You are here: HomeNews2013 09 16Article 285955

Nothing wrong with Otumfuo using presidential jet - Ayariga

Read Comments Comments (104)

• Croosy 10 years ago

It is a state (not public) property. There is a difference between the two. Then JDM should vacate the Jubilee flagstaff house for any prominent person since his occupying it is just reversing Ghana's development. Who trained ...

• Ghana-Man 10 years ago

Queen Elizabeth II of England uses Presidential jets to travel around. Why can't the great King of the great Asantes use the Presidential jet of Ghana to travel around? The Asantehene must be treated with exceptional respect. ...

• Kwaku 10 years ago

Do you know the role of the Queen of England in British history?Don't compare the two,the English got their wealth through colonization where the monarchy played an important role.I don't believe the bribery story but with th ...

• YB 10 years ago

Every Asantehene since independence has gotten preferential treatment and every Ghanaian knows why. Even under Rawlings the late Opoku Ware's medical trip abroad was footed by the govt. He was almost always met on arrival by ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

he is now going to verify his pronouncement.

• PLUMBER 10 years ago

But with his people. If you refuse to honour your King, others who see his worth would do it. Ashanti Kingdom can never be the same as NPP. There are a lot of Ashantis in NDC and other parties whether the present NPP follower ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

Considering the king can afford his own trips it was not very wise of him to fly on the presidential jet especially when the allegation or suspicion of bribery was/is still looming. It does seem like the king loves controvers ...

• MAN 10 years ago

The petition was a useless one to begin with so why should the judges be bribed when it was clear that there was no case. NPP should be careful.

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

There is no smoke without fire , many times our chiefs for 30 pieces of silver have betrayed the interests of the people . they not only take money but also actively promote the most toxic of ideas against the welfare of the ...

• HAJJ YARO 10 years ago

THIS FUKEN DRUG BARRON ABSULUTELY NONSENSE

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

This is not the time to talk about drugs. We are talking about improprieties. Let Ayariga ask himself if the Nagbonwura, Togbe Afedi, Ga Manche etc was allowed to use the Prez Jet, what would have happened? This is no tribali ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

This is Ghana poor Country unlike
    Britain.

• Kwame Esseku 10 years ago

If this story is really true"don't forget"the recent bribery case, then there is something wrong somewhere. If it is true, then it is repugnant, and a very poor judgement on the Mahama government.

• Daakye Kwabre MP. 10 years ago

O' yes me too. I don't believe the bribery story but with presidential jet case it is just getting to my skin. It is way to much costly to have done that for him if this true. People have gotten paid for months. I mean let's ...

• Kwasi Donkor 10 years ago

It's absolutely true that Otumfo HELP to pay the bribe to the judgers hence his thanks is the using of the presidential jet.Every thing is now plain.

We are not in Britain,dont compare it
    to Ghana. We are crawling Country
    looking for worms to eat and not
    corned beef.

That transaction is not healthy that
    raised the eyebrow of the people to
    say anything of their doubt.

• Mynona 10 years ago

The Queen is also the President of UK

• oyinasky 10 years ago

Ghana Man you are such an idiot. I am not sure you know what you are talking about

• Mimi 10 years ago

I am sorry you're making wrong comparisons. You can't compare the Ashanti king to Queen of England.Because while she is the Queen of England he is just a tribal King over a region within but not the whole country. Further mor ...

• RJ 10 years ago

Good point Croosy. Ayariga, make sure he does not take it to Canada where the plane could be impounded.

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

Oh I now know and understand the bribe allegation. When it looks like a duck, its is a duck

• 90210 10 years ago

lol

• GM 10 years ago

Ayariga, please come again because am so disappointed in you and your statement. Democracy...!!!! Good.But can anyone ask president Obama, to used airforce one? NDC is the best party in ghana no doubt about that, but, I disag ...

• DKB 10 years ago

NDC best party? indeed so of you have no shame. When the rot, thieving and incompetency stares right in your face you call that best! We will continue to struggle to develop if we the electorates continue voting with our hear ...

• GM 10 years ago

Ask Haruna Esseku , what president kuffour used to share at the Osu Castle.

• DKB 10 years ago

So the rot should continue? Are some of you normal at all? Kufuor stole so Mahama should also steal whiles we the electorates including you GM suffer? What foolish analogy! We make such childish arguments and we expect the po ...

That is not normal practice,Ashiati
    Hene is not entiltle to Presidential
    Jet,that raise the eyebrow of the people to come to suspect that there was a deal of bribery. NO NO NO NO NO.
    no no,not.

Something wrong for Otumfuo to use the
    presidential jet,we cann,t serve two
    masters or kill two birds with one
    stone. Never.

• CORNEY 10 years ago

Ayariga does not know what he is talking about, if he was that smart he would have refused to comment on the issue until he gets his fact right but as usual with Ghanaian politicians he answered the question and did it in a w ...

• OKOE 10 years ago

PLEASE, MR. PRESIDENT DO NOT GO THERE BECAUSE IF YOU DID, YOU WILL PUT YOUR OFFICE IN A CORNER YOU WILL FIND IT DIFFICULT
    TO WIGGLE IN. WILL YOU ALLOW ALL PROMINENT CHIEFS TO START USING THE PRESIDENT'S JET? TO THER CHIEFS, ...

• kk 10 years ago

A decorated donkey is still an ass! The mafioso's are in charge and they have all our taxes under their care, what do u expect them to do! excavate a bottomless pit of debts that can never be refilled. create, loot and share ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

To me, it is a Presidential Jet and no way any other person can use it unless travelling with the President. So can my village chief also use the Presidential Jet?

• YB 10 years ago

Abongo, I'm sure your village chief can also use the presidential jet, except that he may not feel bold to ask when he considers his status in Ghana. I'm sure the President considered it an honour to lend Otumfuo the use of t ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

This is not a matter of making so much out of nothing. It is all about freedom of expression. Thanks a lot for my village chief will be going to Canada soon. So I will tell him to see the President to lend him the Presidentia ...

• YB 10 years ago

It's not only about freedom of speech but also about using that right to the advantage of the suffering folks in your village. Any way, I wish your chief safe journey on his visit to Canada.

• Wayo 10 years ago

You are a funny comentators.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

What honor are you talking about? Talk sense on this forum. Very soon, Asantehene will ask to sit on the Prez stool. What about that.

• to the public about his jet 10 years ago

ayariga be careful you need to answer this

• Say the TRUTH 10 years ago

IF THIS STORY IS TRUE THEN IT IS RALLY BAD JUDGMENT ON THE SIDE OF PRESIDENT MAHAMA & ASANTEHENE ESPECIALLY JUST AFTER THE SC JUDGMENT AND MOST IMPORTANT - THE PRESIDENTIAL JET SHOULD NOT BE GIVEN A TRADITIONAL CHIEF'S USAGE ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Eh! This Asantehene like scandals!

• Ato Whyte 10 years ago

Hm-m-m-m.

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

What was the "absolute necessity"duties did the Asantehene use the Presidential jet for and who foot the cost of its use?

• Yaw k 10 years ago

The president said one time in his campaign tour that Ghanians had a short memory and I thought he was insane but d formally known as wise as king Solomon has proof him right.
    To fly with press Mahama in d middle of press b ...

• Woman's wisdom 10 years ago

NDC is a foolish party so everything they do is unwise. Just listen to what ayarega is saying. For Asantehene to go on his private trip with a presidential jet is good? What a fool? Why can't the Asantenene purchase his own t ...

• Jeff, UK 10 years ago

Asantehene can afford to buy a jet but doesn't need that much. It is not out of place to put it at the disposal of the Asante monarch. The queen uses anything that the prime minister of Britain has access to so why not otumfu ...

• Goodluck 10 years ago

Fool, think about it and come to your useless senses, is KWAKU DUAH equivalent to the Queen? What useless human being wasting air and food on earth? You are better dead than alive with your mentality. What is your real name?

• Agonahene 10 years ago

You speak out of hatred and envy so you failed to see the wisdom in Jeff's comments. With your mentality you will continue to be poor (you seem very poor judging from your comments). You see, your stupid rantings and envy won ...

• Otumfour 10 years ago

KWAKU DUAH is not equivalent to the QUUEEN Period. The queen is not a tribal leader in England.

• Agonahene 10 years ago

Hahahaha. You are very pathetic. So your only worry is that Otumfuo is a tribal leader, eh? You see what envy and inferiority complex can do? I think you really need prayers.

• MANYHIA OBSERVER 10 years ago

THIS ASANTEHENE IS VERY CORRUPT AND CRIMINAL. HE IS IN FACT A CON ARTIST. HE EVEN HAD HANDS IN THE PLANE-LOAD OF SEIZED GOLD IN TURKEY. THIS SO-CALLED CHIEF IS A DISGRACE TO THE GOLDEN STOOL AND SHOULD BE REMOVED IMMEDIATELY. ...

• Captain Mosquito, Netherlands 10 years ago

Why does the Asantehene allow himself to be used in such a way !!

• ghanaba 10 years ago

gadidi gadim- this mahaha hmmm GOD should push 4 years very close

• Okoro Yamutu 10 years ago

So is Ayariga saying any fool or drunkard can use the Presidential jet? It is a security risk to the nation for the president to allow any one to use the presidential jet. Is the presidential jet now being turned into NDC fly ...

• OSEI OPOKU... 10 years ago

THE PALACE IS BLIND,...

• papillon 10 years ago

Who cares if Otumfuo wants to go by a private yacht?

• frank 10 years ago

let hope it is not true. it will be bad for my king

• WORRIED 10 years ago

ENOUGH OF THESE NONSENSE! WHY IS IT TAGGED "PRESIDENTIAL JET"? IS ASANTEHENE A CO-PRESIDENT OF GHANA? IS HE THE ONLY GREAT AND WISE KING IN GHANA? WHERE IS JJ RAWLINGS NOW? WHAT FURTHER EVIDENCE DO WE NEED ON THE ALLEGED BRIB ...

• papa pee. 10 years ago

Mr Minister there are somethings you don't have to do it. it will be unwise for (Obama)to send air-force one down here to s Africa just to pick up mandela to u.s.a what for?

• ABU 10 years ago

Ayariga come again,everything is wrong with the Asantihene's use of the presidential jet.WITH ALL WHAT THE ASANTI MONARCHY IS RAKING IN MONTHLY IN THE FORM OF ROYALTIES MUST NEVER BE ALLOWED TO LIVE OF THE POOR TAX PAYERS SW ...

• Ben 10 years ago

For once ALL Ashantis are defending the indefensible. Hmm, asem be ba da bi!

• Wallance 10 years ago

May the next president nana addo use it on his way back. the jet fly to uk to bring him after his rest

• PLUMBER 10 years ago

If Nana Addo humbles himself enough to request, Mahama as I know him would only be more than willing to release the craft. That will be the beginning of good things for Ghana. The problem is with the hawks and extremist elem ...

• Queen 10 years ago

Why should the tax payers' money be used to buy aviation fuel and cover other costs of flying the presidential jet for a private trip of a monarch when there are other pressing national development needs which require saving ...

• vico 10 years ago

The next story will be Otumfuo with Cocaine on board. It's still fresh in our memory when Tagoo and Kofi Boakye's cocaine scandal hit town when his name was caught on the tape.

• fidelity 10 years ago

Ayariga, you are a big fool you do not deserve to hold a position to lead this country in any circumstnace. people like you don't care whether the country loose or gain but people like you, on ...

• Shokolokobangoshay 10 years ago

This is a slippery road. Come again Ayariga. All amanhene and fiagawo will also demand to use the plane. And not only that presidential cars etc. No wonder the NPP is asking to be part of the nominating process of EC memb ...

• KO 10 years ago

If Ayaiga is right then why not Akufo Addo, Samia, Paa Kwesi Nduom, Ayaricough et al?

• Conventional Youth. 10 years ago

When will Ghana start assembling air / space crafts. B|

• Ericus-Ericus 10 years ago

Please, try to always get your facts right before you make public statement. Why are you always in a hurry to talk without being sure.
    "Hon. Mahama Ayariga, however, added that he is yet to confirm whether Otumfuo Osei Tutu ...

• Brain 10 years ago

Hahahahahahahahahaha

• Kwadwo 10 years ago

The question is how much was the trip and who footed the bill? A friend of mine owns a Gulstream jet and the cost of aviation fuel for a two hour flight could be in excess of $5000. The Presidential jet, larger than the a Gul ...

• Ericus-Ericus 10 years ago

Mahama will continue to suffer in the hands of his incompetent ministers.

• RSI 10 years ago

Nonsense! The bribery allegation is true.

• John 10 years ago

The Flagstaff house will soon go.What a government we have,full of lies,corruption etc

• STRAIGHT TALK 10 years ago

It is sad the way laws are enforced in Ghana. This is absolute lawlessness!!

• zigi Karikari 10 years ago

OYEWAOOO!!!

• liv 10 years ago

Can the queen mothers, the Odikoros and their family also use the presidential jet? And who do you contact to find out if the jet is available. Just asking.

• oyinasky 10 years ago

Liv you made my day

• PAA FII 10 years ago

You haven't even had confirmation about this news and are saying this? So it means as a Govt Spokes person or whoever you are, you always act before you think or what. Ei Ghanaians lets be very very careful.

• Mynona 10 years ago

2 different People. One is the President and Queen of Britain and the other is the King of the Ashante Kingdom. period

• osi 10 years ago

Certinly Mr Ayarga you should have ben the first to see something wrong with that because the King of Bolga the Bolga-naba or the King of Gonja wil never have such an oportunity to use the presidential jet.The whole world wou ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A man traveling by plane was in urgent need of a restroom
    facility, but each time he tried, it was occupied. The flight
    attendant, aware of his predicament, suggested he use the
    attendants Ladies Room but cautioned him no ...

• DARK DAYS IN GHANA 10 years ago

princewilly is the best standup comedian on Ghanaweb. He will win any contest hands down. This one is the most hilarious.I can't stop laughing.

• Question Your Mentality 10 years ago

There you go. You wash my back I wash yours. Draw

• peace 10 years ago

another pepeni shut up

• Mahmoud 10 years ago

There is everything wrong with him using the presidential jet. Asantis should have advised him before others.

• Wayo 10 years ago

It´s not problem if President allow Asantehene to use Presidential jet.Because without Peepefuo no Assnte Kingdom.Without Asantes no Ghana.

• Obrakatu 10 years ago

According to Merriam Webster dictionary a public officer is a person who has been legally elected or appointed to office and who exercises governmental functions. Thus, Otumfuo Osei Tutu is not a public officer as he was not ...

• Kwasi 10 years ago

Both of you are most idiot silly goats.

• Santo 10 years ago

It is only in Ghana that such a thing will happen.

Mahama must know better. This is the same way Ghana Airways was run down.

If this story is true it must not happen again.

• kolhberg 10 years ago

a sign of the concocted bribery of the judges.

• Daavi 10 years ago

All this goes to prove the sensible people of Ghana have never voted for this senseless NDC party.

• OTUMFUO ASANTEHENE+++ 10 years ago

Even mahama from bole bamboi can use ghana's money, why not the one whose land contains all the money?

• Araba 10 years ago

With the media inundated with the bribery case, Otumfuo should have known better than use that jet at this time. He's just confirming that the bribery case is true. This is a simple common sense thing. Does he have counselors ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

I can understand your point and I would be disappointed if he had used the presidential plane. However, the story says, he used it on September 5th, while the said allegation about helping Mahama to win the petition was writt ...

• YAW ARHIN KOKUVIE 10 years ago

LETS START PREPARING FOR THE WORST O. CAN YOU BELIEVE THIS STUPID MAHAMA GAVE OUT A PLANE HE DID NOT EVEN BUT. IF I HAD THE LEAST OPPORTUNITY I WILL THROW A BOMB AT MAHAMA. WE HAVE ENOUGH TIME TO DO THAT BEFORE THE NEXT ELECT ...

• YAW ARHIN KOKUVIE 10 years ago

ITS A SHAME MOST OF MAHAMA'S ARE SO, SO STUPID. LOOKS LIKE MAHAMA WANT TO IMPORT BOOMING HERE FOR HIS STUPID THINGS. SOME ONE HAS TO SACRIFICE AND WE ARE READY TO DO JUST THAT. WE HAVE THE PATIENCE TO WAIT AND HIT HARD WHERE ...

• Assinman Ba, Columbus,Ohio 10 years ago

As a Minister of State do you want to
    tell us that, some people in the society are more important than others? Mind you,a position is not a possession and before you come our publicly to reverse this foolish remarks,we will ...

• kotoo,germany 10 years ago

People should know the difference between Queen of England and a tribal King of Ashanti.He is only a King of Ashanti and not Ghana.

• KOKOLIKO 10 years ago

Politics has taken the better reasoning part of these bush Ashantis, shame on the Ashantis.

• Joseph 10 years ago

This is a foolish explanation. Can all the other chiefs in Ghana also use the presidential jet? This is strange. Now it seems those talking about his role in the bribe saga may have some points. What is this nonsense?

• moses 10 years ago

our leaders are not helping us and i hv nothing to do with this wicked leaders we hv in ghana here,i will neva support NDC OR NPP i dnt care who win or lose they are all fighting to gain for they family only fuck u NDC AND NP ...