You are here: HomeNews2013 09 13Article 285709

Signatures don’t matter – Justice Gbadegbe

Read Comments Comments (85)

• Otumfour 10 years ago

Even the Asahntihene is against them

• Ben 10 years ago

He does consultancy work for several NDC affiliate organizations. He's really in need of money. I'm not surprised he came out with this corrupt judgement. He will be punished twice, one here and the other there.

• kwaku Antwi 10 years ago

You too a SINNER out of contrl. Do not pass judgement if you are not whole. Mine is only reactive and tflectiv.

• KKK 10 years ago

NINCOMPOOPS LIKE SIR JOHN MUST READ WELL WELL.

• AMUAKUA 10 years ago

ASO WONANE NAWODE WONSA ASANE NA ADAA EBESO WONSA NE WANO ABOMNO YEBEHWE AFE NKYEBA WATE MODEA MONTWENE

• Frimpong, USA 10 years ago

Write English, fool. Nobody cares about your dialect.

• RJ 10 years ago

WHAT DOES THAT RUBBISH MEAN?

• ghana 10 years ago

???...what the fuck r u sayn? speak english or get back to the hole u crawled out of...

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

How can you read his judgement and fail to see the legal and logical wisdom therein! Great interpretation by Justice Gbadegbe. That can stand scrutiny for generations.

• Kwabena Twum 10 years ago

So far this is the best interpretation I have come across even though Daily Guide trying to put a spin on it. If you read the topic without the content, you will be missing out.

• Kosoko 10 years ago

this come 2nd to Justice Adinhyira. Her argument was based on searching for the truth, common sense and logic. She was also very assertive

• Daz Kony 10 years ago

What a brilliant piece of judgement?Full of commonsense,logic, integrity and not clouded by bias be it political or tribal. This judge is one of the bright spots on the panel especially when there is so much skepticism and al ...

• LARYEAH 10 years ago

WO MAAME TWE!

• Anti sir nhoJ 10 years ago

impolite asanti man

• LARYEAH 10 years ago

WOMAAME TWE BA!

• Kojo T 10 years ago

This is another Knock out punch to NPP. Itis not so much the Asantehene but " we the people" . The people have voted after being verified and you say Oh the presiding afficer forgot to sign. cancel the votes so I win. great b ...

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

Marvellous! Kwame Nkrumah's Ghana has come of age. Thank heavens for such fine minds! God bless our homeland Ghana. We still face forward!

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

What fine mind? You think we are fools to succumb to these long and foolish interpretations? What is so hard about not duplicating pink sheets and presiding officer checking for accuracy and signing their proper documents? No ...

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

Today I am lenient so I will flip you the bird. Are you with me?!

Osei Tawiah, you primitive brute form the BUSH; don't you ever stealthily stray into my radar. See, education is a waste for your underexposed ilk; you lawl ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 10 years ago

You see how you are behaving? Swine!

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 10 years ago

Asantehene is corrupt like NDC man and besides he is also part of you. Do you know that?

• apalahala from valhala 10 years ago

if ur asantehene is corrupt & NDC, then NDC is smart and asante kingdom has a problem

• WHAT A STUPID JUDGE ++ 10 years ago

I can believe a judge will issue this statement. If signature is not important to you as a judge, I just don't know how to value your thinking. These are some of the stupid African old men who make wars happen. Every document ...

• Manu 10 years ago

If these are the judges on our supreme court thn we have no future. One wonders which law school they attended. Their failure to interprete the constitution correctly is sad.

• frankloy 10 years ago

can you quote which article of the constitution he has not interpreted correctly?

• NANA KUFUOR 10 years ago

@Manu!!!at least the Lord Justice attended a law school. Which one did your friend Nana Addict attend? And you yourself do not understand English. Nobody is going to annul my vote to allow looters who sold a whole ship and po ...

• FIFI 10 years ago

Tofiakwa.

• NA 10 years ago

Superb! This a great legal brain of applying law and economics.

• kofi-london 10 years ago

Loser. Where is the logic of punishing voters for the mistakes of presiding officers. Take the political blikers off to see properly or are u daft and stupid??

• British citizen 10 years ago

massa sort your paperless status and shut up

• frankloy 10 years ago

It is interesting how many people on here can read but not understand. Logic has to be taught in schools for a better Ghana.

• wiseman 10 years ago

what a ugly judge with a stupid judgement God will punish you and your family

• HONESTY 10 years ago

Who is more ugly than Kwadwo Owusu Afriyiand Nana Akufo Addo? the Kokkoase Kurasefo

• kwaku Antwi 10 years ago

The voter's vote is supreme, and cannot be annuled because somebody failed to do what he was supposed to do. We cannot disenfranchise people based on this flimsy and stupid constitutional error.

• Kwaku Ampofo 10 years ago

KWAKU how do you prove that somebody failed to do what he was supposed to do. If you fail to do what you're "supposed to do", what is the name for such action. You see you need to pay attention to what you write. If the polli ...

• KOO 10 years ago

I can not belief that a judge can come to this conclusion on signatures.If one takes a cheque to the bank with his name on it,it is still mandatory to sign it else it will not be paid.These judged are pretending that electio ...

• ODIKRO 10 years ago

SO IF THERE WAS NO SIGNATURE AT KIBI or BANTAMA, WOULD JAKE ASK FOR THE VOTES TO BE GIVEN TO MAHAMA? AND WHAT WILL THE PEOPLE IN KIBI or BANTAMA SAY? NOW, THAT IS THE QUESTION. YOU HAVE AN ANSWER? LET US HEAR IT.

• Koforidua Flowers (fr) 10 years ago

THANK YOU.THEN THERE IS NO NEED FOR ANY ELECTION REFORMS.THE PEOPLE HAD JUST BEEN FULLY ADVICED FOR ANY OUTSTANDING ELECTIONS IN THE COUNTRY.GBADEGBE KNOWS BEST.

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

When poverty sways the logic and thinking of a man of justice, then Ghana is not even worth living in. Are written contracts valid without signatures in law?

• AGYABRONI 10 years ago

Law is law. We do not advocate for judicial activism. We say to the justices 'interpret the law for us' but not what you think about interpreting the law or not, this is what will happen.We want affirmation.Confirmation. Cons ...

• frankloy 10 years ago

Are you capable of following his logic?

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

That's why I know there was none

• Otumfour 10 years ago

Ashanti idiot

• LoK 10 years ago

Thank you. The constitutional right to vote cannot under any circumstances be undermined by technicalities that had zero substantive effect on the poll results.

Akuffo Addo's desire to win by nullifying votes is the most u ...

• ADWOA 10 years ago

GOD WILL JUDGE YOUR JUDGEMENT ALSO GBADEGBE. REMEMBER GOD IS STANDING BY!

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

Nonsense,I am surprised that a Supreme Court Judge woulds make such suggestion.If signatures of election officers at the end of their duties do not matter it wouldn't be part of the article in the constitution. Justice Gbadeg ...

• Ako 10 years ago

complete illiterate.

• GHANAVIA 10 years ago

Something is seriously wrong with the reasoning of the Ghanaian Intellect.
    How can Gbadegbe reason this way?
    Are we cursed or just plain stupid?

• kofi atta 10 years ago

Did this guy sign his judgement.....coz it wasnt necessary for him to sign it.....look at this LOOF.......

• Wisdom 10 years ago

Wisdom is working.

• Mr T 10 years ago

useless judge gbadegbe

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

No. You it's a big lie. He is another great one on the bench. We need such a wise man at the SC. Not the corrupt type who interpreted the constitution as if if it were written with iron. being open-minded on issues is the be ...

• Truthteller 10 years ago

It is rather unfortunate that SOME people think that they understand and can interpret the laws of the land better than the trained lawyers whose job it is to do so.

Please try to read these judgements, by the Supreme Cou ...

• Ama 10 years ago

These judgments means pink sheets are useless. Bometric machines useless, Signature useless so what else. Next time on what basis is the presiding officers going to announce elections- Balot papers? Some will carry ther own b ...

• Hefty 10 years ago

This guy is a fool. He talked nonsense on over-voting. 1+1=2. If you have 10 registered voters and the number of ballots handed out to voters at the poll is 6, but you counted 8 votes in the box, there is obviously 2 over vot ...

• kwam 10 years ago

I don not know why the NPP relied solely on pink sheet without requesting for recount of all affected ballots? it does not make sense to depend on the face of pink sheets to determine over voting. what if the figures were ent ...

• OYIRIFI AMPASACHI 10 years ago

Did gbadegbe sign this judgement report? Since he thinks signatures
    are not important, probably he did not. If he didn't, then how do we know this is HIS report? Please do not let us waste time on this!!!!!

• Woman's wisdom 10 years ago

All explanations given by Gbadegbe is a clear indication of hypocracy and criminality. The Ayigwe community have always been referred to as thieves and criminals so no matter where they go, irrespective of their status and ag ...

• Don 10 years ago

I think gbadegbe is a criminal like afari gyan

• Jentiakro 10 years ago

Mother Ghana is crying b'cos no truth in her so called judiciary, Gbadegbe is it the way u classified signature? Where is our learned people. Shame

• KWAME, BELGIUM 10 years ago

The NPP and her members are really at the wrong end reading this but their insults will not help.

• Nana Agyemang 10 years ago

Very good decision

• Kwame 10 years ago

God save Ghana from this blood suckers, they think they know every thing , fools

• Kwaku Ampofo 10 years ago

After going through this judge's opinion, I'm wondering whether anybody can win election fraud in Ghana from now on. Not that anybody has won one before, but this precedence is going to make it harder. Reading portions of his ...

• Jake 10 years ago

Read it again pal. If this does not make sense to you, then you have a long way to go to cleanse your mind.
    You are the one with twisted mind and a warped ego

• frankloy 10 years ago

Some people can read but lack the intellectual capacity to follow an argument

• frankloy 10 years ago

You found it difficult because you failed to follow his logic. If you had bothered to read maybe it would have made sense. Not having read it, you have no right to question his judgement.

• erik 10 years ago

yamutuoooo

• kwam 10 years ago

I have always been thinking that what if a Presiding officer is deliberately planted by the a party in the strong hold of an opponent who intentionally refuses to sign the pink sheet?

• John @ 10 years ago

Justice Gbadegbe ia a very intelligent man. I like his reasoning.
    Thank you justice Gbadegbe.

• OFIE 10 years ago

I thought NPP are full of lawyers who can interprate the constitution to their followers. In law, we consider the objective or whet the text seek to achieve and that is why Ghana has adopted Modern Peposive Approach(MOPA)
    Re ...

• Pee 10 years ago

NDC Stooge

• Kwobia,Toronto 10 years ago

This Verdict caught the NPP stealing an election through the back door.Elections are won at the polling station,not in the court room.

• Ohene. 10 years ago

27 ziro.

• Kobla Lovi 10 years ago

Eye asem Ghana so where are we heeding towards with people like Atuguba as a prisiding judge infact judgement day will be brutal for people like Atuguba.

• see 10 years ago

eeeeeeeeeeehhhhhhhh

• Kwaku Acpoli 10 years ago

Who knows whether the NPP issued instructions to its members who were supervising elements to ignore signing the pink sheets in NDC strongholds for the purpose of this SC action?

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

Yes, I agree. Another very great SC Justice. God bless you too.

• corrupt mahama juju killed mills 10 years ago

JSS IS AN DCC CAN ONLY THINK AS SMALL BOYS,IDIOTS,USELESS THIEFS

• Pancho 10 years ago

Signatures matters when you write and check to be cashed at the bank it needs to be signed before the bank will honour it-hello you talk about common sense then as a Judge you need to have one but because you want a Northerne ...

• Unus Yahaya u/w/r 10 years ago

Oh, mother Ghana in serious trouble!. It is so sad that in the 21st. Century a SC judge can simply allow his thinking be clouded and bolted by money,a paltry sum, for Gbadegbe to shamelessly say that signatures don't matter, ...

• Ekuma 10 years ago

The Supreme Court Justices were very kind to the NPP , reading from the reasonable judgement of Justice Gbadegbe .

They shd have ruled 9-0 in all 6 bogus pleadings in the New 'Patriotic' Party nonsense petition .
    Waste ...

• Law Speaks 10 years ago

Nonsigning did not change figures.

• JUDGE RIGHT 10 years ago

He is already a disgrace.History will never forgive him.

• zongo president 10 years ago

I cant believe this, for judge to say signatures don't matter ,mr Gbadegde you need to go back to school,smething is wrong with you.you sick in the head, corrupt judge,