You are here: HomeNews2014 01 04Article 296902

Scores of local air passengers stranded in the air

Read Comments Comments (37)

• Concerned 10 years ago

There should be a clear refund policy in situations like this.

• Agbedefu 10 years ago

Was it the fault of the airlines? It's of a natural cause. The airlines also will have a huge lost. The only solution is for the passengers to be patient till the weather is clear.

• OSBON 10 years ago

Yes it is the Airline fault to provide a service to the passengers and their responsibly to check with the authority all clear in such a short journey. before taking off. Every good pilot check final destination airport condi ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

All these AIRLINES know is nothing but the money they are making from passengers.
    It's true that the pilot,if competent,should have checked the weather condition at the destination and even in between the flight zone and the ...

• Concern citizen 10 years ago

The refund policy is not a rocket science sense to simply refund the entire air fare to the passengers plus a token for inconveniencing the passengers. This is a just a simply thing to do by the airline. Refund their money t ...

• Show nana 10 years ago

What the NDC government need to do is to build one gargantuan airport in Ho and another one in Tamale to cater for people who care for the country. The Ashantis and Akyems and Akuapims and others don't deserve an airport. The ...

• Saint 10 years ago

I don't think cat and fogs buy plane tickets to build an Airport at Ho.

• Chuck Wayo - Washington DC 10 years ago

Show Nana, we are barely a week into 2014 and your sickness seems to have taken hold? Please check your pathetic self att Pantang for mental evaluation. You need to be purged from your demons. You can only see things in one ...

• Mike Olongo, USA 10 years ago

What he needs is prayers. No psychiatrist can help him. His case is chronic and beyond redemption. How sad!

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

Your world-view scares me. We have one nation, one people one destiny. We sink or swim together.

• OSBON 10 years ago

Show nana. you are the joker of January 2014. Oh my God.

• shoe 10 years ago

Ghana without the Ashanti region is doomed as it is the main backbone of nation economy.If all the citizens were like industrious Ashantis the nation problems might have been solved by now.Learn and emulate the Ashantis for G ...

• jerry..shanghai china 10 years ago

It astonishes me when i hear sad stories of such nature...the question is where were the airport weather forecasters when the flight left the capital for kumasi...poor communication and lack of sophisticated equipments and in ...

• Kofi USA 10 years ago

Shat up. What do u know about bad weather. I am a student pilot . Bad weather ca develop within a second therefore u can't say why have the planes left Accra for kumasi. Anyway I dont blame u . Aviation is not your field.

• too know 10 years ago

Aviation is not his field, and I hope your piloting skills is no where near your English skills.

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

What language are you going to use to communicate when you become a pilot? I suggest you use Akan or Ewe.

Kofi, please give a better advise. You are helper at Koury Aviation Training Academy in PTI. sound similar?. Training to be a small plane pilot is not a bigger especially now adays. you $99.00 and you are orientated to it and ...

• Mike Olongo, USA 10 years ago

Flight cancellations occur mainly because there is bad weather at the starting point and not at the final destination. There had been lots of instances in aviation history where planes cannot land at their destinations and ha ...

• Critic 10 years ago

Horrible journalism

• Della 10 years ago

this is nothing new please spare us.
    why is it that you did not mentioned the other airline, is it that you are bias towards antrak,
    I think you should be proud of a
    ocal entreprenue and stop this politiics in everything ...

• Smarty 10 years ago

I miss Ghana Airways and Ghanaian pilots.

• Kofi USA 10 years ago

Don't worry I will soon finish with my course and u will one day take u to Ghana in my plane. Hmm Ethiopia, Namibia, Egypt, South Africa , morocco, have national airline. Ghana turn their dc 10 into a restaurant. We only kno ...

• OLLESON 10 years ago

Ghanaians are just ignorant noise makers, you see and hear what goes on in other countries and wish you do same but lacks the capacity to emulate. Don't flights operate elsewhere or is fog only in Ghana, otherwise why will a ...

• dankaloma 10 years ago

The airlines are only interested in your money period.They are just as corrupt

• Nii 10 years ago

The flights were diverted to their ports of origin and have been hovering about in the air looking for the nearest available airport to land.

WWHERE IS THE SENSE IN THIS STATEMENT? AT BACK AT THEIR ORIGINAL PORTS AND YET L ...

• k. Agyei 10 years ago

Thank God for their safety. Ghanaians must know it is not compulsory to comment on issues they have no knowledge of. How can you blame bad weather on the country - SHEER IGNORANCE.

• charles 10 years ago

Ghana paa die. this happens often in usa, Canada ad everywhere. why claim refund.

THEN WHY NOT THE AIRFLINE MAKE OTHER ALTERNATIVE ARRANGEMENTS FOR THE PASSENGERS TO GET TO THEIR FINAL DESTINATION ABI

• Joe 10 years ago

Heeeei,Ghana jounalists, how can passengers in a plane be stranded?

• Ganyo 10 years ago

Two flights – one from Antrak and another - conveying passengers to Kumasi could not land at the Airport because of poor visibility owing to foggy weather.

The flights were diverted to their ports of origin and have been ...

• KWAME 10 years ago

This writer MUST go back to SCHOOL.

• kobi 10 years ago

Please check your stories before publication. the first flight landed in Kumasi at 0830 this morning and the airport has been operating normal from then.

• Afotey 10 years ago

You have not seen anything yet. If the the Ghana Meteorological Agency is not given its due share of proceeds from air navigation in line with International Protocols, don't be surprised that one day all Ghana-bound flights w ...

• kofi. mozano 10 years ago

POOR GRAMMAR. How could passengers be stranded the AIR?

• OMPITA [UK] 10 years ago

Whilst we are on the subject, since when have fixed wing airliners been able to hover?

• Egya Blay 10 years ago

We have to demonstrate against the journalistS for their poor reportage. In fact, I have three options to suggest. 1. We must either report in a local language;
    2.Report in a good and simple English language
    3. Not report a ...

• OMPITA [UK] 10 years ago

Some small level of mistakes must be acceptable; otherwise we would even have to ban your excellent submission because of the one tiny mistake you have made.

However, that said I do so much agree with 99.999% of what you s ...