You are here: HomeNews2013 12 05Article 294272

Mahama bans Christmas hampers

Read Comments Comments (100)

• clarence 10 years ago

Mr President why must they be surcharged? People must be punished when they disobey your orders and that is what our country is lacking and that is leading to mismanagement corruption nepotism etc. You must bite and bite hard ...

only a pepeni kwasea idiot of a muslim can think of such an abomination and evil . pepeni wants to even steal Christmas , a fool beyond repair!!!!!!

• IB 10 years ago

You are very very stupid. What has this got to do with being pepeni. Comments like this will make you stay in opposition and rot. Grow up Bro.

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author:-Hon. Martin A.B.K. Amidu.

...The Government exercised the latter option when we disagreed over the judgment debt and other Gargantuan crimes. The Government, and my colleague Ministers at the time know that there ...

• www.owafk-africa.com/Edition_3.html 10 years ago

14,000 free scholarships for Africans

www.owafk-africa.com

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

WATEVER HE SAYS, DO THE OPPOSITE.

• ASIEDU NKETIA 10 years ago

Oh, Mahama, anytime u open your mouth to talk, NKWASEASEM comes out from it. Please, learn to talk sense.

• JoJo - USA 10 years ago

President Nelson Mandela is DEAD.
    Ghanaweb, Please give us some HEADLINES
    that reflect the Passing of such a great
    MAN.

• Adum 10 years ago

GHANAIANS WE ARE SICK AND WILL BE IN DARKNESS TILL WE ARE BACK ON OUR SENSE

pepeni is now attempting to steal Christmas and continue on his evil foolhardy agenda of turning the country into a Muslim dominated colony . Last week two events went by unnoticed by our illiterate media ,the first the banni ...

• KWAKU ASUMAH 10 years ago

I least thought we still have such idiots in Ghana. Well beat ur war drum it will only end at the door steps of ur house.You ar mayopic to think God is an akan.NB
    It is a clear sign of defeat; any one who angers u have alrea ...

• Kwasi Antobam 10 years ago

What it has got to do with pepeni is the perception by some folks that when it comes to events like muslims going to mecca, the same politicians all genuflect and suck up to the muslims with support and gifts from national co ...

its crazy , we have less muslims than for example the ashantis but they unlike the pepefuo do not have over 20 national holidays nor are they given any money to celebrate their holidays . madness

• trueGhanaian 10 years ago

“The most potent weapon of the oppressor is the mind of the oppressed.
    So as a prelude whites must be made to realize that they are only human, not superior. Same with Blacks. They must be made to realize that they are al ...

• ADOMAKO 10 years ago

You are totally off mark here my friend.What has the action taken against a christian tradition has to do with white oppression.Prez MAHAMA banned public funds be used for Christmas hampers even though the Govt subsidize Ghan ...

• Ali 10 years ago

Never mind the stupid, uneducated, bushman black hairy monkeylike creature. The stench from his kotiboto has clouded his brain, even the brains of their so called professors that they cannot think straight

• Ali 10 years ago

We help them by interbreeding with them to produce a much handsome race. Just take a look at Kuffour . You see how black ugly and monkey like he looks. Red eyed like his brother the chimp.
    compare him to the Asamtehene who ...

• PUSSY CONTROL 10 years ago

HOW DO YOU DEFINE HANDSOME ? KUFUOR IS VERY HANDSOME , TALL , GOOD BODY ,AVERAGE BUILD AND GOOD APPEARACE AND DRESS NICE THAN PREZ MAHAMA AND MILLS BUT MR JJ IS HANDSOME THAN KUFUOR. HANDSOME IS NOT JUST THE FACE AS YOU THOU ...

• ABU 10 years ago

vERY SHORT ENDANGERED SPECIES AS HUMANITY IS SHYING AWAY FROM THEM .NOBODY WANTS TO HAVE THEM ANY MORE.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

He may not be even in opposition but just a tribal bigot. Well done Mahama. Companies that perform below average should also not have any X'mas bonuses. Start cracking the whip.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

For this singular alone you are assured the next seven years to 2020. Thank you for saving Ghana millions unlike the profligacy under Kufuor. This is real leadership.

• wise 10 years ago

you are idiot, kwasea christian. you think christmas is God thing it is paganism if you don't know find out. stupid. president well done.

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

it was coming up to Christmas and Johnny asked his mum if he could have a new bike. So, she told him that the best idea would be to write to Santa Claus. But John, having just played a vital role in the school nativity play, ...

• i dont know 10 years ago

YOU ARE MAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAD A DISGRACE TO UR USELESS FAMILY. HOW CULD YOU INSULT A PRESIDENT LIKE THAT FUCK U AND UR FAMILY. IDIOT. PAGAN MY FOOT. BASTARD

• HARD REPLY 10 years ago

I don't think you can insult your father or mother or any of your relatives who may not get the opportunity to work as a labourer around the president this way so please stop that and grow-up. He is your President and a presi ...

• agang 10 years ago

those who insult is just being idiot. If any of their family memebers becomes MP's the whole world would know how important they are. A president ur country is foolish?.They just do not know what they say.

• Victor Damanka 10 years ago

I will disown any family member who becomes a corrupt MP. Most Ghanaians are stupid to accept corruption as the norm. The common statement 'Ei, man wei de3 na adwuma y3 papa', He only live on side issues without touching his ...

• CRAZY N WILD 10 years ago

It was announced a few weeks back that the BNI had summoned Former Deputy High Commissioner to India, Mr Kwaku Ampratwum Sarpong to be queried on his bizarre role in the import of rice from India in 2007. That fraudulent deal ...

• agang 10 years ago

who is this illiterate who just know how to put words together to mean insult. Travel and see who is pepeni and who is twi. Stuck in village with polluted mentality of so call Akan supeority.

• Eagle eye 10 years ago

INSIDE TO THE BONE, IT NOT RIGHT TO USE FOUL AND ABUSIVE LANGUAGE
    HOWEVER, SAYING PEPENI IS NOT AN INSULT PLS, LETS ALL BEAR THUS IN MIND
    WE DONT GET OFFENDED WHEN PEOPLE CALL US PEPPEFUO
    ANTONY CABO WILL TELL U THIS

pepeni has abused all the priveledges that we have sacrificed and now want to sit on our heads and misbehave . this madness will end soon . you are a minority with and ego that will soon be put in check by the majority . we s ...

• real AAfrican 10 years ago

This are the kind of comments that tells u some of our people are really uncivilize, your comment show you a really a tribalist who brought you up? Am sure you have been -brought u;p by monkies, that pepeni is your president ...

• Kosi Lapaz 10 years ago

He is Pepeni and you are an animal. What u 4get is that he is yr president for now.

• william 10 years ago

What do you consider to be sanctions in this particular case? Sacking?

• Frank 10 years ago

Thank you JM.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

Don't the guy serious

• sikdo 10 years ago

U.time.is
    near.

• b.b 10 years ago

Your useless father the drunker abaunded u kwasiya kwasiya

• RED-SOKOTO-GUDARI 10 years ago

This is a signe that you are ready to tackle the corruption in our country! Keep it up!

• zola (usa) 10 years ago

YOUR COMMENT IS THE ONLY ONE I CLICKED.THANKS

• VAVIOTO 10 years ago

THIS IS IRRELEVANT. TACKLE THE HUGE JUDGEMENT DEBT PAYMENT ISSUES AND THAT OF MERCHANT BANK WHERE YOUR OWN BROTHER TOOK A HUGE LOAN WITHOUT PAYMENT LEADING TO THE COLLAPSE OF THE BANK.

DO YOU THINK IF YOU WERE TO BE THE PR ...

• Ojomo 10 years ago

Justice Atuguba KCTE BCTC

• kotoo 10 years ago

This is not the issue to solve this problem.The main issue is to retrieve
    the money from stupid woyome and stop bragging.

• EFOH 10 years ago

WHAT ABOUT ENGINEERS AND PLANNERS?

• Tet 10 years ago

The issue is about government departments and agencies who use public funds and resources for gifts. It has nothing to do with individual professions and/or disciplines.

• Ama 10 years ago

This will not work. The hampers will be sent to their homes. We shall take pictures when they are being sent. Where I work board members and the 2 top men enjoy the hampers ranging from turkey's, white sheep in bow tie, big ...

• AKONFEM MAHANI 10 years ago

OH MAHAMA DONT THINK GHANA IS FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY,GOD WILL PUNISH U FOR GHANIANS

• K Thief Hammond. 10 years ago

Must godpunishyoutoo for your inequties? People wholivein glass houses must not throw stones.

• The Onipaba, Akyem Maase 10 years ago

You spend scarce national resources to lavishly provide cash, cows, sheep, trucks full of bags of rice, drums of oil, uncountable pieces of textiles etc etc to the gullible muslim communities during their id celebrations. You ...

• Nyebro 10 years ago

All Christians must get this direct into their head. What happens during muslem festivities? now Mahama says no gifts at Christmas.Our Bishops are so dump they cannot fathom what NDC is doing to Christianity.We live to see.

• Nii 10 years ago

I support that... too much waste in the system.This is a step in the right direction: Bravo, Mr President!

• kwame Atoboge 10 years ago

Here comes the anti-christ at work.

• Boateng 10 years ago

Just enjoy your christmas but do not make it a Christian issue, it has nothing to do with Jesus Christ. Christmas is a PAGAN TRADITION brought into the church by Roman Catholics years back.

• Kwadwo 10 years ago

You gave away 4x4, laptops and other valuables as gifts for votes. Stop these window dressing policies, Mahama. You don't fool anyone with these gimmicks.

• Uncle Abrokyire - W'ba 10 years ago

Kwadwo, I think you're right. Essikado chief apparently got a 4X4 and when he criticize the gov't he was shopped. I think father Christmas must end from the gov't side.
    Let's give the gov't the chance to correct its own mis ...

• KOBLA ZEGO 10 years ago

THIS DIRECTIVE WILL GIVE DIARRHEA TO EXECUTIVES WHO MAKE MONIES THROGH HAMPERS OR LIKE SOME ONE SAID PAMPERS. EKU NYAE LOO.

• CAPTAIN BOB 10 years ago

I THINK THE PRESIDENT TOO IS GOING TO HAVE DIARRHEA.

• kom 10 years ago

Seriously i think the president's attention is on irrelevant things. He is either incompetent or thrying hard to please some illiterates.

• Boateng 10 years ago

You want him to fight corruption and when he starts to do something about it you cry faul? Irrelevant?

You think that is what we do here in the USA?

• ATO KWAMENA, USA. 10 years ago

WHAT THE OFFICE OF THE GOVERNMENT IS SAYING IS QUITE IN LINE AND I DON'T SEE WHY PEOPLE SHOULD CRITICIZE IT. THIS GOVERNMENT IS DOING EVERYTHING TO STABILIZE THE ECONOMY AND INSTEAD OF HELPING WE CRITICIZE IT AND THE SAME PEO ...

• nd 10 years ago

ost of these comments make me sad.

• Ghana 10 years ago

Though I did doubt your competence but you are gradually proving us wrong.They have tag you with corruption I pray you will vindicate yourself through your decisions and policies mr president

• Nana Ansong 10 years ago

HE BOUGHT COWS, RICE, SUGAR ETC FOR MUSLEMS WHEN IT WAS RAMADAN NOT TOO LONG AGO WHERE DID HE GET THE MONEY FROM? WHAT IS GOOD FOR THE GOOSE IS GOOD FOR THE GANDER. A COW AS A HAMPER FOR MOSLEMS CAN BE DESCRIBED AS A WALKING ...

• Faith 10 years ago

Good one there!

• sky 10 years ago

shoot and kill this idoit

• agang 10 years ago

Go do it yourself

• WHO CARES 10 years ago

??

• paa kofi 10 years ago

I am not very sure what this P is about,where does the money dash out comes from during campaigning for election, all politicians should stop dashing money out during election period

• JAMES A. 10 years ago

THEN GO GET YOUR BROTHER MONEY HE OWN TO MARCHANT BANK FOR GHANAIANS

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

Three men discuss the Christmas presents they bought for their wives.

The first man says that he bought his wife a vacation home in the Bahamas and one in Jamaica. "That way," he explains, "if she doesn't like one, she can ...

• Nii Adjei 10 years ago

Princewilly!

I like your contributions

• Uncle Abrokyire - W'ba 10 years ago

I think that's a good step if it will be enforced.
    However, a bolder move will be to lay down procedures for what private and individuals can give to ministers, etc
    e.g. the maximum value should not exceed GHc20 and should ...

• CAPTAIN BOB 10 years ago

MAHAMAH PLEASE DON'T BE A DICTATOR.DON'T MAKE RULES THAT WILL AFFECT YOU LATER.IS THIS YOUR BETTER GHANA?SHAME UNTO YOU.TELL YOUR BROTHER TO PAY HIS DEBTS,PERIOD!

• bensala omar 10 years ago

thank u president mahama,u on cors,keep it up

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

"HOLY SPIRIT" AT WORK WHO CAN STOP 'HER'. HAMPERS LEADS TO CORRUPTION.

• shark 10 years ago

clarence you have stealing money out of xmas hampers we are cuttimg down cost. julo awi

• Atta Mills 10 years ago

loose president cannot do anything against his appointees

• shark2 10 years ago

congratulations mr.president we are cutting down cost thank you very much you know the thiefs will complain and critisize you about this.but dont shake at all. we shall definatly get there.may the holy spirit manifest in you ...

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

This president is a joke.

• Whatever 10 years ago

On the basis of this comparison, I give the president thumbs up even though I admit it won't totally solve the problem of festive inducement

• Nyebro 10 years ago

Shark2 or whatever you call yourself, you do not understand. Mahama wants to kill Christianity yet you sit there calling on the Holy Spirit. You better reason properly.What amount of money does'nt go from Government coffers t ...

• Nana Ansong 10 years ago

Hypocrite Mahama Hates Christians When it was Ramadan and Idir Fitr for our Moslem brothers, the presidency donated cows, rice, margarine, koose, toose, rice, oil, beans and all that one can think of but you are now putting a ...

• ABU 10 years ago

Christianity origin of corruption producing corrupt species of humanity.Check and you will see only christians are heading almost all our national institutions with corruption all over the place.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Can you read and find out how Islam enslaved Africans before X'nity came to West Africa? Look at what even moslems are doing to each other in this century. Will you want to live in Somalia, Eritrea,Iraq, Iran or Boko Haram ar ...

• ABU 10 years ago

Likely end to bribery and corruption.

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Not that brainy!

• Kwasi 10 years ago

No name calling. One Ghana, one poeple...Respect each othe, Wiseup we are almost into year 2014 Show respect the to president. Don't agree with him, constructive criticism.

• byt 10 years ago

why if some one say asante nii no body cares, but if some one says pepenii then is a crime...this is simple logic ,grow up humans from the other side

• isaac newton 10 years ago

dus very good attempt keep it up

• .. 10 years ago

THE PRESIDENT SHOULD ALSO BAN THE USE OF PUBLIC FUNDS TO BUY VOTES DURING ELECTIONS. IT IS SUCH MISAPPLICATION OF PUBLIC FUNDS THAT YIELDED THE CURRENT BUDGET DEFICIT AND BROUGHT US TO THE TAX AND HIKE POLICY OF TODAY. COME 2 ...

• KABINBITH 10 years ago

I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN SAYING THAT THIS MAN WAS WAITING FOR THE OPPORTUNITY TO SHOW SOUTHERNERS WHERE POWER LIES. AGYA OFUNFU ATA MILLS GAVE HIM THAT OPPORTUNITY. WHEN HE CAME TO POWER AS A NORTHERNER, THE FIRST THING HE DID WAS ...

• J. ANDERSON 10 years ago

OUR PRESIDENT IS A CHEAP POLITICIAN. I HAVE GIVEN UP 10% MY PAY SO YOU ALSO GIVE UP 2% OF YOUR PAY. NO CHRISTMAS HAMPERS. WHAT ARE THESE COMPARED TO THE HUGE JUDGMENT DEBT THAT GHANA IS FACING?
    MR PRESIDENT, IF I WERE YOU I ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

President Mandela is dead. May his soul rest in peace.

• Mubarak 10 years ago

Some are so ignorant that they don't know that there's a big difference between a northner and a muslim. John is not a muslim name and for the ignoramus they should find out about the religion of the president.

• kofi wayo jr.-rotterdam 10 years ago

Ei, papa yi,if not this,you wouldn,t have said so.christmas hampers?Ei,mr tax man ,put taxes on hampers as well because we are tired of you.it is less than one year since you and your government decided to take ghanaians to t ...

• Jane Street 10 years ago

For sure this Guy will get his hampers through the back door !!!!! Trust me.

• goofy 10 years ago

PRESIDENT MAHAMA IS TRYING SO HAD TO LOOK GOOD BUT EACH WAY HE TURNS HE LOOKS BAD

• Toronto T 10 years ago

This ban was long over due. No country in the world give out free hampers except Ghana. The lazy of them all. What is the meaning of reward with zero work? How can a country depend of foreign donation to pay salaries and give ...

• Kwaapps 10 years ago

...But don't just stop there! Let your presidency be felt, wield that power entrusted you and bring all other rots in the system to a halt! Don't mind what anyone says, just do it.

• Very Good directive 10 years ago

See the amount of foreign exchange we will get if we ban curruption. The implementation problem