You are here: HomeNews2013 12 05Article 294197

Africa needs space scientists

Read Comments Comments (48)

• gYIMMI 10 years ago

NO FOOD TO SURVIVE YOU ARE TALKING OF SPACE SCIENTIST

• Ptolemy 10 years ago

These people attending the African Leadership Conference, the honorable minister included, are so far out of touch with the realities of Africa in general, and Ghana in particular, that they might as well be extra-terrestrial ...

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

You are dead right.Ghanaian politicians are only interested in hearing their own voices in the talkfest forums that delivers nothing but rhetoric.This minister should know by now that only classrooms that are adequately resou ...

• backfire 10 years ago

the minister is a day dreamer. look at his face on the foto and you can see that he dont beleive what he is saying himself. give the people food first.

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

KWAME NKRUMAH INTL. AIRPORT:
    Now there is the Kotoka International Airport attesting to General Kotoka, who was the leader of the 1966 coup. Kotoka is now being honored for distracting Ghana from attaining her vision is now ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author:-Hon. Martin A.B.K. Amidu.

...The Government exercised the latter option when we disagreed over the judgment debt and other Gargantuan crimes. The Government, and my colleague Ministers at the time know that there ...

• Franklin Ofori. 10 years ago

I applaud your readers and their SMART comments. Ghanaian Scientists and the Government must Solve BASIC Problems first. FOOD and Productive Agriculture, HEALTH and Hospitals, Clinics and Laboratories. TOILET-FACILITIES( as i ...

• no mercy 10 years ago

Hallo do you understand what is innovo-
    tion?

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

what do you want and why?

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

another team C player

• Don Blunt 10 years ago

Why must we be an insult to academic degrees?

I humbly suggest to this Dr.(?) to learn how to produce a NAIL, then a SCREW, and maybe a BICYCLE, whilst he is looking on for foreigners to build us TOILETS, GUTTERS and HOUSE ...

• Gonzaga 10 years ago

The continent cannot provide the basic necessities to its citizens: portable water, electricity, sanitation, good road network and this day dreamer, educated fool talking about space science. What a joke!!

• Boateng 10 years ago

The mansions with no road or water mentality! That is how it goes in Ghana. He is thinking about space projects while they live in mansions without streets, electricity to their neighbors, water to their neighbors, toilet ...

• Pancho 10 years ago

Are you serious? Your continent is full of corrupt leaders and thieves and now you wan money spent on what? Space Technology? Please, please, please we can't even provide good drinking water and electricity, let alone food. S ...

• Kofi UK 10 years ago

Well said my brother. These people talk big just to draw attention. They fail to see the basic needs for the people.

• wawa1 10 years ago

hope it get done.all this foolish talks doesnt matter..its a way of moving forward only if it will be done,,

• Don Blunt 10 years ago

But that field is where they can get astronomical bribes without accounting for anything.

• Agyeman 10 years ago

Africa needs roads,real classrooms (not under trees) ,health centers,proper sanitation,clean burning affordable energy to save our forests from charcoal burning and proper shelter unlike our overflowing slums.All that comes w ...

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

Africa needs mosquito net manufacturers. Dr Don Quixote, after under performing as energy minister is hallucinating! Why space? when our future scientists attend tree schools.

• nii 10 years ago

This guy knows what he is talking about.

• edu f 10 years ago

educations first

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

Ghana must seek to engage in the drone technology period for its useful purposes.

We may start to introduce the amateur drone modeling to our high school students.

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A space ship landed in Accra; a space Scientist emerged and asked a passer-by: “How do I get to Flagstaff House?” “Practice, my boy, practice,” came the answer.

NO CITY, REGIONAL PLANNING. NO WATER, ELECTRICITY, ADEQUATE HOSPITALS, ROAD NETWORK, STREET NAMES, STREET LITES, WIDEN TAX BASE IS WEAK...YET, U WANT TO GO TO SPACE?

• KWAME 10 years ago

you are the most stupid educated Ghanaian minister. do you know what we have plentiful in Ghana? Fools, thieves, and corruption. dr. Oteng, seemingly you acquired your doctorate from the University of NEMA, Accra. No wonder N ...

• Gonzaga 10 years ago

African space scientists please give us water and eradicate malaria first, then you can go and live in space. What a bunch of fools.

• kojo darko, Indianapolis 10 years ago

Ah Agya ! adoctor Nkwaseafour dey our country inside, even water to drink is a problem and he talking abt space science. Ape !

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 10 years ago

Africa needs its own space program. Even India has done it for cheap.

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 10 years ago

Start teaching astronomy, astrophysics, etc., in our universities. The African Union has drawn up a continental space program but has not yet implemented it. Africa has to move faster.

• Baaba 10 years ago

We are unable to stop urinating and shitting in our own backyards and we want to go to space? These fools must be dreaming.

• BUGA BUGA ATUGUBA 10 years ago

Dr. oteng Adjei :
    YOU ARE WRONG SUPERLATIVELY. I do not think you are serious. What you are recommending in effect is that Africa should gapingly imitate the West especially USA. What you have failed to realise is that coun ...

• Don Blunt 10 years ago

Beautifully told. I hope he reads, and more important, begins to think

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

GREAT FOR YOUR COMPREHENSIVE ANALYSIS ON THE GROUND DOWN THERE IN GHANA.

WHY WE ARE STILL SHALLOW MINDED AND WHEN SHALL WE CHANGE TO THE BETTTER.

IS NOT A SHAME FOR THE NATION TO HAVE EDUCATED PEOPLE IN THE MIDST OF POV ...

• Danny 10 years ago

We need to learn how to preserve our FOOD for even the next DAY. you talk shit

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

Ghana NEEDS first of ALL people WHO CAN THINK ABOUT SOLUTIONS TO OUR PROBLEMS ...hunger, filth,water and reliable electricity supply,a REAL EDUCATIONAL POLICY TOWARDS DEVELOPMENT.......ON THIS EARTH!!!!!!!
    Space can wait!!

• Pelicles 10 years ago

When it comes to copying for the wrong reason, Africans are the best humans. These so-called "educated elite" are just spewing garbage. Yes, pure garbage just to let people know that they are well educated.

Africa needs s ...

M3KO SPACE....KWASIA. U THINK GOING TO SPACE IS LIKE GOING TO BIMBILA. GO N TEAR THE NIMA GUTTER N COME BACK

Another idiot! Africa needs to be able to feed itself first. We can't even generate enough electricity and you're talking about space. Please use some commonsense!

• Hazor 10 years ago

Is this guy kidding?when was the first time as a Minister of Science and Technology and Innovation met our inventors and innovators parady their inventions and innovation on the parliament parking lot with these folks holding ...

• USMAN 10 years ago

What is this Kukurantumi doctor trying to achieve? Dr Oteng Agyei you are a disgrace to St. Paul's, Kukurantumi.

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

THE LONG TIME WASTED IS GONE. NOW AFRICA NEED SPACE SCIENTISTS. THE POWER OF GOD THE "HOLY SPIRIT," EMPOWER THE AFRICAN SCIENTISTS ON THIS SOLUTION TO BUILD OUR CONTINENT AND MAKE HER GREAT AND STRONGE. AAAA AMEN.

• Karim 10 years ago

Where from all these wild and stupid ideas from our ministers? We are not even achieving basic education and health standards and you are talking about space scientist?

Mr. minister I have a solution for you and all the po ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

FIRST THGINGS FIRST.

WE MUST FIRST BE IN THE POSITION TO PRODUCE ENGINEERING AND NATURAL SCIENCE SCIENTISTS THAT WILL HAVE THE ABILITY TO CREATE DYNAMIC INDUSTRIES, MANUFACTURING,PRODUCTION AND DEVELOPMENT TO STIMULTE ECO ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

OPAYIN HON. MINISTER OTENG-ADJEI.

GENERALLY,RESERACH SHOWS THAT BASIC EDUCATION IS PARAMOUNT TO A NATIONS ABILITY TO DEVELOP AND TO ACHIEVE ECONOMIC AND SUSTAINABILITY TARGETS.

ARE WE ALL THAT NEAR TO THE BASICS,APPLICA ...

• BB Brown 10 years ago

What are Africans going to do there?tell me?have we finish knowing how to feed ourselves? to take care of our environment? then will we be ready.Our bellies are not full and we talking of space.are we going to mess up there ...

• ASUMADU EMESEWOELI, HO, VOLTA REGION 10 years ago

DOES THIS MAN KNOW THE PRIORITIES FACING GHANA TO ENABLE HIM BEING APPOINTED A MINISTER?
    IN THE 1970S WHEN OTHERS WERE GOING TO THE MOON, WE HAD CORNED BEEF, SARDINES, TOILET ROLLS, MILK, BUTTER ETC AS OUR 'ESSENTIAL COMMODI ...

• Butubutu 10 years ago

Dr Kwame Nkrumah is happy to hear Africans talking about moving forward. A visionary who was ahead of his time. At least we are talking about it, that is important. We need leaders across the continent that are smart and altr ...

• PUSSY CONTROL 10 years ago

MAJORITY OF OUR LEADERS DO END UP GRADUATE USELESSLY . I DON'T KNOW THE REASON WHY DR OTENG IS DREAMING ABOUT SPACE SCIENTISTS FIRST WHEN TRULY GHANA DO NEED MORE ENGINEERS TO SOLVE OUR PROBLEMS SUCH AS OUR ROADS , OIL AND G ...