You are here: HomeNews2013 09 13Article 285711

Pope Francis: You don’t have to believe in God to go to heaven

Read Comments Comments (133)

Finally the npp listen and we have ken agyapong a true Akan prince soon to be King , now all that we need is for Sir John to be his running mate and we are set for peace or war . we shall fight in the hills and in the valleys ...

• LARYEAH 10 years ago

FOOLISH IDIOT, YOU SCUM OF ON EARTH!

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

OBVIOUSLY THE TRUE COLOURS OF THE CATHOLIC RELIGION IS COMING OUT.
    THE TRUTH IS THOSE WHO DELIGENTLY SEEK GOD WILL FIND HIM. CONCERNING SEXUALITY HAS THE POPE READ THE BOOK OF ROMANS CHAPTER ONE? GOD'S WORD CANNOTBE CORRUPTE ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

We are now confused Pope.

• Homesense 10 years ago

Nicho, don't be confused, for it's all playing out to what is to be.

'...more meaningful dialogue with the world.”, when Jesus cautions Christians not to love the world?

It's all part of the scheme to hand Christianit ...

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

...IF U WANT TO GO TO HEAVEN

• NDC 10 years ago

Theft has been "decriminalised" and is now official and validated in Ghana.

Government officials are now free to issue blank checks for payment to promote corruption in the Country. It is approved by the Supreme Court of Gh ...

• CHILD OF GOD 10 years ago

THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT ALL THE GREAT MASTERS PREACHED- THE BUDDHA, JESUS THE CHRIST, CONFUCIUS AND MOHAMMED. IT IS THE BASIC FOUNDATION OF ALL RELIGIONS. JUST BE A GOOD PERSON, THAT;S IT. THE POPE IS 100% RIGHT. BEING A CHRISTI ...

• NDC 10 years ago

Theft has been "decriminalised" and is now official and validated in Ghana..

Government officials are now free to issue blank checks for payment to promote corruption in the Country. It is approved by the Supreme Court of G ...

• KB 10 years ago

'Dis one be Homesense ankasa.'Tell 'em again!! The prophecy surely and steadily is unfolding...Christians beware!!

• Ike 10 years ago

Ladies and gentlemen, I want to use this medium to caution everyone reading this article if its source is really authentic to be vey mindful of religious leaders. Jesus had to battle with religious leaders with his attempt to ...

• Mark Entwistle 10 years ago

The ape thinks he knows more than the white man who brought him the religion. You africans are so obtuse that you are the only race that is being mentally enslaved today.

• Rans F 10 years ago

If there is any race that is mentally enslaved today, then it is the race that has lost its sense of sexuality, spirituality and morality! The next time you decide to insult a whole Continent, think about that madness called ...

• kwame 10 years ago

you are such a stupid ass hole. I am a proud African living in the US with whites working under my command. Obama is black, civilization started in Africa (Egypt). All that you know is racial comments and discrimination.
    Eve ...

• ASEM DA ONIPA SO 10 years ago

MARK ENTWISTLE OR WHATEVER YOUR NAME IS, WHICH PEOPLE ARE YOU REFERRING TO AS APES? ARE YOU OUT OF YOUR MIND? I DO NOT KNOW WHERE YOU COME FROM - BUT YOU ARE A VERY STUPID FOOL INDEED. CERTAIN PEOPLE ARE FIGHTING A VERY GOOD ...

• ANNOYED!! 10 years ago

fuck off you proboscis monkey and orangutan!! What do you mean by the only race mentally enslaved today? Insulting entire race? Where did you learn your civilization, including your religions, from? You should be ashamed of y ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

That church is evil and this is not me insulting them. They have a nasty history in Europe.Responsible for thousands of deaths and in the past they actually and I mean literally had a couple of devil worshipers being popes. ...

• King Dukodonu 10 years ago

John 16:9 Jesus said " The world's sin is that it refuses to believe in me".
    John 14:6 Jesus said "I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one come to the Father except through me."

Pope Francis is more than a Muslim. R ...

• GAWUKO 10 years ago

I am not God but Heaven's gate may be closed to you!

• King George 10 years ago

what has this topic got to do with politics. please you are off track. try to be objective and sincere and don't let politics kill your Christianity or islam.

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 10 years ago

can we trust people like this? What does the Bible says before someone inherit the kingdom of God? I rest my case!

• readthejesuitoathonline 10 years ago

Wow! this first Jesuit pope is giving the world a chance to learn some of the rudiments of esoteric Catholicism.

"You ask me if the God of the Christians forgives those who don’t believe and who don’t seek the faith. I ...

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

This Pope will help the Church go back to its roots ;true faith.

• Shimon shantose 10 years ago

Loved this.

• brakwesi 10 years ago

this man of sin keep on making mockery of the gosple of our Lord and saviour Jesus Christ. Initially supporting homosexuals and now denying the supremancy of our Lord Jesus Christ. May the God have mercy on us.

• Nii 10 years ago

The Pope has no authority of his own. If he has any, it is derived from the Bible. He cannot add nor subtract anything from it. With all due respect, can he provide biblical support for what he is saying? In any case, what ab ...

• kululu 10 years ago

The bible is a more complex book than it seems. Many people think they read and understand all its content but I doubt. fact is the Bible is purely not a subject of academics. If I understand the pope well, all he is saying i ...

• agyapa 10 years ago

Bro, your argument seems more reasonable.Actually God being the sovereign Father can make a way where there is no way.The bible is surely a complex book to interpret.

• Satcmo 10 years ago

Your conscience may tell you to believe in your own righteousness to get you into heaven and forever be with God, but do you have the spirit of God which is the seal of God which He has earmarked for those who come to him th ...

• OGYAM 10 years ago

IS GOD UP THERE LISTENING? WHY DO I HAVE TO MAKE AN OFFERING AT CHURCH IF EVERYBODY WILL BE BLESSED EVEN IF THEY DON'T PAY TITHES? DO I HAVE TO GO TO CHURCH IF THIEVES AND MURDERERS ARE GOING TO HEAVEN ANYWAY?

• Asuo 10 years ago

God is not Atukuba.Don't count on your offering.

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

Jesus died penniless and the good thing about HEAVEN is you don't have to pay entry fee. HEAVEN IS FREE!Guess what! God’s mercy has no limits. Free your mind and the rest will follow.

• VOLUNTORY CONTRIBUTOR. 10 years ago

"Very! very! I say onto you," unless a man be born again, he will never see the kingdom of God Almighty". said the saviour and the Messiah of Life. Jesus Christ.

The deceivers will come and change the truth to dissuade pe ...

Very soon, the desert locking nations can make a buck by selling sand duns to flooding nations and their beaches.They should make those are not taking free of charge.

Everything the Lord God made has it used when we know t ...

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

Volu! You can tell that to the marines. Take your gender bias and your archaic stone age Bible discrimination elsewhere. You are simply an unsavoury gender bigot.

The Bible as you know today was assembled in constantinopl ...

That is what you think. The assembled it and when they are talking about the content they are full of errors.

I read what the catholics has allowed to be in the bible and that is different from what they are saying. Today ...

The move to Chelsea reunites him with a manager with whom he has a special relationship, the pair having won the Champions League together at Inter in 2010.
    "He is more than a coach for me. He is a man who talks the language ...

• King Dukodonu 10 years ago

Believe in the Gospel of Jesus Christ, but not the gospel of Roman Catholic. If you know the history of Roman Catholic, the pronouncement of Pope Francis will not surprise you.Roman Catholic Church preaches their own gospel, ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 10 years ago

You think making an offering at church will buy you your ticket to heaven even if it does exist?

There is no physical place called heaven. Heaven or hell is a state of mind. There are a lot of people living in hell right h ...

• jyga 10 years ago

Have you asked yourself how you came to this world, and traced it all the way to the first man and woman and how they also came to this world? Where did this planet and others and everything living on them come into existence ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

Heaven is the life you live on earth. Bill Gates enjoys all the finnest things the world has to offer and if that is not heaven, then nothing is. Lazy minded poor people will never enjoy heaven. You make the HEAVEN that you t ...

• LARYEAH 10 years ago

GOD IS GOD! HE WHO SPEAKS BLASPHEMOUSLY SHALL FACE THE LIGHTENING ROD OF THE HOLY ONE, THE ONLY POTENTATE ON HIGH.

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

If the all the nonesense in the so called holy books are to be taken seriously, then fools like you should have been struck dead long ago. You are a disgrace to the god that created the neanderthals!!!!!

• LARYEAH 10 years ago

GOD WILL PUNISH YOU!

• Ken Ntiamoa 10 years ago

Man, you just disobeyed God. Don't judge so thou shalt not be judged. So, says the book in which you believe.

Ken

• LARYEAH 10 years ago

I JUST SPOKE THE TRUTH. I DO NOT JUDGE, "JUDGEMENT IS OF THE LORD". SO TAKE HEART AND DO THE WORK OF GOD.

• jahlove 10 years ago

Unless a man is born again, he will never enter the Kingdom of God; .... Jesus Christ, the son of God!

• tohugu 10 years ago

There was a rich man who faired sumptuously in the book of Luke. He really had everything he needed in life like Bill Gates, Kuffuor et al. There was at the same time another man
    at the same time called Lazarus who faired ex ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

The holy books are full of make believe stories for a particular people in the Middle East. It has nothing to do with Black Africans, Latinos, Hindus or Asians. You are the genesis of mankind and you are older than the bible ...

• tohugu 10 years ago

The white man is also subjected to the demands of the Bible you are castigating. Talking about using ones brains, is that what will keep you from meeting the common destiny that awaits us all?Nietzsche, that German philosophe ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

Using fear, violence and intimidation has been the hall mark of all the Abrahamic religions. Pope John Paul died from brain problems. Death awaits all and by using a fake god to defraud others will not change a thing. Jesus w ...

• tohugu 10 years ago

You can call it fear,violence,intimidation,subjugation and whatever name your brain(god) tells you. You can even choose to blaspheme; it will not change the fact that God is sovereign,Jesus Christ was conceived of God's Holy ...

• Prince 10 years ago

Our God in us should be reflected upon how we treat each other in a more loving and positive ways as we are His children and image.How can you tell me you know God but you don't love your brother or fellow being(His creation. ...

• SISI 10 years ago

DUMB COMMENT!

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

As usual, the weak minded and the lazy believe in miracles from a mythical god instead of basing his views on facts. Black Africans are neither Christians nor Moslems. We are older than those two adulterated jewish religions! ...

• tohugu 10 years ago

Please I am black, I am from the country called Ghana, I am a Christian and I am blessed to be one.
    Oh the joy that daily floods my soul and the peace that exceeds all understanding that envelopes me like a thick cloud every ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

You were made a Christian in the 16th century not by angels from heaven by Caucasian racial supremacist conquerors, looters and criminals who went around the globe to impose their fake and adulterated version of judaism. You ...

• tohugu 10 years ago

The white Supremacist that you talk about will also be judged. Please do not inteprete their actions as ones God sanctioned.I am glad that my God lives in sky but wait a minute, does He really. He actually lives in my heart b ...

• Satcmo 10 years ago

The fool has said in his heart, there is no God. They know God but they deliberately deny His existence. Everything that He created proves His Greatness and power. Your denial would not change His deity nor your unbelief chan ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

These chew and pour from the so called holy books are pack of contradictory phrases and tactics meant to frighten you into submitting to their false teachings and fabricated make-believe stories which are designed to make you ...

• Bernard kumi 10 years ago

Gay and looking for the Lord? My humble advice would be to reflect deeply on the story of Sodom and Gomorah before seeking divine audience. Jehovah speaks to us through most of the biblical stories. Such stories have been ...

• ABU 10 years ago

The myth is finally broken,however holier than thou Ghanaian christians will forcefully come out with self serving individual explainations to create the impressions that christiandom was discovered in Ghana and christianity ...

• WEAKLION 10 years ago

Most of the Pope are gay .

• tomtom 10 years ago

His statements are very thought provoking, but the thought of God and his being, I a thought process that no one has control of. So, let's give him the chance to make his case.

• Before & After 10 years ago

LIARS, WOLVES in Sheep skin.

• 4 Year Old 10 years ago

This Pope is not a Christian. He doesn't know who Christ is and why He came. We must all pray for the pope for understanding

• Great 10 years ago

Christians should be very careful with this Pope Francis, he is up to something, Please pick up your Bible and study yourself for your own good.

• Defender 10 years ago

thanks dear, workout your own salvation with fear and trembling

• ro 10 years ago

which part of the pope's quote stated that those who don't believe in God will go to heaven? They should keep on tickling themselves. By the way, the pope is not an authority unto himself. the scripture has the last say.

• sluggard man 10 years ago

Oh Good God,have mercy on this man who calls himself POPE.Where did the Pope read this stuff from.Blunder Galore..thats how far the world has finally come to.Even gays and unbelievers to go to HEAVEN? Then whats the use of Ch ...

• ABU 10 years ago

Christianity is how you make of or believe,your opinion belongs exclusively to you as well as your interpretation of the bible so is the pope entitled to his as he feels it.Of cause gays and unbelievers of christianity will a ...

• ABU 10 years ago

In July,and i quote"Francis signalled a more progressive attitude on sexuality,asking"If someone is gay and is looking for the Lord.who i am to judge him?.SO Ghanaian gay hater whether christians or whatsoever spare our gay a ...

• PAPA 10 years ago

FRAUD US GROUP OF COMPANIES IS A FRAUD STAY OFF

• Thomson 10 years ago

By the way, who gives life? Are the gay and the lesbian not alive? Indeed the Mercy of GOD has no limitation.

• Samson 10 years ago

This is an irresponsible statement from the pope. Why should he reduce everything to conscience? What is conscience? Conscience is certainly not GOD. Please pope dont reduce GOD to the level of human conscience. If you as Pop ...

• Pancho 10 years ago

The most wicked people i have come across in this world were all so called 'Born Again Christians,. The liberal Christians always are willing to help out their friends in need.
    Have you ever been given Shitor or Gari, in se ...

• Oburonewewu 10 years ago

You made me laugh so loud people in the office think i'm mad.
    Charley, those Chrifey boys in secondary school never shared their food with anybody but if you get a visit from home, they always want to join in.If you end up w ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

Is this Pope a serious person at all, he made me sick and I can see the reason why Catholic priests are molesting children

• Cisco 10 years ago

The fact that one does not believe in God does not mean that one is evil. Most of the nicest people on this earth do not believe in God and also 99% of the evil things being done in this world are done in the name of religion ...

• OB 10 years ago

Read the article again. The title is false. In case you do not want to read again, I have what he said below:

God’s mercy has no limits IF you go to him with a sincere and contrite heart. The issue for those who do not ...

• kwabena, london 10 years ago

why should journalist twist words from people and make headline titles which bear no semblance to what was said. the pope never mentioned the process of going to heaven. Indeed our god is a merciful God and he will forgive an ...

• OB 10 years ago

What is more troubling is the inability of readers to see the disconnection between the title and the content.

• Abongo 10 years ago

I can see evil in the face of this pope. Now, I understand why Catholic Priests are sexsually abusing children in the Catholic Church

• joe bee 10 years ago

Do this Pope really read the Bible ,he must be dismiss ,he is disgracing the whole roman churches.

• WEAKLION 10 years ago

Ghanaians do worship God than any advance country yet we are poor WHY ?Almost 80% Ghanaians today believe God will build Ghana for them and 75% of Ghana 21st century still believe depending on Whites will solve our country pr ...

• Louis 10 years ago

I disagree with the Pope on this topic. What does the bible say about unbelievers? Does it say, those who do not believe in God should only obey their conscience? What is happening in our world today? The Pope in his earlier ...

• EMMANUEL SEMANU 10 years ago

I DON'T REALLY KNOW AND CAN'T REALLY TELL,BUT IF GOD REALLY CALLED U N U ARE DIVERTING,PLEASE GO ON TRACK,IF GOD NEVA CALLED, N U RR AFTER FAME OR POWER,PLS REPENT.FOR ALL THINGS SHALL PASS AND GOD WILL FACE THOSE WHO MAKE FA ...

• KOJO 10 years ago

the pope is 100% right. the bible talks about doing right and shunning wrong. conscience also involves examining one's actions in the context of right and wrong.

• 4 Year Old 10 years ago

The Pope needs to be reeducated in the scriptures. He has left the teachings of Jesus, Peter, Paul, James the First Pastor of the church in Jerusalem.

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

....and this is what the Jehova Witnesses say..!! Are we talking of the Christian God ?? What about the African God ?? Are they IDENTICAL ??
    Africans KNEW GOD BEFORE the whites brought us Christianity.

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

May be the Pope forgotto add, Heaven and Hell were invented by theologians to make God appear like a terrorist. Hopefully, now the Church will begin to disown such silly notions as endtimes and Jesus coming from the clouds.

• Wallance 10 years ago

people who love sin and pleasure go to catholic church which is satan santuary. Christ death is vain if this satan doctrine is true

• Dallas 10 years ago

I wish the whole world could realize the truth about real intention of these people. In fact, they're are agents of the illuminati disguised as christians. They do not believe in the holy bible neither do they have the intent ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

WHERE is Heaven ??Any help ??

• Asabi Maliki 10 years ago

Questions to ponder:

1.Where will the pope be during the punitive phase of God's judgment (hell fire)?

2.Will the pope help the unbeliever who confessed his sins without faith in Christ to be allowed in heaven?

3.Wha ...

• south africa 10 years ago

Its better to be get prepared. Do you want to know much about this POPE? Then read the HOLY BOOK( THE BIBLE) DANIEL and REVELATION, and you'll really know where this pope is coming from.

• Quashigah 10 years ago

Are you the Pope, and you talt like this. i think you are gay

• SKY 10 years ago

I think the Pope is talking about non believers of Jesus Christ but not God almighty.There are people who don't believe Jesus Christ is the only way a man can have access to the kingdom of heaven.So base on those people's per ...

• Teacher Dibebi, Tain. 10 years ago

Jah's will must be done.....Baphomets in charge,
    what are we seeing and hearing? No wonder it took so many hours to get the pope, and even the smoke was black at first before they manipulated it to get him.
    U need not to be ...

• mamuna t totobisa 10 years ago

Did I hear the Pope say among others that ...."that God’s mercy has no limits if you go to him with a sincere and contrite heart. The issue for those who do not believe in God is to obey their conscience....." So if my cons ...

• AUSTRALIA 10 years ago

THE TRUTH IS THERE IS NO HEAVEN,HELL OR GOD ANYWHERE IN THE UNIVERSE AND I WANT MY AFRICAN BROTHERS TO DISSUADE THEMSELVES FROM THIS WHITEMANS MENTAL SLAVERY.PLEASE BROTHERS WORK SMART TO BUILD THE HEAVEN YOU ARE CRAVING FOR ...

• Paapatee 10 years ago

It's time that believers should watchout
    for the Antichrist. He will oppose and will exalt himself over everything that is called God or is worshiped so that he set himself up in God's temple, proclaiming himself to be GOD.

• Gawuga 10 years ago

Heaven or hell is in your mind, simple

• Gawuga 10 years ago

Hope no confusion in heaven to send it to hell

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

HAVE ALL THE MEN AND WOMEN OF GOD, SELF PROCLAIMNED BISHOPS,PROPHETS,PASTORS,PRIESTS AND APOSTELS IN GHANA TAKEN NOTE OF THE POPES MESSAGE.

• owoahene 10 years ago

concerning prevailing gay issues,the pope admits that he has no power to judge but why does he claim to have the power to forgive?we must be watchful.

• Adorkenu 10 years ago

Hi Pope Francis.
    Please support your point with a scripture or two.

• Dr Poku 10 years ago

Forget about all this fake popes who use church name and steal africa land and lets care about Gods word!

• Korsah 10 years ago

Pope, pls Jesus said 'except a man be born again he cannot enter into the kingdom of God. John 3:3

• Ekong Albert 10 years ago

Can Pope Francis show the true christians where he gets such revelation? Quite contrary to (Heb.11:6)

• yaa dua 10 years ago

A confused pope. Galatians 5:19. John 3:5

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

By the soul, and the proportion and given to it
    And its enlightenment as to its rights and its wrongs
    Truly he succeeds that purifies it,
    And he fails that corrupts it!
    Quran (Ash-Shams or The Sun)91:7-10

• PAPALE 10 years ago

DON/T READ YOUR BIBLE AND SEEK THE KINGDOM OF HEAVEN FIRST, THE ASK THE LORD TO HELP YOU TO UNDERSTAND THE SCRIPTURES THROUGH THE HOLY SPIRIT RATHER FOLLOW THIS YE YE MAN (POPE FRANCIS) BY THE TIME THE ANGLES BEGIN TO CALL NA ...

• Mohammed Ibrahim 10 years ago

God and Only God can Pardon any Person for his or her Sins.

• Mensah 10 years ago

That's the problem with Catholicism; Without Christ you can't go to heaven. That's what the bible teaches. Either you believe the word of God in the bible or you don't. No following of your conscience will take you to heaven.

• KB 10 years ago

When out of ignorance,guys like you blurt out such nonsense I begin to wonder if they ever learnt anything other than by rote in school.If you can talk like that in this day and age then you must be some different animal fro ...

• kb 10 years ago

are we talking about GOD or about CHRIST here. so lets say I believe in an omnipotent GOD but not CHRIST, and live my conscience, then according to the pope I have some hope. but I don't think I have any hope if I don't eve ...

• STRAIGHT TALK 10 years ago

This pope has been seeking cheap popularity ever since he assumed the papacy. He is a man-pleaser; he strays from sound biblical teachings!! He is lost!!!!! Jesus is the way, the truth and the life. No way, if you don't belie ...

• Nelson 10 years ago

The biggest joke that has ever hit the world of Christianity is this this talk. Fame is a sure root to hell fire. Faith in Christ is the only requirement for Heaven. Please my father pope. Take another look, a critical one at ...

• Lafuz 10 years ago

Only God knowns what to do

• KOBIE 10 years ago

SACRILEDGIOUS!!! Is he the keeper of Heaven gate? The 'anti-christ' we all know!!

• Bro Godwin Aniteye 10 years ago

The End time is here so false prophets are on rampage to deceive the very elect so look out least you fall prey.Check this scripture:Mathew 24:24 If you want to go to heaven then disregard the words of the Pope.
    The ticket ...

• Kwaku Gloenawo 10 years ago

When Jesus The Christ said you cannot come unto the father but throgh me, all he meant was if you do not live as I preach, you will not be saved. It didn't mean just saying I believe in Jesus but living as a devil will bring ...

• Bro Godwin Aniteye 10 years ago

The only ticket to heaven is to believe in God and His Son John 3:18 says,"He that believeth on him is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotte ...

• Tanko 10 years ago

I doubt he reads the Bible. That is his opinion and I know he is very wrong.

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFUL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• Kwame Attah 10 years ago

If you don't believe in God, then you don't have to think about heaven not to talk of going to heave. Heaven belongs to God not God belong to heaven.

• GHANABA 10 years ago

THIS SHOWS THE CATHOLIC CHURCH DOES NOT BELIEVE IN JESUS CHRIST AND HIS TEACHINGS. UNBELIEVERS WILL NOT SEE GOD SO THEY WILL NOT GO TO HEAVEN SIMPLE.

• Kofi Peprah 10 years ago

There is no logic in this! Those who do not beleive in God do not believe in heaven or hell, anyway!
    Instead of defending the FAITh this Pope is making a mockery of himself.

• Nelson 10 years ago

This is a bad news for the Christian faith. God be our helper.

• Nelson, Sokode 10 years ago

I think Gal 1:8 is God's sure answer to such comments. No insults please.

• Kwesi, Frankfruit 10 years ago

You catch the revelation.

• Bruce Lee 10 years ago

Great discernment to help people get the truth at the same time live at peace. I guess you are a pastor.