You are here: HomeNews2013 09 25Article 286897

Awoonor's remains arrive in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (137)

• KOFI PAPABI 10 years ago

GOD PUNISH THIS FOOLISH EWE TRIBALIST...WHO PRESCRIBED VIOLENT DEATHS FOR ACHEAMPONG AND OTHER AKANS. NEXT WILL BE TSIKATA...

• Prophet 10 years ago

Disagree or challeneg the the bigots and become their enemies for life. They will pass it onto generations after generations. The Rawlings revolution only gave them the platform to do what they had always wanted to do. Long b ...

• PHILTY McNASTY 10 years ago

Why bring that hateful tribalistic home? Did anybody bring BB Bismack home? The tribal bigot who provided the hatred ideology and justification for the confiscation and destruction of Akan businesses met a deserving end. Alah ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

TELL BOAKYE DJAN.MR DIABA AND PENNY WISE ALL EWE BUSINESSMEN HAD THEIR PROPERTY CONFISCATED TOO.
    WHAT GOES AROUND COMES AROUND.
    ONE DAY PEOPLE WILL NOT SEE YOUR BODY TO BURY YOU.
    YOUR BODY WILL BE IN A DRAIN WITH MAGGOTS P ...

• frank 10 years ago

i wish u the same

• NEMESIS, UK 10 years ago

OMG! I thought these evil Asshantis only hated Nigerians out of ignorance and jealousy for Nigerians' prosperity, but the 'VENOM' being spewed against their fellow citizen Prof Kofi Awonoor, who was murdered by Al-Shebab terr ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 10 years ago

You hate Ashantes for nothing but the time has come for Ashantes to wear their crowns once again. But this man will suffer a lot because of his hatred against Ashantes as you are saying that too.

• Ayanya 10 years ago

That will never happen to McNasty, God forbid.The evil that men do live's after them, if this man had lived a life with no blemishes nobody will be giving this sarcastic comments after his death.It pay's to do good when aliv ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

IN brief, this is just an introduction to what Awoonor wrote against, thereby incurring their wrath up to today. They have vindicated him several times over by their vitriol so far.

Andy-K

THE ETHNIC IMBROGLIO IN GHAN ...

• Ayanya 10 years ago

Awoonor got what he paid for, no tears for Annansi.

• Create, loot and share 10 years ago

Yes you have summed up the feelings of many voiceless people who suffered untold hardships as a result of the yorke-gari revolution which was meant to pull down other peoples mansions so ewes could dominate. It serves him rig ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

Be ready for yours and I can assure you that, more Awonoors are still here. You guys are just lucky that that your idiot Akufo-Addo did not make any wrong move after the election you would have smell the Volta Region. My frie ...

• frank 10 years ago

now i believed what people are saying about we akans we have a lot of fool in our side

• brussels knowlege 10 years ago

I think You are dreaming that you were ready and wicked minded.Wake up and you will see those who have surrounded you. May heaven rest him peacefully.Prof. thanks for your service

• Ayanya 10 years ago

Do you think there are no men in akan regions? You also try the move and you will smell, smell real akan.why didn't the trokosi mafia try during their yorke-gari revolution? Why did they changed their plans to a few selected ...

• frank 10 years ago

fool

• Jingo Bell 10 years ago

Kofi Awoonor does want to be remembered as one of the greatest Ewe tribalist who sought to destroy Akans economic power. I am sure the guy regretted for those comments he made.He wants to go and be forgotten entirely. He does ...

• Ativor 10 years ago

Perhaps Kofi Awoonor ashes is for Trokosi's rituals. The family is going to pacify trokosi gods with these ashes. Who knows.

• Akpaklika Mewua Lo Ode 10 years ago

So you get an appointment from the state and develop only a section of the state, precisely your people. Is that nationalism defined per your dictionary. No wonder GT was sold by the wave of one man's hand.

Kudos Prophet

• Yaw Mensah 10 years ago

Tell that to the trokosi vermins who rejoice in recounting how Afrifa and Acheampong were killed by these trokosis including Awonoor. Now you smelly pigs are tasting your own medicine. The bigots in Ghana are these lazy jealo ...

• Mends, The Lone Ranger. 10 years ago

I wonder who paid for the carcass of this bigot to be brought back to Ghana. It was this bigot who advised the chief murderer- Rawlings to liquidate Asantes including Acheampong, Afrifa, Airforce Marshall Yaw Boakye and many ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

It was your kortibotor father. You havent seen anything yet

• Ayanya 10 years ago

What can you do? Foko? You have no place and ID in Ghana, you infidels and what these extremists are fighting against are infidels.tweeeeeaaaa cowards like you.When Agbeko Kingkong was beating look at how he looked like, he e ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

Kotibortor shut up, wu hu bon

EWES DONT LOVE THEMSELVES.PEOPLE SEE TINTED WINDOWS AND THINK THAT EWES LOVE THEMSELVES.
    IF EWES LOVE THEMSELVES,THEY WOULD HAVE TAKEN CARE OF THEIR NEPHEWS LIKE OTHER TRIBES DO.
    DR AWOONOR WILLIAMS UNCLE WHO WAS THE FORMER ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Akuapems hooted at Gen. Akufo! Stop this Ewerized nonsense!

• I & I 10 years ago

Not only the Akuapims but a time came when Acheampong couldn't go to Kumasi, for his own People loathed him for messing up the country. And to clarify, Acheampong did not overthrow Busia's Government. It was Agbo and Serlomy ...

I AM HALF EWE AND HALF AKAN.
    WHEN A WOMAN FROM GOMOA WAS PLAYING WITH MY MOUSE,I SAID MEVA,MEVA{EWE COME]
    AND MEBA,MEBA{AKAN]SHE SMILED AND SAID ITS THE SAME THING LIKE BANKU AND AKPLE,THEY ALL COME FROM CORN.

• Ayanya 10 years ago

Who care's about you?

Boakye Gyan ran away from Ewes anger. Rawlings wanted to kill Boakye Gyan. Rawlings did not get Boakye Gyan, and Rawling vent his anger on Kyereme Gyan. How could a mere Ghanaian student plan to overthrow a military governmen ...

• Prophet 10 years ago

You love to glorify yourself, have you forgotten those killed in all the revolutions starting from the time Nkrumah was overthrown till Rawlings emerged on the scene?

Do you want to tell us that there were no lives lost t ...

Prophet, just continue to fabricate to justify Ewes atrocities against Akans. Read my post very well. I said that there are more Ewes living in Akan areas than Ewes in Volta Region. The Akans have perfect relationship with th ...

• ABINAPODOI 10 years ago

master forget about these idiot and selfish ewes, we will wipe them out in no time should they make any attempt. Dont talk peace with them becos they are the most inferior tribe and have nothing to boast of in their region. ...

Was in same University with Kyereme Gjan. on several occasiions, we tried to warn him to desist from his dangerous utterances. He never listened.

When Schools were closed down as a result of unruly leadership roles by Henr ...

Do you kill a student for his freedom of speech? If that is the case, Rawlings would have been killed by Kuffour and Atta Mills administrations for his unrespected and unrepentant speeches during these two administration. The ...

RAWLINGS AND TSHIKATA'S WIFE ARE AKANS SO YOU ARE A BIGOT YOURSELF.
    AWOONOR DON'T WANT STRANGERS LIKE YOU IN HIS FUNERAL SO HE DOES NOT GIVE A DAMN WHETHER AKANS OR EWE BIGOTS LIKE YOU COME TO HIS FUNERAL WITH YOUR SORRY ASS ...

I don't even have time to waste on this Ewe bigot's funeral. We are at home reflecting on what these Ewes have done to us. All what we say always is that we give it to God. Natural justice for Ewes injustices against Akans wi ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

You are fools to make a nephew inherit you leaving your own children. Are you not ashamed to say this. You are not sercumsised so you can not think right

• frank 10 years ago

prophet of shit

• tony 10 years ago

I am pretty sure you are one those blakies descendants from the Gorillas of Ashanti deep forests. This is the reason we, proud Ewe (hanson & beautiful with fair skin)hate you akans & ashantis: we have decided not to you Ashan ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

I expect the security agencies to provide some do's and don'ts in "hot spots" like Kenya etc. to such prominent people during their travels.

The lesson learned from this is that no one is immune to such senseless violence ...

• yaa fremah 10 years ago

why so much noise and state publicity about prof Awoonor? even our late vice president Alhaji Aliu Mahama didnt get dis state recognition and why Prof Atta Mills funeral cloth worn during the arrival of Awoonor?

Eii politi ...

• am pee 10 years ago

this is crazy. ghanaians should think about something better.

• ASEMPA NEYE 10 years ago

THE LAW OF KARMA.
    HE ENJOYED THE SLAUGHTERING OF FORMER HEAD OF STATES AND SENIOR MILITARY OFFICERS ALL EXCEPT ONE EWE
    HE EVEN THOUGHT AND COUNTED AMEDUME AS AN EWE

• Koforidua Flowers (fr) 10 years ago

When IS a written WILL of a deseased person read? The composition of the Team that MET and received the mortal remains of the late Kofi from Kenya was interesting including koku anyidoho.Kofi knew what he was about and theref ...

• Kabaka 10 years ago

Farew these well Kofi

• Abongo 10 years ago

Let us read about your biography. Your biography is all about eating rat shit soup with fufu.

• Ayanya 10 years ago

Who need's this useless biography? After all he is dead, he never thought of death but now he is going to face(1) Dr.Nkrumah, (2) Gen.Acheampong (3) Gen.Akufo (3) Gen.Afrifa, (4) Gen.Odartey Wellington (5) col.Kotei (6) col.F ...

• frank 10 years ago

am also akan but let me tell you . you are very stupib

• NEMESIS, UK 10 years ago

AWONOOR!

My Neutral view:

Why are you people 'GLOATING' at the death of your fellow country man, irrespective of your differences? Do you people, AssShantis knows when you or any of your so-called leaders including your ...

• NIGERIANS ARE PIGS 10 years ago

MADA FUCKER ANIMAL NIGERIAN GET A FUCK; WHY ARE U IN GHANA BECAUSE UR USELESS NATION IS UNDER FIRE FOOL:

• Concerned 10 years ago

Your point about never gloating is a very important one. We should all express sympathy to the bereaved family.
    However, Kofi Papabi's point about this man prescribing death for other leaders cannot be condemned totally as ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

1979mwas a military affair. You guys mix up events especially when you are emotional

• Abuja 10 years ago

Thank you Memesis. These Ashanti tribalist, who thinks they are more Ghanaians than other, they will die by fire in their homes.

SHAME ON YOU. AWOONOR IS GOING STRAIT TO HELL FOR HIS PART IN THE JUNE 4TH REVOLUTION

A MASTERMIND IN THE JUNE 4TH REVOLUTION.
    THIS IS THE LAW OF KARMA WORKING

• Ken Mensah 10 years ago

Welcome home, 'Danyevi"..

• SON OF JESUS 10 years ago

THE WICKED SHALL PERISH BITTERLY

• ibm 10 years ago

I never thought dis man will go dat way. My dad nd I went 2him in 1998{he was a Presidential aide] at his house 2help me get a job. what came out of him, nd I quote 'u can take a horse to 2d river, but you can't force it to d ...

• NII 10 years ago

when Socrates was asked how he wanted his body disposed after his death, his response was "I don't care how you disposed of the my body because I will not be there". Congratulations on your becoming a British citizen but if 1 ...

• boateng, NPP, Italy 10 years ago

Great man, welcome home damirifa due, may the good lord keep you safely.

• J.ZAGURU. 10 years ago

As one Liberian friend said, GHANAIANS BEHAVE LIKE UNCIVILISE FOOLS by their utterances(Nigerians are in a class of their own). Referring to ALL GHANAIANS BE THEY Gas, Ashantis,Ewes, Dagartis, Fantis, Brongs, Akuapims, Akims, ...

• Ayanya 10 years ago

Who cares about your adopted name.why do ewes like the akan name Boateng? Is there any unique in it?

• ASANTE 10 years ago

KOFI PAPABI YOU ARE A FOOL YOU WILL BE NEXT.

• MAHAMA 10 years ago

AND U WON;T U DIE TOO ASS HOLE:

• Kofi K, London 10 years ago

Why do you find it convenient to exclude his book "The Ghana Revolution" (1984) from his list of publications?
    Because it highlights his factionalist character.

• AHMED JACOB 10 years ago

Dzogbese Lisa has treated me thus

It has led me among the sharps of the forest

Returning is not possible

And going forward is a great difficulty

The affairs of this world are like the chameleon faeces

Into whic ...

You write such poems and you do EVIL???? You are definitely not a statesman!!!!

"Let those gone before take note

They have treated their offspring badly.

What is the wailing for?"

This is what Awoonor wrote in one of his poems

• PDCMAN 10 years ago

Kofi Awoonor lived a life full of hate and intolerance against the Akan people and Asante in particular to the extent that he together with Rawlings used state machinery and power to victimise the people of Asante and mounted ...

• Maame Grace. 10 years ago

But then his wife is an Ashanti which means he has Ashante children. So why could he hate Ashantes that much, even the son that was with him is an Ashante.

• . ...... 10 years ago

AN EPILEPTIC WOMAN WHO CANNOT FIND À HUSBAND ALWAYS MARRY SOMEONE LIKE KOFI AWOONOR SHOW ME NORMAL ASHANTI
    WOMAN WITH # 9 HUSBAND NONE.

• Vicky 10 years ago

The normal ones are prostitues in Ivory Coast. One of the epilectics married JJ.

• JK 10 years ago

Only fools talk anyhow cos they must say something.As 4 a wiseman his words are expensive cos not everyone can say same, even so by quoting. PROF. RIP

• Ayanya 10 years ago

Your women are more than them and one begat JJ Rawlings.I know a host of them who are being used by Ashantimen in the USA they feel proud to move with them, and a host of ewemen being jilted by Ashanti ladies.Kwasia.

• . ...... 10 years ago

KOFI AWOONOR FUI/TSATSU TSIKATA,AKRASI SARPONG THESE ANIMALS HEADED AWONAFOR KANGALOO PUBLIC TRABUNAL THAT MURDERED GHANAIANS.HE WILL ROT IN HELL OF FIRE.À MAN WHO TAKES GUN ALWAYS DIE WITH GUN

• Kofi Kofi 10 years ago

You a spot-on, my brother.

DR Awoonor Williams was not arrested for helping Rawlings in 1975.
    He was arrested for helping Brigadier Kattah.Rawling did not come to the scene till 1979.

• yaaahooloo 10 years ago

Why hate this man so much when non of those writing ill about him do not really know him. Kofi Awoonor never help j.j . his man was a very nice and principle man like any ewe father,those of you who do not know him should che ...

WHEN PRINCESS DIANNA DIED IN A TERRIBLE ACIDENT,THE BRITISH DID NOT WRITE GARBAGE ABOUT HIM.

CORRECTION.
    THE BRITISH DID NOT WRITE GABBAGE ABOUT HER.THE WORST OF ALL SOME PEOPLE SAID WHEN HE WAS IN THE UNIVERSITY OF GHANA HE DID NOT OFFER AKANS ADMISSION TO THE COLLEGE.
    ITS ABIG LIE BECAUSE DR AWOONOR WILLIAMS BROT ...

• Ayanya 10 years ago

Is Kofi Awoonor a prince of Ghana? Don't compare this man to lady Dianah who was loved by all in the world, each one of us will be judged by our actions on earth.what is written on earth is written in heaven so if people say ...

• ABU 10 years ago

The one man one machete planned coup of Tsikata during the Kutu Acheampong's military regime figuring one Gbagblaja,i could vividly recall.

• Kojo T 10 years ago

They are ignorant and make statements as gospel facts .

• Kodjo 10 years ago

I wonder how many of you ignoramuses commenting on Prof. Awoonor's work have ACTUALLY read any of them? Please read them before making any judgement on the man's character. I am an Akan, not an Asante, but I cannot deny the s ...

THE BIGOTS WROTE MANY LIES ABOUT THE PROFESSOR.SOME PEOPLE SAID WHEN HE WAS AT THE UNIVERSITY OF GHANA,HE DID NOT ALLOW AKANS TO ATTEND THE SCHOOL.
    IF HE HAD THAT INFLUENCE,HIS BROTHER WOULD NOT HAVE GONE TO MEDICAL SCHOOL I ...

• kobee 10 years ago

may ur soul rest in perfect peace

• Ofei Nimpong 10 years ago

If Kofi Awoonor had apologised for his distasteful and divisive statements in his book, I would have doffed my hat to him. His philosophy was repugnant.

But he was UNREPENTANT

HE was arrogant

He was full of impunity

• Tettey 10 years ago

True Ghana has not lost anything valuable

• Kaya 10 years ago

I agree with you. He did not help uniting Akans and our brothers and sisters from the Volta Region. However, let God judge him as we all have our short comings.

Why should he apologise for your wrongful accusation?

• ...... 10 years ago

WITHOUT ANY REASON.UTUKA WAS MURDERED FOR WHAT REASON?DOGS GO REASON.

• ASEM BEBADEBI 10 years ago

suprisingly demons have began politicising and tribalising prof awoonor`s death.the devil is a liar.on behalf of peace loving ghanaians i wish the wife and the family members well.may GOD be with them throughout this had time ...

• ASEM BEBADEBI 10 years ago

suprisingly demons have began politicising and tribalising prof awoonor`s death.the devil is a liar.on behalf of peace loving ghanaians i wish the wife and the family members well.may GOD be with them throughout this had time ...

• Emmanuel Quaye 10 years ago

He was arrested in conection with an allegation that he was trying to assist Brig.A.K.Kattah not Rawlings.Check your history.

• Baby 10 years ago

NDC

• Nana C 10 years ago

According to this publication, Prof. wrote in his Will that his remains must not be viewed by strangers. Who are the strangers our dear Prof. is referring to?

• NOKWARE YE DE 10 years ago

Of course, Asantes (Akans).

• Akon 10 years ago

That no strangers be made to see his Body??? who are the strangers?

Hasn't that wish been violated already by the Kenyans who handled him when he got shot?

Don't wish for what you have no control of.

RIP Prof.

• Create, loot and share 10 years ago

Still a tribal bigot even in death. Do we have strangers in Ghana. His doors are still closed to non-ewes.

• Nana C 10 years ago

Per the poet’s wishes, as contained in his will, his body is not to be seen by strangers.

Who are these strangers?

A TOGOLESE BY BIRTH HE STOOD AT THE SIDE OF RAWLINGS AND SAID THAT THE MISSION OF THE REVOLUTION WAS TO TAKE AWAY AKAN INFLUENCE IN GHANA ESPECIALLY THE ASHANTIS.
    IN HIS BOOK HE SAID THAT HE IS AND EWE FIEST BEFORE BEING A G ...

• alajo man 10 years ago

yes this is why we love him and your father will not get this love till he die, your father is a BIG fool and born you to be a fool so you are

THE WAGES OF SIN IS DEATH AND THE LAW OF KARMA IS SURELY TRUE.
    AWOONOE THE SONE OF A TOGOLESE WAS REJOICING WHEN JJ AND AND HES HENCHMEN WERE MURDERING FULL BLOOD GHANAINS
    OTHERS WILL FOLLOW

• Kofi Kofi 10 years ago

A popular saying in Nigeria says: 'Good Riddance to Bad Rubbish'

• mr Tina 10 years ago

Dont just open your mouth and give any comment that comes into your mind. Tribalism will not takes us anywhere. Insults are not democracy but it is only fools who sees insult as freedom of speech.

• Edem 10 years ago

Ghana has lost a great man.our condolence to the family and the whole nation.

• jerry John Brown 10 years ago

Mr Tina, well said. ghana need people like you.

• Kofi Kofi 10 years ago

Your grammar is not good

• Tsintsinbir 10 years ago

What about the book on Ewe Hegemony in Ghana? Inciting Ewes to take over and rule Ghana because they have been supposedly sidelined for far too long. Why are people afraid to metion that book?

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

It happens that his body is dismembered. We can understand that:

"Per the poet’s wishes, as contained in his will, his body is not to be seen by strangers."

• Tom 10 years ago

A good statesman, as he claims, will not state this in his will. This statement should throw more light to the hidden inner character of this man.Who are the strangers and why would you not allow them see you if you had done ...

MANY EWES AND AKANS ARE STRANGERS THAT CANNOT SEE THE BODY.

Mr. Akadu was a 100year old man with Alzheimer's who lived in a nursing home. One day he came out of his room, tracked down the nearest nurse, and said, "My penis ...

MR AKADU I AM SORRY TO USE YOUR NAME BUT
    USED MR JONES INSTEAD.

• .com 10 years ago

Really, is all this necessary, all this insulting May his soul rest in perfect peace my heart goes out to his family

• Koforidua Flowers (fr) 10 years ago

WELCOME KOFI, FAREWELL AWOONOR AND REST IN PEACE PROF.

• ZIBLIM AMINU 10 years ago

MAY HIM REST IN PEACE

• NOKWARE YE DE 10 years ago

Surely, Kofi did not want any Asantes to see his dead body. Such a sight would have given his arch enemies to recount what is recorded in Isaiah 14 about the fate of Lucifer. Even in death Kofi was unrepentant. However, Ko ...

• The Life he led 10 years ago

This man preached and practiced hatred, violence, tribalism and ethnocentricity on innocent Akans. He is the leader of the intellectual wing of the PNDC and NDC violent atrocities on GFhanaians. He dfied like an unloved dog, ...

• Kojo Akortiah 10 years ago

Prof.Awoonor was not arrested for helping Rawlings,He was arrested for assiting Brigadier Kattah escape arrest.

Thanks, you have good memory too.

• Atta Owusu Dacostah 10 years ago

Infact ghana has last a great man the vacuum is unreplaceble

• Atta Owusu Dacostah 10 years ago

Infact ghana has last a great man the vacuum is unreplaceble

• Kwesi Mends, Takoradi 10 years ago

Wrong info.

Thanks Kwesi, I have tried to correct that misinformation too.

• shaki 10 years ago

instead of eating keta school boys safely in ghana he was eating al khebab in kenya hmmmmm this earth my brother indeed

Prof Awoonor was not arrested in connection with the Rawlings' coup attempt. He was arrested after driving Briadier Kattah to Aflao to escpae trial for his part in the "amedeku amedeka" coup attempt. He was also not imprisone ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

We like distorting facts too much these days. The story has a lot of errors! They should have done their research and come out with facts! Our media is laden with lazy journalists!

• Lamaz 10 years ago

I hope the late Professor did not try to take on those terrorists on or perhaps try to talk them out of their evil actions,'cos I really wonder why.

• Isaac Osei Kwame 10 years ago

Don't give too much of your love to me beacause I am bird! : By Pro. Kofi Awoono. A script that I read from the man during my secondary schoo days. May his soul rest in Peace

• Frank 10 years ago

Rest in Peace, Rest in Peace.

• Benjamin Adam 10 years ago

Prof, may the Lord comfort your family.

Am short of words.

What a great lost to the World.

• ONLY GOD KNOWS 10 years ago

tribalism and hatred is to much in Ghana .CAN THEY STAND IN TEST OF TIME?

• OTAFIRGYA KOJO WEST 10 years ago

POINT OF CORRECTION.PROF.KOFI AWOONOR WAS CHARGED,TRIED AND FOUND GUILTY DURING GEN.I.K ACHEMPONG REGIME FOR ALLEGEDLY HELPING A FUGITIVE BRIGADIER KATTAH FROM LAWFUL ARREST.HE ACTED AS CHAFFEUR WHO FERRIED KATTAH ACROSS THE ...

• Yiranzor sebastian YINIMME 10 years ago

May the Almighty God have mercy on his
    soul and grant him a place in His heavenly kingdom

• Eli Greg Avickson 10 years ago

At last the former chairman of state followed his boss the peace maker(prof. mills). Ghana will forever remain resolute for your herioric death. His legendary will contunue in the memory of the international community.
    may h ...

• Obiara Be ko 10 years ago

Was he a nobleman who cared about the ordinary Ghanaians? Or was he one of the authoritarians, looters, self-fish Ghanaian politicians or an opportunist? Was he all about I am in charge all around Ghana since Rawlings militar ...