You are here: HomeNews2013 10 18Article 289224

Exposed: Former GIPC boss never paid tax

Read Comments Comments (99)

• BOMBER 10 years ago

HE IS NOW AN MP ON THE TICKET OF THE NDC.

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET 10 years ago

Free Internet tv streaming serving Ghanaians in the diaspora

www.ghanatvlive.net Live Brings You Live TV stations From Ghana. GTV, TV3, GTV Sports+, Adom TV Live, Joy News TV Live, Metro TV Ghana, e.tv And More.

WWW.G ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 10 years ago

No matter their educational background an Asante is full time criminal. Nation wreckers.

• Bomber 10 years ago

Ahanta is in Western Region "Aboa ba"

• KOFI WEST HAVEN 10 years ago

LET US ALL HAVE IN MIND THAT WE WILL ANSWER BEFORE THE LORD SOON OR LATER. IF ALL THE MONEY THAT THIS GUY MAKES HE DOES NOT PAYING TAXES ON THEM AND YOUR ARE TELLING US THAT THAT IS OK MR ANKRAH ?. I DONT BLAME YOU BUT YOUR P ...

• KOFI WEST HAVEN 10 years ago

AM SURE YOU KNOW BETTER THEN THAT.

• AFRICANS MUST RISE 2 THE WEST.. 10 years ago

----and HE kwame aboagye is laughing.HE CAME TO THE WEST TO UPGRADES HIS Laurels in a DEGREE to help his country, but thinks of himself wealthily..ABOAGYE will goes no where with that money transfered to Zwitzer ...

• GHANABI 10 years ago

Kwasea. Wo saa akoa gyimifoo yi.
    I thought this moron is dead. Not knowing that he exists. Dummy! Is
    every Akan an Asante? Stupid ignoramus.
    I am sorry for the womb that gave birth to such a pig like you, a stinking trib ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Only an NPP supporter would do this.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Mahama is guilty of these crime following his fraudlent activities in
    our country and in his administration, hence every body in this Government is robbing the people of this nation for their own selfish interest.

Look at ...

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

This has been happening since that body was created. Under Thief Kuffour, the practice was the same

• Yaw Poku,USA 10 years ago

Don't be a bigger fool like yourself. Twerp and an asshole/butthole.

• KWASEA Krikri 10 years ago

There are total evidence to show that
    you are most hopeless, senseless, idiot, deceitful, dishonest and monkey
    NDC supporter who wishes our country
    Ghana continues to be sank by senseless and lack of Leadership qualities D ...

• kofi yesu 10 years ago

Only pay and resign is not enough. they have imprison him nkwaseafo african leaders omanboifoo....

• KOFI NSIA 10 years ago

CAN WE HAVE A BIT OF UNIFORMITY IN OUR SPELLINGS? CENTRE INSTEAD OF CENTER.IAM SICK OF THIS AMERICAN CREEP.

• Kwaku 10 years ago

If we continue to have this manual way of assessing people's income before taxation,more will continue to slip through to go parliament.Possible we have more in that august house.

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Read the GO For reffrences,if entitle
    to pay, collect the tax now.

• peace 10 years ago

he is mahama boy

• Say it again 10 years ago

As a good citizen and MP l think it would be wise for the ex CEO to pay the tax with interest and resign from parliament.

• GIRLZ GIRLZ 10 years ago

IF THIS ANIMAL-FACE MAN DOES NOT PAY TAX BUT RECEIVE HIS SALARY FROM THE PUBLIC PURSE. THEN WHO SHOULD PAY TAX TO FILL THAT PUBLIC PURSE?

IN FACT THIS MAN IS STUPID FOOL.

• gghanaba 10 years ago

Nation wreker! I support your argument. if he is honest and have the country intrest at heart, he should at least refund the tax and all thers in other positions. Is not MAhama who is currupt, the officials are. But as a lead ...

• Tunkumaruu 10 years ago

Even when taxes are deducted some other juicy allowances make up for these deductions. This is no news. Abi!

• Adjoa B 10 years ago

Did all previous CEOs, dating from 1992,pay tax on their emoluments?

• kofi yesu 10 years ago

I doubt it Adjoa, they are all dubious and it started from their great grand fathers.

• Abena 10 years ago

I know that is right Kofi, all our leaders are corrupt to the bone. If not they would not be able to afford the luxurious life style they are all leaving. Expensive cars worth over $70,000 dollars each and spare once in their ...

• Luther King 10 years ago

Please lets make it a point to carefully read and understand articles before commenting. The former CEO did not pay taxes because it was part of his condition of service. If any blame at all should be laid it should be at the ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

That is the most stupid and foolish explanation ever to hear. Why should they have tax exemption status? What corporations in the world are their CEO given that opportunity other than ours who are nothing more than "toads" i ...

• Yaw Poku,USA 10 years ago

You have said it all, Mr P

• Amadu Siedu 10 years ago

i will consider it as unconstitutional because per the constitution of ghana only the president is exempted from paying income tax.therefore exempting a ceo from paying income tax as a form of incentive is neither here nor th ...

• JK 10 years ago

In addition to the President's Salary, Minimum Wage Earners are not supposed to be taxed.

One cannot hide behind employment benefits to evade taxes. This man therefore may have been led into breaking the law.

The fact ...

• JK 10 years ago

Pelicles,
    Luther merely stated the obvious. There are many in Ghana doing the exact same thing. It does not make it right. As a matter of fact, I am inclined to think that laws are being broken as a result of this 'arrangem ...

• TOP AL 10 years ago

If there is any sense in this article, it is only to sel the news paper.

CEOs do not prepare their payroll. It is done by the accounts/finance department.

So what is the trouble here? Ghanaian PHD style of journalism.

• kofi yesu 10 years ago

these are the people who have been eating our tax paying money and he is now an MP who makes laws and he himself have abused it(the law) Top al

• Amadu Siedu 10 years ago

man, you are missing the point. the accounts/finance prepares the payroll based on the information given them by the management which includes the ceo. so there is trouble here, note it. payrolls are prepared based on explici ...

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

Fellow country men, what has the former CEO done wrong? He has done nothing wrong. He did not pay tax because that was his condition of service. In view of this, the title of the article is completely wrong.

• Kwame 10 years ago

which damn condition of service exempt workers of tax? Was he not being paid for being a worker?

• Stanley 10 years ago

My friend if this is your level of critical analysis then I am sorry for you.

First of all did you ask yourself why the present CEO is duly paying taxes like all responsible Ghanaians are and why the previous one should no ...

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

This is very political so it deserves to be talked about in "political colors". What it may not be is Partisan. The reason the particular executive must get some flack is because as an enlightened Citizen, he should have off ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

The way things are moving in Ghana IS MAKING IT A FERTILE GROUND for a FORCEFUL CHANGE OF GOVT.whether military OR otherwise !!!
    WHY DO WE HAVE LAWS WRITTEN DOWN and lawyers plying their trade IF THERE ARE NO CONSEQUENCES ?? ...

• K.K 10 years ago

This man should be jailed. Enjoyed public services at expense of poor tax payer. Shameless being

• Kwaku 10 years ago

I pray Kobla Dumor's sister will also not do the same,else her family will be destroyed for good.That is why Kobla refused to joy the criminal Ewe party call NDC,he is safe in BBC.

• AMEGBEDZI 10 years ago

Kwaku or whoever you are. I think it is because of people like you. Always insulting EWES yet you want them to vote for your party. You must know by now that EWES are not fools. They are humble people who always talk less. Th ...

• Yaw Poku, USA 10 years ago

Humble my ass. Salt never praise itself. If ewes are really humble, people will see it but not to be told of it as you said it. You ewes might not talk much because of your secret nature which is evil and your encompassing in ...

• Senior citizen Bs. Germany 10 years ago

This kind of animals farm policy in Ghana must be put to an end as soon as possible to stop the day light robbery of the state.The managing Director of a state institution whose take home pay is bigger than the rest of staff ...

• JK 10 years ago

In Ghana, only minimum wage is exempt from taxes.

Other than the minimum wage, I believe the constitution also exempts the president from numerous other taxes, of which Salary is also included.

These chief executives t ...

• Stanley 10 years ago

Thank you JK. At least it is heart-warming that we have a few Ghanaians who can think for our collective interest and not those thieves and their supporters who seek to make sense out of this horrible anti-state anomaly.

• JK 10 years ago

Stanley,
    While some jobs carry tax-exemption, what I know is that the tax is not completely dispensed of. The organization is expected to make up that obilgation to the Revenue Agencies. That this man's tax is or was comple ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 10 years ago

You can't have one without the other.

• Judgement Day 10 years ago

What is happening clearly confirms what the President of Uganda, Yoweri Museveni once said that "the real thieves are at the top".

• Judgement Day 10 years ago

Let him pay up everything or else he has no business making laws for the country.

• Kwame 10 years ago

These are our Honourable Members. A poor Ghana-man will thief a bunch of plantain and he/she will be jailed but we leave these palpable thieves to amass wealth without questions. God is watching all of us.

• ken 10 years ago

down and sort our problems for us. He has given us brains and talents to use and manage the earth. It is up to us whether we will sit on our arses and continue to let the planning, looting and sharing brigade carry on with ...

• akonfem mahama,booool 10 years ago

CORRUPT MAHAMA,NDC EVILS DWARFS ARE TOOOOOO CORRUPTS,BAD STUPID PARTY,GOD WILL PUNISH THEM ALL,PERIOD

• DUKE 10 years ago

He should be sacked from parliament, and charged with offences against the state.

These lapses explain why Ghana is broke and we have to go with begging bowls to the West (not Russia or China) to ask for money to supplemen ...

• Kojo Kumi 10 years ago

He should have been submitting tax returns annually. Internal revenue MUST make him pay all taxes due for all those years!!

• Appletus 10 years ago

Thief cheat.......he should refund and straight to jail. Period!

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

If these Institutions wanted to pay the CEOs the amount they receive for salaries, all they had to do was raise that amount by the equivalence of taxes that had to be deducted to keep the same net pay.

It is most unwise ...

• RedmanBobo 10 years ago

HE MUST PAY THE TAX UP TO DATE OF RESIGNATION OR PROPERTY CEASED

• AND ARMED-ROBBERS 10 years ago

EVERYONE IS A THIEF IN GHANA

• Eredec61 10 years ago

Was the Board aware of this?

• Proud Pepeman. 10 years ago

THE SAME CORRUPTION IS STILL GOING ON. THE CURRENT OFFICIALS ARE TRAVELLING FIRST CLASS AND GET SPECIAL SERVICES WHICH EVEN THE PRESIDENT MAY NOT GET. THEY ARE A LAW ONTO THEMSELVES AND MISUSING PUBLIC FUNDS. IF YOU CARE CHEC ...

• Ben 10 years ago

How many government appointees/politicians do not pay taxes? These guys live in govt bungalows, get paid for house helps, use water and electricity free and do not pay taxes? May God save Ghana!

• GH,CITIZIN. 10 years ago

You see,when we says,Ghana colo,colo laws,was open to corruption they says we are kids,too known.if mighty,great America gone to war killed themselfs because of Tax why not Ghana if we really wants to practise democracy,every ...

• SENIOR CITIZEN 10 years ago

THE STATE SHOULD ENSURE THAT THIS FORMER GIPC BOSS CUM MP FOR AHANTA PAYS BACK THE TAX PLUS 15% DEPARTMENTAL CHARGES (OVER THE YEARS) ON THE SALARY/EMOLUMENT (INCLUDING ALLOWANCES) TO SERVE AS A DETERRENT TO OTHER OFFENDERS. ...

• nanaabro 10 years ago

I am with you, senior citizen. In addition, further investigations should be conducted into the accounts of all MPS especially those who held positions in government before they became MP. Those who did not pay taxes should b ...

• nsem pii 10 years ago

Are not paid well because some to guy forgot to pay his taxes. The system SUCKS from the poor and spare those top guys. Pathetic.Kwasi Pratt and Kofi Wayo best best leaders that.

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

Why is it that in Ghana no Parliamentarian - both NDC and NPP - is ever made to pay for his stupidity.

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

That is why I get angry when all these crimes against the state are viewed from ethnic and party lines. Look, whether NDC or NPP, they are all the same. They all keep mum when it comes to giving themselves hefty salaries and ...

• KRETZ - D 10 years ago

He is not alone, there are many like him in the system, especially government and private officials.

• ghanaba 10 years ago

Shame unto you George Kwame Aboagye

• Bomber 10 years ago

This is a simple contractual issue, if his contract says his salary quoted is net then GIPC is supposed to be paying the tax to GRA. On the other hand if it is gross and the Accountant failed to take the tax then the Accounta ...

• nanaabro 10 years ago

This is robing Ghanaians to pay Paul

• .com 10 years ago

People are looting and bleeding this country to death makes me sick! Let him pay back taxes

• KWAME 10 years ago

When officials leave office, the bad things they do always come out. Why is it so?
    There are no checks and balances as part of the systems we put into place. It should be part of the arrangements to put into place checks to ...

• Girls Aloud 10 years ago

All they use the money for is women. Shamefull government officials look at their fat bellies.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

George Aboagye can be disqualified from holding his parliamentary position.

Above the law, who else is above the law? Many! They clear their goods without paying taxes and sell at maximum prices, only their sons and daughters are working at the ports that is why corruption goes on unaudited. They are ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Poor, poor Ghanaians!

• VICKY LEE BENTON 10 years ago

THEY SHOULD FORCE HIM TO PAY EVERY PENNY OF IT. THE POOR LITTLE PEOPLE GUWORKING TO MAKE ENDS MEET PAY TAXES WHY NOT HIM.

• Baaba 10 years ago

Jail him and Tobinco guy. Money making crooks.

• kwasi, md 10 years ago

Mr. Kwame Aboagye is not fit to be a (role model)leader. It is imperative that he is remove from his office immediately.

• Ayichristi 10 years ago

No one is above the law if the trotro drivers can pay taxes then all should do likewise its a shame if the so call big men and their politican friends have only one reason to take advantage of Ghanians He has no morals to be ...

• AAD 10 years ago

Calculate the back taxes and let him pay - simple otherwise he has no business being a legislator

• jet 10 years ago

What is the man's crime? Accepting to be the CEO or the policy of the establishment to guarantee his net salary? I don't get it.

• Major Nice 10 years ago

This guy should sent to jail for ever.

• Yaw k 10 years ago

So after 50 yrs of so called independence there is no system in place to tax workers before handling them a pay check, no steet name & addresses,cant educate our people to high scool level,too many languages,and the governme ...

• idiot 10 years ago

every ghanaian should paid his due tax nomatter who are it iswrong wrong wrong.they should have them all paid those money back.were is the revenue coming from and we have to carve in arole for this thiefs they have made it in ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

This is unbelievable and shameful of Mr. George Kwame Aboagye for intentionally evading his personal obligated tax. He should be made to pay all back taxes on his salary. This is very very serious issue when the poor cocoa ...

• mohammed 10 years ago

Just send him his bill with huge penalty and interest up to date. why do you have to publish this?

• nii 10 years ago

its absolutely foolish on the part of GIPC finance director to make that wreckless statement. anyway its is only in ghana that things like this will happen..nkwasiasem

• Poor no friend 10 years ago

Tax evasion is a crime. Lets see the IRS prosecute this man.

• btg 10 years ago

From now on you would be referred to as, "Terribly Stu piD" for your stu Pid utterances here.

• Philips 10 years ago

How could this happen in a state institution? The chief Accountant and the internal Auditor of GIPC must all be sacked immediately. Mr.George Kwame Aboagye has knowingly cheated the state and must also be forced to resign fro ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

MPs are paid monthly.Why not calculate the TAX on what he owed and DEDUCT it from his salary ?? After thatcalculate the INTEREST for him to pay and THROW HIM OUT OF PARLIAMENT !!!
    Sorry, Ghana has become a USELESS and LAWLES ...

• OPEN MINDED SAINT 10 years ago

FRANKLY THIS MP IF INDEED IS HONOURABLE SHOULD PAY ALL THE TAXES NOW. THIS IS A JOKE GO ERNMENT CHASING SOMEONE WHO HAS SACRIFICED HARD BY SAVINGS AND SET UP HIS OR HER BUSINESS EXAMPLE DRESS MAKERS ALWAYS BEING HUNTED BY GRS ...

• ' and Jesus wept ' 10 years ago

They did not cut Jesus Christ any slack so why this guy? I don't blame this unpatriotic, no good for nothing self conceited moron who should have known better. Who prepared his paycheck and who are/were the nation wrecker CEO ...

• Dan Budu 10 years ago

Oh what kind of conditions of service for a high ranking working officer in Ghana not to pay tax from his earnings, and yet the poor worker continues to pay taxes through the means of PAYE system? Mr Finance Minister, these a ...

• Dan Budu 10 years ago

An MP to make laws for Ghana! What type of laws can the nation expect from such law breakers - nothing.

Irrespective of the so-called conditions of service, this MP must resign for being a law breaker - evading paying tax ...