You are here: HomeNews2014 02 13Article 300626

Steps to stabilize currency won't work immediately - Terkper

Read Comments Comments (49)

we said last year that there is no way mahama and his team could do anything for the country except rob us blind . today we repeat the same , he has no policies except propaganda bullshit and lies. we see somehow that muslims ...

• AKOSUA BROWN 10 years ago

The swine calling himself Akosua Brown on facebook just to attack NPP is a man. Ignore him.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

CRAZY NDC SYCOPHANTS DOUBTED MY WORDS!! NOW THE REALITY HAS DAWNED!!!!-----MAHAMA AND HIS BUNCH OF CROOKISH INCOMPETENT CORRUPT MONSTERS CAN NEVER DO IT! NO! NOT IN A MILLION YEARS!!! NDC LACK THE BRAINS. JUST LOOK AROUND; CA ...

• samo jewellery 10 years ago

Let samo jewellery design yr dream wedding n engagement ring for you...call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 to send u latest pictures onto yr fon....or search our facebook page for more pictures.....samo jewellery........

• King Jafa 10 years ago

And who told you Mahama is a Moslem and that "Mpepefuo" are necessarily Moslems! How many African leaders are Moslems? Someone like you unfortunately might be raising up a child unto our society. Stop tribal profiling, tribal ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Asiedu-Nketia, Mahama and the entire NDC bunch of crooks should sincerely apologize to Dr. Bawumia if they refuse
    to do this, nothing good can be done
    by this NDC dishonest, deceitful and liars in this country.

Why NDC a ...

• AMA 10 years ago

"Inflation might rise but it will find its level again," YES AT THE HIGH LEVEL IT REACHES! WHAT A DODO

• Sadik 10 years ago

God shud save gh frm de hrtless human being,who pretend 2 be gudleaders,but rather a criminals.who sake for power just for their personal selfish interest and not the welfare of their people.

• Ericus-Ericus 10 years ago

COMPLETE DISPLAY OF INCOMPETENCE!!!! THESE GUYS ARE SINKING GHANA DEEEEEEEEEEEP.

• Yaw Manu 10 years ago

What a waste? John Mahamah should be bold enough to sack the Minister of Finance. The performance of our economy is now linked to the seasons of the year.

How can the Minister ask Ghanaians to be patient until the Wet Se ...

• Nana 10 years ago

The solution is simple: Ask the mining companies to keep the billions of dollars they take from the poor people every year in the country. This will solve the problem immediately.

• Kwame 10 years ago

OMG, listen to yourself. They are investors and they come n invest to maximize profits. They contract a %age to take home, and pay taxes, employ people, and grow economies. Do u have the capital intensive assets they bring in ...

• concern citizen 10 years ago

Ex President Kuffour our savior who rescued ghana from the dictator sasabrosam rawlings and gave us our freedom press. He discovered Oil, build 4 stadium, Bui dam, National youth employment, National health insurance, Free ma ...

• GHANA IS FOR DONKOMI - MAHAMA 10 years ago

GHANAIANS HAVE SHORT MEMORIES AND THAT WILL KILL US AT THE END . NDC IS A PARTY OF DESTROYERS - THINK THEY KNOW .

• MAHAMA 10 years ago

NDC displaying incompency

• KWAA 10 years ago

In thousand years these policies will never work,how can you increase taxes and expect Investors to flow into a Country without Infrastruture?You are killing our local Industries and expect the Cedi to stabilize.A Country whe ...

• Paa Joe 10 years ago

MR FINANCE MINISTER.

THE DEPRECIATION OF THE CEDI IS WHEN US STRENGTHENS IS CURRENCY AND WHICH THEN SPELLS A CALAMITY FOR THE EMERGING MARKETS.

IF HISTORY IS ANY GUIDE, STRENTHENING OF THE US DOLLAR HAS ALWAYS BEEN A BA ...

• KWAA 10 years ago

NDC paaa,so now the Economy has been connected with the weather,things will get better after the dry season.
    May be the rains are going to pour more Cedis from Heaven.
    Is it that these guys at the top are confused,or they j ...

• John Mensah 10 years ago

Tweeaaaa. We shall see. No way you are meeting your Revenue targets this year. With a contracting economy where is the increased revenue going to come from? Unless you go to the seven dwarfs to help you conjure some. Tweaaaa! ...

• Mina parker 10 years ago

Why are some people already saying that the cedi has started rising because of the policy?

• QUEEN 10 years ago

ASK KWABENA DUFFOUR WHAT HE WROTE ALL THOSE "HEAVY DUTY" CHECKS FOR. HE SHOULD BE PROSECUTED FOR GHANA'S WOES.

• Mugu Yaro 10 years ago

But wen bawumia said it u guyz nealy kill him fools.ghana is doom with pple like at the affairs of our already failed Ghana God will punish u all thieves!!!!

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Ghana is an oil producing nation and her currency should not fall that fast. With that said, I think there are too many fake currency floating in the system. Look, I am not targeting no one but our security agencies should ke ...

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

They have now realized that the new directives are going to set the dollar spiraling downward even further. Now, they will want you to feel that the effect will be felt after the 2016 elections.

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

Speaking with one voice will reassure investors' confidence our teetering economy.
    The Finance Minister should yield to head of the BoG in reassuring investors' confidence.
    The gov. of BoG is like the Chair of the Federal R ...

• KANAWU 10 years ago

WE NEED TO CREATE DOLLARS BY ESTABLISHING MANUFACTURING INDUSTRIES AND EXPORTING PRODUCTS TO OTHER COUNTRIES. THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD LEAD US.

• BEN, Takoradi 10 years ago

Mahama cited Nigeria, which is the region's biggest economy and the continent's largest oil exporter, as an example of a country whose economic diversification Ghana hopes to emulate.

This President is not well exposed. Hi ...

• BEN, Takoradi 10 years ago

Is President Mahama serious?

• Pontius Pilate 10 years ago

Honestly he most of the time do not understand what he says. He just churns and string words together to fill space. Quite a confused guy without good helpers. Poor him

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

Seth, you want to tell the general public that by June this fucking inflation will have it way out because of weather pattern? I warned you from day one on your nomination that this job is not for you but you just let it pass ...

• Mensah 10 years ago

Aba NDC incompetence!

• Dr Dan Boateng 10 years ago

All the talk without the right actions would be useless in fixing the economy. Poor economy is really the problem! Oil production should increase our potential for real economic success, but instead things truely appear to be ...

• BE SMART 10 years ago

At times I wonder what we mean when we call someone a politician. How are they different from the rest of the country?

• Joe 10 years ago

This guy does not know what he is talking about. This cosmetic measures being taken by the NDC government is going to worsen the situation. In the meantime, people have started withdrawing their foreign currencies from the b ...

• Efo Canada 10 years ago

Show us the policies and the plans NDC have to stabilize the cedi and how you are going to do it if mathematically it works ,we are sick and tired with NDC bullshit talk ,you idiots next time try to rig elections and you will ...

• wahala 10 years ago

COLLECT THE CASH GIVEN TO WYOMME .ISOFOTON AND WATERVILLE TO PROP UP THE CEDI.STOP THE CORRUPTION IN GOVT. THEN CONSULT DR. BAWUMIA AND HIS TEAM FOR HELP.

• Stanley 10 years ago

Why can't we hire foreign best brains to govern,untill we become capable to govern?just wasting time on these so called fake politicians. It's time we rise up.

• JH New York 10 years ago

"When we get out of the dry Season,inflation will go down".
    Moses Asaga said the Shortage of Petrol and Gas was as a result of the Winter in America and other places.(incompetence Covered by the Weather)
    Now Inflation would ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

By the way,Could this be the new face of global warming in Ghana,where biblical prophecy of hard time,Dwarfs talking away the Money and the Weather are the Economic /financial woes ,instead of proven corruptions,mismanagement ...

• Brobbsnet-USA 10 years ago

Voters in Ghana must WISE-UP! and vote out! every president after 4 years(both NDC& NPP) from Office until decent, quality,Finesse leadership with compassion is attained. The voters in Ghana have more power than they realize. ...

• jm 10 years ago

THESE STUDENTS MINISTERS WONT LISTEN TO COMPETENTS PEOPLE LIKE BAWUMIA,ALL THEY KNOW IS TO STEAL MONEY

• OSO 10 years ago

Mahama, if I were you, I will seek second opinion before coming out with what you say.
    Desist from taking to your heels as soon as you are told a thing.Your alterances have betrayed your team b'cos nothing is working for you ...

• GHANA IS FOR DONKOMI - MAHAMA 10 years ago

NDC - MANY TROUBLES FOR GHANAIANS NO JOB AND NO BUSINESS . HIGHER TAX AND CEDIS KEEPS FALLING LIKE RAIN . NDC IS A CANCER FOR THE GHANAIANS.

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

Aaahhh! I am yawning to get some pain and confusion out of me. This "Mmoatia" (Dwarfs) economics can't get us anywhere. Mr. Terkper should spare us some ears so Ghanaians could figure out how to go about their survival plans. ...

• OSO 10 years ago

If he were any good he could have identified this problem before it hit our shores.
    Good economists won't hire him.His calculations are all wrong.He looks mean and drunk all the time.Akonfem-economist indeed!

• okofo 10 years ago

Last week, it was the HIGH RISE buildings going up in Ghana that have caused the Ghana cedi to fall.

Two days ago, it was DWARFS that have stolen Ghana's foreign exchange reserve causing the Cedi to fall.

Today, there' ...

• Kwaku A. Danso 10 years ago

We wrote this for www.globalexpressghana.com
    and wish to share:

EDITOR’S NOTE: The Editorial wants to sympathize with the leadership of Ghana but cannot help but ask if they were sleeping on the job and not knowing tha ...

• SIMPLY THE BEST 10 years ago

HOW DO YOU STABILIZE THE CEDI WHEN YOU KEEP ON INCREASING TAXES, UTILITY TARIFFS AND FUEL PRICES LIKE A HEADLESS CHICKEN???????

GHANA'S CEDI DEPRECIATION HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE INTERACTION OF SUPPLY AND DEMAND OF THE U ...

• AKWAPIMBA,LAS PALMAS DE G.C.,SPAIN 10 years ago

-MR.MINISTER,THERE ARE SO MANY WAYS OF KILL A CAT.IF YOUR SYSTEM IS NOT WORKING,GIVE SOMEBODY THE CHANCE TO COME AND STABLIZE THE CURRENCY.THAT IS WHY THE PRESIDENT HAD TO CHANGE YOU FROM THERE.WE CANNOT WAIT TO DITCH THE ECO ...