You are here: HomeNews2014 02 24Article 301640

We have better universities in Nigeria than Ghana - Abike Dabiri

Read Comments Comments (64)

• MATIGARI 10 years ago

...JUST AS WE HAVE MANY MORE BAD UNIVERSITIES IN NIGERIA THAN WE DO HAVE IN GHANA.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

If not because we have an incompetent, corrupt, thievery, liars, deceitful and dishonest idiots NDC who call themselves politicians holding our national progress at a reserve position, Ghana had never had a bad
    educational s ...

• creation 10 years ago

SGT Anani Fiadzo, please tell me how many government institutions (universities) are categorized bad if not some private ones. Apart from CPP government what other government built universities in Ghana if not the NDC. How ma ...

• SHAMO 10 years ago

TELL THAT NAIJA WOMEN THAT SHE SHOULD SHUT UP AND EVEN THANK GHANA FOR HELPING HER OVER POPULATED UNDER GRADUATES! IF NIGERIANS HAVE BEST UNIVERSITIES WHY THEN ARE OVER 3,000 NIGERIANS STRUGGLING TO COME HERE? MADAM SHUT UP A ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

THEY R ALLERGIC TO CHANGE AND INNOVATION. THEY THINK EVERYTHING WILL STAY THE SAME FOREVER. VERY LAZY....IN THIS DAY AND AGE. EACH REGION IN GH SHOULD HVE A POLY AND UNIVERSITY, BUT LOOK?....

• MAMA GHANA FOR NIJA 10 years ago

"briefed that about 3,000 Nigerians were studying in the university,"

This is too much for Ghana to bear, we the tax payer CAN NOT CONTINUE WITH THIS

• ROOCK 10 years ago

If Ghana want to continue to dominate his supremacy in Educational arena in west Africa,then i think is time we take crepes with our accreditation system.

• Esi 10 years ago

This is pathetic that Legon alone have 3,000 Nigerian students. How many Ghanaians do they admit during each academic year? Denying Ghanaians of higher education because of their greediness of earning dollars into their selfi ...

• Daniel Kwadwo Bimpeh 10 years ago

Why Educating Nigerians and denying Ghanaians the university Education here in Ghana?

• Daniel Kwadwo Bimpeh 10 years ago

Why Educating Nigerians and denying Ghanaians the university Education here in Ghana?

• Johnson Adjei 10 years ago

Esi, you read or can understand what is being told. it is said 3,000 Nigerian attend higher education in Ghana. They did not mention Legon as higher education these Nigerians only attend. But your thinking cap on before you s ...

• okofo 10 years ago

You're insulting somebody out of your ignorance. Go back to read the article and locate the paragraph below:

"Meeting the Vice-Chancellor of the University od Ghana, Professor Enerst Aryeetey, the House Committee [WAS] bri ...

• Fati 10 years ago

How u seen Ghanaians leaving Ghana to study in naija.Tofiakpa.Why are 1000s of nigerians trooping to ghana for studies?Abike come again.Ghanaians speak correct Eglish,dont forget.

• Victor 10 years ago

These mushroom universities springing up in Accra are the works of 'good for Nothing' ndc government. Any decent country will not have such inferior institutions under their educational umbrella. Judge what these students cou ...

• DESSY,toronto 10 years ago

i dont think you nknow of any westthern private institutions..HAVARD UNIVERSITY,BOSTON,was started by black people the same way as private universityies in ghana..now, look at the boston university..it has to start from some ...

• Nana Peace 10 years ago

Saying ghanaians speak better English is like saying ghanaians are better slaves. Has a ghanaian ever won a noble prize with that english? Tofiakpa, no! Yes, we know they are better slaves. Gaining admission in ghanaian unive ...

• KJVIE 10 years ago

THE SITUATION SPEAKS FOR ITSELF.

• Nana Osie Tutu Akufo Ado Cocain 10 years ago

There is no doubt fact that Nigeria is richer than ghana so can afford flashy campuses. but what do they come out with? Criminals, amred robbers. they simply dont know anything. infact their tenses of english knows no past an ...

• COS 90 10 years ago

Nigerians will go to school for years but when it comes to write de final exams, there are two ways to pass: 1) they buy the questions in advance and 2) the buy the certificates. Eg. if there are 20 nigerian graduate only thr ...

• samuel 10 years ago

where is akuffo addo certificate . if ghana education is not good it some of the npp bad leaders.

• Kofi Arkoh 10 years ago

The National Accreditation Board is disgracing Ghana. Any idiot applies to start a tertiary institution and they are issued a permit to run university programmes without any serious due diligence, as if issuing permits is the ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Because we have useless, hopeless, ungovernable politicians who robbed the
    majority people of this country for their own selfish interest, how can our country under such a crook have a better University in our country?

• Tete 10 years ago

If that is the case, why are you doing here in Ghana. Get back to your anago land and study for your fake degrees.

You are not needed in this country.

• adams fatauh 10 years ago

is it true that in Nigeria there is a university been run by a professor who teaches students how to do 419 and sakawa frauds? we are told that graduates are given degrees in cyber frauds and what not. to me Nigeria has a qua ...

• Serwaah Akoto 10 years ago

The National Accreditation Board stop dragging the good name of Ghana into disrepute by immediately shutting down all educational facilities found to be below standard! Enough of the nonsense!

• Sunday 10 years ago

In as much as I would not agree entirely with the Nigeria delegations, I must say that, some of the so called University in Ghana is not even up to the standard of a secondary school. I remembered reading about one of such un ...

• Abimbowe Ololade 10 years ago

Many Universities in GHANA have good structures and are recognised by Nigeria e.g. University of Ghana,Legon and Kwame Nkurumah University,Kumasi. Let's face fact, Lawmakers and rich people in Nigeria should have a rethink. s ...

• goodman 10 years ago

Ghana Universities provide quality teaching and learning than their Nigerian counterparts. That is the reason why most of the students prefer Ghanaian Universities to that of Nigeria.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

do you think the corrupt accrediting body is doing a good job?

• Kwabean Yeboah 10 years ago

I could agree more with the observation that some of these so called universities are no better than many junior secondary schools in Ghana. If Ghanaian institutions want to cash in on the shortage of university places in Nig ...

• LUKEMAN 10 years ago

My dear Nigerians even when you finish your education, work in Ghana. We love you

• JustWantToBE 10 years ago

Nigeria is more endowed with more natural and human resources and can do better than Ghana. Their students do not need to study in Ghana. Ghanaian educational credentials are simply not better than that of Nigeria. As for ele ...

Why are you contradicting yourself so much? What should Ghana learn from Nigeria? With the enormous resources of Nigeria, it should be attracting students from all over Africa if it got its acts right.

• Profiler 10 years ago

International students invariably pay more than local students. In fact, even within the same country, USA, and Canada (I do not know about other countries), a student who attends college/university outside their home state, ...

• Nyemi Tei 10 years ago

The teaching and learning facilities in most of these so called universities are nothing to write home about! I'm a Ghanaian but that doesn't mean I must close my eyes to the rubbish these institutions are calling universitie ...

• no problem 10 years ago

if u claim u hv better university than Ghana y du u leave ur fake degree and send ur children here to study. am sure even "U'u hv ur child in Ghana for a quilified degree. idiots com take all ur children tu boko haram

• The mask 10 years ago

The state of the Universities in Nigeria should not be of concern to us.

he university of Ghana - Legon which is the premier university in Ghana sadly today does not appear in the top 500 universities in this world. Everyt ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

you forgot faculty qualifications... too many fake degrees

• BIRAHMA 10 years ago

One cannot say that all the universities in Nigeria are better than those in Ghana and vice versa.So the Nigeria govt should allow the students to make their choice.After all there are a lot of Ghanaians in higher places who ...

• Mr. Questions 10 years ago

THESE ARE 2 COUNTRIES WITH VERY VERY CORRUPT SYSTEMS.

IN BOTH COUNTRIES, PEOPLE SURVIVE ON CORRUPTION. CORRUPTION RUNS DEEP ... FROM THE PRESIDENCY TO THE FLOOR CLEANER AT HOSPITALS/CLINICS; PLUS LABORERS. WE SEE SAME A ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

If NIGERIANS are complaining of bad conditions of some GHANAIAN UNIVERSITIES,I WOULD ADVISE THEM TO STAY IN NIGERIA AND RECEIVE THEIR EDUCATION THERE.

GHANA IS FACING POPULATION EXPLOSION NOW,THEREFORE SHE DOESN'T NEED NIG ...

• GAK 10 years ago

Interestingly, some of the unis mentioned are owned by corrupt Nigerians who connived with the National accreditation Board to be accredited.

The authorities in Ghana have to be vigilant and fish out these so called mushr ...

• mubarik abdallah (Accra) 10 years ago

NIGERIANS ARE FOUND OF BRAGGING ABOUT EVERYTHING OF THEIRS WHICH ARE BETTER THAT OURS HERE IN GHANA,BUT STILL TROOPING IN FOR EVERYTHING WE HAVE

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

It is not only funny but a seriously flawed conclusion to come out of the mouth of a so-called educated Nigerian. Nigeria, like Ghana, has been in the grips of corrupt, contemptible and morally bankrupt leadership since our r ...

• CONTEMNOR 10 years ago

ACO NOW!! WHERE THE DESCENDANTS OF GREAT DR. KOFI ABREFA BUSIA (BEST UNIVERSITY SCHOLAR IN AFRICA). SACK THESE ALATA BASTARDS TO AGEGE, AJUNGLE, DELTA, AND KANO TO DO BOKO HARAM. THEY BETTER SHUP UP AND ENJOY GHANA- THE STAR ...

• P Otu 10 years ago

If the students population of one university is 99.9 percent Nigerians then you need to question yourself why there are only 0.1 percent of other nationals or Ghanaians there?

• Awurade kasa 10 years ago

Hon who????. These people lie about anything and everything. I know of over 200 students in a class with no loudspeakers in a Nigerian University.
    Girls pay for hotel rooms and wait for lectures there to exhange sex for pass ...

• Awurade kasa 10 years ago

BETTER UNIVERSITIES IN NIGERIA MY ASS.
    Who is thus unknown 419 politician?.
    Honorable with fake credentials from the university of Boko Haram. Mumu !,

• Kanawu 10 years ago

I have reserved my comments for round two? Look at these comments before I come back
    What makes a university better than another? Whose fault when this happens?

• Kanawu 10 years ago

Nigerians may be right

• Jojo 10 years ago

WHETHER BETTER UNIVERSITIES IN NIGERIA THAN GHANA,THE ECONOMY OF NIGERIA AND GHANA REMAINS LARGELY DEPENDENT ON EXPORT OF RAW MATERIALS AND BUYING AND SELLING.

WHAT A SHAME.

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Nigerians are a huge force that could have exploited avenues upon avenues to have made it really big.
    These guys had the opportunity very early,to have turned their country into an ECONOMIC POWERHOUSE AND INDUSTRIAL HUB.
    TH ...

• makamaka 10 years ago

There are several FOREIGN MUSHROOM UNIVERSITIES IN GHANA....they operated by foreigners. THEY ARE CURRENCY TARFFICKING POSTS and must be disbanded from operation immediately

• KWASI IN EUROPE 10 years ago

What you have written even shows that you are not well cooked. No intellectual will write and insult. Nigerians with Ghana Certificates are kings in the world. Ask your lecturers.

• W3 10 years ago

NEPA - constant power failure

• W3 10 years ago

Problems solved. Unis and churches are good businesses

• W3 10 years ago

Nigerian pastors are milking Gh poor

• Oghenero 10 years ago

Something about Nigeria people don't know is this; they are widely spread and can do anything to get to their potential not even the government or their parents can stop them.. Born to dominate; if you leave outside Africa u ...

• bamidele 10 years ago

yes madam abike , it is tru but how certificate der is bad @ pls we want d minster for education in nigeria to pls do well @ help us establish some

• WHY COMPARE YOURSELT TO GHANA? 10 years ago

We are just 24 million people but there is there 130 million useless people who always want to compare themselves to us. What is this?

• DESSY,toronto 10 years ago

i am totally disagree with this former minister..price to pay becoming a foreign student is huge..it is everywhere,cost of tuition,could be 3x and citizens,cost of health will be the same..renewal of visa fee..could be as int ...

• Igp 10 years ago

The Nigerian delegation raised very good questions concerning the supposedly Indian "Legon" called Sikkim Manipal University. Who is giving accreditation to a one structured premise to be called university in Ghana? A case of ...

• NIGERIAN BOY 10 years ago

My dear good people of Ghana. Please ignore what that useless woman called Abike Dabire said. She is known to be a prostitute who sleeps with anything that has prick.

• NIGERIAN BOY 10 years ago

hahahahaha In nigeria, male students are either armed robbers or cultists, while the female are prostitutes! chei, Omo naija generator republic. hahahahahaha shitnigeria I wish I could post pictures of nigerian universities. ...