You are here: HomeNews2013 12 07Article 294393

Kwesi Appiah: Ghana will advance despite “Group Of Death"

Read Comments Comments (70)

• John 10 years ago

This man is a joker....what sensible changes can you make to beat Germany, Portugal and USA? You will see red

• Nathan 10 years ago

lol ROTF hey John I said the same thing. What legendary plan is he bringing to the table other than saying "I have confidence" Ghana will advance

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author:-Hon. Martin A.B.K. Amidu.

...The Government exercised the latter option when we disagreed over the judgment debt and other Gargantuan crimes. The Government, and my colleague Ministers at the time know that there ...

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

The coach is right and we must applaud his honesty. Whilst the skills of the Ghanaian soccer team have remained stagnant that of the US team has significantly improved. Our boys will have to work very hard to beat the USA.

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

If we like soccer and like winning games, we must put money into it and properly develop the talents of our players and team. We can't leave soccer to grow by itself whilst we waste money on other things.

• WWW.NOLLYTUNED.COM 10 years ago

Watch GTV, TV3, Joy News, AdomTV Ghana Movies, NollyWood Movies
    and KumaWood Movies AT WWW.NOLLYTUNED.COM

• Felix 10 years ago

Sorry, but you think like a failure. Wish you reconsider your thoughts when faced with difficult task and will do you good in your life. Wish you well

• WORLD PELE 10 years ago

It is simple to qualify.
    We have to beat USA but then we have to park the bus in front of our goal post for Germany and for Portugal. If we draw against GER and POR, we can advance with 5 points. Provided Germany beat Portug ...

• They Say They Say 10 years ago

I guess you want the coach to bring his plan to you for approval, right? Or you just want him to present it to FIFA for approval instead?

• KojoLee/MRAA@Samba Dance 10 years ago

Brother John, I guess you might be one of those Thomasees whose professed coach MRAA could not qualified us to W/C, right? And now here we go again, we are going to dance sambas with Brazilians haaaa you made me daff. The ONL ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

It was not much of a bother to me when they listed us alongside Germany. But, my heart just sunk the minute Portugal was somehow smuggled into our slot and I remember saying to myself repeatedly 'we are seriously dead.' Howev ...

• They Say They Say 10 years ago

Bro, I felt the same way when the news broke out. I was saddened for a good hour but then something happened as I thought through Ghana's performance all round. Ghana, for some reason unexplainable always rise to the occasion ...

• POW@Group G 4 Ghana/Germany 10 years ago

Nicodemus like you. You come here and say nonsense by day and say another thing by night. Onyame ehu woooo huuuu shaaaaame

• KojoLee/MRAA@Samba Dance 10 years ago

"Onyame ehu woooo huuuu shaaaaame" ***Powaxot***

Awurade, na dis mai go die me here, it is too early to booo someone like that, what "huuuu" hahahahaha you made daff to death!

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

WHY AA NEEDS A FOREIGN TECHNICAL DIRECTOR
    LOL, POW, DIAMOND, SANTANA, Kofitse Kpoh
    UR LEVEL OF IGNORANCE IS QUITE DISTURBING. U HVE ACCESS TO THE INTERNET BUT U WANT ME TO TELL YOU STUFF? WHY DONT U GOOGLE UR QUESTIONS N ED ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

NDC stupid Cows should understand that
    the wearing of Corrupt John Dramani Mahama's T Shirts will not help Ghana
    Black Stars without pushing hard, Dramani and his NDC as the whole world
    knew them as corrupt can use the who ...

• ORIGINAL STRAIGHT-TALK 10 years ago

Ghana has beaten US two times, lost 1 nil to Germany in a world cup thriller match and our under 20 boys beat Portugal side and with this statistics the Black Stars can never be the underdogs in that group. They can do it bet ...

• Nkwantaehu 10 years ago

IT,S TIME TO DROP AFFULL ! WE NEED STRONG AND PHYSICAL PLAYERS FOR LEFT BACK AND RIGHT BACK. JO MENSAH AND AKAMINKO FOR RIGHTBACK . DAVID ADDY AND LEE ADDY FOR LEFTBACK. NOWAY FOR CRISTIANO RONALDO

• Pete 10 years ago

John you must be living on another planet. We don't need any changes to beat Germany, Portugal and USA. All we need is what the coach has asked the Stars to give: determination, and he will get it! You will run with your tail ...

WGHERE WAS THIS DETERMINATION AT AFCON 13? U REMEMBER GH VS CONGO DR?

• J.O 10 years ago

It is tough but this is football. With determination, hard work and good tactics we will survive.

• KWAKU ASUMAH 10 years ago

So u don't have faith in God? With God nothing is impossible on this planet.At worst the one-nil slogan. Only that we need to do a lot of assignments looking at the group.

• Kwabena 10 years ago

This is a man who knows what he wants. Yes, we're the lowest ranked team in our group. Yes they have more high profile players and coaches but that doesn't mean squat. Sometimes you need to rise to the occasion and that's wha ...

• Agyeman. 10 years ago

Well said,we africans must learn to believe in ourselves,strive to press on and overcome despite the odds.At this time of Mandela's demise,one of his quotes might serve Ghana well- that "people always say its impossible until ...

• OGOGLO QUARTER 10 years ago

THERE YOU GO MY BRO ...USA ,GERMANS AND THE PORTUGUESE ARE ALL TALKING ABOUT GHANA. ADEQUATE PREPARATION AND POSITIVE MENTAL ATTITUDE IS ALL WE NEED.FEAR NO FOES .......

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

You said Haiti and Israel had never been to the WC.
    I proved you wrong.

You said Appiah did not win Afcon 12.
    I told you he was not Head Coach at Afcon 12.
    You switched to Afcon 13 to continue thrashing him.

You said ...

• KojoLee/MRAA@BrazilComeWhatMay 10 years ago

Nobody is nobody! We can't sit down and let fears gripped us like what happened when we were drawn against Egypt for the final run off at Cairo.

"Obiaa n'ny3, obiaa ooooton!" If we are ready to Shine, then we must proof ...

WE MUST PREPARE TO BEAT ALL THE TEAMS IN OUR GROUP N TOP THE GROUP. IN SUCH A DIFFICULT GROUP LIKE OURS, IT WILL COME DOWN TO THE LAST GOAL FOR, LAST POINT, LAST GOAL AGAINST ETC. WE MUST TIGHTEN OUR DEFENCE LIKE VIRGIN PUSSY ...

• POW@ GHFUO is a damn liar 10 years ago

Left to you alone Ghana would've loss to Egypt and not qualify for the world cup. Aren't you ashamed of all the nonsense you carried over here?

• OGOGLO QUARTER 10 years ago

I LIKE YOUR COMPARISONS...TIGHT DEFENSE LIKE VIRGIN FUSSY....BUT DON'T YOU KNOW THEY CAN BREAK THROUGH THE DEFENSE IF THEY USE ENOUGH VASELINE OR NKUTO .....

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

Appiah, don't worry.
    Get the guys to:

1. watch the Ghana-Czech Cologne match and the Ghana-Egypt Kumasi match repeatedly for inspiration;

2. practise penalty-taking, at least one hundred times per player;

3. be fear ...

MASSA, U SAID THE SAME THING AT ANOTHER TOURNAMNT HELD THIS YEAR NOOOOORRRRRR. IT WAS CALLED AFCON13. U SAID BIG THINGS, BUT THEN WHEN U GOT THERE. AGYE GONG IS WHAT WE SAW, ABI? ITS WAS A HUGE DISGRACE. GYAN SCORED 1 GOAL IN ...

• POW@ Group G for the G's 10 years ago

Appiah attempted but could not succeed as expected at the nations cup. However, lessons he learnt helped him to master mind the whooping of Egypt that hasn't been heard ever before, making it very easy for Ghana to qualify to ...

WAT IS WRONG WITH YOU? UNDER AA, GH ONLY MANAGED 2AWAY WINS. IF U BEAT EGYPT AT HOME. INFRONT OF A RACCOUS CROWD 6 TO 1. ITS NOTHING. DIDNT WE LOSE IN EGYPT? KESHIE WON AFCON 13 WITH MOSTLY LOCAL PLAYERS. YET, LOOK AT HOW NAI ...

• NAKED 10 years ago

Upon all Sampson foolishness we still blame Delilah that is how the world is people always put blame on one other, even it was in existence when Adam sinned he blamed God for given him Eve, Eve also blamed God for creating th ...

• oppong london 10 years ago

africans were given the chance on 2010 but we couldn,t win the world cup,we played on our own soil and blew our chances.anyway portugal is just one man team ,only ronaldo has the striking force but germany and usa are more da ...

• pobi kwabena 10 years ago

With God all things are possible

• biggy 10 years ago

By God wills we will make it. ope this time one african must play final or inshaa Allah two african will meet in final. As the african braizil is in braizil we ave to work hard nd baba God will make it better for us. insh ...

• Sarpong 10 years ago

There is nothing deadly about the group,Germany is the only world cup winner in that group,others have not so if we call it group of death,what would we say about England Italy? or Spain Netherlands?

• Ceeboy Dangerman 10 years ago

Fear and joy and hope is expressed about group G from the US to Europe and to Africa.Is not possible until its done. Ghana will do it if it is more focused, train harder and play correctly.No mother fucker. Ghana gonna make i ...

• JOHN IS ASHANTI NPP 10 years ago

STUPID JOHN WILL NOT SAY THAT IF K4 THE MOST CORRUPT PRESIDENT WAS THE PRESIDENT . ASHANTIS HAVE EXTENDED THEIR UGLY LOOKS INTO FOOTBALL.

• Nkwantaehu 10 years ago

WE ARE TALKING ABOUT FOOTBALL ! ASHANTIS ARE INTELEGENT THAN YOUR STUPID FATHER

• NII 10 years ago

DO U NEED A VISA TO MALYSIA.WASTE NO TIME..CALL 0245886343 FOR DETAILS

• FIIFI 10 years ago

ASHANTE DREAMER,UNLESS U GO TO BRAZIL WITH YOUR CRIMINAL T B JOSHUA.FORGET ABOUT THESE USELESS BLACK STARS.

• PAA JOE 10 years ago

KWASI APPAIH HAILED FROM BRONG AHAFO.

• MARCUS 10 years ago

YES ,AKWASI, I KNOW YOU CAN MAKE IT FOR US TO ADVANCE TO THE NEXT LEVEL.

• KWASI 10 years ago

yes the BLACK STARS can.

• NANA BOATENG AMOFAH 10 years ago

Kwesi thank you for such assurance which a thoughtful sign of positive thinking which in itself is the first goal against any of our opponents in our group.

Your motivation as a team coach will help your boys psychologica ...

• Debka 10 years ago

in every group of death there is an executioner and the executed. Ghana will be the executioner par excellence!

We will emerge dripping goals!

• HE`S NOT AFRAID 10 years ago

KWESI APPIAH:GHANA WILL ADVANCE DESPITE GROUP OF DEATH

• Majele Gbeke Kofie Mawukos 10 years ago

With this stupid NDC in there this is kwakwe last stop for Ghana. So no stupid NDC guys will not mess our funds.Nice Onewk

• Kofi UK 10 years ago

This is not a group of death. From Ghana's point of view it is but not from Germany or Portugal's point. The coach has started making excuses that we are in a group of death. I admit that we are in a difficult group but that ...

• Analyst 10 years ago

This year's draw is not different from the draws of 2006 and 2010.
    In 2006 we had Czech, FIFA's Number 2, USA FIFA's Number 5 and Italy the eventual champions. We were not expected to sail through the group but we did it.
    I ...

• Mr. Figure-Out 10 years ago

No wonder u call yourself 'Analyst'. You have really dissect the problems we may encounter. Keep the good job up.

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Brother,I hail and support every bit of your assertion.

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Everything can ONLY BE POSSIBLE,IF WE CAN ALSO,HAVE THE FAITH TO BELIEVE.
    WHY?
    Because faith generates,creates,formulates confidence,which sustains one to wait in expectation(in the incubate of time),for his miracle.
    And i ...

• Charlie 10 years ago

God is in control

• nana kwame brasil 10 years ago

akwesi i like ur spirit go on u will make it footbal is a game just encourage ur stars and the star will shine over them God has already prepare that nathing happenes to our key player if we go with the we are sure to come h ...

• Felix 10 years ago

These words of the Ghana Black star coach are all that we need to motivate our players. We can proceed past the group stage if the confidence in the players are not demoralised. Our players compete with these same players who ...

yes i agree with u .they are the same players who play very well in europ and france they will make it i will wait for them hereb in brasil and fully support them

• Esther Anderson 10 years ago

I pray to almighty God to let us in every game we will play.Pls my dear brother and sisters let us give support and fast for our team to win.May all our gams that we will play lead as forward

amen

• the truth 10 years ago

this group is actually great. if we advance, the path to the finals will be easy

• MENSAH 10 years ago

To go to Canaan from Egypt,one is bound to pass through the RED SEA.
    For David to be crowned king of ISRAEL,HE HAD TO CONQUER GOLIATH,THE GIANT.
    It takes battles to fight to be crowned a champion,winner.
    The first group,wi ...

• joeitaliano 10 years ago

whatever bla bla everyone is making , i say and wish no injuries hit our players from now till june and the rest shall be history .Football can sometimes or most times be unpredictable and not until the final whistle is blown ...

• Wofa Koo 10 years ago

Ghana have quality players but a strange coach. That`s where the problem is at now. Why KPB has to stay on bench till 80 minutes gone by with Egypt in Cairo and is Dauda his number one WC goalkeeper? Ey3 asem paa!

• Kojo Billy Duncan 10 years ago

Ghana and the other 4 African countries will go beyond the first round. I shall be betting on an all African final.

• kofi nti 10 years ago

defence need to be tighting

• Joe -Ali 10 years ago

Akwasi Appiah should not rely on his current team that qualified for the world cup. Now he has to beef up the defensive lapses of the team particularly the goalkeeping problem else we will reach no where to be frank and since ...

• kkk 10 years ago

I can perfectly understand the Head Coach of the Black Stars, Kwesi Appiah, having every confidence that his team will pick one of the two spots in Group D to advance to the next step. What else does anyone expect him to say ...