You are here: HomeNews2013 10 06Article 288084

Foreigners Identification Card is a Scam - Foreign students in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (68)

• damion 10 years ago

what of the results of the recent census. the number of foreigners would have been reflected there. useless effort and pure collection of money. we cant do anthing right.

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Those motherfuckers in the NDC have even fooled their own Ghanaian citizens. Where is the so-called National ID Card which Atta Mills displayed his own to the public a few years ago?

• kwaku 10 years ago

we spend hugely to maintain peaceful environment for you to steady. No one is forcing you. you can choose to go back to your NEPA & BOKO HARAM country and stay for good.

• You're Shafted 10 years ago

The reason the NIA are enforcing this duplication of public records, apart from extorting $120 (in the non-Dollarized economy), is so that they can then sell your ID (and all associated data including passport details and fin ...

• OZA 10 years ago

I totally agree with the students. Isn't the same Ghana government that, about a week ago, tried to forbid hotel owners from charging US dollars from foreign guests? Double standards.

• OZA 10 years ago

Get this, Mr Tobi: the only reason why the Ghana government is squeezing money (dollars) out of you is simply because, they know that parents, including Ghanaians who can afford to send their children abroad to study are very ...

• The 10 years ago

You are even lucky it's only $120 because NDC chop all Ghana money and now imposing cut throat taxes and dubious id's

• Taharka 10 years ago

NDC is pro gay rights and anti Black they are house niggers they bastards who sold their own to whites.

• william 10 years ago

They have a genuine concern as much as the authorities providing the service. This calls for negotiation not insults.

• ROMANO 10 years ago

Fool upon all the monies these guys have been paying, where are the infrastructures to show for it? Lights off everyday even for days at a stretch sometime.

No running water except if you have borehole., roads are fast ...

• blazers 7 years ago

Kwaku I know u are foolish and ur name does not sound differently from foolishness, go and make a background search, Nigerian students contribute billions of dollars to ur crumbling and creeping economy, u should be thankful ...

• DAN 10 years ago

are they a gov funded school???? Once the immigration service give the student visa that should be end of that! In usa they might be require to obtain a State id or driving permit for 20-$50 depending on state!

• Lafia 10 years ago

Why giving foreigners in ghana id card? why? let them use their passport wherever to go..so that they can easily be identified. stop stupidity and le all foreigners in ghana ue their passport or whatever document they use to ...

• Ghanaboy 10 years ago

The government should check these so call students from west African countries. They are a threat to national security. This will not be allowed in Nigeria or any other west African country. They should abide by our laws or l ...

• wiseman 10 years ago

i dont think thier in ghana for studies thier there for 419.but they said they have brain mre than ghanaians then why study in ghana then? i thought they have better schools more that us?

• ONLY GOD 10 years ago

blind man with little mind not ur fault.God pass them

• ROMANO 10 years ago

You are an embarrassment !

• anokwale 10 years ago

ECOWAS is supposed to encourage regional commerce. Having students get ECOWAS passports and then forcing them to get foreign identification cards is counter intuitive.

• Akrofi 10 years ago

They are Right! I support it. They Must Insist.

• Akrofi 10 years ago

They should not pay anything,

• YOUR COUNTRY 10 years ago

Can Ghanaian students in Nigeria do this to the Nigerian government? They will BURN you alive!

• God pass them 10 years ago

Landlord travel and see.

• Nii 10 years ago

Waow! did you see the picture? they sat on decent polished tables and chairs to make their press conference. Believe me if it were to Niger, they would have sat on some torn mats and may be at a refuse dump. even they would n ...

• GHANAIAN 10 years ago

I am ashamed that even students from African countries are being treated like this in Ghana of all countries. At the same time I am happy that they are all witnessing the type of government Ghana now has. Why all these cheati ...

• Lokomotive 10 years ago

u guyz can go to hell thieves u either pay or face it:$120 isnt better than going to be bombed by bokoharam? IDIOTS

• Kenya 10 years ago

Mind your words because you are not save.Ever blind.

• william 10 years ago

Why can't you stick to the issue and discuss its merits or demerits.

• mr Tina 10 years ago

please if you can pay go back to your country and study. You are doing harm than good. You are bringing your evil act into our country.

• kay 10 years ago

So these guys believes the way to win the sympathy of the government is to refer to the legitimate law of the country as scam! This is a very crude way to go. I'm a Ghanaian studying in the UK and i'm made the to pay similar ...

• DAN 10 years ago

Once you get the Student visa for usa,,then you can if you don't want to carry passport at all time, get State id or Drivers permit as id in usa for $20..The school is big university may require their own ID card of use at sc ...

• DAN 10 years ago

my sister unlaw went from accra to nursing school in UK and when she came to USA she was still asked to take job as the lowest level nurse they have in new york (nurse aid)!

• kay 10 years ago

Reponse to Prince about EU student, please do not misinform the public, for a an EU student to qualify as a home student they must have lived or worked in the UK for 3years to qualify for home fees, in any way the EU gives ea ...

• Prince 10 years ago

If you study in UK and so what? DO EU citizens pay all the fees you claim to be paying? This students have a right as ECOWAS citizens not as Nigerian or otherwise, be wise to always debate issues within the context. How can a ...

• Prince 10 years ago

If you study in UK and so what? DO EU citizens pay all the fees you claim to be paying? This students have a right as ECOWAS citizens not as Nigerians or otherwise, be wise to always debate issues within the context. How can ...

• okofo 10 years ago

You can ALWAYS go back to your country if you think you cannnot abide by the laws of Ghana. Spare Ghanaians some noise: when Nigerians kicked out over 1 million Ghanaians in 1983, and more each year where was that so called E ...

• Akos 10 years ago

Are we not the ones who kicked nigerians out first and took their lands. My mother even confirmed the story and about how so many house that belongs to nigerians in Kumasi were stolen or left and took over by us. Then they d ...

• Nii 10 years ago

I can see you blocked headed prince are the only respondant on most issues debated on this page. My brother, this is the same things you people did in Nigeria and gradually turned into buko haram. daily uprising and rebellion ...

• Pascalini 10 years ago

Why, Nigeria no get school? Pay up or you return to your failed County!

• Prince 10 years ago

Am sure you have never been to the university, continue your labourer job okay!!

• okofo 10 years ago

You don't come to Ghana to make rules to suit your ambition. If you disagree with the law, you can return to Nigeria, Oga!!

• ABU 10 years ago

Either they respect the nation's laws or pack out somewhere else to pursue the educational goals.

• BONAFIDEKMAN 10 years ago

$120 is way too much for processing an I.D.As usual NDC rushes to implement things without thoroughly looking at the whole scheme.Look at how the single spine salary structure is being messed up.
    As for the foreign students ...

• PRINCE B 10 years ago

ALL OF YOU ARE CRIMNALS IN GHNA ,WE DONT NEE U PPLE IN GHANA U BETTER GET OUT OF THE COUNTRY

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

It is interesting to know that some foreigners are getting Identification Cards in Ghana so what about the Ghanaians?How could the Foreign Ministry issue ID Cards and the NIA is unable to issue National ID Cards for the citiz ...

• CONTEMNOR 10 years ago

Stupid Nigerian students, go and burn the sea, idiots bringing occultism to the Ghanaian tertiary institutions. We will Charge u and ur "K" legged mothers who gave birth to u idiots. Go back to failed Nigerian country and joi ...

• Prince 10 years ago

Are you human? am sure you never went to school so reasoning is a big issue for you. You speak with so much hatred, tell me what good you have done to motherland Ghana since u were born!!

• CONTEMNOR 10 years ago

I ' m defending my country from Nigerian terrorists. What have u done for Ghana? By the way i wouldn't express myself in the english dialect had i not been in school so mind what u say

• ROMANO 10 years ago

What have you or your wretched generation of your entire family ever done for Ghana? Just answer asshole? Defending Ghana ? If you want to defend Ghana go and join the military force kwasia.. Coward like you? Too mach i ...

• ERIC 10 years ago

fools here is ghana and not nigeria

• Foreigner 10 years ago

The Foreign ID card is not a scam...It's a head tax. There is no reason to have this card other than for the government to take an additional $120 off of foreigners. This is the law of the land...and I have abided by it. H ...

• Igp 10 years ago

Ghana is not Africa nor Nigeria. Follow the laws of Ghana or ship out. We will not be silenced by a mere crap paper called Ecowas protocol. Protocols are non-binding on our constitution. Why not go to Nigeria and call Boko ha ...

• Kwaku Randy 10 years ago

The issue concerning the ID card should be addressed properly, why the ID card- Most migrants come to the country to change their Identity, Ghana is not having a system to identify its own citizen and acquiring Ghana passport ...

• Bill Anaba, china 10 years ago

i study in china as a foreign student and i must say that foreigners don't need any id card of that sort. All foreigners have your passports and must have a valid and appropriate visa on it. The immigration office must enter ...

• Nii 10 years ago

I believe most of these students are Buko Haram sponsored students and the intelligence department must show lots of interest in the problems they want to create. when I wanted to school in Europe I went through hell with all ...

• Prophet 10 years ago

As the world gets dangerous, terrorist use false IDs to bomb shopping malls, and students are shot in their sleep in next door Nigeria we need a biometric system so we know who is here.
    If foreigners want to be safe they ha ...

• Akos 10 years ago

Nothing last forever. Ghana did it, then nigeria did it then Ghana's doing same to frustrate them and then they will retaliate when it's their turn. Hmmmmmm. Africans with their black minds and mentality. No wonder look a ...

• Blessed 10 years ago

Can you imagine nigerians telling us how to run our affairs in our country? Jesus Christ! If I were the president of Ghana, these fools will not stay on Ghanaian soil for more than 24 hours. what kind of nonsense is that? if ...

• olamide 10 years ago

Mehn I don't blame d ghanian govt they have seen the way nigerian students patronize their university in large quantity but that does not give them the right to try to extort us ghana which nigeria has helped in the past, nd ...

• Blessed 10 years ago

Bla bla bla typical nigerian nonsense! Abeg all nigerian students should withdraw from Ghana and let the Ghanaian economy collapse! what arrant crap is that? who cares about nigerian students studying in Ghana? did any one be ...

• true Ghanaian 10 years ago

Ghana,wake up, in which country in the whole wide world can nationals of other countries challenge the authority of the host government?these people mostlys Nigerians,dont even ever go back,parasiting on the Ghanaian economy ...

• OLAMIDE 10 years ago

HOW DO THEY CREATE SHORTAGES THE NIGERIANS ARE THE BEST STUDENT IN MOST OF UR UNIVERSITIES AND STILL PAY MORE THAN DOUBLE AND IN HARD CURRENCY AND ADD TO YOUR ECONOMY WHAT HAPPENED YEARS BACK CAN STILL HAPPEN THE GHANA MUST G ...

• GH 10 years ago

listen to this clueless,amala-eating nigerian talk crap! so how did nigeria help Ghana in the past.hope you dont think, as most nigerians do, that the oil and gas your country supply to Ghana is free,hug?it is paid for,huh? t ...

• Legal Oracle 10 years ago

I say Again my very good Ghanaian friend will always say the problem with Africa is discrimination,poverty and ignorance !!!! Think before you speak folks God bless Africa

• samklef 10 years ago

Very useless country...nd dey will come to lagos nd start begging for Jobs nd selling pofpof..country full of illiterates..The hatred they have for us will never make them grow..The only way they think they can use to make mo ...

• GH 10 years ago

hahahaha did u say our people sell puff puff in lagos.is anything wrong with that?at least they are not criminals.nigerians,at home and abroad,r 419ners,yahoo yahoo,ritualists,witches n wizards,militants,bunkerers,pirates,pro ...

• samklef 10 years ago

IF we leave this country..you guyz will be as poor as church rats...You should go to your government nd ask dem ow much we are contributing to your economy..illiterates!!!

• GH 10 years ago

so why dont you leave so we'll be poorer?what is stopping mumugerians from leaving Ghana n returning to their shithole,where 120 million dont have light,80% r unemployed,life expectancy is 52 yrs,90% of nigerians survive on l ...

• TheConsiousProfessor 9 years ago

This is a reflection of Ghana's BLACK NEO-COLONIALISTS' greed and blatant disregard or ignorance of Black History. Still upholding borders drawn by Europeans (see "Scramble for Africa").

Ghana's identity card is a slap in ...