You are here: HomeNews2013 12 26Article 296238

Accra Mall; A sitting “Time-bomb”?

Read Comments Comments (67)

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

THE MGMNT OF THIS MALL ARE NOTHING BUT CLOWNS...WATS HER NAMW MUINA OR WATEVER HER NAME IS. THEY R A BUNCH OF RETARDED CLOWNS. THERE IS NO COMPETITION IN THE MALL INDUSTRY. WHY SHOUYLDNT THIS MALL HVE 2 OR 3 FLOORS? MALL CAME ...

• OKOE 10 years ago

THE PIECE STATES YOU WORK FOR THE GOVERNMENT AND THE GOVERNMENT MAKES THE RULES IN THE COUNTRY THROUGH PARLIAMENT. IF YOU FIND SOMETHING AMISS THAT AFFECTS PUBLIC SAFETY, YOU DIRECT THE AGENCY RESPONSIBLE TO SEE TO IT THAT TH ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A man named Arty, and is wife go into a grocery store in Accra Mall.
    at the checkout, the woman says,"That will be 51.00 Cedis" Arty gives her 51.00 Cedis,And the woman says "Thank you"
    As Arty and his wife are leaving the ...

• Fiifi 10 years ago

NETTEY, IF YOU AND YOUR TEAM KNOW THERE IS A PROBLEM THERE, GO AHEAD AND FIX IT, INSTEAD OF CREATING PANIC. YOU HAVE THE POWER TO DO IT. DO SOMETHING FOR A CHANGE!
    ESSENTIALLY, WHAT YOU HAVE DONE IS TERRORISM.

• Fiifi 10 years ago

In Criminal Law, contributing to or aiding in the commission of a crime, is accessoy.
    One who, without being present at the commission of an offense, becomes guilty of such offense, not as a chief actor, but as a participan ...

DOES ACCRA HVE A MAYOR OR REGIONAL MINISTER? U SIT THERE WHILES FOOLISHNESS CONTINUES TO GO ON DAILY. OKO SHOULD TAKE HIS BUSHY HAIR INTO THE FORREST N TAP PALM WINE OR AB3...I WILL CAMPAIGN FOR ACCRA MAYOR N WIN THE VOTE. IN ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

disclosing such a percieved weakness in the media is not a wise thing but this is ndc.what do u expect. however no terrorist will dare do that shit. they would be too exposed and would be shot like the dogs that they are

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Fellow country men and women,Members of the Clergy, Muslim community, Nananom, Ladies and gentlemen, we are sounding it solemnly in the ears of all those who are because of their stomach, selfishness, political blindness, pol ...

• Darling boy 10 years ago

If u Ghanaians don't know another super shop is emerging just across the mall back road where the trotro station is.wait and see more congestion AMA better close that road behind mall to action church and spintex road

• CLASSIC 10 years ago

Ghanaians can talk. They criticize everything and yet do nothing themselves.

• Yamo 10 years ago

I sure wished they would build one here in Sunyani. Modern facilities like this will bring Ghana out of the 3rd World country category and into a prosperous future. Long live wonderful Ghana and its great people. Merry Chri ...

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

AESC, City Engineers and AMA should be held responsible for the problem being discussed. At this moment, there's still the chance to correct the problem eg. by opening extra exit doors in the Mall. We don't have to wait until ...

• I & I 10 years ago

I call on the NDC Party to dissolve itself as a Political Party if they love Ghana. For their 25year in government has been the bane of Ghana's underdevelopment. They have shown how incompetent, Corrupt and Bruits they are. O ...

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

I always wonder if I were the only sensible individual any time I passed by the skyscraper under construction at the Tetteh Quarshie Exchange. It does not take any professional mind to observe disaster under construction : th ...

• CONCERNED CITIZEN. 10 years ago

Can the AESE chief engineer in collaboration with the AMA come out quickly to reassess the situation before it get to kill our love ones. This is very a serious point made for the government to respond asap.we need to hear a ...

• flagstar 10 years ago

That's it. In Ghana since kojo oo everything has always been like that. Out of service.

• flagstar 10 years ago

That's it. In Ghana since kojo oo everything has always been like that. Out of service.

• flagstar 10 years ago

Soon as I read that statement I said to myself, "aaaaa that's Ghana. Everything- electricity, water, common sense, seriousness, fuel, oil, snow, rain, textbooks, police station ballpoint pens and notebooks, clean toilet facil ...

• flagstar 10 years ago

Soon as I read that statement I said to myself, "aaaaa that's Ghana. Everything- electricity, water, common sense, seriousness, fuel, oil, snow, rain, textbooks, police station ballpoint pens and notebooks, clean toilet facil ...

• flagstar 10 years ago

• Kwesi Brenu 10 years ago

According to Samuel George Nettey, the Accra Mall which is one of the busiest shopping centers in the country-hahahaa how many shopping centers do we have in the entire Country ?

• Ewe pride 10 years ago

Even the looks,not just the security,of this mall says mediocrity.This mall is "regular" while the westgate mall is "highend"

• Yaw 10 years ago

As usual and very typical of authorities
    they will deny but we all know that health and safety is unheard of and non exitence in Ghana.
    Instead of you denying and giving excuces,pay attention to such a serious warning to av ...

• Adondon 10 years ago

Since when did he become an expert in security matter? Is he an architect? He is just a fool.

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

Guy, he is not a fool. The guy is security and safety conscious. What he has said must be looked into and corrections made before disaster strikes. Two exists to such a huge facility is just not enough. It is a DEATH TRAP!

• KOJO 10 years ago

THE HEADLINE OF THE STORY IS NOT CORRECT AS COMPARED TO THE STORY.THERE ARE SOME CONCERNS THAT MUST NOT BE DISCUSSED IN PUBLIC IT RATHER ENLIGHTENS OR BROADEN THE SCOPE OF A POSSIBLE ATTACKER.SOME THINGS ARE SECRET AND MUST ...

• Law 10 years ago

MAHAMA FAMILY

I WAS ST THE MALL IN JAN 2011 TAKING PIC WITH MY NIKON CAM. MALL SECURITY SAW ME N CALLED POLICE. ABOUT 7 COPS SHOWED UP WITH GUNS POINTED AT ME. THESE FOOLS THOUGHT I WAS A TERRORIST FOR TAKING PICS IN THE MAL..MUAHAHAHAAAAA ...

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

Unbelievable! I just can't imagine that; I really don't know what to say and I can't seem to stop laughing. Interestingly, when an assault case like the one that happened in Odododiodio, in Accra occurred, the Police refuse t ...

ONLY IN GH. CHALE, THE COPS WERE YELLING. EVERYONE WAS WATCHING N STUFF. ALL I COULD THINK OFF WAS. ARE THESE MONKEYS FOR REAL? LETER, THEY APPROACHED ME AND ASKED ME TO COME WITH THEM SO WE COULD TALK IN CHAMBERS. I JUST WAL ...

• Fire!! 10 years ago

It is a timely observation all right but it is also unwise to make it public. What Nettey should have done is to express his concern to the powers that be, to let them think about a strategy to adopt to forestall any stampede ...

• milke 10 years ago

i was at the accra mall yesterday its a shit hole go to west field in london thats what you call a shopping mall not thisc accra one no gooid shops its a second class mall make it cheap for the ordinary ghanaians to go there ...

• Idi Amin Mobutu Mokassa Jr. 10 years ago

We're talking of what we have in Ghana and not what exists in London or elsewhere. You just stay in London and do your cleaning job at the mall you so much admire.

• ghanaian 10 years ago

Not only about the Mall,but the whole country as a whole.you prevent people from ENTERING the country illigally ,you stop criminal activities from happening in the whole nation .for also travelers who are afraid of traveling ...

• DISCIPLINE HOLLAND 10 years ago

MANAGER OF ACCRA MALL HOW CAN YOU HIDE THE TRUTH IF THE SECURITY CAMERAS, EXITS ETC ARE NOT GOOD.THINK OF INNOCENT LIFE AND IF LIKE KENYA TERRORIST HIT THERE,WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPING? ARE YOU ONLY GOING TO TELL PUBLIC SORRY? ...

• danny 10 years ago

from my checks,the Accra mall has two major entrance and five back exist,if its about CCTV cameras then that's fine but not exit and entrance.

• GOD BLESS ISRAEL 10 years ago

I AM A BUILDING CONTROL OFFICER. MY HOURLY FEES ARE QUITE SUBSTANTIAL. WHEN I ENTER A BUILDING THE FIRST THING I LOOK FOR FIRE EXITS. THEN OTHERS ASPECTS OF THE BUILDING.

I AM AVAILABLE FOR $200K A YEAR. PLUS ALL EXPATRIAT ...

• JUSTICE 10 years ago

Accra Mall is indeed a dead trap. I wonder who gave the permit to build this ugly Mall. It shouldn`t be build there at all, but because of greed and self interest, they built it there. It`s create congestions at the roundabou ...

• JUSTICE 10 years ago

Correction

• Kanawu 10 years ago

Is this guy an architectural security designer? Does he knows other exits behind the shops? Please don't disclose any thing to this "quasi watchman"

• Alex 10 years ago

This guy is just creating fear and Punic for politics sake. Apart from the main entrances, there are emergency exits like fire doors all around the mall as required by law. CCTV cameras cannot cover everyplace anywhere in the ...

• Boy Kumasi nii 10 years ago

I am over 70 years old and as much as I hate NDC when it comes to security of the country Ewes & Northerners do better job than Akans

• BOY KUMASI 10 years ago

Why ?

• abuzo 10 years ago

TOO MANY ARABS AND IRANINANS DEALING WITH GHANA NOTHING GOOD WILL COME OUT OF THIS BUT TRUBLES

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Only TWO OUTLETS/DOORS,are not enough for such huge crowd,incase of any fire outbreak,gas diffusion,electrical fault or a terrorist attack etc.
    Something could be done to offset such mistake done.
    WHY DID THE BUILDING INSPE ...

• AKONFEM JDM ATOPAHENE 10 years ago

VERY SAD,GHANA IS NOT SAFE,GID SAVE GHANA

• Larry 10 years ago

The two main entry cum exit doors are ok for everyday business for security reasons BUT THERE SHOULD BE AT LEAST 4 EMERGENCY EXIT POINTS WITH CLEAR SIGN POSTS AS 'EMERGENCY EXIT ONLY'.

Has the NDC communication team membe ...

• HABLUTA SENYO 10 years ago

BLAME THE CORRUPT ACCRA CITY OFFICIALS
    ACCRA MALL NEEDS ABOUT SIX (6)EXIT POINTS PERIOD.OUR GHANA KOBE AND FUFU
    JOURNALISTS WRITES BULLSHIT.
    ACCRA MALL JUST NEED UPDATE/RENOVATION
    NOT SITTING ON TIME BOMB

• kunta kinte 10 years ago

listen to this good meaning citizen or else one day we will come back to this article gnashing our teeth with regret.only then wil we be fools.

• KnYc (USMC) 10 years ago

We as a country, has become useless in everything we do. The last time I paid a visit to the that ugly, useless mall, I could see how unsafe that place is. This is job of the Mayor of Accra, but since nobody in gov't don't kn ...

• KJ 10 years ago

Plain and simple. Act like you are doing something and when concerns are brought to light continue to act like you are doing something.

• Yao 10 years ago

cctv or wheat not is not the soon.
    proper planning and execution matters more.
    a project of such kind should not have been that close to a major road in the capital. the space assuming cctv covers any threat and people begi ...

• Basko 10 years ago

Ghanaians should be aware that our police are not able to process pictures captured by CCTV cameras and once again foreign experts may have to be brought in to do that for us. In my personal experience pictures taken by my ca ...

• Ericas 10 years ago

LETS NOT FORGET THE KENYA INCIDENT, IT SHOULD SERVE AS A LESSON AND ENSURE THAT CCTV'S ARE WORKING EFFICIENTLY AND EFFECTIVELY SO THAT WHEN ATTACKED CAN AID OR HELP US.

• Mathias 10 years ago

Have you guys finish solving the security issues at the Kotoka International Airport? Do we have CCTV cameras installed at most areas? The extortion that is going on there is really disgraceful to the nation.