You are here: HomeNews2014 02 02Article 299549

COMMENT: Is Duncan-Williams' spiritual command to the falling cedi a bad joke?

Read Comments Comments (94)

• Sakawa Boy 10 years ago

ATRO ADEEFUO fake men of god

• Senior Wisdom 10 years ago

Absolute disaster. Ghana has not problem solvers in the country. They are mesmerized by this soothsayers who are interested not in their flock, nor do they have a real relationship with God. All the like the Pharisees is to w ...

• June 10 years ago

Sad to say but gullible Ghanaians will still troop into this churches and listen to these fake pastors lie to them every Sunday. Who in their right mind take these agents of satan seriously?

• Joe in Beijing 10 years ago

these fake and unthinking pastors have brought shame to Christianity. Shame unto Duncan Williams !!! Has he gone nuts?!!

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

A BETTER, PROSPEROUS, MODERN, FORWARD THINKING GH STARTS WITH YOU!
    IF YOUR LIVING SITUATION IS GOOD, THEN GHANA WILL BE GOOD.
    IF YOU ARE CONFUSED, DISORIENTED, UNORGANIZED, FEARFUL, IN DEBT/DEATH,
    THEN GH WILL BE THE SAME. ...

• OHENE ANKASA KAB 10 years ago

IT IS DIFFICULT TO FATHOM HOW SOME VERY LEARNED GHANAIANS, SEMI LITERATES AND FULL FLEDGED ILLITRATES( I shall excuse the latter ) ALLOW THEMSELVES INTO GULLIBILITY BY TROOPING INTO SOME "ONEMAN" CHURCHES IN THE HOPE OF RECE ...

• OHENE ANKASA KAB 10 years ago

IT IS DIFFICULT TO FATHOM HOW SOME VERY LEARNED GHANAIANS, SEMI LITERATES AND FULL FLEDGED ILLITRATES( I shall excuse the latter ) ALLOW THEMSELVES INTO GULLIBILITY BY TROOPING INTO SOME "ONEMAN" CHURCHES IN THE HOPE OF RECE ...

• onipa nnua 10 years ago

well infact i prefer Duncan to Owusu Bempah. becos ducan prays for properity whiles Bempah prophesized Nana will win

• Wiafe 10 years ago

The prayers we need is for the greedy bastard politicians including Mahama to stop stealing state resources.

For a country with so many Christians--where is the redemptive power?

• Tunabu 10 years ago

Strong Christian countries where church-going has more or less become a national fad, are the most corrupt and destitute in the world. Italy, Portugal, Nigeria, Brazil, Mexico, Ghana .... you name them. I think Christians - i ...

• HolyGhost 10 years ago

Because about 99.99% of the church goers (christians) only think about money and they don't care how they earn it.

• Sam Ablakwah 10 years ago

This is called Duncanomics

• painkiller 10 years ago

haha, duncanomics! agoodu one dere...

• ONYAME BEYE 10 years ago

SO HOW ON EARTH CAN THIS PASTOR PRAY FOR CEDIS AND DOLLARS? INSTEAD OF HEALING SICKNESS HE IS PRAYING FOR MONEY. SOOOO FUNNY.

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

I can't put it any more polite

I think this guy has lost it.

• OMANBA 10 years ago

This is funny!!!It is no more economics but 'Godnomics'.God is now an economist being called upon to save the cedi.This the joke of the century.

• K Owusu 10 years ago

This is the same man who said last week that he wants to live and die like Mandela.Its good God does not have a living brother or sister among us else they will be fighting these 'atro adeefuo 'everyday.I pity those who go to ...

• Atheist 10 years ago

According to the canonical gospels in a well-known book, a bloke called Jesus chucked the money changers out for turning the Temple into a den of thieves.
    Looks like some dunce with lots of fans has let the thieves creep bac ...

• Tunabu 10 years ago

Atheist, you hit the flipping nail right on its fucking arse.

The only thing is that, it is not fans that the dunce has. That dunce with a criminal record has a whole lot of lesser idiots and fools who are falling over th ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 10 years ago

I have lost my hair from scratching my head whenever I read some of these articles, last week the BBC reported on the free falling Ghanaian cedi, and attributed it's devaluation to the fact that Ghana imports more than it exp ...

• Yaw Poku, USA 10 years ago

Did you read the article that attributed to Duncan Williams saying during his sermon in the presence of the President, Finance Minister, and the Governor of Bank Of Ghana? This donkey man said he will pray to stop the falling ...

• yaw 10 years ago

May God have mercy on your souls

• Nana K 10 years ago

Why are you in Japan in the first place. What have you done to help Ghana to solve its economic woes. You're useless. Yaboka, Ghana!!!. with all your knowledge, you couldn't help Ghana. And you are in Japan sending senseless ...

• Hakeem 10 years ago

Jealousyyyyy! Don't you JUST wish you were in Japan, earning Yen? Naaah! No? Maybe just a teeny, weeny bit? A beg, comot for road, as dem say for Nigeria!

• Barimba Ghunney 10 years ago

Pathetic NANA, the likes of you are ruining Ghana our motherland with your outright stupidity. People outside of Ghana contribute immensely in the form of remittances only to have the likes of you squander all with your sense ...

• Akos 10 years ago

Nana K, if you don't have any sensible thing to add to this discussion, you better shut you dirty mouth. Exactly what did this writer say that allow you to utter such rubbish? A fool who can't think for himself but believes a ...

• Nana K 10 years ago

Again and again!, If the writer is a man enough, he should be in Ghana and do something for us since he is learned and know how to manage an economy. Only lazy and fools who take least chance to insult authorities will applau ...

• KnYc(USMC) 10 years ago

With so many morons in gov't, why should he waste his time in Ghana. Nana k why don't you go F...ck urself. Who will waste his or her time in a Ghana where by a President sit down in a church to stop the free fall of his curr ...

• Nana K 10 years ago

So why are you wasting your time in Ghana??? Join him there, slave trade and neocolonialism, Osagyefo was right! The president has every right to be in a church, mosque or wherever he thinks appropriate. Let us use our intell ...

• KnYc (USMC) 10 years ago

Fu...cking moron, I am in New York watching Super Bowl. Fu...ck U and your Moron President. The cedi will free fall, because you all are moron.

Are you benefitting from the loot, Ofui?

Go get a life, kwasia like aboa bi ba.

FOOOOOOOOOOOOLLLLLLLLL !!!

• Karaka Pentoa 10 years ago

He doesn't have to PHYSICALLY live in Ghana to make recommendations. Grow up, the world is now seaming into one entity in case you haven't noticed.

Besides aren't Ghanians applauding Komla Dumor as a hero even though he wo ...

You are one of those dunce who will spend 12 hours in church praying instead of going to find a job. Let me ask you: Do you get value for your tithes and offerings? You are an idiot who is subsidizing some fake pastors flambo ...

• Nana K 10 years ago

They come with insults without a word or approach to solve our economic woes. I'm fully employed with four different jobs (Glory to Jesus evermore). I think you wash bowls, clean toilets at Beijing, slave trade boy!!! God hav ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 10 years ago

A special shout out to all reactionary slaves ( not the Beloveds who love Ghana/Africa,) who sit in their master's ice box bragging about being in a better place, I am in beautiful sunny Ghana/Africa, the world's greatest PAR ...

• Brainy Guy 10 years ago

Skin pain!!!!! The guy has every right to live wherever he wants. You do not have to live in Ghana to contribute to the well being of Ghana. Why are some nincompoops like you just attack people personally instead of discussi ...

• SANTORO 10 years ago

FIND SOMETHING BETTER TO WRITE, AND STOP THIS NONSENSE ARTICLES. WHO ARE YOU TO INSULT PRONOUNCE MAN OF GOD.

• SUA 10 years ago

YOUR NDC CRIMINAL WONT GIVE HIM THE JOB INSTEAD THEY GIVE IT A MINISTER WHO SAYS ANY BODY CAN MOUNT A ROAD BLOKE AND COLLECT ROAD TOLLS TO HELP SOLVE THE MANY POT HOLES ON OUR ROADS!! SEE WHAT I MEAN? IDIOT!!! NOW ASK YOURS ...

The idiots are showing up one after the other. Go get a life Santoro kwasia !!

I AM A BORN AGAIN CHRISTIAN MYSELF BUT IN ALL SERIOUSNESS I THINK THIS ARCBISHOP IS JOKING.HE HAS LOST HIS SPIRITAUL AUTHORITY TO REBUKE THESE CORRUPT POLITICIANS BECAUSE I PRESUME HE BENEFITS FROM THE LOOTING AND SHARING. I ...

• When Will They Ever Learn 10 years ago

FELLOW GHANAIANS,LET NOT YOUR HEARTS BE TROUBLED.WEEP NO MORE.CRY NO MORE WORRY
    NO MORE. SOON AND VERY SOON,THE RT. REV ARCH BISHOP DUNCAN-WILLIAM WILL COMMAND MANNA TO DROP FROM HEAVEN ALL OVER GHANA.WITH THIS MIRACLE,WE S ...

• Kwamena 10 years ago

peace fm reported this on 2nd December 2013.The founder, Presiding Archbishop and General Overseer of the Christian Action Faith Ministries, Nicholas Duncan Williams has slammed and accused politicians of playing needless pol ...

• Tunabu 10 years ago

My friend what are you talking about? Or are you trying to distract attention from the shameful folly of that accursed so-called Pastor?

So between Dec 2nd 2013 and Fenbraury 2nd 2014, somewhere along the line Archbishop Duncan Williams lost his mind. When did he lose it?

• LOVELIGHT DJAN 10 years ago

in the first place you need to live in Ghana before giong to that extent. Ghanaians need faith to turn things around though but the men of God actuially have room for improvement, cos the collect from the poverty stricken soc ...

• Hakeem 10 years ago

Guys, what goes down will rise again... Duncan-Williams knows that. And he is playing on that. He's just as big a charlattan as the next guy. And he doesn't care what you write here. Talk of cynicism!

• YEBOPOWER 10 years ago

This Duncan guy is a con. He is not only fake but he feeds on the ignorance of Ghanaians because they allowed him to. What is he doing about the collapsed healthcare delivery, massive unemployment,corrupt officials including ...

• mohammed seidu 10 years ago

The preacher had it right,becos the message was heard by the presido.that is the wise man sending the massage to his leader.

• Analyst 10 years ago

Anyy person who has faith in God will understand what the archbishob did as something usual - it is called prayer to God. Christians pray about everything because they have a God who is interested in every area of their lives ...

Analyst you lack basic understanding. If prayer could by itself raise the value of currencies, NO economist will bother cracking BRAINS.

• THE TRUTH 10 years ago

Ghanaians have got the funny belief that God will do everything for them.We have put our two hands between our legs and expect God to solve all our problems.What is our use as human beings with brains? Did God give us our bra ...

God has given us our own free will to think and make decisions. If you will allow a con pastor to con you out of your money that's up to you.

• BETTER GHANA 10 years ago

If Duncan Williams believe in what he said then he should go and stand in a railway track and command 160mph train to stop. If the train stops without killing him, then the cedi will stop falling. Fake men of God don't know e ...

• General Bugov 10 years ago

This is the kind of articles Ghanaweb should be publishing. I couldn't tell the political affiliation of the person. He was fair and very objective. He wasn't bashing a pastor, he was expressing his shock of how some pastors ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

Duncan Williams wasn't talking about economic policy so what is the essence of this comment? Give us break. What has foreign investor done to Ghana apart from the plundering of our resources. Those investors themselves who ta ...

THE ONLY ECONOMIC POLICY HE HAS IS PRAYER. PATHETHIC INDEED.

• naa 10 years ago

which Tokyo? u r from here in accra. Daa bia saaaa.

• Yiadom 10 years ago

Whether he lives in Tokyo, Chorkwor or Papua New Guinea is irrelevant. What is important is the socio-economic status of Ghana today and how some Pastors have chosen to toy with the people.

• KnYc (USMC) 10 years ago

Yes, now you all see how your chew and pour education has caught up with you people in Ghana. Now your president can't solve a common problem every country on earth due face sometimes. Now he turn to a fake pastor for
    Help. ...

Does it even matter where the person is from? Fools can't even read sense when they see one. Being in Accra even give him more gravitas top comment on the stupidity of Ghanains including you Naa. tweaaaaaaaa !!!!1

• YOOMOBEGA 10 years ago

When will this chalatanry end?
    I command you to pray for the end of
    the torrential rains in our capital.
    In the name of the Holy Ghost.
    Ameeen!!!

• Nana K 10 years ago

As a young man in my village, I saw people driving expensive cars come to consult a fetish man. We saw and knew when most came back to thank him for success. It was when I learnt the the spiritual controls the physical. I als ...

Ghana is a fuckked up country but it's high time we woke the fucckk up !!!

• Kwabena fosu 10 years ago

My brother, the bible is quite clear on such matters. Food for the kings and royals should not be given to slaves and the unbelievers. International economics is not for loud noise maker but prudent thinkers back by high prod ...

• Mr. Pee 10 years ago

Good ideas keep it up, people like you can help Mother Ghana to stand on it feet. God bless you.

• apostle 10 years ago

this Duncan Williams guy is 419 n must stop using the the name of God in vain,else the wrath of God will stop him.

• iPad 10 years ago

You have almost the whole Nation of Ghana waiting time In Churches and for some "all night". What do you expect? Of course the productivity of the nation will fall.
    People are unproductive when in church - period.

• Ghanaian Patriot 10 years ago

Do not take this Bishop, Duncan William serious. If he buys expensive pen which is not made in Ghana, which he says his congregations cannot purchase, why will the cedi not be in trouble.

The free fall of the cedi is not ...

Your ultimate moron nation......

• Skeptic 10 years ago

It may be that the central bank's injection of $20 Million into the economy may have had the opposite outcome than what was intended! Injecting additional money into an economy that is already suffering from overly high infl ...

• Pk 10 years ago

The house of the lord has become a place where lies are commonly heard nowadays. Is it because Christians are more tolerance ,and because they listen to and accept anything that comes their way? How could a man of God say thi ...

• kres 10 years ago

ben, i think you lack spiritual understanding

If the cedi has a spirit it must be an evil spirit.

• Alomo Gyata 10 years ago

The so called bishop is myopic. Is the bishop educated and did he do ecomics? This is how they deceive their followers by their so called revelations.

• Alomo Gyata 10 years ago

Correction of the spelling word economics.

• KnYc(USMC) 10 years ago

Why not start with the guinea fowls, maybe they will fly back since Burkina did not report they sake asylum over there. Common guinea fowl project this gov't cannot manage, let alone currencies monetary. What a waste country ...

• Afia 10 years ago

agyeiiiiii yyiieee, ebaaa na eyo....when its coming ten its doing

• Yaw Owusu 10 years ago

There so many fake men of God and Duncan-Williams is one of them. His spiritual command to the falling cedi a is the mind set of Black Man

• Krazy Bompatee 10 years ago

Prayers don't work in a vacuum, follow it up with pragmatic policies

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Yes, I, Akadu, said it! Animals, how can a pastor say that and collect tithe and its all!

• Selorm 10 years ago

leaders have to realize that the goal is to build up the organization (or country) one heads and to help one’s followers realize their potential, not to use one’s position for personal aggrandizement. Wealth and fame migh ...

• kwasi Brew 10 years ago

its truely an irrational joke.
    these men of God want 2 think dat they can do wat Jesus Christ ddnt do.

Daer Ofosu-Appiah, Duncan-Williams chose a soft target to command. He knows that the cedi, having no paid spokespersons, will not respond to any command. He knows that any command to the president and his team to fix the fall ...

• Aryan 10 years ago

Yes it is true prayers can solve problems but, pope Duncan-Williams spiritual command to the cedi was really a bad joke. It reminds me of comedian Nkomode 'doing his something which is there' How can a whole pope do somethin ...

• ASIEDU NKETIA 10 years ago

This is a stomach direction pastor. Instead of telling AKONFEM MAHAMA in the face to stop the loot and share to save the cedi. he was talking nonsense.

• chamelleon 10 years ago

this is a real fact. the writer has spoken out exactly what suppose to b done and not 419 spritual issue.

• Asafo Adjei Ernest 10 years ago

Man of God may the good Lord bless you and your generations unborn
    You fellow men and women of God and others should do same rather than doom saying and unconstructive criticisms

• Timbuktu 10 years ago

This Duncan Williams guy is full of crap!

• BEST 10 years ago

I have read 86 of the comments on this article. Unfortunately 99% of what I read them are pure insults. Duncan Williams' contribution to address the economic challenge was to prophecy to the cedi. He also prayed for divine he ...

• kojo 10 years ago

Yu are a Ghn yu can help too.

• Choice Patriotic 10 years ago

It is so sad that you lack absolute understanding of what the Arch -Bishop did. He simply played his role as spiritual leader in intercession for the nations currency, he also prayed for the managers of the economy to get div ...

• link building 9 years ago

EyrFY2 Im grateful for the article. Much obliged.

• crorkz 9 years ago

NLcXGs I truly appreciate this blog.Really thank you! Fantastic.