You are here: HomeNews2013 11 27Article 293367

Reduce voting age to 16 – Ras Mubarak

Read Comments Comments (77)

• obroni 10 years ago

As long as there are plenty adults who only know how to vote for a face or along tribal lines, without studying party programs or ideologies please stop this nonsense about voting at 16.

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

Absurd, and one has to ask what are the benefits for lowering the voting age? We live in a nation where even the mature,adult voting group does not fully understand the democratic wisdom for their vote. Another money burning ...

• NDC NKWASEAFO PARTY 10 years ago

FREE EDUCATION WITHOUT VALUE "TANI ABOA"

• RED-SOKOTO-GUDARI 10 years ago

Its sad we have still not out grown our parochial and tribal hatred! Mubarak makes a stupid comment or proposes a stupid idea, your comment has to adrea and chalenge his proposal and idears not his tribe! Grow up please:!

• hermit 10 years ago

Fools will last forever.

• Shabi 10 years ago

Give it to him Sokoto.

Even though it is true that all tribes and societies in Ghana, Africa and elsewhere have shortcomings peculiar to themselves only, it does not make sense to highlight these shortcomings unnecessarily ...

• PHILTY McNASTY 10 years ago

Why wouldn't Mubarak say so, his own prophet married a girl at the age of 9. This Mubarak idiot knows the kids are impressionable, wouldn't know the issues, and can easily be bought with few t-shirts here and there. What a c ...

• RED-SOKOTO-GUDARI 10 years ago

Nation allows under 18 to vote, yet they pay taxi in the form of vAT!What kind of stomach politicians are we grooming now for our nation? I am not under-rating the reasoning of the youth under 18 but to make such a proposal i ...

• www.owafk-africa.com 10 years ago

14,000 Free Scholarships for Africans

www.owafk-africa.com

Click on "what is new"

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

otherwise you wouldn't have made such a suggestion. YOu talk like Sammy WOMAFUNU Awuku - lactogen babies

• AYIGBE MAN 10 years ago

WHICH GOVNMNT OTHER THAN MAHAMA'S NDC WILL APPOINT THIS OPPORTUNISTIC BLOKE TO LEAD THE YOUTH.WHAT IS MUBARAK'S TRACK RECORD FOR THE YOUTH TO COPY?

• Shabi 10 years ago

.....and this nonsense comes immediately after his swearing in ceremony. God help us from now till the end of his term.

But what at all is wrong with these NDC people?They mean there is not one single intelligent person in ...

• Legality 10 years ago

Sixteen years olds are children by international conventions that Ghana is signatory to. That is why they are immured against a lot of issues in regards to legality. Voting a legal issue, something the NDC people are for a jo ...

• SHAKAMORA 10 years ago

agya moman yenka wagyimi paa

• Kwaku 10 years ago

By our population statistic we are even far too many on the electoral register,some of us will prefer a reduction in the list.Why should we have over 13 million representing 25 million people?

• BANKER 10 years ago

13 Million representing 24-25million is far electoral quota. The opinion of half the people cannot possibly be such an obscure thing.

• BANKER 10 years ago

13 Million representing 24-25million is an absolutely fair electoral quota. The opinion of half the people cannot possibly be such an obscure thing.

• Al Hajj AAA Rashiid(OH.USA) 10 years ago

Ghana paaaa, what is wrong with mother Ghana? Freedom of speech has become the freedom for every one to air his/her ignorance.

• KWAME, BELGIUM 10 years ago

Please Mr.Ras, use your senses. How do you understand adult age? Why 16 years? Please, tell us something better than this.

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

One day Little Timmy comes home from school yelling, "Daddy! Daddy! Today at school we had to say our ABC's and I was the only one in my class who knew them all! The teacher said I did really good!" "Well that's great, son," ...

• LARYEAH 10 years ago

STOP THE NONSENSE MY BROTHER!

• Kay 10 years ago

Kids are kids. Let the children grow and don't involve them in your stupid political games. You think you can use them, take advantage of them for your political gimmicks. Shame on you Mubarak or whatever you call yourself

• Natural Mystic 10 years ago

Are these the type of people presiding over the 'development' of Ghana?

• James Kwao 10 years ago

People like these who were fully educated by the people taxes and still have their children enjoying free education will never think deep. How many children under 16 legally work. I advise Ras to rather think about how to ...

• Joojo Obu-Mends 10 years ago

Nonsense

• NAKED 10 years ago

so when are you going to learn sense you always spew nonsense everywhere, the people who did that resides in Ashante region so probably they are Asante’s right? so only Asante's people live in Ashante region right? no wonde ...

• george 10 years ago

You guys wants everybody to vote.

• Isaac 10 years ago

There is wisdom in what Ras said. If at 16 you can work and pay tax why can't you vote?

• Dhuruwah 10 years ago

Ras said if they can have sex at 16, they can VOTE? At 16, what kind of work can they do and pay tax to the Government? I don't know where Ras got that one from. Maybe he had a job at 16 and paid tax. Who Knows

• DAN 10 years ago

at 16 years you only work for 3-4 hours per night after school! In america you attend school for 12 years not including kindergaden and Pre-k now..So most kids are senior high school till 17 and idiots till 18.

• haha 10 years ago

Did mother Ghana gave birth to dis man?

• Yaro de Mann 10 years ago

Please Ras, stop this nonsense of voting at 16, where in the world do 16year olds vote. These are the people ruling Oman Ghana.

• Objectiveman 10 years ago

Empower them with educations and food not voting rights. View funny

• Alex 10 years ago

Who told this guy children of 15 years work to pay taxes in this country? He is a stupid fool.

• NANA USED BAWUMIA 10 years ago

ONLY 3 COUNTRIES IN THE WORLD HAVE THE MINIMUM VOTING AGE PEGGED AT 16. THEY ARE BRAZIL, CUBA, AND NICARAGUA. ALL OTHER NATIONS HAVE A HIGH MINIMUM AGE. THERE IS NO NEED TO LOWER THIS AGE YET. RAS MUBARAK SHOULD RATHER THINK ...

• mma 10 years ago

We are a country and therefore can intiate something also for others to follow. Not so? In sports, how often do we hear "ghana was the first to.." Why can't this prdie be shown somewhere else?

• DAN 10 years ago

no need to vote you know the winner already, the communist! He thinks it will be even easier to steal the vote with ndc kiddys voting for 5 cedi or a t-shirt like somebody else said..Instead of clean water, lights on 24 hours ...

• bashings 10 years ago

are u serious, what is this nonsense? how can 16 years person decide for him or herself?

• mma 10 years ago

Many 16-year-olds are a lot more inteligent than most of those contributing on this social media. Believe me!

• Dhuruwah 10 years ago

MMA, you are right, I know a lot of 16year olds who are smarter than you, especially.

• A.Sulley 10 years ago

Another criminal. This guy is not serious .

• Dagabie 10 years ago

Ras Mubarak is visionery, he thinks ahead and is analystical. I support your view.

• Jato P 10 years ago

I do not agree with this suggestion

• TEE 10 years ago

You see, they brought such a northerner from the north to say 15 yrs old work and pay tax. These Northerners and Ewes are a extreme problems for us native Ghanaians. Well very soon they will soon be packing because the pres ...

• Dhuruwah 10 years ago

I hope you don't mean the dwarf. He will never, ever be a president.

• JOHNSON 10 years ago

There are senior officers who have worked with the Authority from NYOC through NYC to NYA now, please RAS, consult some of your regional co-ordinators and other senior staff before you make pronouncements, because they have s ...

• FELIX 10 years ago

NONSENSE

• KK 10 years ago

Foolish man! So that u can rig more. Hopeless and shameless dude

• VAVIOTO 10 years ago

IT IS A PITY THAT ANYONE GETS UP TO SAY ANYTHING. THE VOTING AGE SHOULD RATHER BE RAISED TO 20 INSTEAD OF EVEN 18. HOW CAN PEOPLE WITHOUT MATURED CONSCIENCE BE ASKED TO VOTE? EVEN ADULTS CANNOT VOTE PROPERLY HOW MUCH MORE ...

• AS NEW AMBASSADOR TO NIGERIA 10 years ago

THE REASON: IMMATURITY

NOW I SEE WHY! LORD HAVE MERCY ON GHANA!

• FOYOOSIS 10 years ago

Which tax do they pay? Have you ever paid any tax yourself in Ghana?

Give us a break, dude. If you've been handed the wanton, start planning to amass wealth since that is what Ghanaians put in certain positions can do best ...

• JOSEPH MBA 10 years ago

that is not a good move.

• KWAME=USA 10 years ago

Even in the advanced world people under 18 are not allowed to vote how much more a developing country like Ghana where even the existing facilities have not been developed.Suggest better things that will results in real growt ...

• kontonkyi, belgium 10 years ago

What kind of stupidity is this? Where in the world would you see this? only in the mediocare NDC government.

• ASIEDU NKETIA 10 years ago

Go and ask the village JSS students who cannot read or write to vote for AKONFEM MAHAMA. They are the vulnerable the wicked politicians can take advantage of

• ASUOYEBOA 10 years ago

YOU CAN STILL INVOLVE THE 16-YEAR OLDS WITHOUT REDUCING TEH VOTING AGE TO 16. FOOLISH AND CHEAP TALK. THESE ARE THE KIND OF PEOPLE RULING GHANA. THEY HAVE NO SOLUTIONS AND ALTERNATIVES THAN TO TAKE THE SHORT-CUT AND STUPID ...

• Kwesi Agbenu 10 years ago

Ras Mubarak has just been appointed. as the NY Coordinator. He should sit down and look at existing Youth Policy Documents and make comprehensive study review and suggestions.HE should stop his propaganda piecemeal approach ...

• King 10 years ago

You are the reason why such a proposal is stupid and does not need to be entertained.The youth empowerment is initiated at a wrong level,thus giving them the ministerial position instead of grooming them till they mature is n ...

• Nii Oshiki 10 years ago

How can you even think about this , fool.Say anything stupid behind closed doors to your wife (wives) and not to the good people of Ghana. You are a big disgrace to whoever educated you.

• wigit guit 10 years ago

also defilement from 16 to 14

• Emperor 10 years ago

B'cus u married a 16yr old girl u think u are smart but we got u

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

While in the playground with his friend, Little Johnny noticed that Jimmy was wearing a brand new, shiny watch. "Did you get that for your birthday?" asked Little Johnny. "Nope." replied Jimmy. "Well, did you get it for Chris ...

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

So that they can collect those 16- and 17-year olds from the dust to go and vote for them, while the same age groups in the south are in school?

• ernest 10 years ago

what?

• CINDY 10 years ago

Mubarak should also advocate for the eligibility age of the president to be reduced to 16 years after all if 16 years can vote then it means he is matured enough to stand for the presidency.

• Koffi 10 years ago

You just an idiot, what are your reasons?

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

There is not single support in the forum for the suggestion to allow 16 year olds to vote. This would represent an opportunity to take advantage of the immature minds of the 16 year olds who do not know any better. with such ...

• Ama Buoh 10 years ago

So that they can manipulate election results even more; buy votes from gullible and hard-pressed youngsters. Why don't we reduce the voting age to 14, 12, 10, 8, 6, or 5? So stupid, when we have not fixed the problems with th ...

And these are the leaders of the country? God have mercy on us. Why did he think 16 will be okay and no other number, say 12? Ghana is in a deep shit!

• ANI 10 years ago

THIS FUCKEN NORTHERN FAGOTS AND THEIR AKAN ASSOCIATES ARE MAD. FUCKEN PEDOS, THE PRESIDENT IS BI SEXUAL WHAT ELSE DO U EXPECT? EVEN USA BRITAIN ECT DONT HAVE THAT RULE ONCE THEY GET THEM TO VOTE THEN THEY CAN SAY THEY CAN G ...

• Omenempentoa 10 years ago

As always, I was enthralled when another young person was appointed to a key position, but as always, I am worried that that confidence expressed by leaders in young people will be whittled away through poorly-thought out sta ...

• Baba ISSA 10 years ago

Listen to the goat-face Mubarak and the shit coming from his stinking mouth. Listen to his wrapped and stupid idea. Even in America where under 18s are allowed to work and pay INCOME TAX, no one has dared to come up with su ...

• AKONFEM MAHANI 10 years ago

MAHAMA ATOPAHENE IS A FOOL,PERIOD

• Kobby 10 years ago

This is madness. When they eat and they are full, they open their big mouths and say such foolish things. Frivolous thinker. Madness.

• Kwasi Owusu 10 years ago

So that you fools NDC can steal again Mmponkye.

• DAN 10 years ago

even usa its 18...

• Kwaame 10 years ago

You are a moron just wasting our tax revenues.