You are here: HomeNews2013 09 26Article 287001

Prof Awoonor wrote funeral arangements

Read Comments Comments (99)

• Messaiah 10 years ago

Wicked fraudsters who have taken Ghana for a ride will face the same fate as Kofi Awoonor and Atta Mills! John Mahama watch out or bring Woyome's money!

• malam salifu 10 years ago

Watch Mahama and NDC used the professors death to steal state funds. They did for Uncle atta, and sure enough would do the same for Efo.

• NEMESIS, UK 10 years ago

OMG! I thought these evil Asshantis only hated Nigerians out of ignorance and jealousy for Nigerians' prosperity, but the 'VENOM' being spewed against their fellow citizen Prof Kofi Awonoor, who was murdered by Al-Shebab terr ...

should read: The whole world is watching your 'DEVILISH BEHAVIORS.'

• laryea 10 years ago

you look so little nuumo pkitiooo

• Joy 10 years ago

When I was a graduate student at Princeton, in my first year, I visited Bronx where my sister was living in the same apartment complex with Prof Kofi Awoonor. At the time, he was lecturing part time at Columbia and pursuing h ...

• KWAMINA SMITH 10 years ago

Awoonor was # 1 TIBALIST.His works were not read by all leaders the world over. He is not among the best of poets.He is only best when it came to SLAUGHTERING AKANS! -- and stealing Ghana's wealth.

• k. mensah 10 years ago

he got a taste of what he did to ashantis.his body dismembered

• Jingo Bell 10 years ago

It is very sad indeed to see the end of a human being like this. Rawlings and his revolutionaries including Awoonor himself are part of the blame. Rawlings and his Ewe revolutionaries have got a bitter taste of their own bad ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

Say may God bless the Ashantis. Do you know that if you are not cercumsise you are not pure, that is why most of you guys behave like animals with narrow thinking.

I don't see any sense in your post. What do you want to say? Your head is completely empty on your neck.

• Akosua 10 years ago

Thank you my Ewe brother. I am speaking to you as an Ashanti woman. May God bless you. As an Ashanti who grew up in Kumasi I was brought up love all. This hate I see on this site is deplorable.

Long live Ghana

• Abongo 10 years ago

Your father should have been the first.

• hawa 10 years ago

You Ashantis cut off innocent peoples heads to celebrate your stupid funeral and now have the brazen audacity to call someone wicked.

• Akosua 10 years ago

SIT YOUR ASS ON NIGERIAN WEB SITE AND STOP CONTRIBUTING TO THE FOOLISHNESS.!!! AS A HALF ASHANTI ROYAL AND HALF NIGERIAN ROYAL(YOROBA AND ASHANT MIX). I FIND IT DESPICABLE TO HEAR SUCH UNBELIEVABLE ENVIABLE REMARKS ABOUT ...

There is nothing to steal from here. We don't have our credit cards here. You have stolen Nigeria. There is nothing left. No one will believe you of you Central Bank of Nigeria money thing. No one will believe in this forum t ...

• Caroline 10 years ago

Why wont you remove the speck in your own eyes before removing someone's.Becareful you truly know what you are saying.I guess you will never die.

• Kwadzo 10 years ago

stupid fool remain alive forever bastard. those 40 shoe shine boys from your village who were killed in gambia are they also faudsters. was he the only person who was killed in the attack. a son of a harlot, bastard.

• Ativor 10 years ago

When your leaders were spraying bullets on Akans, by that time, you did not realize that you too will die. There you are. Your evils are following you. Keep quiet and take it.

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

You these dzimakplas with no shred of good breeding and no shame must be told in no uncertain terms that your vile insults cannot wipe away the greatness of what Awoonor has achieved in life. In death, he shall be vindicated ...

• laryea 10 years ago

bro andy it was your folks behind Osagyefos demise and history points to ewes pechant for coup but now you lie bad our eyes open waa so dont try

• Abongo 10 years ago

And when it comes what can you do. I bet you will be looking for a place to hide

• Houdini 10 years ago

You are an old idiot. Awonoor and you filthy smelly trokosi pigs are not worth anybody's time and you trokosi child molesters and sexual deviates will continue to languish at the bottom of the tribal totem pole and continue ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

Remember he is not going to be buried with a human head

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Why are Ewes so inward-looking? This dude called Andy-K is extremely incensed by this Awoonor bashing and has now taken it very personal. If there is one thing I admire about Ewes, it is their unflinching support for their ha ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

failures in life are like crabs in a bucket trying to bring every one down. Go and teach at Stanford University and get a PHD. Write books and poets so that you can get known Stop being envious and jealous. Thou failure

Hehehehe, Kojo T., I don't teach at Stanford University or write books and poets but I am well known around the world thanks to Ghanaweb. I am also very popular in Ghana and quite self-sufficient so I don't need to be envious ...

LOOK AT THIS ASSHANTI BASTARD AND DEMENTED ANIMAL OSEI TAWIAH, CALLING HIMSELF A 'LEECH' A LOW LEVEL PARASITE FOR THAT MATTER. NEED I SAY MORE?

• PETER 10 years ago

KOKOFU BALL INDEED

• ... ... ... 10 years ago

You tribalist. You are after all not educated. Foolish pretender, think Ghana first and stop being like awoonor. Of all his education and what have you, he was tribalist. What good is being a tribalist, Andy?

• Paa KWESSI IN THE BRONX 10 years ago

You Akim Homosexuals can continue pouring your insult on the late statesman Kofi Awoonor. But one thing is clear, you will continue using baby diapers to contain the flows from your anus and will never be laid to rest in Ghan ...

• Guy Willison Bummerfly 10 years ago

AO Efo Kofi!Baba gaa de nwo.Hede nyuie le nutifafa me. Mawu nya nusi mienya o.Medo gbe ne Sister Comfort BROS Ablorde kple Abesa. Efo David Mawu ne kplor wo eye woado nuse wo bena nawor megbe dorwo de fo wo la ta.Ama deke meg ...

• GHANA JEW 10 years ago

Wicked fraudsters who have taken Ghana for a ride will face the same fate as Kofi Awoonor and Atta Mills! John Mahama watch out or bring Woyome's money!

• fobia 10 years ago

IDIOT WHAT ABOUT ALIU MAHAMAH? FOR ONCE CAN NPP FOLLOWERS THINK STRAIGHT? AHI HATE THIS COUNTRY

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Messiah will live forever. So your family members who died were all wicked . What a shallow minded buffoon?

• ASEMPA NEYE 10 years ago

To those of your generation who don't know, this man lived by the sword and therefore died by the sword! he was full of hatred in his heart for Ashantis and Akans in general and together with the rest of the Dzulakofe mafia ( ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

So you are just as much a tribalist as kofi . Show you are not

My relatives are EWES by marriage. my best friends are good EWES. I dont hate EWES like Awoonor Williams hated Akans. My good friend is former MP for Norh Tong who worked with me in Chicag
    After all he has demanded that STRA ...

• MC, London 10 years ago

..... and all the kookoase people like this afuom messaiah will perish in their mental servitude.

• lincoln owusu ansah 10 years ago

Infact this noble man of ours should be emulated with his selfless hardworking and generous in his lifetime. advance preparation as the bible said to met your creator is important and everyone should prepare towards it.

• KOFI PAPABI 10 years ago

YEAH RIGHT! THIS FOOLISH EWE TRIBALIST DIED THE SAME VIOLENT MANNER HE PRESCRIBED FOR OTHER AKANS. ..MAY ALMIGHTY GOD OF OUR FATHERS. ..NOT THE TROKOSI OF THE EWES. ..PUNISH THIS FOOL'S SOUL. HE TOGETHER WITH THE TSIKATAS HEL ...

• GHANA JEW 10 years ago

YEAH RIGHT! THIS FOOLISH EWE TRIBALIST DIED THE SAME VIOLENT MANNER HE PRESCRIBED FOR OTHER AKANS. ..MAY ALMIGHTY GOD OF OUR FATHERS. ..NOT THE TROKOSI OF THE EWES. ..PUNISH THIS FOOL'S SOUL. HE TOGETHER WITH THE TSIKATAS HEL ...

• lincoln owusu ansah 10 years ago

i believe this idea should be taken by everyone to curtail the habit of family member who fights with the deceased families over final funeral rites of their beloved ones

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Rather burial no mre cremation as said
    before in papers? OK.FINE.

• Wisdom 10 years ago

Please make sure you bury TROKOSI with him. All through his life he forced Ewes to believe TROKOSI was good for them. Trokosi is primitive, barbaric, prehistoric and uncivilised and is practised by Ewes only.

Ewes are fore ...

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

GO N DONT COME BACK...

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

PPL, WAT IS TROKOSI? WAT DOES IT MEAN?

• Charlie 10 years ago

Go and ask your ashawo mother, you son of a cheap bitch.

Trokosi is the concept in Ewe tradition where young women below the age of 15 are given to Voodoo Priests to rape them regularly till they become adults. It is believed to cleanse all bad omen from the young woman's family an ...

• Sulamana 10 years ago

It is a traditional system where families "donate" young girls to fetish priests for a variety of reasons- debts, perceived breaking of taboos etc just to appease the gods. It is an explotative system where the girls are cont ...

• Augustus 10 years ago

Very well!No one wished him that untimely death but the evil that men do,lives before them. This OLD CARGO didn't like THE GREAT ASANTES.'Wo be dikan wo asamdo'

• ODADA 10 years ago

AND SO WHAT? KOFI AWOONOR DEAD OR ALIVE IS A GREAT MAN. AND YOU?

• DR. KWABENA ASANTE 10 years ago

Ei, Professor Ata Mills wrote about his impending death and died few days afterwards. Professor Awoonor also wrote about his impending death and died two months later. Who is next? Asem Beba dabi!

• GHANA JEW 10 years ago

they DIG 9 HOLES SO REMAINING 8 Ei, Professor Ata Mills wrote about his impending death and died few days afterwards. Professor Awoonor also wrote about his impending death and died two months later. Who is next? Asem Beba da ...

• Blackman 10 years ago

I hope Professor Kofi Awoonor's death must be a lesson to those who have bad attributes in their DNA for preaching hatred and jealousy to the EWES to hate the Ashantis. At least he got the taste of his own wicked medicine for ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Why do Asantes always say they are hated? What is special about them? Afterall they die like every one else

HE STOOD BESIDE RAWLINGS AND SAID THAT THE AIM OF THE REVOLUTION WAS TO TAKE AWAY AKANS INFLUENSE IN GHANA ESPECIALLY THE ASHANTIS HE GREATLY REJOYCED WHEN RAWLINGS SLAUGHTERED TWO HEADS OF STATES AND SENIOR MILITARY OFFICIAL ...

• ASANTE 10 years ago

MESSAIAH YOU ARE THE MOST FOOLISH PERSON IN THE WORLD. GOD THE ALMIGHTY WILL PAY YOU BACK.

• MESSAIAH 10 years ago

LIKEWISE ASANTE.THE EVIL THAT MEN'S DO WILL ALWAYS FELLOW THEM.GOD IS GREAT

• ASANTE 10 years ago

Augustus your comment is very bad it is all because of the way you behave you think you leave in an island.Foolish man from foolish.

• malam salifu 10 years ago

NDC blood suckers are going to leak the professors death like a Lalipop. They are gearing up to milk it for all it's worth.

• Elite Ewe - USA 10 years ago

And NPP has already suck the blood of nana ado.

• Kofi K, London 10 years ago

I thought the Prof. was said to have indicated in his will that no strangers should be allowed to view his body.So why a public lie-in-state? Or will the public be biometrically verified to ensure only non-strangers view the ...

• GEORGE BEE 10 years ago

Messaiah, who are the wicked fraudsters who have taken Ghana for a ride? Why are you so cruel that you are excited just because an NDC man has died. "Fraudsters" plenty in NPP because if they want money they get it waa, waaa ...

• amandze ba 10 years ago

pres mahama, how do you handle this. now is the time. one of our own has been killed by terrorists who said they targeted non muslims. Ghana must retaliate.

• laryea 10 years ago

He died like he preached to his people. Remember June 4 1979 when he together with JJ and tsikata made the Akan hit list. More of these evil guys to follow heheheeee

• ODADA 10 years ago

YOU WERE BORN BY A KALABULE WOMAN, AND THE REVOLUTION MADE YOU A GHANAIAN. THINK TWICE.

HE STOOD BESIDE RAWLINGS AND SAID THAT THE AIM OF THE REVOLUTION WAS TO TAKE AWAY AKANS INFLUENSE IN GHANA ESPECIALLY THE ASHANTIS HE GREATELY REJOYCED WHEN RAWLINGS SLAUGHTERED TWO HEADS OF STATES AND SENIOR MILITARY OFFICIA ...

• Lizzy 10 years ago

Because you and your primitive tribal dogs had also preached tribalism behind the web for so long. The same fate you will meet soon.

• Caroline 10 years ago

Am surprised people can write such comments about the dead.Death is every man's journey, whether wicked or good.Prof, you have made your part in this life.Ba ba nawe.Hede nyuie.

• lydia usa 10 years ago

may his soul rip

• Kofi Ablorde 10 years ago

I am feeling great everyday and proud to be an AYIGBE/EWE man. When I read negative comments and insults packaged as a tribute to our Honourable Prof Awoonor,it pierced my heart. But my fellow Nye Bros and Nye Sis,do not stoo ...

• Elite Ewe - USA 10 years ago

Nye brother, akpenawo daaa!

• laryea 10 years ago

IAM PROUD TO BE GHANAIAN SO FUCK OFF WITH YOUR INWARDLOOKING TRAIT

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Eh! Ghanafo!

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

WHEN THE RONALD REGAN'S IMMIGRATION ACT WAS PASSED IN 1986.
    MANY GHANAIAN'S DID NOT HAVE PROPER DOCUMENTS TO PROCESS THEIR CASES AND MANY OF THEIR CASES WERE DELAYED.
    AS SOON AS DR AWOONOR WILLIAMS CAME TO THE UN IN 1990,HE ...

• Solomon Dormenyo Quist 10 years ago

And where are those non-Ewes who benefited from his benevolence. This is the time they must acknowledge without reservations his good deeds to show those of their ethnicity baying for the rigor mortised 'blood' of the deceas ...

• Akosua 10 years ago

Well I guess he was not all bad, huh. I am glad he was able to do some good.

MR CHARLES SIRIBOE AN ASHANTI AND MR KOFI AN EWE WHO WERE SECURITY OFFICERS AT THE THE GHANA PERMANENT MISSION TO THE UN IN NEW YORK WILL PROVE THAT HE HELPED MANY GHANAIANS.
    AS PEOPLE ARE LYING THAT HE WAS A HATER OF AKAN ...

• abdul rashid fato 10 years ago

LET THE SUPREME COURT GIVE ITS VERDIT ON HIS DEATH AND YOU WILL AGREE THAT HE WAS BIOMETRICALLY VERIFIED BY THE AL SHABAB GUYS. SO ALL THESE INWARD-LOOKING EVES SHALL DIE ONE BY ONE. HE WAS PLANNING TO GET SOMEONE CONTEST JM. ...

• YAW AGBENYAGA ADAMU 10 years ago

IS IT TRUE THIS MAN IS THE FACE OF EVIL AND FULLY SUPPORTED TROKOSI? HMMMMMMMM, I SEE. WHICH OF MY EYES DO I USE TO SHED TEARS FOR HIM?

• Stop the lies 10 years ago

"It has been established that the late Professor Kofi Awoonor, one of the world's greatest writers and poet..."

Why are most Ghanaians full of shit? Why the constant attempt to bloat the guy's literary work. Prof. Awoonor ...

• Danso TDOT 10 years ago

"It has been established that the late Professor Kofi Awoonor, one of the world's greatest writers and poet..."

Why are most Ghanaians full of shit? Why the constant attempt to bloat the guy's literary work. Prof. Awoonor ...

• KB 10 years ago

tdot,if you want to determine for yourself how great Kofi Awoonor was as a literary writer, read his works and read the works of the so acclaimed notable writers.Then make comparisons and then judge for yourself!The fact tha ...

• JACOB 10 years ago

AS AWOONOR GOES HOME

• SAMMY 10 years ago

MAN EMERGED FROM NATURE JUST LIKE SEAS, TREES, STARS ETC NOBODY CREATED ANYBODY. THE CONCEPT THAT WE WERE CREATED BY SOMEBODY HAS BEES USED TO TAME US INTO SUBMISSION.

• AME 10 years ago

Sammy, do not talk about things you do not know about. God Almighty, the supreme being created all things.Take it or leave it., but remember, one day you will stand before Him to answer for these same words.The nature you ar ...

• paa solo 10 years ago

May his soul rest in perfect peace

• Wallance 10 years ago

that will go against the wishes of the prof. who prefers a private funeral and strangers not see his body

• BECKY ARTHUR, KUMASI, 0243321405 10 years ago

EVEN THOUGH I NEVER MEET THE MAN. HE APPEAR TO BE A KIND AND GENEROUS MAN. I AM CERTAIN THAT HE LEFT BEHIND SOME RELATIVE OR NON RELATIVE HE WAS SUPPORTING IN DIVERS KIND OF WAYS. THERE WILL BE SOME OF THESE PEOPLE WHO MAY BE ...

THANK YOU BECKY.I KNOW THIS MAN IN NEW YORK AND HE USED HIS INFLUENCE TO MAKE SURE THAT ILLEGAL GHANAIAN'S WHO HAD NO LEGAL PAPERS USE THEIR TRAVELLING CERTIFICATE TO ACQUIRE THEIR GREEN CARDS. MOST OF THEM WERE AKANS.

I hope Professor Kofi Awoonor's death must be a lesson to those who have bad attributes in their DNA for preaching hatred and jealousy to the EWES to hate the Ashantis. At least he got the taste of his own wicked medicine for ...

• BUSINESS DEVELOPER 10 years ago

I am sad and do sympathise with the death of Professor Awonor but dont think he must be taken to the state house for the funeral because former president and vice like Dr Limann and vice president Ackaah were never laid in s ...

• Azure 10 years ago

Who cares if he wrote the constitution of Ghana?

• adzaglo wisdom 10 years ago

rest in peace...

• Robert, Lagos, Nigeria 10 years ago

REST IN PERFECT PEACE,OH GOD! "PROF, YOU JUST GOT TO THE WRONG PLACE AT THE WRONG TIME"BUT YOU WILL SURELY LIVE FOREVER!

• PP 10 years ago

THAT EWE BIGOT IS DEAD EH!!!

• THE ETERNAL PRINCE 10 years ago

I TOLD YOU SO. I TOLD YOU THAT KOFI AWONOOR WILLIAMS WAS STEEP DEEP IN THE BLACK ARTS. ONCE AGAIN I AM WARNING PRESIDENT MAHAMA TO BE CAREFUL. HE SHOULD PICK HIS STEPS SHOULD HE DECIDE TO ATTEND THE FUNERAL. SOMEONE WILL BE W ...

• Tiffiny Ablorh 10 years ago

The bullet ridden corpse of the wicked one has arrived!! Good news for all freedom loving Ghanaians!!