You are here: HomeNews2013 10 04Article 287840

Ghana's political leaders are self-centered and visionless- Charles Sam

Read Comments Comments (96)

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

no vision, no plan

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Without Nana Akuffo Addo and his credible, dynamic and his honest personality Ghana will never see progress.

NDC led by another visionless and corrupt Dramani Mahama will continue to sink our nation's progress, Leadership ...

• Kojo Opoku-London 10 years ago

Fuck off- Kuffour was a thief. Kuffour was visionless. Kuffour imprisoned Tsatsu Tsikata in the same way UP Tradition said Nkrumah brought the Preventive Detection Act. So Kuffour was visionless and committed the same human r ...

• OSABARIMA BOAMPONG 10 years ago

Why NDC are looting Ghanaian people if
    you think in your stupid ideas if President Kuffour was a thief, you NDC corrupt, deceitful, dishonest and liars administration is in power, were you able to press legal proceedings aga ...

• facts 10 years ago

To be sincere with Ghanaians the economic mismanagement and incompitence started as soon as Kwame Nkrumah took over from the British who left the country with positive financial balances. Do not be afraid to tell it all as it ...

• Bfire 10 years ago

How much did the British left behind? Why didn't the British use the money you claim they left behind to develop Ghana for almost their 100 years ruled before Nkrumah came gave Ghana a hope in only 9 years.

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

ALL GHANA NEWS LIVE ON TV3, UTV Ghana, Metro TV, TV AFRICA, JOY NEWS, GTV, ADOM TV, Sports TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

That's what they are. No country can develop with visionless greedy bastards in charge, no matter what natural resources they have: cocoa, gold, diamonds, bauxite, oil, smart people etc... We are just pathetic going to beg t ...

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

Everybody who has eyes to see can attest to the fact that Ghana’s downward spiral and retrogression began with the notorious 1966 coup with a disgruntled few who could not match Kwame Nkrumah at the polls and therefore reso ...

• wear 10 years ago

Nana Ansah, I think If I have a chance I can meet with you, to work together to put a real thinking BRAIN to heads of grandchildren of U.P members to know exactly what it means by Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah´s vision in Ghana ...

• ABU 10 years ago

GOD RICHLY BLESS YOU MY BROTHER.

• DARK DAYS IN GHANA-AKA-Brahabebome 10 years ago

Thanks Nana Ansah...I always look for your comments, and I can never get enough of them.

When I read stupid comments from these "kookooase akrakyefo" of the Danquah Institute of Mate Meho People who are trying their best t ...

• K-DE-K- 10 years ago

Before Nkrumah's overthrow ,Ghana's foreign exchange was empty. There was a documentary in 1989 shown by channel4. Bribery and corruption , nepotism, was the same as it is today. There was a time when people lined-up to buy ...

Everybody who has eyes to see can attest that the downward spiral and retrogression of Ghana began with the 1966 coup with a disgruntled few who could not match Kwame Nkrumah at the polls and therefore resorted to oust a demo ...

• Nana Kasa 10 years ago

In the 8years Akuffo Addo was issuing Diplomatic passports to drug barons, JAK was buying hotels and collecting kick-backs at the castle, Amoateng was exporting cocaine to USA, Anane was having babies in USA.......

• facts 10 years ago

The truth is that at least Kuffour's NPP was able to fix the economy far better than any other administration ghana has ever had.

These disgraceful Mate Mehu knaves who boycotted our independence have no shame to make claims that the British left us 200 million pounds after over 100 years of colonial rule but forget that they left us with no single fact ...

• Kwaku Bonsu 10 years ago

KUFOUR INHERTTED NOTHING BUT HIPIC, MANAGED TO BUILD SEVERAL HIGHWAYS, ANOTHER DAMN, FOUND OIL,SEVERAL SOCIAL REFORMS INCLUDING NATIONAL HEALTH INSURANCE.
    PROF DO LITTLE- NO VISION TEAM HAS SPINTEX HIGHWAY STILL UNDER CONSTR ...

• HAWA YAKUBU 10 years ago

U FOOL PASS GARI.STAY WHERE UR N DON,T EVER VISIT GHANA WITH YOUR MONKEY FACE.

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

On Wednesday, President John Dramani Mahama was in the office of international media giant CNN in the United States – his personal photographer captured him with the company logo

----

WHAT A GREAT VISIONARY LEADER! Th ...

• GIRLS SP 10 years ago

The first and foremost step to be taken in Ghana is that MAHAMA must be removed, simply because he has absolutely nothing better for the country.

His rate and range of corruption is such high and wide that if immediate ca ...

• mohammed 10 years ago

Mahama will reveal all the past corruption in his first four years and ghanaian will add him another four to complete all the development his retrieved corrupt money is building for ghana. it is up to another nationalist par ...

• Paa 10 years ago

Spilling the beans on whom? Which recent Ghanaian leader is more corrupt than Mahama? If Kufuor used his influence to obtain loans and contracts for kids, Mahama is actually dipping his hands in the coffers and wasting our re ...

• KWAKU 10 years ago

U JUST SAID IT ALL BROTHER AND, I JUST LOVE THAT BIT OF YOUR STATEMENT WHICH RUNS THUS`` IF GOVERNMENT IS NOT CAREFUL WITH WITH BEHAVIOR THE PEOPLE MIGHT RETALIATE'' YOU MADE MY DAY WITH THAT HONEST POINT.
    YOU SEE, ANY CAS ...

• Kojo Opoku-London 10 years ago

Yes I agree with you. this calling the spade a spade. The idiots who connived with the CIA to overthrow Dr Nkrumah brought us to this state of economic mess. Our Visionary Leader was overthrown by unpatriotic people amongst u ...

• Frenny 10 years ago

Who was the leader of the insurgence?
    Provide the answer and investigate the reasons for the action from there.Who brought in the CIA and what was their report on the assessment of the feasibilty of the coup? Who financed th ...

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 10 years ago

Thanks Frenny, the answers are there, anyone interested can read Nkrumah's book, DARK DAYS IN GHANA, PANAF, 1967.
    Those interested in the development of our country Ghana can also read The Seven Year Development Plan, plus U ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

Thank you for the comments.

• James Nyandey- London 10 years ago

Please let us not duel on the past, at least we now know where our problems are or originated. I urge the Ghana's so called politician to take note of the cries of the people. I was shocked to find out that the Ghanaian natio ...

• RASCKADJEI 10 years ago

Thank sir for these words I wish leaders of all the parties will listen to your wise says and stop about NDC,NPP,CPP,PPP etc. Ghana need selfless leaders in order to reach the masses and not selfish leader. And the rich peopl ...

• J S S BOY 10 years ago

thank you sir , i wish they will here you and stop thinking of themself .ndc npp all the same . but god is waiting for them.

• kululu 10 years ago

Bribery is a life line in any poor country. So long as majority of people are poor, bribery will persist

• KOO 10 years ago

Our leaders are simply not ready to lead.
    There are many models of governance they can copy.

• AMB 10 years ago

Kudos Charles for this fantastic piece. Over-politicization of issues is part of the bane. This is further affected by the refusal of political leaders to consider people based on what they can difficult. Indeed internal pett ...

• AKOKO DARKO(USA) 10 years ago

What do you have to offer mother Ghana other than to criticise under the guise of 'motivational speaker'.What do you mean by 'implement stringent measures to alleviate poverty'?You will be the very first person to cry foul wh ...

• kotoua selira 10 years ago

I think Sam is right.Look at Ghana as a country with huge natural resources such as gold, diamonds, coffee, timber, oil etc yet the country has a very bad infrastructure. Look at Ivory coast.The resources we have Ivory coast ...

• Yaw Amofa 10 years ago

Like all the other so-called motivational speakers, they only make cheap noise and get paid by some idiots for that. Twi speakers say "S3 wo de w'ano d) nnwer3 a, ebi nnw) wo". These armchair intellectuals only postulate hypo ...

• 4 Year Old 10 years ago

Show us what stuff you're made of, Mr. Big Stuff. Identify our problems and suggest solutions and let's see what stuff you're made of, Mr. Big Stuff. Talk is cheap and we are tired of people who build castles in the air and o ...

• John Kafui Gozah 10 years ago

Thank you mr Charles u make Sean to me b'cos this NDc and NPP are not support the people in the countries.beti u am here in south Africa workin in SA airline which everin if sa have problems the government support them all t ...

• Natural Mystic 10 years ago

Man, the way you write your English reminds me of the way your name-sake, one Mr Gozah - during my formative years at Ho - spoke his English. "My boys are playing methodist" was his expression of choice to describe how his be ...

• juli 10 years ago

wow your english is soooo bad.Have you been in to any Classroom at all?

• http//www.horp-service.co.uk 10 years ago

Very well said Mr Charles Sam...Indeed Ghana's leaders lack vision what we need is another Kwame NKrumah and I beleive somewhere within the ideaological aparatus, a visionary prospect shall emerge in due time.

• DOCTOR THINK TWICE 10 years ago

BLAME CULTURE FOR WOES OF AFRICA. EVERY NATION WHERE LITTLE RESPECT IS ACCORDED THE CHILD, THAT NATION SUFFERS. WE LIVE A NATION WHERE ELDERS ALWAYS THINK THEY KNOW EVERYTHINK.

• Nantwi,BSEd,MSEd(ece),MSEd(sas) 10 years ago

You got that right!

• Funnythat 10 years ago

A thief like you stealing credentials, and among those shouting political leaders in Ghana are thiefs.Have you forgotten that you are part of them.A cleaner like you how can you be accompanied credentials? With this how do we ...

• BB London 10 years ago

My brother u have hit the nail right on the head.

• Koo Nimo 10 years ago

Nkrumah's vision would have taken Ghana nowhere. Look at most eastern european countries. How may people wound want to migrate to eastern europe. China make the break through after adopting free make principles

• KEKEY -YOU & I. WERE.....BOSTON 10 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah was NOT overthrown in 1996 please.

• Baah 10 years ago

Charles, excellent piece and comments. The level of leadership in all areas of government across all parties including government run state companies like ECG, Water Company and so on is a disgrace to democratic and good g ...

• Pumpuni 10 years ago

"...after the overthrow of Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah in 1996."

• Shocka 10 years ago

I listened 2 this man on ekosii sen yesterday and he was right on point.We have indeed had visionless leaders over the years since Osagyefo days.We really need leaders who can c thru the crystal ball n formulate policies 4 ge ...

• .... 10 years ago

Talk is cheap. There is a real difference between beautifully crafted cheap talk and the real job.

• baba adiza spain 10 years ago

charlie sam you are saying what majority of ghanians dont wont to talk about it.i have been saying this all the time I never come across somebody who comes out boldly to say this acept you .god bless you .infact you have ...

• 2pac boy 10 years ago

Your reports states that he blamed both NDC and NPP in his statement and this same man concluded that the NPP should help the government ,so who is then causing the mess here?

• Natural Mystic 10 years ago

Charles Sam, you are 100% correct (or do I say "colet"?) but we need an apolitical congress to develop and refine a blueprint for the country. We also need a benevolent dictator at the helm of affairs in the country to execut ...

• Nana 10 years ago

This is what we call working as Ghanaians and not political oriented.

VISION IS THE WORD.

• WOYOME 10 years ago

GHANAWEB ALSO NEEDS AUDITOR, NKRUMAH WAS OVERTHROWN IN 1969 NOT 1996 THIS IS THE PROBLEMS WE HAVE IN GHANA, WE DON'T PAY ATTENTION TO DETAILS.AND DO THINGS ANY HOW. ALL DOWN TO INCOMPITENT.

• DANIEL GAFATSI 10 years ago

SAM, WHAT YOU ARE SAYING IS RIGHT. I AGREE WITH YOU.

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Everybody has to do his best to help in building a strong Nation.Thank you.

• Genuine Observer 10 years ago

Too many naive, selfish, self-centred, vision less and incompetent leaders within the NDC. While NPP had about 20% of such people! the NDC has more than 80% of these rots!!!

• Tekonline.org 10 years ago

We hear it all the time: "our leaders are visionless", "we need visionary leaders", etc. But not once, has anybody addressed the real problem: HOW to obtain a visionary leader.

So, let's analyze and come up with some hard ...

• kofi 10 years ago

You have hit the nail right on the head.As a country we need to change the systems put in place for us by the colonial masters and develop our own systems applicable to us. what is the need for plenty ministries we are having ...

• Kofi UK 10 years ago

The very simple thing none of the leaders have been able to do by removing Kotoka's name from the Airport shows how ignorant they are. If we all agree that Nkrumah was the best leader Ghana and indeed Africa have ever had, wh ...

• Nelly 10 years ago

This is the best talk in 2 decades of multiparty democracy in Ghana. Oboy I dey gbadu you, I no go tell you lie.

• SANKOFA 10 years ago

CHARLES SAM

WHAT'S THE LINE OF BUSINESS OF GOLDEN FUTURE PROMOTIONS?

IS IT ABOUT TRAINING PEOPLE TO BE MOTIVATIONAL SPEAKERS?

IT IS THIS SAME "SUFFERING MASSES" WHO VOTE BASED ON TRIBE, HEIGHT, COMPLEXION, E.T.C. E.T.C. THEY CAN'T RETALIATE, BECAUSE THEY DON'T HAVE A POINT.

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

I have said this time and time again but, the myopic and mediocre foot-soldiers of the two most USELESS parties to have ruled Ghana can't see nor hear any corrupt or selfish deeds of their so-called party leaders.....

The ...

• Toner and Ink refill at Abeka 10 years ago

Toner and Ink cartridge refill at Abeka
    call 0244523451

• Koo Nimo 10 years ago

You are 100% right

• Institute of Leadership 10 years ago

The Ewes never gave them chance.

• Kofi Lawyer 10 years ago

The Good ones dont want to be involved themselves in Ghana Dirty Politics of insult & corruption

• seeMe 10 years ago

Ghana will only become the drug headquarters of Africa under Akuffo Addo. We all know that.

• seeMe 10 years ago

When given the reigns of government, Charles Sam, you cannot do anything , Keep quiet

• A concerned citizen.................. 10 years ago

Charles Sam you lack wisdom yourself for you sound like an empty barrel

• Nana 10 years ago

This is the way the young generation talks. They accuse others of being visionless, incompetent, corrupt and so on. But once they are appointed the do worst until they are arrested and sued.
    Sam just do and do well what you ...

• YEBOPOWER 10 years ago

Ghana presidents do not have any standards.The political culture is full of tribalism,nepotism,anarchy,chaos, pull him down etc. Ghana has a long way to go, but not with this corrupt crop of leaders.We need young ,vibrant and ...

• bob 10 years ago

You are shot on.Our leaders do not have a vision for the country.That's why we found our self in such a horrible and shameful situation.The so call leaders of the country should go and buried their face in the sand.They are n ...

• mohammed 10 years ago

we cannot imitate the Chinese because our bigger problem is bribery and corruption. We need people like Rawlings to come back and clean the corrupt in another form. Don't kill them, make it a disincentive to demand and accep ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

WHEN is the REVOLUTION STARTING ??? Theb DONOR COUNTRIES should STOP supplementing our national budget and let's STRUGGLE to be RESPONSIBLE HUMANS!!! Our kins are DYING in the waters TRYING to reach Europe because our LEADERS ...

• Kodjo 10 years ago

Aren't you the same Charlie Sam who attempted to defend Kuffour's disgraceful purchase of hotel "De Wawa" for his son??? Where was your conscience then?? Some people have no shame!!!

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

OPAYIN SAM.

POLITICIANS ARE ELECTED TO UNDERTAKE SOLUTIONS THAT CATER FOR INFRASTRUCTURE DEVELOPMENT AND FOR ECONOMIC GROWTH TO TAKE OFF IN A COUNTRY.

IT IS AT THE PRIVATE SECTOR THAT, A TRUE MARKET WORKS, IN THE TECHNO ...

• NII 10 years ago

We have the type of leadership that we want because the leaders are the product of the society.It is true you and I are visionless because we have a bogus educational system that do not give us the type of education that ma ...

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

On the contrary, Kwame Nkrumah Ghana has capable and visionary political leaders; but, it is unfortunate that, the political scene has for over a decade been dominated by

- this NPP halfwit Akim Akufo Ado; and it beats the ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

In Ghana, the people are poor but the land is rich. Why is this the case? It's not as if the land is sitting there idle. The land is being exploited minute by minute, hour by hour yet the people continue to remain poor. It is ...

• Mr Taju deen 10 years ago

Thank u very much for giving us this wounderfull words,yes ur leaders are self centered visionless,GOD will panish them

• Jade 10 years ago

You don't have to be a politician to help the youth,poor and disabled

• M.I 10 years ago

the overthrow of Nkrumah in 1966 not 1996 please correct it.

• Kwaku Baah 10 years ago

Sam you mentioned South Korea,Malaysia, Singapore,etc. These countries didn't have enough money when they got their Independence. Let me tell you abouth South and North Korea's. They put their money into education. Built good ...

• wear 10 years ago

Of course, when Nkrumah was building Cape Coast University your great grand parents, the criminal terrorist U.P members criticised him that Ghana don´t need that University. Go back to History and learn more, you will defini ...

• ABU 10 years ago

The schools you attended were built by Nkrumah with the money you said he squandered.Ask the intelligent ones in the NPP and they will tell you the number of learning institutions Nkrumah built within 9 years excluding the fa ...

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

Oh! Kwaku baa boni.....................
    Are you for real? You are comparing Busia to Nkrumah? Why not to J.B. Danquah?

You are obviously a boy trying to behave like a man. (Think deeply about it). Busia was a puppet of hi ...

• OBINNA 10 years ago

This guy is right. Look at the package given to Kufour and his cronies after they left power. Isn't this an example of self-centeredness? Do these politicians care about the plight of the people? Look at Rawlings and his acqu ...

• nunu 10 years ago

There wouldnt be serious development in Ghana with our political leaders both NDC / NPP and theyre so called manifesto, Ghana needs to have one common long term National plan that all parties deduce their manifesto from, and ...

• Agbettor 10 years ago

Where is Atuguba? This is contempt

• Naa Ayeley 10 years ago

THEY VERY SELF CENTERED MORE THAN ANY THING ELSE, NOT ONLY THAT, THEY ARE GREEDY,

• Kbee 10 years ago

You are too magnanimous; More than 99% of Ghana political leaders are fools, greedy, idiots, thieves, selfish, anmalistic tendencies - and above all fornicators. I pray that all these idoitic leaders should all die and God sh ...