You are here: HomeNews2014 01 05Article 296985

Christian Council wades into Merbank sale

Read Comments Comments (83)

• John 10 years ago

These NPP agents should go for party positions and stop pretending

• Ghanaian 10 years ago

It is so painful to share citizenship with complete fools like john above. God have mercy on Ghana.

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

When greedy thief Kufour dashed Ghana Telecom to vodafone? The case is still in court after 5 years.

it is my great pleasure to accept my friendship , it is so nice of you , you are so kind. Wishing to remain faithful friends for a long long time. With all my best wishes for a great day full of love & great luck. Take care.

• Aem wo maano 10 years ago

There were not much hardships during Kuffour,s government, even though corrupt so people did not talk much. Under Mahama, Ghanaians have grown to know that they should talk because condition in the country is worse. So keep q ...

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 10 years ago

Except a man be born again he cannot seek the kingdom of God. Except the president and his minister tell God what they actually done against God the creator of the universe else Ghanaians will keep on to suffer till thy kingd ...

• Kweku 10 years ago

Someone may disagree with me but frankly speaking the church leadership in Ghanaian is loosing the scriptural credibility they once held. I don't mind pastors sharing their personal views on politics, but people see those vie ...

• Kweku 10 years ago

Someone may disagree with me but frankly speaking the church leadership in Ghana is loosing the scriptural credibility they once held. I don't mind pastors sharing their personal views on politics, but people see those views ...

• KOBIE 10 years ago

Kweku, fine but remember that the church too is a human institution made of mere mortals like me and you..abi? We should rather be thankful that they seem to me to be contributing to a worthy cause which on fruition may even ...

• yapo 10 years ago

i agree with you 100% kweku, i think is about
    time every church in ghana should rigester to the ghana goverment for financial check and balances,hope that will help know who are really doing the God's work,now is really ou ...

• Osei Frimpong. 10 years ago

All those criminals are from the CHURCH, and they pay big money during functions. If you refused their money, they will stop the corruption.

• KOBIE 10 years ago

Krikri 'Kufour dashed Ghana Telecom to vodafone' so it must go on forever with any government that comes to power? GOD HELP GHANA!!

• Ghanaba, USA 10 years ago

Prioritize and summarize your list; it appears you guys don't have any useful things to do with you time

• The 10 years ago

I thought Ghanaians gave mandate to competent people to govern us, but now the NDC has proven to be useless and now they have to be coached what to do. I think the Christian council and for that matter Ghanaians in general ar ...

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

That's always the question by NDC forgetting that NPP was removed due to their lies so the could perform better. Unfortunates, they are useless. always blaming other for their trouble. we shall see come 2016

• John Essel 10 years ago

John is brain blocked by politics and therefore cant reason and such people are so dangerous for the country. He thinks he can hide behind the net and insult men of God, he should wait what will happen to him. They insulted t ...

• DICKSON 10 years ago

as usual NDC will blame NPP for this too.....

• JOE CANADA 10 years ago

this is national devils party (NDC) you are dealing with. they don't accept anything constructive. their " motto is backward ever forward never". a party with a full propaganda office, I hope you know what that means.

• Nzema K 10 years ago

Have they suddenly found their voices. Fools calling themselves priests. hahahaaaa

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

Dead brain calling the wise fool. Unfortunately, the hungry and the poor are those following the NDC. You will continue to wallow in your poverty

• Swapna Guduru 10 years ago

The Christian council of Ghana needs to begin a serious media campaign to educate the public, especially women about stupid acts such as paying pastors money or with their sex organ to seek divine intervention via prayers. It ...

• ABONGOLAPUTA 10 years ago

if useless and senseless people like John are in Ghana, how can the country move forward? What is wrong with the communique issued by the CCG? What has the communique got to do with NPP? If John has a problem in understanding ...

• Pontius Pilate 10 years ago

what is wrong with the communique is that it is too long.

• D.K. Osei 10 years ago

The so-called Christian Council has become partisan. Worst things happened under the NPP and not a single word was heard from the Christian Council. Some even though they were no longer in existence. However, they quickly e ...

• better Ghana 10 years ago

War is Looming in Ghana. War, war war!!!!!!!!

• Rev. Mandela Anyomi 10 years ago

I am ashamed at the double standards exhibited by our Revered Clergy in the above communique. How can you in one breath be convinced that a Ghanaian solution to Ghanaian problems is the way to go then in another breath think ...

• Cynthia 10 years ago

Tithe is voluntary .Stop sharing envelope for tithe. Give scholarships to deprived children not children of the manse.Churches should do better and still monitor governments

• Yaw 10 years ago

Thank God the christian council of Ghana has begun to speak on issues that border on the development of our nation. They totally silent from 2001 ro 2008 and if they have begun takling it is good for Ghana. My prayer however ...

• Rans F 10 years ago

What do you mean by "singing the song of NPP apparatchiks"? Are you not biased yourself, "Rev" Mandela Anyomi?

• Owie 10 years ago

I think Rev. Anyomi hit the nail right on the head. If two independent reputable state institutions have okayed a business transaction and the courts have spoken, why do we have to still be dragging this issues if it were not ...

• Yaw Amofa 10 years ago

In view of the statement put out by Christian Council, churches should consider stopping collections as times are hard.
    2. Bishops and pastors should pay their own bills as they are paid by the church.
    3.The church should u ...

• Pontius Pilate 10 years ago

i agree

• Adu Boahen 10 years ago

That is great, men of God. You are the prophets of our time. No fears.

• Idi Amin Mobutu Mokassa Jr. 10 years ago

If people just think that the creation of jobs is the sole responsibility of the government, then we're in for a rough ride. Already, the Ghana government is spending about 75% of its budget on salaries. With such bloated exp ...

• Efo Canada 10 years ago

Gov't creates the platform to the private sectors to expand so the Gov't have major part to play ,if I mayasked you why should Gov'ts go for trade agreements with other nations selling their countries products and telling the ...

• DICKSON 10 years ago

how COULD IBRAHIM MAHAMA purchase two PRIVATE jets but refused to repay his debts to merchant bank till it was sold and what stopped the bank from prosecuting all DEFAULTERS.............its bcos NDC thinks GHANAIANS are muuum ...

• John 10 years ago

If stupid and illiterate like Dickson exist in Ghana then one would wonder if this country will ever develop. Such stupid observations from the Christian Council must be condemned now!!! Where were they when K4 was selling na ...

• nsem pii 10 years ago

Growing up means use your brains wisely not typing any think that pops up in your brains.

• DICKSON 10 years ago

how on earth could u justify NDC THIEVERY with perceived NPP corruption when NDC in power have access to every evidence to hold NPP accountable for their 8 yrs stewardship. ...kwasiaaaaaaa. ....do u have any brains in your ST ...

• nsem pii 10 years ago

To FOOL 24 million folks who elect them and put food on their dinner table by offering them jobs thanks to their vote.

• PK, usa 10 years ago

Good initiative, CCG. But be ready for STRONG opposition from those who benefit from the status quo.

• Nexium 10 years ago

Well done!

• Shamu 10 years ago

These are all fake council. When NPP were in power applying all evil activities, where were they? So, all Christian council now become part of NPP. Oh God. I hope Ghana will now have good Christians. Almost all Christian orga ...

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

The Christian Council sounds as if they do not know the reason for the sale of Merchant Bank. Martin Luther King went further than that. Even closer to home, Bishop Tutu went further than that. Mahama wants Merchant Bank sold ...

• JUSTICE 10 years ago

THIS SOO CALLED LAZY AND CORUPT OCCULTIC CRIMINAL COUNCIL SHOULD RATHER ADVISE THEIR CORUPT CHURCH MEMBERS WHOM THEY COLLECT ILLEGAL 'PASTORS APPRECIATION,TITHE,MINI AND END OF YEAR HARVESTS TO RESPECT GHANA.ALL THIS CHURCH ...

• Tinaabs 10 years ago

Christain council has lost her mission and is now dabbling in to politics. The council should know that spirit filled and God fearing community will solve all the supposed problems outlined.The challenge is spiritual and not ...

• HABLUTA SENYO 10 years ago

SEND THE UNEMPLOYED GHANAIANS TO STATE FARMS.TO BOOST AGRICULTURE IN OUR NATION

• SHOOTER 10 years ago

It is clear that the NDC gov't headed by John Mahama and his Vice Amissah Arthur cannot do the job. Many a Ghanaian said that, they could not do it, but they said at all cost, John Mahama would be President although the writi ...

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

First Rand refused to write off any debt owed to Merchant Bank. Meaning, they will go after Ibrahim and co. to pay their debt. If possible seize their assets. $38M is Ghana money in hands of the President's brother, Ibrahim M ...

• Christian k. Mensah 10 years ago

Oh what a shameful council who can not speak the truth at all time and have been selective. What about Jake Bungalow. That was ok. How i wish John the Baptist comes again.

• DICKSON 10 years ago

ck MENSAH where is Ur patriotism when u justify NDC corruption with perceived NPP corruption. .....SIMPLY CONDEMN THE TWO PARTIES EVEN IF CHRISTIAN COUNCIL IS NOT DOING SO......WISE UP....or u ARE part of the looting brigade. ...

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 10 years ago

Please come on for the sake of God you cannot compare NDC to NPP in any manner. Think wisely NDC is a real evil party and they don't care about whatever may happen to our beloved country Ghana.

• Paa Solow 10 years ago

Make it a point to buy mainly made in Ghana goods. That is the sure way to create jobs

• Voice of Reason 10 years ago

TO SAVE GHANAIANS FROM MORE HARDSHIPS AND HIMSELF FROM IMPENDING DISGRACE AND TOTAL HUMILIATION......IT IS NOW ABUNDANTLY CLEAR HE IS NOT UP TO THE JOB......HE BRIBED HIS WAY TO GET IT BUT HE CAN'T PERFORM.

• fakum 10 years ago

hypocrites

• Rans F 10 years ago

You are a political stooge and a bigger hypocrite!

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

IT WILL TAKE DISCERNING MINDS TO APPRECIATE THE WISDOM FROM THE PASTORS. THIS IS NOT A CRITICISM OF GOVT BUT PUTTING THE WORK OF GOVT UNDER THE SPOT LIGHT. PROPAGANDA SHOULD BE OSTRACIZED FROM OUR SOCIETY THIS YEAR.

• NANA ADDO ADDICT 10 years ago

Rather, the Christian Council is doing NPP's dirty works.

What a bunch of stupid hypocrites! Maybe it's time for some of these fucking corrupt men of "faith" are publicly Executed because they the main source of corruption in Ghana.

I do not think the Pastors are hypocrites.
    The NDC at a meeting in Ho a few days ago, admits corruption among its appointees.
    You see Govt must stay ahead all the time. Stay very proactive and respond to queries. The Gov ...

• Humphrey 10 years ago

Corruption started in church. Whom do the churches account for, the congregant or their families? Please clean your own house where the problem must be tackle from. Why always politicians? Please I think you can also make a d ...

• Dodonu 4 ever 10 years ago

Why do NDC people always say NPP did the same blah blah blah. You are there now so do it better. CCG have a right to talk about national issues especially when the country is obviously being driven into oblivion.

• Jojo 10 years ago

IT IS THE PRIVATE SECTOR THAT A TRUE MARKET WORKS.

IT IS TIME THAT THE EDUCATED WITH ENGINEERING AND NATURAL SCIENCE EDUCATION ARE ''''PRESSURED''' TO INNOVATE AND TO PROMOTE MANUFACTURING AND PROCESSING INDUSTRIES WITH TH ...

• kofi 10 years ago

you have left the reason for establishing the church and now talking economic planning.you never mentioned how to win souls and more prayer to be organized but talking of economic planning.please focus on your core reasons w ...

• Show nana 10 years ago

Yes. the ewes are trying desperately to steal a whole bank, of course with Mahama in connivance. But lo and behold, an Ewe, Rev. Amenu is bucking the trend. Ghana may not war after all.

Maybe he is a true man of God.

• Kofi - USA 10 years ago

WHAT TOOK CHRISTIAN COUNCIL SO LONG TO WADE IN THE SALE OF MERBANK. NOW THAT THE DIE IS CAST WHAT IS THE RELEVANCY OF THE CHRISTIAN COUNCIL SPEAKING ON THIS ISSUE. I DONT THINK WE NEED THE CHRISTIAN COUNCIL BECAUSE THEY ARE N ...

• YOFK 10 years ago

ITS SAD WHEN THE FUTURE OF THE MASSES ARE BEING TOYED WITH BY RULERS WHILE FANATICS SUPPORT THEM BLINDLY.

• chamcham 10 years ago

GOOD WORK!!!

• Agonaba 10 years ago

Proverbs 29:18
    King James Version (KJV)

18 Where there is no vision, the people perish: but he that keepeth the law, happy is he.

• EWES OUR DOWNFALL.. 10 years ago

KILL ALL EWES.. THEY ARE GH DOWNFALL

• Ghananba 10 years ago

ooooh my people does two wrongs makes it right
    let's think about our this song Ma oman yi ho' nhia wo Ghanaman ye wo ara wo de o, let's all put our hands togather for a better Ghana of all and futuer.
    happy new yeary

• CONFUSION 10 years ago

THESE NATIONAL DEVILS WILL NEVER ACCEPT ANYTHING CONSTRUCTIVE. THE END IS NEAR FOR THE NDC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• DONATE BLOOD & KIDNEY SAVE LIFE 10 years ago

GHANA WILL BE A BETTER PLACE WITH THIS 72 IMPORTANT MESSAGES BUT THE IDOT WILL ARGUE ABOUT IT .

• ........ 10 years ago

In Ghana, the workforce comprises of about 60% of so-called christians in both public and civil services but there evil deeds and corruption every where. So is this Christian Council not ashamed of itself because if ones son/ ...

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

CCG and some of their leaders are part of NPP and hate NDC. Some of the leaders are YE AKANFOA NPP supporters.Please give an advice to gov. not to go on blame game method.Shame CCG ,may I ask where were you for so long now th ...

• The Truth 10 years ago

35. That, government should be commended for tasking the Attorney General and Minister of Justice to secure refunds of monies wrongfully paid to or appropriated by any individuals or companies from contracts with SADA, GYEEDA ...

• nabia 10 years ago

OUT OF YOUR 72 THESIS ONLY 2 REFER TO THE CHURCH DIRECTLY. THINGS LIKE YOU WILL CONTINUE TO PRAY ARE VAGUE RESOLUTIONS BECAUSE YOUR PRAYERS WILL NOT BE ANSWERED.
    MY DEAR REVERENDS WHAT YOU NEED IS A COMPLETE OVERHAUL OF THE ...

• Ogah Joe. 10 years ago

Amdisappointed with the Christian Council of Ghana on the Sale of Merchant Bank.Why the noise about the sale of merchant Bank.What concern the Christian Council of Ghana on the sale of Merchant Bank ?. Where were they and wha ...

• Ganyo 10 years ago

Why don`t these charlatans form their own political party, contest elections and see how many votes they will garner.They must think governing a country is like collecting tithes from the poor.

• afua 10 years ago

Kufour gave them money so they kept quiet. Mahama is not giving them anything so they will make noise

• Pet 10 years ago

Hypocrites. where was the Christian council when a government bungalow was sold to Jake Obetsebi-Lamptey? Did the Council criticise the sale? if yes, i withdraw my comments. But if no, then members of the Council should shut ...

• yaaloo 10 years ago

Are these men of God Serious, when they preach what do they tell us,that the END IS NEAR HENCE THERE WILL BE HARDTIMES BUT GOD WILL SAVES HIS OWN ,fellow Ghanaians I do not fault the CCG commenting on socio -political issue ...

• clarence 10 years ago

It is good for the Christian council to come out with such laudable ideas but is it not too late? Why leave it too late? I think most of the problems we have in Ghana is lack of good and dedicated leadership, our leaders have ...