You are here: HomeNews2014 01 04Article 296889

Ghana’s oil cash shared like groundnut - Economists

Read Comments Comments (84)

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

JJ MUST TAKE OVER HIS PARTY TO ENSURE PROBITY & ACCOUNTABILITY. MAHAMA AND HIS TEAM ARE TOO CORRUPT.

• Fuck the Army 10 years ago

The people whose land this oil is found must demand at least 30% of the government's revenue from oil. If the government does not comply those people must engage in a bloody armed insurrection as it has happened in other coun ...

• kojo 10 years ago

ignorant fool
    where were you when their chiefs were demanding 10% of oil revenue.
    what do you take ghanains for?

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS BUNCH OF CROOKISH INCOMPETENT CORRUPT MONSTERS CAN NEVER DO IT! NO! NOT IN A MILLION YEARS!!! NDC LACK THE BRAINS. ---------------WHO CAN PROVE KWASI ADADE WRONG? I AM SAYING, THAT, GHANAIANS VOTED FOOLISHLY!!- ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

ANATOMY OF A STOOPID GHANAIAN!
    A BETTER, PROSPEROUS, MODERN, FORWARD THINKING GH STARTS WITH YOU!
    IF YOUR LIVING SITUATION IS GOOD, THEN GHANA WILL BE GOOD.
    IF YOU ARE CONFUSED, DISORIENTED, UNORGANIZED, FEARFUL, IN DEBT/D ...

• CHRIS 10 years ago

These funny two supposed economists dont know how the economy of a country is managed. They can do this in support of NPP but we all know the basis of their analysis is flawed and they need to be schooled

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

CHRIS PLEASE DISPUTE THE FACTS WITH FIGURES AND STOP THE POLITICIZATION AND PROPAGANDA WHICH HAS BROUGHT US TO WHERE WE ARE NOW.WE NEED ANALYTIC PEOPLE TO LEAD THIS NATION WE CANNOT AFFORD TO CONTINUE WITH ALL THESE BIGOTRY A ...

the year has started and now that its evident the people can not be fooled or lied to any longer by the ndc regime we now see the traitors of the Akan cause within the npp raising their heads talking shit . these people are s ...

• zorro 10 years ago

GHANA NEEDS REVOLUTION AND NOTHING MORE. NEITHET IS THENPP ABLE TO MANAGE THE AFFAIRS OF THE LAND.IMAGINE HOW OUR MONEY WAS MISUSED WHEN KUFFUOR WAS IN POWER BY UNCALLED FOR FOREING TRIPS

• Kweku 10 years ago

Africa has every blessing except Human beings. Africa is continuously providing evidence to the world that the evolution theory may be true, in that, humans in Africa have fully not vibrated to think like their counterparts i ...

• KOJO DARKO, Indiana 10 years ago

Thank you, kwaku. ANIMALS

• Kweku Ananse 10 years ago

To hell with your racist, self-inferiority complex and afro-pessimism! Instead of generalizing the crimes of the ruling elites who are collaborating with the West to keep Africa poor, demand justice and end to the pillage. Ou ...

• Kwame Dokyi 10 years ago

Kwaku,you are very enlightened!!

• GhanaBA 10 years ago

@Fuck the Army, you are a big fool, when you have a problem with your own family go shed blood to solve it!

I encourage your thinking capacity!!

• Kofi Yankey 10 years ago

Please do your homework. Ghana's oilfield is located 60km off-shore, in the sea. The sea is not land so individuals can't own it. Ghanaians just need to unite and demand accountability from our government. The current tribal ...

This one is pithy!!

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

The sharing of oil proceeds by corrupt Dramani Mahama between NDC so-called politicians and their puppet Government appointees makes every NDC crook scared of Nana Akuffo Addo coming into Government.

The whole world and th ...

• Ceeboy Dangerman 10 years ago

You have constipated brain you the Fuck the Army. Please get enroll at collaborative institute for correct thinking.

• A citizen. 10 years ago

I believe there`s something wrong with your brain. Who`s Rawlings and what does he know about accountability? Which government came to power that sold government properties to himself or herself? Rawlings did it. Is that acc ...

• SKILLO 10 years ago

What happened to the $533mil made between Jan and September? How was it spent? Only $24mil for roads? Something smells fishy here...

For God's sake, the $533m was the total revenue for the period; the $24m was the expenditure on roads, sir!!The fish is in your mouth; gulp it down with wine!!!!

• KANTATA 10 years ago

THE OIL IN GHANA BELONGS TO NPP & THE PARASITIC NDC POLITICIANS.

GHANA'S OIL DOES NOT BELONG TO GHANAIANS, PERIOD.

THAT'S WHY THEY KILLED THE "DARK HORSE" ATTA-MILLS TO FORCE A BYE-ELECTION WHICH WAS ALSO DISAPPOINTIN ...

• SANKOFA 10 years ago

We always elect those who come to promise us sardine , corned beef without listening to the one who will put the development of the Ghanaian nation and the wellbeing of the Ghanaian citizens on agenda and thus this is the res ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A doctor at an (insane) asylum decided to take his inmates to a baseball game. For weeks in advance, he coached his patients to respond to his commands. When the day of the game arrived, everything seemed to be going well.
    A ...

• OBINNA 10 years ago

WHATS IS THE RATIONALE BEHIND THIS STORY AND HOW DOES THIS RELATE TO THE EFFICIENT USE AND ACCOUNTABILTY (TRANSPARENCY)OF OIL REVUNUES IN DEVELOPMENT PROJECTS IN THE COUNTRY?

do you egt a pay-check for doing these? mr willie

• Asante 10 years ago

Prof Asafo-Adjaye and Engineer Dr Adjaye are the the same ppl?

• AKWASI 10 years ago

AT LEAST, THE GOVT DIDN'T WASTE THE MONEY. THE PROBLEM IS THE COUNTRY HAS MORE DEVEOPMENTAL ISSUES THAN THE OIL REVENUE.

• Kondendiara Kakraba 10 years ago

What exactly do you understand the word 'waste' to be. Have you ever heard the saying 'cut your coat according to your cloth?' Some people prefer putting it, .... according to your size. One wears extra-large (XL) but his clo ...

• fred 10 years ago

DID KWAME NKRUMAH AND THE CPP PRODUCE WITHOUT OIL AND COMPARE THAT WITH TODAY: Tema motorway, the first in Ghana, 500 secondary schools (Ghana Educational Trust) in all regions, Tema Harbour, Tema City, Ghana State Farms, Bla ...

• CHARLES KOFI,AFRICA 10 years ago

IF KWAME NKRUMAH COULD DO SO MUCH WITHIN 5YEARS WITH SO LITTLE REVENUE, WHY NOT NDC/NPP DO SAME WITH SO MUCH REVENUE FROM OIL,TAXATION,COCOA,GOLD, CUSTOM DUTIES,TIMBER,DIAMONDS AND MANY
    OTHER REVENUES GHANA EARNS.THIS GOES ...

• JAK The Ripper 10 years ago

Before earning proceeds from oil exported, previous governments had enjoyed the pay out in advance. Heavy borrowing for Ghana@50; luxury vehicles and loans for MPs, Gyeeda,STX etc etc

Probably we are servicing those debts. ...

• No offense meant! 10 years ago

It 's very sad to note that our leaders lacked wisdom but prevail on pride. And the bible quote pride lies in the heart of fools. Must I say most of our leaders are fools?
    Five reasons they are: 1.Posterity is not in their l ...

• Splp 10 years ago

Ok.

No, no wise LEADER ever, ever. YES FOOLS, ANIMALS, when you see them on TV, UGLY APES, FAT BELLIES, I HATE them. So Africa will for ever remain Africa and EGYPT and co will ever shun Africa.

• Marquis 10 years ago

I am trying hard to understand the meaning of the article but I cant. At least it doesn't say the oil money is wasted. We have too many development needs and if the oil money is shared like groundnuts for every region to have ...

• Mike 10 years ago

I just asked thesame question. Whether is "oil money" "cocoa money" or "tax revenue" is thesame issue. There are multiple needs in the country so its a governace decision whether we want to use the money for one "big"/"fantas ...

• Kondendiara Kakraba 10 years ago

The import is that, instead of concentrating on few projects in order to do efficient jobs, they rather tackled so many and did shoddy ones, subsequently paving way for corruption. How did a contract awarded for GHc 24 millio ...

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

This is party of poor men who have never achieved anything in life. This is the most corrupt regime Ghana has ever had.

• www 10 years ago

That is all. All documents will be burnt before next govt

• Joe New York 10 years ago

The wise men in the NDC, if there are some, should advice President and his team. It is time for our leaders to sit up

• OSEI TAWIA JUSTICE (USA). 10 years ago

STUPID TALK, THE SO CALLED ECONOMIST SHOULD TELL GREEDY BASTARD KRONFOUR KOFI DIAWUO KOFOUR AND HIS E.O.PARTNERS TO ADD THEIR THREE PERCENT SHARE OF THE OIL REVENUE SO THAT MORE PROJECTS CAN INITIATED AND COMPLETED FOR THE BE ...

• Concerned Citizen 10 years ago

Illiterate fool, that issue is beyond your comprehension. Stop writing in caps.

• k. Agyei 10 years ago

the most stupid story of the year.

• Amankwa 10 years ago

It shows their desperation

• Amankwa 10 years ago

It shows their desperation

• AKONFEM JDM KWASEA 10 years ago

EI EI GHANA PAA NIE HMMMMMM,GOD SAVE GHANA FOR US OOOOH

• Amankwa 10 years ago

Is this what they were taught in Journalism school? Tweeeaaa.

• kojo 10 years ago

if only our institutions are working

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

For instance, Dr Amin indicated that the Asankragwa road, which was awarded on contract at Ghc24 million in 2011, had ballooned to 42 million Euros.

Where and how is this world can this be possible. And people are just ...

• Awotse TT 10 years ago

I believe we can do better, the five areas clearly identify are the building blocks to our economy. However, as we all know the fat cats are wasting Ghana's future. We can learn from our Nigerian counterparts and we can do be ...

• fred 10 years ago

This is the parliament that has behaved irresponsibly, making policies and not ensuring that they are carried out by the letter. When contracts are not carried out on time as a project the institutions to enforce the law aga ...

• paa kow 10 years ago

Thank you dear brothers of transparency make sure this guys do not keep these funds for themselves and family, thereby leaving Ghanaian"s poor for they are VANITY men VANITY seekers who will die and leave the funds in the ban ...

• www 10 years ago

Another hipic but this time the world Bond holders would not write the debts off - back to Taliban years

• www 10 years ago

NDC burns JJ + houses, markets etc

• GEN. NUNOO-MENSAH 10 years ago

Hey Ghanaians, if Ghana is too hot for you, GET OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! E DE BEEEEEEEEEEEEE K3K3!!!!! We are chopping all the monies and will sell Ghana afterwards!!!!!!!!!!

• Sunsum 10 years ago

This guy comes for holidays from Australia and decides to let Ghanaians know that he is a professor in Queensland. Please, prof, give us a break because we have already had enough lecturing from the professors in our local un ...

• ALLIGATOR KIDS NEEDS YOUR HELP . 10 years ago

NOTHING NEW - AFRICAN MEN WITH AFRICAN SENSE - NOTHING CAN BE ACHIEVE . OBOUASI ROAD NEVER FINISH AND IT'S ONE OF THE WORST ROAD IN GHANA DESPIRE ALL THE GOLD .

• ACCRAMAN 10 years ago

You have not seen nothing yet. This is why NPP is dying to win the 2016 election. There is no accountability for anything in government and they will share the oil revenue like Pure Water.

Hopefully by the time NPP come to ...

• OPPONG 10 years ago

This our boger DRs won't come home, they will sit at their comfort flats when their gas bills and electricity bills are draining their savings then they turn their frustration on Ghanaian economy.
    Come home and be part of t ...

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 10 years ago

The incompetent Mahama led criminal brigade and their international crook associates led by the Nigerian Chief criminal adviser, the baboon looking face Obasanjo, has taken the country for granted and using the people and cou ...

• jj rawlings 10 years ago

Obasanjo is number world criminal in amassing fortunes through misfortunes in other african countries by taking kickbacks and assuring the international bodies that every elections he observed is fair even in dictator Mugabe ...

• KANE 10 years ago

WHEN KUFUOR AND HIS NPP WERE BUSY LOOTING GHANA AND "DASHING" GHANA'S LANDED PROPERTIES TO NPP FUNCTIONARIES AND HIS CRONIES, WE NEVER HEARD FROM THESE SO-CALLED AKAN "PROFESSORS".

WHEN KUFUOR BROUGHT IN HIS CRONIES TO FR ...

• PAT 10 years ago

YES U MUST BE BORN GENETICALLY STUPID TO JUSTIFY PRESENT DAY CRIMINALITY WITH PAST CRIMINALITY.....NDC SPENT 19 SEARCHING FOR OIL AND GOT ZERO...ABSOLUTELY ZERO...NPP CAME AND FORGED AHEAD AND GOT COMMERCIAL OIL BUT THIS SAME ...

• yy 10 years ago

It is mind blogging to hear a professor say things this like. I wonder what he will be teaching his students? That a whole professor will consider ART & CULTURE unimportant. AMAZING!!!!! Look these so call civil organizations ...

• PAT 10 years ago

IT IS GHANAIANS MONEY BEING CHOPPED HERE AND WE MUST ALL STOP IT NO MATTER WHO IS LOOTING OUR CASH...SO DONT JUSTIFY NDC LOOTING WITH PERCEIVED NPP LOOTING...NDC IS IN POWER NOW TO RIGHT ANY WRONGS, BUT NOT TO COMMIT AN EVEN ...

• Akos 10 years ago

The author of this article must have been stoned while writing. His figures do not add up cuz he forgot to mention momey being deposited into the heritage fund as the saying goes EVERY BODY IS A CRITIC. Nut where is the beef ...

• Law Speaks 10 years ago

This man is suffering from loosing election.

• PAT 10 years ago

IS NDC EVEN AWARE THAT NORTHERNERS, VOLTA,AND CENTRAL WHO LOOKED UP TO THEM SO MUCH HAVE BEEN RIPPED OFF THRO GYEEDA,SUBAH, SADA, FORTIZ, ETC ETC.....WHAT MANNER OF STUPIDITY-EXTREME IS THIS.

• Alhaji Brutus Germany 10 years ago

Is Mahama a curse or ablessing for the country?

• AGOOJI ...... KETA 10 years ago

YOU GUYS ON HERE SHOULD BE MINDFUL OF WHAT YOU WRITE ON HERE AND DONT THINK THAT THESE DOES NOT AFFECT OUR LIVES. ARE YOU MEN GOD ? IF YOU ARE THEN I DONT THINK YOU WOULD NOT BE ON HERE TO SAY THESE UNNECESSARY THINGS ON HERE ...

• KANTATA 10 years ago

THE OIL IN GHANA BELONGS TO NPP & THE PARASITIC NDC POLITICIANS.

GHANA'S OIL DOES NOT BELONG TO GHANAIANS.

THAT'S WHY THEY KILLED THE "DARK HORSE" ATTA-MILLS TO FORCE A BYE-ELECTION WHICH WAS ALSO DISAPPOINTINGLY WON B ...

• concern ghanian 10 years ago

MUMU VOTERS THAT FORBID THE TRUTH

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

LET THESE NISY PEOPLE WHO ARE ENJOYING THE RUITS OF THE TOIL, SWEAT AND HRDWORK OF AUSTRALIANS KEEP TEIR MOUTH SHUT.

THE STUDENTS HE TEACHES are ARE REALY THAT HIS NATIVE COUNTRY GHANA IS STILL IN SHAMBLES WITH BROKEN INFR ...

• kaketonti 10 years ago

What about the kick-back % taken by crooks who signed the contracts!Your edition is bias period.You don't know hu.

• TEE 10 years ago

SGT. ANANI FIADZOE THANKS YOU MADE MY DAY YOU SAID IT ALL MANY THANKS. YOU KNOW GHANAIANS DON'T UNDERSTAND WHAT IS DEMOCRACY THEY THINK IS COMPOSARY A PRESIDENT VOTED ON POWER MUST STAY ON UNTIL HIS TERM NO NO NO IF A GOVERN ...

• Ugly Akufu Addo 10 years ago

Stupid man

• NMAN 10 years ago

THESE ARE SOME OF THE ROTS THAT MAKE AFRICANS LOOK INFERIOR. STUPIDITY ALL OVER THE PLACE. NO PRIORITIES FOR DEVELOPMENT.

• Breko 10 years ago

All those NDC foolsoldiers must listen and take note. NDC Ministers, heads of Government companies and institutions, Boards of Government entities have one and only one thing in mind, and that is to make money by any means po ...

• CHRISTOS CHRISTOFF 10 years ago

How right are the Proffessors! They should have also noted that those ""road projects"' are controlled by the chinese because of our stupid Ghana governments past and present( except CPP,BUSIA and Lilman). We give them e ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

How can you compare building of roads to sharing of groundnut? You've got to make sense in your publication. You don't make sense with such expression

• PlainPlainTruth 10 years ago

In what way has the oil cash been shared like groundnuts? The writeup doesn't support this assertion in any way shape or form. So either the so-called economists didn't know what they were talking about or the author slipped ...

• TEE 10 years ago

FANTES WAKE UP NOW FOR THE OIL THE NORTHERNERS FROM NORTH AND THE VOLTARIAN FROM TOGOLAND ARE CHOPPING YOUR OIL MONEY SO WAKE UP AND STOP SLEEPING LOOK AT YOUR CENTRAL AND WESTERN AFTER NKRUMAH NO LEADER EVER REMEMBER YOUR C ...