You are here: HomeNews2014 02 09Article 300162

(Photos)Niisbuiga Primary School, a death trap

Read Comments Comments (107)

• paa kofi 10 years ago

we have a long way to go.....GH...

• Teacher under tree 10 years ago

If these kids ever developed critical thinking skills what would they think of the Ghana Education Service?

www.ges.gov.gh/

• SHAMO 10 years ago

NKWASEAFO PARTY NDC

• Sankofa 10 years ago

If the Ghana Education Service developed critical thinking skills what would it do to provide kids with good schools?

• The Northern Patriot 10 years ago

Kufuor did not build a single school in the Bawku area for all the 8 years of his misrule. He concentrated only on Ashanti Region where they don't like going to school. They mix Rs and Ls and cannot pronounce 'thousand'.

Y ...

• Say the Truth 10 years ago

GHANA IS 57 YRS AND THE ONLY REGIME YOU COULD REMEMBER THAT FAILED TO BUILD A SINGLE SCHOLL IN BAWKU AREA IS K4....WHEN HE TOOK OVER IN 2000 THERE HAD BEEN SEVERAL REGIMES INCLUDING AFRC/PNDC/NDC REGIMES THAT RIGHT NOW HAS OV ...

• Sly, 10 years ago

Say what ?

• Ayetevi 10 years ago

THEY WILL STILL VOTE NDC THEIR TRIBAL PARTY AND THEIR EDUCATED ONES WILL ENJOY IN KUMASI AND ACCRA LEAVING THEM TO PERISH IN DUST

• Yiadom 10 years ago

And ya man prefer akofem,wait until the Asantes and other Akans stop producing the national cake,we`ll see how you`re gonna produce ya pros,imbecile.

He probably concentrated on the Ashanti Region so your folks moving there can have schools to attend. He knew you people like schools.

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Aboa Akonfem

How nice!

• Bony 10 years ago

Ede bee k3k3, haha! Better Ghana Agenda

• warren 10 years ago

if your people are so educated why do they still live in abject poverty? foolish idiot continue to blame Asantes while they don't give a fuck about you. idiot

• quantum 10 years ago

you and your kind will continue to be drawers of water and hewers of wood. fool when did northerners ever get more education than Asantes? Asantes don't depend on government for survival. Imagine if ghana government removes f ...

• Esi 10 years ago

Prez Mahama has $900 million in his account. Can't some of that money be used to build schools for his folks instead of stashing it for only his children?

• Senior citizen Br,weig Germany. 10 years ago

You so-called northern NDC patriot,will you stop criticising Kuffour for the problems created by the northerners themselves\.Look,from my kidergarten to infant class three,I had to travel for ten miles, five miles in and fiv ...

• Atonsu Lip 10 years ago

The Northern Patriot....You seem to indicate that Kuffour was the only president Ghana has had. That district has been there since the days of Kwame Nkrumah......the North had free uniforms and books at one time. And yes the ...

• AbasZ 10 years ago

If Kufour denied the north,Mahama can accept them. Ndc has been in power for over 5years and still cant build classroom for his own Ntafo. They will feel the HEAT.

• kofI JATA 10 years ago

Stupid Mahama is in office and comes from the area. Send him the f ing message you idiot.

• A K I L A K P A 10 years ago

It beats my sheer imagination why some rich people still build radio stations and banks while they can help construct our bad roads and schools. To whom it may concern .

• EFO KOKU 10 years ago

If you don't the Ghanaian politician honorable, they take you to court. His excellency the president. Hahahahahaha!!!!!!!!!

• George 10 years ago

THIS PICTURE IS FAKE

• NZEMA BOY 10 years ago

WELL DONE MAHAMA

• CITIZEN ONE 10 years ago

I dare you to place 100 Swedes or 100 Dutch citizens on this patch of land, with only their backpacks in hand, and after one simple year, you will see the difference between intelligent life and ignorant, lazy backward jungle ...

• Teacher under tree 10 years ago

Education.

The greatest excuse of a typically ignorant Ghanaian - EDUCATION - EDUCATION - EDUCATION.

How can you educate a malnourished brain. You can only teach it simple tricks, that last a few weeks.

• ROSE 10 years ago

Are you okay ? Mr.citizen one , or you are a troubled soul.I can't get you well, what do you mean by all these shit writing about, jungle, desert, forest dwellers ? When was your home town declared a paradise ? Mo aba so papa ...

In the days of Kwame Nkrumah, we were a civilized people, and hopefully headed towards the most accomplished Nation on the continent. Whatever happened is OK, but to think that in 2013, life is worse than I cam to meet it, is ...

• K. D 10 years ago

Then we will have no country called Ghana.

• ROSE 10 years ago

Ede bii k3k3 !!! Better Ghana agenda

• TRUTH HURTS 10 years ago

HAHAHAHAHA- WE ALL GO SUFFER

• Naadae 10 years ago

God help this poor kids and impotence the greedy minister let their families also suffer.

• Ike 10 years ago

Hmnnnn, when some Ghanaians are "choping" the money waaaa waaaaa, other Ghanaians are suffering aaaooo aaooooo. When other politicians are taking their children abroad, they are refusing to provide basic education to those th ...

• KWAA 10 years ago

I thought NDC saidSchools under trees has been phased out?
    With this, i think Ghana is a fifth World Country,we don`t deserved the third World status.
    And think our so called leaders care?No,even Aseidu-Nketia`s Kids are at ...

• Divine 10 years ago

Where are the foolish MP,DCE & assembly man in control of that area.do u think u re elected for decoration .be wise a little. Fools

• Kobby 10 years ago

This one ? And where is the methuselah MP Dominic Azumah? The people have been voting for him for close to two decades now.What prevents him from using is acquire wealth to put up a decent school for his own people. Sometime ...

• True/False? 10 years ago

Look at their kids? Savannah Accelerated Development Project.

• WHITE PEPPER 10 years ago

That's the better Ghana agenda we are enjoying. You reap what you sow. My people voted massively for the better Ghana agenda team. They will NEVER listen to anyone because of TRIBALISM.
    Ghana is slowly collapsing under this ...

• re 10 years ago

what makes you think that if the other party comes to power, a new building will be put up? this situation has been there past several regimes. think outside the box for once

• Tijani 10 years ago

foools go vote again

• WHITE PEPPER 10 years ago

Dominic Azumah the MP is a very wise person. He is taking advantage of the ignorant/innocent people to enrich himself and his family. Can you believe that Hon Azumah has decided to trace his traditional route by secretly goi ...

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

You people sit here and just criticize. No gov't, (NDC or NPP) will better the lot of the people.How sad that you guys don't get it. We need to come together and help in every way possible and stop the blame game. It keeps us ...

• KWAA 10 years ago

and face the problems,may be we could make progress.

• tom,italy 10 years ago

Oh, oh nkrumahs Ghana when our leaders thinks about the poor..........GOD help us.

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

Bishop Duncan Williams should be praying to God to wipe out and "Remake Ghana".

• BOBBY ,AMSTERDAM 10 years ago

we are disgrace to ourselfs in ghana especially the president.thank u all who will read this and act on it

• KKO 10 years ago

Whatever happened to the MP's Common Fund over the past 22 years? May be it was all invested in guniea fowls that migrated to Burkina Faso? Didn't their parents say they did not want free education?

At least the idiotic p ...

• Lord Tennison 10 years ago

How shameful.An early start school in a land flowing with cocoa,diamonds,gold,timber,crude oil,etc.
    They will be the leaders when you have grown old and faded out of politics.They will retaliate.
    You must run into an inner ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

I remember,THE SHARP TEETH ABLAKWA came up with A LONG LIST OF SCHOOLS UNDER TREES,the NDC has already eradicated and built structures to support them.

HE IS A BLUNT LIAR.

Is this GHANA I SEE?
    Oh,what a country!

SO ...

• K ASANTE 10 years ago

Ablakwa never said schools under trees have been eradicated. he said the NDC have been able to build proper structures for a good percentage of those schools and that they will continue to build more for a 100% score. If kufu ...

• Kiki Ekowski 10 years ago

The teacher with a hat on has an ear plug to the ears, only God knows what he is teaching these kids

• JB Ansong 10 years ago

Who knows what the teacher is listening to?

Azonto, perhaps!

• Jumah 10 years ago

The teacher was probably following the commentary on the Chelsea Vs Mancity game. Where Chelsea destroyed Mancity. On a broader note, there is no reason for this situation to happen. I blame GES. You can not create a school f ...

• Amekukumenyeakor 10 years ago

Thinking outside the box is the key to get this dear nation of ours out of this predicament. Trying to politicize this issue will not help anybody. Let me ask the apologists of the NPP one question. The schools under trees th ...

My solution is to give them computers as your government has done to some schools. Then they can have their classes online so they won't need the school building. That is thinking outside the box, I believe.

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Thanks for the nice realistic,reasonable suggestion.
    That can help a lot.
    THAT IS PURELY,THINKING OUTSIDE THE BOX.

• MENSAH 10 years ago

If FORMER PRESIDENT KUFOUR's reins saw ONLY ONE GALLON OF OIL,he could have transformed Ghana,far better than your NDC CROOKS have ever done,with OIL FLOWING.
    Remember,your NDC HAS BORROWED MORE THAN ALL PAST GOVERNMENTS,PU ...

• BRANDY 10 years ago

ooooohhhh ghanaians....so on what basis did these people vote so massively for ndc and john mahama instead of asking them relevant questions.....with several hundreds of millions of dollars stolen in the name of judgement deb ...

• HAZOR 10 years ago

President Mahama should be ashame of himself for insulting the intelligence of CNN when they present him with facts and reality on the ground facing school childern sitting and writting in soil and tell CNN to use propaganda ...

• Samy 10 years ago

Politians intervene

• Joe 10 years ago

Picture speaks more than a thousand words and my heart bleeds for my country, Ghana. This is a typical example that governments takes us as FOOLS. They educate their children overseas and leave the poor especially from the ...

• WATCH OOO 10 years ago

Yet, our leaders keep sitting in their comfort zone and talk big mentioning favourable figures on terminologies as GDP etc, easing in mentioning beautiful econonmic figures.

• HAZOR 10 years ago

In the history of Ghanaweb existance, today sunday February 9 2014, is the only day that Ghanaweb has has shown maturity in its journalism of posting prove of evidence and not gimmick or propaganda but a reality.600 nkonfem h ...

• Akwesi Agyeman Cardinal 10 years ago

QUALITY EDUCATION INDEED. HMMMMMMM
    WHERE IS OUR SAVIOUR?

My question is: Are computers the priority of such schools?

• GOG 10 years ago

MAAMA AYARIGA AND JOHN MAHAMA BUILT MANY OVERESTIMATED SCHOOLS WIT OUR MONIES. AKOMFEM AND TREES BETTER THAN EDUCATION

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Look at what these criminals akan's npp party and nana binladdo promising free education?

• ASUNNYJOH 10 years ago

WHERE CAN I MEET YOU AND GIVE YOU SOME DIRTY SLAPS ON YOUR DIRTY UGLY FACE?.STOP THAT YOUR TRIBAL REMARKS.THIS IS YOUR NDC BETTER AGENDA.THIS IS YOUR BETTER THEN IF IT WERE TO BE WORSE.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

My DOG where can i meet u ? I have some fat big bones for u, ofuiiiii.

• quantum 10 years ago

Are Akans not ghanaian? kwasia kwa

• Close Observer 10 years ago

This IDIOT will not stay away from TRIBAL REMARKS; and makes no sense with any of his comments. For the sake of any decent person who will stumble on your rubbish, I will once again mention the repercussions of your unciviliz ...

• ERIC 10 years ago

WHAT IS HAPPEN IN GHANA AND WHERE IS ALL THE MONEY GOING TO

• Amadu Lasisi 10 years ago

I always read about death trap schools
    in many parts of Ghana; children are learning under trees. What is the
    Government doing? I am sure none
    of the MPs' children are amoung them
    "Let the Government do something
    bet ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

And these people wish to rule Ghana when they can't even better schools in the North!

• Pants On Fire 10 years ago

Hypocrite Akadu Mensema,
    In one of your daily vitriolic PhD "thesis" you frequently write on this forum against Ghanaian citizens of the North, you declared "We give them (Northerners) free education." Is this what you mean ...

• Surprice 10 years ago

l thougt the formal President Mills remove all schools under trees and it
    was confirm bei Hon.Ablakwa is this not true?

• ASUNNYJOH 10 years ago

I AM YOUR KINSMAN DON´T YOU KNOW?VOTE FOR ME!

• nana yaw 10 years ago

moved from school under a tree to death trap and back to school under a tree

• Yawed 10 years ago

Why

• Cape Coast 10 years ago

Foolish Ghanaians, wean yourselves from this NDC and NPP centered politics which is full of greed and mismanagement and seek collective development consolidated in accountable governance for yourselves and your future generat ...

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

WHAT ARE THERE MP'S AND BIG MEN DOING IN ACCRA.?DURING ELECTION TIME THEY USE THEIR FOUNDS TO BUY MOTORBIKE TO BE DISTRIBUTED TO PARTY SUPPORTERS THAT IS ALL.

• OWEN, NEW YORK. 10 years ago

If one man can steal millions and gets lawyers to defend him in the country, and our future leaders sit under such sheds and trees as classrooms then we are not serious as a country. Monies for the akofem and aforestation cou ...

• sly 10 years ago

mahama is useless this people voted for u look at this

• dan 10 years ago

MAHAMA TAKE VACTION AND GOS ON SHOPPING SPREES ALL AROUND THE WORLD WHILE THIS MESS IS TAKING PLACE IN GHANA WOW GHANA GONE TO THE DOGS

• nsem pii 10 years ago

They have let folks down.Why do folks elect them?

• COS 90 10 years ago

How come the primary pupils have classes under trees in these morden and technological age? All the politicians are 100% CRIMINALS, stealing from state to enrich themselves. A country with pupolation of 24million with numerou ...

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

Incompetent NDC better Ghana Agenda and eradication of schools under trees! Wise up our People from the Northern and Upper sectors and stop voting for them if you want good and quality education for your children.

• sam locco 10 years ago

ndc better ghana agender

• Close Observer 10 years ago

This is not acceptable at all. I'm ashamed this is happening in my country.

• Josua 10 years ago

what is going on in Ghana

• Josua 10 years ago

Oh my country Ghana

• oluwele 10 years ago

honestly am disappointed in my motherland and my country ghana. may god help our leaders.

• oluwele 10 years ago

unacceptable how would these young kids who r the future leaders concerntrate and learn.

• NOT AFRIAD 10 years ago

and you are talking about pepeni number one.twaeee

• blackstar 10 years ago

Why do we have better hotels and night clubs than schools.

• Nana HIGH 10 years ago

l thought the NDC has eleminated schools under tree .Where from this s chool ? Was tbis school not in exsitance when schools under trees were being eleminated ? It is high time you stop you the propaganda . It is due to th ...

• Wuofei 10 years ago

Politicians are very wicked, why should these kids have to go through this. The President, MPs and Ministers should all bow their heads in shame. They are failing these kids. I wonder how they manage to sleep at night with pi ...

• Ewe nation 10 years ago

See how our kids in the north are living because ashantis have greedily taken all the resources to their region?Mind you ashantis don't even belong here.Time to take back our country from these evil niggers so proper Ghanaian ...

• john 10 years ago

oh mr ewe nation what is wrong with you? does this issue relate with the ashantis? am so sad about your uncivilise way of thinking if Ghana is not for the ashantis where from the ewes answer it for yourself please

• MARCUS 10 years ago

DR.KWAME NKRUMAH WILL BE TURNING IN HIS GRAVE,OUR LEADERS HAS JUST FAIL US BADLY.

• TEE 10 years ago

MAHAMA HAS STOLEN ALL THE MONEY IN HIS SAVINGS ACCOUNT IN DUBAI. WHAT PROFIT DO WE ACTUALLY GAIN FROM THSES NORTHERNERS

• Assinman Ba, Columbus,Ohio 10 years ago

Look at situation lIke this from the
    Akonfem President own region and keeps
    promising establishing of universities
    across the country as well as SHS.
    In fact, I feel sorry for these poor
    kids. Mahama should please help ...

• KAMM, 10 years ago

When you vote on tribal lines these are the consequences.CEO of RLG is a northerner when money was given to him to plant trees in the NORTH he sponsored CHRIS BROWN to come and smoke wee in Accra Sports stadium and refused to ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

These kids have a thirst for knowledge a yearning to learn.

These children are future Kofi and Efua Annans.

Why do we treat them so appallingly?

Ghanaweb, please use this forum to raise funds to build a proper schoo ...

• Adjoa 10 years ago

Hmmmmm. Oh mother Ghana paaaa nie? Our leaders will pay dearly for this. They send their children to the best of schools, mostly abroad and leave the voiceless to live in this deplorable conditions. To them it is more blessi ...

• George 10 years ago

THIS PICTURE IS FAKE. LET THE MINISTER OF EDUCATION COME TO CONFIRM IT. ACCORDING TO THE MINISTER OF EDUCATION AND OKUDZETO ABLAKWA THERE ARE NO SCHOOLS UNDER TREES SINCE PRES. MAHAMA TOOK OVER. THE CHILDREN ARE NOT CARRYIN ...