You are here: HomeNews2013 10 24Article 289791

Gyan: We are scared to play in Cairo

Read Comments Comments (104)

• 4 Year Old 10 years ago

Don't be afraid. God is us. You will even do better at their backyard.

• Odasanyi, London 10 years ago

ASAMOAH GYAN IS RIGHT. IF THE GFA FAILS, THE GOVERNMENT MUST STEP IN. LIFE IS PRECIOUS.

• BlindMan 10 years ago

Egypt would need A 'basket' to carry Ghana goals!

• Egyptian President 10 years ago

I have a feeling that FIFA will change the venue because any other decision will make FIFA look like idiots. This is not a fool's ride.

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

ALL GHANA NEWS LIVE ON TV3, UTV Ghana, Metro TV, TV AFRICA, JOY NEWS, GTV, ADOM TV, Sports TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• jimy somer 10 years ago

EVEN ISSA HAYATOU AND BLATTER DONT WANT TO SEE GHANA IN BRAZIL. THATS WHY THEY GAVE * POINTS * GOALS TO ZAMBIA,THEY WANT GHANA TO BE ELIMINATED BUT GOD IS WITH US.HAYATOU JALOUS GHANA HE WANT ONLY CAMEROUN.

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

SAY U ARE SCARED N CANT PLAY IN VIOLENCE PRONE EGYPT, PERIOD. YENTUMI BO WO HO....WE PREFER SAUDI OR ITALY

• Bankudini 10 years ago

Increasing order of STUPIDITY:
    GFA < FIFA < CAF.

It did not appear to me in any news that CAF showed any concern about scheduling such a match in Cairo. Which implies neither of these bodies were concerned if the BS acce ...

• UNCLE KOFI 10 years ago

WHAT DO YOU EXPECT IF EVEN IN GHANA THEIR SUPPORTERS SHOWED THEIR POLITICAL FACTIONALISM AND NEARLLY FOUGHT. OUR PLAYERS HAVE CAUSE TO BE AFRAID. GFA SHOULD PRESS ON TO HAVE THE VENUE CHANGED

• KWASI A 10 years ago

I believe some members of FIFA were in Kumasi to witness the Political factionalism they (both the supporters and players) showed. This should tell FIFA that life is not two to toy with one. They should save Ghana from any ca ...

• JACK 10 years ago

THIS IS THE TIME THAT THE WHOLE WORLD IS WAITING TO SEE THE POWER OF THE FIFA,AND GHANA GOVERNMENT HAVE TO STEP ON THIS BEFOR IT WILL BE TOO LATE,I KNOW THIS NORTH AFRICANS AND EVERYBODY KNOWS WHAT THY CAN DO

• Wonderful 6-1 ! 10 years ago

We will not risk anything. We have already proved that we are capable of out playing them !

• kwame no 1 10 years ago

Political and security situation

In Cairo, since early 2011, protests have taken place near the Constitutional Court and the Presidential Palace, Tahrir Square, the Maspero area of downtown Cairo, the Abasiya district, the ...

A CBS 60 MINUTES FEMALES ANCHOR/HOST WAS SEXUALLY ASSAULTED AT TAHIR SQ. A MOB FINGERED HER MULTIPLE TIMES...FINGER FINGER...

• Mr.N@Irreconcilable differences 10 years ago

Gyan is not saying we are afraid of them we do not want to play them in Cairo in the middle of war. By the way God always asks to apply common sense no wonder your ID is says 4 Year old.

• Rasheed@to bring KLaus. Toppmoller 10 years ago

I thought you were the one quoting bible verses, when I said I was bringing Klaus Toppmoller. Now you antagonizing your fellow pastor for quoting the smae bible verses. What kind of pastor are you?.Mr.N

• POW@ Appiah anaaaaaaaaa 10 years ago

God is but the earth quakes, God is yet disaster strikes and lots of people lose their lives or get serious injuries. This is why the bible says "people perish for lack of knowledge" Who in his rightful mind will wake up in t ...

• Rasheed 10 years ago

Is Iraq safe?,yet world cup qualifying matches are played there. Do those countries complain?

• Jonny 10 years ago

Yeh i know some moslems dont care about their lives so if black stars dont feel safe ask for change of venue or boycott becaause life is not for sale

• Rasheed 10 years ago

Thou shall not fear Jonny. Nothing will happen by the grace of God. Zimbabwe, Guinea and Mozambique, all went there and played their matches without complaining .That is what FIFA will tell us.

SORRY.....

• KojoLee@Dilemma-Situation 10 years ago

Haaaa na this man paa de3, Zimbabwe, Guinea and Mozambique, all went there without incidence so we should rake fire on our bosoms as well, don't you think our garment can catch fire and burn also? This is the final of finals ...

• kwaku new york 10 years ago

you are a real fool to say that. are you a ghanaian? i don't think so otherwise you would not have said that. iraq is iraq and egypt is egypt..we are less concern about what is going on in iraq but more concern about our prec ...

• Johnny, Atlanta GA 10 years ago

Some people just don't get it.

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

I don't think you know Arabs, and especially what actually transpires in the savage country called Egypt. Even some of its own citizens are running away because of lack of security.

I have warned that FIFA had to find a di ...

• QATAR JOBS AND WORK 10 years ago

Travel And Work In Qatar With All Expenses Paid The Recruitment Agency,20% Would Be Deducted From Your Salary Up To 12Months.The Agency Will Provide The Following…

VISA
    AIR TICKET
    WORKING PERMIT
    ACCOMODATION
    TRAN ...

• The Don 10 years ago

We not only have to think about the players but the fans who are going to make the treacherous journey, and be amongst a volatile crowd. GFA should insist on a neatral venue, in case we give them another 6 goals, and their fa ...

• NOKORE NA EYE OOH 10 years ago

Stop that God paradiems of foolishnes. Put your hand in a burning fire and ask God to protect you from the fire. God do not protect intentional risky situation. A new venue is the best in times of such conditions. Stop abusin ...

• WOFA WOHOO 10 years ago

Go there and beat them at their backyard and nothing would touch you INSHAALLAH because we have already prayed and still praying you.All we want as GHANAIANS is for you guys to give us the biggest Xmas and New years gift in a ...

• Amanor Isaac USA. 10 years ago

Seriously,I dont want my beloved brothers to go and play over there.I feel a kind of heaviness,and I can say that if we go there to score them,we will loose lives.It is a perfect grounds for any terrorist to strike since it c ...

• EKOW PHOBIA 10 years ago

I do not blame you guys but the unreasonable FIFA.The FIFA executive would go to Egypt with loads of body guards around them!

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

Loads of body guard should be in hundreds of thousands.

Egyptians are more savage than you could imagine; they are pure animals, I can guarantee you that. When they descend on our players, nothing could retain them.

• Kwesi Guyman 10 years ago

Scores of football spectators died in Egypt not so long ago .AS the Muslim Brotherhood is intermittently fighting against the government itself how on earth can we be sure that the football grounds shall be safe?.
    The las ...

• Rachel 10 years ago

I agree with Gyan. Because of their opposition to the Egyptian govt, the Moslem brotherhood are backing the Black stars to beat the pharoahs. Imagine the blackstars winning this match & these govt opposers chanting for our te ...

• Wonderful 6-1 ! 10 years ago

If the venue is not moved outside Egypt by the deadline, we should all send our objections to FIFA. It is the responsibility of every Ghanaian to express themselves. We cannot risk any life. FIFA must listen to us.

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

In a forest a fox bumps into a little rabbit, and says, "Hi,
    junior, what are you up to?"
    "I'm writing a dissertation on how rabbits eat foxes," said
    the rabbit.
    "Come now, friend rabbit, you know that's impossible!"

• POW@ Appiah anaaaaaaaaa 10 years ago

Do you create these jokes or what? You seem to have one each for every story that rears it's head on Ghanaweb. Very nice one though.

• Daddy Oscar 10 years ago

Captain Gyan has said it all.I do not know why FIFA is wasting time on this delicate issue.If their so called soldiers cannot defend their own President how sure are we that they will defend our players as well as our support ...

• AKB 10 years ago

FIFA & CAF are the most stupid organisation for not taking the match away from Egypt, there is clear evidence of violence in Egypt, they are killing their own everyday, so why did Idiotic FIFA & CAF in the first place approve ...

• Rasheed@to bring KLaus. Toppmoller 10 years ago

My brother save your breadth and find some koko and drink. You cannot fight FIFA.

GHANA SHOULD NOT ALLOW FIFA TO USE OUR UNWILLINGNESS TO PLAY IN CAIRO AS AN EXCUSE TO DEPRIVE US OF OUR PLACE IN THE WORLD CUP. NOBODY IN HIS OR HER RIGHT MIND WILL GO AND PLAY A MATCH IN CAIRO OR FOR THAT MATTER, EGYPT IN TH ...

• Rasheed 10 years ago

Let us stop this nonsense and go and face them in Cairo. Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Guinea want there and played their matches.

• Jonny 10 years ago

No you stop that nonsense stupid fool

• Rasheed 10 years ago

I will take you along to go and watch match Okay, and by the grace of God we will come back safely.

• Joe King 10 years ago

Yes Rasheed those countries played there but it was done in empty stadia okay. If we are going to play in an empty stadium I dont thinks our guys would have any problem at all

• joseph 10 years ago

Tell me Hayatou is your name & you are not a ghanaian but don't be stupid

PRESIDENT MAHAMA SHOULD ADD HIS VOICE TO THIS CALL TO SWITCH THE VENUE.

• KK-K 10 years ago

You said it right. FIFA need to think of you and your supporters' safety. Even if they provide tight security for the players, what about the supporters? Playing anywhere in Egypt is equaly dangerous. FIFA should act wisely. ...

• Dick 10 years ago

Yes your life's are more important than anything else, yet go out there and teach them a lesson It doesn't matter what venue. We need to crash them one more time in a hole, or in the sky.

• Akoraba 10 years ago

Please, you can express your opinion without calling them names. Do not inflame things.

• MAKA 10 years ago

CAPITO HAS SPOKEN.....GO BABY JET

• John,Tema 10 years ago

Allowing this match to go ahead in Cairo means FIFA does not respect Ghana,this can never happen to any European country not even South Africa.

• from yaw spain 10 years ago

live is important

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

It's good that our players are raising the "Red Flag" to inform FIFA of the dangers our team faces in return match scheduled to be played in Cairo for the WC-2014 qualifying.

I'd like to urge all concerned Ghanaian fans to ...

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

Yes, afiinsoso yeyihom ye adwen....nd Amen!, from Samms!...

• Tetteh-Klokpe 10 years ago

Asamoah you are 100% right if you are in Cairo you will never advise the match to be play here. They take football to heart so much that when Black Stars score them here I can bet you that lives will be lost.

• Best Wisher (Germany) 10 years ago

The GFA should send a copy of this article to Mr, Blaetter.

In a country, where hundreds of citizens are killed daily, can on no account be insisted to be a save country.

• George Gyamfi 10 years ago

This is not the time to be entertaining negative feelings. Leave security concers to the authorities and focus on the football task at hand. As Captain, Asamoah Gyan should be encouraging his team mates to think of nothing bu ...

• GEORGE 10 years ago

thats true

• Rasheed 10 years ago

Are those countries going to Iraq to play world cup qualifying matches complaining?

• abreshia 10 years ago

we even don't have to say that egpyt is not save at this moment,the whole world knows it.that country is not save,so FIFA have to know his duty and protect football.the venue have to be in europe because most of the players p ...

• jay 10 years ago

Go play and stop the nonsense cuz fifa official will be there as well.. nobody is killing anybody.

• marful 10 years ago

Why the fear? Is any part of world safe? How about our police going to Somalia! Black Stars and GFA should not chicken out - if we are good, we must be good anywhere under whatever circumstances - and finally if Kumasi crown ...

• Johnny, Atlanta GA 10 years ago

Yes, Ghana is safe. Why was Senegal made to play elsewhere? Why did Egypt play the group games outside Cairo and behind closed doors in empty stadiums? You are not a Ghanaian!

SAVE JHONNY...SAFE JOURNEY IN NAIJA ACCENT

• PRINCE OWUSU 10 years ago

You are not being truthful here,whoever you are.Just imagine for a minute that the ground situation was reversed and this unfortunate civil war existed in Ghana or any other sub Saharan country,can you truthfully tell me FIFA ...

• Jonny 10 years ago

You talk like a kid

• jay 10 years ago

So what..!! You are a kid.. you think the world footballing body will put their workers in danger..?? That's funny.. its not about ghana. its about all..its easier for ghana on neutral grounds.. but no they should go to the b ...

• STEVE. 10 years ago

In my opinion, it has nothing to do with the Black Stars being afraid of the return match, but Cairo is not safe for the Stars, Executive body and especially the fans. I'm not praying for, but some fans will loose their lives ...

• Abdul Nassar Waeel 10 years ago

We will pay the Ghana goal keeper 2 million dollars to let in as may goals as possible. That is an offer he can't refuse.

• TOGBE 10 years ago

DEAL!

• kantamase otu abotwere 10 years ago

take ur fkn money,mind u Ghana is going to worldcup nexxxxxxxt summer'learn how to write MANY 'dog.

• Rasheed 10 years ago

Go there and face them like soldiers. Buddy.

• Jonny 10 years ago

Are you for real. We talking about poeple who dont care about nobody for shit

• Rasheed 10 years ago

Why Jonny, Recently Uganda went there and played a friendly match and nothing happened.

Yes! Because Uganda didn't win; the Egyptians spared them their lives if the results had been different. This is what you should know. Egypt hasn't been to the WC for a long time and their rowdy citizens want them to qualify ...

• kwaku new york 10 years ago

i don't think he really understands the quotation "cowards die many times before thier death" from julius caesar. say something smart and sensible.

• SACRAGI-NYAMAA 10 years ago

SHOULD YOU END UP IN EGYPT, THE TRICK IS...SCORE ONE OR TWO QUICK GOALS, THAT WILL SILENCE THEM, AND PHSYCOLOGICALY TAKE THE WIND OUT OF THEIR SAIL

• EDWARD OKONTA 10 years ago

please asamoah don't be scared of the egyptians they cannot do anything, As the captain, do asure and encourage your men, for the battle is the lords,we have already won ;and we are going to BRAZIL.

• koo 10 years ago

what about Olele is he also scared?

• too 10 years ago

dont go there

• Jon USA 10 years ago

FIFA will be insensitve should they allow the match to go on in Cairo .They therefore will be the number 12 player for Egypt.

• now 10 years ago

they should had played the game in ghana somewhere just to show that we only doing this for safety

Meanwhile we hope Coach Kwasi Appiah will do well to refine our team's ball possession, distribution and ball control etc. We have to sharpen our attack too and to tighten our midfield and defence with he arrival of the great ...

• BRO DAN- TRC 10 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, PRECIOUS PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, ON THE HEARTS AND MINDS OF THE BLACKS STARS OF GHANA WE CALL TO THE LORD'S SONG; -"HYEDIN NA ME'NSURO....." FOR IT IS NO LONGER ...

• MR BOND 10 years ago

Is it difficult for ghanaians to know that they have qualified for the world cup in advance? if fifa should insist ghana plays in egypt then the gfa must launch operation PLAY ANOTHER DAY. thus...we should not honour the seco ...

• ebenezer nii amu first-quao 10 years ago

.....of burying Pharaohs in their own Red Sea but we in Ethiopia would love to see a change of venue to Addis Ababa, the capital of Africa, where the entire diplomatic and international community will be the referee and the E ...

• Konoreyawa 10 years ago

Once you sense danger you just not walk into it or do you? Neutral and the GFA AND FIFA should listen before anything the inevitable happens.

• Joe King 10 years ago

I would like to suggest to the Government that if FIFA uses their bias means and insist we play in Egypt then we would have to accompany the National team and a contingent of our Armed Forces for Protection for our players an ...

• Brain 10 years ago

Between MUSLIM BROTHERHOOD AND THE MILITARY OF EGYPT WHO IS GOING TO PROTECT WHO ? BROTHERHOOD IS SMART IN BLOCKING ROAD AND CAN KILL SECURITY AGENT..... WHO IS GOING TO PROTECT WHO ?
    FIFA CAN YOU RESTORE ONE LIFE IN CASE AT ...

• Koo Mfanzti 10 years ago

Well put but please don't compare Ghanaian pussy with Japanese pussy!
    You can't even compare Ghanaian pussy with Korean pussy how much more the Japanese!

• Kokonte 10 years ago

Do they cry hard?

• Big penis 10 years ago

So scarely b'coz most of these angry Egyptian
    funs are terrorist. And we all know what these guys are capable of doing. This kind of fear is really hunting the black stars. And I'm afraid it will affect their performance w ...

• Obama 10 years ago

How dare you are to compare Ghanaian pussy with Japanese pussy ! ! !
    Don't you know that Japanese ladies have the best and fresh pussy in the world?

• Kobby 10 years ago

Life is too perfectionist. We should send a local team to play that match

• samuel 10 years ago

the venue can even be in their bed rooms and we shall surely beat them.if they bomb the park kraaaa we shall play the match on the streets hehehehehehehe brazil here we come,go ghana go

• AND HALF BURKINABE 10 years ago

The stars must be careful of what he gives them to eat or drink. Egypt is known to employ unorthodox methods to slow down their opponents. It is usually through food or drinks. Our Ambassador whose mother is Egyptian can easi ...

• oppong George 10 years ago

Ghana not need to play The returning match Egypt..Because there is no peace in Egypt..Our players are very,very precious as Asamoah said...Thank you Asamoa...and all

• REMEMBER 10 years ago

We all know this Arabs, what they can do,please remember had i know is Always at last.

• kwame Gyebi 10 years ago

The whole world is watching Ghana black star vrs Egypt national if Egypt kill our supporter and players Ghana black star supporters will attack Egypt embassy in Ghana becau se we never gain anything from them

• Martin Wiafe-Sekyere(Morgan) 10 years ago

It's up to the World Football-governing authorities to decide where the second-leg would be played but not the Egyptians.FIFA, no tricks here. Cairo is just like a 'Jungle'. and the whole world knows this.Sir Blatter, would y ...

• joseph 10 years ago

This is the real test to see if the present FIFA is well organized.They've already asked stupid question.How can you ask security from Egyptians?This is not qualifying stages,this is final.Also consider Morsi supporters & Br ...

• Justman 10 years ago

GOD IS ON UR SIDE. IF THEY RENEGE ON THEIR PROMISE IT SHALL SURELY BACKFIRE ON THEM. FEAR NOT, FEAR NOT, FEAR NOT.............................

• Kk 10 years ago

If something shd happen fifa will just say sorry so b careful. But Jah is our side