You are here: HomeNews2014 02 01Article 299458

Falling cedi: Bawumia told you so! - Baako

Read Comments Comments (105)

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

Baako don't create any polemics out of this. All monies fall, then rise again, even those of the developed world.

Bawumia isn't a soothsayer.

• JAK The Ripper 10 years ago

Check currencies of most developing nations to see how they are performing against the dollar in the past couple of weeks...you are woefully ill-informed.

NDC PROPAGANDA MACHINE no matter what you do the people are slowly waking up to the reality that is ndc . ndc is a mafia criminal organization with extremely malicious intent which thrives on fueling conflicts between brother ...

• BAD TWIST 10 years ago

Your comment would be perfect without the tribal twist. All of us (Akans, Ewes, Dagombas, Gas, Nzemas, Muslims, Christians, men, women and children) are suffering the venom spewed out by this clueless NDC government with thei ...

• Anonymous Coward 10 years ago

These fools in government never listens. Clueless bunch of thieves.

• visionary 10 years ago

STRAIGHT UP KWAKU kwasia baaku
    I am not going to use any language but SHUT YOUR FUCK UP !!!!!
    YOU ARE THE SAME NPP CORRUPT THIEVES GANGs MEMBER.
    You ! KWAKU BAAKU are clueless about monetary exchange and how good it's for ...

• Fou 10 years ago

There's a hole in your head because this issue doesn't require a BA/Bsc to decipher. If you don't manage the economy as they are doing, the cedi will fall. As simple as that.

• 2016 VOTER 10 years ago

• Dogg 10 years ago

Some people just want dollar for no reason.

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

You think like every brainwashed semi educated Ghanaian who is either a hypocrite in the NPP or a coward in the NDC. It is not all things bad with communism and all good with capitalism or democracy. Childishly calling your o ...

• coffie 10 years ago

It's about time people need some grow up to do on national issues.Kwaku Baako quotes Bawumia what's narrow minded about this?His concerns are not based on any other developing nation but ours (Ghana)and our currency.No ill- ...

• JAK The Ripper 10 years ago

it's a worldwide phenomenon. Ghana depends strongly on gold exports yet for some months now the gold price has dipped terribly.

When gold price goes down usually the dollar strengthens... and investors place their confide ...

• kkkkk 10 years ago

The dip in gold prices has nothing to do with our woes. Government borrowing to satisfy their whims is to blame. If government was frugal enough and made the right choices we wouldn't have been in this mess.

• dan 10 years ago

THE MAN IS DESTROYING BOTH THE ECONOMY AND THE CD THE MAN GOT TO STEP DOWN AND GO HOME WE ARE SICK OF HIS NONSENSE AND USLESS TALK OF TRASH

• Dogg 10 years ago

Dollar is not our currency! Why should landlord collect rent in dollars?

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Our gold is exported IN CRUDE FORM,BUT NOT PROCESSED WITH MODERN MACHINERY AND INNOVATIVE SKILLS.
    Therefore,what do you mean here?
    How much do we make out this gold exports,as compared to processing before the exports?
    If ...

• Kofi beng 10 years ago

So JAK where was the 20b cedis invested? If it was done in the productive sectors of the economy we could now take advantage and export our way with the depreciated cedi. But no they borrowed and shared it just like the past ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

GHANA IS SICK!!! THE CEDI HAS ALREADY DIVED DEEP DOWN!!!!!!!------ GOD WILL NOT FORGIVE NANA ADDO IF HE GIVES UP THE LEADERSHIP OF THE NPP PARTY. HIS LEADERHIP WITH BAWUMIA IS EXCELLENT. NANA IS OUR POLITICAL MESSIAH!! WE WIL ...

• ABU 10 years ago

Then your economy guru,Bawymiah is empty with Kofi Bako clueless of what is our the real cause of the currency depriciation.Unless Kofi Baku is selling himself cheap Ghana is not producing anything and Kuffuor's NPP governmen ...

• kkkkk 10 years ago

NDC like to blame their owes on everything on outside forces. They blame everything except their corrupt self. In 2000 the great Kufour administration capped government borrowing at 10% and the cedi stabilized. The NDC came a ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

I watched him talk today. My God, Kwaku has lost very bit of principle in him. It was as if he wishes bad luck to Ghana because his favorites are not in power.

Kwaku should do the decent thing and follow Freddie Blay into ...

• hermit 10 years ago

Instead of jumping on the bandwagon of desporados attempting conjure that the cedi is not spiraling down in a free fall, just tell me if a 3% depreciation in a month for Ghana is a good sign for the economy. What is it that y ...

• koffio 10 years ago

certainly not by 17% per year. Ghana needs to tighten its borrowing. The last bond they issue through chase bank , they had to settle for a higher percentage interest rate than the prevailing market rate. because the internat ...

• LARYEAH 10 years ago

WO YE MMOFOO! AND YOU HAVE NO SENSE. KWASEANI!!!!

• yvone 10 years ago

Bunch of bad comments passed by this ndc folks and propergandist will not help Ghana and they and their relatives will suffer more cos God will punish liars

• ABU 10 years ago

But we are together in the same boat with God's punishment equally felt.

• Kojo T 10 years ago

They knocked off four zeros and left weak fundementals. Refer to our articles then we we questioned the rationale. It was like building castles on sand

• kkkkk 10 years ago

You had five years to fix whatever mess you perceive and yet has not been able to fix it but worsen it. When Kufour came to office the cedi was falling daily. Interest rate was at 45% but with sound economic policies he left ...

• SAM 10 years ago

NOT THAT SIMPLE COMPARING ECONOMICS LIKE THAT IN MY VIEW-DOES MAHAMA'S GOV HAVE HIPIC LIKE KUFFOUR'S? DO U KNOW THE SO CALLED INTEREST RATE MAHAMA'S GOV PAY NOW FROM BORROWINGS BECAUSE WE R PERCEIVED AS SO CALLED MIDDLE CLAS ...

• Asuo-Amponsah 10 years ago

Zimbabwe! Look, Abdul Malik can continue to 'hype' his benefactors all he wants,but he should understand that mere lip service will never turn any economy around.
    After all,why is the new NPP manifesto constantly harping on ...

• SOJI. 10 years ago

You see idiots like you and your government manning our dear nation will always plunge us into such mess.

• ABU 10 years ago

Clueless knuckleheads will come in with insults whilst the shrewed sees the problem and analysis it.Read well what he contributed and is the fact that your NPP whilst in government never saw for fixing.I guess you do not even ...

• VEEP IS GAY 10 years ago

He or may not understand guggisberg's economy, but knows that when you have a bunch of idiots and criminals like your type in government the ordinary Ghanian suffers most. But fortunately it is the ndc members who are the poo ...

• mensah abrampa 10 years ago

Bawumia is a realist. He knows and understands , unlike the current NDC economic team, that you can't be wrong and get it right. When we continue to make the wrong fiscal policies who needs a soothsayer to correctly predict t ...

• my brother 10 years ago

what can a trokosi government do. nothing! only short sightedness and looting!

• visionary 10 years ago

STRAIGHT UP KWAKU kwasia baaku
    I am not going to use any language but SHUT YOUR FUCK UP !!!!!
    YOU ARE THE SAME NPP CORRUPT THIEVES GANGs MEMBER.
    You ! KWAKU BAAKU are clueless about monetary exchange and how good it's f ...

• MAHAMAH MUMUNI DRAMANI 10 years ago

YOUR ANALYSIS IS BOGUS AND DIFFICULT TO UNDERSTAND,YOU ARE RATHER BIG IDIOT.NOW THE DOLLAR IS GOING TO BE 3000GH,BECAUSE GHANA PRODUCES NOTHING.YOU FOOLS ARE GOING TO EAT YOUR OWN SHITS.CEDI IS GOING TO BE AS DRIED AS COCOA L ...

• Richest Black 10 years ago

Pepeni aboa. what is the sense in what you wrote?

AKANI ABOA WOTO BINI PAKYAA KWASEA KOTE BOTO BA.YOU ARE STUPID LIKE YOUR FATHER.IDIOT!

• Kuukua 10 years ago

Yes all monies fall but what is worrying the great economist is the continuous decline of the cedi over the period since independence. The question is when is the cedi going to rise??

• The Mask 10 years ago

The role of currencies are to facilitate the exchange of goods and services. That is commodity-money-commodity (C-M-C).

Exchange rates are based on demand and supply. The question I would want to ask is what is the demand ...

• Poku K. 10 years ago

We need to do what Nkrumah did, by listing down at least ten most basic commodities that Ghana could produce but still import them and then start to produce them. The simply way to stabilize currency and to create
    jobs is t ...

• mod california 10 years ago

nonsense baako

• Clueless. 10 years ago

This John Mahama must stop relying on fresh Legon student economists and hire competent and very experience Ghanaian economists to fix the economy for us and stop beating about in the bush.

• JAMIL MOHAMED 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS THE MOST USELESS AND INCOMPETENT PRESIDENT OF ALL TIME !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• KWAA 10 years ago

Its too for the Government to accept that,they can't manage the Economy,and seek the advise of experts.So they will go on and on,with the propaganda hoping things will turn around on itself.But unfortunately as the World Econ ...

• Amega Megawoe 10 years ago

The act of seeing the rise and fall of the Cedi comfortably rests with every Ghanaian, a PHD holder or not. What does not rest is the ability to put the required economic stabilisation policy in place that will improve the fa ...

• kkkkk 10 years ago

Even if what your are saying is true which I doubt, it was not Bawumia who did that. You rightly pointed out that the required economic policies should be put in place. But who should put it in place? Isn't it the job of the ...

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

Yes, the government of the day has the responsibility. Voodoo economics has never worked in any country.

• Erica 10 years ago

Strange. You talk of putting"Stabisation policies in place" Dr Bawumia pointed this out to the government. No "stabilisation policies" were put in place. Kofi Baako is reminding the government to consider your proposal theref ...

Amega, have you ever heard of policy makers? Well, I can tell you that when it comes to making economic policies in Ghana, I do not take part.

• STUBORN CAT 10 years ago

PROVERB 18:2

• Martin/PA 10 years ago

India, Brazil, and most emerging economies are feeling the pinch of the money market. The upbeat of the American economic recovery is a factor. The other factor is the twitching of the bond market by the Federal Reserve Bank. ...

• Kanto 10 years ago

Your argument that most emerging markets are struggling not ALL emerging countries. Some emerging countries must be doing something right. And by the way, can you stop comparing Ghana to Brazil and India! Ghana is not and eme ...

• Alhaji Brutus Germany 10 years ago

IT IS VERY SAD THAT MAHAMA WILL LISTEEN TO ANITA AND OTHERS INSTEAD OF BAWUMTA:

• dan 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS DESTROYING GHANA ECONOMY AND CD THIS MAN GOT TO STEP DOWN AND GO BACK TO THE NORTH

• Mahama's little helper. 10 years ago

With Oil revenue and revenue from other exports, our currency should be appreciating not depreciating.

NDC, you are over-borrowing and not investing efficiently. Your institutional corruption is siphoning off your loans in ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

Who in Ghana doesn't know that the Cedi is weak as result of our wanton importation of everything? Bawmuia? What does he know? Give us break. When he and his party had power, what do they do to boost manufacturing industries ...

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

It is this kind of stupid attitude that is causing the downfall of the country. Can't you for once reason without insult to show some dept and seriousness? You make me sick Dr. Bawumiah spoke his mind and whether there is tru ...

• ABU 10 years ago

The NPP went to town driving foreign investors away from Ghana which is affecting negatively the economy which we are all feeling the brunt irrespective of our political colours.A child that says will never alloxw his mother ...

• Victor A, Young 10 years ago

The NDC can run but they can't hide from reality! Ghanaians are seeing with their own eyes, the repercussions of election fraud. It's not and easy feeling at all; people are suffering; things continue to fall apart for Ghanai ...

• ABU 10 years ago

Bako NPP bootlicker.

• We want change now 10 years ago

The President and his team must resign they have failed Ghana, They have failed the economy totally. I foresee the dollar to Ghc4 by the close of the year. NDC is the only party that has an office called the lying ministry(pr ...

• oppong london 10 years ago

ndc will bring the weed cedi to back as it was before 2005,the bulky cedis,1 pound to 1000 gh cedis.useless and bogus party ndc

• MENSAH 10 years ago

NDC needs DR.BAWUMIA's input,suggestions,prediction,advice, with respect to our economic affairs.
    I remember back during THE LATE ATTA MILL REIGN,the same chap,BAWUMIA,BY NAME,said:
    All what NDC is claiming about GHANA ROBU ...

• SMFLY 10 years ago

This man is good in mathematics

• Peter - Amsterdam 10 years ago

Mr. Baako, i think you are an educated person. By education i mean you have been to school before and at school you did a little bit of economics. Baako, common sence and a little education should tell you that, devaluation ...

• koffio 10 years ago

and you came on here with all your education and economics and wrote common "sence" "world wide" problem. yoo yati wai boss.

• Anthony Peduase 10 years ago

What do you expect from a little minded and a confused and a so called social/economic commentator who hides behind his news paper because he has easy access to it and just like to spew illogical/irrational social and economi ...

• Anglia 10 years ago

THE BABY WITH SHARP TEETH. MR KNOW ALL. THIS GOVN'T AND ITS APPOINTEES ARE NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE.LORD HAVE MERCY ON MOTHER GHANA.

TOO MUCH EDUCATED PEOPLE ARE SPOILING THE GAME,YES SIR SA.

• FEMIX 10 years ago

PROPAGANDA CANNOT WORK IN DEALING WITH ECONOMICS. WHEN THE ALL INTELLIGENT DR BAWUMIAH SPOKE THAT ILLITERATE FIIFII CAME TO BLAST THE CLEVER DOCTOR THAT HE LACKS ECONOMIC PEATICALS AND NOW YOU SEE FIIIFII

• k. Agyei 10 years ago

The cedi will keep falling until all the illiterates in both NDC and NPP buy made in Ghana products. Who the heck is Bawumia? Baako must wise up and stop this monlithic propagnda.

• Janet, Kabuki Aryiku 10 years ago

Baako, this is some of the evidence of Nana Akufo-Addo and NPP holding or nation, Ghana in for 8 months with their 2012 election appeal. After all we are told by NPP men and women that the election defeat was caused by the l ...

• Economist 10 years ago

NPP are as guilty as NDC

• FOREIGN MP 10 years ago

If I were mahama,I would bank on Dr Bawumia's knowledge and intelligence than sleeping with Lordina or spending heavily on solomon nkansa's propaganda.Anyway can ndc administration boast of an outstanding Economist in their s ...

• Issaka 10 years ago

NDC government lack the men who can handle the economy

• Jones Mensah 10 years ago

Even the yen is struggling against the dollar, and so are other major currencies. If I were Baaku, I would not make political capital out of this. However, I would not blame him. He is a complete illiterate and this issue is ...

• Hansen 10 years ago

Shoot the messenger and that will surely solve a long term problem which has been exacerbated by unsatisfactory management of the economy. I would rather Tell our govt to deal with the issue, especially using non-insulting la ...

• JO TEE 10 years ago

SO THE CEDI DID NOT FALL DURING NPPs 8 YEARS UNDER KUFFOUR EH?-CHEAP KWAKU BAAKU SHOULD GIVE US A BREAK. BAWUMIA DOES NOT KNOW ANYTHING MORE THAN ANY OTHER TOP ECONOMIST IN THE COUNTRY-HE BAWUNIA IS NOT RUNNING THE COUNTRY AN ...

• paddy 10 years ago

nail on the head

• peace 10 years ago

bako is academically bankrupt

• shoe 10 years ago

I wonder why some Ghanaians are still ignorant and place priorities on their partys interest more than the interest of the country.Do we expect the parties to be richer than the nation itself.The country is becoming poorer an ...

• Kanto 10 years ago

Do you remeber that ill educated economics spokesman at the presidency called fifi kwetey? Where is that poorly trianed economics spokesman? Can we listern to blablablaaaa ignorance about the economic health of Ghana. PROPAGA ...

• goofy 10 years ago

THE ONLY THING NDC FORGET TO TELL IS THE TRUE THEY LIAR STEAL CHEAT THE ONLY PROBLEM GHANAIANS HAVE IS THERE SOME IDIOTS WHO THINK LIFE IS NOW SO THEY BE LIVE WHAT NDC TELL THEM

• JUL 10 years ago

I wonder why the NPP government never put this man in charge of any ministry when they came to power,

• Illiterate Analyst 10 years ago

what the hell you talking about. Bawumia is theorist and belong in the classroom. Kweku you're a kaka ras.

• TEE 10 years ago

DISGRACEFUL NDC WILL NEVER LISTEN, THEY WILL ALWAYS HAVE SOMETHING TO SAY, LOOT AND SHARE CHECKS AND BALANCES GO SCOT-FREE. MAHAMA WITH HIS BUNCH OF UGLY THIEVES NORTHERNERS STINKING MESSING THE FLAGSTAFF HOUSE. MAHAMA VISIO ...

• F Anin 10 years ago

Bawumia was right, you are too good.

• TEE 10 years ago

NDC NDC NDC NDC NDC NDC NDC NDC DON'T LIKE LISTEN BCOS THE TRUTH ALWAYS HURTS MAHAM. WHAT A HELL DID MAHAMA DO WITN OUR MONEY $20 BIL OR HE HAS BOUGHT A HOUSE IN DUBAI AND HAVING SAVINGS ACCOUNTS ALL IN DUBAI FOOLS PEPEFU NT ...

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

Npp knows everything, they had stolen gov money in USA dollars using at black market to course our cedi falling. NPP Ghana cedi 1.00 Ghana cedes to 1.00 USA dollars was a camouflage.Politicians and NPP wishing Bad,sabotaging ...

• Ibrahim 10 years ago

Ammisah-Arthur has no clue what is going on,I thought he was a banker?All these guys are figur-heads,they have no idea what is going on so how can they solve the problem?

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 10 years ago

EVILS NDC HETA THE TRURH,SHAME UNTO THEM,USELESS,EBE DII K3K3,GOD WILL PUNISH THEM ALL,MAHAMA IS NUMBER ONE CNN DOG BOY,NUMBER ONE IN GHANA HISTORY,WHAT A SHAAAAAAME AZAA,ATOPAHENE,OFUI MAHAMA

• KOO BOYE 10 years ago

When I returned from the US in 2007,one dollar was trading for .90cedi and I was surprised how the NPP was able to do the trick.How they were able to bring down the mighty dollar to me was amazing.By the way,does the NDC Gov' ...

• julo 10 years ago

Under John Kuffuor, the Cedi depreciated so muuch that they had to change the currency to make it look good. Baako is more of an NPP ambassador than anything else

• ASIEDU NKETIA 10 years ago

Akonfem economics from Akonfem Mahama. Just keep quiet and suffer for endorsing a woyomized government. Edeii biii k3k3!!!!

• Captain Canada 10 years ago

on the NPP party and its operatives. They manage to destroy the credibility of the nation through their constant protestation and attempts at rendering the state ungovernable. Through their various machinations they've manage ...

• KnYc(USMC) 10 years ago

so for 5 years you still blaming NPP? Are they in Gov't now or that is how they do it in Canada? You lack critical thinking. 5 years of waste by NDC gov't, they don't have projective thinkers.

• Captain Canada 10 years ago

than being in office to destroy an economy. bush has been out of office but his evil hands can be felt today. You lack more than critical thinking. you lack a brain. npp destroyed ghana's reputation aboard and fouled institut ...

ARE YOU SURE? MISTER!DO YOU REALLY HAVE BRAIN? ARE YOU SURE? IF YES THEN YOU BETTER SHUT UP,IF YOU DON'T HAVE IT THEN YOU CAN GO ON WITH YOUR STUPID COMMENTS.WHAT REPUTATION ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT? ARE YOU THE ONLY ONE IN ABRO ...

• KnYc(USMC) 10 years ago

This is what happen when there are too many fools in Ghana. NDC fool soldiers will sell their vote for a kankay, and a fish. No projective thinkers in NDC.

• SHOOTER 10 years ago

I blame the fall of the cedi on propaganda, voodoo economics, medo nyame exchange rate economics, inflation drop to single digits because I'm the chief propagandist economics, corruption, wanton looting and thievery, ineptitu ...

• kankam boadu 10 years ago

357% increase of govt debt by NDC ?.God saves ghana

• AKONOBA 10 years ago

Mahama does not know what is depreciation. He knows GYEEDA, SADA, WOYOME, WATERVILLE, ISOFOTON, RLG, ZOOMLOPN=CORRUPTION. Mahama=focusless=directionless=visionless=presidentless. If EC aided and stole election for president w ...

• ASANTEWAA 10 years ago

GHANA WE ARE DOOM