You are here: HomeNews2013 09 24Article 286799

Awoonor's funeral: No public viewing of remains - Family

Read Comments Comments (105)

• I & I 10 years ago

Kofi Awonoor William's death should be Celebrated by all Akans, none Tribalist, and all Fair Minded Ghanaian. For it is said that those who live by the Sword die by the Sword. This was a guy who orchestrated the 1981 Coup tha ...

• Meet me anywhere!!!! 10 years ago

Why don't you reveal your self!!

• NEMESIS, UK 10 years ago

OMG! I thought these evil Asshantis only hated Nigerians out of ignorance and jealousy Nigerians' prosperity, but the 'VENOM' being spewed against their fellow citizen Prof Kofi Awonoor, who was murdered by Al-Shebab terroris ...

• Nana Kwame (The Hague) 10 years ago

I DON'T THINK ASHANTIS HATE THE EWES AS THE EWES HAVE ACCEPTED IT IN FAITH. WOE BETHIDE THE PERSON WHO IS INSIGHTING THIS ACT OF VILIFICATION. WE ALL MOURN THE UNTIMELY DEATH OF THE PROF. MY CONDOLENSES TO THE FAMILY. TRIBALI ...

• blueprint 10 years ago

That is how God punish tribal bigots....he will rot in hell with likes of hitler

• Hexagon, USA!!! 10 years ago

Only fools are here denigrating the Dead. Do you know what is in store for you/tribe/country tomorrow? You illiterates showering your ignorance onto a learned, I wonder!!

• Ayanya 10 years ago

You are a foooooool but I don't think you are a proper northerner, these trokosis are desperate to say and do anything to please themselves because there are no tears from any where apart from themselves.

• AMA 10 years ago

You think this type of death might befall certain Akans? I bet you know which ones. Just don't be stupid and ignorant.

• Dont be 10 years ago

Dont be surprised Naija man, that is how they are, The Rawlings revolution only gave them a platform to do what they love to do best...tribalism!

• okofo 10 years ago

You meant Rawkings' COUP?

• Jingo Bell 10 years ago

He will remembered by all as a great Ewe tribalist who sought to destroy Asantis and Akans as a whole economic power. He hated Akans so much that he came home during Ewes satanic revolution just to destroy Asantis economic po ...

• Akpaklika Mewua Lo Ode 10 years ago

If you do not appreciate his works so be it. Let those who appreciate the late Prof. mourn him.

The people of Wheta are well endowed enough to foot his funeral bill. Fortunately, they do not idolise death like you do in y ...

That is the point. Didn't Ewe cream of society laugh when they spray bullets to those Akans they murdered. The point is he has met the same death he sought for Akans they killed.

Do you have any proof that he supported any action to kill any one at the firing squad?

This is pure speculation. Most of what he wrote in the books were taken out of context.

• KOOMSON 10 years ago

GOD PUNISH HIM AGAIN

• Uncle Mends, Takoradi 10 years ago

Sorry, you can't employ God to do your dirty work and wishes.

• Aka-eri Alice 10 years ago

Poor you Koomson, i know nothing about what you are saying but it's a pity and may Jehovah have mercy on you. You are the people that keep the Country boiling and innocent people suffer for no wrong. If Prof should suffer the ...

During Kofi Awonor life on earth here, he showed something to Akans that he hated them. Other than that, Akans wouldn't have written all these nasty stuff about him. Is Kofi Awonor first Ewe to die? No! Why are AKANS heaping ...

• okofo 10 years ago

Na waa O!!

• Paa KWESSI IN THE BRONX 10 years ago

It is now clear, based on the way the Akin mafia is celebrating the death of the reknown statesman, Kofi Awoonor, that the extremist and savage NPP mafia used it's connection within the extremist Al-Shabab group, to murder P ...

• OGA DABIDA yum yum 10 years ago

go to church street of toronto downtown and witness many ewe men and women selling their asses and totos respectively...

I am on the way to Fordham Plaza in the Bronx to take the pictures of Akim Homosexual and post them on this site. The Ewe, Gan, Fante and Northners have some dignity and do not engage in easy money and our Akan and Ashanti me ...

• the truth 10 years ago

I feel sorry for a fool like yourself. Identify yourself coward, you wouldn't say this in any akyem's face fool. foolish idiot, reveal yourself and i will track you down and behead you. I know fordham plaza really well fool ...

I am here, meet me. How else do you want me to identify myself? I was even at one of your funeral events here in the Bronx last 7th. You saw me and ran in the Bronx Zoo like the little elepahnt. The Koforidua dwarf here in NY ...

• Ayanya 10 years ago

Kwasia idiot like you, homeless idiot, how do you earn your living? Kwasia every time you go to the african market for ogoglo and banku, I know most of ewes in N York.You are nothing absolutely nothing but you write shit like ...

• the truth 10 years ago

well stand by the webster bus stop so i can see you clearly fool.

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Show your lack of tribalism . Show it by your works and deeds. Hypocite

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

You stupid dumb illiterate, have you seen my comment here? Do IP address check on the guy and you will realise he is nowhere near USA, you stupid dunderhead.

• BAD MOUTH 10 years ago

Prof, may you rest in peace. What a fitting way to go. Your judgement was delivered by some illiterate muslim fools. GOOD BYE

• Kingsley Onyina 10 years ago

Like the remains of all those shot by the JJ's regime not seen by the public, so shall it be to "the piece of shit" called Kofi Awoonore. You reap exactly what you sow....food for thought !

• GHANA JEW 10 years ago

Kofi Awonoor William's death should be Celebrated by all Akans, none Tribalist, and all Fair Minded Ghanaian. For it is said that those who live by the Sword die by the Sword. This was a guy who orchestrated the 1981 Coup tha ...

• YHO 10 years ago

State burial for what? Ghanians died in Egypt and Libya were they giving state burial? and a coup plotter giving state burial. this is ndc for chop chop.

• KOOMSON 10 years ago

THANK GOD HE'S DEAD. R.I.H

• NYARKO U.S.A. 10 years ago

EVERY WILL DIE ONE DAY. KOOMSON, DEATH IS FOR EVERY HUMAN BEING ON THIS PLANET.
    OKOMFO ANOKYE EVEN DIED .YOUR TIME WILL COME ONE DAY SO REPENT AND PRAY AND HAVE RESPECT FOR THE DEAD AND HIS LIVING FAMILY. GHANA HAS LOST ONE ...

• soulza boyz 10 years ago

Nobody should ever have to endure such pain through the hands of Islamic Terrorist in the name of Allah. These people are danger to the world.

REST IN EVERLASTING PEACE A GREAT SON OF GHANA.
    PROF. AWOONOR WILLIAMS WILL BE MISSED.
    MY CONDOLENCES GOES TO THE PROF.'S FAMILIES .FAREWELL COMRADE WILLIAMS.
    MAY HIS SOUL REST IN THE HANDS OF THE LORD AMEN

• soulza boyz 10 years ago

When terrorist stuck America, I was painful to watch to videos, Ghanaian were also among,pretty much a lot of people all over the world. I cried and prayed, I will never wish such callous event in anyone's live.To wish someon ...

Awonor's body was disfigured completely just as Ewes did to Akans during their Satanic revolution. Awonor received more than thousand bullets. Akans proverb goes like this "Nea otwe dadea no, owu dadea ano".Rawlings, do you h ...

He did nothing to the Akans. Prof. Awoonor's brothers are Akans. His wife and children are Akans. I am a coastal (not bush) Akan from Western Region and I'm proud of Prof. Awoonor's achievements. Take your tribalistic sentime ...

• Rans F 10 years ago

I will be the last person to rejoice over the death of any human no matter how evil he/she was. However the TRUTH must always be told. Prof Awoonor never liked anything AKAN! That is the TRUTH. As an academic and a Ghanaian, ...

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

Uncle Mends, please go and eat the filthy sand you find at the beach and leave the Akans to farm in the BUSH to feed themselves. What is at the coast that make you civilized? The water mass or what? I really feel sorry for yo ...

You coastal guy shits at the sea coast.Is that civilization? Does that make you wiser than anyone who lives inland? Your mouth stinks like your own shit.

• NOKORE NA EYE OOH 10 years ago

Ei so Ghana has suffer too much with coup plotters. So this man was also jailed? Story teller or coup plotter? I am really shocked as he died just like coup gun men do. Why did this happen to him and his son?

• azaa akonfem mahama is big lies 10 years ago

JUDGE TIME,OH GOD,HMMMMMM TOOOO MUCH TRIBALIST WILL KILLED PEOPLE,SAD AND SHAME,

• Spelling 10 years ago

spelling

• Big Boss 10 years ago

I&I or what ever u call yrself. U r! the greatest Ashanti FOOL of all times!!!!! U don´t deserve to live! I`m proud of Prof Kofi Awoonor!!!!!

• KOOMSON 10 years ago

STOLEN OUR FISHING MONEY AND RESERVED HIS KETA SCHOOL-BOYS

• yaxman 10 years ago

grow up learn some sense

• KOOMSON 10 years ago

CRIMINALS IN THE NATION

Do you think Akans have forgotten what Ewes did to them? Don't dream that. We know what Ewes did to Akans. On the pretext of corruption, Ewes staged the most satanic revolution in human history, and instituted the most corrup ...

Don't waste your time.

• Jim Ankrah 10 years ago

'Destruction of Akans Program'drawn by Ewes?

Sarpong you are the only sole who has waged war against ewes in this forum as representative of an Ashantis Sadly, when the going got tough for you as an Ashanti warior you have ...

• Ayanya 10 years ago

Stop this shit every akan knows about this, even those who were in the army knew about what was going on , why did Giwa tried to overthrow the PNDC? There are a whole lot of questions to be asked, if you don't know you don't ...

• Yaw Berko 10 years ago

Why should the country waste money to sponsor the funeral of this a**hole? What has he done for Ghana to warrant money being wasted on his useless remains?

The family is well endowed to give him a fitting burial. The people of Wheta do not spend money idolising death as occurs in your part of the world.

If you do not apprecaite his works, so be it. Let those who appreciate ...

Stop your foolishness.

YAW BERKO, YOU ARE DISGUSTING HUMAN BEING. YOU HAVE CURSED YOUSELF AS AN EVIL SATAN MAN. THINK ABOUT YOUR FUTURE

• Koff 10 years ago

His funeral should be sponsored because you cant spell the word - lol

• DOGO 10 years ago

Prof. Awoonor's name was one of the few prominent names i use to hear a lot when i was growing up in Ghana. I strongly believe that he has served Ghana well before his demise. Like any man, Awoonor may have had his faults but ...

• the truth 10 years ago

Nah bro. The man was very creative and good at writing but he was blinded by hate and envy toward the Ashanti people and his agenda was to ruin the character and turn Ghanaians against their brothers in the Ashanti region. I ...

President Mahama and Parliament should name national Theatre after Kofi Awoonor.

• KOOMSON 10 years ago

thief man.....

Because it will be named after him.

• Rans F 10 years ago

The National Theatre cannot be named after a personality that saw himself first as an ewe; before any consideration of being a Ghanaian. Allow the Prof to rest in peace, if his soul can find any.

• Illunga 10 years ago

If he did nothing at all, he was the chairman of Counsel of State a feat you have not yet achieved. He was also ambassador who represented Ghana.

What have you done?

• NOKORE NA EYE OOH 10 years ago

No Akan man has orchestrated to kill another tribe than JJ Coup tried with these men like Kofi-Awonoor Ewe-centricity telling stories but have an agenda in coup. That is what he did and will always be remembered by it. Like i ...

The main co-architects of June 4th were Akans. Rawlings still has an Akan Wife.

Could it be that you are only trying to justify your failures on a so called revolution?

A creative mind should find an opportunity in any ...

• BENSON 10 years ago

The fact is the man's book,GHANA REVOLUTION was in bad taste. It is time to call a spade a spade. Nobody can defend the mistake he made.

• PISCOJAY 10 years ago

oh may your soul Rest in peace(RIP) PROF. KOFI AWOONOR

Is it wrong to thump your chest and say you are proud to be an Ewe, an Asante, a Fanti, a Dagomba.....

After all don't the Asantes refer to Okomfo Anokye as their heir, when possible history traces this man to Awukugua whe ...

• Kamawu 10 years ago

You cant compare Awoonor to Okofo Anokye. How dare you Kwasea.

• ko 10 years ago

is sad people in Kenya were dead
    in nabrio Kenya mall

• Gracie 10 years ago

I was just telling a friend abt this tourist attacking Kenya. They're attacking from every angle & you are playing tribalism instead finding a way to make sure they don't come to Ghana. GOD HAVE MERCY & SAVE US ALL FROM THIS ...

• BRO DAN -TRC 10 years ago

NOBLE PEOPLE OF AFRICA, BLESSED PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, ALAS! ODUPON !! BUT BEHOLD O' AFRICA AND BLESSED ONES OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, IT IS REVEALED IN -"OCCUPY TILL I COME" THAT -A ...

• Alberta Brew 10 years ago

Sow in our hearts the seeds of thy dear love, that we may reap contentment, joy and peace. And when at last our earthly labours cease, grant us to join thy harvest home above. Rest in Peace Prof.

• Jackson Ahiable 10 years ago

IT IS TIME GHANAIANS AND AFRICANS FOR THAT MATTER LEARN TO RESPECT THE ELDERLY.
    WE SPEAK OF OUR LEADERS, LEADERSHIP AND ELDERS AS IF THEY WERE OR CRECHE MATES. YOU DID THAT TO YOUR PRESIDENTS, THEN THE AHSANTIHENE. WHEN ARE ...

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

TO THOSE WHO HATE AKANS. I HOPE U ARE LEARNING FROM WAT HAPPENED HAPPENED TO THIS MAN. WOE BETIDE;S YOU. THE WORSE WILL HAPPEN TO YOU ALSO. COUP SPONSOR, AKAN HATER....MAY U REST IN PEACE AND IN PEACE. DONT HARBOUR HATE IN YO ...

• Awesome 10 years ago

Think about yourself because you would never know when your turn will come .This man will surely get state burial what about you

• Aka-eri Alice 10 years ago

What more can we say, Prof was a good man, a star in the mist of a dark cloud, since he had been a source of light to this Country, he will forever be remembered. Prof, we love you but our Maker needs you most. Do rest in per ...

• Nii 10 years ago

DESPITE AM GA MAN, I TRULY BELEIVE AWOONOR RIGHTFULLY DESERVETO BE RECOGNISED BY RENAMING THE GHANA NATIONAL THEATRE AS SUCH. THE AWOONOR THEATRE OF LITERARY ARTS. HE HAS BROUGHT GLOBAL POPULARITY TO GHANAIAN POETRY. SIMPL, H ...

• Kamawu 10 years ago

You can't compare Awoonor to Ohene Djan but Accra stadium's name was changed back from Ohene Djan stadium.

• Rans F 10 years ago

Have you ever heard of the phrase 'Chief Tribalist'? I rest my case.

• THE ETERNAL PRINCE 10 years ago

WHY ARE PEOPLE SAYING GOOD THINGS ABOUT KOFI AWONOOR? THE MAN WAS STEEP DEEP INTO BLACK ARTS. HE MASTERMINDED THE MURDER OF THE THREE JUDGES & AN ARMY OFFICER TO ENABLE "DZELOKOPE MAFIA" TO SEIZE STATE POWER FOR 19 YEARS. CO ...

• Pastor 10 years ago

No Ewe has done wrong. When Kotoka died I cried and my Ga friend, Ayitey said why are crying for an Ewe. I said he is God son and a human being. He turned round and said Ashanti man you don't know what you are doing. "I will ...

• ECOMINI 10 years ago

Pastor did what your are saying really happen?????

All these insults from the foot soldiers of n.p.p towards such a well respected and internationally world renowned person such as Awoonor, will not reverse or remake Ghanaians to demand another election to elect your akufo. i ...

• Kamawu 10 years ago

Ewes killed Akans & Gas for no good reason It was all ENVY

• Addo 10 years ago

During the both JJ coups every Ewe supported and informed JJ thugs and people were killed like RATS

• BNI staff 10 years ago

Ewes must admit they hated Victor Owusu for his INWARD LOOKING SPEECH so they kept injecting him with lethal poison in the cell. By the time they removed him from prison he was gone. But all the same Kuffour saved Tsatsu. Ash ...

• GHANA JEW 10 years ago

NO ONE OF THOSE KILLED IN J.J TIME WILL REST IN PEACE TILL THEY PAY THEM BACK. J.J RAWLING AND THOSE WHO DID IT, NO ONE OF THEM WILL END THE YEARS THAT GOD HAS GIVEN THEM THEY WILL DIE BEFORE THIER TIME . LIKE KOFI AWOONOR,1 ...

• Rans F 10 years ago

Action and reaction are equal and opposite.

• Ayanya 10 years ago

Who knows this guy? Which world? Trokosi world? You see your everlasting hatred, how come you bring Nana Addo's name? Even JJ Rawlings couldn't write anything about this man, why? his bossom friend, somebody yesteryears was ...

• Ofei Nimpong 10 years ago

This Ghanaian attitude of hiding heads like ostriches is to be condemned. Pro Awoonor was a known and unrepentant core ethnocentric bigot who was jealous of Ashantis and felt threatened. Law of karma has worked. Prof awoonor ...

• Khalid 10 years ago

I know, because I know! Ask the soldiers. This man hated Ashantis. He ordered them to eliminated. Rawlings agreed. Bullets to innocent people's heads, now bullet to your fucking face!!! Ghana is now a better place. People hat ...

• nanaft 10 years ago

VERY SAD

• dirty man ewe 10 years ago

he will die again in hell

• Khalid 10 years ago

No public viewing? Wobe te wo piika! This man ordered the killings of so many Akans, Fantes etc during the 1979 and 1981 revolutions. He hated Akans with passion and destroyed their businesses. He ordered Akan businessmen/wom ...

• KOFI SAY 10 years ago

THIS GROUP IS TAKING THE PEOPLE THAT WE ALL LOVE AWAY. WE MUST ALL HELP USA TO WEED THIS GROUP OUT.

• tijani 10 years ago

the ewes can cook him and eat, no body will be there to view,

• OGA DABIDA yum yum 10 years ago

indeed, our president is a capital fool to use my tax money for the celebration of the death of a hardened tribalist

• Nana Yeboah Dame 10 years ago

Who will not believe that Nana Akufo Addo's visit to the UK after failing his presidential petition with the Supreme Court and the anticipation of war in Ghana after the verdict might not be the crew of Islamic group Nana Aku ...

• Sungumo 10 years ago

Ghana lost a great son,may his soul rest in peace.AMEN!!!!!

• EBENEZER OPARE, SEFWI BEKWAI 10 years ago

I WAS SAD WHEN I HEARD THE DEATH OF THIS GRATE MAN BUT WHAT CAN I SAY, GOD GIVES AND TAKES. MAY HIS SOUL REST IN PEACE WITH GOD. AMEN

• Maame Efua 10 years ago

Let us all stop these tribal sentiments and live as Ghanaians. Today Ewes are marrying Ashantis and Ashantis are marrying Ewes. This should be the spirit.

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?GO TO WWW.GREATNANAPOWERFULLSPIRITUALIST.BLOGSPOT.COM