You are here: HomeNews2013 10 05Article 287952

Govt to cushion Ghanaians against new utility tariffs

Read Comments Comments (48)

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

visionless, planless and corrupt

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

HOW CAN THE LEOPARD CHANGE IT'S SKIN?????

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

the same coin

• J. J. LAWRENCE 10 years ago

I WONDER WHY THE GAY VICE PRESIDENT IS THIS TIME AROUND NOT IN NIGERIA TO FUCK MEN IN HIS FATHERLAND BUT IN GHANA TALKING NONSENSE

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

ALL GHANA NEWS LIVE ON TV3, UTV Ghana, Metro TV, TV AFRICA, JOY NEWS, GTV, ADOM TV, Sports TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• Mahmoud 10 years ago

With the level of corruption in the utility companies, no amount of hikes will ever make them viable. The bot is leaking and the whole must be blocked. The government must be seen to be blocking it. Taking temporary remedies ...

• AWOH 10 years ago

you know cos maybe he slept with you and your father bastard

• MR OBJECTIVE 10 years ago

Yes,keep on taken the 80% OF Ghanaians as fools for your USELESS deciets,mr john mahama.

• DAN 10 years ago

Ghana's tax system must be made to mirror they usa. Where you pay everytime you get paid(weekly or every other week)..then in Jan-march you file your tax's, take deductions for family( deduct $2000 for each child?) Deduct for ...

• Pascalini 10 years ago

Cutting the branches, leaving the roots untouched! What about the endemic corruption and inefficiecy? Unless the problem is effectively solved we would just be running in circles! Period.

• JJOE 10 years ago

STOP GOVERNMENT SUBSIDIES WHICH END UP RICH POCKETS INSTEAD OF THE POOR

• DUBAI-BEIRUT 10 years ago

Just sell the country off to prove your inefficiency and incompetence. This country is heading to the abyss.

• Ghana Ba Papa 10 years ago

Empty barrels make the best noise. What is your suggestion for preventing the country from heading to abyss. Useless bitch. Mention them if you think you are intelligent than those managing the economy. Fool!!!!!

• PEACE 10 years ago

I thought you were going to suggest something to help the economy too but all i saw was the usual attacks when you guys are criticized. How are we serious as a country when a whole president travels to a UN conference and aft ...

• Abeiku 10 years ago

Who told you the government wants suggestions? He who knows not and knows that he knows not, needs help. However, he who knows not and knows not he knows not, is a fool. A word to the wise...

• DUBAI-BEIRUT 10 years ago

If those managing the economy are intelligent as you claim, what intelligence do you want us to recommend to them? We do understand their intelligence is that of inefficiency and incompetency. No matter what suggestions we of ...

• dirty man ewe 10 years ago

monkey vice president didnt pay bills

• DAN 10 years ago

Phones are now cheaper and more lines avail than with Ghana telecom..Even in usa there is competion! Do same with electric and water..Some citys have their own water systems, Countys have them..Same with electric you have Cit ...

• energy expert 10 years ago

You got it wrong Dan. If you pay 48 USD for 300 units. Then it costs you 16 cents or 32 pesewas per unit. In Ghana the average cost per unit is about 20 pesewas per unit before the increment. A 79% increase means ghana now pa ...

Energy expert, I pay about 12cents per unit of electricity in Texas. If Ghanaians are paying about 18 cents (36 pesewas like you said), don't you think it far more expensive considering how much is paid the worker in the US p ...

• energy expert 10 years ago

Kofi I get your point. But the figure I used for my analysis was the average for ghana against your individual rate. It is possible that the average rate in Texas could be higher than 12 cent. In Dan's comment he did mention ...

• Godfrey 10 years ago

Did the increase in the tarrifs affect the Volta Region?

• Americano 10 years ago

NDC I told U so! It is a bad government. TUC should make sure uncircumcised persons like Asiedu Nketia pays utility bill. Paa Kwesi is lying to Ghanaians. They have nothing to offer. Mills and Paa Kwesi were demonstratin ...

• OHEMAA AKUA 10 years ago

fellow ghanaians rise up and refuse to pay these tariffs,if the whole nation decides not to pay then they will have to think twice.

• St. akpana 10 years ago

AFTER U HAVE ALLOWED PEOPLE TO USE THE TARIFF TO CALCULATE THEIR CHARGES AND HAVE STARTED IMPLEMENTING IT HOW WILL THE CUSHIONING DO? AS SACHET WATER PEOPLE ARE TAKING IT TO 1 CEDI 80 PESEWAS ARE U SURE THEY WILL BRING THEIR ...

• jorge 10 years ago

thiefs

• Akyeampong gm 10 years ago

It is always organised labour and industry that is taught about.What about the pensioner ,especially the SSNIT PENSIONER ???!!,.

• Akua 10 years ago

Cushion Ghanaians against something that is done already?

• Ericus-Ericus 10 years ago

POOR ECONOMIC MANAGERS - NDC IS FULL OF INCOMPETENT LEADERS. GHANA IS SINKING UNDER MAHAMA's NDC.

• AK47 IS MY FUCKING ADDRESS ! 10 years ago

This is overnight surprise 52% increase for the water and 78.9 for the electricity is way too high during this bad economy time . The water increase should be 15% and 25.9 for the electricity.

• Egya 10 years ago

Can't blame clueless Mahama and Amissah-Arthur. I blame the dumb and foolish people who voted for them! What do the people expect? Let them suffer!!!

• MAHAMA MIND DOES NOT WORK TRUST ME 10 years ago

MAN U ARE RIGHT HAHAHAHA FOOLS LIKE THOSE WHO VOTE FOR THEM; I THINK THE EWES ARE CRYING NOW POOR FOOLISH PEOPLE:

• KOOKZI 10 years ago

WE ARE ALREADY FEELING THE PINCH AND ALL YOU HAVE GOT TO SAY IS,`` MEASURES WILL BE PUT IN PLACE TO CUSHION CONSUMERS'' WHEN, MR FINE FACE VICE PEE? PEOPLE HAVE STARTED DYING FROM THESE FACELESS AND WICKED TARIFFS IMPOSED ON ...

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

Ghanaians dead in Lampedusa

• AMB 10 years ago

Where is the Ministry of Private Sector Development and the Private Sector Development Council in all this? The Ministry needs to sit up and take a lead position in championing all private sector development issues.

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFUL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• KWASHIE ADJAH 10 years ago

THIS AFRCP/PNDC PARTY WAS FOUNDED BY A TALKATIVE, JERRY JOHN RAWLINGS. SO THE PARTY ONLY TALKS AND THAT IS THEIR WORK DONE. AS FAR AS AFRC/P/NDC PARTY IS CONCERNED, TALK IS GOVERNANCE TALK IS PROMISES FULFILLED. THIS PARTY IS ...

How is the government going to "cushion" Ghanaians? Where is the government going to get the money to provide the cushion? If you over-tax the people and you give them something back from that, do you call it cushion? Even Ab ...

• messa 10 years ago

MAHAMA FAILED AS A LEADER OF GHANA
    FALKS; NO LEADER IN THE ENTIRE WORLD
    WOULD EVER ALLOW SUCH HUGE UTILITY RATE HIKE OF 69% TO TAKE PLACE ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD. MAHAMA IS LOOKING THE OTHER WAY AND ALLOW SUCH INJUSTICE TO ...

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

Oyiwa!?ND .....Ako etwier ampa, V.P. Bekoi Arther.....nd Amen!,God bless u all....from Samms! nd babye from,anyway have u here him?,Dr,Papa Kwesi N!,nd......God bless u Oman Ghana nd forward-ever!!...

• steveB 10 years ago

Why treat Ghanmaians like kindergarten kids? And why does the govt behave like kids playing in the sand?

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Whatever NDC cannot destroy, they will change its name. Jubilee House to Flagstaff House. NHIS is dead under NDC without replacing it. NYEP was changed to GYEEDA and what was the end result? We are being ruled by nitwit i ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

When you take the little money from the population and hand it to fat pocket CEOs and board members of VRA, ECG and OMCs so that they can increase their profit, that is redistribution of wealth for the benefit of few. That is ...

• Genuine Observer 10 years ago

As usual, there was no discussion about how to eliminate corruption and dubious deals within these companies that could cut cost and improve efficiency. Unless this is done, no amount of tariff increments will ever amount to ...

• Sakura 10 years ago

Why was this guy the governor of the Bank of Ghana. Where will the money to cushion against utility tariffs come from? Our budget deficits will explode and send us deeper into the quagmire. Can these guys think?

• peace 10 years ago

this stupid man is like mahama just talk

• Alone 10 years ago

They take all the money yet use none on utilities. Curse be upon them.

• Alone 10 years ago

Shut your leaking watery mouth.