You are here: HomeNews2013 11 07Article 291293

Cut down number of Ministers by half – Prof. Ayittey

Read Comments Comments (70)

• HE IS NOT A LEADER 10 years ago

TAANI DON'T HAVE IN HIM TO BE A LEADER

• KKK 10 years ago

Norway the richest country on earth now has only 17 ministers. And bigger country in areal than Ghana. GHANA IS GOVERNED BY CHILDREN WHO JUST WANT TO GRAB AND GRAB!

• KKK 10 years ago

WE ARE LAZY TOWARDS WORK;that is why work for one person is done by 20

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

AUTHOR: MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU....

It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the nex ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

GHANA NEWS LIVE ON TV3, UTV Ghana, Metro TV, TV AFRICA, JOY NEWS, GTV, ADOM TV, Ghana Movies, Nigeria Movies,
    Twi Movies etc plus HD Sports TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• Gore 10 years ago

This Zombie do nothing parliament made up of NDC majority needs to be shaken up. It's good t the professor has brought it up. The parliament can enact many laws at this crucial moment of our economy to straighten things up, b ...

• KB,LONDON 10 years ago

Job for the boys. It is intended to reward them for party loyalty-not that they need to do any work.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

I totally agree with the Prof Ayittey this time. The Executive is too big and the number of minsters should be reduced. In fact it should be the Executive staff (from ministers to presidential staff). The Prof is absolutely r ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

Dr. Ayittey is right in giving such much needed advice. But the question is the president going to listen and act? If I were President Mahama I wouldn't hesitate to act, because as I see it the numerous ministers, their depu ...

• SIR JOHN THE FOOL 10 years ago

I hope the president will listen.

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 10 years ago

Some Ghanaians are fools so they have got their foolish president as John Dramani Mahama. Maka a maka! I don't fear any human being except the one that can kill my soul who is the creator of heaven and earth and his only bego ...

• WWW.NOLLYTUNED.COM 10 years ago

Watch GTV, TV3, Metro, AdomTV Ghana Movies, NollyWood Movies
    and KumaWood Movies AT WWW.NOLLYTUNED.COM

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

The truth must be told, anokware John Mahama cannot do the job.

This guy came to the job offering no real vision for the nation, instead he only served up absolute nonsense - Ede be keke - which for some, loosely translate ...

• Jenny 10 years ago

Mahama is very hardheaded. He has received so many timely advise but so far, fail to paid heed to any of the advise. Rather than cutting back the number of mps, he rather continue to appoint more ministers to fill useless pos ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

He cannot cut the number of MPs, he has no authority to do that; he however can reduce the number of his appointees. The body to cut the number of MPs is the Parliament and I doubt they will put themselves out of business.

• Abu 10 years ago

WE DID NOT HEAR YOU COMMENT WHEN THE SUPREME COURT SAID JAKE SHOULD RE-POSSES THE GOVT BUNGALO.YOU COULD HAVE ASKED GHANAIANS TO PUT PRESSURE ON THE JUDICIARY.OH PROF

• LARKOTEY 10 years ago

What has Jake's supreme court ruling got to do with Prez Mahama cutting down on the number of ministers.Some people talk from their annus.Just because you are his northerner brother should not blind you from recognizing what ...

• JAKE 10 years ago

SAME ALSO PROF WHY NOT SUCH AN ADVICE DURING NPP IN POWER???
    PLS BE FAIR TO THE NDC AS A NORMAL PARTY AS NPP, FOR WE KNOW WHERE YOU STAND.

• Naaniamah Balawo Shege 10 years ago

Don't pay any mind to the now retired Uncle Tom, George Ayittey. He's a Danquah-Busia man who sees nothing good in Africans and black people in general. He made a career going from one radio and tv station to another in the U ...

• True True 10 years ago

Dr. Ayittey,
    You are now retired. Don't just make statements, come and back up what you say so that you can earn some respect. We just don't believe in somebody just making a statement without substantiation. Come and let us ...

• cha 10 years ago

Mahama and is a visionless president

• Naa 10 years ago

HE'S TOO DAMN TO EVEN TAKE SUGGESTIONS.

• EWES & NTAAFUO,USELESS 10 years ago

HOW CAN PEEPEENI OR EWE LEAD GHANA ?

• Amecole. 10 years ago

I am a full blooded Fanti, but l take exception to you comment which is backward thinking, to say the least. Ghana is for all Ghanaians, indifferent of "tribe". What is lacking, ie good leadership, is tribe neutral. We just ...

• OWUSU 10 years ago

EVERY SO OFTEN I COME ACROSS FOOLS LIKE THIS PERSON HERE AND EVEN THOUGH RESPONDING SEEM TO ENCOURAGE SOME IT IS IMPERATIVE TO DENOUNCE AND CONDEMN THE COWARD WRITERS AND THE FILTH THEY TRY TO SPREAD.

• SETHO 10 years ago

THE NUMBER OF PARLIAMENTARIANS MUST ALSO BE REDUCED BY HALF

• Joe 10 years ago

more !

• OTCHERE DARKO 10 years ago

"He said President Mahama has “inherited a huge structural deficit problem” which can only be dealt with by taking “politically difficult choices”."
    ................................................................... ...

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

100 ministers for such a small economy....and too many parliamentarians.....with too high salaries and perks.....the democratic system of government has become an albatross around the neck of ghanaian...Parliament should be p ...

• KKK 10 years ago

NO INTEREST FOR GHANAS DEVT.

• Papa Sammo 10 years ago

I think the soldiers should come back and partner serious and honest civilians to rule the country.

Also ghana should consider 8 years of civilian rule followed by 4 years of military and another 8 years of military.....the civilians are really bad and not serious minded...they are all thieves...NPP, NDC, Kuffour, Rawlings, ...

• Ghana_Muntie 10 years ago

Convince his own sister(Madam Shirley) to step aside;work in concert with Abdul Malik to 'document' and retrieve all the state assets,especially landed properties) that have ended up in private hands;and finally prepare a dos ...

You're making no sense. If his sister steps aside, won't she be replaced the same day? The man is advocating a fundamental change and you're just being petty.

• Ghana_Muntie 10 years ago

The Prof`s message! The only conceivable way you can reduce the size of this administration by half is to reduce the head count just like is done the private sector. And what better way for the Pres. to show that he is heedin ...

• clarence 10 years ago

This cut if done I think will go a long way to reduce the expenditures and wastages in the gov system. Go for it Prez John Mahama. Some of them are just doing nothing.

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 10 years ago

Read Article
    Comment: PRESIDENT MAHAMA IS PRESIDENT OF GHANA
    Author:
    BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ.
    Date:
    2013-11-07 05:03:05
    Comment to:
    Pack up and leave if…- Ursula tells Prez Mahama

OPEN LETTER TO H.E.PRESIDENT ...

• AFRIQUE 10 years ago

ANY GHANAIAN WHO THINK OUR "LEADERS" ARE PROTECTIVE OF GHANAIANS AND GHANA ARE FOOLS LIVING IN FOOLS' PARADISE.

GHANA'S "LEADERS" PRETEND TO BE PROTECTIVE OF GHANAIANS AND GHANA ONLY WHEN THEY NEED YOUR VOTES.

AFTER T ...

• AFRIQUE 10 years ago

ASKING HAMAMA TO TAKE SUCH "DIFFICULT" ECONOMIC MEASURES AGAINST HIS BUSY-ABOUT-NOTHING FREELOADING MINISTERS IS LIKE ASKING A THIEF TO GET RID OF HIS FELLOW THIEVES.

"SCRATCH MY BACK, I SCRATCH YOURS", THAT'S THE ANTHEM O ...

• AFRIQUE 10 years ago

ASKING HAMAMA TO TAKE SUCH "DIFFICULT" ECONOMIC MEASURES AGAINST HIS BUSY-ABOUT-NOTHING FREELOADING MINISTERS IS LIKE ASKING A THIEF TO GET RID OF HIS FELLOW THIEVES.

"SCRATCH MY BACK, I SCRATCH YOURS", THAT'S THE ANTHEM ...

• VAVIOTO 10 years ago

PLEASE THIS IS NOT THE CASE. GHANA RATHER NEEDS A BLOODY REVOLUTION MORE THAN WHAT RAWLINGS DID IN 1979 TO RIGHT THE WRONGS. DEMOCRACY IS NOT GOOD FOR GHANA AND AFRICA. IT IS ONLY MILITARY RULE WITH DICTATORIAL TENDENCIES A ...

• Naaniamah Balawo Shege 10 years ago

Do the revolution at the polls! Next elections, say a loud no to both NDC and NPP. Then the next government should correct all the previous wrongs and punish those who committed offences - especially by seizing assets and imp ...

• K Nana 10 years ago

I STRONGLY AGREE WITH THE PROFESSOR. PLEASE CUT DOWN THE NUMBER OF MININSTERS AND THOSE PRESIDENTIAL STAFFS AS WELL AS YOUR MANY RESIDENTIAL ADVISORS.

Mahama did not inherit any structure...He was a duly elected as president and it was his choice to have that many ministers....He could have gone with 20 ministers....it was all his choice.

• Akos 10 years ago

Your post is so senseless, I don't even know what you're trying to say.

There is no law requiring Mahama to appointment as many ministers as he has....Do you understand my post better now? Even when he took over from Mills, he was not required to maintain Mills cabinet. He could have prune it dow ...

• nii 10 years ago

we a whole bunch of useless people in parl. taking home huge sums of money every month for nothing.

• DOKORDOKO 10 years ago

PROF COME AND CONTEST THE NPP TICKET PLS TIME FOR A GA PERSON TO BECOME PRESIDENT.OF GHANA.

• Queen 10 years ago

He created his own mess. He started off by stealing Ghana's money for some voters. He is incurring the wrath of God.

• AHMED YACOB 10 years ago

Mahama did not INHERIT anything. He was part of the PNDC/NDC all those years. He has been vice and President for 5 years and you say he inherited. He caused it he did not inherit it.

Who will listen to him?

• TOFIAKWA KOMLA 10 years ago

Thanks Prof, Mahama has no guts to cut down the size of his ministers. The sea will dry if he gets the guts to do that.The akwapim ranges will flatten and goats will turn into sheep if he tries

• Simingue 10 years ago

First and foremost Prof. Ayittey should have given this advice to Kufuor when the NPP was in government. Is the sister, Ms Sherry Ayittey not the sister in the Mahama's government, what is he talking about

• Aboagye 10 years ago

President Mahama for God's sake don't be stubborn. Listen to Prof Ayitey to safe Ghana from total collapse.

• Mamuna 10 years ago

How do you ask parliament to pressure the President when the law says more than 50% of appointees should come from parliament.

• GOV 10 years ago

Well it can be done but in this case the poor Ghanian will be welloff and the greedy bastards will become poor so there you go that is why they will not do it even parliament they are all in together

• ONUA 10 years ago

Prof stopped short, it is the parliament that must be dealt with first. It is too tooooo big, 275 MPs for Ghana, a country of 25m people that can be traveled back and forth in a day? There is no way we can pay serious attenti ...

for size of economy and population

• ASEM BEBA DABI 10 years ago

The real issue facing Ghana and Ghanaians is our ability to recognize what is fiscally DOABLE AND ATTAINABLE and make decisions based on economic viability on our productivity and output of the nation.
    There are three (3)is ...

• amoah wadee 10 years ago

indeed ,
    why should a country, like ghana have over 90 minister/deputies

something is real rotten in our state

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

At a time when visionary people were talking against unthinkable creation of additional 45 Parliamentarian which comes along with MCE and DCE, the stubborn Afari-Gyan did not see the effect it was going to get on our economy. ...

• Nicholas Kyeretwie-Chicago,USA 10 years ago

Man the problem is not Afari Gyan,who only carried out his job given to him by the Constitution.Guys let us all arise and do something about this document before every village in Ghana elects its own MP.

• Nicholas Kyeretwie-Chicago,USA 10 years ago

Thank you Prof.To begin with,the position of Deputy Regional Ministers should be abolished.Some Ministries which were split by Agyekum Kuffoo just to creat jobs for his boys will have to reverse to their old status.Can there ...

• PAPSON 10 years ago

He can not sack his chop I chop group of friends.

• SAMMY 10 years ago

ANOTHER DRAIN ON THE ECONOMY IS THE SIZE OF THE PRESIDENTIAL STAFF AND THIS SHOULD ALSO BE CUT.

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

SUCH A WISE RECOMMENDATION DESERVES A HIGH NOTE OF RECOGNITION.

ALTHOUGH PRESIDENT MAHAMA INHERITED IT,IT IS TIME HE THINKS ABOUT IT, SINCE THESE APPOINTMENTS DO DRAIN THE COFFERS OF THE STATE.

HE NEEDS TO TAKE A LOOK O ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

PROFESSOR,GOVERNMEMNT PROPERTIES NEED NOT TO BE STOLEN BY PEOPLE WHO WERE SUPPOSED TO BE ELECTED AS LAW MAKERS IN GHANA:

IT WAS INDEED A CRIME AGAINST THE STATEW FOR MINISTERS; SO CALLED LAW MAKERS AND GOVERNMENT OFFICIAL ...

• Ibn Batuta 10 years ago

Good points. I will go further to suggest that after retrieving all the government properties, they must be sold to the general public but must exclude politicians and their relatives. It makes absolute no sense for an impove ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Prof Ayittey, do you not think that we should let our ministers of state should keep their emoluments and perks, and rather demand that they deliver?

We want them to provide leadership in addressing the problems we face. S ...

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 10 years ago

TO RESPECTFULLY REVISIT PROF. AYITTEY PUBLICATION CAPTIONED "CUT DOWN NUMBER OF MINISTERS BY HALF" IS VERY DEBATEBLE SINCE IT IS NOT THE PROFESSOR WHO IS THE VISION HOLDER OF WHAT THE LEADERSHIP INTENDS TO ACHIEVE FOR THE PEO ...