You are here: HomeNews2013 11 16Article 292160

Ghana faces imminent implosion - Kofi Bentil warns

Read Comments Comments (119)

• MRI 10 years ago

I AM A GHANAIAN WHO LIVES IN THE US, MR BENTIL HAS SPOKEN. GIVEN THE PRESENT STATE OF AFFAIRS IN GHANA, WHERE THE POLITICAL CLASS AND THEIR CRONIES ARE THE ONLY ONES ENJOYING WITHOUT IMPUDENCE THE SHARED WEALTH OF OUR DEAR C ...

• moyo 10 years ago

This group thinks they know everything. They always create the impression Ghana is in a war zone with their pseudo policy think tank. They very very useless.

• Swapna Guduru 10 years ago

Moyo,

Whatever you have against IMANI, just reflect on what Bentil is saying and analyze its substance. Tell me which society has known any peace when a large section of its population has been grossly marginalized?

• AFUA 10 years ago

that is the nature of NDCS never respecting i pray they will be wipe out of ghana .brainless ,greedy fools ,JUST BORROWING.

• GREEDY BASTARDS 10 years ago

SOMETIMES WHEN REAL ISSUES ARE BEING DISCUSSED,WE HAVE PEOPLE WHO HAVE SWORN TO BE PERPETUAL BOOT LICKERS,PRAISE SINGERS COME IN TO SPIN ISSUES.BUT REMEMBER GHANA'S POPULATION IS ABOUT 26MILLION IF BARELY 5MILLION VOTED FOR N ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

GHANA NEWS LIVE ON TV3, UTV Ghana, Metro TV, TV AFRICA, JOY NEWS, GTV, ADOM TV, Sports TV AND, MOVIES, BEST GHANA-NIGERIA MOVIES, LOCAL TWI MOVIES PLUS
    OVER 7500 TV and RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM plus LIVE ...

• The 10 years ago

Mr Kofi Bentil thanks for this, Ghana must wake-up and be counted. We the citizens must dictate to the politicians how we want to be governed, not they governing us the way they feel. We have sat down to allow politics become ...

• Paa Tee 10 years ago

ARE YOU INCITING PEOPLE TO TAKE UP ARMS AND DISTURB THE PEACE IN THE COUNTRY. IF YOU HAVE NOTHING GOOD TO OFFER, SHUT UP!!!

• Amegaxoxo 10 years ago

Quotable Quotes: "We reserve the right to mismanage our own affairs"
    Remember?,that was a speech by Osagyefo Dr.Kwame Nkrumah on the eve of our political independence.
    Another one: "We prefer Self Government with danger t ...

• francis 10 years ago

and ghanaians shouted hooray!! if you have a bunch of people who don't think yet managed to find themselves political voice called spokes persons of government, that is what happen to such country. what's agaga business in go ...

• MALAM TULLAH 10 years ago

AN ARTICLE FROM A VERY SENSIBLE INDIVIDUAL.
    OUR SOCIETY IS TOO DIVIDED AND TO SURVIVE, ONE HAS TO GO INTO POLITICS. THIS IS THE ONLY AVENUE THERE IS TO MAKE MONE TO SUPPORT A FAMILY.

INDIVIDUALS WITH GOOD QUALIFICATIONS ...

• Baby 10 years ago

Is time we think of GHANA

• Animal Farm 10 years ago

"All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others"

• Joe 10 years ago

Your are the stupid idiot who knows nothing. At least they know somthing. Learn something you ignorant fool.

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

The man is pointing out the filifili truth and you are spewing this bs about imani this imani that.

It does not matter if this came from a horse's rear end.

You are the reason these stupid politicians are sucking ev ...

• jas 10 years ago

He is telling the truth. you think he is useless??????????? wait and see hmmmmmmm lack of knowledge!!!!!!!!!!!

• Abu 10 years ago

Hatred for organizations without taking some time to ponder over issues raised by them is what is killing this country. My brother, if you sit back and think carefully you will regret your action of insulting these great scho ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Though Mr Kofi Bentil is raising a very important issue, he is totally wrong in blaming the middle class for not ensuring that the right thing is done in Ghana. The fact is that the middle class has never been the watchdog fo ...

• SARPONG 10 years ago

As usual, you have analysed the middle class very well. The middle class in any society are usually very content in their lives. These are usually the educated people who are mostly professionals with good careers. They usual ...

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

The working class is the same as the middle class in Ghana and Imani's comments are addressed to this class. You have attempted to define the two groups but in Ghana, professionals are the working class as well as the middle ...

• Kponyo 10 years ago

Thank you, thank you Kofi Ata. Brilliant analysis. Your brief explanation of the dynamics of history and the dynamics of political evolution has relegated the false posture of Bentil to the level of a terminally illiterate, b ...

• francis 10 years ago

trash, gibberish, rubbish, garbage,drivel,scrap!!!

• Araba Stamp 10 years ago

I donot beleive moyo understood what he read here.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

It's quite amazing how quickly they can find their voice when their pay master is no longer running the affairs of the country. Where were IMANI during Kufuor's abysmal and “kalabulism” eight years? Suddenly, there they p ...

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

What vicky Hammah said represents the MISSION STATEMENTS of 99.99% of those who call themselves politicians in this country. The examples are many. In Dr Nkrumah's time, Kwaku Baako's father and his fellow ministers LOOTED. T ...

• PHILIP LONDON 10 years ago

THE JUNE 4TH AND 31ST DECEMBER REVOLUTION WERE USELESS PEOPLE WERE MURDERED FOR NOTHING. THEREFORE RAWLINGS SHOULD BE ARRESTED FOR CELEBRATING THESE EVENTS.

• J. ZAGULU 10 years ago

EMPTY BOTTLE can not produce fluid apart from air unless it is VACUUM SPACE.
    Mr. Bentzil, the Master of PROBITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY said on the loud speakers in 1981 PNDC coup, "GIVE ME TWO YEARS TO REVAMP GHANA ECONOMY. IF I ...

• Afua 10 years ago

Well done, how can we stop calling these people honorables.

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

I am scarred after reading your comments. I am frightened indeed!

• Swapna Guduru 10 years ago

Professor H. Kwasi Prempeh wrote about this in a similar fashion about ten years ago on Ghanaweb. Ghana has truly gone the wrong path by its gross marginalization of a huge section of the population. This is surely a recipe f ...

• John Abekah 10 years ago

I wish this becomes a reality. That politician are barred from seeking treatment abroad at the expense of the tax payer.I wish it becomes law.I have always thought about this.They will then think about improving our system wh ...

Do not expect any change to come from the very people who are the essential beneficiaries of the status quo.

Do you think the very politicians will pass or support laws to be passed that are against their self interest a ...

The bottom line is just that Ghana is ruled by fools for fools.

The nonsense and bull shiiit tolerated in Ghana by Ghanaians is unlike any other country on this planet.

How in the world the people of a country ca ...

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

Those rulling us are THIEVES not fools

NOT CLEAR ABOUT PARTY POLITICS IN GHANA SO FORGINE MY IGNORANCE RE P/NDC

I KNOW THE TWO MAJOR PARTIES ARE NDC & NPP. AND I HOPE YOU ARE NOT PINNING THE BLAME ON THE NDC.

BOTH PARTIES ARE FULL OF CROOKS AND THIS HAS BEEN ...

ALL IT TAHES IS FOR ONE BRAVE DUDE TO ORGANISE A FEW FIGHTERS. BY GOD IT WILL HAPPEN - USE THE ARMED ROBBERS & TURN THEM INTO GOOD USE - INSTEAD OF ROBBING INDIVIDUAL CITIZENS, ORGANISE THEM TO FIGHT GOVERNMENT CORRUPTION.

• J. ZAGULU 10 years ago

CAN BLACKMAN GOVERN A COUNTRY, DO THE RIGHT THING, HAVE A COMMON SENSE AND GENERAL INTEREST NOT SELFISH INTEREST, LOVE HIS NEIGHBOUR, TREAT HIS FELLOW HUMAN BEING AS HIMSELF? Then what would make our difference for ONE TO BE ...

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

Yes it is unbelievable because there are so many branches of this so-called NDC around the world and none of them is speaking out against the destruction of their country by themselves. I bet you, they are from specific tribe ...

• Kwesi 10 years ago

Ghanaians have the mouth to make loud talks but can't do anything. In a country where everything has become political and polarised, nothing will happen in such country. Free press in Ghana and so what? Go to Rwanda which wen ...

• jas 10 years ago

well said Mr Bentil. I hope the politicians will read and make note of that!

• poluwaski 10 years ago

Well Said, very taught provoking. Mr. Bentil you came out so well. A word to the wise is enough. God bless you.

• NAKED 10 years ago

Generation of fools when will you think like human? so do ghanaians think and reason as well? no wonder they called us sub sahara africans we will continue to be slaves to the east and the west till thy kingdom come because w ...

• New Fan of Blakk Rasta 10 years ago

Then you goad people towards violence and slaughter! Spreading fear and panic. May you fall into your own pit.

• JOMO 10 years ago

THESE SPECIAL MASSIVE ECONOMIC AND OTHER PRIVILEGES ENJOYED BY GHANA'S ENTIRE SUCCESIVE POLITICAL "LEADERSHIP", OR, "LOOTERSHIP" IF YOU LIKE, STARTED FROM NKRUMAH'S CPP ERA.

LONG-SFFERING GHANAIANS ARE NOW WAKING UP TO THE ...

• Honestman 10 years ago

Kofi Benthel, his IMANI and all evil minded Ghanaians will die and leave Ghana. And like our beloved late president JEA Mills used to say..."Ghana will not die"

Since NDC assumed power in 2009, IMANI has suddenly rediscove ...

• Ade Simpson 10 years ago

Kofi Bentil the NPP staff.

• Kan Na wo 10 years ago

Your right but wait it is on the way coming.They should be ready for the worse.How can a minister reside in a govt.bungalow and tell us that he has bought it for himself.Sendin 3.7million dollars to UK bank and tell us it can ...

• Brill Gbeve/Atl,ga 10 years ago

Who,what,where,when which is Imani?To be sincere,they are a bunch of unemployed graduates wanting to be popular.Let the implosion happen right now so that we can distinguish the men from women.

• KWAME 10 years ago

MOyo I know for sure that you don't live in Ghana. Would please have the courtesy to tell us which part of Europe you live? I know Europe is the only continent that harbors by-products of a lazy vagina like you. Humpty Dumpty ...

• Dey 10 years ago

Foolish man, do you know what is an implosion? Can an implosion ever happen in Ghana again when northerners have wised up?

• Dey 10 years ago

Have you seen that your calls for revolutions have fallen on deaf ears?

• Samson 10 years ago

Prophet of doom, who cares about your false predictions! Get something useful to do and stop wasting precious space on the airwaves!!!

ALL IT TAHES IS FOR ONE BRAVE DUDE TO ORGANISE A FEW FIGHTERS. BY GOD IT WILL HAPPEN - USE THE ARMED ROBBERS & TURN THEM INTO GOOD USE - INSTEAD OF ROBBING INDIVIDUAL CITIZENS, ORGANISE THEM TO FIGHT GOVERNMENT CORRUPTION.

• Ekow 10 years ago

Ghanaian POLITICIANS are CORRUPT and only CARE for the quick access to the PUBLIC money they can get and don't really CARE about the citizens of the COUNTRY. We the CITIZENS need to rise up and DEMAND accountability and JUSTI ...

• TROUBLE-MAKER 10 years ago

That should have taken place when the serial ugly thief Kuffor was in power looting everything in his path for his family and cronies.

• NDOGYE 10 years ago

YOU HAVE HIT THE NAIL RIGHT ON THE HEAD.SOME PEOPLE HAVE CREATED A CLASS FOR THEMSELVES AT THE EXPENSE OF THE POOR AND VENERABLE,A TIME WILL INDEED COME WHEN PEOPLE WILL RISE UP AND CARY STONES MACHETES TO CHASE THE EDUCATED ...

• JC 10 years ago

I dare say that the politicians and the judiciary have usurped the constitution. All Ghanaians, CIVILIANS AND SOLDIERS must take to the street and OVERTHROW THE POLITICAL CLASS through a non violent revolution, retrieve all s ...

• STEPHEN 10 years ago

GHANA IS NOT READY FOR THIS DEMOCRACY THING.THE VERY CORRUPTION THAT CAUSED REVOLUTION/WAR OUTBREAK IN SIERRA LEONE, CUBA ETC IS WHAT WE ARE EXPERIENCING IN GHANA TODAY. REVOLUTION IS IMMINENT, & GHANAIANS MUST STAND UP FOR I ...

• asimeng 10 years ago

So called MOYO,you are very stupid and senseless person.Read the article of Mr.Bentil well before you write shit.

• kwaku appiah 10 years ago

this man must learn from ACE ANKOMA the brainy one man think tank

• mugu1 10 years ago

inner power struggle is what collaps sociaties & countries

• Goahead 10 years ago

IMANI and NPP are sore losers.

• Mari Dzata 10 years ago

Ghana is already imploded. But like the stupid Mobutu one once said "nation cannot be bankrupt!" we as human beings try this way or the other to get food. This is what leaders do not see till somebody puts on the King the inv ...

• J. ANDERSON 10 years ago

We should take what this man is saying seriously. Let us remember what Brigadier A A Afrifa feared and prophesied their doom. He said the way they were living and handling things, a time will come when a junior rank officer w ...

• PHILIP LONDON 10 years ago

Are you proud of Rawlings killing our previous leaders and what good thing came out of it? Rawlings himself is the most corrupt leader ghana has ever had. Rawlings rather gave way to corruption,through his force,violence and ...

• Lantefio 10 years ago

This is a wake up call that all may really get involved to have it accomplished if not it will be worse in the future.

We better start checking the political elites with all tools in our hands so that we shall not pay dear ...

• mkb 10 years ago

Kofi Wayo said this long ago but bcos it was coming from Chuck, nobody took him seriously. Politics should be made such that those who really want to serve should be entertained. Those who come to make money should not be enc ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

Thank you very much Mr. You made my day. It is going to happen and then the politicians will learn a lesson from it.

• A B 10 years ago

It's your family that would implode. Were u in Ghana 2000 to 2008. Ghana should burn because NPP loses elections? I don't blame you it's the fools that give u audience that are responsible . Ghana would not burn as sure as th ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

Well said, Mr Bentil. All those who have ears need to listen and listen good to Mr Bentil. You can oppress and cheat the people for sometime. But when the downtrodden wake up and say enough is enough, then you see bloodshed, ...

• Jawatabs 10 years ago

This man speaks a lot of sense.

Mr Bentil, election results in Ghana are largely determined by those you referred to as "neglected and forgotten section of the society".Though the Middle Class know the issues and are more capable of selecting good leaders, ...

• Terry 10 years ago

This is very well said. All right thinking members of society must think this way

You are dead right,most of the voters actually dont reason and vote on tribal lines.

• Nana Frempong-Obiri 10 years ago

We are paying for our politicians' medical check-ups abroad? Let them mend the hospitals we have and use them like everybody else.
    But then again, what is the point? They will always be waved through the queue to see the do ...

• DJAN 10 years ago

Are happy that such time will come in Ghana? Stop thinking negative things for the country and rather offer constructive ideas about how to develop the country!!!!!

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

It is the whole public that has to find solution to difficult problems that they face but not the middle class.When we talk of public,it means the govt,you and I also have responsibility to help build the nation.We voted for ...

• Suhuyini 10 years ago

I hope u have not laid ur hands on some of our classified doc the Economic liberation movement ELM will demand for true accountability in there will be no turning back because we are dead but living

Mr Bentil,again do you know that this same neglected and forgotten people in our society ,will in 2016 vote for this same politicians who are making them poorer and poorer every day

• Tula Maama 10 years ago

Society changes. What Bentil is saying will only happen if the society becomes stagnant. When Ghana had independence there were only few managers and rich people. Now measure the porportion - the richest African is a Nigerian ...

• Joe - Legon 10 years ago

We aren't that poor. The society will change without revolution. We complain but we haven't seen POVERTY. I come from a village and I know what I am talking about. In the village we couldn't afford TV, beer and hospital expen ...

• bala 10 years ago

he who is down fears no fall.a hungry man is an angry man .your high electrified walls can not save you so you will better wise up.June 4 gives me the chiles but tomorrow looks more terrible.The churches are helping but only ...

• mka Ltd 10 years ago

imani is a disgrace to ghana. always wit bad thoughts. jux recently i discorved d@ imani is politically affiliated. i pity its officials

• Nii Mensah. 10 years ago

Persons who are positioned to explain the truth are being bribed by his Excellency President John Mahama to propagate lies. We all Ghanaians with our descendants will surely pay bitterly for this some day. Do mark this on he ...

• Abba 10 years ago

THE SPIRIT OF JUNE 4TH 1979 REVOLUTION IS TOTALLY DEAD BECAUSE MAHAMA LED NDC HAS LOOTED THE COFFERS OF THE NATION. NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE BLOOD OF THOSE WHO WERE EXECUTED ARE INNOCENT.

• Abba 10 years ago

EVEN THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS.

YOUB ARE AN ABSOLUTE IDIOT!!

PEOPLE ARE NOT PLAYING PARTY POLITICS HERE!! BOTH THE NDC & NPP ARE CROOKS SO IF AN IDIOT LIKE YOU THINK THE LOOTING IS ONLY ON ONE SIDE, I SUGGEST YOU GET YOUR HEAD EXAMINED!!

YES THE MORE ...

• AMA 10 years ago

REMEMBER THE YEAR OF GHANA AT 50? GHANA DID NOT IMPLODE THEN. TRUST ME, IT WILL NEVER IMPLODE. IT WILL ONLY IMPLODE INSIDE YOUR SHARP-TEETH MOUTH!

Before countries like Liberia and Ivory Coast became engulfed in crisis, they were peaceful countries where Ghanaians used to go. Whoever thought a time will come in Ghana when people would mount road blocks and steal from tr ...

• Kofi Adams (Nottingham UK) 10 years ago

I am a Ghanaian leaving abroad I love my country and planning to return home soon. You have hit the nail right on the head. The middle class need to act now because the anger of the down trodden will not discriminate those wh ...

• Me 10 years ago

What this man says is dead on and the way forward

• David Ofosu-Appiah 10 years ago

inevitable,war between haves and have nots,storming of the bastille,dangerous times ahead.

• Tetteh Nubuor 10 years ago

Mr. Kofi Bentil is a good observer and he is right. The Venezuela style government take over is imminent and long overdue. Politicians are using the democratic political dispensation to enrich themselves at the expense of the ...

• William Anyetei 10 years ago

Are military officers in the middle class? If yes, let them lead us to demand accountability from the political class who continue to plunder our scanty resources for their selfish gain.

• kwasi 10 years ago

RESPECT A MAN THAT TELL TRUTH EVEN IF IT IS NOT POPOLAR TO TALK TRUTH IN GHANA

• Kway 10 years ago

Its sad when these people keep mute when one party is in power, but become reasonable and find their voice when another is in power. Its very sad. If PC Appiah Ofori, JJ Rawlings, Martin Amidu and co has said this, no one wil ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Are you not the Vice President of IMANI GHANA,a think thank?Is that all what you have to say for your country?I am sorry for you sir,you can do better than this.Please focus on the unity and pragmatic policies and stop the di ...

• Old soldier 10 years ago

Ghana is suffering bcos of lack of brainy people like some of you. Idiots will still insult for them future is not a concern to them. Be encouraged to do the courageous n posterity will reward you.

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

This guy is not brainy at all my friend,he is the vice president of IMANI GHANA.Why can't he suggest better things than trying to instigate the poor against the rich?This is sheer stupidity in my opinion,a think tank should a ...

• k. Agyei 10 years ago

foolish talk. When did he realize this?

• k. Agyei 10 years ago

kwasea, Ghana didnt burn when your party kinpin Kufuor bought all the plots around Tetteh Quarshie interchange?

• Close Observer 10 years ago

There is definitely a light at the end of the tunnel. God bless your heart for bringing this points up. You have said nothing but the truth. I believe once we begin to realize this problems and talk and act on ways to solve t ...

• Analyst 10 years ago

There is no justification whatsoever for any form of terrorist act or for taking the law into one's hands. State security cannot stand-by for any lawless act to take place. There is freedom of expression only within the law. ...

You got it all wrong. The man is not inciting any violence or lawlessness. The mere fact the he painted a vivid picture of what is happening in Ghana in itself is enough solution to the numerous problems we face. We cannot so ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Mr Bentil as vice president of a "think thank" should not address a problem in this manner at all.If so,what is the use of IMANI GHANA?Now tell me why the low class should slaugther the middle class?Is that the only solution ...

My good friend on this forum, you are also wrong with the way you are interpreting Mr. Bentil's information. I hope you don't have anything against him, because that can affect how you take his message. The gentleman as a soc ...

• Okponglo Guy 10 years ago

Excellent social commentator

• KOW Amisah 10 years ago

IMANI Ghana if you have a plan bring it to help solve the problem. Too much talk will not help us. Kwame Nkrumah and his friends did not only talked but acted. Sgt Ajetey and the rest acted. Rise up and act or keep you mouth ...

• NKREKETE 10 years ago

The truth is always the truth. Agya Bentil speaks my heart out. He is a Prophet whose words must not be ignored. The level of intolerance in the country stemming from economic hardships the people are facing, clearly signal ...

• nana kwame 10 years ago

fuck u stupid man.

• Smart Lady 10 years ago

Where was Bentil in the late 80s and 90s? We saw this way back and fought for NPP to come to power only to come to create, loot and share. What happened to the grants and loans that came into the country? Who ever accounted t ...

And what is your NDC doing about NPP's alleged failure to account for grants and loans? Steal some more, right?

• Brill Gbeve/Atl,ga 10 years ago

WHAT,WHICH,WHERE,WHEN AND WHO IS IMANI?A BUNCH OF UNEMPLOYED GRADUATES WANTING TO BE HEARD AND RECOGNISED?LET THE IMPLOSION COME RIGHT NOW SO THAT WE CAN DISTINGUISH THE MEN FROM WOMEN.

• OPEN MINDED SAINT 10 years ago

FANTASTIC PIECE OF ARTICLE. KOFI THAT DAY IS CIMING SOON AND THOSE WILL BE SLAUGHTERED LIKE PNDC ERA, JUST WATCH OUT.

• AMA PEE 10 years ago

Well said Mr. Bentil. I've been asking myself what we the citizens can do to get those we put in charge of affairs accountable. How do we implement your great suggestions? Where do we start from?

• k. Agyei 10 years ago

kwaseasem brewed in npp s pot. A coup because they are in opposition, God will punish you, Evil plotters.

• KAMA,U.S.A 10 years ago

K Agyei you will continue to be poor because you lack knowledge and wisdom.Are you satisfied with the present states of Ghana?,continue to do your stupid politics.SHAME ON YOU BOOT LICKER

• Victoria Amponsah 10 years ago

Mr. Bentil, I love you very much! you are the only wise man in Ghana. I support everything you said. Ghanaians have to wake up and hold all these people accountable.

• OKOE 10 years ago

MR. BENTIL, HAVE YOU SERIOUSLY THOUGHT OF WHAT YOU WROTE. REMEMBER RWANDA? I PRAY YOU WILL NOT FIND YOURSELF AT THE HAGUE SOMETIME TO COME. " THEY WILL MARCH ON US AND SLAUGHTER US" OH, YOU ARE A LAWYER!