You are here: HomeNews2013 10 03Article 287801

NUGS executives kick against Akufo-Addo's award

Read Comments Comments (106)

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

That 419 lawsuit should not have been filed in the first place! If you reward such 419 patapaa, then you are setting a precedence where no one will concede electoral defeat!!!!!

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

Kuffour deserves the statesman of the decade award than any politician in Ghana. He has carried himself well as a former president and deserves to be recommended!!!

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

IF THE MAN WAS KNOWN TO BE A TESCON MENBER AND YET WON ELECTION TO BE THE PRESIDENT OF THE WHOLE STUDENT UNION THEN THE NAJORITY OF THE STUDENTS SUPPORT TESCON AND MAJORITY CARRIES THE VOTE, JUST AS IN PARLIAMENT. Treasurer o ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

No need to get involved in national politics. NUGS should be a conscience of the nation

• NDC Treasurer 10 years ago

The executive of NUGS has taken a decision period. There is no need for the executive to call a meeting of all students. What should a treasurer be if the President and the Gen Secretary take a decision. Mama precious, yours ...

• tanio b 10 years ago

Nana is not the only one 2 accept defeat afta ellections.So then give it to JJ instead if bcos accepting loses mean that a statesman.JJ did it without causing the loses to the the country.

• Okyesco 10 years ago

cheap man, when did JJ lose election and did not cause any losses to the nation? Check ur facts well okay, JJ served his two terms and had wanted "Bafan" Mills to succeed him and Mills lost. Kwasea could JJ have done what Nan ...

• EWES PRIDE 10 years ago

The white house, UN, AU, UK's 10 Downing street, South african president, Canada, Australia and all presidents accross the globe has hailed Akufo Addo's conduct as a great development to africa's democracy yet in Akufo's own ...

• Alugu 10 years ago

You shit ON Ewes. Ewes shit deep into your mouth. Menyemie kore wo nu me.

• Kwami - US 10 years ago

Go back to school. OK

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Where are the NUGS when the Decition
    put of the Award,Late for them.

• TRUTH 10 years ago

What we need as a nation is, Truth. For far too long we refuse to be truthful to ourselves. Neutrality is akin to hypocrisy. The man deserves the award without a doubt.

• julu 10 years ago

for what? what did he do?

• RIGHTMAN-USA 10 years ago

Very terrible logic.What is your level of education?

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

RIGHTMAN NOTE

• adjetey 10 years ago

This is disgusting,i have no party but this is complete nonsense.This is a man who has succeeded in dividing Ghana ,Akans against others,the same man said all die b die.Nana is not a states man.He nearly brought Ghana to a tr ...

• Fo Kwaku - Tanyingbe 10 years ago

IS THIS THE NUGS SOME OF US KNOW?

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

Indeed, some Ghanaians are screwed up.

After subjecting the country to such a prolonged controversy, on top of heightening ethnic tensions with his call to arms, which encouraged some in the NPP to call on Asantes to kill ...

• Oh-Andy -K 10 years ago

Do you recall your Kofi Awoonor and his A-B-A (Anybody but Asantes)? Do you recall your Kofi Awoonor calling for Ewes and any allies they might gather staging coups to contol Asante political and economic hegemony? And what w ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

Awoonor didn't advocate any such things anywhere! Quote his book and prove it if you are not just evil liars!

All that Awoonor did was attempt to explain the hounding, demonisation, sacking, etc. of Ewes by some Akans led ...

• KWAKU MANU 10 years ago

YOU DON'T EVEN SEEM TO KNOW WHAT YOUR PROFFESSOR STOOD FOR, AND YET YOU DEFEND HIM, IS IT BECAUSE HE IS DEAD? SO WHO IS THE IDIOT HERE?

• julu 10 years ago

Thats a freaking lie and you know it. Kofi Awoonor had his political inclinations, but he was a great professor. Dont denigrate his name

• NDC 10 years ago

"She added that most of the executives in the student body were not consulted about the conferment of the award hence their decision to kick against it".
    "None of the executives are aware".
    REAL NUGS EXECUTIVES! WHAT A SHAM ...

• ...... 10 years ago

THAT U RESIDE IN USA.AND UR PARENTS ARE DOING VERY WELL.LET UR PARENTS TELL YOU HOW THEIR NEIGHBOR IS DOING THE FOOD THEY ATE LAST NIGHT AND WHERE THEY SLEPT LAST NIGHT,THE WATER/LIT BILL THEY ARE PAYING NEXT MONTH. I AM PAYI ...

• Nana Kojo 10 years ago

And precious the treasure is of which political party, or her kicking against is not politically motivated? Concert!!

• KODWO 10 years ago

How can a small group of people take such a mighty decision, without consulting the others.

Precious, by your actions you have exposed yourself as an NDC person which, in reality, should not matter. If a good thing is bein ...

• john ansah 10 years ago

we cannot play politics with student union cos it is made of students who support political parties in the country! this is dangerous!

• THEN WHY TEIN AND TESCON 10 years ago

THEN YOU ARE YOUNG IN GHANA POLITICS. GO BACK TO HISTORY

• EWES PRIDE 10 years ago

The white house, UN, AU, UK's 10 Downing street, South african president, Canada, Australia and all presidents accross the globe has hailed Akufo Addo's conduct as a great development to africa's democracy yet in Akufo's own ...

• My GH 10 years ago

You said this, "If a good thing is being done, all must support it, irrespective of their Party affiliation."

KODWO by this your comment you have exposed yourself as a NPP person. Because you claim it's a good thing being ...

• julu 10 years ago

What did he do? He challenged an electionand refused to concede until he run out of options.

He set the wrong precedence, our system is not perfect, but that is what we have. Nana with his insatiable desire for power just ...

• B/A 10 years ago

Who ever you are please hide your name

• Kwasia Addo Dankwa 10 years ago

Shame on the fation inside the NUGS who conferred dis award to the dishonourable man in Ghana....Akufool Addo does not deserve any award......why am I saying dis ....dis same crack head some 11months ago was on the campaign t ...

• Joe ballack 10 years ago

Fuck them all

• Nemesis 10 years ago

fuck you and your whole family....hopefully till they bleed to death from their asses!!!!

• Sammy 10 years ago

The man deserves it why you hating-skim pain

• GBEVU 10 years ago

THIS NUGS AWARD WOULD NEVER BE RESPECTED IF THEY GO AHEAD AND AWARD THIS WAR MONGER AND TRIBAL YEN AKANFUO. WHAT ARE THEY REWARDING? ALL DIE BE DIE OR WHAT, YE KYERE BIRIBI KAKRA WO HO. SHAME TO THESE NUGS BASTARDS. HOOOO SHA ...

• KWAKU MANU 10 years ago

NDC envy is destroying Ghana. when Mo Ibrahim nominated Kuffuor for AWARD NDC did everything to pull him down.
    when JJ is being awarded by UDS, no big deal. WHY ALL THIS AKUFFOADDO PHOBIA?

• Nde 10 years ago

So Kuffour therefore awarded himself with GOLD CHAINS to counteract the NDC envy.

• VAVIOTO 10 years ago

PLEASE DON'T BE BIASED. NANA DESERVES AN AWARD. HE HAS THE KEY TO THE PEACE THE COUNTRY IS NOW ENJOYING.

HE DESERVES A GREAT HONOUR. THIS HAS REFERENCE TO RECOGNITION BY EVEN THE UN.

• marcus 10 years ago

and who are you too

• RICHARD K. TWUM-BARIMAH 10 years ago

Please give us a break. This is a typical Ghanaian Pull-him-down (PHD). You also sound typically of an NDC person. Akuffo Addo, we all know deserves an International award not a even a local infant one from NUGS. the real tro ...

• JOHNNY,WINDSOR,ONTARIO 10 years ago

The NUGS who want to honour Akuffo Addo are not serious.This man etal decided to embrace the 1992 constitution to practice democracy,so by going to court is part of the process and is not a big deal.The NUGS guys should stop ...

• Philips 10 years ago

An award for Nana Akufo Addo for what? Perhaps it is a damage limitation exercise for 'ALL DIE BE DIE'. Please not in my name.

• Kofi, Barima 10 years ago

NUGS, your reputation is now in the gutters. You need to take serious actions to repair the damage. All those involving in the decision to award without the consultation of all the executives and the entire general membershi ...

• Naadu 10 years ago

It will be good to know the political inclination of Precious.

• RALPH 10 years ago

GIVING AWARDS AND ORGANIZING ELECTIONS WHICH IS MORE IMPORTANT ? INSTEAD OF FINDING WAYS OF RESTORING THE HOPE OF THE GHANAIAN STUDENT........... ANDREWS PLEASE BE SERIOUS NUGS HAS GOT MORE PRESSING MATTERS AND GIVING THESE K ...

• GBEVU 10 years ago

THIS NUGS AWARD WOULD NEVER BE RESPECTED IF THEY GO AHEAD AND AWARD THIS WAR MONGER AND TRIBAL YEN AKANFUO. WHAT ARE THEY REWARDING? ALL DIE BE DIE OR WHAT, YE KYERE BIRIBI KAKRA WO HO. SHAME TO THESE NUGS BASTARDS. HOOOO SHA ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

?

• GBEVU 10 years ago

Akadu says give it to AKURANGA-PARRY' alias Akadu Mensema

• K Boateng 10 years ago

An acclaimed College Professor in the USA writing this stinking headline in English? "GBEVE SAYS GIVE TO RAWLINGS"

Dumbass, fill in what is missing; no wonder Dawu says you're a shameless liar who has no Ph.D and it shows ...

• Fred Hayford 10 years ago

this NY news paper vender needs to be check very well,he is not what he claimed to be,he is an imposter,not a prof,in any institution.!AND IT SHOWS VERY CLEAR.!

• K Boateng 10 years ago

this caricature initially appeared on Ghanaweb claiming to be from Akwapim and then later changed his hometown and gender claiming to be a female from Denkyira but residing here in Philadelphia and teaching in a university. H ...

• Zito 10 years ago

Nana should be international awarded but not this mere local award from this NDC propagandist

DuH!

• K Boateng 10 years ago

Hi "Prof", ever heard of grammar consistency? Why the mixture of caps and lower cases? "DuH!" You're supposed to be a college professor in the USA so let it show, liar.

Dear Mr. Boateng:

Thank you for the correction.

Akadu Mensema.

• K Boateng 10 years ago

W'abon papa, "professor" banza.

• fordjour KORKOR Romantic 10 years ago

...give him a certificate to face KPEGAH instead,and stop your fighting over a mere award.!

• Tibaa 10 years ago

Why should NUGS honor an arsonist who set on fire the peaceful political processes in Ghana with his relentless recourse to the SC based on flimsy evidence, and a fireman, who in a knee-jerk fashion, accepted the SC verdict? ...

• Ruling 10 years ago

I was looking out for such rent comment for NDC on the article on donnor support blocked. none. oh nana unless they no see ur name

• Ruling 10 years ago

I was looking out for such rent comment for NDC on the article on donnor support blocked. none. oh nana unless they no see ur name

• Ghanani 10 years ago

NUGS must be serious. How do you confer such an award to this war monger?

• Jack Bo 10 years ago

Take your award and pocket it. I don't think any reasonable person with sound frame of mind like Nana Akufo Addo will stand for presidential election purposely for award from a group like NUGS. What can NUGS offer Nana Akufo ...

• KWAME 10 years ago

One expects things like this to happen since the executives may not all be sympatizers of the NPP. There is no need for this award even though Nana has exhibited the character of a stateman.
    Student body should not be involv ...

• Tetteh 10 years ago

An award for what reason? in democracies, when you loose an election, it is honourable to acknowledge the winner and let him/her carry on with the mandate of the people. what do we see in this man and his bad faith losers? J ...

• do me 10 years ago

they are telling us that the P(NDC) crooks in the union are the one who are kicking against it?

• John 10 years ago

AND SO! DOES AKUFO ADDO NOT DESERVE IT. DO YOU THINK IF NOT FOR AKUFO ADDO'S PATIENCE AND WILLING TO ACCEPT THE VERDICT, GHANA WOULD HAVE BEEN ON FIRE? BY NOW. YOU HYPOCRITES. IS YOUR OWN DECISION NOT POLITICALLY MOTIVATED?

• DENNIS AVOY, Italy 10 years ago

I DON'T KNOW WHETHER I AM ONE OF THOSE WHO COULD NOT SEE WHAT EXTRA ORDINARY THING AKUFFO ADDO DID AFTER THE JUDGEMENT OF THE ELECTION PETITION SOME OTHER GHANAIANS HAVE SEEN AND THEY ARE HAILING HIM AND CALLING FOR ALL MANNE ...

• CALALA 10 years ago

If they make the mistake, I will and encourage others to go to court too, with vexatious claims based on technicalities againstsome MPs or the President and then immediately congratulate the winner when I loose, to merit the ...

• Moses P 10 years ago

Only in Ghana> Our Universities have lost focus because people who should have otherwise been denied admission now have the chance because of the higher number of of Universities. Go back to history and ask how how the only t ...

• OPANIN KWAKU ATTA 10 years ago

LITTLE KIDS,MR AKUFO ADDO DOES NOT NEED THIS STUPID AWARD.THE UNIVERSITY STANDARD IS FALLING AND INSTEAD OF YOU GUYS TO STUDY VERY HARD,YOU ARE PLAYING POLITICS.

• Abas 10 years ago

ALL NUGS EXECUTIVE ARE IDIOTS. THE ONLY THINK OF THEMSELVES. NONSENSE!!!

• Seth Bonsu 10 years ago

He just went to court to save face and nothing else. How could he win with only 2 regions?.
    Nobody should entertain this.

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

If the University of Development Studies can honor a murderer and coup-addict who never believed in democracy, destroyed our smooth-running constitutional rule and turned democrat only when that remained the only way to remai ...

• Diasporan 10 years ago

What do you expect? Anything associated with the NPP and Akufo Addo is corrupted, devalued and cheap. How can students striving for success honour failure? How can they honour a Double Loser who has been trying to be a pre ...

• ONYAME NIPA (Man Of God) USA 10 years ago

all gyans are fools

• AKUNARH 10 years ago

GHANA IS THE ONLY COUNTRY IN THE WORLD THAT IS MOVING BACKWARDS,JUST THE STUPID ONES ARE TOO MANY.

• ASIKOPAPANA SIKOPAA 10 years ago

This is a Pig-Shit (Pink-Shit) award. That is how worthless the award is.

• Yankeeman 10 years ago

In Ghana every union or group thinks is politics leaving their core business behind.The standard of Ghana education is seriously underline(nothing to write home about)yet what this good for nothing union thinks is politics.Wa ...

• Kee 10 years ago

Don't doubt where she is coming from, niece of Afari Gyan, sister of Boateng Gyan, sister in law of Boakye Gyan etc, not surprise of her opposition.

• fianko-okyere 10 years ago

though a section of NUGS kicking against Nana's conferment are motivated politically. no matter what, the man nana Akuffo Addo has successfully been accepted as champion of Ghana democracy .lets hail him for that.

• NANA 10 years ago

SO WHAT ARE YOU NOT NDC

• HONESTY 10 years ago

What option does a bad/sour loser like Akufo Addo have than to accept the Supreme Court decision. He knew that any contrary move would have sent him to the International Criminal Court (ICC)in the Hague. It is a pity!!! the s ...

• kwaku USA 10 years ago

@ HONESTY. A wise guy why do you have to insult others. Who told you that you are right. You have lost your sense of objectivity

• Tiso 10 years ago

THIS AKUFO IS AS CORRUPT AS A POLITICAIN COULD BECOME AND AS TERROR THREAT TO OUR DEMOCRATIC DISPENSATION AS ANYONE COULD EVER IMGAINE, WHY ON EARTH WOULD SUCH DUBIOUS CHARACTER AND CRITICALLY FLAWED POLITICIAN NOW BE AWARDED ...

• National Patapaa Party 10 years ago

NPP: NATIONAL PATAPAA PARTY!!!

• ciu 10 years ago

hahahahahaaha

• jaga 10 years ago

obiara..die..mienu....mienu...
    is he former president or ex president..which is which... obira die mienu ..mienu

all die be dieeeeeeee....

• ciu 10 years ago

oh oh oh oh oh

• faithgrows 10 years ago

when you go saying things like " you di tractor..." you should expect a backlash from within...

• bruce 10 years ago

I am sure this man has paid someone to write this or else Nana himself knows that he is not a statesman

• Justin 10 years ago

Shd we award every litigant?

• kwame mensah 10 years ago

if Akuffo Addo is Giving the Award as Ghanaian what is wrong about that shut your mouth up and lets move the nation forward. ekom di yen afi yi na wo ka se eeddennnn

• SAMMY 10 years ago

AKUFFO ADDO EVEN KNOWS THAT HE DOES NOT DESERVE THIS AWAM AWARD

• KWABENA MODJABEN 10 years ago

NANA ADDO IS more like LOSER OF THE DECADE.

• Addo 10 years ago

Oh Ewes mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

• Mensah 10 years ago

what is the fuss about? what value if any is that award?

• robert nanor 10 years ago

It's very bad.

• Lawya Kris 10 years ago

The NUGS leaders itching for this 'huhudious' conferment of award on the 'Harry Poter' of today's Ghana politics are as bereft of maners as the NPP's Sir John... What kind of zombie thinking is that? Nana Addo, a statesman of ...

• Take it from him 10 years ago

He does not deserve it

• Mykelo Carbonu 10 years ago

it is only in a dictatorship that only the fascist head and his handbag deputy make decision for the rest. NUGS represents a broader interest and should not be seen polarised on political issues. we want real leaders and rea ...

• KoBakor 10 years ago

NUGS are a bunch of reactionary bums. Instead of kicking against widespread corruption, environmental dispoilation, kids dying from malaria, abject poverty, avoidable deaths etc in Ghana they rail against, in my opinion non-e ...

• Okoe 10 years ago

ARE OUR UNIVERSITY STUDENTS OF GHANA IN SCHOOL TO LEARN OR TO PLAY POLITICS. EMULATE OTHER WORLD RENOWNED UNIVERSITIES. YOU ARE BECOMING MEDIOCRE IF YOU MEDDLE IN POLITICS. LEAVE THAT AREA AND CONCENTRATE ON YOUR STUDIES.

• frank 10 years ago

if the president of nugs is a npp member what about you? hypocrate

• NANA OGYAMPA. 10 years ago

What is wrong with you.Dont this type of stupid stand to relate it to this king of award. Know that what comes from your mounth clearly show your stand and who you are. PLEASE, STOP THE DIRTY GAME YOU ARE PLAYING WITH NUGS.