You are here: HomeNews2013 10 01Article 287531

Implications of SC Ruling: All signatures don’t matter

Read Comments Comments (96)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

WHO CAN PROVE KWASI ADADE WRONG? I AM SAYING, THAT, GHANAIANS VOTED FOOLISHLY!! GHANA'S PROBLEM, TODAY, IS NOTHING BUT THE RESULT OF CRIMINAL NDC'S ALLIANCE TO CREATE, LOOT AND SHARE POLICY***---------------*** "IT IS ONLY A ...

• dennis awah 10 years ago

prince you are simply an idiot with no appreciation for what you say. you talk in absolute terms making you a liar and an idiot. what middle income economy did NPP leave behind?????? who says crude oil alone can lift Ghana fr ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

If infact you are a sensible, educated, learned person with credible
    character and just a political naivety, surely in the first instance
    you will not support NDC criminals who
    have because of corruption, incompetency, dis ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

I just don't get it. How can a group of people be so peeved that they lost an election, thereby trying to hold every one hostage?
    A presiding officer, who realizes that his party has lost at his station can refuse to sign th ...

• BRIAN WILLIAMS 10 years ago

BE RATIONAL AND LOOK AT THE OTHER SIDE OF THE COIN:THE EC CAN HAVE A MILLION PINK SHEETS WITHOUT SIGNATURES IN ORDER TO PICK THE PARTY OF THEIR CHOICE AS VICTORS. SC JUDGES ARE A DISGRACE SINCE THEY CAN'T EVEN INTERPRETE THE ...

• Ben K 10 years ago

Brian Williams, you are rather making a case for the SC without realising it. If the SC has decided that an election is valid if and only if the Presiding officers sign the pink sheets, then the EC or the Presiding officers ...

• OWUOMPOSURO 10 years ago

What this judge is saying is that, if he preside on a case and after judgement he do not sign the judgement sheet his judgement is still valid and enforceable.

• BRIAN WILLIAMS 10 years ago

BEN K., STEAL A CHECK FROM ME, WITHDRAW GHS1000.01 FROM MY BANK ACCOUNT WITHOUT MY SIGNATURE AND SEE WHAT I WILL DO TO THE BANK. OBVIOUSLY COMMONSENSE IS COMMON, BUT NOT COMMON TO COMMON PEOPLE. SIGNATURES ARE IMPORTANT TO MA ...

• NAKED TRUTH 10 years ago

A pink sheet is identical to a school terminal report card. If the headmaster does not sign, does that invalidate the exams and the score? You can go back to the school, have the exams and score checked, and get the headmast ...

• NPP Disillusioned Desperadoes 10 years ago

Marriage certs aren't a Gud example to use. The law adequately provides for pple living together -life partners, intestate law.therefore, u don't need a pastor's signature to validate a marriage.
    As a prof in law, that ough ...

• ODIKRO BA KOFI JIMMY 10 years ago

IF A PERSON DIES AND HIS DOCTOR ( OR HOSPITAL OFFICIALS DO NOT SIGN HIS DEATH CERTIFICATE, IS HE ALIVE OR DEAD?
    IF HE IS NOT COUNTED AS DEAD WHEN HE IS LYING THERE BLOWING FUMES, THOSE WHO WANT TO COUNT HIM AS ALIVE CAN DO S ...

• kwapea 10 years ago

These questions are certainly from someone who wants to hear himself speaking.
    If a Doctor does not sign a death certificate, the person will be dead alright but, the fact of his/her death cannot be used to legally claim/ap ...

• Fo Kodzo 10 years ago

One of the problems facing our developmental agenda is that there are too many useless academics in the country who are paid fat salaries which they use to chase teenage girls, talk balderdash, eat plenty and shit big. I thin ...

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

Did I HEAR WELL? pROF kUMADO COMPARING REGISTRAR OF MARRIAGES TO PRESIDING OFFICER? PINK SHEET TO MARRIAGE CERT?AND WHAT DOES HE MEAN BY FEELINGS OF A JUDGE? is THE LETTER OF THE CONSTITUTION MORE COMPELLING THAN THE SPIRIT O ...

• MARKUS 10 years ago

Are people just stupid or they just refuse to see the dangers in the s.c interpretations of the laws is nothing but making mockery of the people who wrote the laws and saying that they know better. when the law say the presid ...

• Ben K 10 years ago

Markus, I doubt if you understand what you yourself are saying. The constitution does not guarantee a Presiding officer a right. The Presiding officer, who could be anybody, has a duty to perform. The voter is guaranteed a ...

• Nii Ashitey 10 years ago

You indeed did not understand what you are saying yourself neither do I.As explained to you there are competing claims,the right to vote and a duty under the constitution.The right to vote is fundamental right but a breach of ...

• kaketonti 10 years ago

YOU WRONG.The ruling is final and GHANA our beloved country is FREE;

• kaketonti 10 years ago

GOOD ONE THERE.

• Ama 10 years ago

A bunch of thieves guarding Bank of Ghana vaults,that is what the National Deceit Party(NDC) is. Can you call what Afari Djan defended in court as a credible election. When he did not even know that when the number of ballot ...

• PADDY 10 years ago

VERY SAD, THEY'VE COVERED THE NATION WITH HARDSHIP,SUFFERINGS,PAINS AND SORROW.SOMEDAY THESE JUDGES WILL BE RECALLED TO ANSWER A LOT OF QUESTIONS.IN GOD WE TRUST.

• woyome 10 years ago

Non signing of the pink sheet by the P.O will it affect the result of the election?no!!! Marriage Certificate is more important than pink sheet.

• Yag 10 years ago

Indepedent and Profs. How can you compare marriage certi. with pink sheet ? In election there was competition and party sympathisers who been a presiding officers will delibrately not sign to make a favourable case for their ...

• Sandra 10 years ago

NPP STILL DON'T GET IT.

• pink sheet president 10 years ago

Sandra,
    Including their lawyers,accountants,lecturers,students and even, their so called, men of "God".

• Yag 10 years ago

Sandy, You what ? It is interlectual dishonesty to the highest degrees that exist.

• THE WORLD HAS SEEN 10 years ago

Those judges have showed how stupid they are. If a judge says signature is not important while even children know that signature really important on any document,it shows how ignorant and shallow-minded they are. they are n ...

• Apio 10 years ago

You I guess do not have any sense at all. You must be the most STUPID person in earth if you cannot see the logic of the ruling.

You are a waste of time and space. Crawl into your nasty shell and stop showing your crass ...

• NUNYA 10 years ago

Honestly, many Ghanaians especially followers of that NPP which sees nothing good inn our motherland Ghana, think that signature on pink sheet is more important than citizens votes? What a hell is this? If signature is more i ...

The world has seen !
    You are very very wrong. By the way, have you ever considered, what may happen in the future,if it should be established, that,absence of presiding officers' signatures can nullify election results ?Ple ...

• Oppong Kyekyeku 10 years ago

What they mean is that a ruling or judgement not signed by the presiding judge is still valid and enforcable!!

• Mander 10 years ago

Can any one explain to me what is common-law marriage? This writer doesn`t get. The act of counting the vote in public, signatures of polling agents is evidence enough to overide the absence of the presiding officer`s signatu ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

Having failed to prove any evidence of electoral fraud they are scraping the bottom of the barrel hoping that techicalities can be used to prove electoral malpractice. The curious thing though is why did they leave out the As ...

• Jato.P 10 years ago

What about tradtional marriages which are contracted between families and do not go to court are they not considered as validly contracted marriages?

• Ruling 10 years ago

JB, they accepted in their own right as not formal. for any formal action must have the doc signed. your school certificate is it signed

• Joe Biney 10 years ago

This is deep thinking, which is distinct from academic polemics.

JB,
    I like that !You are very very right .

• Teye Kwesi 10 years ago

Do not put political spectacle to analyse supreme court judgement. To me two things doubt the judges to be convinced whether no signatures was intentional: 1. NPP reps signed the form like wise other parties. 2. No complain s ...

• Yag 10 years ago

CONGRATULATION TO NOBLE SUPREME JUSTICES of KING SOLOMON sense Judgement

• Abba 10 years ago

THE SC JUDGEMENT IS DANGEROUS FOR GHANA BECAUSE MAYBE RWANDA TYPE OF WAR IS GOING TO TEACH US SENSE IN 2016 ELECTIONS IF.....

• kk 10 years ago

Can WAEC cancel exams result of candidates who registered, study and wrote the exams because an examiner failed to sign that s/he supervised the exams? NPP graduates

• Nelson Mandela 10 years ago

Why are some of you so intellectually bankrupt? What kind of analogy is this? Is there a constitutional or WAEC provision for that matter requiring an invigilator to sign a sheet that he supervised the exam failure of which n ...

• e akuteye 10 years ago

Its a pity that blind eye were turn against the reality.

• Baffour Agyemang 10 years ago

Prof Kumadu how would you judge a situation where a marriage breaks down after years of toil and making properties and children together, one side pulls out a marriage certificate that had not been sgned by the registrar and ...

• Baffour Agyemang 10 years ago

GOOB should be GOOD

• Ruling 10 years ago

Mr Baffour, After all these gains in that marriage, if the cert is not signed, the marriage is regarded as not properly done (FACT of LAW)

• Nii Ashitey 10 years ago

The position of the law is that after several years together whether properly married or not,you are entitled to all rights of a married person.No need for signed certificate.Lord Denning master of the rolls ruled on that in ...

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

How

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

True

• CAPE COAST BOY 10 years ago

GOD BLESS OUR HOMELAND GHANA AND MAKE OUR NATION GREAT AND STRONG

• the gtruth 10 years ago

but we have differnt issues here marriage certificate and election form are totally two different things they have no relations whatsoever by te way does marriage couples stand in queue to register their marriage what at all ...

• Woman's Wisdom 10 years ago

Any judge who thinks signatures don't matter are all fools. In case a mad man pops into a voting area and force himself to write whatever he wants on the pink sheets, and for this reason, a presiding officer refuse to sign th ...

• Kwabena Twum 10 years ago

No judge saying that signatures on the pink sheets don't matter. But what they meant was how do you punish innocence voters and let those who actually committed the crime or broke the law go free? Does it makes sense to you t ...

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

My goodness, do we have another professor without sense of reality or critical thinking? Professor Kumado’s assertions are not only infantile but goes to show why the legal system is dead in Ghana and the GBA is not worth a ...

• AHMED JACOB 10 years ago

The signatures of the Presiding Officers was mandatory by the constitution. It was not put in the constitution just for being there sake, There is a reason why it is there, to curtail confusion and to authenticate the results ...

• NPP Disillusioned Desperadoes 10 years ago

That is why the onus is on all citizens particularly the legal savvy to include provisos that will curtail any such negligence or deliberate pulling of a fast one by any unscrupulous election official or party person colludin ...

• Sadat 10 years ago

Charlie,

We did not when the election. Simple and short. Let us not swallow hook line and sinker the inward-looking propaganda of our leaders. Whilst the NDC uses propaganda to capture power during national elections, in t ...

• Mr No Name 10 years ago

I personally think the reason for not signing the pink sheet is to protest the validity of the Document in kind. The scenario is the Agents were scared to protest, thinking of repurccassion that might occure.

• Mr No Name 10 years ago

We're there provisions stated in the Constitution to guide or protect Polling Agents in the case of Protest?

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST look www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• Bomfaboy 10 years ago

I thought the constitution was supreme in ghana's jurisprudence, and therefore any breach of it becomes unconstitutional and therefore invalid. The constitution provides that parliament debates and enact an act, and the presi ...

• K.Twum 10 years ago

Why is he wrong? the law that enforced the presiding officers to sign the pink sheets, if they refuse what punishment does it give them? If none, what will be happened in the future elections if the judges happened to annul i ...

• O B Obiba 10 years ago

The Supreme Court Judges who sat on this case have done a disservice to Ghana. They voted on political and tribal affiliations and should be ashamed of themselves. On the face of incriminating evidence they voted to ignore ...

• simple truth 10 years ago

The Judges were called upon to INTEPRETE the CONSTITUTION NOT to give their PERSONAL views.The ludgement is a LAZY work on their part.THEY had other KNOWN CONSIDERATIONS and they MUST tell GHANA.IT was a JUDGEMENT of LAST MIN ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 10 years ago

The question of the marriage certificate and the signature ,goes directly against the persons who made the mistake and can directly rectify without purnishing anybody.onlike the pettioners claimes to purnish the voter on so ...

• Godwin Osei 10 years ago

why are we taking parts of the statements and making cases out of them?
    What was said is when both parties(representative) have signed the votes cannot be annulled because the presiding office did not sign

• concern ghanian 10 years ago

A RIGHT TO VOTE AND A RIGHT TO SIGN. THE LAW GAVE THE RIGHT TO VOTE AND THE SAME LAW GAVE THE OFFICER, AFTER VOTING YOU MUST SIGN. SO WE`RE NOT GOING TO CANCEL MULTIPLE VOTING BECAUSE OF THEIR RIGHT TO VOTE? WE NEED TO THINK ...

• GHANAIAN OBSERVER 10 years ago

THE IMAGE OF GHANA'S SUPREME COURT IS ALREADY DENTED. WITH JUSTICES ATUGUBA AND BAMFO (LATE ATTA MILLS CONCUBINE/GIRLFRIEND) SIDED AND SHARED SECRET NOTES WITH RESPONDENT (NDC, MAHAMA AND ELECTORAL COMMISIONER) LAWYERS AFTER ...

• pepeni 10 years ago

The law is what the courts say it is.

• Ernest 10 years ago

The equation is totally wrong. Can you asked yourself why man cannot be given blood of animal bcos all blood should be blood?
    if 2 things are not the same level, we cant equate it like pink sheet and marriage.
    Can you sign ...

• A concerned citizen.................. 10 years ago

This 9 judges have goofed big time...so it means a check without a signature is valid..huh..

• SAY IT AS IT IS! 10 years ago

What has marrage got to do with this case. Really we have got some thnking heads in our dear country.
    That is why our children coming out of our school are still fools like thier parents who never went to school in the first ...

• BOB CAT 10 years ago

ALWAYS IDIOTS ARE FAR AWAY FROM UNDERSTANDING.YOUR CHILDREN ARE FOOLS LIKE YOU.WE HAD A GOOD GHANA BEFORE YOU WERE BORN.SINCE WE HAD PEOPLE LIKE YOU GHANA IS REVERSING TO STONE AGE.YOU PEOPLE THINK ONLY ABOUT A PARTY AND YOUR ...

• BROWN 10 years ago

Mahama is destined to be Ghana's longest serving president (July 2012- January 2021). Hahahahahah

• STOP THESE PREACHINGS AND DISCOVE 10 years ago

OPAYIN PROFESSOR,

WHATEVER ARGUMENT YOU MAY THROW,THE ELECTION AND SC JUDGEMENT ARE OVER, AND IT IS TIME FOR THE SO CALLED PROFESSORS, DEANS, HEADS OF DEPARTMENT, LECTURERS, ECONOMISTS, ENGINEERS and PhD'S TO ASK THEMSELVE ...

• hard one 10 years ago

professor, do you go to register your marrige or you go and vote at AMA or the registral? your arguement dose not make sence to me,elections pettition is over pls lets move on.what at all those NPP want?

• AFI-TEYE 10 years ago

DENNIS AWAH IS JUST AN IDIOT AND FOOL.
    THE NDC LATRINE CARRIER STUPID FOOL,SUCKER.

• TerriblY Spe cifi. 10 years ago

Go back to law school and learn again.

• zongo president 10 years ago

Where did this judge get his education ,,,is he a judge?

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

THE MALICIOUS INTERPRETATION BEING PLACED ON JUSTICE GBADEGBE'S RULING BEGGARS COMMON SENSE. REFUSING TO ACCEPT AN UNSIGNED MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE DOES NOT INFRINGE ON ANY FUNDAMENTAL RIGHT OF ANY ONE BUT DISQUALIFYING THE WHOL ...

• Kwabena Twum 10 years ago

If your marriage is not sign, you go back and get it sign is already in the system. What's so hard about that.

• Kwaku 10 years ago

Our wise and learned Justices have given their ruling, who are we, as laymen to challenge it? As layman I know that signature demonstrates true witnessing and authority. However,our Justices say it doesn't matter.Well, they ...

• Unus Yahaya u/w/r 10 years ago

The stupid and foolish SC Judges think that if Ghana is burning they would be spared . Let Atubuga and his ilk know that in any eventuality, when flying out,as he did, he and his ilk should not forget about there villages and ...

• STRAIGHT TALK 10 years ago

BIASED AND FAKE INTERPRETATION!

• Whatever 10 years ago

Who put up this ignorant headline there? The electoral process guides us to sign or to protest and give reasons. If your reason ae back by compelling evidence then your protest matters. Same way your signature matters if ther ...

• BOB MARLEY J 10 years ago

IT IS AMAZING HOW THESE JUDGES FOUND A WAY AROUND THE LAW AND THE CONSTITUTION JUST FOR A COUPLE OF MILLIONS OF DOLLARS IN THEIR OFF-SHORE BANK ACCOUNTS. THEIR LOGIC WERE ALL BALONEY. IT IS JUST UNBELIEABLE HOW THESE JUDGES C ...

• abi 10 years ago

people closer to justice Gbadegbe should ask him 'did he sign his judgement if yes why. the last question to him is how does he redraw his salary from the bank

• Analyst 10 years ago

Reasonability is always required in interpreting any law. Polling station results are counted and displayed publicly before they are recorded on the pink sheets so the absence of presiding officers' signatures does nothing to ...

• Michael Adzima 10 years ago

Unsigned marriage cert does not invalidate the marriage processed and witnessed appropriately. So unsigned Pink sheet should invalidate vote properly done and counted.

Maybe, unsigned school certificates shouldn't invalidate the certificate since there are school records that one attended the school and even wrote the required exams!

• K.Twum 10 years ago

If your school cert. is not signed, you can go to the school and get it sign. What's so hard about it? It's already in the system.

• ABREWA 10 years ago

Why jail a goat or food thief or even anybody for stealing because he or she is hungry and need to eat. Asem sebe!!!

• ABREWA 10 years ago

Since they are also true citizens who
    queued to vote.

• IBF - Canada 10 years ago

This is indeed shocking especially coming from a judge who is rather being naive and sensational. What is the value of a signature and why did the constitution stipulated that the returning officer must sign? Without the retu ...

• Michael Adzima 10 years ago

Yes Kofi your unsigned Certificate does not invalid your education and graduation. Only the cert must be redone. It happens

• Paa Osei 10 years ago

I have a simple question and that is how do you determine valid votes?