS FOR GHANAIANS.HE IS FULL OF INCOMPETENCE, DECEIT,LIES AND FLATTERY AND PEOPLE DO NOT SEEM TO REALIZE IT FROM HIS DRY JOKES ABOUT GHANAIANS AND THE ECONOMY.HE IS TAKING GHANAIANS FOR GRANTED A ...

• GHANABASE 10 years ago

John Mahama failed in his o'levels economics when we were in school.. John Mahama will read anything out without understanding what he is saying.
    If talking is economics John Mahama will have masters degree yesterday at pali ...

• Baba 10 years ago

Pedestrian ideas by a Prof. No wonder the country universities are churning out a lot of chaff.

• Profiler 10 years ago

All the Prof is saying is that Mahama's ideas do not pass the simple common sense test, which is the basic way of determining the feasibility of an idea. Unless you present a more sublime perspective on how Mahama's promises ...

• Songna-chebe 10 years ago

Dr. Baah is a Jack Ass. If he thinks he knows what he JM should have said state it. As a Professor or Dr. you are being trained to analysis any situation and point to the mistakes. Because you do not want to commit yoursel ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

Three economists and three mathematicians were going for a trip by train. Before the journey, the mathematicians bought 3 tickets but economists only bought one. The mathematicians were glad their stupid colleagues were going ...

• EDENSU 10 years ago

Things fall apart when the centre cannot hold. The Government is unable to pay contractors for job done, pay subventions to Schools, the School feeding programe is in disarray, NHIS is not funtioning properly as planned, the ...

• George 10 years ago

A very stupid useless professor. It is because of you retarded idiots that we are where we are. Until you dirty fools stop such tribal politics, Ghana would continue in this directions. Look at his diert ugly face! A dirty tr ...

• Woara 10 years ago

FOR STUPID, USELESS,RETARDED, IDIOTS, DIRTY FOOLS UGLY......WILL SUGGEST YOU LOOK IN THAT SMALLL MIRROR

• Lord Pogas 10 years ago

Prof. kudos for i don,t see anything good that this current government can offer to the people of Ghana. Most of the statutory obligations have not been honoured,even subventions to S H S have not been paid, how is he going t ...

• HONESTY 10 years ago

What this so called Political Science professor is saying is not different from what someone who studied Government at SHS/WASSCE level will say. Professor my foot!!

• IMAT 10 years ago

Political NPP Professor, We know the likes of you. Tweaa Professor, who see nothing good in What the president says. Perhaps he is even running down the small political science department given to him. A disgrace to academia. ...

• Quiii 10 years ago

all Mahama understand is advance bottomatrics

• OBOSHIE 10 years ago

I WONDER

• check your facts 10 years ago

Professor he knows basic economics. He also knows the level of stupidity of some Ghanaians. Many vote because of tribal sentiments. A lot vote because of the GHC% they value their votes at. So he is doing what will win him th ...

• FA 10 years ago

EVEN HE LACK PRIMARY ECOMINI

• DEDE, AYAWASO 10 years ago

DOES THE FAKE PROF AMOAKO UNDERSTANDS BASIC -A B C ABOUT RESPECT AND ETIQUETTE?. PROF AMOAKO APPEARS A LAUGHING STOCK. NO WONDER STUDENTS FROM KWAME NKRUMAH UNI OF TECHNOLOGY ARE SERIOUSLY UNDERACHIEVING BECAUSE THEY TOUGHT B ...

• Prof Dee 10 years ago

I'm now convinced that ghana is in serious crisis. To have a prez reduced to racking jokes with serious matters such as a state of the nation address is the height of absurdity...... The whole delivery is nothing short of lit ...

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

DR BAAH IS AN ILLITERATE. PRESIDENTIAL ADDRESS ESPOUSES HOPE AND ASPIRATIONS. IT IS NOT A TEXT-BOOK ON ECONOMICS. ANYONE WHO SEES OTHERWISE IS EITHER NAIVE, IGNORANT OR SIMPLY MISCHIEVOUS AND DR BAAH IS ALL OF THESE.

• NANA YAW 10 years ago

Ebenezer Afanyi Dadzie should have pressed the prof. to explain what constitutes elementary economics. We want to see examples of elementary economics. In the land of the blind, the one-eye Cyclop, Amoako Baah, is a giant.
    H ...

• dan 10 years ago

EVERY DAY THIS MAN IS IN OFFICE GHANA IS GOING BACKWARD AND DESTROYED

• MANKIND 10 years ago

WHAT HAS HE PRODUCED FOR THIS COUNTRY. IS THIS THE WAY FOR A PROFESSOR OF POLITICS DOES HIS ANALYSIS? THIS IS SHEER PARTISAN ANALYSIS. HE SHOULD RATHER PRODUCE GOOD POLITICAL SCIENCE GRADUATES TO LOOK INTO OUR CONFRONTING DIF ...

• Say the truth 10 years ago

Mahama is a joker who needs to be with the concert party. How can one give chicken to his family everyday whiles he cannot afford "nsesaawa" (keta school boys) once a week? He makes mockery the position of presidency.

• TEE 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS UNFIT FOR PRESIDENCY. USELESS AIMLESS HOPELESS IDEALESS VISIONLESS CLUELESS LEADERLESS INCOMPETENT. MAHAMA MUST BE IMPEACH PERIOD

• Yaw 10 years ago

This so-called professor again? Does he understand political science?

• KWAKU ASUMAH 10 years ago

A good many observers have remarked that if God fearing, opened, trusted and uncorrupted leaders (politicians) could come at once the NDC would not be ready for it. I submit that the NPP are even more unprepared. Moral princi ...

• Samuel 10 years ago

Everytime u hear such unintelligent, confused, brainless, one-sided, completely foolih snd bias comments by so-called Professors and Analysts, THEY ALMOST ALWAYS ARE ASHANTIS.

Why are these people so mischievous and just c ...

• Akomadan Adjei Nkansah Belgium 10 years ago

CRIMINAL,CORRUPT MAHAMA CAN NOT GET IT,MAHAMA IS AN ASSHOLE,INCOMPENTE,EMPTY HEAD,

• Kwesi Pratt 10 years ago

I've said time without number, that Mahama is a very clueless President, who lacks focus and direction. His State of the Nation Address is completely bogus, deeply confirming my stand, since he assumed office last year. Prof ...

• Lopez 10 years ago

This TalkTalk president is just a waste of our precious time. I only blame some Ghanaians who vote based on tribal lines instead of real issues even some educated ones who should know better just vote without their conscience ...

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

WHY FROM THIS BUSH PROFESSOR.

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

Prof you've hit the nail right on the head. Mahama and his advisers are all incompetent and living off tax payers money.