You are here: HomeNews2014 02 09Article 300180

Danquah needn’t have died like a ‘criminal’ – Quashigah

Read Comments Comments (82)

• EFO KOKU 10 years ago

This is the first time I've heard an NDC man being reasonable & putting his party aside as well calling wrong a wrong. Murtala Mohammed will make sure this guy loses his seat in the next parliamentary elections.

• Uncle Mends, Western Region 10 years ago

They should talk about Rawlings who killed judges, murdered all past Ghanaian leaders etc. Rawlings would have buried Danquah alive for engaging in terrorist activities.

• OPOKU 10 years ago

What is this guy talking about? He might have not read history very well. Is unfortunate that, such people like this missed to read the real history of Ghana. J B Dankuah is a terrorist and did more than what Bin Larden did. ...

• SHAMO 10 years ago

"WE PAID YOUR PLANE FAIR JUST TO COME AND KILLED US? DICTATOR COMMUNIST NKRUMAH'S BODY MUST FACE A FIRING SQUAD!!!! DOUBLE DEATH!!! ANYWAY bravo Quashiga for saying your first naked truth

• Ken Ntiamoa 10 years ago

Nkrumah came back to Ghana by ship.
    he couldn't afford a plane ticket. It took him one and a half months from London to Ghana

Ken

• kosoko 10 years ago

The was no plane at the time. Ungrateful and enemies of progress!

• Koffi Parker 10 years ago

Rawlings was going to be executed when he was released by those who hate him with Passion today,sometimes we act and become stepping stone for others to excel,as he said there has been no love lost between them, except differ ...

• samo jewellery 10 years ago

If u need yellow n white gold for yr engagement n wedding then search samo jewellery on facebook or call or whatsapp me on 0244717600 for more latest pictures onto yr phone....our prices are moderate

• TOGBE GANYO 10 years ago

WHAT A FUCKEN QUASHIGAH TALKING ABOUT A FUCKEN DANQUAH. YOU ARE IN PARLIAMENT AND CAN NOT DO ANYTHING FOR PEOPLE LIVING AND YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT A DEAD WICKED IDIOT POLTICIAN WHO DIED THE DEATH HE DESERVES.

• LUCK 10 years ago

DANQUAH PUBLICLY CREATED THE IMPRESSION THAT HE WAS FIGHTING FOR INDEPENDENCE FOR GHANA. BUT BEHIND THE SCENE, HE WAS ON THE PAYROLL OF THE CIA AS EXPOSED BY THE DECLASSIFIED DOCUMENTS OF CIA. SO,HE APPEARED RELUCTANT TO FIGH ...

• Ezuale 10 years ago

While Ghanaians were wallowing in poverty, squalor and slums, Kwame Nkrumah the tyrant was giving millions of our money to his cronies Souku Toure the President of Guinea and the President of Mali then to make him the life P ...

• abu okyeman KIBI 10 years ago

IDIOT , MR WRITER .FOOLISH MAN LIKE YOU HAVE ANY MEMBER OF YOUR ENTIRE FAMILY IN THE UP GRADED HIGH QUALITY EDUCATIONALISTST AND INTELLIGENT LIKES DR.JB DANQUAH IN YOUR FOOLISH FAMILY ?COME BACK SCUMBAG LIKE YOU.DR. DANQUAH W ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

Exactly what came to my mind when I read that errant nonsense coming from this boy Quashigah! Yes, he should think and talk about the many unwholesome deaths that occurred under their party's founder first, most innocent pers ...

• DANIEL SOWAH, NLA 10 years ago

THE ECONOMY IS DOWNHILL. INSTEAD OF PAYING SOME ATTENTION TO THE ECONOMY, THE EMPTY HEADS ARE TALKING ABOUT THE DEATH OF DANQUAH. HAVE YOU HEARD QUARSHIGAH ON THE FLOOR OF PARLIAMENT BEFORE? IT IS BECAUSE THAT PLACE OF NOT FO ...

• william 10 years ago

The man has a circle named after him. A statue erected in his honor. Is it a pardon that matters here? He paid the price for his approach to freedom which many of you in parliament are not brave enough to do! That is is helpi ...

• Ayetevi 10 years ago

Nkruma was never a father but an extavagant communist, He even threw our money away to far Mali where his Akan ancesters are! See our capital the most ugly in West Africa, Compare it to Abidjan and Abuja, All we know is bla b ...

• Ghfuo, change ur Mentality 10 years ago

Ayetevi, why don't u go back to Togo and spew foolishness. How dare you...funny how things change. If it wasn't for nkrumah, Ghana wouldn't have ewes. Heard of a dude named Kotoka? Danquah was a snitch and deserve to have bee ...

• jack 10 years ago

Just diverting attention from the main problem that we have at hand and once again Ghanaias are falling to the poli-tricks of ignorante politicians.

• Yaa Nkosuo 10 years ago

Unfortunately, we cannot rewrite our history; neither can we turn back the clock.

We can however grant him a Posthumous "pardon" if there was any wrong done at all.

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

This is why crook Nkrumah was/is below Madiba

• James 10 years ago

Whether you like it or not,Nkrumah is the greatest African.The opinion of narrow-minded readers on Ghanaweb,and the opinion of misinformed U.S. Barrack Obama,who was only four and half years old,when Nkrumah was overthrown in ...

• abu okyeman KIBI 10 years ago

THANKS,MR QUARSHIEGAH,WITH LOVE FROM ABU DANQUAH GRAND SON OF DR.JB DANQUAH, FOR TELLING THE TRUTH .
    NKRUMAH HELPED BY TH USA TO WIN THE ELECTIONS WAS OVERTHROWN BY THE SAME AMERICANS LIKE SADDAM HUSSEIN.DR.JB DANQUAH WAS T ...

• KOFI 10 years ago

This is the first time I have seen an NDC man taking a non partisan stance. Watch the man, he will fgo places.

These NDC guys should comment about the atrocities of their leader Rawlings and leave Nkrumah alone. Danquah was warn against the terrorist activities, which almost killed the President and killed women and school children, ...

• PUMA 10 years ago

Uncle mends , do you know Nkrumah came to ghana on the ticket of UGCC ? and do you know Dankwah and others had to pay for his ticket to come down ? How does that sound to you? If you live abroad and you need to get a ticket f ...

Nkrumah's ticket was paid by Paa Grant, an Nzema from Western Region. Businessman (timber Merchant) Paa Grant was the financier of UGCC.

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

Danquah was rather vindictive with challenging emotional faculties, he would have buried Nkrumah alive had he been given the opportunity.

As if making the country ungovernable wasn't enough, Danquah resorted to treason, b ...

• DE NAPOLI 10 years ago

J B DANQUAH WAS NOT THE ONLY FOUNDING MEMBER OF UGCC TO DIE UNDER THE PREVENTIVE DETENTION ACT,LAWYER E. OBETSEBI-LAMPTEY ALSO A FOUNDING MEMBER DIE UNDER THE SAME CIRCUMSTANCE.HE SHOULD ALSO BE REMEMBERED AS A GREAT LAWYER A ...

• kaketonti 10 years ago

He is a criminal and remains as such.Subversion/terrorism doe not pay.Please could you bring back those who perished from his acts.

• Francis C. Quainoo 10 years ago

Listen up, there were very many parents during the epoch of Dictator Kwame Nkrumah who were thrown into prison simply because Nkrumah's Young Pioneer Movements had reported them to the Authorities just for simply "mentioning ...

• Koffi Parker 10 years ago

Kuku no gyae a kike kike no so be gyae

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

I wrote this in response to Kobina Arthur Kennedy's article of today. It is more than relevant here too. I've edited it.

--------
    've heard it before and responded to it all before but we cannot stop responding to their f ...

• Roberto 10 years ago

Andy, I am at a loss as to what you are trying to say.
    The point under discussion is whether it was right for Nkrumah to use the PDA as a tool to deal with "perceived" problems. If you were a teenager when Nkrumah was overt ...

• kosoko 10 years ago

First, remember that the PDA was an act of Parliament. It wasn't an executive decree. It doesn't matter whether the CPP constitutes majority in parliament. Second, you must consider the series of events that led to the Act. I ...

• PHILTY McNASTY 10 years ago

Thanks Quashigah....such are the words that heal wounds not that stupid Akomfem head Murtala Mohammed. I cannot imagine fools like Murtala who have no grasp of history and the times that Danquah was imprisoned, running their ...

Check your Akyem Abuakwa's history regarding chieftaincy disputes and Danquah's involvement in stool related violence and killings.

• WO BE SU WAA 10 years ago

DO NOT MIND HIM.HE IS OKOAMPA WITH HIS FUCKING FAKE NAME.JB WAS THE ARCHITECT OF HIS OWN MISFORTUNE.HE GOT WHAT HE PLANNED FOR OSAGYEFO.

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

Quashigah need not do this; for, Ghana cannot move on trying to bury Ghana's recent past; same as the Akims are selling that Kwame Nkrumah never existed

- fact, Akim JB Danquah was a terrorist; his Kulungugu Bomb not only ...

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

You are a hypocrite indeed. We blame the leadership of John Mahama, the president, for current hardships because he is head of the party in power, the NDC. So it is that the leadership of the party which incites its members ...

• ROSE 10 years ago

Don't be stupid, Nkrumah was a tyrant who wouldn't let no one talk or criticize him.What was the Ghana young pioneer movement for? Was that for the opposition? how many of the opposition members had their kids in the young pi ...

• emma 10 years ago

I like this all-inclusive mature thinking new generation of the ndc. one can only hope they work hard to find their way at the top of the party.

• Wofa Koo 10 years ago

Nkrumah was power drunk, and cruel his treatment towards the big Five and good citizens of Ghanaians was unjustified.What ever goes around comes around.JB Danquah was a great man for Ghana and Africa as a whole.

• THE CHOSEN ONE 10 years ago

THAT MATE MEHO KOKOASI KURASINI GOT WHAT YE DESERVE.
    NKURUMAH WAS EVEN LENIENT ON THAT NATION WRECKER.
    HE SHOULD HAVE BEING HANGED.

• TAMBRO 10 years ago

ALL DIE BE DIE.HE JB DANQUAH BOMBED AND KILLED SOME PEOPLE AND NEARLY KILLED THE PRESIDENT.DR NKRUMAH EVEN FALL SICK AND DIED LATER BECAUSE OF ALL THE HAZARDUOUS CHEMICALS HE INHAILED IN THE ASSASINATION ATTEMPTS.EVEN TODAY,I ...

• Catapult 10 years ago

But he did and presently, more of such Danquah's and others continue to die, continue to be killed, continue to be beaten up, continue to be maimed, continue to be injured, continue to be cowered into submission, by the brute ...

• Concerned citizen 10 years ago

HE WAS A TERRORIST

• Igp 10 years ago

Ndc is a terrorist, violent prone, thieving, incompetent bunch of nation wreckers.

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

Both Nkrumah and Dankwa's deaths were ignoble-one in prison and the other in exile, but for a member of the big 6 and who arranged for Nkrumah to come to Ghana to die in prison is the height of treachery. Nkrumah was evil and ...

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

If you have a friend wjom u trusted. Only to find out that ur friend was leaking mafia, business secrets to your competitors, enemies to satisfy his own selfish interest of becoming gh leader. What will you do? You are a fool ...

Who is this human dregs calling me a fool. The headache Ghana has is that idiots like you can vote .

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

FYI,IM NOT EVEN ALLOWED TO VOTE OR HOLD PUBLIC OFFICE IN GH. UR ETHNIC/POLITICAL AFFILIATION TO DANQUAH IS CLOUDING UR COMMON SENSE. U NEED TO THINK LIKE A SANE HUMAN BEING N BE BI PARTISAN. U WILL BE SUCCESSFUL.

• NPP ALL THE WAY 10 years ago

opoku, and what happen to kwame nkrumAH? and rawlings will get his.

• HAWA YAKUBU 10 years ago

The next criminal to fellow this savage animal's path will be the Kibi mafia leader call sir john. This bastard is worse than Danquah. He tried to kill Bawumia after killing Aliu Mahama.NDC should watch out for this SOBs acti ...

• STEPHEN GYAN, ASAWASE, KUMASI 10 years ago

J.B.Danquah deserved to die in prison like a criminal. In fact he was more a criminal than the word itself.You think Nkrumah should have allowed him to execute his treasonable act when there was a clear evidence that he and h ...

Can you imagine Ghana being ruled by Robert Mugabe , a protege of Nkrumah or by Kim Il Sung the eternal president as the call him. Ghanaians were even smarter then to have kicked Nkrumah's sorry ass . Osagyefo the life Presid ...

• Lord Tennison 10 years ago

Ghana is still struggling to cleanse herself of Nkrumah's smear of dictatorship and socialism.The citing of South Korea's economic development by John Mahama exonerates Danquah and the NLM. South Korea dwelt on democracy and ...

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

U are beyond archaic and stupid. Aboa animals like you. Even time magazine, the cia and nkrumah's enemies named him time magazine man of the century....wat bon s3 korle lagoon,.inside

• Old CPPist 10 years ago

A short list of Danquah-Busia terrorism. (Courtesy Kwabena Bomfeh, Ghanaweb, 24 November 2006).

1. 1956, the CPP was outlawed (illegally) in Asante and Abuakwa headed by the Asantehene and Okyehene respectively. Women in ...

Great chronological account of terrorist attacks and killings.

Old CPP ,stop the propaganda. Can you tell us the names of those were were arrested for the bombings, tried and convicted , and the party they belonged to ?

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

All he had to do was to renounce, denounce, condemn and disassociate himself from the political violence which he and his sore losers and war lords in the matemeho were sponsoring. The Asantehene, Nana Agyemang Prempeh went t ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

Yes he was!

• Emmanuel Agbadi Agbesi 10 years ago

Third Wworld politics is such that if your differ with your opponent in ideo , you can become natural enemy, that nonsense must stop tdemocracy must prevail at all times.

You don't comment about Rawlings atrocities because he's an Ewe?

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Hypocrites!

• Old CPPist 10 years ago

We are compiling and will soon publish the names of all the victims of Danquah-Busia terrorism in Ghana. We will also commission a commemorative plaque to remember the schoolchildren who lost their lives in the bomb explosion ...

Nonsense . Compiling the names of the vctims is irrelevant. Give us the names of those who were arrested and tried for the bombings . They were Nkrumah's own party members and some of his security details , like Ametepe. Some ...

• Aba! 10 years ago

Those criminals in the current NDC who are engaging in large scale looting are all CPP folks. They believe in reaping where they didn't sow; a bunch of lazy assholes who have a twisted belief that the State owes them somethin ...

• kofi 10 years ago

We have about million Ghanaian children without classrooms and food to be fed and this ignorante of such kind spewing bull crap on our airwaves everyday.

• Amass, USA 10 years ago

i consider you the wisest of the lot. Such are the people we need in the country but not sycophants.

• kosoko 10 years ago

Why are Ghanaians so hypocrite? Danquah was worse than criminal. He sold his country to foreign powers? Didn't he? That made him worse than a criminal. That is a treasonable act that warrant a death penalty. I don't know who ...

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

Attempts to overthrow the Nkrumah and assassinate him.

In 1961 the C.P.P government introduced an austerity budget to counter declining world price of cocoa while maintaining planned capital expenditure on economic expansi ...

All of you are deliberately dodging a pertinent question . Who were arrested and tried for these bombings ?

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

J B DANQUAH WAS NOT THE ONLY FOUNDING MEMBER OF UGCC TO DIE UNDER THE PREVENTIVE DETENTION ACT,LAWYER E. OBETSEBI-LAMPTEY ALSO A FOUNDING MEMBER DIE UNDER THE SAME CIRCUMSTANCE.HE SHOULD ALSO BE REMEMBERED AS A GREAT LAWYER A ...

• KANE 10 years ago

Mr Quashigah bemoaned the consequence of the political rivalry between the two parties at the time, which, he said polarised the country along political lines.

It did polarise Ghana along tribal lines as well.

History, ...

• KANE 10 years ago

Nkrumah was from Nzema not considered good enough to lead Ghana, so he outsmarted Akan tribal bigots JB Danquah & Co by introducing the Preventive Detention Acts.

Akan tribal bigots think Ghana belongs to them alone.

M ...

• Yaw Buor 10 years ago

Ignorant guy. For your information, Nzema s are Akans.

• Yaw Buor 10 years ago

Hey, this guy is saying something sensible. I don't think he has NDC blood in his body.
    A politician telling it like it is? Very rare in Ghana, except perhaps this man.

• IDI AMIN DADA 10 years ago

THE PREVENTIVE DETECTION ACT OF 1958-61 IS NO DIFFERENT FROM THE POST 9/11 PATRIOT ACT OF 2001 INTRODUCED BY GEORGE W. BUSH AND WHICH IS CURRENTLY STILL BEING USED IN THE USA TODAY AS AN ANTI-TERRORISM MEASURE. THE USA PATRIO ...

• RINGO 10 years ago

Nkrumah remains the greatest African.The BBC poll of December 1999 confirmed it.

• Pop 10 years ago

It is better to meet a mother bear who has lost it's cubs than to meet a fooool in his folly

• K-DE-K 10 years ago

This is the first time I have heard a very good thing about this man.