You are here: HomeNews2013 12 13Article 295035

Ghana to adopt GMO products – Minister

Read Comments Comments (63)

• NAT 10 years ago

THIS MINISTER IS SICK

• Jembe 10 years ago

Sick enough to accept a bribe from the GM giants. The sterile or "suicide" seeds are produced by means of genetic use restriction technology, which makes crops die off after one harvest without producing offspring. As a resul ...

• John Teye 10 years ago

https://www.academia.edu/542384/A_Review_on_Impacts_of_Genetically_Modified_Food_on_Human_Health

• Felix 10 years ago

This fools called MPs and Ministers are so stupid to an extent that they just cant read between the lines. Why do you think these people have seeds stored away in the arctic, its because they want to control food supply after ...

• John 10 years ago

Not a day passes that these devils parading as Ministers don't say or do anything to destroy Ghana. Check Al Jazeera documentary on GMOs in Argentina - high cancer rates, high birth defects, low IQ, destruction of insects and ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

a fake low grade minister

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

JOHN 10/10

• KOFI JATA 10 years ago

just sick. He is a fool. Kill us you stupid fool of a doctor. Do you know cancer is all over the place today?

• KOFI JATA 10 years ago

just sick. He is a fool. Kill us you stupid fool of a doctor. Do you know cancer is all over the place today?

• KOFI JATA 10 years ago

• Frank 10 years ago

Yes, this minister is really sick. Countries like UK has not accepted GMO. Has he been bribed by the companies involved in the research of these crops? Our hospitals are not yet well equipped to be treating patients that woul ...

THESE WESTERNERS ARE SPRAYING WEED WITH TB..TUBERCLOSIS. TB USED TO BE A DISEASE FOR POOR PPL.
    TODAY, MIDDLE CLASS, WHITE PPL ARE ALSO SUFFERING FROM TB BCOS THEIR YOUNG ONES ARE SMOKING WEED AS A RECREATIONAL DRUG.
    WEED WI ...

• Yawando 10 years ago

Mr. Minister and all the powers there be i have some questions
    1. What crop on earth does not produce seed after harvest? does GM-O's have that attribute?
    2. If it is about harvest, why don't we encourage large industri ...

• Felix 10 years ago

Uselessness and stupidity is what we continue to see with this buffons who we call leaders. What do you mean that with the passage of the bill into law we should be doing it by force how about you give us good water and roads ...

• Peace 10 years ago

Ghana please stop falling victim to corruption. Whatever secret deal was given in exchange for this law is not worth it. Our ancestors are counting on us to continue to strive for self-sufficiency and independence. Please ame ...

• VICKY LEE BENTON 10 years ago

HOW MUCH WERE YOU BRIBED TO COME OUT TO SAY THIS. PEOPLE LIKE YOU MAKES ME PUKE. LOOKING AT YOUR UGLY FACE AND WORDS COMING FROM THAT MOUTH OF YOURS MAKES THROW UP. I BLAMED THE GOVERNMENT WHO APPOINTED YOU AS A MINISTER. ...

1 BULLET IN HIS HEAD WILL SOLVE THE PROBLEM. ARE THERE GMO SEEDS IN ASIA?

• Me 10 years ago

A sad day for ghana!!!!!

• your mother 10 years ago

i have never seen a fool and a blind minister like this, God punish him and his appoint-er and entire family.

• NDC foot soldier 10 years ago

The Minister should go and ask the Indians why they have refused to continue its use. The minister has been fed with dollars fro Mosanto Corporation. If it is good why has EU banned it from the union Mr. Minister Know that th ...

• Omint 10 years ago

Stupid fool even the little product of agriculture in Ghana do we 've storage machinery to cater it?And you want as to imprement style of production in the country

• SARP 10 years ago

HOW MUCH WERE YOU PAID TO PUSH THE GM AGENDA ON GHANAIANS? ONLY A FOOLISH PERSON WILL APPOINT SUCH A FOOLISH PERSON AS A MINISTER.

• human beings 10 years ago

Ghanaian leaders are really greedy money at the expense of our health

• Elijah 10 years ago

This is a sad mistake and the relevant sector ministers need to take a closer look before allowing GMO farming in Ghana. Humans were not intended to ingest bacterial DNA or DNA from organisms that do not form part the natural ...

• Hmmmmmmmmmm 10 years ago

Mahama in his vice presidency years was in ATL & mentioned this.Someone in the audiance questioned & challenged him on this same topic and he said they had no intentions of adopting that system.I wonder what happen since.Do w ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

I do not know how to address this Minister. If he really believes that GMO products are safe, why is that EU issued a warning to some leaders in Africa not to subscribe to it because they are very dangerous in the long run?

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

He is unable to provide sensible arguments for the terrible GMO

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Mr. Minister, I hope you have heard about Illuminati. Yes. Some years ago, they said that world population should not exceed 500,000,000. That was then because resources are being depleted. That was then. Now, they are bac ...

• Sappey-Agboh -Atsiame 10 years ago

Mr Oteng-adjei is ill-informed. GMO is dangerous and not welcomed in Ghana. In 1976, with Col Benarsko as the Commissioner for Agriculture, we experienced massive yield of our agricultural products without recourse to any mic ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

Yes,here they come ! A typical African bosses
    attitude.Dr Oteng-Adjei finds himself to be the Minister of whatever,so whether the people like it or not,Ghana will adopt GMO products.
    How many of these so called Chief Execut ...

• Kofitsyo, Norway 10 years ago

It is possible that Ghanaian scientists that are advising government to introduce GM crops into our agriculture are doing so for altruistic reasons, but I doubt it. I feel they are a front for agric business. It’s sad tha ...

• Osei-wusu 10 years ago

PROTEST! PROTEST!PROTEST! PROTEST!!!!!!!!!! ALONE WILL STOP THIS NONSENSE. The politicians believe Ghanaians are coward hence they do whatever they want. After all this fertile soil Ghana is endowed with why do we have to cop ...

• Spiky 10 years ago

Have you been bribed, Dr. Minister? Please put on your thinking caps, and come out with an alternative to improve agricultural production; not GMO.

• Nii 10 years ago

They want to kill all Ghanaians after finish stealing all their money. Almost all the developed nations are running away from it and you fools are going for it.

• CRAZY 10 years ago

THIS SO CALLED MINSTER OR MP IS A MAD MAN AND A DEVIL, LOOK AT WHAT HE'S TELLING WE THE YOUTH VERY SOON GHANA WILL BECOME A WAR ZONE BECAUSE WE CANT JUST ACEPT SOMETHING THAT WILL KILL US,

• Li 10 years ago

GMO is just one of the devilish tools used to depopulate and it's sad that a minister of state could not/pretend not to see this imminent danger. God, save us.

• Nana , London 10 years ago

Stupid people ruling!

• Nana Oben 10 years ago

Our Illiterate Ministers and MP's should at least have their children/friends read any of the so many negative articles on GMO's, such as this one,

"https://mail.google.com/mail/?tab=wm#inbox/142e6bc33709fe2a"
    before pu ...

• okofo 10 years ago

This idiot in Ministerial cloak CANNOT speak for Ghanaians: Sorry, but I'm ANGRY!!!

We're talking about LONG TERM health implications here when it comes to GMO foods. We will need nothing less than scientific prove of saf ...

• Adom 10 years ago

Please before the introduction of the GMO do consult the Indian Farmers the desadvantages are greater.

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

why is it that the almost everybody in this country dislike dis so-called Gmo foods but u mr minister want to make it by force for us to accept.Is it because of money that they have given to u? let me remind u that where is G ...

• ADAM 10 years ago

please miniter do not do this we dont like it period tank you

• shlomo 10 years ago

Its always been said the black race is not part of the human race, from this article i see this to be true, light skinned races all over the world have rejected this GMO shit of a product, because they are human and rely on w ...

• DOGO 10 years ago

Mr. Ignorant minister, I want to ask you this simple question and i need your simple answer. Must we accept everything that comes from the western world? Is everything from the Western world necessary for our development? Is ...

• Fii 10 years ago

ahhhh dis man paa y?

• Daniel Essien, uni, of ghana, 10 years ago

for lack of knowledge my people perish. Oh Ghana, ministers read ooooo and stop showing your ignorance. If you know the right thing and you dont do it, God will punish waaaa

• Thieves 10 years ago

he should feed the gmo products to his family. the eu has banned gmo for good reason... why Oh Lord do we have these irresponsible dumb people in power.

• Wahala 10 years ago

That is why you're uttering rubbish and acting like you know better than the European countries that have banned GMO's.

It will be a happy day when you die from cancer or some other unknown medical condition caused by gmo ...

• OKOE 10 years ago

MS. HAMMAH IS RIGHT. MY TAKE IS THAT MOST OF OUR MINISTERS ARE AIMING THE MILION DOLLAR POST HENCE SUPPORTING THIS GMO FIASCO. ARE OUR MINISTERS READING ON THE DANGERS FROM OTHER JURISDICTIONS? THE OUTCOME OF THIS LAW WILL CO ...

• OKOE 10 years ago

I HAVE YET TO SEE THAT MANY PhD IN ANY SMALL COUNTRY LIKE GHANA. WHERE DO THESE PhD COME FROM AND FROM WHAT DISCIPLINES? WE HAVE THIS MANY PHD YET WE ARE NOT GOING ANYWHERE. WE ARE BEING DEGRADED ECONOMICALLY. STOP CALLING TH ...

• Brother 10 years ago

I think Ghanaians should call for the Minister's resignation immediately before Mosanto use him as a tool to destroy lives in our beloved Country.

• Alberto Bernadino 10 years ago

i am an Italian holidaying in Ghana. my country is the 9th EU country to ban monsanto GMO Corn approved by Europen Food Safety Authority. Poland was the 8th, follow by countries like Austria, France, Germany. what you Ghanian ...

• Kojo Ntim 10 years ago

thank you Bernadino, i think the best policy is what Bernadino has suggested to destroy the farms. in Britain that is the strategy adopted by anti-GMO campaigners. lets fight this demons

• KOFI JATA 10 years ago

You are correct. The president got bribed and he gave this sick doctor of a minister his share. I hope these fools have kids and grandchildren. Bastards

• Bishop 10 years ago

It has great effect and produces cancer. What you don't know will kill you. Have you consider the effect on human health?

• Whatever 10 years ago

I'm urging the president to as matter of urgency to dismiss this useless minister who thinks Ghana is someone's laboratory rat. If you like dare pass this GMO killer and you'd see. You think we are fools. Ministers who are su ...

• Julius A. Young 10 years ago

What makes me very upset is the minister has the mouth to say the public has no choice, speaking like a dictator seems like all Africa belong to him, what he don’t understand is, a company has make a business, and that comp ...

• Julius A. Young 10 years ago

Today aspect GMO and tomorrow is aspect Gays.
    What makes me very upset is the minister has the mouth to say the public has no choice, speaking like a dictator seems like all Africa belong to him, what he don’t understand i ...

• christos christoff 10 years ago

Every scientist in the field know these GMO products are suicidal for human consumption--why is GHANA allowing the EUROPEANS TO KILL US..FORCE THEIR DESIRE ON US??

• HABLUTA SENYO 10 years ago

THAT MINISTER NEED TO CHECK HOW MANY PEOPLE DYING FROM CANCER IN USA,EUROPE,CANADA,AND AUSTRALIA FOR EATING SUCH UNHOLY CHEMICAL FOOD.WHY BUYING ORGANIC FOOD BECOME MULTI BILLION DOLLAR BUSINES TODAY.AFRICA BE CAREFUL.

• Antef 10 years ago

What is wrong with these our so-called leaders? Embracing GMOs at this time when a lot of concerns are being raised is the height of insanity. It is about time we showed politicians with their myopic views that they cannot si ...