You are here: HomeNews2013 11 21Article 292749

Danger! Ghana could lose “oil war” with Ivory Coast

Read Comments Comments (90)

• cha 10 years ago

Yes they don't have the skill and qualified people to even secure Ghana oil- mahama must go

• papi 10 years ago

What has NDC and MAHAMA got to do with maritime dispute between us and our neighbours. you should be ashamed of your comment as an educated person. this issue is not about partisan politics. if you dont know something please ...

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

IF WE DO NOT ACT PROFESSIONALY AND CONTINUE TO POLITICISE EVERYTHING WE STAND TO LOOSE. WHAT DOES THE MINISTER KNOW? HE IS JUST A POLITICAL APPOINTEE WITH NO SPECIAL KNOWN SKILLS IN THIS MATTER. THE LAW OF THE SEA IS VERY CLE ...

• consider 10 years ago

in fact francophone countries are the main problem Africa is having in development. Anglo-phone countries cut every relationships with their colo masters,but devilish french people still being colonized by france ruins and ri ...

• WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET 10 years ago

Free Internet tv streaming serving Ghanaians in the diaspora.

WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET Brings You Live TV stations From Ghana.
    GTV, TV3, GTV Sports+, Adom TV Live, Joy News TV Live,
    Metro TV Ghana, e.tv And More. Watch You ...

• www.owafk-africa.com 10 years ago

African Scholarships
    14000 Scholarships for African Students
    www.owafk-africa.com

• WISE-TALK,UK 10 years ago

halaluya!!it will be so sweet to see my enemies dieing helpless infront of me with my coro coro eyes''go Ivory Coas''war now''kill all the thieves ghana now,but incase u start the war agaist ghana pls let ur dogs rape all gha ...

• KK 10 years ago

May u die before your time. Nigerian, WISE TALK, UK, AKA NEMESIS, UK. MAY THE GOD OF THUNDER STRIKE U AND YOUR ENTIRE FAMILY, KWASEA TO

• jimy somer 10 years ago

Frace never win any war,france lost all wars.Hitler with 100 soldiers captured the hole frensh army one nite. Degaul run away to england. Tell ouattara and france we are ready for this war.this war will help opposition in i v ...

• readi 2 dye 10 years ago

france aint shit. its about time we take some respect.

• william 10 years ago

Please seek more info on this befote you get excited! The info is out there. Rather simplistic to say one group of African countries is the problem!

• j0eY L0nd0n 10 years ago

You have finally hit the nail as the saying goes a lie can be told several times and people will believe it. Right sounded guys who won't buy your news paper com fabricated lies are wasting their times on your garbage article ...

• NOAH SEDOR 10 years ago

SOME PEOPLE TALK LIKE THEY ARE A DAY OLD BORN.

THINK! THINK! THINK PLEASE, NDC HAS DONE NOTHING WRONG

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 10 years ago

Ghanaians must have a war for us to come back to our senses. Some of our leaders are milking the country too much because of the oil we recently discovered.

• Chastity 10 years ago

Wicked Ouattara & Equally wicked france!

• kwasi 10 years ago

AND NOT THIS QUATTARA THE LOASER THAT ALL HE IS TRYING TO DO ,IS STEAL OUR LIGITIMATE OIL FIELDS. WAKE UP NDC WAKE UP MAHAMA STOP TURNING OVER REFUGEES THAT LIVE IN GHANA THAT OPPOSE THIS EVIL MAN QUATTARA

• MARCUS 10 years ago

Mr cha,please do not politize this boundary issuse is very serious of national intrest which need every ghanaian support ,anyway did NPP had the skills and qualified people when they sold ghana telecomm for 97 years which is ...

• cha 10 years ago

marcus u see your stupidity? Just because i stated NDC lack the qualified people to handle this serious issue against ivory coast doesnt mean am NPP. Why cant Ghanaians critise any party without belonging to any party?

• papi 10 years ago

And you CHA, was it not this same party NPP u so much love and support that said late Prez ATTA MILLS should send our armed forces to go and fight for Ouattara during their war. were u not the same ppl shout on top of ur voic ...

congratulations CJ, finally those with moral integrity muster the courage to face down these ndc pepeni and ayigbe criminals that oppress us Akans in our own country. pepeni has thwarted justice so many times since the time b ...

• THOMPSON 10 years ago

That why keep on posting every where, this is not about politics,but since you can put sentences to make your own comments you keep posting same old naaa..

• noordeen 10 years ago

You, are a very big fool, worthless useless, uncivilized, uneducated barbarian homo sepien grass chopper idiot. Do u think Ghana is for Akans?How long will it take you to relies that, tribalism is nothing but evil? Hey mr ...

• parker 10 years ago

who are the akans indeed,I feel ashame to call myself akan becos of these useless and stupid comments from the so call akans

• Akans Prophecies 10 years ago

This is what they always say! For your insanity to realise that every tree has a root and its branches. Akan is an identification of a brotherhood genesis, socially together by their language, customs and tradition.These have ...

• k.k 10 years ago

yes we pepeni will always rule you,idiot akan.

• Nii 10 years ago

You are such an unintelligent person. so shallow and backward in your thinking. It seems your parents did not tell you enough of history and if they told you what you just said they themselves may have been fooled by their an ...

• nii 10 years ago

very well said bro.

• NOAH 10 years ago

PEOPLE LIKE YOU SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN PART OF HUMAN RACE. YOU BELONG TO THE ANIMAL WORLD. ANIMALS HAVE BETTER IQ THAN YOU, COCONUT BRAIN

• Gaius HO 10 years ago

Stop comentin like a FOOL cha, some of u are too politicaly mineded that u try to drag everything issue into the political arrena.What has HE Mahama got to do with this.This matter need to handed diplomatically.

• NICHOLAS 10 years ago

Cha and people who think like him must be realistic in the manner they have been criticizing Prez Mahama and his government.

The fact that Akufo-Addo and the NPP claimed Prez Mahama stole the election

• May God save Ghana, Amen 10 years ago

In future Ivory Coast may claim that the entire Ghana belongs to them.
    OMG!! After our cocoa it's now our oil, which & what next??

• Kwami 10 years ago

Ivory Coast should claim the oil field
    b'cos we dont know what Mahama and his people are doing with the oil money.It is going into the pockets of few people including Tsatsu Tsikata.

• Templar 10 years ago

Another Fool

• Kwaku 10 years ago

Ah Kwami you get sense papapaa let them hand over all the oil field to Ivory Coast,these crooks call NDC will waste the money.Even if Bill Gate gives all his wealth to John Mahama he will still go for more loans.

• GHANANI 10 years ago

This is what we expect from the NPP and their supporters.After all Akuffo-Addo is a friend of Ouattara and supported the forcible removal of Gbagbo from power to pave the way for Ouattara's presidency.NPP and their supporters ...

• Sam coker Ghana ba ba USA 10 years ago

why do these french colonies in Africa always want to pose troble? Togo, during Col. IK Achampong era, tired doing the same thing with our Akosombo dam, and now Ivory Coast is also doing the same mistakes.
    The only option no ...

• Paa Tee 10 years ago

Where was Ivory coast when Ghana was busy searching for oil years back from Rawlings to Kuffour time? Assuming we didn't discover oil, will they even have the knowledge to dream of oil? after stealing our cocoa, I don't blame ...

• YEBOPOWER 10 years ago

Ghanaian ministers don't know anything about geographical coordinated demarcating an oil field, This Fulani minister has poor negotiation skill and he will further deepen the problems Ghana already has. With such disputes , w ...

• torgbegah 10 years ago

hmmmmm

• GHANABA 10 years ago

The problem with us is that, Ivory Coast knows we don't have any leader in the country aside money chopper Mahama and his baby money launderers.

• Ben Cool 10 years ago

After getting rid of ( Laurent Gbagbo ) with the Help of FRANCE , BRITAIN and AMERICA , ALASSANE WATARA alias THE MOSSI MAN OF WAGADOUGOU wants Half of GHANA ..WEALTH ..by FORCE.Either we like it or not this Guy is well known ...

• TEX 10 years ago

THIS IS THE REASON WHY THE FRENCH NAVY EMBARKED ON SPYING GHANA'S MARITIME COMPETENCE UNDER THE PRETEXT OF JOINT NAVAL TRAINING WITH ITS GHANAIAN COUNTERPART (GHANA NAVY).BE EXTRA SMART,GHANA NAVY.

• OLIVER TWIST 10 years ago

The French don't need joint exercises to be able to know the capacity of Ghana's Navy.

They have spy drones and enough intelligence avenues to assess that. Also, your politicians are always ready and willing to divulge any ...

• Nii Armah 10 years ago

And I was shocked the last time when I heard that the oil companies have to buy Fresh water from Ivory cost and Our authorities are sitting there and watching them do so whilst our revenue is leaked into their economy. And th ...

• arnold 10 years ago

Are Ghanaians intelligent people ?

• Wofa Koo 10 years ago

There we go! lack of professional and quality leadership from NDC will subsequently annihilate Ghana as they have a poor and weak liaison with the Western world.Ivory Coast back by mighty France with UN support will win any t ...

• TS OTWEN BIN 10 years ago

We shall all bear the pain for allowing NDC to lead Ghana.

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

GHANA SHOULD HAVE SUPPORTED GBAGBO TO STAY IN POWER.WHAT DO YOU EXPECT FROM A BURKINA FASSO MAN WHOSE WIFE IS WHITE AND PRESIDENT OF THE IVORY COAST?
    IT WAS THE SAME FRENCH PUPPETS WHO BUILD THE DAM IN BURKINA FASSO TO CAUS ...

• PEACE 10 years ago

DO U READ THIE EWE KILLERS

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

YOUR MOTHER & FATHER.

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

This is going to expose the nickel and dime lawyers in Ghana who have never won any meaningful case in Ghana more or less practice their craft outside Ghana but cannot wait to get hold of a microphone to talk trash about memb ...

• Abba 10 years ago

TO THE ORDINARY PEOPLE IN GHANA THE OIL DESCOVERY IS USELESS BECAUSE IT HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS.

• Offei dodoo 10 years ago

Ghana must wake now.

• kwasi 10 years ago

THIS QUATTARA IS BAD NEWS GHANA MUST
    STOP HANDING OVER TO HIM PEOPLE THAT OPPOSE HIM SINCE THIS QUATTARA DONT APPRICATE IT AND HE IS DOING LOOKING FOR WAYS TO STEAL GHANA LIGITIMATE OIL FIELDS.

• DOUBLE B 10 years ago

Ghana should militarized its boundaries as a matter of policy and in the name of national security

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

The Akan's npp party is behind this. The President must put these npp tribal group in check.

• OKOE 10 years ago

I SAID IT ELSEWHERE. GHANA MUST SEEK HELP FROM THE CANADIANS BECAUSE THEY HAVE THE REQUISITE EXPERIENCE TO GIVE GHANA IN THIS DISPUTE WITH IVORY COAST. THEY HAVE A CASE BETWEEN THE COUNTRIES BORDERING THE ARTIC SEA. OUR PEOP ...

• Nii Armah 10 years ago

Masa what are you talking about? half of Canada is French Dont talk about what you dont Know. In my Opinion all we have to do is escalate the situation. Simple put up a military blockade of our maritime borders simple what ar ...

• SHALOM 10 years ago

The military blockade should not be intended for possible war, please, but just to protect our territorial waters. Ivorians and Ghanaians are historically blood-brothers so we need not fight each other. Diplomacy is the solut ...

• Seth, UK 10 years ago

Whilst I agree with you, I also have the view that we live in 'another' world today where some historic successes cannot be alluded to as strategy for advancement. This issue must be approached tactically, in the sense of mut ...

• Coldwater 10 years ago

the boundary is such that both countries should have joint venture in the oilfield.

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago

Good for those ghanaians who supported Ouattara and the French to remove Gbagbo and install their puppet Ouattara as the president of the Ivory Coast.The imperialists knew why they wanted Ouattara to be the president of the I ...

• Nii Armah 10 years ago

Now just look at the way things are going we have our local content laws we put it in place and these fools starts their nonsense. Simple we look for people who can help fuck this French Honestly we get the Iranians we would ...

France joined Ghana Navy for exercise, again how can France be soo good to Ghana?,North,W,E now Sea!...

• Nii Armah 10 years ago

Sometimes I wonder who are the people on the corridors of our Military. I have always been saying this that, We shall see the real materials for the Military and the defense institution when a war break and a war from my esti ...

• Concern Citizen 10 years ago

When NDC Government are LOOTING AND SHARING. What benefit do derive from this SO CALLED OIL.

We NEED NPP.

• NOKWARE 10 years ago

Of course we do not expect the NPP which is a puppet of the imperialists to care.After all you supported Ouattara and the French to remove Gbagbo from power.

• HABLUTA SENYO 10 years ago

IF IT COMES TO WAR WE SHALL USE THE UNEMPLOYED ASHANTES TO FIGHT IVORY COAST

• nii 10 years ago

hahahahahahahaha. u have said bro

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Or your mothers pussy.

• SHALOM 10 years ago

NPP regime struck the oil for Ghana. Ivory Coast are now eye-red and using all legal and diplomatic means to claim this God-given resouces from Ghana. Now NDC is in government so onus is on them to protect Ghana's assets from ...

• jimy somer 10 years ago

I remember the bacassi war between Nigeria and cameroon.Anytime the found oil in any anglophone country near to francophone country france will start saying the oil is for the francophone.Ghana have to be very carefull of Fra ...

• KWESI 10 years ago

LOOKING FOR SERIOUS PEOPLE TO WORK IN AUSTRALIA AND THE UK.
    WE NEED SKILLED AND UNSKILLED ALIKE. BUT APPLICANTS MUST BE ABLE TO EXPRESS THEMSELVES IN THE QUEENS LANGUAGE. ACCOMMODATION AND FOOD WOULD BE PROVIDED.THE PRICE FO ...

• NICMAN@ATL 10 years ago

now shallow minded Ghanaians remember ATTA MILLS now that we cannot trust these kable people who learn everything form GHANA. THERE IS NO OIL ON THEIR SIDE THAT IS WHI THE DISPUTE. THEY ARE USING JESUS MENTALITY ON GHANAIAN ...

• Woman's wisdom 10 years ago

NDC the stupid criminal party came only to destroy, steal, loot, vandalize, and loose all state owned property to the outside world. NPP came to discover oil. NDC came to let it go. They themselves have stolen almost everythi ...

• OMANBA 10 years ago

Who told you NPP discovered oil in Ghana? You are truly ignorant.

• nii 10 years ago

There goes that EVIL France again.
    We should CUT diplomatic ties with France

• Busy Bee 10 years ago

Should Ivory Coast secure the oil rights, Ghana should mobilize for an all out war!Ghana, Oseee Yeeei!

• Scofield. UCC. 10 years ago

Ohooo, Alhassan Outtarah, is that the case? After you've settled on the throne of Gbagbon, with the support of France, You're even trying Ghanaians with that support once more? Very well, I bet you, Tamale Bawah barraks alone ...

• OSAAMA BELADIN 10 years ago

WE ARE COMING TO HOME FOR WAR AGAINST IVORY COAST

• NICHOLAS 10 years ago

doesn't mean that Akufo-Addo could have performed excellently if he had been given opportunity.

The NPP and its' supporters have now developed the notoriety of criticizing anything NDC. Doing so will not help the NPP to co ...

• MY PISTOL NEVER JAM 10 years ago

GHANA DO NEED INTERNATION LAWYERS TO HELP THEM WIN THEIR CASE .

• Dr Red Hot 10 years ago

This dumb NDC gov't is selling Ghana short

• Lin 10 years ago

When all of this dies down check to see who wins. Will it be Ivory Coast, Ghana, or outside foreign interests?
    Think about it. Just saying.

• peki tumu 10 years ago

GHANA WILL DO WELL TO ALSO START TO ORGANIZE ITS LOBBYES BASED ON THE BRITISH AND IRISH gOVERNMENTS

• Joe Black 10 years ago

Sack the minister for his fumbling.

• kj 10 years ago

Don't be silly. No doubt France is the culprit here as usual with their brown trousers, rude and big stealers. After stealing from Gaddafi, now they want to look down to west africa. Nonsense - if they think the oil is their ...

• ISSAKA ISSAH 10 years ago

Ghana can not will never lose this case. i advice every ghanaian who have knowledge in this area to show up, and lets all as one fight a gud course, this is not about NDC, NPP matter. so Ghanaian lets wise up and stop giving ...

• Justman 10 years ago

WE MUST ADMIT THAT WE OUR CIVIL SERVICE IS NOT AS EFFICIENT AS IVORY COAST.SINCE THE 80'S WHEN WE ARE STRUGGLING IVORIANS WERE SUCKING THE OIL FROM GHANA WATERS.WHEN AfDB WANT TO RELOCATE FROM IVORY COAST TO GHANA IT IS OUR ...

• The Trucker 10 years ago

Beef up the navy. As I have always pointed out Africa's worse enemy is France, a country whose predatory activities on our continent is legendary. France has always fomented strife, division and conflict in order to promote i ...