You are here: HomeNews2014 01 24Article 298703

TUC supports calls for state burial for Komla Dumor

Read Comments Comments (57)

• Opanin 10 years ago

This is disappointing. The TUC should think of something more enduring and visible than one time state burial. The cost of the state burial can go into a scholarship fund in his memory. The TUC can name one of their halls a ...

• RJ 10 years ago

I weep for Ghana. How did this Idiot get to be a TUC leader. For how long are Ghanaians going to go on investing in the Dead instead of the living. That money could be use in education for Ghana to get more Dumors and Hesses

• 123 10 years ago

State burial my arse. What did he do to deserve state burial? State burial is losing its significance in Ghana.Didn't Awonoor the ethnocentric fool get one?

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

For what?A complete waste of money,he is just an ordinal man like me,is his
    Education nobody had it before? and
    moreover set a fund for his Children to
    cater for them,for what.

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Wow!

• THE SOLUTION MASTER 10 years ago

Komla lived in london doing his job like any other ghanaian living in london working.

He was not our president or cabinet minister, WHY STATE BURIAL. This tuc man have nothing to do, nothing intelligent to say. How does th ...

• Ada-Boy 10 years ago

The TUC has always been against the state.They callous in their imposition of high wages and perks on the state and private enterprise when they can ill afford it.(Did they hear Anglogold-Ashanti chair's message from Davo thi ...

• Asanteman 10 years ago

COME ON TUC! WAS KOMLA WORKING FOR GHANA IN THE BBC? HE WAS WORKING FOR HIMSELF & FAMILY. IF TUC WILL PAY FOR THE COST OF STATE BURIAL, THAT'S FINE! I THINK HIS GRANDPA SHOULD HAVE HAD A STATE BURIAL & NOT KOMLA, COS HIS GRAN ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

Seriously speaking, i never knew all along that Ghanaian workers have such an idiot as our leader. What makes anybody think Komla deserves a state burial

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

Some Ghanaian Leaders lack wisdom. They need prayers!!!!.Do they understand STATE BURIAL ?

• JoJo 10 years ago

The small minds that are in higher places in our country is our biggest liability! RIP Komla, May your gentle sole rest in peace.
    Sometimes I weep for Ghana, completely misplaced priorities and corruption!

• sting 10 years ago

yes we are highly traumatized by komla's death but is this call coming from our emotions or purpose??? where is the justification for a state burial??? because he worked for bbc or what??? he's a fine hardworking respectable ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

I think the fact that he worked with the whiteman is what is causing this problem. Does every bbc journalist deserve a state funeral or what.Please lets mourn the man and stop ridiculing him. He wouldn't have asked for a sta ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Yes, he wouldn't have asked for a state funeral indeed.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

First it the Ghana Journalist Association (GJA) and now it's the TUC. What a misplaced national priority? The tributes from Ghana and across the world are enough and I am sure with his humility, Komla would not have accepted ...

• A VIEW FROM TAKORADI 10 years ago

WHAT PART OF THE STATE GOVERNMENT DID HE WORK. MISGUIDED PEOPLE JUST WANT TO BE HEARD WITH POPULOUS ANNOUNCEMENTS. KOMLA IS A PRIVATE INDIVIDUAL JUST LIKE ANYBODY LEAVING THE SHORES OF GHANA TO MAKE A LIVING SOMEWHERE. HE WA ...

• oppong london 10 years ago

ndc attitude of corruption again,they want to dupe the country through the state burial,is samuel hesse getting state burial as well?ghanaians don,t respect their own souls but others,just because of bbc for state burial.

• Ganyo 10 years ago

How does the NDC come in here.

• DONBOLI 10 years ago

The suppose TUC should stop stupid things about Dumor's death. Why should Dumor have to be buried by the state when his family are all alive and can bury him.
    Do we have to bury anybody who work for FM station and BBC when t ...

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

You make sense and I applaud your comments. Komla was pursuing his own career dreams and aspirations to make a good living when he fell. Yes, because of his Ghanaian roots, Ghana became known but he did not represent Ghana an ...

• Baaba 10 years ago

Is it necessary? We have to be careful with these calls for lavish spending. Why are we setting the threshold for state burial with such ad hoc emotional outbursts? This guy is the head of TUC? Lord have mercy

• Dave Wallace 10 years ago

I hope our useless and hopeless stomach journalists would not insult you for this fine advise. They have already started attacking those who are paying tribute to our late brother. Even in his death, they still envy him. Thes ...

• Balawo President 10 years ago

The leader of the TUC hides his head in the sand like the proverbial ostrich when serious matters affecting the Ghanaian worker come up. His call for a famous international news presenter to be given a state burial calls for ...

• Ghana Bie 10 years ago

Every country has standards and guidelines regarding honoring outstanding citizens. Now is the time to apply it. Am sure state protocol do not require any of us to direct them on what to do in this instance.

• kwam 10 years ago

what at all is the justification for the call of state burial for Komla, in any case who decides when to give state burial for Ghanaians? is it not the Government? so why should the GJA thinks that it should be the one to sug ...

• Ganyo 10 years ago

Deadbrains

• OPANIN KWAKU ATTA 10 years ago

TUC SHOULD FIND SOMETHING BETTER TO DO AND START THINKING ABOUT THE HARDSHIPS GHANAIAN WORKERS ARE GOING THROUGH.

• KWAME ACHI (LONDON 10 years ago

WE MUST RESPECT THIS FAMILY TO MOURNED THEIR BELOVED.THIS TUC PEOPLE ARE THERE TO HELP THE ECONOMY AND FIGHT AGAINST THE CORRUPTION BUT NOT FUNERAL CARE-TAKERS.WE NEED IDEAS TO SOLVE THE PROBLEMS THIS COUNTRY IS FACING.WE WEL ...

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 10 years ago

When did Ghana became that cheap that an ordinary journalist who happens to work with BBC deserves a national burial burial?

The TUC must be serious and think to do something constructively about the unbearable social eco ...

• Chief Whip 10 years ago

Oh Ghana!!.So is it that because Komla Dumor worked with BBC so he deserves state burial.Is he the first Ghanaian to have worked with an international broadcasting station?. If so what about RICHARD KOTEY who once worked with ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

Ghana IS RULED by Morons,INCLUDING this TUC Idiot!!

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

Who gets state burial. Every popular person in Ghana? What's all this Domor frenzy about? Dumor was a successful private person - a journalists who did his job well. He never even worked for the state of Ghana. Whst's all thi ...

• Nii 10 years ago

We all appreciates Komla Dumor achievements both in and outside Ghana, but the decision for his burial and final resting place should e left for his family, especially as his father is alive. Please let's all show some rest.

• King 10 years ago

The problem in Ghana as to why we do not progress is that any idiot like this Kofi Asamoah gets to delicate position very easy and display their stupidity which always takes Ghana back instead.Too many idiot in the management ...

• Preacher 10 years ago

NOW OUR LEADERS ARE LOOSING THIER MIND. SICK AND NEED QUIT THE POSITION HE HOLDING. THEN ALL OUR FOOTBALLERS, STATEMENT AND THEIR KIND WILL BE GIVE STATE BURIAL INCLUDING HIMSELF. HAVE LOST YOUR MIND. WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU A ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

By all account Dumor was a great newscaster? Beyond that what did he do for Ghana! We have moronic leadership in Ghana! Truly Nkrumah's Ghana is no more!

• JojoD 10 years ago

What kind of nonsense is this? State burial for someone who happened to be working for a foreign media organization to earn a living to support his family? He was in no way representing Ghana! Would any of the campaigners o ...

• castro 10 years ago

There are lot of Ghanaians working in
    better postions around the World are
    they all going to get State Burials?

• THE PATRIOT 10 years ago

Instead of educating workers to stop stealing state funds and be productive just listen to the nonsense the TUC is spewing.The TUC can adopt his cadavre(DEAD BODY) and give him a state burial.

• THE PATRIOT 10 years ago

Inow know why the nation is not moving forward.Most people holding sensitive positions and most of the well educated are fools.

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

This call for a state burial is an attempt to divert attention from the economic demise of the country which this Asamoah should be speaking against. He should be telling the ghanaian worker and civil servants to stop stealin ...

This stupid group of a workers' union must be fighting for Ghanaian workers not foreign workers. Please, instant canonization of Komla Dumor is not helping anyone. Why does he deserve a state burial? I'm also working for a le ...

• PEKI TUMU 10 years ago

This gentleman was a Journalist So what is the need for State burial?

• KB 10 years ago

Wow indeed!!!Ghana is a funny country.

• Seth Yao Worku 10 years ago

Yes, Komla Dumor is ONE of the most influential ambassadors of our dear nation. His voice reaches almost the world world. He deserves a State Burial.

• Jojo 10 years ago

WAS LATE KOMLA DUMOR WHO PLAYED HIS ROLE AS A JOURNALIST IN HIS LIFE TIME SECONDED BY THE PEOPLE AND THE GOVERNMENT OF GHANA TO THE BBC.

• Jojo 10 years ago

IF HE WAS A MEMBER OF TUC,THEN,THE CONGRESS CAN TAKE UPON THEMSELVES TO GIVE HIM A FITTING BURIAL IN THE COUNTRY.

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

ARE FOREIGN NATIONALS WORKING FOR THE CNN, CBS AND NBC BIGGER THAN THEIR NATIONS AND DESERVE TO BE GIVEN STATE BURIALS AT THE COST OF THE VUNERABLE.

• Nicholas Osei Kyeretwie-Chicago 10 years ago

FOR WHAT>THIS GUY LEFT GHAN TOSEEK BETTER LIFE IN EUROPE.AND WHAT DID HE DO FOR GHANA TO DESERVE A STATE BURIAL.THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF GHANAIAN TEACHERS HERE IN AMERICA GIVING WISDOM TO THE WHITEMAN,AND LIVING GOOD.ARE WE TO A ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

I now know the reason why we have too many moronic and visionless people without Common Sense approach to issues in leadership in the Country.Votes of delegates could be bought with money !
    So we hardly vote for the rightful ...

• Lord Garvah 10 years ago

His Guy didn't serve Ghana and never gave his pay check to Ghanaians in the first place. There are so many other nationals working at the BBC, or do the British government bury whoever die's at the BBC? Some of you guys, don' ...

Mighty Fool

• SABRINA MABEL ODIASE 10 years ago

OF COURSE KOMLA DUMOR DESERVES A STATE BURIAL,EVEN JANUARY I8 SHOULD BECOME A NATIONAL DAY IN GHANA.

• Thieves 10 years ago

NONSENSE! WHAT DID HE DO FOR THE STATE..... this guy is a crook... he took money from FORTIZ

How many times? Nonsenc

• peter 10 years ago

I will like to know if this man is a political figure, if he is than he deserve he deserver state burial

• fifi 10 years ago

Fine