Gbevlo-Lartey proposes election of DCEs

Read Comments Comments (39)

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Where is the money to pay them. No
    matter creating ofices with the
    personnel without pay.

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

UNFORTUNATELY IT TAKES PEOPLE TIME IN POWER TO GET REALISTIC. ACTUALLY ELECTING MMDECS HAVE ITS OWN CHALLENGES AND I HOPE THE MATTER WILL BE SUJECTED TO THOROUGH DEBATE BEFORE ANY FATAL DECISION IS TAKEN.

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

DCEs should be voted for just like MP's but they should not be affiliated to any political party and they should be chosen from only people who are from the particular district. Their elections must be separated from the gene ...

nana is spent and a member of the old crony system of corrupt unscrupulous individuals who are partly to blame for the mess our country is in today . he served under one of the most corrupt presidents ghana has ever seen and ...

• www.ghanatvlive.net 10 years ago

Metro and TV3 Live www.ghanatvlive.net

• william 10 years ago

The Security Coordinator,who if I am not wrong also has a law degree, is promoting human security through national security. It is in line with the UN charter. It is in line with the African Charter on human rights and it is ...

• Kwame - Maryland, USA 10 years ago

This issue comes up every time that the president is making such appointments. So then here's where being an effective and efficient MP comes in. Take up the matter and debate on the floor and see if the votes are there to am ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

You cannot prevent markets from being burnt and government institutions from sabotage yet you want to talk about electing DCE's.
    In our current political dispensation it will be suicidal for anyone to think of electing DCE's ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

You don't seem to understand anything.It is the Districts who should prevent their markets from being burnt not the National Security Coordinator. It appears you don't understand the contemporary global situation. Why don't y ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

How many times, have the average Ghanaian been saying that the DCEs should be elected by the people and not the president who will impose some reckless friends of his onto some innocent people?

This is commonsense. We sho ...

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

That constitution was drawn by butchers, hairdressers and failures like Tsatsu Tsikata

• Bagobila Busanga 10 years ago

Tsatsu could not write the constitution alone. One of the leaders in writing the constitution was the former head of state mr A. kufour. They did their best, it is left to us to do corrections, add and always put our ideas to ...

• PLUMBER 10 years ago

Kuffour and the NPP had an opportunity to correct a major flaw in Ghana's adminstrative set up. Through what I believe was a careful anaysis of the system , NPP proposed the election of DCEs. This idea was bought into by majo ...

• Egya 10 years ago

Everybody now agrees with Nduom. An idea whose time has come!

• erik 10 years ago

Gbevlo, you got it for one point.
    The NDC itself needs universal adult suffrage from the election of the President to the choice of ministers right down to DCEs.
    Then we can have at least the tail of the animal called corru ...

• kirk osei 10 years ago

Shut the fuck out go and said to mahamed first

People all over the world read ghanaweb so we need to watch our language, respect one another and be patriotic as Ghanaians. Visit Egyptian website and read what people write about their football team. A country that is even ...

• Rebecca 10 years ago

The problem is that people in the district believe that you must necessarily come from the district 100% or be living there before you serve them. Where as is good to come from a particular district and must take the opportun ...

• Bagobila Busanga 10 years ago

Thank you mr. Gbevlo. It does not only make the grounds fertile for corruption to thrive but also bread and multiply riots and so on in the porpulace. This could be extended to the vote of Regional ministers too.

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

Does Mr. Gbevlo-Lartey's views agree with that of his employer the President or contrary. As a public employee Mr.Gbevlo has not right to engage himself in any public pronouncements on such sensitive partisan matters. If he w ...

What has this man's opinion on such a public opinion got to do with what you wrote? You sit down, read what he said and then go back and read through what you wrote and see if it has anything to do with what you said about hi ...

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

Hey Kwame! Iam sorry that you live in Maryland in USA but you are very deficient in worldly wisdom of politics. Maybe,either you do not have the guts to understand my point or you did not have the said "respected brains in th ...

• Ayanya 10 years ago

I have a problem with you, everyone is expressing his or her mind like Gbevlo Lartey did you are not going to get everyone to support him as you are doing but it's like you jumped in when someone doesn't agree with him, that ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

I like your take

• Nicholas Adjei 10 years ago

The best way to develop and improve on infrastructure and to control or reduce Bribery and corruption is for the people to choose their own DCEs.By so doing lobying will have no space.This is part of Inclusive government.

• GHETO YOUTH 10 years ago

GHETO YOUTH NO GET TIME FOR YOU... FOOLS

• Joe 10 years ago

That is a good idea for democracy. This may end all the problems with the appointments by politicians in Accra. Also, Regional Ministers should also be elected. Let the people choose thier leaders. The party in power should ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

Long Overdue!

• Mansa Musa Kankam 10 years ago

So-so buga-buga you sabi. Wetin you sabi for goverment and democracy? You sabi self sey GMO be national security mattah? A-hole!

• the Duke 10 years ago

For your information, bloke, the col is a lawyer.

• Mankind 10 years ago

Good thinking!! This is the first time you have said something sensible

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

WELL SAID GBEVLO-LARTEY.

AND HOW LONG IS IT GOING TO TAKE THE GOVERNMENT TO REFORM THE LOCAL GOOVERNMENT IN GHANA.

IT IS A PITEOUS SPECTACLE WHICH NOTHING CAN JUSTIFY IT.

IT IS TIME ALL REGIONAL CENTRES DO RETURN TO ...

• We The People 10 years ago

Esteemed Col,
    We The People need your focus directed against exploiters and destroyers of our environment. The act of Galamsey operations by foreign nationals and Ghanaians alike is really an attack against mother Ghana. Tho ...

• kb 10 years ago

Colonel, this is the only way to go. We either decentralize or we do not. All correct sir!

• Whatever 10 years ago

I don't know why we continue to appoint DCEs? The practice must stop. It harms accountability

• Kwabena Gyamfi 10 years ago

Gbevlo-Lartey's suggestion is the way to go and for me there should be no debate at all about this. I think the constitution must be amended to take care of this. The DCE must answer directly to the people who elected him and ...

• Fernando 10 years ago

Col.This is sensible talk.

• Ekuma 10 years ago

Gbevlo Lartey, if it is bcos of corruption that the MMDCEs shd be elected , yen u have missed the mark.

The corrupt official could be removed vying the President. If elected, he remains at post and corrupt till the electi ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

You sound like an idiot to me. Why not make your point and avoid the insults.