You are here: HomeNews2013 12 19Article 295631

Appiah makes baffling U-turn

Read Comments Comments (63)

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

THERE IS NO REASON FOR SAMMY NKUM TO GO TO BRASIL. EVEN AFCON SEF HE SHOULDNT GO. IF NKUM CANT FIND A CLUB IN EUROPE. HE SHOULD GO TO S AFRICA OR COME BACK TO GH N PLAY FOR KOTOKO. HE CAN HELP THEM IN AFRICA N SUPERSPORT WILL ...

• WOFA WOHOO 10 years ago

Coach forget rusty players just go with a winning team,you have less than 6months to fix any mistakes in your team bf the worldcup.You also need a professional technical adviser bcos we want to do ghana and Africa proud,these ...

• Alugu 10 years ago

I would like to see Abedi Pele at the World Cup playing for Ghana:-)

• OGOGLO QUARTER !!! 10 years ago

ABEDI IS SO WORN OUT THAT I CAN MESS AND BEAT HIM ONE ON ONE SMALL POLES GAME ...OOOOPS LIKE FATHER AND SONS IN W/CUP MATCH ,THAT WILL BE VERY VERY NICE TO WATCH..
    HIS KID/KIDS WILL DO VERY WELL ...WISH THEM WELL.

• AFEVIA 10 years ago

ARMAH, POLO, YEBOAH,ABBREY, NTI AS WELL.

• Askantwi 10 years ago

Why Hearts of oak fans are against Samuel Inkoom? Apart from Daniel Opare, Samuel Inkoom is the best right full back ghana has, whether he is playing regularly or not. Some coaches abroad are using Akwasi Appiah's words to ha ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

MY GRANDPA WHO USE TO PLAY FOR AKYEM ABUAKWA SUSUBIRIBI SHOULD PLAY WITH THE BLACK STARS, SADLY HE WILL TURN SOCCER INTO HOCKEY BECAUSE HE WALKS WITH A WALKING STICK.

• travel and work abroad 10 years ago

Reputable Registered Licence Holding A.G.C, Is An International Recruitment Agency Base In Qatar And Ghana Is Looking for Job Seekers to work in Kuwait for good salaries.

Jobs Type:

Heavy Duty Drivers

Fork Lifters

• KOFI ASIEDU. 10 years ago

reputable from where? You are madvertising to make your compatriots slaves.isn't time Africans stop being slaves?

• workhard 10 years ago

what about electrical/electronic engineers?

• Jason 10 years ago

Believe me,

Ghana will be put to shame at this WC. Ghana will lose all three matches with huge numbers if they don't get another coach.

This thing for instance shows he is not capable. He is going to WC to face players ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Ghana will bring the WORLD CUP HOME,WITH KWESI APPIAH,period.

• AMERICA LOVER 10 years ago

I like your Faith Mensa!

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Why don't you go and sack him? We will lose all matches so what? What will happen to Ghana if we lose all matches? Will that be the first time ever a country has lost all matches at the World Cup? Football is a game, not a re ...

• GHANA FIRST 10 years ago

If a player could not get a club or if he is not able to be featured in his team should not be the criteria alone to disqualify a good player
    All the good players must be called and later trimmed down depending on their perf ...

ONLY ACTIVE PLAYERS WHO ARE GETTING PLAYING TIME SHOULD BE CONSIDERED. GIVE PREFERENCE TO PLAYERS IN PREMIER/DIV 1 LEAGUES FIRST. IF A PLAYER IS NOT ACTIVE/ALWAYS ON THE BEBCH. THEN THEY R NOT GOOD. IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH ...

• Skains 10 years ago

Leave the coach alone! Some players stay on the bench, not because they aren't good but because a coach's way of understanding and doing things is different from another coach or other coaches; and this, again, means another ...

U ARE THE TYPE TO ALWAYS COME UP WITH EXCUSE AFTER EXCUSE. IF WAT U SAY US TRUE. WHY IS RONALDO NEVER ON THE BENCH? EVEN ESSIEN WHO HAS BEEN KNOWN TO WARM THE BENCH A LOT THIS SEASON, GETS PLAYING TIME EVERY NOW AND THEN, ABI ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

That's exactly what KWESI APPIAH,WILL BE DOING.

• KANE 10 years ago

GOOD DECISION BY KWASI APPIAH!!!

WHAT GHANAIANS SHOULD ALWAYS REMEMBER IS MANY GHANAIAN PLAYERS DO NOT GET ENOUGH PLAY TIME IN THEIR VARIOUS CLUBS NOT BECAUSE THEY'RE BAD AND SURPLUS TO REQUIREMENTS, BUT BECAUSE OF THE COL ...

• KOFI ASIEDU. 10 years ago

What you idiot think is your problem.

I DONT AGREE WITH UR MYOPIC OPINION. YOU SEE, RACISM WILL NEVER DIE OR GO AWAY BCOS IT GIVES WEAKER PERSONS POWER/DOMINION OVER OTHERS. IF WAT YOU ARE WAS TRUE. THEN TELL US WHY AFRICAN PLAYERS FROM THE CONTINENT HVE GONE TO ...

• BARIMA KOFI SEI 10 years ago

FUCKEN IDIOT WHOEVER YOU ARE CALLING YOURSELF GHFUO ,YOU JUST WRITE ANYTHING THAT COMES INTO YOUR SMALL MIND THINKING YOU ARE SO SMART BUT IN REALITY YOU DC NOT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THE WORLD YOU ARE LIVING IN ,AND YOU WILL NE ...

YES,U ARE RIGHT. NOW, GO SUCK A PENIS.

IS GOOD TO GRAB YOU MAKE YOU SUCK SOME UGLY PENIS WHILE BEING FUCKED IN THE ASS TILL YOU BEG FOR MERCY ,SON OF A PROSTITUTE , 'SUFFER MAN' ROT IN HELL FAGGOT ,THUNDER STRUCK YOU DEAD FOR YOUR HATRED ......

• MENSAH 10 years ago

KWESI APPIAH,I believe,knows all these.
    MENTORS SEE FARTHER THAN THE PROTEGE.

• agrada 10 years ago

Essien is well paid and respected,he is just getting old.Father nature has caught up with him.chelsea has a younger faster midfielders.It happens to all great players at some point,they get old,new generation of players take ...

YOU ARE RIGHT THERE WITH A GOOD POINT .

• Vicky Hammah 10 years ago

How can he field inactive players? Hoe good are they if they are not playing. I only planned to get richer by just a million dollars, and look at what happened to me...and this clueless coach still has a job. Ghanaians should ...

• j0eY L0nd0n 10 years ago

This is a master crafted plan..

ONLY ACTIVE PLAYERS IN DIV 1 NEED TO BE CONSIDERED. NO FAVORS, NO RIF RAFS...

• asoubonteng 10 years ago

When we talk of bringing players together, he is far from that so such a person will put Ghana to shame at the World stage if we don't start dictating to him now..

• Kofius 10 years ago

We need John Mensah. Lets not deceive ourselves

• KojoLee/MRAA@Samba Dance 10 years ago

If coach MRAA is planning to bring back “inactive” & "unattached" life time General captain John Mensah to strengthening the leaking defence, then we are doom.
    Folks, I like John and respected him a lot but, Brazil is ...

• Blackstar Fan 10 years ago

Frankly, as a player, if you don't play consistently, you lose form. Your reflexes and sense of judgment will slow down. Your recovery rate and work rate will also slow.The world cup is for players who are in top form. There ...

I suspect he wanted to bring back John Mensah back for the leaking defence, but that would be the end of our national team chance at Brazil.

• nelson... 10 years ago

I never comment on issues on ghanaweb but this beats my imagination,AA is a true reflection of weakness,indecisiveness and indifference,the world cup is not a grounds for try and error neither a grounds for weaker opponents,i ...

• dON 10 years ago

THIS IS MAINLY ABOUT DAUDA. AKWASI APPIAH DOES NOT LIKE ADAM KWARASEY AND THAT IS A SHAME. DESPITE BEING IN TOP SHAPE IN EUROPE, AKWASI APPIAH CONSISTENTLY IGNORES HIM IN FAVOUR OF DAUDA WHO IS UNSTABLE AND APPEARS RUSTY.

• kwame 10 years ago

Akwasi Appiah, Be careful. This is your opportunity to highlight Ghana Black Stars and if you do not put favoritism aside pertaining to Dauda, Inkoom and Adiyah, we will pay for it.

Go and watch the highlight between Ghana ...

• BOATENG STEPHEN KWABENA(KSI-CSUC) 10 years ago

AKWASI APPIAH SHOULD BE CAREFUL OF ANY DECISION HE TAKE

• AAD 10 years ago

The world cup is for players who are in excellent shape and in top playing form.

This is achieved by staying injury free and playing consistently at a very high and competitive level.

if the coach is thinking of compens ...

• KK 10 years ago

More friendly matches against good footbal nations will help sharpen players for the WC. Use Kwarasey a lot in those friendlies.

• Ghana Midfield Rocks 10 years ago

Ghana is not that blessed with talented defenders or strikers so it makes sense to pick inactive players with proven experience.

There is more than enough preparation time for them to be fit for the tournament.

What do you mean by "enough preparation time"? John Mensah is unattached plus inactive, Is he coming for coach MRAA for preparation?

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

JJR devastatingly, had ventured unto the killing fields and created many 'artificial widows' a forced orphanage'
    a 'donkomi factory salewa' in exchange for wifely duties.
    He personally had broken the central bank. Oh the in ...

• Rasheed 10 years ago

I hope you are not asking Appiah to invite John Mensah to black stars. Ei, That will be disastrous!. Ask yourself, if he is still strong and good, why are the clubs not chasing him. At least Painstil managed to get a club. I ...

• Dada Ojoo 10 years ago

Is this because of John Mensah???????

• OKOROMANSA 10 years ago

THOSE GOOD OLD PLAYERS WHO DO NOT GET REGULAR PLAYNG TIME AT THEIR CLUBS SHOULD BE GOOD ENOUGH FOR US. THE FACT IS THAT THOSE ARE TOP CLASS TEAMS THAT HAVE SOME OF THE BEST PLAYERS IN THE WORLD. OUR BOYS DO TRAIN ALRIGHT BUT ...

• DR 10 years ago

ANY WRITE THINKING PERSON SHOULD UNDERSTAND THIS DECISION. A PERSON NOT HAVING A JOB DOES NOT MEAN HE IS DUMP.

WHAT GOES ON IN THE PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALL WORLD IS UNBELIEVABLE. MICHAEL ESSIEN WAS FEATURING REGULARLY BUT WE ...

• pierceman 10 years ago

This coach is soo confuse..He say another things today and tomorrow is a different thing...now u not even making sense. "It’s important to have players who are actually playing but we’ll seriously consider those who may a ...

• ghanaba 10 years ago

please you are only a national team coach. when was the last time germany did win continental or inter-continental trophy. bayern is back on the eu top after so many years domination by italy and recently by spain. they know ...

• Kwaku Adusei 10 years ago

I had hope in Ghana making it through the group stage, but if he goes ahead and invite these players who have not been part of the campaign, then I think we will be at the bottom of the table. As much asI love to see a Ghanai ...

• Enoch Antwi 10 years ago

I believe all teams do not have equal strength so the coach is right to use tactical players who can deliver for him even though they are not playing regularly in their various teams. Essien sits at Chelsea bench, but he migh ...

• Polo 10 years ago

ECONOMICS 9665B

• MENSAH 10 years ago

It isn't even how well one can play football alone,or how many years one has been in the game.
    In adversarial condition,when our back become against he wall,
    WE WOULD NEED TALENTS THAT HAVE MENTAL TOUGHNESS,AS WELL,TO SEAL ...

• joeitaliano 10 years ago

Kwesi am sorry for you , have always supported you but this one dee, i disagree with . pls this is world cup.

DONT BE SUPRISED IF GERMANY BEATS GH BY THIS MARGIN AGAIN UNDER AA. IF THE BEST TEAM IN THE WORLD BRASIL, SPAIN WINT EVEN THINK OF ENTERTAINING INACTIVE, CLUBLESS, OR BENCH WARMING PLAYERS. WITH ALL THEIR TECHNIQUES, KNOWLED ...

• Kuuntu oboobi 10 years ago

This stupid coach wants to help inkoom and adiyiah for reasons known to him alone

• J.O 10 years ago

Speak sense and respect yourself

• nii 10 years ago

The very few word that av com out frm u tells me u rather "stupid" as u said Kwesi Appiah is.

• cwame 10 years ago

he is saying that because of fatau dauda

• J.O 10 years ago

Give the coach the peace of mind to concentrate on his work and stop writing nonsense.

• Amento 10 years ago

The World Cup needs experienced players and seasoned players as well, so Kwesi Appiah's approach and thinking is nothing new. Roger Milla was almost 40 years old, if not more, when he featured prominently and memorably for Ca ...