You are here: HomeNews2013 09 26Article 287049

Law Professor: SC judgment sends Ghana back to stone age

Read Comments Comments (122)

• Dan Forson 10 years ago

WE GHANAIANS AND AFRICANS ARE ALL CORRUPT. THE SUPREME COURT JUDGES ARE NO DIFFERENT. YES, THEY HAD A GOLDEN OPPORTUNITY TO SHOW GHANA THAT OUR LAWS WORK.

• Mobutu 10 years ago

People are sick! 4millions votes must be annulled before we know we are not corrupt, Right? Think, you SELFISH beings!

• okofo 10 years ago

Why not, if OUR CONSTITUTION says so?

• UNMISGUIDED AFRICAN CHILD 10 years ago

TO:Professor Frimpong,The NPP & The Danquah Institute,Can we get on with Nation Building....the nation needs ideas that work,right now.

So quit all these theorizing and apply it to practice...like how to solve our ...massi ...

• Tunde 10 years ago

It is only in Ghana this idiot and bastard creature called Atuguba, who hid behind 'contempt of court' wanting to silence everyone from pointing out his biased and lawless rulings that will walk freely. His days are numbered

• Lizzy 10 years ago

These sons and daughters of terrorrist who are sojourning in the diaspora and have no love or plans to coming home to help mother Ghana simply cannot stop making noise.

Everyday they are in the news and yet when you ask ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Justice Atubugabuga is a taliban judge and will remain one till his death.

Atubugabuga pratices sharia laws, hence his drooling with the election petition that showed how his warped and twisted minds understood the laws.

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

WHERE FROM THIS PROF? DID HE SUDDENLY WAKE UP FROM HIS STONE AGE UNIVERSITY WITH A STONE AGE THINKING ABOUT A MODERN GHANA? OR IT INTELLECTUAL DISHONESTY!

• RJ 10 years ago

WITH A NAME LIKE Kwame Frimpong WHAT ELSE DO YOU EXPECT HIM TO SAY.
    YOU THESE ASHANTI IDIOTS SHOULD GIVE US A BREAK

• FRedsaid 10 years ago

Ghana is crap; a country where no laws are obeyed and no one is punished for crimes against the state and the tax payer; it is a country where the ruling government and its ministers are allowed by parliament to rape the nati ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Prof, this has come and gome,now that
    we cannot do anything about it,however
    many thanks for that in advance.We will take note of that next time.

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Nobody should blame Atuguba,s judgement because he has not reach that stage yet,now learning to be

• Da Ruse 10 years ago

Nation Building? I believe that is all this debate is about. Have you paid school fees this term? I have managed to pay for five individuals ranging from GHc750.00 to GHc2000.00. In fact I had request from over twenty individ ...

• Rahman 10 years ago

Which part of the constitution says so. We must all endeavour to read the judgements so that people will not throw dust in our eyes with their myopic interpretations. WISE UP.

• Kwame Addo 10 years ago

PROF KWAME FRIMPONG MIGHT NOT BE TAKEN SERIOUS READING THROUGH HIS BIAS AND UNPATRIOTIC CONTRIBUTION. WHILE THE LAW PROFESSOR IS ENTITLED TO HIS OWN OPINION, HIS ASSERTION DOES NOT REFLECT ON THE GENERAL CONSENSUS OF THE GHAN ...

• Kwabena Twum 10 years ago

I have just one question for so called law professor: If the law required annulment of valid votes whereby presiding officer refused or intentionally do not append his or her signature on the "pink sheets", then what sort of ...

• JB 10 years ago

Thanks Proff, this verdict is bad some of the Judges are not states men hence failed to realize the potential violence that may result in the next election if there are irregularities. These Judges will have the blood of Ghan ...

• Da Ruse 10 years ago

Kwame Addo, your English is bad! I will give you a D7 that will not qualify you for admission into any University in Ghana.
    I do not think you have what it takes to comprehend the import of the article to comment on it.
    You ...

• agyapa 10 years ago

Kwame addo is simply stupid,and uncultured.

• Mobutu 10 years ago

It baffles my imagination when the so-called learned people talk 'trash' like this. They feel the will of the people is to annul theirs Votes and declare a BORN LOSER a winner and that would mean moving the country forward. E ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

How does the signature affect the votes, Prof. Common prof use your brain

• okofo 10 years ago

What do you know about LOGIC? The law is there purposely for a common good: If the law says votes should be annuled when irregularity occurs, that's what SHOULD be done. Insofar as Africans DISREGARD the law and use IMMOTIONS ...

• OKOFO 10 years ago

Where in Ghana constitution is stated that valid votes must be annulled if the presiding officer failed to sign the pink sheet? The constitution mandate the presiding to sign the pink sheet. It just ends there with no specif ...

• Nii Ashitey 10 years ago

Most stupid commentary.Where in the constitution did it say votes must be annulled for errors of ec officials when those errors have nothing to do with the intercity of the votes caste.You must be stretching illogicality to n ...

• kwaku kwaku 10 years ago

The SC just failed Ghanaians and entire CONTINENT

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Are you a jerk, my stepson ?

You heard and saw nothing wrong with how Afari Djan and his NDC appointed officials of the E.C. annulled votes in certain constituencies on charges of over-voting, yet you find it difficult to ...

• Kojo Mensah 10 years ago

Mad people at work! So called lawyers indeed!

• Kofi Wayo 10 years ago

Very stupid and childish analysis.Back off fool

• Yaw Amofa 10 years ago

These so called law school lecturers are pathethic! They are only fit for classroom law not real world law. They can't hide their political colours. They sound disgusting when the media calls them to comment on issues. They d ...

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

Here is a so called Law Professor Kwame Frimpong in the company of Danquah Institute of Akim buffoons

- he tries to think for the Supreme Court on matters halfwit Akim Akufo Ado's foolish election petition; and cites irrel ...

• K. Benefo 10 years ago

no doubt the source is DI. people will read this and say this prof is a ghanaian! I am ashamed

• baggio 10 years ago

NDC is foolish party Gemfoooo party

• TRUE PATRIOT 10 years ago

What stone age? Your professorship does not make you an authority in law.You are peeved because your NPP did not get the verdict it wanted.We have so many academics who are dishonest and have ruined Ghana .GET LOST!!!!!

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 10 years ago

Read Article
    Comment: IS OKUDZETO SERIOUS ?
    Author:
    BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ.
    Date:
    2013-09-26 11:30:46
    Comment to:
    Election dispute: Petitioners won by 5-4 majority

DEAR SAM OKUDZETO AND THE READING PUBLIC OF GH ...

• KWAKU 10 years ago

The Judges delivered the verdict, you either take it or leave it. If you have Ghana at heart, come back home and lets built it. Don't stay out there and start criticizing the learned men. You are lucky you are not in Ghana... ...

• nabia 10 years ago

Prof you are talking to the wind. we now know you. When things go against your party it is stone age
    can you be civil in your criticism.
    unfortunately most ghanaians are going about their business without caring.
    You have ...

• GHANABA 10 years ago

I urge Ghanaians never to send cases to this SC again.

• ADJOA 10 years ago

THANK YOU. BUT MAHAMA IS IN NEW YORK AS GHANA'S PRESIDENT

• Kwabena 10 years ago

Is he a professor? Those who become professor through "chew and pour", He lacks sense and have no idea why those laws were made. Please apply sense to what u have learnt it will help you. What do you understand by "Substance ...

• Ojam 10 years ago

Ask again oooo! Some of these people buy their titles, beware of them! When things get tough, their certificates get lost or burnt! OH, oh, oh, mother Ghana!

• dougie 10 years ago

Thanks prof.Atuguba and co prioritized money over and above constitutionalism.God is watching.

• YAM TEM 10 years ago

MAHAMA GIVE OTUMFOR MONEY TO PAYTHEM

• KUTRIKU 10 years ago

ATUGUBA AND THE OTHER JUDGES ARE EITHER IMCOMPETENT IN THEIR DUTIES AS JUDGES OR ARE UTTERLY CORRUPT. NO WHERE IN THIS WORLD, EXCEPT IN THE WARPED MINDS OF ATUGUBA AND OTHER UNLEARNED PEOPLE OF THE NDC, DOES A "CONTITUTIONALY ...

• mohammed 10 years ago

How much of the constitution and how much of company law can you show me from the judgement? Criminal, indeed, can you differentiate between what was established and criminal law? the NPP posed a criminal question of electio ...

• Teye Kwesi 10 years ago

One way criticism, there were no complains, parties also signed form but returning officer did not sign. Respondents argued those are clerical errors. What about this too? NPP sit up and analyse the results and work hard on e ...

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

True

• Akua Owusuah 10 years ago

Another fake professor. Most of them can read and write BUT he hasn't got the faintest idea about law practice and the interpretation of the law. Put him in the law court behind the bench and he would be as useless as useless ...

• KNYC (USMC) 10 years ago

And what is your point? Akua, after all what you said, you never came up with a clear abstract to proof the prof. was wrong. All you people who can't interpret the English language are all talking shit. Read what he said it h ...

• Michael, Ofosu 10 years ago

I think the professor is rather trying to send Ghanaians into the stone age. Professor, gone were the days when Ghanaians thought the professor or the highly educated knew it all. Sir, those were the days. You managed to chew ...

• Ebo 10 years ago

The SC verdict endorsing an illegal government makes an already failed state even worse of. Ghana will never recover from this malice. There is no hope for anyone in diaspora if he/she returns to Ghana. This is a government t ...

• HONESTY 10 years ago

Prof Frimpong, I pity the students you are teaching at Mountcrest!!! If the interpretation of constitutions are based on the understanding of the English language,then English language professors instead of lawyers should be ...

• Kwame Addo 10 years ago

WHEN YOU READ OR LISTEN TO CONTRIBUTIONS BY CERTAIN PEOPLE WHO BY VIRTUE OF TEACHING EARN PROFESSORSHIP GIVE BIAS JUDGEMENT AND CRITICAL WITH THE TRUTH, THEN THE QUALITY OF LEARNING IS GONE MAD. ONE THING I HAVE OBSERVED IS T ...

• Agyaku NYC 10 years ago

Mr. Professor, you are smart enough to know better than your statement. The sc did what is good for Ghana and we as citizens have to respect our judiciary system.Likewise US 2000 presidential election between Bush and Gore wh ...

• alavanyo 10 years ago

God will punish this nine people with car accident fools

• Mr. Mensah 10 years ago

Opinion they say are like noses i think this is the one of the old professor.Unfortunately it is irelevant and useless to the majority of Ghanaian who genuinely vote for PRESIDENT MAHAMA.If you think this this has send Ghana ...

• Kwobia,Toronto 10 years ago

There goes the wannabe election stealers.Ever since the "Stolen Verdict" the NPP and it's surrigate mouth pieces have been on a holy crusade to try to overturn the 2012 election results.Ghanains are not stupid.

• PAA NII TESHIE. 10 years ago

I indeed, disagree with the law professor Kwame Frimpong on his interpretation and analysis of the Judgement handed over by the Supreme Court. What I have come to realized is that our learned friends in the Bar and the law in ...

• Kwame Poku 10 years ago

in my candid opinion Addison was not
    matured to handle a "world case" of
    this nature period.do not blame the SC
    judges. OR you wish the judges to steer
    the case for the Petitioners ??????????

• okofo 10 years ago

Oh Professor Kwame Frempong, you made my day!! Agutuba will forever be a disgrace!!!

• Colegrate 10 years ago

Opinions differ when we give different interpretation to sensitive
    issues like what transpired at the supreme court. First and foremost
    the learned judges are human so they can be pardoned when they err. However they gave j ...

• John Declerk Azure 10 years ago

An apology of a Law Professor. A jaundiced and biased view. Ghana did not educate you to be a complete and irredeemable liability to it. " The 1992 Constitution only guarantees the right to vote but not the right to a valid ...

• jim 10 years ago

This is a five star academic charlatan.

• Analyst 10 years ago

It is very clear that irrespective of how learned a man is, once he takes a biased or an entrenched partisan position, his reasoning is at best delusional.
    If it is the upholding of NPP's petition that will take Ghana law in ...

• NKREKETE 10 years ago

What Ghanaians must understand about the SC judgement is this: The Court did not decide on the merit of the case at all. Rather, it went the 'unjudicial' way of preserving peace in the country, which I agree with the Judges ...

• KOKONSA 10 years ago

By far the most cogent reason adduced for the verdict. Although I believed the NPP had a water tight case, I also thought the greater good which was peace in this case should be upheld and that is what I think they did.
    It ...

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 10 years ago

Mahama was right to say that Ghanaians have become pocket lawyers. Yes we have, and far better judges than the Atuguba led criminal judges.

In fact the lay men view and right judgement was far more legally grounded and na ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

The Professor should have started with the petition. The stone age thought processes behind the petition should have been examined first. It all started as electoral fraud involving the raiding of Akuffo Addo votes to pad up ...

• OKOFO 10 years ago

No further comment

• KABIYESI 10 years ago

Functional illiterate professor! I pity your students!

• vl 10 years ago

This professor doesn't know shit.

• AGYA KWABENA ASEMPANAYE. 10 years ago

YES DANKWA INSTITUTE INDEED. You named an istitution after a selfish idiot,and an ass kisser of her imperial majesty, and what do you get ?
    A complete institution filled with idiots and run by lunatics. Ghanaians are not stu ...

• KOKONSA 10 years ago

Once upon a time there was Kwame Nkrumah Ideological Institute. Go back to your history books and learn . Don't be in a hurry to comment.

• Qwame 10 years ago

If the Supreme court decision is a criterion for stone age then I prefer it to your modern age. What sort of modern age law wants me to queue for hours to vote and the vote declare null and void bcos some hair dresser employe ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Let us stop using Professor titles in vain! What has published?

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

IS IT NOT OF THE ORDER OF THE DAY AMONG NIGERIANS AND GHANAIANS? WHO ARE "US" THAT YOU ARE APPEALING TO HELP TO STOP,WHEN YOU CALL YOURSELF A 'DOCTOR'. SO WHAT IS NEW?

• JENGBERA JENGBE 10 years ago

I like what I hear from you, Menaye. From now on I should address myself and insist on being addressed as Professor Dr Jengbera Jengbe. That should get all the minions and the minnows quaking in their boots. After all Ekwow S ...

• AMB 10 years ago

Of course the critics of Prof are expected. Gabby looked for NPP activists and gave them the opportunity to continue to entrench the bias and ethnocentrism of NPP. My only concern is that the votes could have been recounted a ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

When are these sore LOSERS from the NPP ever going to stop their different forms of whining after justly losing

• Kojo Abonsam 10 years ago

If he is peeved because his expectations for an Akufo-Addo Presidency were thrown overboard, then, he can prepare his stomach for the Atlantic Ocean.

• Tony 10 years ago

The man has succeeded in sending NPP back to the ages before the stone age.

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

Look at their STUPID looking faces in their wigs. In this hot climate they will always feel proud to sweat under this colonial costumes than to adapt to what will make them comfortable.

• Kofilotoe 10 years ago

when |I hear people shout that Ghana' democracy is tops in Africa, I laugh at those saying that. Why not cry? I laugh because they do not see the blanket similarity between Ghana's democracy and that of the rest of Africa.
    Q ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

GHANA CONTINUES TO BE LECTURED BY THESE PREACHERS OF MEN AND NON HAVE BEEN PRODUCTIVE TO LIFT ECONOMIC GROWTH IN THE COUNTRY.

ELECTION AND SC JUDGEMENT BELONGS TO THE PAST AND IT IS TIME THAT WE REALIZE THAT ONLY INNOVATI ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

BE PRACTICAL PROFESSOR AT HOME THAN TO LECTURE ON UNNECESSARY THINGS THAT HAVE NO ANSWERS TO THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT FACING THE COUNTRY.

WE ARE STILL LOST IN THE WILDERNESS WITH OUR SHALLOW MINDS.

A PROPHET HAS NO HON ...

• Wiafe 10 years ago

was there an occasion AtuguBRIBE voted for the petitioners in the course of the trial during any of the many objections raised? It's a shame that many Ghanaians have lost hope in the discredited supreme court.

• Richard 10 years ago

THANK YOU OKUDZETO FOR YOUR COMMENT, YOU ARE RIGHT. EYES ARE WATCHING.

• Assimeh 10 years ago

THERE WE GO AGAIN. HOW ON EARTH DID SOME ACADEMICIANS COME BY THE CREDENTIALS THEY MAINTAIN. AN ORDINARY PERSON READS THEIR ARGUMENTS AND STRAIGHT AWAY CAN CONCLUDE THAT THERE ARE SERIOUS LOOPHOLES. FOR HEAVEN'S SAKE THESE SO ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

WHAT FOR A USELESS AND IRRELEVANT ARGUMENT.

I DOUBT VERY MUCH IF; ThIS MAN IS REALYY A LAW PROFESSOR IN A HIGHLY IDUSTRILIZED NATION OF US.

IS HE NOT ASHAMED TO LIVE ON THE SWEAT, TOIL AND HARDWORK OF THE PEOPLE OF US. ...

• Assimeh 10 years ago

The NPP should spend the time dealing with their leadership brouhaha and stop wasting time on the SC case. It's over. Done. Finished. Period.

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

Why should we even bother with people like these? Why did the Danquah Institute not allow for a panel of experts from all sides to debate the issues?

Thankfully there is nothing these myopic lawyers can do about what has a ...

• joe santum 10 years ago

stupid shit professor. Kwasea you wanted some body to be a president through the mistake of somebody. the law is indeed an ass and yu want to endorse. look at someone calling himself a prof. is like somebody losing a match an ...

• Truth 10 years ago

You can shout yourself hoarse...the judges havespoken. Keep your crooked thinking to yoursel. Sorry but you're not a supreme court judge.

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

There are some shit professors and there are some more. The election was a process and the vote is the expression of sovereign right of the individual and to use a single requirement to deprive the voter of that right would h ...

• Justice Dotse Snr 10 years ago

So called 'Prof of Law' Kwame Frimpong, you are shame to all professors. How can you say that the judgment of the Supreme Court has send the country to the stone age. If this is the way you judge things as a so called 'prof ...

• John Anamse 10 years ago

I quote the so-called professor as below;

"Justice Adinyirah, according to the law Professor, devoted about half of her judgment on the role of the polling agent even though the mandatory constitutional requirement of sign ...

• Ibn Batuta 10 years ago

This law professor is a fake and might have bought his degrees. There are lots of case laws which authenticate the line of reasoning that informed the SC judgement. And what about the recent judgement in Detroit over who the ...

• Jawatabs 10 years ago

Ghanaweb news is very one sided. Is the SC judgement the only news item coming from Ghana? Why can't they talk about other issues? Their bias attitude will not change the judgement. Just move on from this topic. It's becoming ...

• Naija 10 years ago

Vandal boyz of NDC has been formed, grouped in countless.They have been given free laptops and huge tips each just to post and call every FM stations on every debate on behalf of the NDC to distract attention.They don't bothe ...

• yaw 10 years ago

Is this so called prof. expecting the SC to declare Nana Addo, alias my Cert. is missing, the winner?

• Ashkenazi 10 years ago

I think the writer himself NEED TO GO BACK TO LAW SCHOOL OR BETHER STILL COME TO MATH AND ENGINEERING AND LEARN SOME LOGIC

• MR BASTARD 10 years ago

STONE AGE LAW 'PROFESSOR'. SOME PEOPLE IN GHANA THINK IT IS A BIRTH RIGHT TO BE RULERS.INCLUDING THE SO CALLED PROF.
    NKRUMAH AND KUFUOR DISPROVED THIS THEORY.BUT THESE BASTARDS WILL HAVE NONE OF IT.IF U WORK HARD U CAN BECOM ...

• Naija 10 years ago

Vandal boyz of NDC. grouped in countless, some are Uni student.They have been given small cars, u rmmber the cars shared during the elections. free laptops and huge tips each just to post and call every FM stations on every d ...

• Mike 10 years ago

By Ghanaians the professor means NPP.

• iddris 10 years ago

I think the law professor should give Ghanaians a break. where was he from the beginning to the end. his comments only comes because it doesn't go his way.He now point to the sc as "Atuguba's sc' .what name would ordinary G ...

• FRedsaid 10 years ago

SO WHAT HAPPENS IN 2016 WITH NO LAW TO OBEY REGARDING CONSTITUTIONAL MATTERS ABOUT ELECTIONS? IS IT GOING TO BE A FREE FOR ALL NO RULES BARRED; BALLOT STUFFING, OVERVOTING, NO PRESIDING OFFICERS' SIGNATURE, NO BIOMETRIC VERIF ...

• seth 10 years ago

This was the same person who misled Ken Kurankyi and Ataa Kyia to go to court and challenged the judges only for Kuranky to be jailed. He was the source of the questions Ken asked the judges about the charged sheet. He wrote ...

• OKOE 10 years ago

WILL DANQUAH INSTITUTE REMAIN IN GHANA SINCE IT IS NOW IN THE STONE AGE?WILL THE PROFESSOR COME TO THE STONE AGE TO LIVE WITH US? Will LAWYERS PLEASE GIVE US A BREAK!!!

• Nana Kwame Ampomah 10 years ago

VERY INTELLIGENT AND BRAVE CONTRIBUTION. GOD BLESS YOU AND ALL THOSE WHO LISTEN TO YOUR SCHOLARLY CONTRIBUTIONS.

• Kobena 10 years ago

The SC verdict had nothing to do with the law, the Constitution or even common sense. It was just about which of the parties was least likely to cause mayhem if it lost.
    Cry the beloved country!

• Da Ruse 10 years ago

...And the highest bidder in this case.

• Pee 10 years ago

Prof Frimpong you are teaching your student bad law. I am a law student in the US.what you are saying is politically motivated. You will not get the desire appoinyment you are looking for in the looser party. Am dssappointed ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

ARE YOU SURE Ghana left the Stone Age in the FIRST place ??? Useless profs!

• Wajoman 10 years ago

The SC assertion that annulment of votes affected with irregularities is tantamount to disfranchisement is bogus indeed because allowing such votes to stand also disfranchised the majority who voted for the true winner. The S ...

• Eric London 10 years ago

It very sad for the highest court of to behave in this manner. some of the judges have disgraced themselves most especially Justice Atuguba. Condemned politicians possessing foreign passports and would run away if something h ...

• gordon 10 years ago

dats africa 4 u corruption even in e supreme court

• OPINION 10 years ago

NPP will never accept anything that did not go its way. Please we are tire of you people leave us alone now!

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

Keep your thoughts to yourself, prof.

• Frimpong 10 years ago

Gabby Darko, Okudjeto, Kwame Frimpong, are the kind of elders whose leadership will break a nation. Why can't some people just come to terms with the TRUTH? In any case they shouldn't have resorted to the SC if they did not h ...

• Frimpong 10 years ago

GABBY, Okudjeto, Kwame Frimpong and their likes are simply fact twisters and bloody liars. They must bow their heads in shame.

• Nana Antwi 10 years ago

Law Professor attacks Supreme Court.? He says Atugubas judgment was incoherent as it contained so many criminal law and company law cases. He then concluded by saying we need South Africa type constitutional court because mos ...

• peter 10 years ago

wow what a fountain of law knowledge.prof frimpong you have demonstrated proffesionalism.kudos to your straightness.

• Stephen Bonzie 10 years ago

If there are no signatures on pink sheets etc. which law in Ghana provided the reliefs to be granted? Are we to make laws and back-date them or imagine them? Mr. Law Professor, give us a break! Can someone be punished for ano ...