You are here: HomeNews2013 09 24Article 286709

Revealing: Kwaku Baako on GNPC drillship palaver

Read Comments Comments (76)

• Cambuuushoe 10 years ago

THESE GUYS NEVER LEARNED TO PARAPHRASE, SUMMARIZE THEIR THOUGHTS AS THEY WRITE? THIS ARTICLE IS TOO LONG.

Kwasea. He is just given the facts about the case.What is lengthy about this.

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

The pertinent issues at this point in time are
    1. Who was the bankers draft paid to? Was it the Government of Ghana or a named individual.
    2. Was any payment made to SG and from whose account did that payment come from? If ...

• Apraku 10 years ago

NDC will never ever be a trustworthy party. You hear now and then stories being concorted just to tarnish the image of certain individuals to their advantage.Can someone please tell me why Tsikata was indicted for causing fin ...

• big Mouth 10 years ago

This is why Tsikata was indicted,mso The Kuffour,s
    and the ADDDO,s can steal and put the blame on some one like Tsikata,Old thieves Die hard!!

• OWUSU 10 years ago

Yes you have big mouth but small brain so I forgive you for your comment

• FELA O FELA: NPP BONESHAKER LA 10 years ago

VERBOSE VERBOSE VERBOSE!!!!

KWEKU BAAKU IS THE CHIEF PROPAGANDIST OF THE NPP....HE IS ON J A KUFFOUR'S PAY ROLL .......for those you may not know....

So so so.....Upon all this fancy babble and rabble rousing that ha ...

• Yag 10 years ago

This article is childish. The end crowned the work. Sir John did not go to prison bcos he had a good lawyer. If NPP had engaged good lawyer, who knows we could have paid nothing .Tsatsu,s transaction was purely business in th ...

• AttaKofi 10 years ago

If all this facts were known then, why was Tsatsu not called at that time (when the debt was to be paid) to explain the transaction, assist in the court case, and help reduce or restructure the transaction as he had already i ...

• OWUSU 10 years ago

please read the article three times and comment again

• Moses 10 years ago

Shege, dan iska! In whose name was the cheque written and how come all the details of the sale is so murky? Government of Ghana cheque in the name of an individual for him to cash and spend and bring the balance. Kwaku is onl ...

• Moses 10 years ago

Shege, dan iska! In whose name was the cheque written and how come all the details of the sale is so murky? Government of Ghana cheque in the name of an individual for him to cash and spend and bring the balance. Kwaku is onl ...

• OWEN, NEW YORK 10 years ago

Please don't talk about lengthy when tho gospel truth is to be exposed by good citizens like Hon.Kwaku Never-Say-Die Baako Jr. The guy is good with his investigation or fact finding. Keep it up. You are the police of the Ghan ...

• NII YAOTEY ATUA, LONDON 10 years ago

RUBBISH

• Ben 10 years ago

You hate the truth so you will find problem with anything that will expose the truth. These are facts which are being distorted by the NDC ministers and the government as a whole. We do not want half cooked up stories only fa ...

• Kofi k 10 years ago

You can run but you can't hide

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

I felt physically sick listening to the two deputy ministers on Saturday's Newsfile trying without success to defend whatever Tsatsu Tsikata did and attempting to blame the Kufuor government, particularly Nana Akufo-Addo. Tsa ...

• Kobena 10 years ago

Kofi,
    That is a very objective analysis. I have listened to KT Hammond's interaction with Kwame Sefa Kai, and he was right because I have personal knowledge of it. The GNPC advisory group, Bassoe that had earlier evaluated t ...

• big Mouth 10 years ago

Kofi Ata,can you name any thing an Ashanti man has done for Ghana,but not only his pocket?Name them?

• Yag 10 years ago

Even feeble legal mind cud defend this case.I think SG. Knew they had a bad case bcos they put their money into unknown production.It like one buying a cat in a cage.Tsatsu,s deal was not really bad.

• DKB 10 years ago

Little education is dangerous! You obviously aren't very knowledgable about hedging laws but felt obliged to also comment. If you sign a loan agreement and use any property of yours as collateral to secure that loan, once you ...

• Pumpuni 10 years ago

Kweku Baako needs protection from the hawks of NDC.

• Kojo! 10 years ago

Go sit down!
    Alakpator!

• Omanba 10 years ago

This is the kind of journalism that delights the fair-minded citizen and not the stomach - led kind pursued by the likes of Kwasi Pratt. Tsatsu Tsikata deserves to be in jail. He's a thief and criminally minded. Only corrupt ...

• K. Tabi 10 years ago

How come Tsikata was talking about commencement of oil production from the Tano fields with our own rig in 1998. The K4 government just repackaged the information and sold the already discovered oil to The EO group and co a ...

• Fiifi Dadzi 10 years ago

CAN'T YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT HAS BEEN PRESENTED FROM THE HORSE'S OWN MOUTH?

• Sakura 10 years ago

These guys can't read and understand. Some are complaining this is a lengthy piece! They just come here to criticize and insult people. No wonder we have leaders who don't know anything despite going through our educational s ...

• rita 10 years ago

Nana Akufo-Addo hiding in uk and pushing kwaku baako to do their dirty works for them and also using gaby to divert the topic of D511 to economy and borrowing saga.

STOP DOING THE MASTER'S DIRTY JOB AND LOVE GHANA FOR ONCE...EBE!!! ARE YOU A FOOL?

• Roy 10 years ago

Wast of peoples time. All the actors are in the country. Let them answer for themselves. we don't need this at all. Kwaku you are a joke. They pay you to talk and not to think. What you should have said is, let those involve ...

DID THEY ALSO PAID TSIKATA TO WRITE WHAT HAVED BEEN PRESENTED? THIS IS A REAL REVEALATION OF THE FACTS AND YOU HAVE NOT REFUTED THEM. SO WHY ACCUSING MR BAAKO? WHY CAN'T PEOPLE LIKE YOU THINK WIDE AND BE OBJECTIVE FOR THE GOO ...

THEY ARE DEADLY!!! AVOID THEM.

• Real talk 10 years ago

Listen to this COCK SUCKER. Unfortunately Ghana's journalism has stoop so low any IDIOT can get an attention.

• Yaw Hola 10 years ago

This article falls short of the main points being raised by the NDC communicators, the Attorney General withdrew the foreign lawyers for the AG's department to continue with the case but they (AG's Dept)did not make any repre ...

• Moses 10 years ago

Whatever thecase may be Kweku could have given the details of how the ship was sold and for the avoidance of doubt produce evience as he has done on all correspondence leading to the sale. The sale was done in the most opaque ...

• Dallas 10 years ago

Kwaku went round in circles with out touching on the essential issues. Where is money? I challenge Kwaku to dig for the truth in this matter if indeed he's not an npp apology of a journalist. Otherwise, how come he is able to ...

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

Revealing indeed. So Kweku Baako has just told us that two other GNPC assets were sold. Please the authorities should investigate the records of GNPC so that we know how many more assets and how much they sold these, and wher ...

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

Revealing indeed. So Kweku Baako has just told us that two other GNPC assets were sold. Please the authorities should investigate the records of GNPC so that we know how many more assets and how much they sold these, and wher ...

• Dan 10 years ago

Pls,We are not small boys.In the first place where did get those secret conversations,why kwaku refuse to talk about the sale,and lastly why alwas want to defend the NPP when there is a problem,instead of the wellbeing of Gha ...

• WEED NANA AKUFFO-ADDO 10 years ago

IT IS VERY DISTURBING WHEN KWAKU BAAKO WRITES OR SPEAKS THIS IS A MAN WHO CLAIMS TO BE DEMOCRATE OR PATROITIC.NOW HERE IS A CORRUPT CASE CONCERNING NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT AND INSTEAD OF HE KWAKU FOOL BAAKO SPEAKS TO THE ISSUE H ...

• brick city man 10 years ago

kweku, your piece shows how hard Mr. Tsikata worked for the oil discovery.
    kweku, pls do some primary research in
    oil discovery business and the risk involved. thank God Mr. Tsikata's hard and RISKY WORK PRODUCE OIL 16 YEAR ...

• Baba 10 years ago

So confusing, the sale of the drill ship, was it by a decision of the court-court ruling as purported by KT and the others, or by a committee report and subsequent memo by Kan Dapaah, as Kweku is all edging.
    Who was the ...

• Frimpong Manso Dakabre 10 years ago

Kwaku u dey papa. where do you get all this facts? you are just too much.

• TETTEH NARTEH 10 years ago

Kwaku Baaku,you have been paid to muddy
    the waters with this nonsense lengthy trash.

• mohammed 10 years ago

14.6 and 12 million rental revenue yearly are not the same. and you pointed out that it was the drill ship that was "The D511 drillship is about the only exception; which has earned the Corporation US$14.6 million". if it was ...

• mohammed 10 years ago

Tsatsu Never benefited directly or indirectly from his action. show us how his zeal to help the country that was latter packed and sold by the kuffour government should be blamed on the Cadre.

• CINNAKA 10 years ago

MUHAMMED, OR WHOEVER YOU ARE, BECAUSE YOU HAVE VERY LIMITED UNDERSTANDING OF THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE, YOU OBVIOUSLY CANNOT COMPREHEND KWEKU'S ARTICLE. SIMPLY, THIS IS A SELF REVEALING STORY OF HOW TSATSU GAMBLED WITH GNPC WITHOU ...

• Kweku 10 years ago

Kweku Baako. Be sincere and you known from you heart and mind you did not not even authored this piece. Just as you are coach to talk.eeeeem

• Kwadwo Awuah Adusei 10 years ago

Mr Baako, long live . I admire your presentation You almost always present facts and figures to support your submissions.There are a lot of people who make arguments without facts but yours is always pregnant with facts. Kudo ...

• Nusex A 10 years ago

The facts you placed in the public domain were very good and educative. My surprise is why the people that government litigated with, with Akuffo Addo occupying a prime position at the time would turn round and buy Akuffu-Add ...

• sgt ahmed 10 years ago

the former npp government made so many mistakes by allowing this school drop out to have access to our state classified documents and could be seen boasting of having documents on this or that issue. sometimes I feel sorry fo ...

• DKB 10 years ago

Have you lost your mind? Are some of you so full of hatred that you can't even use your brains to think?

Do you use the NHIS? You call a Govt that provided it's citizens with NHIS, NYEP now called GYEEDA, SADA, Bui Dam, S ...

• Nusex A 10 years ago

Why on earth would a government official ended a negotiated deal with a company thereafter turn round and sell his fathers property(land) to the same company for the company to build on. Ghanaians, read between the lines. N ...

• Mugu Yaro 10 years ago

This frustrated bullshit at it again with his illogical articles.
    Are you now a spokesperson for nana Addo?
    Why not allow him to come out of his rat hole and speak to the issue himself?
    Do you know that it's bcos of this d ...

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

All this garbage that exists in our Ghana today.......is all in the name of democracy??????

The shuffling of the two MOST USELESS parties every four years......is that what democracy is about????

With our so-called lea ...

• Nii Okai 10 years ago

What a good lenghty analysis, that never cause doubts of the facts it carries? In reality there is reasonable facts in the lenghty stuff provided, which needs to be taken into consideration when we really have in our hearts t ...

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

Why doesn't Kweku Baako let Akufo-Addo speak for himself? If any part of this saga transpired during Akufo-Addo's tenure as the Attorney-General, he ought to have known something about the case or given some legal advice as ...

• Nyansafo 10 years ago

If NDC had inherited a debt of 47 million dollars, can you imagine how much our settlement debt would have been? Between Betty Mould, Barton Oduro and Okujeto Ablakwa, your guess is as good as mine. NDC Just Shut up

• GHANABA 10 years ago

Kweku show us the cheque or cash from the sale, that's all we want.

• hmmmmmm 10 years ago

that's our kwaku of hairdressing saloon man at it again.

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

Kwaku Baako and any other idiot who is apt to look the other way as political parties in power of government resort to tactics not authorized and or vested in any office of the executive, legislators and or judiciary to sell ...

• ADU - BOGYA 10 years ago

SO AFTER ALL THIS LENGTHY EXPLANATION WHAT HAPPENED TO THE MILLIONS OF DOLLARS REALISED FRM THE SALE OF THE SHIP LAWYER KWAKU BAAKO?that is the most important thing poeple want to know.please come again

• Dagadoo Wayo Die 10 years ago

They stated, liability incurred by the State-owned Ghana National Petroleum Corporation(GNPC) following the latter`s ill-fated and poorly crafted "hedging dealings" with the French Bank, Societe Generale in the 1990s." What t ...

• Kofi Abrantie 10 years ago

This is a bunch of nonsense. You fools should be grateful for all the work Mr. Tsikata did for oil discovery in GH. He never personally benefited from these transactions from all accounts so far. The question that kwaku kwase ...

• DKB 10 years ago

What work did Mr Tsikata do? Where was the drill ship when it was seized? Was it drilling for oil in Ghana or had it been rented out for others to use? Some of you will even refuse to believe the truth no matter how glaring i ...

• Ganyo 10 years ago

Kweku, Who wrote this piece under your name?

• Dzato 10 years ago

I am sure Mr. Baako’s got the investigation report from his NPP folks. I am also sure Kwaku Baako asked his pay masters about the document covering the sale and whose name the cheque was written but conveniently omitted the ...

• okukuseku 10 years ago

The 'stomach'jounalists are more dangerous than the politicians they are bed with. Time will Tell.

• SANTROFIE 10 years ago

MR ABDULMALIK YOU HAVE DODGED THE ISSUE. IT IS COMMON KNOWLEDGE THAT TSATSU INCURRED THE DEBT TO SOCIETE-GENERAL THROUGH HIS HEDGING ON BEHALF OF NNPC. MR KUFUOR AS A LAWYER KNOWS THAT ONE DOES NOT ABANDON A COURT CASE JUST B ...

• Kweku Tawiah 10 years ago

Income generating corporate property that could not stop the GNPC's debt to Societe Generale from climbing from $40 m in 1998 to $47m in 2001? And JAK was supposed to indulge in a protracted litigation while interest continue ...

• OKOFO 10 years ago

All these long talk have not answered the question of the documents covering the payment of $19.5m to SG, $3.5m to Ministry of Finance and $1m for legal fees. Mr Documents all what Ghanaians are asking is where are the docume ...

• FRANK 10 years ago

TSATSU TSIKATA IS A CLEVER THIEF

• F.K. Boakye; Canada 10 years ago

Fantastic investigative journalism!!

Kudos to you, Malik Kweku Baako!!!

I have always maintained that the ARROGANT Tsatsu Tsikata, a MR. KNOW-IT-ALL person is the one responsible for the Drill Ship Fiasco and Not Presid ...

• Solja 10 years ago

lengthy piece? kwaku baako has been a so called and self acclaimed seasoned journalist for how many years?
    i dont know if its only me,i couldnt find a single piece of information or opinion or advice he ever gave that wasnt ...

• Nusex A 10 years ago

Akufo Addo's benefit from tyhe drill ship sale is the building being constructed by Societe Generale on his fathers land for him. These people things we have cotton wool in our heads.

• Solja 10 years ago

now i've read it twice.so where the cheque and who den pay the money to den why the french,who have kept napoleon's left shoe for decades,soon no dey fe locate our money?tsatsu was indicted for causing financial loss to the s ...