You are here: HomeNews2014 02 23Article 301542

Listen to people in academia – Frimpong Boateng tells Politicians

Read Comments Comments (84)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

The Alliance for Accountable Governance (AFAG) has in a statement described the Mahama-led administration as a “crassly incompetent and bereft government”.

They also called on Ghanaians to stand up and “seek our hope ...

• Oakman 10 years ago

A word to a wise is enough, if and only if JOHN MAMA and his ministers will listen and engage the learned men and women, then our problems would be solved; on the other hand, if he continues on the same path which has brought ...

• nd 10 years ago

Every country once in a while undergoes some problems especially economic. USA, the UK, Italy and Germany have experienced this before. Currently many countries in Europe like Italy, Portugal and Spain are experiencing econom ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

They even talk about this in their countries. They can see what is affecting us more than our own people can see, sad.

It is sad, in our worst moments, we are so good at destroying ourselves.

The world will drag itself ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

WE HAVE NEVER HAD SUCH A BOOM IN OUR EXPORTS AS COMPARED TO THE LAST NDC'S 5 YEARS, BACKED BY OIL REVENUE. THE REASON FOR GHANA'S PREDICAMENT, TODAY, IS NOT FAR FETCHED;------WOYOMISATION, ANKOFEMISATION, SUBAH, GYEEDA, CP, ...

• Adom 10 years ago

Prof Boateng should be telling us about the Equipment that was stolen from The Cardio centre when he was head. It was rumoured that he knew about the theft. What surprises me is you only hear these pseudo intellectuals loudes ...

2000 years of Akan glorious history can not be replaced by 50 just because ndc , nkrumah pepeni and ayigbe criminals say so or want it so. Today i listen to my psalms , hymns and war songs by bob marley and 2pac just like Dav ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

GO AND READ SOME GOOD BOOKS. START WITH THE HISTORY OF WEST AFRICA BY PROF. ADU BOAHEN AND YOU WILL STOP THIS NONSENSE.

TELL ME, DO YOU STILL BELIEVE SOME ASHANTIS CAME FROM THE TREE AND SOME FROM THE BIG HOLE AND OTHERS F ...

• www.owafk-africa.com 10 years ago

7th Edition Free Scholarships for Africa

• BIN LARDEN 10 years ago

Ghana has history of more than 20,000 years if not millions. So, when you talk of two thousand years of Akan history, you may be talking of Akans who came from Sudan and chad. And this are the early immigrants of Akans to Gha ...

• Close Observer 10 years ago

AMASA NAMOALE ( BBC NEWS!!!) You may change your SIGNATURE on this forum because you have been identified, but your foolish trademark will give you up. Remember, you are the only foolish member of parliament who engages in th ...

• ASUNNYJOH 10 years ago

VERY STUPIDMAN WHO ALWAYS SPILL NONSENSE ON THIS WEBSITE.NO MATTER WHAT YOU DO YOU ARE STILL WHAT YOU ARE.WE ARE IN A MODERN WORLD NOW,SO YOU HATRED HAS NO ROOM.BE WISE AND STOP THE TRIBAL HATRED.KWASIA.WHAT IS AKAN HENES?.FO ...

• yag 10 years ago

Insight man ?Glad to let you know that we thePepenis were once your fathers when your ancestors were busy dying at Dodowa forest.Check your DNA it can match. Professor didn't tell you all the history. Do you what goes on when ...

• Adom 10 years ago

I am surprised at you. kuffuor and co stole from Ghana and you are comfortable. You expected akuffo Addo to lead Ghana to war? That wont happen. Sammy Awuku and Perry Okudjeto were the ones at the war front at Obra spot when ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

I think the Professor should use such opportunities to tell his colleagues to show some respect to the ordinary people whose toil and sweat they were educated on. Not much has come out of these institutions except corrupt ind ...

• BIN LARDEN 10 years ago

Who are those academians that Ghana have? does he meant people who discovered that if you drink cow milk you will behave like cow. There is nothing in his idea at all. He still trying to inflict the old wounds of Ghana. All t ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

This diatribe against NDC by AFAG is a blatant example of politics by a group that is myopically looking out for its group interest, and not that of Ghana's.
    The eminent problem with have in our beloved Ghana is dishonesty f ...

• Divine 10 years ago

That group has no credibility!

The truth is just as simple as you have stated it; I don't understand why it is so difficult for people to demand it!

• Kwame Joe. 10 years ago

We won't be deceived most of the time.
    We are becoming more and more discerning,
    thank God for that.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Marcus, thank you. I have said several times that the elite in Ghana are the problems facing us. They think they are above all and sundry and as you said, HONESTY is a foreign word to them.

As soon as they assume office, ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

I'm just enjoying the discernment that is slowly blowing across the plains of Ghana lately. Thank God we are finally travelling that direction.

• TSATSU AGOVE 10 years ago

SO NO ONE SHOULD TALK WHEN THINGS ARE NOT GOING GOOD.ARE WE IN A DIFFERENT WORLD OR WHAT? DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME TO WRITE ANY NONSENSE.DO YOU LIKE WHAT IS GOING ON NOW,NDC ARE NOT BETTER THAN THOSE YOU MENTIONED.LET THEM KNOW ...

• mky 10 years ago

The AFAG is a group of malcontents....the charges being levelled by the group against the government of Mahama are as ridiculous as they are absurd.....corruption sure should be eradicated, but it is the height of hypocrisy a ...

• nd 10 years ago

This is the ideal that politicians ought to listen to knowledge and ideas. But the biggest problem in Ghana is that the academia and the so-called professors are the problem. They are to more political than the politicians.

• ja 10 years ago

Even if they do not demonstrate any analytical and problem solving competences?

• Ato Kwamena 10 years ago

The academics like those at legon who cannot even some the problems at the campuses? The toll booth is on mine mind.

• OKOE 10 years ago

IT DEPENDS ON WHAT THESE PEOPLE SAY. YOU WERE ONCE SEEKING TO BE PRESIDENT, SO, IF YOUR ADVICE IS CLOTHED IN POLITICAL LANGUAGE AND NOT PRODUCTIVE, WHY WOULD ANYBODY LISTEN. MORE PEOPLE CRITICIZE RATHER THAN GIVE THEIR ADVICE ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

We have to do well to destroy this attempt by a group of learned people who think they have all the solutions for Ghana.

Yes, the gov't or politicians must listen to academia but not anymore or less like they should liste ...

• TT Djaasetse 10 years ago

Every voice must be heard from the traders,small business group,students,laborers,military,fishermen to the "kayayo" they all have a voice.Prof.Frimpong Boateng is trying to win the sympathy of the academia in his effort to a ...

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

With respect, Frimpong Boateng is somewhat wrong; better listen to the wise rather than the academic who is often an idiot

- the English colonial master dealt with Ghana's trusted, reliable and wise elders who hadn't read ...

• Ben ofosu 10 years ago

Prof you said it all , but who is listening who .everybody is academia some people are now schooling but they are ministers .

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

Then let's AMEND the constitution...whereby 75% of ALL MINISTERS should be Technocrats in the sections they head as Ministers!
    Many in the Academia are ALSO just "Paper Professors"....NOTHING PRACTICAL to show!!

• Joel Sarpong 10 years ago

Academia - are the repository of wisdom>
    Where did Dr Busia school; what about Ex-Prez Kufour? Ex-Prez Mills? what about President Mahama? Wisdom is not in Books !!! If the academia are men and women of ideas, let them fix t ...

• THE GERMAN FACT 10 years ago

IT HAS BEEN A LONG TIME THEY SHOULD HAVE GONE ON THE STREET TO DEMONSTRATE AGAINST OUR GREEDY LEADERS (POLITICIANS), THEY (STUDENTS) SHOULD HAVE KNOWN THAT THEY HAVE NO FUTURE AFTER THEIR FINAL YEAR, INSTEAD TO DO SOMETHING F ...

• TT Djaasetse 10 years ago

When and if these people in academia make persuasive proposals,suggestions and criticisms surely it will be taken on board.However,if and when they become provocative and inciting then of course they will get a kick in the ba ...

• Baaba 10 years ago

Much as I admire this man, I would take this with a bit of caution. Some of those booklong folks are out of touch with the real world. Look at the Legon farce.

• AMB 10 years ago

Prof any examples of pieces of advice given by the academia that have been ignored?

• Cantankerous 10 years ago

Yes Prof but sometimes our academics have their heads buried in their books so much that the get out of touch with the real world and real people.PROF, GHANA HAS ALREADY BEEN DOWN THIS ROAD SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE.ACADEMICS ARE ...

• Tweeaaaaa!!! 10 years ago

What has academics really brought to Africa?
    So many Phd's, masters and all the other none sense niggers pride themselves in having because some pink creature said so.They even look down on their brothers if they aren't on t ...

• HAWA YAKUBU 10 years ago

There should be an advisory group of University lectures(academia) and they will meet each year to brief the President on national issues. And I am sure the president will take their advise very serious. Party affiliation sho ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Ghana does not feed on principles and issues. They must form a group to see how to create and invent simple tools and technology for the common Ghanaian to use and leave politics to itself. That is the duty of the schools.

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

I whole-heartedly share your view.
    Brings to mind the "kitchen cabinet" in US history.

• FUCK ACADEMIAA 10 years ago

HAHAHHAHHAHA APUTORRRR

• Son of Africa 10 years ago

The next real Problem Comes from None academia like Rawlings,who is a real nuisance in Ghanaian politics.

• Cecil 10 years ago

UNTIL THE UNI GUYS LEAVE THE ISOLATION OF THE CAMPUSES AND BE REAL, THERE IS NO POINT LISTENING TO THEM.
    WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME ANY OF THEM GOT INVOLVED IN ANY USEFUL STUDY OR RESEARCH?
    PROF, YOU KNOW THAT YOUR GERMANY RATH ...

• YOOMOBEGA 10 years ago

The sad fact of the matter is Ghanaians don't put their ideas and visions in writing.
    Whether it is a newspaper article, a schoralry manuscript or a book, what we write must be published for others to see, criticize and impr ...

• peace 10 years ago

the difference between surgery and governance big. we love you as surgeon not as politician more so as npp politician. concentrate on talent as reknowned surgeon

• JANE 10 years ago

THE WORST PERFORMING HEADS OF STATES ACROSS THE THIRD WORLD ARE MEMBERS OF THE ACADEMIA.

EVIDENCE OF THIS IS PLENTIFUL.

CONSIDER THE CLUELESS LATE PROF. DO-LITTLE ATTA-MILLS WHO THOUGHT HIGH FUEL PRICES AND UNBRIDLED TA ...

• Rans F 10 years ago

., your father, husband (if you have any), and all your family members! You may want to do a little 'Googling' about Prof Frimpong Boateng! You may also want to compare the current state of the Korle-Bu Teaching hospital to t ...

• KANE 10 years ago

KWASIA

DO YOU KNOW ME?

AND DO YOU KNOW WHAT CONTRIBUTIONS I HAVE MADE AND CONTINUE TO MAKE TO GHANA AND THE WORLD ECONOMY?

• concerned citizen 10 years ago

U are certainly an angry wanna be ileterate fool from the stables of somalia! How can u imply that his not working outside or winnin the nobel prize implies he is no good? Do u evenn hav a family member who was nominated for ...

• Rans F 10 years ago

You are VERY STUPID and an ILLITERATE! What contributions have you made and continue to make? You reason like a FOOL and anybody with a reasoning power similar to yours cannot contribute anything. I doubt your ability to org ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

These akan's npp motorbikes thieves must give the good people of Ghana a total break, who is eager to know if kwame London addo is coming back or not? Who give a shit damn? Kwame London can go to hell and Ghanaians don't give ...

• Close Observer 10 years ago

Amasa Namoale (also known as BBC NEWS!!!!) You are a bad parliamentarian because of your negative activity. TRIBAL POLITICS IS BAD. As a parliamentarian, you should know better. You were elected to help build GHANA, but you a ...

Who told this street DOG that following me up and down on Ghanaweb in such for a fat big bones i'm a parliamentarian? Who told u idiots so? Or do u think i'm just like that foolish MALI guy Kennedy agyapong who can't talk or ...

• Shegelege 10 years ago

If this professor do-little was good enough, he would have written tons of books in heart surgery, or even micro-/macro-economics for Ghanaian presidents and students to learn from.

Is this professor an Akan? No wonder!!

• Rans F 10 years ago

Just go to Google and find out about Prof Frimpong Boateng. Your display of tribalism has rendered you not only blind but stupid as well. Accordingly, you lack the ability to reason! Fact is, Prof Frimpong Boateng is more tha ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

What has being or NOT AKAN got to do with the suggestion the Prof is making ????? It doesn't look as if Ghana will DEVELOP ORDERLY in the NEXT 50yrs,with TRIBAL IDIOTS like you hanging around!

• Bugov 10 years ago

I completely differ from Prof Boateng. Most of our problems have resulted from impractical theoritical ideas from our professors who have never worked in the real world. They confuse our policy makers, and there are a lot of ...

• Abdul Razak 10 years ago

WELL SAID PROF. BUT HAVE YOU FORGOTTEN THAT THE MOST USELESS LEADER THAT GHANA EVER HAD (JOHN EVANS ATTA-MILLS) WAS A PROFESSOR OF LAW. HE DID NOTHING FOR THE COUNTRY

WHEN THOSE IDIOTS ARROUND HIM ASKED HIM TO JOG TO DECEI ...

• Adom 10 years ago

I doubt if the Ghanaian academia make sense. Those who get to speak only follow their stomach

• Akuafriyie tumpata 10 years ago

Listen to what? Academia? Na our wahala in Ghana. Corrupt academia- they have sucked the the country to the bone. Ouch.

• painkiller 10 years ago

Good words, Prof, but unfortunately we academics haven't had a particularly stellar history of solving development problems when put in the drivers' seat! As the old song-writer said, "...nene booku booku nene korlegi segede ...

• DICKSON 10 years ago

NDC will listen to Solomon NKANSAH and ANITA DESOSO doing their tribalism to divide and rule GHANAIANS instead of COMMON SENSICAL GOOD GOVERNANCE....

• Lord Tennison 10 years ago

Well said.It was going to be my suggestion too.The problem is those disgruntled lecturers who prop up hollow-minded soldiers, who overthrow legitimate governments, to terrorize Ghanaians.By so doing,they have undermined the r ...

• Yawed 10 years ago

How

• Kofi Nti 10 years ago

Of what value is salt which has lost its taste? Worthless. Most university dons have cheapened themselves, lost value and no better than any ordinary man under a pal wine selling tree in my village.
    Simply put most of Frim ...

• Kofi kwame 10 years ago

To say the facts,Is only When Military were ruling Ghana,an Ordinary Ghanian can felt the country is moving forward,why,because there is fear in the system,Kufour ,Mills,Mahama ,they all from The same Useless Universities of ...

• Tweeaaaaa!!! 10 years ago

More universities in town to make our children more stupid and tunnel visioned.
    Why don't we teach our children how to create jobs for themselves rather than study some nonsense that most of the time doesn't work in our syst ...

• KWEKU BAWUAH,ONTARIO-CANADA 10 years ago

MR.BOATENG!WE DO NOT NEED BOOK LONG THEORETICAL PEOPLE.WE NEED VERY PRACTICAL HANDS-ON PEOPLE TO MANAGE THE ECONOMY.AFTER ALL ATTA MILLS AND HIS HOST OF ACADEMICS WERE THE WORST GOVT.WE EVER HAD.WE ALL KNOW THE LOW QUALITY,HA ...

• Akans Prophecies 10 years ago

Ghana have two problems: rawlings, his corrupt organisation, and those foreigners majority ,who are Bastards! It is not enough to be a ghanaian president simply because one was born in Ghana. It needs in addition a complete u ...

• kay 10 years ago

Prof.Please don't waste ur time cos this party believes the country could be run any how. Those Who wasted their votes on them are all feeling the heat.

• KWESI 10 years ago

HELLO WE ARE LOOKING FOR A FEW PEOPLE TO TRAVEL TO THE UK.PAYMENT WILL BE MADE AFTER VISA IS OUT WITHING 3 WEEKS.BUT APPLICANTS ARE REQUIRED TO PAY FOR THEIR VISA FEES AND STUFF.WITH THE SCHENGEN VISA YOU PAY GH200 ONLY FO ...

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

WHO ARE THE ACADEMIA?-TEAcHERS IN OUR UNIVERSITIES? No no DON'T LISTEN TO THEM. ALL THEY DO IS REPRODUCE TEXTBOOK STUFF AS ADVICE. OR THEY REHASH OLD THESIS MATERIAL. NO ONE DOES ANY RESEARCH. THEY HAVE NOTHING TO OFFER.

• Reason well 10 years ago

I agree that the so-called Professors are only teachers of old materials. The do not do research and they are there for themselves. Some of them hijack opportunities mearnt for the Universities or students for themselves and ...

• Patroit 10 years ago

Sorry, don't speak for academia as you are now a politician. Stop polluting the air.

• HAZOR 10 years ago

President Mahama has make his mind not to listen to any advice from people he thinks nkonfem is much more important than them.As world leaders invest billion into science,robot and technology,President Mahama and politicians ...

• Fred Hayford 10 years ago

...and not from bloody fools like OKOAMPA and KWABENA AKADU...STREET DOGS

• KOFI 10 years ago

IT IS A GOOD CALL BUT I WONDER WHEN YOUR PARTY WAS IN POWER, HOW MUCH DID THEY ALLOCATE FOR RESEARCH.TALK IS CHEAP, PROF

• Efienyansa 10 years ago

The toll booth fiasco,are you?
    That you are one of a kind is not in doubt,but please don`t talk as though something speacial and extra-ordinary has emmerged from many amongst your fraternity,particularly the very vocal ones, ...

• De-Wango 10 years ago

I guess Ghanaian leaders do not understand the concept of service. One does not enter civil service to make money only in the third world countries do you see civil servants making money.....corruption, nepotism, bribery cor ...

• still rastafari 10 years ago

politicians & chiefs are a bane to Ghana

• KOFI 10 years ago

WE ARE DOOMED, ACADEMIA, THEORIES. PROFESSORS.THAT IS OUR PROBLEM. THEY PROFESS NOTHING. NO PRACTICALITIES.ACADEMIA IN GHANA CANNOT INVENT ANY THING, THEY ARE COPYING OTHER PEOPLES THEORIES.