You are here: HomeNews2014 01 16Article 297973

Ibrahim Mahama finally pays Merbank debt

Read Comments Comments (112)

• THIEVE IN NPP 10 years ago

JOHN KU4 AND THE NPP ARE THE CAUSE OF THE HARDSHIP IN GHANA NOW.

• Jakpa 10 years ago

AFRIEXIM HAS NOT RELEASED THE MONEY, ANYONE CAN CHECK FROM BLAISE MANKWAH OR CHARLES GIDI ALL OF RENNAISSANCE AFRICA WHO ARE FACILITATING THE LOAN.

• Jakpa 10 years ago

ALHAJJ IS A BIG LIAR.

• Win 7 Matches = World Champs !!! 10 years ago

These Mahani guys look very much alike but why does this smiling pose resembles the host of peace fm host of morning talk show, or current affairs?

These NDCeivers are full of tricks because whenever you get them on the ro ...

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 10 years ago

Where is the evidence to prove to me that the money is being paid? NDC people believe that they are smart than anyone else's! Come on we are waiting for you guys.

• Ike-Norway 10 years ago

Why wasn't it paid before the sale? Robbing Peter to pay Paul?

It will not wash. If they wanted to pay, what prevented from doing so until the bank was sold?

That huge 'bad' debt was a major cause for the banks distres ...

• hermit 10 years ago

Instead of this stupid writer to us the loan is long overdue he is rather taking a swipe at a political party for their stand on the matter. stupid and senseless bogus writing they call journalism.

• jerry 10 years ago

It seems ghanaians like alhaji Bature dont understand the words " expected " . The money has not hit the account yet. So they shouldnt say it has!

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

ANATOMY OF A STOOPID GHANAIAN!
    A BETTER, PROSPEROUS, MODERN, FORWARD THINKING GH STARTS WITH YOU!
    IF YOUR LIVING SITUATION IS GOOD, THEN GHANA WILL BE GOOD.
    IF YOU ARE CONFUSED, DISORIENTED, UNORGANIZED, FEARFUL, IN DEBT/D ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Kweku Baako claimed the loan would be repaid by E & P before the end of 2013 and that did not happen. Now this paper is also claiming that it would be paid in full by close of today. That is just a promise.

I think the new ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

All who owe must pay. If Ibrahim owes and NPP people owe, all must pay. We hope it is true that Mahama has paid his debts to the bank, that should be good news

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 10 years ago

You can run but you cannot hide. I want this criminal that called himself a business Man to come openly and show me which method of payment he used. That is all l want to know.

• Gbogbomashi 10 years ago

You live in a village. May you shut up the wise to speak?

• Yoofi 10 years ago

Fuck off, you smelly trokosi. The whole trokosi region is a village.

• Take No Prisoners 10 years ago

Ibrahim owes the Merchant Bank $38 million so what happened to the remaining $10 million even if it is true he has paid $28 million?

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Should you have been given free Senior High School education, definitely you
    would have seen that you are such a stupid monkey who eat shit of a pig as
    your dinner.

• akpa 10 years ago

sgt anani fiadzoe u re a bull, a sheep, a dog and the servant of all animals in the animal kingdom.

• CLUELESS BAWUMIA 10 years ago

easy now

• Kwabena Ansa 10 years ago

SGT. Fiadzoe, It is sad but I have to ask you again, why don't you tone down the insulting stand you particularly like to lash on your adversaries. As a word of advice, that kind of attitude i.e. insulting anyone who does no ...

• Kobby 10 years ago

Focus on fixing the economy and stop blaming the NPP. You have been in charge for 5 years now. That's half a decade. You have implemented your own policies and initiatives that have not yielded results. Fix the problem you cr ...

• JOHNNY BE GOOD 10 years ago

How come JJ is ranked among the first 10 richest Ghanaians? The guy who could not even offer himself the daily 3 square meals . After all, the Kuffuor family are known to be rich even before they came into politics. After all ...

• PUMA 10 years ago

Go and ask your mama and papa why they are lazy?

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

Why did SSNIT requested that First Rand absorb all Merchant Bank debt?

• KOFI PAPABI 10 years ago

It's a lie. He has not paid a penny to the bank.We need proof

• Pepe ni 10 years ago

This paper can confirm that following final discussions between Engineers & Planners and its new investment partners, African Export Import Bank held on Tuesday, January 14, 2014, managers of the Afriexim bank are expected to ...

have u ever heard them make any sensible argument NOOOOO!!!!! THAT WHO THEY ARE.

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Stop being an illiterate dumb sidekick. Where in the story did it say that Ibrahim has paid his debt as the title to this article portraid? "E&P account at Merchant Bank will be credicted at the end of business day today, Thu ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

I think you are the one who needs to read well. Kofi Papabi is right, Ibrahim has not paid a dime. Did the quote say he has paid? It said the said amount will be transferred to E&P account at the close of business day today, ...

• Fernando 10 years ago

This one too I will suggest NPP take the matter to court as they are wont to do !!

THEY SHOULD GO TO COURT

• Jake- Accra 10 years ago

Alhaji Bature has never been credible. His reportage are always pregnant with untruths.

• SSNIT CONTRIBUTOR 10 years ago

The man too a loan of US$58million which should have attracted substantial interest by now. Why is he paying back only US$28 million? What happens to the balance of US$30million and the interest? Is it business a la Mahama - ...

• truth 10 years ago

What these NDC fool soldiers don't understand is that court has nothing to do with anybody who owes a bank except when the debtor is unwilling to settle the debt.And even in court ,the debtor can negotiate as to how much he c ...

• Erica 10 years ago

Strange are the words of the Editor.If the opposition party has been able to influence the payment of the loan then well and good. That is one of the functions of opposition parties. It must be congratulated. The editor sh ...

• Fernando 10 years ago

And let lawyers Ata Akyea and Okudzeto repewsent them ha ha ha"""!!!

• Yaw 10 years ago

Who cares. Any one who own the bank must pay. What is all this politicization. Workers are suffering.

• KELEVE KORMI 10 years ago

eh, ghana paa yaaa. you people should just wait. when its my turn, l will sell you all plus the land, and give specific instructions that you are all sent to the hinterland astralia, for the ranging heat to deal with you. kwa ...

• Ericus-Ericus 10 years ago

Then the sale of Merchant bank was needless. We now know Fortiz is NDC owned---- Ghana stinks papaapa - NDC is too evil...

• Adongo 10 years ago

My question is, can one person's liability send the entire bank into bankruptcy? Some of the statements don't add up. I think we ought to be careful here in judging the whole situation. E & P owed the bank some money but cert ...

• George Best. 10 years ago

ALHAJI BATURE MUTUM BANZA IDDRISU, THIS IS A USELESS PIECE OF INFORMATION, DO YOU REPORT ON DEBTORS WHEN THEY PAY BACK THEIR DEBTS? HAS IBRAHIM`S PAYING BACK REVERSED THE PLIGHT OF THE BANK? THERE IS NOTHING GOOD ABOUT HIS PA ...

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

Any credible auditing firm will tell you its fake and fraudulent..

• AGYA ADOFO NEW YORK. 10 years ago

OOH GHANA , THIS PAYED PRESS IS YOUR GREATEST ENEMY .BUT GOT IS IN CONTROL ;:ASEM BEBA DABI .

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 10 years ago

The question my two and a half year old girl asked me when me and my adorable wife were reading and discussing the headlines here baffled me to the bone to demand what has gone wrong with our once brilliant reporting journali ...

• Kofious 10 years ago

Who are they fooling? Why didn't he pay the loan last month as they said before the bank was sold? This is all a gimmick. A paper trick...we will never know because the own the bank now. Ghanaians are not smart and we deserve ...

HAHAHAH, SO DEY CAN PAY INTO IT.

• ALHAJI KANKANE 10 years ago

A TIME WILL COME THAT YOU WILL LAUGH SHIT AND EAT,HAHAHAHAhahahahsa.KWASIA!

• ZUARUNGU 10 years ago

THE MAN HAS NOT PAID THE DEBT. IF MONEY WILL BE TRANSFERRED TO HIS ACCOUNT TODAY, DOES IT MEAN HE HAS PAID HIS DEBT. WHAT IF THE TRANSFER DOES NOT GO THROUGH. WHAT SHOWS THAT HE WILL AUTHORISE THE PAYMENT EVEN IF THE MONEY GO ...

• GOD SAVE GHANA 10 years ago

A BROTHER OF THE PRESIDENT...SHOWS HOW CORRUPT THE COUNTRY AND ITS SITTING GOVERNMENT IS

• Kanto 10 years ago

If indeed the loan has been paid, why did he pay after the sale of merchant bank and not before?

I smell a rat...A BIG rat now

kwasea kwa, read the paragraph before ur comment

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

You are close to the truth. How come that the government will refuse Rand offer of $100 million and just 75% ownership and refusal of taking the E&P debt portifolio which the government could have retrieved independently from ...

• Danso TDOT 10 years ago

Cardinal, mind you, the government basically sold the debts to FORTIZ too so in a sense whatever debt FORTZ retrieves goes is basically a profit for them....this is a genius acquisition by FORTIZ.

You invest $45 million an ...

• TRUE FACTS 10 years ago

RGAR IS WHY MERCHANT BANK COULDN'T DEMAND PAYMENT

• Odehyie Ba 10 years ago

If E&T has indeed paid back $28m (or (GHS 64m), how come SSNIT sold the ENTIRE Bank to FORTIZ for only GHC 90m? This means SSNIT sold the bank cheaply FORTIZ. Remember that Rand bank offered $90m ...

• Kobby 10 years ago

Rubbish. Everything I've heard was around this issue addressed ALL DEBTORS. Ibrahim Mahama was just one indebted person among the lot.

Where it gets murky is the fact that the President sat in on a meeting concerning an i ...

• USA 10 years ago

RULY ,ARTIFICIAL PAYMENT

• NIMA 10 years ago

MY BROTHER WHO WROTE 57 MILLION DOLLARS YOU ARE WRONG ITS Ghc57 million AND THAT IS EQUIVALENT TO 28m , EVEN MORE

• JAH 10 years ago

The article is as useless and empty like the writer

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Kennedy agyapong and his akan's npp party thieves were just jealousing the young business man.

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

God dey!

• jay Tee 10 years ago

al haj hmmmmmmmmm this Mahama family are bounch of thiefs born to rape mother Ghana in her sleep.God punish them fir burn all.

• wilson 10 years ago

most characters in the elephant party owe other banks in millions of cedis and yet pretend it is only Ibrahim who owes a bank are believed to be descendants of those who owed a bank in Kumasi in the 60s and did not want to pa ...

• Bumbebo London 10 years ago

WHAT A SAD WRITE-UP!! ARE U SAYING THAT NPP SHOULD JOIN HANDS IN THE YENKYENNI ENTERPRISES AND KEEP QUIET. WHAT A SHAME. WAS THE PRESIDENT FORCED TO SAY THAT THE BANK SHOULD USE ALL MEANS TO COLLECT ITS DEBTS, OR HE HAD TO WA ...

• Boy Wonder 10 years ago

....might have foresaw??? A Newspaper Editor who cannot write good English? How are our children going to learn the English language by reading newspapers? These semi-literate editors should have their papers banned.

• DICKSON 10 years ago

so is al hajj saying that NPP should have kept mute over IBRAHIM MAHAMA bcos their functionaries also owe.........THIS IS CRASS STUPIIIIIIIIIIDITY AND REAL BLACKMAIL BY NDC......GHANAIANS ARE DEAD IN THIS MAFIA PARTY....

• YAO 10 years ago

Oh NDC, you have done it at long last, you have written this debt off, this was the reason behind the sale of the bank. God will surely descend on the wicked. We are not kids to be told fairy tales, but the day will surely co ...

read ohhhh read

• blackstar 10 years ago

Rot every were!!!!!!!!!!!

• Kwesi Guyman 10 years ago

The Government must come out to confirm full and absolute settlement of the debt owed to Merchant Bank, not just because Ibrahim is a brother of our President but because of the huge attraction that has been generated over ...

• nii 10 years ago

do you need malaysia visa.call 0245886343 for details.only 400gh

• joan accra 10 years ago

juhzgmkoprfgbe

• Turn $ 9.75 into $ 600,000.00 10 years ago

www.directpaybiz.com/?ref=asaseaban

please check details & tell a friend

• ALUTA CONTINUA 10 years ago

President Mahama says Ghana’s huge budget deficit must be blamed on fiscal indiscipline by past governments.

He said efforts being made to correct many ills in the management of the economy are facing stiff confrontation ...

• KWAME OWUSU 10 years ago

DAT IS GREAT NEWS INCREDIBLE NOW LEAVE HIM ALONE

• SEIDU 10 years ago

may god bless you Mr. Ibrahim, god will reachidly bless you more and more in Ghana and Beyond.
    shame to enemies
    from abdulaiseidu29@yahoo.com

• aduse mahama abdul 10 years ago

Please educate us correctly and clearly.
    Did the payment include the actual balance and the ongoing interest?

• NANA 10 years ago

ROBBING PETER TO PAY PAUL PAYMENT

• NAAH BANZIE. 10 years ago

IF NPP EX KUFOUR CAN BUY HOTEL DE WA WA,AT THE COST OF $ 3.5 BILLON DOLLARS AND LIE TO GHANIANS IS FOR HIS SON, THEN IBRAHIM MAHAMA CAN ALSO SETTLES HIS $ 28 MILLON DOLLARS DEBT, WHLIES HIS SENIOR BROTHER, J.D.MAHAMA IS STILL ...

• Asobayere Mumuni 10 years ago

Ahh another koshok from Bature.

• GhanabaGHC 10 years ago

It is not the same bank again with SSNIT owning 90%. The new owners have made an instant gain right away with this payment. Any monies retrieved henceforth is free gain for them.

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

Why

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

what does rawlings say about this corruption.

• Kofi Boye 10 years ago

Who takes this payment....is it for the thieves or fortiz who r the same people....

• PAPA ORLANDO(BREMANG) 10 years ago

THE LEADERS IN THIS PEACEFUL COUNTRY SHOULD THINK TWICE BEFORE THEY WILL SMELL THEIR OWN SHIT.SAYING THIS IS NOT AN INSULT, BUT THE MOTHER GHANA IS CRYING EVERY MINUTE!THE NPP/NDC/CPP AND OTHER PARTIES NEED TO COME TOGETHER A ...

• MANSA MUSAH 10 years ago

IDANG IBBRAHIM-KALILLULLAH SON OF MAHAMA RASULLILLILLAH...WALLAH NAA YYEDDAH DA KAI. YOU HAVE SCORED A GARGO TYPE GOAL IN THE GHANA-BRAZIL UNDER 17 YOUTH FINALS OF THE WORLD CUP FINALS....OR IS THE TYPE OF MARADONA HAND OF GO ...

• TEE 10 years ago

MAHAMA where did your brother get that money from you do the maths

• TEE 10 years ago

MAHAMA VISIONLESS LOOT AND SHARE PRESIDENT THIEVES MAHMA YOUR TIME IS GET NEAR PERIOD

• hawa 10 years ago

TO WHOSE BENEFIT? FORTIZ OR GHANA

• JM 10 years ago

THESE FAMILY IS PLAYING WITH OUR INTERLIGENCE,IS ALL CORUPT MONEY,

• GEN. NUNOO-MENSAH 10 years ago

This is a piece of NDC PROPAGANDA BULLSHIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! All they can do is to destroy Ghana. Only a fool will believe this nonsense.

• THE PATRIOT 10 years ago

God saves mankind. NDC will not reign forever. We shall leave everything for posterity.

• Common man 10 years ago

• AKWAPIMBA ,LAS PALMAS DE G.C.,SPAIN 10 years ago

-WELL DONE,THE NEW MANAGING DIRECTOR-MS NILA SELOMEY.YOU SHOULD BE A MINISTER.YOUR WORDS ARE SOLID AND FAST FOR THE BANK TO FUNCTION.U-TURNED A BIG STONE FOR THAT BANK-I GIVE TO YOU1,000,000.00 KISSES FROM LAS PALMAS DE G.C., ...

• Thieves 10 years ago

Rubbish... Nilla Serlomey became MD BECAUSE her MOTHER is one of the shareholders!

• CK 10 years ago

Wahala dey, wahala dey!Wahala don come for NPP oooo. Oyiwa, we shall see who will soon cry loudest. A child that says his mother will not sleep will also not sleep. Eh NPP, how do you play politics with every development issu ...

• JOHN DATSON 10 years ago

Ghanaians are not fools why Mahama brother no pay the debt before the bank as sold....big no they must find out is truth or not

• iowa 10 years ago

Ghanaians cannot fool forever life is very short we shall see God will punish all vampires call themselves mafias for what? All is vanity but the disgrace will come later. If he can pay why didn't he do it until the bank has ...

• Big Joe --- Moscow /Kharkov 10 years ago

nonsense this page is PR ....'when he is expected ... means .... he has not paid ..... the media is throwing dust into peoples eyes.....

• SHOOTER 10 years ago

"This paper can confirm that following final discussions between Engineers & Planners and its new investment partners, African Export Import Bank held on Tuesday, January 14, 2014, managers of the Afriexim bank are expected t ...

• GODFRED 10 years ago

IF YOU'VE NOTHING TO WRITE DON'T WRITE ANYTHING. WHAT IS THE GUARANTEE THAT THE AMOUNT WILL BE PAID BY CLOSE OF TODAY?

• Mallam Tula 10 years ago

Ghanaians are being fooled AGAIN ; who said the money have paid it is complwrw lie ; these Mahama boys are CRIMINALS ;Kweku was led by this false sense of payment which gave him the opportuinity to come on Multi-media TV to c ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Mahama and co. Soo stupid.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Idiot mahama.

• Kwaku, Chicago 10 years ago

so my take on this is why can't institutions function on their own in Ghana. This is all bullshit! Nkwaseas3m b3n ni? Why is government all over the place, getting involved in every single institution in the country? Why can' ...

• Kwabena Ansa 10 years ago

Ms. Nilla Salormey, your position as Managing Director of Merchant Bank is no small achievement and honor to you. At the same time, being a woman and holding such a high office is a testament of how competitive our women can ...

• Paul 10 years ago

I am fully convinced to apoint of no return that this money is fully written off on paper in secrecy but to paint a white picture to deceive the public they are out to deceive the people that the money is paid. The man in que ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

IF you owe the Merchant Bank, GO AND PAY!! As simple as that!
    No name-calling. NPP folks,should ALSO pay their debt!!

• Jeff, UK 10 years ago

Everyone of the debtors must be pursued, possibly dragged to court by the new owners, Fortiz

• Seth Owusu-kumi 10 years ago

lets all pay our debt as scheduled. period!

• adwoa kwaku 10 years ago

Do you understand the phrase the time value of money? In the most general sense it refers to the fact that a cedi in hand today is worth more than a cedi promised at some time in the future OK. Therefore, even giving him the ...

• adwoa kwaku 10 years ago

Bature mom wagyimi paaaa oh. All he is saying doesn't make sense.

• Joe 10 years ago

Whether NPP or NDC, most important is that there is integrity in public assert management. Loans should be retrieved no matter what. Devoid of colours