You are here: HomeNews2013 11 08Article 291421

Economy will breakdown if Single Spine is maintained - Otumfuo

Read Comments Comments (130)

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

you can run for office if you want....concentrate on cleaning up your ashanti region...and matters unique to ashantis....leave the government alone... you are one of many chiefs in ghana...bare that in mind

• Yaa Ataa, Belgiulm 10 years ago

Nana Otufour, Mahama & Kojo Bonsu de be keke, you for give me some of the booty ooooooooo

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

GHANA NEWS LIVE ON TV3, UTV Ghana, Metro TV, TV AFRICA, JOY NEWS, GTV, ADOM TV, Sports TV AND, MOVIES, BEST GHANA-NIGERIA MOVIES, LOCAL TWI MOVIES PLUS
    OVER 7500 TV and RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM plus LIVE ...

• K.K 10 years ago

Oh, but its ok to mediate for corrupt judges to receive $5m each from the illegal president. Shut your mouth. You have no use as a king in modern ghana. Corrupt man who has no shame.

the short memory of these so called journalists is worrying . look at what this same bagbin did as minister or works and housing , there its more evident his corrupt unscrupulous lying character in the stx , chinese and numer ...

• JUSTICE LEADER 10 years ago

THIS GUY MAKES ME LAUGH SO MUCH. WHAT A JOKER GUY? How many children are constantly selling 'PURE WATER' AFTER 9pm on the streets of ASHANTI REGION? Useless guy

• OGA MAN 10 years ago

YOU GET GOLD MONEY TO CHOP SO YOU WILL SAY THIS NONSENSE ! CORRUPT GHANAIAN DIGNITARIES.

• ib-canada 10 years ago

That was unfortunate saying such stupid things like this. What Nana said has nothing to do with what he gets or not. You are such an idiot with qualification.

• JUSTICE LEADER 10 years ago

WHEN WILL YOUR LEADERS STOP BUYING V.I.P BUSES AND START BUILDING YOUR DIRTY OVERCROWDED KUMASI MARKET KEJETIA? WHEN WILL YOUR 6-YEAR OLD CHILDREN STOP SELLING 'PURE WATER' AT 9PM ON THE STREETS AT KNUST TECH JUNCTION, ANLOGA ...

• Asanteman 10 years ago

May be if you stop buying million dollar houses outside and paying high property taxes to already developed countries, and pay those taxes to ghana may be our economy will be better.. shut up, and stop acting like u care....

• Kwaku Bonsu 10 years ago

IT'S ALL IN THE LAST PARAGRAPH.How can the ecomini succeed with no business??
    TAX THE BANKRUPT businesses to pay.
    If the Prof could not pronounce the word economy how can his vice understand it????

• sikdo 10 years ago

Ohene.kwasea.wony3.asanteni.wo.y3.kwasea.papaaaaaa

• togbe of hotso 10 years ago

Go lick your mums stinking pussy.ha.ha.ha.oga.o.oga. go fuck your mums stinking toto.

• SARPONG 10 years ago

Exactly Nana, the genesis of our present economic predicament is due to two things ;

1. The SSSS salary structure consuming 75% of government revenue is untenable. We were using 25% of government revenue for the same purpo ...

• Azonto Dancer 10 years ago

Nana Sarpong, you have said exactly what I was about to say. You are right about everything you said.

• ZAMIA, LONDON 10 years ago

SARPONG, IN YOUR OWN STATEMENT YOU SAID KUFOUR'S REGIME HAD 550.000 WORKFORCE, WHY DIDN'T YOU CRITISIZED HIM? ALL OUR LEADERS HAS FAILED US BIG TIME, THEY SEEMED TO BE CONFUSED IMMEDIATELY THEY GET TO THE PRESIDENCY. THEY ALW ...

• All Die be Die 10 years ago

IF the President was an Ashanti,he will be advicing him how to "chop" state money:cocain deals etc.This time the booty is not coming like Kromfor kufour,s time.

• sikdo 10 years ago

Wonimnyansa.wo.y3.kwasea.papaa.wo.y3kr3fo3

• Nana Kwakye Abronomah 10 years ago

CURSE BE TO THOSE WHO INSULT THE ASANTEHENE.IDIOTS WITHOUT THE ASANTES THERE'S NO GHANA.. NKWASEAFO, MMOA LIKE YOU.ASANTEHENE IS BETTER THAN YOUR TOOTHLESS SQUARTERING FATHER. ASHANTE RESOURCES WAS USED TO EDUCATE YOU PEOPLE ...

• SARPONG'S FATHER 10 years ago

Which government installed the single spine salary structure?

• ib-canada 10 years ago

He was a Ghanaian before he became a chief so has equal rights about the issues of Ghana, so grow up and think, dummy.

• HARD REPLY 10 years ago

I think you have to learn how to respect, I don't think you can tell your father or mother to shut up.

• togbe of hotso 10 years ago

Stupid dirty rastafara. Go clean your mums stinking pussy and the n.d.c indiots no brainy fools messing up royals akans country. We the Ewes and rest are parasites fools like n.d.c govenment

• ASANTE NE BA 10 years ago

ASANTE YOU CUNT YOU ARE WARNED YOU CUNT

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

Jealousy will not get you any where. Weather you like it or not, he is the king of Ghana, MF....., it stands for

• Counsellor 10 years ago

BE BOLD you must be hallucinating to come out with this fallacy. Your Asantehene is your tribal chief and cannot be King of Ghana. Every tribe has its own King and the earlier you acknowledge this the better. Asantehene is no ...

• k muni 10 years ago

I know this "crook" in Canada very well.good luck to the ashantis.

• KWAME FREEMASON 10 years ago

Wise one from King Solomon of our time.
    Ask Mahama and Tekpe how much goes into bribery and judgement debt settlement.
    If the government learn to be transparent devoid of all bribery ...

• mugu1 10 years ago

this is foolish talk from the ashanti king,at this time where ghana govt.just emerge from 9 months petition & also ghana govt facing existing global financial problem just like usa,euro,japan & others countries.then you have ...

• KING 10 years ago

YOU GET UR FOK. GET AWAY THERE.BECAUSE YOU GET SOME CHOP CHOP FROM NDC THAT IS WHY YOU ARE SAYING SO.REMEMBER YOUR SC BRIBERY MONEY AND TALK OF IT.

• GOOGLE MY ASS 10 years ago

HE DID VOTED FOR NDC SO DON'T BUY HIS MESSAGE

• Modibo Keita 10 years ago

I hope the president is listening to the good counselling of Otumfuo the Asantehene. The president will do well to reduce his large number of Ministers and presidential staff at the seat of govt. Reduce them and see how much ...

• GHANABA 1 10 years ago

This Osei Tutu is the most disgraceful person i have ever come across.After helping NDC through dubious means, your are talking about single spine.What is your business here? Take a look @ Kumasi Kejetia just some few meters ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Hey,Nana in the constitution there is
    a clause stating that no Chief will
    poke his nose in the Politics,what again do you want? With all those
    riches and ornaments on you.Dont joine
    the band of thieves.Keep away from
    th ...

• Mike 10 years ago

This fool is corrupt to the highest degree. He travels on the back of the tax payers (Presidential Jet).

• Abu 10 years ago

Nana, with all due respect, are you trying to be a spokesman for the NDC? Nana, I hope you have not forgotten that, Single Spine implementation was a touted achievement of the NDC. It has not been long at all. Because they ar ...

• Dadabee 10 years ago

People Ghana, please and please please please, since there is freedom of speech in Ghana, let us NOT INSULT when someone speaks his or her mind but rather we can disagree or agree without any insult. Let brotherly love contin ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Where is the insult? The man whose comments you are responding to has the most polite comment. Please turn your attention to the other ones and stop attacking the intelligent Abu else you will be making a mockery of yourself.

• Abu 10 years ago

Opaning Tawia, I appreciate your reconciliatory comment. I can imagine your likeness to a university professor because you have based on my conclusion to ask a sound question. You see, if there is any Blackman who has influen ...

• ib-canada 10 years ago

Well, Nana we all know the impact of corruption so what practical steps do you suggest we should apply to crack down corruption?

I am not comfortable with people of authority and influence mounting platform and listing pro ...

• Okponglo 10 years ago

Stupid so call king

• Mr. green 10 years ago

This man should stay away from politics. He is the king for Ashanti and must do more for the Region.Kumasi like is like hell. No Progress, the City has no visionary leader.Eevn culture Center which hold history for Ashanti ki ...

• Azonto Dancer 10 years ago

He is a Ghanaian and has every right to talk about the situation. Kumasi is far better than any city in Ghana.

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Kumasi is getting worse since the last ten years.

Really!

• AVOID POLITICS 10 years ago

In the same vain, allowing one person to wear so much Gold on his body in a country of over twenty million starving people is also untenable. Politics will only bring you disgrace. Avoid it.

• MANYHIA OBSERVER 10 years ago

THIS ASANTEHENE IS VERY CORRUPT AND CRIMINAL. HE IS IN FACT A CON ARTIST. HE EVEN HAD HANDS IN THE PLANE-LOAD OF SEIZED GOLD IN TURKEY. THIS SO-CALLED CHIEF IS A DISGRACE TO THE GOLDEN STOOL AND SHOULD BE REMOVED IMMEDIATELY. ...

• Egya 10 years ago

Better if he stays away from matters he does not know about. Why he is straying into this area??? I don't know.

• Unumi Bununya a.k.a Teteman Boy 10 years ago

Ghana is one of the few countries where teachers, nurses and others are paid car and other allowances.

Single Spine is senseless and not studied closely before implementation. The fact that former Prez Kuffour made extensi ...

• Odeneho 10 years ago

I disagree with Asantehene that cost of doing business in Ghana is costly due to increase in utility tariffs. Rather due to corruption. Many investor want to come and do business in Ghana but they fear for shortage of power. ...

• Kwabena 10 years ago

Otumfuo stop politics. Your uncle did not involve himself in politics. Stay completely away from it and retain your respect as Asantehene. You are disgracing the Ashanti Kingdom and Sikadwa Kofi.

• Kofi Santo 10 years ago

Who is this foolish man? You deserve to be de-stooled immediately.

Be very very very careful with your mouth. Are you the Minister of Finance? You are losing your dignity and respect gradually, mark it on the wall.

• Ekuma 10 years ago

Kofi Santo, u call 'dealing with reality' interFrance ? U are very stupid .

If u don't have any better thing to say, u can close that sticking gutter u call ur mouth. Idiot.

• Say the TRUTH 10 years ago

I DISAGREE WITH OTUMFOUR!!!

IF WE ARE IN SUCH A SITUATION - THE QUESTION IS WHERE IS AND WAS THE COMPTENCY OF SUCH A GOVERNMENT TO ALLOW US TO GET INTO THAT LEVEL WITHOUT KNOWING THAT IT WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO SUSTAIN THAT.. ...

• Awuraba 10 years ago

Nana u aa very right, may God bless u for ur wise saying

• Andy 10 years ago

First ever sensible comment I've heard from an opinion leader. When others just criticize or defend unnecessarily.

• Oppong 10 years ago

The single spine is the legacy of John KOUFOUR. He caused the mess and left. KOUFOUR knew the Single Spine was not sustainable, he therefore waited UNTILL he was about to leave office and hand over to the opposition, before h ...

• Ghana Ba 10 years ago

Loot at this thief and greedy king like that, he's most stupid king I ever seen in this planet. Cobain dealer king. Sometime I feel disgrace to be an ashenti because of this greedy king. God bless Ghana.

• Queen 10 years ago

I agree with Otumfoo.The Single Spine Salary Structure was created by human beings and must be changed to save the nation’s ailing economy. It is just unthinkable to increase Police Officer's pay from GHc280.00 to GHc1000.0 ...

• Kwaku Duah 10 years ago

He could do more to safe Ghana and Africa as a President than as a King. Let's keep our dreams for him to resign from the STOOL, like Pope Benedict from the Vatican. He is more smarter than Nkrumah.

• ALHAJI KANO 10 years ago

KWAKU YOUR ARE SO STUPID,IF HE ATTEMPTS TO RESIGN, WE ARE GOING TO KILL HIM. BECAUSE ASANTEHENE IS NOT DESTOOLED NOR RESIGNS.YES HE SO SMART AS NDC PEOPLE,THEY ARE ALL CIMINALS.

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• Kojo 10 years ago

So much for only a few of the population and yet they are not satisfied. Day in day out they want more. I agree with Otumfuo. Let's scrap it so we can see the difference.

• koo 10 years ago

am sad bcos of politics ppl can insult this respected chief on this platform. no no no!

• GOG 10 years ago

HOW MUCH JET OIL DID MAHAMA BOUGHT FOR YOUR USE OF HIS JET. IT IS CORRUPTION.

• Alexander 10 years ago

Shut the fuck up,When you finish spending your Bribe Money then come back and talk about single spine. Nonsense

• Dawadawa 10 years ago

The Asantehene should have kept his comments about the Single Spine Salary. To argue that 70 percent of the national revenue is used to pay the salaries of public servant is to accept the government propaganda. The Asantehene ...

• JAMES ASAMOAH 10 years ago

Let us learn to respect those in authority small. This man is a King and must be honored. There should be a lot of sense in what he says. Please stop the insults oh.

• Odasanyi, London 10 years ago

nana is right so let us have a sensible debate.

• We are sinking 10 years ago

The truth is bitter.Take this solution. Cancel all deputy ministerial appointment.2 Reduce parliamentary constituencies to 20 seats. Government vehicles should have GV registrations and be used for government business only.20 ...

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

"HOLY SPIRIT" THIS IS SERIOUS CASE AND IS HARD TO SOLVE BUT IS NOT HARD FOR YOU. SAVE THE COUNTRY AND OPEN MORE INDUSTRIES. SINGLE SPINE YOU DID NOT DO GOOD FOR US, GET OUT FROM OUR COUNTRY.

• ANTWI BOASIAKO 10 years ago

Nana try to solve the chieftaincy problems in Kumawuman and leave this subject for the politicians.

• peace 10 years ago

nana u need to shut up u are a chief not politician

• Emmanuel. 10 years ago

Loot at this stupid king, he's talks like mad man even this salary is enough for this economic since this SSS came everything gone up triple. U have to talk about how our currency is falling day in and day out. Tell presiden ...

• Kwaame 10 years ago

What is stupid about what the Asantehene is saying? From your response, I can tell you don't understand what you read. How can you use 60-70% of total tax receipts to pay for officials?

• OHENEBA MENSAH 10 years ago

OGYIMIFOU HENE - THE ASHANTI'S HAVE EVER HAD

• GHANABA 10 years ago

Can anyone name any country that uses the so called Single Spine? SS is waste of money and not affordable.

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

I think the Otumfuo is right here. It appears the SSSS issue was not well though out by the Kufuor administration. The NDC too in order not to lose their political capital after the election of 2008, did not have the guts or ...

• OSAAMA BELADIN 10 years ago

NOW YOU KNOW THAT SHUT UP

• Ekuma 10 years ago

Then the NPP professionals shd not instigate unnecessary strike actions to wreck the nation .

Corrupt officials shd be prosecuted whether NPP or NDC as said by Otumfuo .

• Ama 10 years ago

What asem koraaaaaaa is this?!! First pls give money to mahama to pay up on the SS salary. 2. You are the one selling and renewing leases on land for huge sums of money that makes potential businesses ran away. Infact do not ...

• DOUBLE B 10 years ago

MAHAMA SHOT THE DEPUTY AT THE FOOT. WHO IS NEXT?

• OWEN, NEW YORK. 10 years ago

All the great men in the country should voice out their opinions before the country totally shut down. I'm yet to hear from the Great Kofi Anan of United Nations. The fools among the youths will rain insults but you don't wai ...

• SULE 10 years ago

The SSSS which was put together by serious brains but was implemented by the likes of Fifi Kwetey would most definitely have problems, because, the mental capacity to understand it, let alone appreciate it and implement it, i ...

• SAARA-MENSA 10 years ago

Ehee!!!!!!! Nana kasa.

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

Ha she ever talked about her - or his - assets?

• SAARA-MENSA 10 years ago

EVERY TOM, DICK, AND HARRY TALKING ABOUT CORRUPTION. SO, WHO IS THE REAL THIEF? OR THEY ARE ALL THIEVES IN GOV'T BOTH PAST AND PRESENT.?.

• ASIEDU NKETIA 10 years ago

VIC HAMMAH TOOK VERY GOOD CARE OF AKONFEM-HENE MAHAMA IN BED AND THAT WAS WHY SHE GOT REWARDED WITH THIS POST

• Sob 10 years ago

Oh is this our dear nation Ghana or...? No respect for the our leaders. Why do u insult Otumfuo Oh God is this Ghana? We got to turn over a new leaf this is bad indeed!

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

one person should not be allowed soo much gold as jewelry as millions of people around him are starving....It is time asantes abolish this chieftaincy...Otumfuo is not ashamed to flaunt his gold

• DAIV US 10 years ago

NPP'S LEADERS ARE THE CAUSE

• DAIV 10 years ago

NPP LEATHERS ARE THE CAUSE.......

• Abenewoha 10 years ago

When People were saying that EC should not create the 45 MPs they were being called names. That time where were our Chiefs? NDC was strongly pushing for the creation of the 45 MPs. "The NDC wish for war now they have it"

• Yaw 10 years ago

I have said the same thing and I agree with Nana 100%. If the data is correct, how can a country sustain paying 70% of its revenue to about 700,000 people most of them inefficient compared to their counterparts in other count ...

• focus 10 years ago

Economists abound in Ghana, haba!

• Oman ba pa 10 years ago

Those of you who have no manners and very uncivilized, and because of your hatred against Ashanti's so you will disrespect the Ashanti king, let me remind you that you will not always have the privilege to hide the screen and ...

• Agonaba 10 years ago

Hmmmm.

• Mr & Mrs Woyome Sada Gyeeda Subah 10 years ago

What does this crook know about economics other than being a parasite on both Asanteman and Ghana, eh?

He bought a mansion in London worth millions when there are schoolchildren in Asante having classes under trees. He ill ...

• kwame Ananse italy 10 years ago

oh our king we taught u have sense but youb are the most senseless king we have had in ashanti kingdom.because u are selling gold n eat u dont know anything again fool.

• kwame Ananse italy 10 years ago

otumfor wo maame twe wate.fool u think life is like gari n sugar u just pour water n tou are good to go.we know that you are taking bribe,selling our gold,cocaine.dont annoy me this mornin fool.

• KUTRIKU 10 years ago

SINCE WHEN DID THIS "ILLITERATE" BECOME AN ECONOMIST TO ADVISE ON THE ECONOMIC SITUATION IN THE COUNTRY? AFTER HELPING MAHAMA TO "BRIBE" HIS WAY TO WIN THE PRESIDENCY, STEALING THE JEWELS OF THE ASHANTI KINGDOM TO SELL ABROAD ...

• Kwaku Bonsu 10 years ago

WE HAVE HEARD SO MUCH BAD ABOUT YOU, YOUR YOUTH DAYS KWAKU, IT KEEPS COMING, PLEASE DON'T BRING FURTHER SHAME TO ASHANTIS BY YOUR DEEDS. LET THE POOR WORKER DECIDE. COMPARE TO NIGERIA/IVORY COAST

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

It's OK to give your Pesewa worth, but give solutions to our economic problems.
    What you said does not mean anything. You need to go beyond that.

• Wise man 10 years ago

Oh this Man again please stop talkingoooooooo cause u don't make sense. tell your ndc to stop stealing money and give to little girls with big ASS.

• YAA 10 years ago

OTUMFUO BRING BACK THE BRIBE YOU GAVE TO THE JUDGES AND THERE WILL BE MONEY IN GHANA. YOU'ER PART OF THIS PROBLEM AND GOD WILL PUNISH YOU ALL. YOU THINK NOBODY KNOWS AND SEES WHAT YOU DO BUT TRUST ME, GOD KNOWS AND SEES EVERY ...

• YAA 10 years ago

OTUMFUO YOU ARE PART OF THE BREAKDOWN SO FIX IT AND STOP THIS NOISE. MAHAMA SHOULD CRACK CORRUPT CHIEFS AND KING LIKE YOU. DO YOU HAVE SHAME AT ALL? WHEN YOU TREVALED WITH THE PRESIDENTIAL JET, WHO PAID FOR FUEL? YOU'ER THE M ...

• goofy 10 years ago

OTUMFUO WHAT ARE TALKING ABOUT THE ECONOMY HAD BEEN IN THANK FOR LONGTIME YOU JUST WAKE UP WELL ATTA MILLS AND MAHAMA FUCK IT UP NOW YOU TALKING ABOUT SINGLE SPINE PLEASE WAKE UP THIS IS NOT KUMASI

• Doc, 10 years ago

IS about Gold and Jewelries u are wearing, if you strip it and sell some, it can do Ashanti's good, simply put Ghana, what you supposed to use to develop Ashanti you rather used to bribe judges just to satisfy your political ...

• chito 10 years ago

instead of using the kindoms money for development u are buying houses in south africa , london etc , and now u passing judgements on how to run Ghana . u cannt even keep an eye on your bag . aboa

• !tokyo 10 years ago

What's wrong with this man. you are a disgrace to the ashanty throne. Your dad will be turning in his grace by now. Why you wandering so much into politics. This is not what you supposed to do. You bringing so much disrespect ...

• ASEM SE BE 10 years ago

The real issue facing Ghana and Ghanaian Leaders is our inability to recognize what is fiscally DOABLE AND ATTAINABLE and make decisions based on economic viability on our productivity and output of the nation.
    There are th ...

Ok!

• AGONA ABODOM 10 years ago

Oh you poor people in mind, The King is speaking.

• Rawlings the MURDERER 10 years ago

that's bullshit

• OPPONG 10 years ago

Oh no Gh has lost its rich culture of respect that flies across world, talk of KOFI Annan,BUSIA Prof Mills,Chambas,and a great generation that passed away.
    This recent culture of insult insult anyone that comes across our di ...

• B.B.C. NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

KWAKU DUAH, THE JUDAS, FUCK OFF. GET LOST FROM THE SYSTEM. GOD WILL PUNISH YOU.

• jim 10 years ago

its not your fault, political chief.

• Jah Bless I 10 years ago

shut up u greedy bastard, when mahama give u small coins then get up and say any nonsens.

• Yabereagu Naa 10 years ago

Asoantefo hene krom4; who is more corrupted than u?

• Yamo 10 years ago

Single Spline is not the problem. The problem is, the outrageous number of government employees in relation to the number of tax payers in the private sector. The answer is get the ratio of government employees to private e ...

• nana serwaa 10 years ago

before the govenment think of the single spine salary, they should finish collecting all the judgement debts, jail those involved and also reduce the size of govenment appointments. this should be the first step to talking a ...

• Paa Kojo 10 years ago

the economy will come to a stand still if the single spine is scrubbed off.

• Paa Kojo 10 years ago

Nana stop deciding on what will bring fire burns in the nation. Don't even think of that. withdraw your statment

• asamoah-from Japan 10 years ago

Nana you see what poeple are insulting with you?you dont need to be involving in politics,

• Atongo 10 years ago

When u stop travelling with presidential jet.

• AKONFEM MAHANI 10 years ago

SHUT UP THIEF CHIEF HUUUUUUUUUUUU

• andy B 10 years ago

Shut the fuck up. You are a criminal

• Skizzy 10 years ago

The chief has turned into a presidential spokesperson.