You are here: HomeNews2014 02 07Article 299986

Gambian President sacks Ghanaian-born Chief Justice

Read Comments Comments (64)

• senyo 10 years ago

I guess he decided to return to what he knows - corruption at its best. Gambia news media are clearly disappointed in his abrupt decision.

• NANA 10 years ago

Jammeh is right this time around,the credibility of judiciary staff we are training is so questionable.They are so corrupt and dishonest,we can compare them to those of yesteryears that we used to export to Malawi,Gambia etc.

• dzifa 10 years ago

Look Mabel is an expert from the Commonwealth Secretariat not like our local judges here so please dn't paint her with the same brush. Even the British ambassador to the Gambia hailed her appointment.

• Bernard 10 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah also sacked his Chief Justice. Jammeh is just follwing Kwame Nkrumah foot steps ie tyranny, President for life, one-party state, life imprisonment for all political opponentsand rule of terror

• Cliff 10 years ago

Gambians are going through exactly what Ghana went through from 1957 to 1966. This is a fact not fiction

• NEMESIS RADAR, London!!! 10 years ago

It seems that Ghanaians are always forgotten the golden saying that: "what goes around, always comes around:" The Ghanaian Judge Mabel Agyemang, (l bet she is Ashanti), who got to the position after setting up her boss, the ...

• akusika 10 years ago

May people never say that about you. And may you never be caught up in a bad situation. By the way she is fante.

When it comes to back stabbing at work place abroad, Ghanaians are all the same. I' speaking from experience working with someGhanaians here in London. They would rather gossip against Nigerians at work place in front of non ...

• Nsebelle SAfrica 10 years ago

I ENCOURAGE THEM TO GOSSIP ABOUT YOU PEOPLE LET THE WORLD KNOW WHO A NIGERIAN IS AND WHO A GHANIAN IS! THEY DONT WANT TO MIX, BECAUSE YOU NAIJAS KILL (SLAUGHTER WITH A KNIFE) ON THE STREET A THING A GHANAIAN CAN NEVER AND WIL ...

Nigerians are blessed beyond human comprehension, hence the jealous and gossip by Ghanaians as you just confirmed. That has never a famine in the history of blessed Nation, Nigeria. Can you ever boast of such in Ghana? Hell n ...

• Joseph 10 years ago

Actually there was a lot of economic hardship in nigeria in the 70s that's why many came to ghana and we're unfortunately sacked and dealt with harshly. This was before ghana must go in the 80s. The prior history is why many ...

I commented on three topics above e.g. economic, terrorism and human sacrifice. But in your wisest wisdom chosed to comment on only one topic that pleases you, which is economy. How about terrorism, which Ghanaians are pionee ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

If both of you are true Africans and have some brain to look at things critically, you would have by now in your lives know that whatever is good for the British and all other anti-African forces is not really good for Africa ...

• john 10 years ago

Gambia is not Ghana. This lady us quite a learned lady and does not deserve such nonsense. What version your feelings are towards Britain and other countries, truth is truth. This sacking was definitely not warranted.

• ELINAM 10 years ago

In the US, there are well educated people getting the sack every day if they do not measure up. Some resign by themselves on the ground that they have not met the expectation of their employers.
    If someone is learned that do ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

CORRECTION;

• Odartey 10 years ago

Even the British ambassador to the Gambia hailed her appointment.
    Dzifa THINKS THE WHITE MAN IS EVEN GOD.
    POOR NEGROES

• dzifa 10 years ago

I was speaking to her well known integrity not the ambassadors race but thanks for assuming. You know what happens when you assume.

• ELINAM 10 years ago

She might be a good person with a high integrity but can she give a judgment to even the British in a case where the British might not be the one to get justice and still be praised by them?
    It is from that angle we want you ...

• dzifa is lost 10 years ago

"Even the British ambassador to the Gambia hailed her appointment".

SINCE JANUARY 7TH 1993, THE DAWN OF OUR LATEST EXPERIMENT WITH "DEMOCRACY", EVEN THE BRITISH AND THE AMERICANS HAVE ALWAYS TOLD YOU YOUR ECONOMY IS DOING ...

• Cry for Ghana 10 years ago

Mabel was wrong to accept the job in the first place. How was she expecting to perform under the leadership of Jammeh?

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Ghana could not jail one single corrupt official even Nigeria put few in jail, but Ghana, the police chiefs and the judiciary and the corrupt officials all in the same club of 'big men' so who will jail his friends?
    At least ...

• Dankwah 10 years ago

So he is a dictator when he murders ghanaian immigrants but not now abi? This is the same guy who unilaterally removed gambia from the Commonwealth and says he can cure Aids and cancer with bananas This is what you call a san ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Could you just name one thing that the commonwealth had done for you or your family and village that you can say by Ghana being a member of some English speaking Group and pays dues that could pay for say, library in your vil ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Is Jammeh above corruption himself?

• Anthony J 10 years ago

Exactly! Their prez is known to be very corrupt and likes to interfere with judicial leaders. Why would he keep on someone he knows will not listen to him? He probably thoght he could buy her but later realized she wouldn't c ...

• Samantha 10 years ago

Gambia still a Jungle ruled by a Foolish DICTATOR That President Yahya Jammeh is a BIG FOOL

• Dayan 10 years ago

Interestingly nobody including the west, amnesty international, human rights organizations, just name it all over the world seems to portray as if nothing is wrong with the citizens of Gambia, this thing called yaya is behavi ...

• THE LONE PROPHET OF JEHOVAH 10 years ago

And what is Prez Mahama doing with corruption in mum Ghana judiciary service and the Police Service???

• Michael 10 years ago

When this lady was appointed and many of you were waxing lyrical about her God-ordained promotion, and heralding her as lifting up the name of Ghana, her school, and her alleged ethnic background, I said she should not accept ...

• Steel-Pulse (Primus-Interparis) 10 years ago

YOU ARE PERFECTLY RIGHT MIKE; I READ YOUR PIECE OF ARTICLE ON CAUTIONING HER. BUT BEING AS DUMB AS SHE IS (IRRESPECTIVE OF HER SO-CALLED LAW DEGREES), SHE SIMPLY DID NOT LISTEN; IT SERVES HER RIGHT!!!

• KANE 10 years ago

"....and she should leave that country on the next available plane going anywhere".

UNQUOTE.

I LIKE THAT.

"SHE SHOULD LEAVE ON THE NEXT AVAILABLE PLANE GOING ANYWHERE".

NOW, BACK TO SERIOUS BUSINESS.

• Kwame 10 years ago

Right. Because it makes sense to have FOUR chief justices in less than a year. Mchewww

• KB 10 years ago

I read your posting then,Michael,and evidently you knew what you were talking about.Wow.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

A foreigner should not occupy such a sensitive position and there is nothing wrong with what Yahya Jammeh has done. How will we as Ghanaians feel to see a Nigerian being our Chief Justice? Tweakai. Stop insulting the Gambi ...

• francis 10 years ago

In Ghana yes that would not happen. Gambia does not have many judges and that is why they are always looking for the ones from other places. See her replacement is said to be a Nigeria mercenary who is known to be corrupt.

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Why did Jammeh appoint her in the first place if A foreigner should not occupy such a sensitive position?

• Asou 10 years ago

Sister, get you bag and come home. You do not know what God has saved you from. You a qualified judge! I was not all comfortable with that appointment! It was like the cockroach dancing for the fowl. It was a big risk!

• Concerned 10 years ago

cockroach dancing 4 fowling? definitely not a good idea .LOL

• NO DISCRIMINATE - MAHAMA SUCKS 10 years ago

GAMBIA PRESIDENT IS CORRUPT AND HE WANT TO COVER MANY SECRET THINGS UP

• AKWAPIMBA,LAS PALMAS DE G.C.,SPAIN 10 years ago

-COME BACK HOME.YOU WILL BE NEEDED SOMEWHERE ONE DAY.

• Kumepreku Asante 10 years ago

My sister you are lucky to come home safely,You can not trust that Gambian tactician.If you are not killed or jailed for life imprisonment,then Almighty GOD for your life.

• KANE 10 years ago

SHE'LL SOON BE GHANA'S NEXT CLUELESS CHIEF JUSTICE FOLLOWING IN THE FOOTSTEPS OF THE CURRENT CHEIF JUSTICE OF GHANA.

THE CURRENT CHIEF JUSTICE WAS ALSO KICKED OUT BY YAHYAH JAMMEH SURELY FOR THE BAD JOB PERFORMANCE AND MED ...

• Kofi baffour 10 years ago

Excuse me but Mrs wood has never served in gambia. Stop spewing lies and unnecessary hate! This is a simple matter of a dictator showing his turn colors. Plain and simple!

• jm 10 years ago

NO WAHALA YOU CAN COME AND JOIN THE CORUPT ONES IN GHANA TO MANIPULATE GHANAIAN JUSTICE SYSTEM.

• Swazi 10 years ago

Why are some ghanains so quick to jump to conclusions? Mabel don't worry. We all know you did well there as you did in Swaziland. I am sure you will get an international appointment in no time. Praise the Lord.

• fos 10 years ago

Ghanaians,this attitude of accepting bribe has follow her to Gambia.Let learn sense.

• Essien 10 years ago

Where did u see that she has done such a thing? Show us one single report as proof. A simple Google search shows that the gambia media reports that she was removed due to her integrity and unwillingness to bend her hand for j ...

• oppong london 10 years ago

only useless and brainless africans are always voted to power or make coup d,etat to control the affairs of state.few chances for better people,look at big examples of ghana,s john mahama and ndc,useless government with usele ...

• SHALOM 10 years ago

Ghanainans and money. Why did Mabel accept appointment under murderous Capt. Yahya Jammeh of The Gambia? She is even fortunate her life was spared. My sister accept the dismissal in the Name of God and come home we need you h ...

• Ceeboy Dangerman 10 years ago

Mabel is a good judge. Have met her. We have always suggested to her, she is not secured cos Jammeh is evil. Ghana will take back without any hard feeling.

• David 10 years ago

Sad to hear this. Her appointment offered some hope for gambia but now... well let's wait and see.

• komkom 10 years ago

i remember kwaku baako warned that she could lose her job easily knowing the way Jammeh behaves

• kk 10 years ago

Komkom, I remember what Kweku Baako said about this appointment. I am actually happy for our queen!! Please leave that accursed land and come home. Thay don't deserve such a brainy and beautiful " odeshie" like you.God guide ...

She is a beautiful woman. Gambia does not deserve her!

• hmnnnnnnn! 10 years ago

over to you - ECOWAS

• kwadwo 10 years ago

can the Ghanaian of today ever accept for a foreign national to head the highest branch of justice in Ghana? even if the president of Ghana employed a foreigner as his shoe shine boy, it will be something for Ghanaians to qua ...

• ADWOA 10 years ago

WAS IT B'COS OF SEXUAL HARASSMENT

• Ebo 10 years ago

A Guy like this commands the fear that is needed to build africa. Africans only respect authority that bites big time. Try anything else, it will fail!

• kwame 10 years ago

I am not surprise at all since my feeling was like this man will sack this Ghanaian too after doing it to others. Its better to go hungry than dine with the devil.

• Robin Hood 10 years ago

Nana,Adwoa Mabel, your country Ghana needs you.When one door closes another opens. Atuguba has outlived his usefulness in Ghana's Supreme Court and we need a quick replacement. Is Atuguba will not go, both Akoto Bamfo and Adi ...

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

TWEEEEAN !!! GHANA BAR ??????

• kk 10 years ago

now every country has seen that ghanaian judges are corrupt becoause of the election pettition,which they rule for NDC that is the main reason

• Anthony J 10 years ago

Jammeh is known to be corrupt, this judge is known for her honesty and hard work. The only reason why the previous nigerian was removed was because his bribery became a public scandal. It is not surprising that she has been r ...