You are here: HomeNews2013 11 07Article 291326

Ghana needs only 20 Ministries - Minority Leader

Read Comments Comments (71)

• Father 10 years ago

why don't you use your Campaign Money to help the needing once, instead of you telling the president to minimize his govt ministers

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

LIVE ON TV3, UTV Ghana, Metro TV, TV AFRICA, JOY NEWS, GTV, ADOM TV, Sports TV AND, MOVIES, BEST GHANA-NIGERIA MOVIES, LOCAL TWI MOVIES PLUS
    OVER 7500 TV and RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM plus LIVE Scores and ...

• Jenny 10 years ago

How can a tiny country as Ghana have nearly 300 ministers in parliament with positions that are useless and unproductive? Most of their jobs benefits no one but themselves.

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

did u realize that this country needs only 20 ministries? Where were you during the 8 LOOTING & FREE COCAINE TRADE years of GREEDY THEIF KUFFOUR?

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 10 years ago

These npp guyz are just damn crazy. Ursula is No. 1.

• WWW.NOLLYTUNED.COM 10 years ago

Watch GTV, TV3, Metro, AdomTV Ghana Movies, NollyWood Movies
    and KumaWood Movies AT WWW.NOLLYTUNED.COM

• Yag 10 years ago

I think one of our biggest problem is negative and backward thinking minority.Because you are not in charge everything is bad ebie!!!. No wonder this was why Dr. Kwami Nkrumah did not need opposition to run the state progress ...

• Ghana_Muntie 10 years ago

Changed their names when they became 'prominent' politicians. Is there something in their past they want to keep away from inquisitive eyes?

• Jay 10 years ago

Please there is a difference between MP's and ministers

• ASS HOLE FOLEY 10 years ago

SHE USE TAX PAYERS MONEY TO BUY 3INFINITIS 4X4 SUV FOR HER CHILDREN THIEFS

• Me do ba 10 years ago

hypocricy at it best, u were in ghana MPs raised thier salary from 3000 to 7200 excluding allowances. May God deal with u all.

• STOP AND THINK 10 years ago

I THINK WE HAVE TO STOP PLAYING FLASHBACKS BUT INSTEAD IMMEDIATELY A PROBLEM AND IF ITS TRUTH WE SHOULD DEAL WITH IT SERIOUSLY WHETHER IF OUR INDIVIDUAL PARTIES HAVE PART TO PLAY OR NOT. LETS COLLECTIVELY KILL AL ACRIMONY AND ...

IF PEOPLE BRING THE IDEAS AND THEY ARE GOOD LETS QUICKLY TRY THEM AND MAKE SURE WE STAMP-OUT CORRUPTION FROM OUR SYSTEM OR MAKE IT DIFFICULT FOR PEOPLE TO MESS UP WITH PUBLIC FUNDS.

WE ALL HAVE TO FIND A WAY TO ENSURE THAT MESSING WITH OUR SCANTY MONEY BY INDISCIPLINE POLITICIANS AND INSTITUTIONAL LEADERS BECOME UNATTRACTIVE, WE ALL NEED TO SPEAK OUT ON THIS.

LETS CUT THE NUMBER AND THE REST MADE TO START COMMERCIAL FARMS.

• Yag 10 years ago

The solution is let delete Acticle72 benefit and ex gratia. That alone is just too expensive and bcos the beneficiallies are both the power and authority for that its ok.Nobody is force to go into politics . Lets consider it ...

• KOLIKO 10 years ago

why didnt u tell ur kuffour this shiit?

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

NEWS LIVE ON TV3, UTV Ghana, Metro TV, TV AFRICA, JOY NEWS, GTV, ADOM TV, Sports TV AND, MOVIES, BEST GHANA-NIGERIA MOVIES, LOCAL TWI MOVIES PLUS
    OVER 7500 TV and RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM plus LIVE Score ...

• WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET 10 years ago

Free Internet tv streaming serving Ghanaians in the diaspora.

WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET Brings You Live TV stations From Ghana.
    GTV, TV3, GTV Sports+, Adom TV Live, Joy News TV Live,
    Metro TV Ghana, e.tv And More. Watch You ...

• Asante 10 years ago

Why didn't you cut the number of ministers when you were in power? Kouffour was a lazy leader.

• A B 10 years ago

Foolish man! Are u now seeing this? How many did K4 have. MP should stay in their own house, buy their own cars and pay taxes. God would deal with u all.

• Camillus 10 years ago

When did you Mr Osei Kyei Mensah-Bonsu realise that we need only 20 ministers? Did this just occur to you or when you were appointed as one of the over 70 ministers under President Kufour? This hypocrisy by suddenly-appearing ...

• Agyeman 10 years ago

Fery true,our system is designed to reward politicking at the expense of effectiveness.

• paa 10 years ago

Paliamentmust be a place of sacrifice. Its only the rich that pays their way but not the wise. Reduce your salaries no fuel for your cars in short cut your privileges in half and lets see how much the govt may save

• yiddana 10 years ago

I agree with the call to reduce nmber of ministers. Look the industrial world how many ministers do they have. Our problem is political patronage, compelling the 2 parties to reward activits. It is not necessary. Competent ap ...

• Wiseman 10 years ago

Those who give us the money have few ministries. It may surprise many that Germany has only 7 and Japan 11 ministries only

• AbasZ 10 years ago

Good idea

• Simingue 10 years ago

we need not waist our breadth of issues like this. when there party was in government how many ministers were they. its all crab talk from crab people who are there to waist our precious time

• OWEN, NEW YORK. 10 years ago

The mere fact that one government had so many ministers doesn't mean we should maintain the same huge figure when the nation can not pay such salar. We have to learn from each other. We have to do away with partisanship when ...

• peace 10 years ago

too many deputy minister doing nothing but talk

• Joe 10 years ago

Eye asem.

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

legislature branch is also too big

• AkwasiB (USA) 10 years ago

Honorable, you would have looked and sounded more legitimate (and hypocritical) if you had also said something about the number of parliamentary seats (MPs) and all the perks they receive while the masses suffer and the count ...

• KWADWO A 10 years ago

I am surprised at this hypocrite. What did he say when Kufour increased the number of the justices of the Supreme court and his ministers.

• Kwame Wiredu 10 years ago

what about 50 MPs.
    What on earth does a country like ghana needs 275 Mps for.What do they do?
    Writing laws?
    What laws?how many bills have been passed for the last 8 years that improves the lot of the masses.
    The irony is ...

• Alhaji Kweku 10 years ago

Do we need 275 parliamentarians, 175 district and municipal assemblies and over 80 ministers to govern and develop this small country? What we need should be
    Parliamentarians 150
    MMDAs 95
    Ministers and Deputy Ministers 50. ...

• nana 10 years ago

hypocrite!! Ghanaian politicians

• Question Your Mentality 10 years ago

Too many chefs spoil the soup

• NAAH BANZIE. 10 years ago

WHY NOT 20 MP????

• PRINCE BOATENG BOTWE 10 years ago

yes cut down the mps too

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

Hypocrite!

• nii 10 years ago

ALSO CUT DOWN PARLIAMENT TO ONLY 50 .
    A lot of what you guys are achieving can be done by a few intelligent people.

• Agyeman 10 years ago

I support his call for reduced ministers but also we need to blame our political system of payback for political backing for this mess.We need a constitutional clause limiting ministerial numbers to end this corrossive cultu ...

• KWAKU 10 years ago

Stop the hypocrisy. NPP had 85 ministers.

• Unumi Bununya a.k.a Teteman Boy 10 years ago

How true is it that 60% of government expenditures goes to pay salaries of ministerial officials? What then is left for the teachers, nurses, ssecurity services and others? Check your facts because the statistic is simply wro ...

• THE CHOSEN ONE 10 years ago

A DONKEY WILL ALWAYS REMAIN A DONKEY.
    WHEN YOU WERE CRYING FOR INCREAMENT OF YOUR SALARY,DID GHANA CROSSED YOUR MIND?

• NAT 10 years ago

HOW MANY MINISTER WERE IN THE NPP GOVERNMENT.

• Deri. 10 years ago

Yes, Ghana needs only 20 Ministries only when NPP is opposition. Late 90s, the cry was Rawlings had too many Ministers. Ghana needed only 30 Ministers etc; however, when NPP came to power in 2001, Mr Kufuor, who went every no ...

• tawiah germany 10 years ago

i reallv agreed with you,even the ministriies behaves asif they are more ghanaians than the rest of as.what inportant things do they do for us,just too proud and misusing our money,they have wives but because they get too muc ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

Irrespective of the huge wages/salaries Bill they govt employed 97 Ministers and Deputies but turns round to Complain .
    So,is Mahamah's govt not the architects of some of the problems that confront it .A self inflicted wound ...

• SETHO 10 years ago

IF WE NEED 20 MINISTRIES, THEN WE ALSO NEED 48 PARLIAMENTARIANS - AT LEAST 2 FOR EACH REGION; WHICH MEANS SOME REGIONS MAY GET MORE THAN THE AVERAGE

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

MINORITY LEADER, WHY DON'T YOU RESIGN AND PROTECT'S THAT GHANA NEEDS ONLY 20 MINISTRIES?

• The Truth 10 years ago

Although the Economists may be saying the truth about the size of government, I do not understand why now?

Before the Busia regime, there were no Deputy Minister positions in past governments, were there any before? Busia ...

• JAMES JAMES 10 years ago

did u hear the voice of victoria hammah on the leaked tape? ...now we all know how evil and blood thirsty politicians can be....they are simply in to drain our blood lile sharks, vampires and vipers.....so why wont they creat ...

• Abrantie 10 years ago

Yes the MP is being a hypocrite but isn't it true we dont need all those useless positions.
    The constitution must be changed first to effect any push to reduce these bastards

• Obrefo 10 years ago

I agree with the minority leader, Ghana needs only 20 ministers, We also need only 100 MPs in order to resource them well to get the work done. We have too many ministers and MPs. Ghana can't support all these leeches and par ...

• moroma 10 years ago

Ghana needs 2000000 toilets and wells.

• HAWA YAKUBU 10 years ago

Look at who is talking from the ass. Yes!!.Did Kufour had 20 ministers?. Where was your monkey ass to suggest this to your 50c chains president. Kufour played the kokofu football to the fullest and no one said nothing. All yo ...

• Ceard Wagar 10 years ago

a) If your party were in power today you will keep your mouth shut on this subject.

b) If your party wins in 2016, you still keep your mouth shut on this subject.

So it is only in opposition that you offer your best adv ...

• Kwesi Kakraba 10 years ago

Mr. Leader please when did you realize this. was it not your party which started this? stomach politician.

• ken 10 years ago

when u are in opposition u say any foolish thing that comes from ur mouth...how many were u having when u were in power?Go to hell

• Nicholas Kyeretwie-Chicago,USA 10 years ago

Where was Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu when Agyekum Kufoou split the transport ministry and created all the other ministries to get jobs for the NPP boys.A Member of Parliament who thinks all doing by his party is ok while the same ...

• KOFI BONSU 10 years ago

Wwhen NPP was in power didnt they have equally or more ministers,why didnt he voice his concern out,now NDC turn what a hypocrite mr,Mensah Bonsu

• Truth 10 years ago

YES AND ONLY 50 MPs. I am struggling to know exactly what our 275 MPs do.

• Jay 10 years ago

Kwasia! so why did NPP have like 70+ ministers. Please think before you talk you idiot. we have 10 regions even if we put 10 substantive and 10 deputies we have reached your target. we have roads and highways 1, mines and ene ...

• clarence 10 years ago

I think the president must think critically about the size of his ministers and the ministries and cut these down drastically, it will reduce the huge government expenditure, bureaucracy, and make people more proactive and re ...

• James. 10 years ago

Mr Mensah Bonsu, how did you have when your government was in power?

• liv 10 years ago

With MP making $7,000 a month, we need to put them to work.

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

Didyou tell Kuffuor this? or you have just discovered sense.

• OPEN MINDED SAINT 10 years ago

GO AND TELL YOUR USELESS KUFFOUR THIS HYPOCRITE