You are here: HomeNews2013 12 27Article 296317

Desist from giving monies to the police – PRO

Read Comments Comments (91)

• BAD MOUTH 10 years ago

You know that is not possible. Please stop hiding behind your junior officers to perpetuate your evil rich scheme. everyone knows you are lying!!

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

When Dramani Mahama and his can't resit giving money to the electorate and Supreme Court Judges, what should you expect from the ordinary citizenry in our country, influencing them to be unfair in their deliberations and to v ...

• facts 10 years ago

If those who are paid to enforce the law are themselves breakers of the law then we are doomed to fail as a country. The ministers are busily looting and have no time to oversee the works of their subordinates. Now we need an ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

ITS LIKE TELLING GH DRIVERS TO DRIVE SAFE ON THE STREETS AND NOT PROVIDING POLICE CHECKS...LOL
    GH POLICE U ARE LAZY N INEPT. IN NORTH AMERICA, POLICE WORK ON A QUOTA SYSTEM. WHY DONT U GO THERE FOR TRAINING? TELL THE POLICE ...

• kabokabo 10 years ago

Who in his normal mind will give money to the police for no work done? It is rather the police who intimidates us to give them money. Some of them will forcefully take your car key or driving license untill you exchange hand.

• Ghana boy 10 years ago

why do u pay bribes which u allege are extorted from u when u know u have done nothing wrong? in fact u guys bribe the police so that they will not arrest u and process u for court, knowing very well that when u are taken to ...

• wiseman 10 years ago

What kind of punishment are you talking about? For Police to process you before the azaaa judge? Haba wise up

in our country the voice of reason can not be heard as the decision makers , stakeholders and politics are so polarized through tribalism and other mud slinging propaganda that the truth and common sense have become irreleva ...

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

These days the Police negotiate their charges before they undertake regular assignments for which they are paid single spine salaries. THEY ARE SHAMELESS

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

In any bribery case, there is the giver and taker but in most cases as those involving the police, the taker sometimes also demands the bribe. For this reason it would be better for the Police head of Public Affairs to advise ...

• Koffi Parker 10 years ago

Look what they need is the money not harassment they can always find you for an infraction,from headlights to wiper blades to road signs,it's a levy for overloading,we blame them for nothing "we are our own enemy"

• BlindMan 10 years ago

One way the DSP could assist the public in its charge, is by outlining some POSSIBILITIES, guide lines, to be used in its resistance against the force. What happens when the police asks the person involved, to come outside of ...

• Emma, Australia. 10 years ago

You are stupid. Support what the Officer said and stop that your silly statement about NDC and NPP saga. Ghana is for all lets eradicate corruption from our midst. Hey by the way that word is not can't it is cunt. It looks li ...

• ASANTEWAH BROBEY 10 years ago

Stupid monkey so-called Emma, sitting
    in someones developed country, who is encouraging corruption in your own country, if animal will get rot, it
    begins from the head, there what the Sgt is saying is this, if only the Head ...

• Kakaaku 10 years ago

If only the police would accept your proposal as a good deal.

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

Which proposal? Not to give unless the police ask for it, or to ask for tax deductible document. Isn't illegal to put it mildly for the police to accept tips?

• PUSSY RIOT - east legon 10 years ago

You know very well that a top police officer like Cephas can't say in public something bad about his outfit. It is normal.

• TEE 10 years ago

YOU HAVE NO STANDARD, REAL DEVILS OF OUR TIME. TO CHECK CRIME BUT AT THE HELM OF IT. EVEN IN THE GLARING EYES OF THE PUBLIC.BUT FOR OUR LAWS GOVERNING THE COUNTRY WHO WILL HAVE GONE TO THE POLICE. REGARDLESS OF ONES PROBLEM Y ...

• gretchy 10 years ago

Gosh make sure da police are doing thier dutys properly awww geee.What do you do when the stupid police insist that u give them funds eh!!Those police that take money off people should be lined up in the middle of town and ri ...

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

It will reaffirm our commitment to open and transparent governance if our Chief Justice permits our judiciary to make important cases accessible to the public via telecast. It is an important case so far.

• JOBLINKS 10 years ago

WE HAVE VACANCIES FOR POSITIONS LISTED BELOW:
    IN ACCRA.

WAITRESSES
    WAITERS
    COOKS,
    SALES CLERKS
    HOUSE-KEEPERS,
    HOUSE HELPS,
    SECURITY MEN / WOMEN,
    FEMALE OFFICE CLERKS,
    DRIVERS
    Kitchen assistance,
    FOR JOBS IN ACC ...

• Agbovi 10 years ago

Bro.stop your 419 -slavery Business on Ghanaweb.Let me chop my kenkey without shito,in Ghana than to be a prisoner in Lebanon.Go and see what is happening in Lebanon you will admit that Ghana is like a paradise. If you have J ...

• Humphrey 10 years ago

No one said they are not working. But the way they are collecting money from innocent taxi and trotro drivers that is the problem. Since I know my right I will not but what of those illiterate on the street which they take ad ...

• Joe 10 years ago

Humphery,everyone knows his or her right .Once, a policeman says he will arrest you, it is better you pay and go.You know your right but they can waste your time and stop your Business and destroy your day.Can you imagine tha ...

• JP 10 years ago

My brother you have said it all, if these policemen want to take money from you they will do all they can for that.

But I am not sure why the government of Ghana is not doing anything about this situation.

It is good th ...

• Komla 10 years ago

I agree and share your sentiment. The police are masters at wasting people's time especially those who are aware of their rights.

• ndc 10 years ago

bcos ur govnt is in pawa and u hav poss now so u get the money and so u can use those cheap talk. shame on u all.

• Ewe Pride 10 years ago

Thats impossible.Its like asking ashantis not to be greedy or asking them not to think they are "the chosen" tribe.No ashanti policeman will ever say no to bribes.On the other hand my Ewe tribesmen are very upright people who ...

• SAMUEL 10 years ago

CONGRATS, thanks DSP, to fight corruption, we must first admit corruption exist, then measures can be put in place to fight it.

• SAMUEL 10 years ago

I'm sad about this comment comparing corruption in ASHANTIS to that of EWES. Corruption does not know tribe.

JJ RAWLINGS...NUNOO MENSAH, TURKEYBALL FACE ABLAKWA, ARENT THEY ALL EWE THIEVES? EFIE BIAA MENSAH DEY INSIDE

• CONCERN CITIZEN 10 years ago

Ofunkyi, you will continue to envy Asantes till your death but you can never ever be one of them. They will continue to be pacesetters for stupid person like you to copy. By the way, if you don't know ask for the tribe of all ...

• FIIFI 10 years ago

If you indeed leave in Ghana, you would have known that most of the MTTU personnel are people with Ewe decent. They are indeed extortionist and thieves if you don't know. Like the other comment on this issue, check the DSP TH ...

• Mother Ghana is weeping. 10 years ago

Am a victim of armed robbery.Afterour commununity had constructed a police post,we had a team of policemen in our area.C.P. Top Hill. At Kasoa.The police deployed there will always make several demands on us .Finally they lef ...

• kwakw new york 10 years ago

stop betraying your colleagues. my father was a retired police officer at the time when kwofie was the IGP..boy my father used to send me to ridge almost every saturday to go and deliver an envelope to him which i suspiciousl ...

• Konoreyawa 10 years ago

Ghana Police services should rather look after the police. Incxrease their pay or provide suitable accomodation for all police and not just officers. This would make every police to feel appreciated and work according to duti ...

• kanewu 10 years ago

now you are a fat boy u idiot homosapaein.u got lot of riches so

• Kofi Gyau 10 years ago

We try to resist, but they waste your time if you don't up. The police have all the time to waste and time and tide waits for no man.

• Bebe 10 years ago

Why should it be "resist from giving monies to police"

• K. Frimpong 10 years ago

are you seeing things?

• Ghana boy 10 years ago

bebe is either lost in a world of his own or he's beginning to feel the side effect of too much gari

• Marquis 10 years ago

Thanks. I believe most people will confirm the change in attitude of our Police Personnel. It is gratifying to see how friendly they are nowadays. Their approach to their work is stopping would be difficult customers not to b ...

• Pontius Pilate 10 years ago

do we give to them? they demand. better tell them to stop demanding.

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

One day, the father of a very wealthy family took his son on a trip to the country with the express purpose of showing him
    how poor people live. They spent a couple of days and nights on the farm of what would be considered ...

• Nzema K 10 years ago

Let all Ghanaians read this

• Walid bin Sayyed 10 years ago

The Verb RESIST does not take the preposition FROM. When RESIST is used it takes directly the present continuous form of a VERB. It is only DESIST that takes the Preposition FROM. Either the Police PRO is not Grammatically up ...

• Woman 10 years ago

I actually decided to read the comments to check reactions to this bad grammar, and I am glad you did not disappoint. Doesn't such bad writing grate on your nerves?

... and Ghanaweb, must you always reproduce poor journ ...

• Mr. Sam London 10 years ago

You thought we wouldn't notice you took money from the people your self. Now that you become the boss, you are preaching corruption.

• Edward 10 years ago

Indeed the police are very visible everywhere. Ayeeeeeko.

• Kofi kwame 10 years ago

Ghana police are money hunters,no matter how one does they would tune you around and take money,they are really profertioners in money trapping and hunting.why can't the police admistration themselves go in for bad police hu ...

• truth 10 years ago

DSP your policemen demand too much bribe. the police are now not security men but cashiers, we need a corrupt free policemen not thieves. the police are are disgrace to the country

• Kwesi 10 years ago

So the blame is placed on the Ghanaian people, on us? Should it not be that 1) the state paid police what are due, so they would not have to accept bribery, and 2) if an officer still collect bribery, s/he should face court! ...

• EBO SMITH 10 years ago

GHANA POLICE IS THE ROOT OF CORRUPTION IN GHANA.THE POLICE IS A JOKE IN GHANA:IF I HAVE ISSUE WITH THE POLICE HAVE TO COME IN,I NEED TO PAY THE POLICE B4 MY CASE WILL BE CONSIDERED.
    police in Ghana is dead and corrupt.once t ...

• AGYA ADOFO NEW YORK. 10 years ago

AND OBAMA SAID WE NEED STRONG INSTITUTIONS NOT STRONG MEN .TRUTH INDEED,

• FRAIZER 10 years ago

Abui ke olekpee,kpee odunaa Mr DSP...>Needle if you know how to sow,sow your bottom Mr DSP.

• pAUL DJ 10 years ago

your men are themselves demanding the money and in most cases using force. when they take money for bail you say you don't know. the police are worse in crime, not even their so called PIPS, BUFFALOS AND WHATEVER ARE DAM CORR ...

• YOUYOY 10 years ago

THE POLICE SHOULD BE WELL PAID THEN WE WILL DESISTS FROM GIVING MONEY TO THEM.THE GHANAIAN BOBBY ON THE BEAT-POLICE, HAS ONE OF THE MOST ATROCIOUS WORK CONDITIONS ON THE PLANET AND HOW ARE THEY REWARDED?PITTANCE MONEY?

• Odasanii 10 years ago

On which planet does DSP Cephas Arthur live?

• Gyeabour, Abrefa 10 years ago

This morning when I was coming down to Kumasi from Ejisu, the policemen were there collecting one one cedi. I will take pictures of them and paste it on the net. shame

I thought the POlice were properly trained not to take bribes and so they forbids,tell them not us,we`re not the problem you DSP & Co are...

• KWASEA LIKE THAT 10 years ago

Fucking talk.

IT SHOULD BE ILLEGAL FOR POFFICERS TO TAKE/ACCEPT BRIBES. TAKE DOWN THEIR ID NUMBERS/BADGE NUMBERS N REPORT THEM TO THE NEAREST POLICE STATION. THE FUNNY THING IS THE IGP HIMSELF CONDONES BRIBERY.

• AKONFEM JDM CORRUPT 10 years ago

NSEMHUNU,CORRUPT POLICE SHAME

• KB 10 years ago

One Inspector Gyateng at Odorkor MTTU took bribe from me and again another instance Inspector Bismark together with one Rita and their boss took GHC 30 from me.Get them interdicted and invite me,I will come.

Cephas should go to Biriwa barrier to see if he is saying can be possible. The police there has removed their name tags extorting monies left & right with impunity. Tell us something better cephas

• Branaboy 10 years ago

The Police Commander must focus is attention on his officers. He must train them to stop asking for money. It's not the public going around handing them money, it's the officers going around extorting money from the public es ...

• B.D.M. 10 years ago

There should be an under cover police who should arrest the greedy police officers and the general public who try to make their way by bribing. This has been there from ages and the only way to stop this is to begin to arres ...

• Great 10 years ago

Foolishness, tell your guys to stop asking for bribes.

• Che Guevara 10 years ago

DSP Cephas Arthur, pls ASK IGP, Mohammed Alhassan why there are now FIVe police patrols on the Ho-Aflao road, with the police stopping every comercial and private driver and taking money from them with the least offence. The ...

• KWESI 10 years ago

THEY RENDER ACCOUNT TO THEIR SENIOR OFFICERS EACH,SO HE SHOULD STOP DECEIVING THE PUBLIC.ONLY GOD CAN SAVE US.

• yaapoti 10 years ago

odommfuo osrafuo penin ye da wo ase na nia worekayi ebeyeyee ni efise nia omano mu npeninfuo efire PNDC NDC JATO NPP KOFUO NDC ATTAH NDC MAHAMA so wonim sika afri oman nomu npo oman no sika korabia eye bank of Ghana npeninuo ...

• CONCERN CITIZEN 10 years ago

Infact, most of the people who are commenting on this issue are indeed educated illitrates. How many of you are aware that the giver and the taker of bribe commit the same offence. If you stop the offer and report the officer ...

• abuzo 10 years ago

stop the lies

• Concerned Thinker 10 years ago

Who will not have anything to do with his/her money and will always like to be a father-Christmas to the police. The police are always taking money. Please tell the government to stop considering slashing the salaries of publ ...

• HABLUTA SENYO 10 years ago

WHAT SENSE DOES IT MAKE A WHOLE FATHER LEFT HOME FOR WORK JUST TO STAND AT A CORNER TAKING ONE CEDI ONE CEDI FROM POOR DRIVERS?THAT IS A CRIME.

• Koo Pia 10 years ago

The man is probably living in the clouds

• EZOR 10 years ago

All be lie..
    Even the PRO have his %..

• KWAKU MENSAH 10 years ago

SO SO ALL TIME A POLICE WITHOUT BRIBE IS LIKE THE DEAD SEA.

• Lorgo Ligri 10 years ago

If you make it a crime for the police to take our driver's licenses and car keys when they stop us on the streets, we will stop. I will rather pay Ghc5 upfront than get tangled in the wayo ways your officers display when we c ...

• Kofi K 10 years ago

What measurement gave you that impression? When l was robbed n my wife reported, the officer in charge asked for an amount of money for investigation, my wife refused n case was closed, This happened under the Kaneshie divisi ...

• Awotse TT 10 years ago

It all started....after Independence. Can't you all see the FAT cats in Ghana. The country of rob Peter to pay Paul. One day the masses shall rise again. Don't name only the police, say it loud All Ghana Government. See the C ...

• Sylvanus Agbemenyah 10 years ago

You speak as if you don't know the office you work from. Don't make mockery of Ghanaians we are becoming wise and wiser each day. Ask any driver the trouble they go through when your officers asked for the driving licence and ...

• Komla 10 years ago

The Ghana Police Force lacks integrity. The police must first stop demanding money from drivers. They must also stop demanding money from those who want to join the Police Force.

• Menipa 10 years ago

This statement is unfortunate especially when the police service person are becoming the rule themselves. How there you asking question or clarification of your offence, then the police will harass you and waste your time and ...

• Koffi Parker 10 years ago

The police on their part owe it as a duty to refuse to take goro, so long as they are ready to receive the corrupt society are ready to offer. Why not commit crime knowing well the cops are always willing to cover your ass

• Pambour Agyeman, New York 10 years ago

Funny guy! If you have an advice give to your own stock......The Police.
    What makes you think drivers delight in offering their meager earnings to the police?
    They have free housing, pay no water or light bills and yet suc ...

• PATRICK ADZADDU(Buffalo) 10 years ago

The Police should stop asking money from the Public and they shpuld stop setting up road blocks on the highways such as Tema- Aflao Highway just to take money from us. I was in Ghana last May the police asked for money and I ...

• GHANABA 10 years ago

Cephas arthur, tell ur senior commanders to stop taking huge bribes from unqualified applicants b4 recruiting them into the service. The applicants who have gone through all the necessary procedures involved in the recruitmen ...

• John 10 years ago

It is a pitty when the top brass in service know they are the cause of all these untorward occurences, yet they pretent they do not know the cause. If the IGP and his commanders use a very genunine way to recruit persons into ...

• John 10 years ago

It is a pitty when the top brass in service know they are the cause of all these untorward occurences, yet they pretent they do not know the cause. If the IGP and his commanders use a very genunine way to recruit persons into ...

• clarence 10 years ago

its good that the police is asking the general public to desist from giving money out to the police, I think the police must devise a system of payment just like the one in the UK whereby drivers who are fined for traffic off ...