You are here: HomeNews2013 12 12Article 294940

Nkrumah towered over Mandela; comparison “useless” – KB Asante

Read Comments Comments (237)

• kojo 10 years ago

i agree with intoto sir kb

• Ewuradi Kasa 10 years ago

Yes there is absolutely no need for comparison. It makes no sense. But if you do compare the 2, know the difference:
    1. Mandela served 27yrs in prison, Nkrumah didnt.
    2. Mandela won the heart of all BLACKS globally, and has ...

• Sethoo 10 years ago

You forgot to add this one,Mandela married three women Nkrumah had only 1 and half.All the wives of Mandela were also blacks Nkrumah went in for an Arab when he didn't get a proper white.Mandela had more children too.

• WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET 10 years ago

Free Internet tv streaming serving Ghanaians in the diaspora.
    WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET Brings You Live TV stations From Ghana.
    GTV, TV3, GTV Sports+, Adom TV Live, Joy News TV Live,
    Metro TV Ghana, e.tv And More.

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

Enough of this self-induced hypnotic bull crap...Kwame Nkrumah this, Kwame Nkrumah that. Why will anybody in his right mind inject such nonsense at the time we are mourning the passing of a great man such as Mandela?

Is it ...

• Kobooh 10 years ago

Very well said- I am with you 1000%. Bravo!

• Shame to most of our leaders in Ghana 10 years ago

This once again shows how our leaders are not sensitive in any way. How can you do such comparism? Can not our leader wait untill the funeral ceremony of Mandela is over, before starting the discussion about the greatest of t ...

• 4ward Ever 10 years ago

Other than talk, talk, talk, what has K.B. Asante done for the Nkrumahist movement in Ghana in the past 47 years (since the NLC coup in 1966)?

It is useless to dwell on Obama's hypocritical speech in South Africa. He didn ...

• KWARNING NJ 10 years ago

HEY YOU NKRUMAHIST WHY DON'T YOU CRAW BACK TO DEEP HOLE YOU CRAW OUT FROM. NOBODY WANTS TO HEAR FROM YOU NOW.

• OZA 10 years ago

Yes, apples and oranges are all fruits but you can never compare the two in terms of taste and usefulness. It is silly to compare Mandela with Nkrumah. They are all great men in their own era.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Who brought the subject up at this particular moment anyway?

• Mahmoud 10 years ago

Nkrumah died in shame at Guinea and Mandela died with his glory intact. Nkrumah was a political "Maradona" who cornered his colleagues and slap from behind to take power. Mandela got power unopposed and all the blacks were be ...

• nana 10 years ago

well said my brother,i strongly second your sensible analysis.

• Elder Tettey 10 years ago

WHY IS A MAN WHO WAS CALLED A TERRORIST BY THE WEST, IS NOW A HERO TO THE SAME PEOPLE. BECAUSE HE LEFT THE WEALTH IN THE HANDS OF THE RACIST WHITE MINORITY?

• Odasanyi, London 10 years ago

one man's terrorist is another man's freedom fighter.

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

Mandela did nothing spectacular. Other African leaders, including Nkrumah and Jomo Kenyattah, had come out of prison to reconcile with the white exploiters and oppressors. But his posture was just like that Jomo Kenyattah. He ...

• AFEVIA 10 years ago

I AGREED THAT THE COMPARISON IS USELESS. PEOPLE ARE RESPONDING TO WHAT OBAMA AND OTHER LEADERS SAID ABOUT MANDELA BEING THE GREATEST AFRICAN. I DO NOT KNOW WHAT YARD STICK THEY USED BUT THE REASONS YOU GAVE AS WHY MANDELA OVE ...

• Ewurade Kasa 10 years ago

And what is your answer??? Foolish. My "childish"answer is straight forward and true. Your "mature" answer is foolishness. The question is clear but you have no answer. Who is greatest? What is your answer???
    AFEVIA are you ...

• kosoko 10 years ago

Ewurade kasa, you don't make sense! Shut up and let who can debate do.

• zorro 10 years ago

kosoko I like your answer.

• william 10 years ago

Between BBC survey and the opinion of a leader and his speech writers who is the greatest African of the 20th Century? Compare Mandiba to Aggrey of Africa, not Nkrumah! Senior citizen Asante is speaking sense.And always remem ...

• Frank Appiah 10 years ago

BBC survey made Nkrumah the greatest African who lived within he last 1,000 years when Mandela was alive(AFRICA'S MAN OF THE MILLENIUN. Now Obama's white American Speech writer who wrote the speech for him to read in South Af ...

• Frank Appiah 10 years ago

Mandela was called a terrorist by both United States and Britain when he was struggling to liberate his people.Mandela's ANC took over and allowed the whites to remain in control of the economy while the blacks are still suff ...

• Abeoku Yanka 10 years ago

Didn't dictator Kwame Nkrumah drive his political opponents out from Ghana? Why did Nkrumah political opponents fled from Ghana? Was he not trying to kill his political opponents?. Who killed JB Danquah? Wasn't Kwame Nkrumah? ...

THE WESTERN POWERS DID NOT HAVE DEMOCRACY THEN. THEY WERE SOLIDLY BEHIND APARTHEID SOUTH AFRICA. THEY WERE AGAINST AFRICAN-AMERICANS IN AMERICA. THEY WERE AGAINST NKRUMAH AND AFRICAN LIBERATION.

• dankaloma 10 years ago

Asem kese yi na waboso yi. Agyei ma wuooo

• Kponyo 10 years ago

Good one Elder Tettey. You can add this one too; For the over 400 years that they were here, our oppressors from the West never ever found the sense or the need to introduce democracy in Africa. It was Kwame Nkrumah who taugh ...

• william 10 years ago

On Ghana's 50th anniversary why did NPP government and Kufuor join African leaders to celebrate Nkrumah? Why was the government excited to display a giant poster at Tetteh Quarshie interchange opposite Kufuor's residence with ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

The whites all over the world are praising the greatest human being that ever lived. And the Nkrumahists are throwing fit all around. They are criticizing and blaming the whites for doing so because Mandela dance to their tun ...

• kosoko 10 years ago

Nyasasem and misinterpretation of facts. It always amazes me when I read his contribution in this forum. Anybody who does not take his position must be abused.

• RJ 10 years ago

What else do you expect from such a brainless idiot like "Nyasasem" sorry
    Kwaseasem.

• yaa 10 years ago

Good one

• mugu1 10 years ago

get back to your writings you will notice it coming from dead brain

• Yiadom 10 years ago

Great one there Nyaansasem. You hit the name right on the head. The question is why is it that Nkrumah's party continues to be rejected by Ghanaians in every election if he was the best? Even in Ghana he is only appreciated i ...

• william 10 years ago

Both NDC and NPP have claimed Nkrumah, along with smaller parties!.have claimed him along with the others!!!!Nkrumah is too big for one party and for Ghana!

• JH New York 10 years ago

I equally don't want to be bellicose on this good for nothing debate.But some of you say things which one is compelled to post the truth.
    Nkrumah never "trampled on the right of his fellow citizens" as you said.
    Nkrumah bui ...

• Busy Bee 10 years ago

Nkrumah was president for life with no vice-president. One party state with no free elections meant when he was wreaking the nation with his megalomaniac programs, a change of government simply meant ending his life

"a change of government simply meant ending his life".
    I do not agree with you on this,as other appropriate means like, Civil Disobedience could be employed to force the ruling govt to make necessary changes, if any.
    Again ...

Phone auto.changes.
    Ashanti-Akyim.
    present NPP
    bomb on one man?.

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

Oyokoba! Skin pain. Why is it that you "mate me ho" people panic whenever Nkrumah's name is mentioned? Whether you accept it or not Nkrumah's name will ever reign supreme when it comes to "who is who" in Africa. Oyokoba,are y ...

• Yaw Poku, USA 10 years ago

Oh man, Oh man, Oh man thanks for setting the record straight. Besides Mandela liberated a whole nation of South Africa from the apartheid rule. Kwame Nkrumah was not one who liberated Ghana from colonial rule but the concert ...

• YOOMOBEGA 10 years ago

We know you and your ilk. Several of them showed themselves with their antiNkrumah posts. The Omanhene prof. is right you can't compare the Osagyefo to Madiba.

• Kwabena Atta 10 years ago

Oyokoba, for once get real.Everybody knows Nkrumah was the Greatest African who ever lived.It is because of this "MYOPIC" attitude of you and your ilk that the NPP can not win Elections in Ghana. Unless you acknowledge the tr ...

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY 10 years ago

If nothing at all, after Mandela stayed jail for 27 years and served as president from 1994 to 1999, the vast majority of African went ahead and chose Nkrumah as the African of the millennium in 2000. That is a clear manifest ...

• Brahabebome 10 years ago

Oh my brother OYOKOBA, your mind need to be really washed. You are still an educated but ignorant African, like most Africans are.

1.Nkrumah knew Mandela and the ANC was an appeaser to white supremacy so refused to meet wi ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

What is wrong with you people let face it Kwame Nkrumah was brutal dictator he jailed everyone who disagrees with him and let them die in jail. If Kwame Nkrumah had spent 27 years in jail like Nelson Mandela did Kwame Nkrumah ...

• SGT ANANI FDIADZOE 10 years ago

Nelson Mandela when was released from prison by his captives, did not act upon any form of vengeance, even he went as far as to appointed he who jailed him as
    a Deputy President in his administration, he appointed Nkata Free ...

• UN HAS MANDELA DAY NOT NKRUMAH 10 years ago

Many generation of AFRICAN and students of the independence have not forgive Nkrumah for supporting opponents in other countries to overthrow leaders who did not support his USA of Africa project He is even suspected of assas ...

I like Nkrumah's vision but I am sorry to tell you that, the more I think abou thi spersonality and tactic, he would have been like Robert Mugabe, Hosni Mubarak, or former Ivorian president Felix Houphouet-Boigny. He is very ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

He surely did that he called himself President for life and named everything after himself things he had used the state money to build.

• Kponyo 10 years ago

Is it now some kind of credit to leave govt after one term in office? Is there something wrong about being a life-term President like the Head of State of England Queen Elizabeth?

My friend, dont you think that with the sh ...

The queen is not a president. Monarchs and dynastic systems like you see in Syria or Saudi Arable are a real problem. That was what Quadafi was trying to do.
    So there is a problem with a lifelong presidency. I thought you a ...

• Brahabebome 10 years ago

Thank you Kponyo. Ewurade Kasa by his name most likely is a member of the tribe in Ghana whose only concern in life is the clothes that go on their body and the food that in their stomach. He wakes up in the morning and only ...

• Ewuradi Kasa 10 years ago

I FILL SORRY FOR YOU. ANSWER ME: WHY IS IT THAT NKRUMAH'S PERTY HAS NOT WON ANY ELECTIONS IF HE HAS THE BEST IDEAS IN THE WORLD??

• KB 10 years ago

Madiba is taller than Nkrumah,but only in physical appearance.Not being known does not neccesarily mean not greater.There are many great people who have contributed in more ways to humanity's progress but are little known.And ...

• Kobooh 10 years ago

Another senseless 'contribution' for lack of a better word). How do you claim to be great when your actions are not even known to the people supposed to judge your actions? - stupid analogy indeed, mere academics.

• Suberu Salam 10 years ago

Mandela din not achieved the goal of any one, he bacame a symbol for what we are struggling to achieve and not yet achieved.
    We hope Winne Mandela and others left behind will hepl to take us the goal.
    No African leaders was ...

I dont know what you are talking about but every country has a challenge to deal with in the future. So the fight for economic and political freedom is an endless one for any country, even the so-called developed ones. Mandel ...

BLACK PEOPLE ARE STILL ANGRY IN SOUTH AFRICA. NOW THAT HE IS DEAD WE SHALL SEE IF THE GOAL WAS ACHIEVED. ALL THE WEALTH IS IN WHITE HANDS, BLACKS ARE STILL POOR. IT IS A TIME BOMB WAITING TO EXPLODE IF THE WEALTH DISPARITY IS ...

• Kponyo 10 years ago

So as for you Ewurade Kasa, you think being able to vote alone is such a great achievement? No wonder politicians continue to use your votes to cheat you and mess up the country. You have a long way to go before you will be a ...

It is not just being able to vote. Blacks voting in South Africa has tilted the balance of power and has put them in charge of their own destiny. There will always be problems in any country but this is a huge step.

• Jarto, Jarto R. 10 years ago

Thank you sir, According to a Phd. friend of mine, world view or opinion matters. The world recognizes Mandela as the greatest. Period!!

• mugu1 10 years ago

if nkrumah had chosen to lick & suck the whiteman ass he will remain presidend of ghana till today.we can't build even simple nation with you people and yourstomack mentallity.this sucks

• Kwaku, Bern 10 years ago

this shows how ignorant and the mental challenge that you have. Go read history, that is if u can read and you will know the difference between the two.

• tohugu 10 years ago

Mandela took a cue from Kwame Nkrumah.In fact we can safely say Kwame Nkrumah was his teacher in terms of strategies for emancipation.
    Mandela capitulated to the West so he became their pal. Kwame Nkrumah on the other hand s ...

• Mina 10 years ago

Mandela forgave the whites who imprisoned him Nkrumah did not, Mandela lived in peace with the whites, Nkrumah sent them back, Mandela treated his people with love, Nkrumah imprisoned his own people so you can't compare the t ...

• Abena 10 years ago

Sometime of these book long people just love to talk and in the end do not make sense. Do some homework and put your critical thinking hat on before you come go on radio to say anything.
    Talk is cheap and freedom of speech i ...

• Ako 10 years ago

Those disagreeing with kb are those who see nothing positive with Nkrumah's vision for Africa and the black race which he championed like no other.Nkrumah created the awareness of african liberation and the madibas were mere ...

• Togbe-Toronto 10 years ago

Is this topic necessary than coming up with ideas to fix our-everything-poor economy? Wake up somebody!!

• Kwame 10 years ago

They have nothing else to tell Ghanaians other than Nkrumah.

• kofi 10 years ago

If Nkrumah was so great why is his party in tatters?

• Tete 10 years ago

K. B. Asante does not appreciate what is in his own house. I am really surprise. If has nothing to say about Nkrumah then better for him not to comment. When we talk about Ghana as the black star of Africa, what does it me ...

• Meshack 10 years ago

Madiba wins my vote hands down as the "Greatest African Liberator of the 20th Century."No beneficiary of Kofi Nwiah's reckless mismanagement of our country's finances can rewrite history.

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

It is because you don't know what to compare.

We don't compare someone who fought for ONLY his country to another who fought for the whole continent.

• Positve- 10 years ago

Vuvu, hold your peace and breath. We know where these unfortunate agents of imperialism are coming from.If the star is not shinning from their quarters, their negative tendency has always been to dim it!There is no way the tw ...

• KB 10 years ago

Thanks,Positive.You've said it all.

• KB 10 years ago

Circumstances and timing have a way of highlighting some people's influence,but that may not neccesarily be greater than those whose impact are not highlighted.

• JB Ansong 10 years ago

How can you really compare two people who excelled in their specific areas?

Both you and Kwesi Pratt who started this nonsense are out of your minds. Kwsei Prat shouldnt have compared them at all.

• Kponyo 10 years ago

JB, please tell us or explain to us the specific area in which Nelson Mandela excelled. As far as some of us are concerned, he was just simply part of the group of Africans in South Africa who were fighting for independence o ...

• Keep on talking 10 years ago

We castigate our heroes like Nkrumah, Rawlings,Kuffuor,Mills Mahama, Akoffo Addo and the rest. Now others are projecting theirs and we are crying foul. We better shut up and respect our leaders and the ourside world will resp ...

• Bonti 10 years ago

@tete did u read the content of this article well,the man is saying Nkrumah is above Mandela and you are here fuming up for nothing.abeg read well oo.

• Shanana 10 years ago

This is SYCOPHANCY at its apex. Mahama can't be a hero...and even Lordina will agree with me on this. Look at all the money that has disappeared under his watch to the extent that he has appointed a certain sole commissioner ...

• Big Alex Aluta.Hamburg. 10 years ago

Lets face facts,no one can compare Nkrumah to Mandela.Mandela is not hailed as the becon of Africa not only in Africa but whole world.There is no where in the world that one will not hear of Mandela.A man who after his death, ...

• JB Ansong 10 years ago

I don't know how and why people should compare people who lived during different epoch of time?

On achievements, both were excellent in their respective are.

On populariry : During Nkrumahs time, both S. Africa and Ghan ...

• KB 10 years ago

Let us excuse Obama.He is pretty ignorant about certain issues.He only says what he's been told to say in a lot of instances,so relax,guys.

• Kwame Owusu-Acheaw 10 years ago

An objective mind shall compare apple to another apple, not to a orange.

Prez Obama is a Human being, never shall any rational man take Obama as God. His opion shall be based on facts and probably emotions.
    Therefore, Pre ...

• prempeh 1. 10 years ago

The whole world is hailing Mandela, simple because after being released from prison his mentors knew he will take revenge against them, but he just make peace with them, thats why they are hailing him. So you can´t just comp ...

• Gerald 10 years ago

Is undeniable fact that Kwame Nkrumah was a mad dictator who systematically killed all his political opponents in Nsawam Prison without trial and wickedly denied them decent burial by the relatives. Thousands died in exile be ...

• Albert 10 years ago

If you are a great man and you have no love for humanity, where then is your greatness. Nkrumah kill a lot of people and had no sympathy for those who had divergent views to his thought. Nkrumah would have than more harm to M ...

YOU CALL NKRUMAHA TYRANT JUST AS THEY CALLED MANDELA A TERRORIST.

• zomabi 10 years ago

NKRUMAH WAS NO MAD DICTATOR, THE OPPOSITION WAS IN COLLUSION WITH WESTERN FORCES BURNT ON KILLING NKRUMAH BY ASSASSINATION ATTEMPTS(KULUNGUGU BOMBING,AMETEPEY ATEMPT TO ASSASSINATE NKRUMAH ETC'). WHAT WILL U DO IF IT WERE Y ...

• GHANANI 10 years ago

A'tyrant'who loved his country and liberated blacks from white colonial rule.He never sold his principles and conscience for bread and butter.BBC voted him as the most influential political figure of the 20th century.Osagyefo ...

• wassam jones 10 years ago

the old man said the truth. in the time of Kwame Nkrumah there was no African leader who could stand in the way of the western powers because they did not have the courage to do so. Kwame Nkrumah stood up as the shining star ...

• wassam jones 10 years ago

correction " the old man said lies. in the time of Kwame Nkrumah there was no African leader who could stand in the way of the western powers because they did not have the courage to do so"

• mawu 10 years ago

look at this nonsense.. first of all if it wasnt for his pan-african i want to rule africa dream ghana will have had some money to progress ...

nonsense....

i hear some mumuu is comparing nkrumah to mandela..

trul ...

• KOSI 10 years ago

In many respect the western leaders found in Mandela a compromised African leader. Mandela was a great liberator but left the core business of delivering the greater mass of the African people from humiliation in their own la ...

• Sappey-Aglagoh, Atsiame-Avenorpeme 10 years ago

The reality that most fellow Ghanaians are missing is: anyone courted by the imperialist West had always been someone who sold his nation for a pittance. Mandela was the hero of the west because he accepted their terms, which ...

• zomabi 10 years ago

HOW CAN YOUR PEOPLE BE LANGUISHING IN JOBLESSNESS, POVERTY, CRIME, DISEASE AND THE GHETTO AND YOU WILL BE THE GREATEST LIBERATOR. WHAT DOES LIBERATION MEAN TO OBAMA? IS IT THE ABOVE? OBAMA IS A JOKE.WE AFRICANS DONT NEED WHIT ...

• Kofi UK 10 years ago

My brother you have said it all. Mandela was alive when such poll was conducted. He himself adored Nkrumah

• workhard 10 years ago

MAY BE NKRUMAH IS THE GREATEST EVER, NOT JUST THE CENTURY! GHANA IS GREAT!

• THE TRUTH 10 years ago

HOW CAN YOU COMPARE A PAWPAW AND A COCONUT.NKRUMAH FOUGHT FOR AFRICA AND MADIBA FOUGHT FOR SOUTH AFRICA , NOT EVEN SOUTHERN AFRICA.

• Atsu Tsatsu 10 years ago

what a useless comparison especially from a academic!!!!!
    What rubric has he used!!!!

Is this fufu and koliko comparison!!!!

Who cares, get a life.

• OBIBINI 10 years ago

Mandela sold his conscience for bread and butter.He came out of prison as a slave of the whiteman.

• JB Ansong 10 years ago

Obibini,

One of the good things about freespech is that everybody can say express his view.

Comparing the views of the entire African population (and of course that of the entire world) you will agree with me that your ...

• OBIBINI 10 years ago

You have said nothing.I have every right to express my views on Mandela and whether it is infinitesimally small or not is irrelevant.There are people who hold the same view as mine.Western PR has turned somebody they hated in ...

• Shabi 10 years ago

Obibini, tell that fool that all great opinions are always in the minority. Sometimes they are even in the minority of 1 to millions and that is why they are great meaning that they are exceptional not ordinary or mundane suc ...

• OBIBINI 10 years ago

Mandela sold his conscience for bread and butter.He came out of prison as a slave of the whiteman.

• OBIBINI 10 years ago

• OKOROMANSA 10 years ago

SO WHY ARE YOU ALSO COMPARING THE TWO? HOW MANY GHANAIANS HATED NKRUMAH, AND HOW MANY SOUTH AFRICANS HATED MANDELA? HOW CAN YOU COMPARE GHANA'S STRUGGLE FOR INDEPENDENCE TO SOUTH AFRICA'S STRUGGLE AGAINST APARTHEID? NKRUMAH W ...

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

Mandela stands tall, and greater than Nkrumah period.

• ONUA 10 years ago

OYOKOBA, this is one of few occasions I disagree with you. You don't have to be pro CPP or NDC to recognize what Nkrumah did for the Black race, Africa and Ghana in particular, his socialist economic policies not withstanding ...

• 4ward Ever 10 years ago

As a known ("too-known", I should say) constantly re-gurgitating state NLC-era Danquah-Busia propaganda, what else is new?

I put it to you that it's your hypocrisy - in the face of the historical record of the Danquah-Busi ...

• OBINNA 10 years ago

HATRED WON'T TAKE YOU ANYWHERE. LEARN TO ACKNOWLEDGE YOUR OWN; KWAME NKRUMAH TOWERS OVER MANDELA

• THE TRUTH 10 years ago

MOGABE BETTER THAN MADIBA. ONLY PEOPLE WHO UNDERSTAND TOTAL LIBERATION WOULD AGREED.

• JB Ansong 10 years ago

Of course Mugabe is greater in destroying than building.

Some of you take some shots of "apio" (70% alcohol) before making comments on this forum, I presume.

• Shabi 10 years ago

JB Ansong. The following is a quote from Harriet Tubmann an African woman who was a slave in America. She died in 1913.

"I freed a thousand slaves. I could have freed a thousand more, if only they knew they were slaves.

• Asiwome 10 years ago

What did Nkrumah do except to win back the land for the people. The white man has his ways of surviving. Do we have our ways of surviving except to copy copy a world that is constantly out of our reach? Mandela said he was no ...

• Sani not Abacha 10 years ago

They both were great in whatever they did. Nkrumah faught internal saboteurs so called better Ghanaians. While trying to emancipate the WHole of Africa into one government, he was deposed. He has therefore failed. Mandela set ...

• Nii Lartey Nartey 10 years ago

The harder they come the harder they fall. The enemies of unity of Africa and social economic emancipation shamelessly tried to take advantage to use Nelson Mandela's funeral to distort political history of Africa and possib ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

THE WESTERN WORLD IS ALWAYS A PIMP.
    THEY WILL MAKE THEIR WHORES TO DO ANYTHING TO PLEASE THEM.
    MANDELA WAS USED AS A DESPERATE BITCH TO SUIT THEIR INTEREST.
    A TERRORIST ANC IS NOW THEIR HERO?

• Kwaku 10 years ago

Ghanaians are at it again; Useless argument. Nkrumah was his own man;to liberate Africa from colonia rule including South Africa: Mandela was his own man;to bulid a united South Africa. Ghanains should remember, The West rule ...

• ONUA 10 years ago

It is unfortunate that we are having this debate at this particular time of grieving for one of Africa's best [Mandela].For such a debate chips away at the honor and respect due this man for what he achieved for his country, ...

• agbodo 10 years ago

people must understand first what it meant when APARTHEID is mentioned , it was easy to liberate rest of Africa south of Sahara because the colonial masters were soft enough to hand over independence to Africans especially af ...

• nana 10 years ago

thank you very much for your intelligent analysis,well said.

• KK 10 years ago

In this time of mourning for another great son of Africa, when stupid, insecure people raise such benign, silly arguments, it makes you wonder whether as a African people, we have really made any kind of progress as conscient ...

• Kwame Safo 10 years ago

KK right you are it is insidious to learn that in these sombre moments small minds fail to appreciate the significance of Mandela's historic role and would rather resort to vain arguments and comparisons. This is totally unne ...

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

compare how ghanaians live to how South African live..not dead people.....what has ghana achieve after 55 years?

• Asare Konto 10 years ago

Do not mind Baako for his senseless comparison. He puts his NPP voice, tone and sound everywhere unnecessarily.

• Odasanyi,London 10 years ago

You should have rested your case at your statement that the comparison was useless but you erred when you went on to say that Nkrumah towered over Mandela.

• Nelson Kwame Mandela Nkrumah 10 years ago

Nkrumah was the greatest pan-Africanist and Mandela was the greatest global icon

• Odasanyi, London 10 years ago

well said!!

• GOWAN 10 years ago

This comparison is as petty as petty can be. For us to even engage in this kind of exercise is such a colossal waste of time. Both men left their footprints in the sands of time, with each working assiduously to make society ...

• KA NA WOU 10 years ago

DR NKRUMAH HAS NO EQUAL ON THE AFRICAN LIBRATION STAGE. THE WESTERN HISTORIANS KNOW THAT VERY WELL. HOW OLD WAS OBAMA WHEN THE AFRICAN LIBRATION STARTED. HE MAY NOT EVEN HAVE NEVER HEARED OF OSAGYEFO DR KWAME NKRUMAH. SO FOR ...

• Akwasi 10 years ago

Make the comparison better. Mahama is greater than Mandela. Mahama towers over Mandela in deeds and presides over a country naturally endowed with rich natural resources and has complete control over his men in looting the co ...

Look at the sorry-ass economy and standard of living of the people in Ghana. That is what is important. Stop comparing dead men and compare the welfare of those living....South Africa will laugh at this comparison because the ...

• pala 10 years ago

africa was already liberated before mandela was released from prison.

• Skains 10 years ago

Mandela's memorial service is just over. Meanwhile, Ghanaians who claim to be educated have already started comparing Mandela with Nkrumah, trying to find out who was greater. What a stupidity? Instead of using the time to ...

A woman suspects her husband is cheating on her. One day, she dials her home and a strange woman answers. The woman says, " Who is this?" "This is the maid," answered the woman. "We don't have a maid", said the woman. The mai ...

• Chiga 10 years ago

towering over is comparison. Which to KB is useless. So his own comparison must be describe as useless!

• WHO CARES 10 years ago

COME ON. HOW CAN ANYONE SAY THAT NKRUMAH WAS BIGGER THAN MANDELA? NKRUMAH WAS SELF-CENTERED OPPORTUNIST BUT MANDELA WAS SELFLESS. PERIOD.

• EGYA BLAY 10 years ago

Obama’s full speech at Mandela's memorial service

Date Posted: December 10, 2013: 13:09
    Source:
    Ghana | RadioXYZonline.com

inShare

To Graça Machel and the Mandela family; to President Zuma and members of the go ...

• Kofi UK 10 years ago

What at all did Mandela do for Africa. He sat down for Mugabe and his country to be destroyed by the West. He did not criticise the slaughter of Gaddafi by the West. He appeased the Whites by forgiving them but he did not for ...

gadaffi was removed by his people.....he was a gangster who kept a stable of teenage girls in his house for sex

• Kofi UK 10 years ago

I don't know about this. Is it not one of the Western propaganda?

do not blame every thing on the West...look around you in Accra and compare how ghanaians live with how the South Africa blacks live...after 20 years, they already live better than 55 years of independent Ghana..you cannot bl ...

• Kofi UK 10 years ago

I have been to the townships and they don't live good at all. But one advice I will give you is that whenever the West sings blackman's praises there is always a hidden gains for them.If you don't dance to their tune you are ...

You do not need the West to tell you that African leaders are screwballs and thieves...you do not need the West to tell you that Mahama and his brother are stealing a whole merchant bank in broad daylight...that after 55 year ...

• Kofi UK 10 years ago

Rasta. We are comparing two people not two countries. You and I know that Jesus Christ was poor by the account of the bible. What ever Jesus achieved cannot be linked with his poverty. We are talking about great leaders in w ...

I actually got ahead of this argument ...and started posting that Nkrumah is my greatest Africa before these guys started talking about it today and yesterday.....
    However, I will not compare Nkrumah and Mandela..because it ...

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

Rastafaral or......Ireading your responses indicates that you have a lot to learn to embark on responding to such articles. It is the myopic minds who can't read in between the lines and just listen to the lies being told the ...

THE IS A SAYING THAT THE BEARD CAME TO MEET THE CHIN.WHAT EVER THEY DO,ITS NKRUMAH'S STATUE THAT'S IN ADIS ABABA NOT MANDELA'S

• FII 10 years ago

Mandela stands very tall. He did not jail anyone but rather reconciled with his enemies. The number of people Nkrumah jailed were countless, He did not have that forgiving spirit. However he was not as corrupt as NDC Mahama.

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah's tyrannical act,cancels everything he ever acieved.
    THERE WAS NO FREEDOM OF SPEECH IN GHANA,THOUGH HE FOUGHT FOR THE FREEDOM OF THE BLACK FROM THE WHITE.
    So what makes this guy,the greatest?
    IF HE DIDN'T HAV ...

• afia 10 years ago

U are r8ght Mr.K B Asante...comparison is useless

• Terrible Terror Amsterdam 10 years ago

HOW CAN YOU COMPARE A DICTATOR TO MANDELA

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

Nkrumah foughtagainst colonial rule and thus gave us our independence. South Africa has been independent since 1910, Mandela fought against apartheid or white supremacist rule in South Africa, more like Martin Luther King in ...

• Ama 10 years ago

Mr. K.B. Asante is indeed a sensible man! The comparison is very childish, we are all unique; Nkrumah did what he was brought on this earth to do and so did Mandela, they were both great men! Those in power should not forget ...

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

BLACKS AROUND THE WORLD REMEMBERED NKRUMAH'S WORDS. "BLACKS CAN DO" OR BLACK IS CAPABLE. THAT WORDS BE BECAME 'SPIRIT' DWELL IN EVERY BLACKS AROULD THE WORLD, AND OBAMA IS INCLUDED. IF OBAMA BELIEVES MANDELA WAS GREATEST OF A ...

• MADIBA 10 years ago

Honestly mandela towers above Nkrumah, because madiba is all over the world.He even saw the need to reconcile and forgo the presidency.

• Pancho 10 years ago

Nkrumah was power hungry and a dictator

• bigoak 10 years ago

PANCHO, WHO MADE HIM SO IF HE REALLY WAS?
    READ PLEASE YOUR POLITICAL SPECTRUM SEEMS KNITWIT

• Onslopogas 10 years ago

Our late Pres.Atta Mills will say 'Dzi wo fi asem'.All is balony and doesn't help anyone!!!

• wubei 10 years ago

k.b ashant you are useless man in the world you can never be a leader in your life,what you said

• KAUNDA 10 years ago

Mandela liberated a country.
    Nkrumah liberated a continent.
    Mandela was a product of the liberation process initiated by Nkrumah.
    The two were Africa's two greatest prophets.
    The difference is that while Mandela was a pr ...

• KOFI OWUSU 10 years ago

Whereas both Nkrumah and Mandela were freedom fighters that helped to liberate their people, they operated in different eras and under different circumstances. Mandela's era was paved by the successes of Nkrumah and earlier f ...

• Ben Cool 10 years ago

NKRUMAH IS THIS ; NKRUMAH WAS THAT ...NKRUMAH HAD A GRAET VISION FOR GHANA AND AFRICA but my question is : what have we achived since hIS no longer with us ? have we used his advice to create something profitable to GHANA ? I ...

• belgium 10 years ago

thank you NANA ASANTE
    you are too wise

• DONT MISQUOTE OBAMA TO ARGUE 10 years ago

PEOPLE ARE MISQUOTING OBAMA to make a misleading POINT OBAMA SAID MANDELA WAS THE LAST GREAT LIBERATOR NOT THE GREATEST LIBERATOR, OF THE 2OTH CENTURY

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

NZEMAS SPIRITS OF OKOFO ANOKYI(E),PAA GRANT, KWAME NKRUMAH WILL PUNISH NPP UNGRATEFUL PARTY FOREVER AND THEY WILL BE A LOOSER ALL THE ELECTIONS.

I rest my case....................
    Mandela stood up against white oppression for as long as he could and eventually; he humanly tolerated everything just for the sake of peace in only South Africa without considering the di ...

• AFRICAN DIGNITY 10 years ago

Although NKRUMAH was not perfect, no one on earth has ever defended the AFRICAN CONTINENT, AFRICAN LIBERATION AND AFRICAN DIGNITY.
    Mandela was a hero who fouhgt against apartheid in his Country, and became an icon in the w ...

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

Nkrumah towered over Mandela; comparison “useless”

How can you be for something and be against in the same one short line expressed opinion

• OTCHERE DARKO 10 years ago

Why compare Nkrumah and Mandela at this time of mourning of Mandela?

I THOUGHT K.B. ASANTE IS MATURE ENOUGH TO KNOW THAT WE DO NOT DO THIS EVEN IN ANY GHANAIAN CULTURE.

Let us wise up and.....

LEARN TO RESPECT OUR PA ...

Hmmm......you are such a funny character, Mr. Darko. Was it not yesterday that you were also comparing the same 'apples with mangoes'?
    What has changed now?

Did you just realized Mandela has passed away today? Weren't we ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Good one there.

• peeeeeeeeee 10 years ago

Oh Ghana.get something better to do.man has not even been buried yet.idle tongue

• Hazor 10 years ago

Comparison between Nkrumah and Mandela is a disgrace to black race.Why woun't the rest of the world call us useless people.The world media television is my witness and world Vision international proved it.Folks who thinks am ...

• LEG-FOOT 10 years ago

The answer is very simple. Nkrumah was for Africa, Mandela was for the whole world. Nkrumah was a dictator and a murderer like JJ Rawlings. He was more inclined towards projecting himself. MADIBA TATA showed the way for t ...

• Nasir Dabo 10 years ago

Both Mandela and Nkrumah were heros in their rights.

• BBC 10 years ago

in south Africa Mandela is their hero, if you Came to Ghana Nkrumah Did A lot for Ghanaian,(1)AKOSOMBO (2) Tema harbor (3)KNUST and more, Tele me apart of he refuse to punish the south African White what again?

• zomabi 10 years ago

SINCE 1642 WHEN THE DUTCH INVADERS GOT HOLD OF SOUTH AFRICA, IT HAS NEVER BELONGED TO BLACK S. AFRICANS.THE ECONOMIC, POLITICAL AND SOCIAL POWER IS THE BONAFIDE PROPERTY OF WHITES. BLACKS ARE THE SLAVES-DOMESTIC SERVANTS, FAR ...

• Teacher Awo 10 years ago

You cannot compare Nkrumah with Mandela. In Mandela's country he was cherished till he died. Nkrumah was sacked because his people were fed up with him at the time that is why the CIA was aided by his own people to overthro ...

• amoah wadee 10 years ago

1st Nkrumah
    then Mandela

• Daniel 10 years ago

Both Nkrumah and Mandela, are great Africans who brought better understanding and respect to all human beings around the world over, and thought White people to behave as human beings, but not wicked, reckless tugs. I certain ...

• Anger 10 years ago

Nkrumah is nowhere near Nelson Mandela who was forward looking and pragmatic, he brought his country together across race lines,Nkrumah was a very corrupt power hungry,egocentric lilliputian, who divided his country along tri ...

• Say the TRUTH 10 years ago

A GREAT MAN IS ABLE TO PRESERVE AND MAINTAIN WHAT HE'S BUILT?????

A LOOK AT THE CURRENT STATE OF THE CPP THE PARTY HE BUILT & THE STATE OF THE COUNTRY HE FOUGHT TO ACHIEVE INDEPENDENCE ..GHANA WHAT IS IT'S STATE AND STATUS ...

• Mike Gizo 10 years ago

How on east can any serious mind compare nkrumah to mandella? Lazy minds, hypocrites n cowards. Who is nkrumah n how many people's lives have been affected by nkrumah. I can't imagine the way some socalled learned people have ...

• Kanawu 10 years ago

This is NAIVETY in the first order

• Say the TRUTH 10 years ago

FOOD FOR THOUGHT:

THE SELFLESS...GAVE UP JUST ON ONE TERM...DID NOT SEE THE COUNTRY HE SACRIFICED FOR IN PRISON FOR 26 YEARS, AND COULD HAVE TAKEN IT AS HIS OWN FOR THE PRESIDENCY..EVEN THOUGH HE HAD IT ON PLATTER TO RULE ...

• KING 10 years ago

BUT KB YOU ARE COMPARING?

• Ashootings 10 years ago

Mandela and co got their inspiration from Kwame Nkrumah as Oliver Tambo states. Who is greater, the inspirer or the inspired?
    Kwame Nkrumah was the first liberator in black Africa. Even a fool knows that!!!

• Private Eye 10 years ago

Why does KB Asante find it necessary to cast his vote in the very debate he claims is useless?. His mentality is reflective of the shallow thinking of Ghanaians. At the very least, Ghana owes Mandella the respect and the dign ...

• B.K SMIALIA 10 years ago

WHO IS COMPARING WHO ? SHUT UP.GA-ADANGBE YOUTH TALIBAN LEADER....REPORT TO THE ICC IN PRAGUE.

• Jeff, UK 10 years ago

Too much of this useless talk. There are better things to talk about

• Canadasheabutter(GhUWR) @ Abudu ibn a 10 years ago

A TRIBUTE TO NELSON MANDELA , FAMILY , REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA , AFRICA & THE WORLD

Abudu I. Adam &

May Hyacenth Abudu,& Family
    2 Secord Avenue # 2313,
    M4C-2C3
    Toronto, Ontario
    Telephone: 416-429-834 ...

• Lamin 10 years ago

Those who have the guts to compare mandela to osagyefo are either not african patriots or not concious politically or both,osagyefo did not only set the pace for african libration,he also went foward to help other african cou ...

• ' And Jesus wept ' 10 years ago

And that's the plain truth!

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

NO ONE ON EARTH CAN BE IN THE POSITION TO TWIST HISTORY.

HISTORY REPEATS ITSELF.

IN ENCYCLOPEDIA BRITANNICA OSAGEFO DR KWAME NKRUMAH OF BLESSED MEMORY IS REMEBERED AS THE GREATEST POLITICIAN IN THE 20th CENTURY.

WHY ...

• Nana 10 years ago

Whilst Nkrumah was jailing, torturing and killing his own people, Mandela was forgiving and reconciling. Which of the two is BETTER? Please judge for yourself

• prempeh 1. 10 years ago

Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah never kill and never tortured any Ghanaian, it was your forefathers U.P who were bombing Ghanaian society and also targeting Nkrumah, and therefore he has no choice to brought those terrorist to boo ...

• Anes Wiesbaden German 10 years ago

Neck off

• Nyorkopio 10 years ago

Nkrumah coined the term neocolonialism more than50 years ago. He stood on the shoulders of other great African forebears to project the Black Star across the globe and far across time. Mandela stood on the shoulders of great ...

• Nyorkopio 10 years ago

Ghana was emancipated politically long before South Africa, and Nkrumah was the spearhead. Nkrumah is a pathfinder (Osabarimah - master of the forest - trailblazer). The third verse of our national anthem reads: Raise high t ...

• EGYA BLAY 10 years ago

You have said it all-but how many people like you have this common sense.We have a problem with some black people. They will never read and will just just spew nonsense.

Obama never compared them. Here is the
    full speec ...

• Nyorkopio 10 years ago

Thanks for posting President Obama's speech. This helps to stem rumour and innuendo. There is a reason why we refrence God, followed by ALL our forebears when we we pray and give thanks. Mandela has risen to join Nkrumah and ...

• shokolokobankoshey 10 years ago

Monkey no fine e country people like him

• Abrante 10 years ago

Sometimes I wish people will listen carefully before making comments. Barack said Mandela was " the LAST greatest...." in other words, he recognizes there has been other great African leaders. Pls lets stop all these and pay ...

• mugu1 10 years ago

mandela is pure traitor that is the point

• NOT GREATEST USELESS DEBATE 10 years ago

OBAMA BEING MISQUOTED he said Mandela was last great liberator not greatest

• Comrade 10 years ago

I think is useless for these comparison to even start just after a half baked African, Obama spoke out of momentous sentiments. It is clear that Obama is very ignorant on and about Africa and issues that has to do with our hi ...

• EGYA BLAY 10 years ago

Obama’s full speech at Mandela's memorial service

To Graça Machel and the Mandela family; to President Zuma and members of the government; to heads of state and government, past and present; distinguished guests - it ...

• Nigerian 10 years ago

Ghanaians are always arguing about trivial things. Even Kofi Annan was even bigger than Dr Nkrumah, He had the ideas but most of them were utopia and some where borrowed from human right activists in US

• NKRUMAH BE OGBO!!!! 10 years ago

I wished Azikiwe was alive to tell you who Nkrumah was and what he is for the continent. Am sure you are a toddler still nipping at your mothers nipples. I doubt if you even know about your own country's history either.

• AKAKPO 10 years ago

1 -Kwame Nkrumah
    2 -Nelson Mandela
    3 -Kofi Annan
    4 -Jomo Kenyatta
    5 Kenneth Kaunda
    6 -Haille Selassie
    7 Julius Nyerere
    8 - Desmond Tutu
    9 - Leopold Sedar Senghor
    10 -Felix Houphoüet-Boigny

• bigoak 10 years ago

THANKS BRO. MANDELA HIMSELF ACKNOWLEDGED THAT NKRUMAH IS FAR TALLER THAN HIM. WAS HE NOT THERE WHEN THE MAN OF THE MILLENIUM WENT TO NKRUMAH? AH GYS B REALLISTIC

• Nigerian 10 years ago

Get your facts right, Have you seen world leaders gather in one Funeral?

nigeria choice

• Victor Damanka 10 years ago

You are all greedy bastards and idiots to compare Nkrumah the bastard to Mandella. Nkrumah just misused our money for nil achievement.Wanted to rule the nation till death. Selfish, idiotic principles were the order of the day ...

• Kontoa 10 years ago

Your comparison are like Is the type writer better than the desktop? Note: Each was the best at its era and each was useful for the purpose.Nkrumah was also granted the accolade as the best in his time. Mandela went to see Nk ...

• OBINNA 10 years ago

LONGEVITY HAS ITS ADVANTAGES AND SO DID MANDELA. KWAME NKRUMAH WAS VOTED BY THE AU AS THE GREATEST AFRICAN FOR THE 20TH CENTURY FOR THE ENORMOUS CONTRIBUTION TO THE AFRICAN AND THE BLACK CAUSE. YOU MAY CONSIDER MANDELA FOR TH ...

• bigoak 10 years ago

GUYS KNOW THE HISTORY INTO DETAILS.THESE TWO AFRICAN LEADERS DID NOT TOW THE SAME LINE IN THE POLITICS THAT THEY DID.
    NKRUMAH FOUGHT FOR ALL AFRICANS ALL BLACK MEN AND WOMEN
    MANDELA FOUGHT FOR SOUTH AFRICANS
    NKRUMAH FOUGHT ...

• bigoak 10 years ago

THANKS BRO. MANDELA HIMSELF ACKNOWLEDGED THAT NKRUMAH IS FAR TALLER THAN HIM. WAS HE NOT THERE WHEN THE MAN OF THE MILLENIUM WENT TO NKRUMAH? AH GYS B REALLISTIC.
    GUYS READ

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

No one is comparing apples with peas

- KB Asante's contibution is too simple and obtuse

- ridding South Africa of apartheid is not a heavy burden as riddig entire sub-Saharan Africa of colonial domination

- Mandale d ...

• Nigerian 10 years ago

Ghanaians should let the world black & white decide

ibi?

u no gree?

• nana 10 years ago

mandela in short focused to lead, train and to stabilize peace and equallity in S.Afria whiles Nkrumah after,archiving it for Ghana, also exteded it continentally.so AFRICA is NKRUMAH. So be it

• appiah 10 years ago

How can you seriously describe Nkrumah
    as a freedom fighter when he only replaced white domination with black oppression. Nkrumah's repressive regime and the many attempts on his life shows that he did not bring freedom to h ...

• NKRUMAH BE OGBO!!!! 10 years ago

No one is saying Mandela isn't great but for any human being, including Obama, to say Mandela is the greatest African, it means that person is short on Africa's history.

Nkrumah personifies the liberation of the African c ...

• konkonsa toronto 10 years ago

Hey guys the comparison b/n Nkrumah and Madela doesnt add up. Howe many of u these writers lived during the time of Kwame Nkrumah. Freedom never existed in the country. u r either for him or against him. He jailed all his pol ...

• BRO DAN- TRC 10 years ago

DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF AFRICA AND BLESSED ONES OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, YEA, NOBLE PEOPLE OF SOUTH AFRICA- BEHOLD, IT IS REVEALED, -PAUL PLANTED, APOLLOS WATERED AND GOD GAVES THE INCREASE. PELSE. A ...

• JAMES Y 10 years ago

Nkrumah had done more for Africa and the black race than Mandela. This is a fact. It is also a fact that he singlehanded opened the floodgate for Africa emancipation through which also South Africa passed. The fact that no on ...

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

Like it or not, he was well respected. It is time most of you start thinking about how fix the mess in your own backyard now. Leave Nkrumah and Mandela alone.

• Oheneba osei Yaw Akoto 10 years ago

osagyefo is the greatest African ever

• Nicholas Osei Kyeretwie-Chicago 10 years ago

The difference between the two great Africans is that one could not stand any opposition,while the other lived in peace with the opposition.K.B.Asante should tell the whole world what Nkrumah did to those who he perceived as ...

• still rastafari 10 years ago

the end justifies & nkrumah failed..come thru the ballot & introduce hell