You are here: HomeNews2013 09 12Article 285594

Manhyia chiefs meet over Otumfuo bribery allegation

Read Comments Comments (116)

• Kofi Kyei 10 years ago

While most Ashantis live in shanty towns and slums the Asantehene has bought a mansion in London for 4 million pounds. Where did he get the mo money from?

Why does he sell the people's gold whenever he travels without acco ...

• TerrblY Spe cifiC 10 years ago

I AM NOT HAPPY WITH MY LEADER'S LOVE AFFAIR WITH THOSE WHO OPENLY HATE ASHANTIS. HE CAN'T SAY HE CANNOT SEE WHAT THE NDC DOES TO ASHANTIS

• Ghanaian By Plebiscite 10 years ago

Kumasi is on a downward spiral, and this is the issue that grabs the attention of these Manhyia kingpins?

What a nation!

• Nsem fon Ahi 10 years ago

The Ashanti Region is the backbone of NPP not the Eastern Region (Kwahu and Akim). This is the truth that must be told and should be clearly spoken. Any attempt to impugn the Asantehene will add salt in an injury to the NPP. ...

• kwasi Darko 10 years ago

this king is too much involve in controverses,from drug cases to this? lets wait.time will tell.

• IDRIS PACAS 10 years ago

There's no smokeless fire, but any suspected wrongdoing on the part of the Otumfuo is thrown way as if the Manhyia is above the laws of Ghana. You mention cocaine case, sex scandals and lately electoral petition and Otumfuo's ...

Finally the npp listen and we have ken agyapong a true Akan price soon to be King , now all that we need is for Sir John to be his running mate and we are set for peace or war . we shall fight in the hills and in the valleys ...

• ALPHA 10 years ago

PEPENI IS FARE BETER THEN YOU AND YOUR FUKING FAMILY .

instead of stealing go to school you hopeless swine dog of a bastard mother

• J.J. LAWRENCE 10 years ago

THERE ARE NO MORE SUITABLE WORDS LEFT TO DESCRIBE THE SHAMEFULLNESS AND GREEDINESS OF KWAKU DUA, THE SO-CALLED KING OF THE ASHANTI KINGDOM, BUT GOD'S TIME IS THE BEST!

• etuo mu yesum 10 years ago

look here again theno human you are to
    say kwaku dua shame untoyou nana kwaku dua is200percent better than your chief you respecti9 can see you do not have chief in you tribethink mthriced before you commentin any statement.

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

"Etuo mu yesum",no one is here to impugn the intergrity of the Asantehene in public. But have you ever sat and asked yourself why is he always involved himself in somany questionable scandals and controversies ever since he c ...

• GHANA IN TROUBLE 10 years ago

TRULY, HE IS A DAMN DISGRACE TO EVERY GHANAIAN. JUST TELL HIM TO FUCK OFF, SHIT KING

wow.There is no smoke without fire, fom tagoe to this? i believe in time ,it always tells.

kwaku,i also belive in time.lets wait.it will speak and those who ae refusing to hear will hear it loud and clear when it comes.from tagoe to this? no smoke without fire

• Osei, Kumasi 10 years ago

You stupid Akyem K)tib)t) can you compare your galamsy chief with our king. Stupid fool

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

This is why the Asantehene will always put us in shame,because whenever he involved himself in these dispicable behaviours he gets FOOLS like you,OSEI and others to defend him.

• Oppong 10 years ago

Osei, WHO CARES ABOUT YOUR KING, BABOON

• chuck wayo -WASHINGTON, DC 10 years ago

IF NOTHING IS DONE TO STEM THIS IMMINENT CATASTROPHE TO ASANTEMAN, K. DUA WILL TARNISH THE GOLDEN STOOL, AND IT WILL TAKE MANY YEARS TO RESUCITATE THE PRESITGEOUS STOOL. NO ASANTE KING IN RECENT MEMORY HAS BEEN AS CONTROVERSI ...

• Anokye 10 years ago

With all your horns, who gave you the stool?

• Quashigah 10 years ago

The Mamponghene chairing the meeting is worse than Asantehene himself when it comes to grabing money. All of them are rogues

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Dont mind that idiot and wate your time for this trevial things.

• Kojo T 10 years ago

NPP will scandalize anything, anybody if you do not tow their line

• SIMPA CARPENTER 10 years ago

Exactly my observation too!

• KWAKU POKU 10 years ago

THESE NPP BIGOTS ARE CAPABLE OF EVERY DIRTY GAME CONCEIVABLE UNDER THE SUN IN THEIR BID TO WIN POLITICAL POWER. IF YOU DO NOT MAKE PUBLIC STATEMENT IN SUPPORT THEIR COURSE, YOU ARE BRANDED AND CALLED NAMES. TO THEIR SHALLOW A ...

NPP would have accuse a king from volta region if they really wanted to make their case acceptable and without truth.think.

• Sammy 10 years ago

This can't be trusted. He continually disgraces himself and his clueless impoverished asante subjects are held captives. Will all the donations to his Educational Fund, ashanti region remains one of the poor performing region ...

• Sammy 10 years ago

....This man can't be trusted.........With all the donations..

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Everyone knows Nana Addo even wishes the Asnatehene dead. No wonder he has masterminded this wicked lie.

• Okomfour Amanee 10 years ago

The price of free press. Anybody can write anything about anyone and go aboutreely. We must bear in mind that God knows what each person on earth has done and at the appropriate time give judgement. Nothing on earth done said ...

• AZONTO LAND 10 years ago

Can you imagine such scandal befalling the Queen of England ; for the Ashanti people this is the biggest scandal of all time ; this Kweku Dua should be destooled until further investigation into such scandal ; of course the m ...

• kofi USA 10 years ago

We must pay respect for Asantehene. How can he bribe the Supreme Court. let's stop conspiring among one another. It's not the right thing to do!

• chuck wayo -WASHINGTON, DC 10 years ago

PLEASE HONORABLE MANYIA CHIEFS, DON'T COVER UP FOR THIS GOON, HE IS SULLYING THE GREAT GOLDEN STOOL. K. DUA'S TENURE HAS BEEN RIDLED WITH CHAOS, CALAMITIES AND CONSTANT EMBARRASSMENTS TO ASANTEMAN. HE IS NOT FIT TO OCCUPY TH ...

• asase ba 10 years ago

Why is he so fat? He sets a terrible example for all Ashantis.

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Every ruler is an enemy to his subjects by cat calls and fame names

• SHAKARA 10 years ago

CAN U PROF ANY OF THE WILD ALLEGATIONS YOU ARE MAKING AGAINST THE OTUMFO
    ASANTEHENE

• m .m Hamburg 10 years ago

Oohh NPP ,another alegation.
    Mahama bribe chief justice Jusus Christ and
    God b4 he win de court case. shame on akuffo tiatia addo.

AS A PURE ASANTE, I AM NOT HAPPY WITH MY LEADER'S LOVE AFFAIR WITH THOSE WHO OPENLY HATE ASANTES. I KNOW HE IS NOT BLIND TO WHAT HAS BEEN GOING ON IN THE LAST FOUR DECADES

• Oscar 10 years ago

DOES UR BEING A PURE ASHANTI MAKE U ANY SUPER HUMAN? U ARE NOBODY BUT AS ORDINARY AS ANY HUMAN BEING.TRIBALISM IS DEVILISH AND UNGODLY. GOD MADE NO MISTAKE CREATING DIFFERENT TRIBES AND NATIONS. ONLY PRIMITIVES AND UNINFORMED ...

• ????????? (9)????????? 10 years ago

This crook Kweku Dua is capable to do that. He is the only Ashanti leader who never support his people. This man only think for his stomach. A geedy and selfish chief.

I MAY NOT GO AS FAR AS CALLING HIM NAMES. BUT HE IS CULPABLE. HIS TRACK RECORD POINTS TO THAT. SOMEONE SHOULD INVESTIGATE HIS BACKGROUND CORRECTLY TO SEE IF HE IS A TRUE ASHANTI

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

It's all coming out now. Some of us were wondering why the Otumfuor kept mute about the Fulanis killing us, and the Chinese polluting our waters and shooting at us. Yet he is quick to jump in and broker deals when it comes to ...

• Nana Kuntunkununku 10 years ago

Over to you Nana Osei Tawiah II. You knew it all so you should answer your own questions. These are the wonderful Ashanti kingdom ready to kill itself. Bravo

• Kwame Apofo 10 years ago

We shall teach these Akyems a big lesson.There is no day an Akyem would ever ascend to the high office of the land.

• ODENEHO KASAFADIE DWASO 10 years ago

WOKA NKWASEASEM PAPA .ABOABIBA. DO YOU KNOW THE MEANING .AKYEM...WE ARE THE MOST SUPERIOR OF THE LAND. READ HISTORY AND COME BACK OF YOUR SENSES

• Asase Aban 10 years ago

The Asante-Akyems can never rule Ghana and I told you to watch this space. Now the beer is brewing, watch out for open display of crude fanatics. Eba a na ey3. Just watch as naked and racist drama unfolds. It is entirely poss ...

He did not broker for peace when the Fulanis were killing us in Agogo. He did not intervene when NDC sent the Chinese to kill our waters with Galamsey. But he always intervene whenever the NDC is about to lose. Have we Ashant ...

• dani 10 years ago

Some how he is smart because he know where power lies!

So you think you have power? Hahahaha, enjoy it now because it won't last for long. Politics aside there are other ways of killing the cat, so says your own Kwabena Agyei.

• Kwadzo 10 years ago

YOU PEOPLE COME OUT & SAY SAME ABOUT GOD BECAUSE NOT EVEN GOD WILL YOU BE SATISFIED WITH.

• NDC MAN, London 10 years ago

No, the Ashantis will definitely comb you out and ensure that your dirty and stupid mouth is eventually silenced. This is clearly what the NDC has disappointedly failed to do.

• NKRUMAH 10 years ago

The Ashantis were sold out a long time ago, when Prempeh the first begged the british to set free from jail in the Seychelles Island. You Ashantis have to open your blind eyes, to see the ditch that you are in. Your so called ...

• Pat 10 years ago

our respected chief should not be linked to such a think

• OTCHERE DARKO 10 years ago

This is a serious allegation bothering on Ghana's national democracy!

Ghanaians want to know where the "allegation" started from before it got to be published by the Free Press.

well said.

• Lorgo Ligri 10 years ago

Nananom, please do the right thing. Remember when Nana was enstooled, he said in his first speech, "...if when you come to me, you come with the truth. If it's not the truth, don't come. " Let the truth prevail and deal squa ...

who is kofi usa.
    even your without name because you do not
    know whereyou comesusa is a country not
    a name

comes

• Lorgo Ligri 10 years ago

Etuo mu yesum is not a name either. Can you read and understand english? You see a heading and automatically form a self conceived meaning.

• ankrahniihenry@yahoo.com 10 years ago

OTUMFUO IS AN HONOURABLE KING AND LET LEAVE HIS NAME HIS NAME IN THIS. POLITICIAN SHOULD HELP DEVELOP GHANA.
    T

• BIG PAPA 10 years ago

AS A YOUNG GHANAIAN ,I ADMIRE TRADITIONAL RULERS WHO SEEK THE WELFARE OF THEIR PEOPLE.....HOWEVER SOME OF THEM ARE USING OUR PATIENCE AS WEAKNESS.....TODAY THE NPP ARE ACCUSING ASANTEHENE........EEI..HMMMM IF THE CROCODILES C ...

• OGYEATUO,NANA BOATENG 10 years ago

IT'S NOT TRUE.ASANTEHENE IS ABOVE SUCH CORRUPT PRACTICES.

I BELIEVE AND TRUST THE KING EVEN AS A FANTE(ME)

Ghanaian politics becoming dirtier by the day it's not worth it!!!!!!!

• WEREKU 10 years ago

IF THIS ALLEGATION IS NOT TRUE PLS SWEAR YOUR STOOL

• baba abu 10 years ago

If we continue on this path of dragging our Chiefs into this Political mess, soon we shall not have a country. What does the Asantehene need from any political party that he does not have already? How does any one expect this ...

• Ekuma 10 years ago

I am so disappointed in this bribery nonsense against the Asantehene .

So Akuffo Addo has lost so Asantehene shd be blamed ? NPP is not satisfied with the burning of the markets that Ghanaians will pinkish them in 2016 .

• messy 10 years ago

what is going on

• kirk osei 10 years ago

Befoer u came to be Ashantehene u did not hav good histor at all.That aside the following is wat u did(1)u were involved in cocain case (2) u con Ashantis with the education (3) u bought $2million house in uk with annual runn ...

• big ben spain 10 years ago

if otumfuo pretenderwhy he no take them to court he send puple to beet them

• Kofi Ghana 10 years ago

Cocoaine

gold

bribery!

Mese Hmm!

• YIADOM 10 years ago

OTUMFUO, WHY DO YOU ALLOWED YOUR SELF FOR PEOPLE TO INSULT YOU? PLS ABSTAIN YOURSELF FROM POLITICS AND CONCENTRATE ON YOUR KINGDOM

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

How

• Nene Adekerker 10 years ago

Nana Please stop entertaining these NDC visitors to your Palace. They are dangerous. I want you to live like Kofi Annan

• Nana Buabeng 10 years ago

This unbridled journalism will destroy Ghana.

• Sophia 10 years ago

Let forget what has past and move on in life

• dennis awah 10 years ago

come into contact with akuffo addo and you will get insulted, ridiculed, given a crude nickname etc, etc etc as has happened to mahama, sc judges, etc etc. What a pathetic person???

• O. Bosompra-Gyeabuor 10 years ago

There are those who are hell bent on casting insinuations on our king and attempting to soil His Majestic reputation. What benefit is it to the Asantehene to influence the verdict that the SC Justices rendered apart from the ...

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

"We shall defend Our King with our very lives if need be". I am an Ashanti but who is "we" referring to? Please exclude me from the stupid state of mind. What has he done for Ashantiman for me to die for him? That is an unthi ...

Sir BE BOLD, with all due respect and all protocol observed, you should have noted that I was referring the "WE" to those who have the same mindset as I do and not your ilk. You are entitled to your views and judgement of the ...

• WISDOM 10 years ago

God is the only one to judge the judge. Why this king has his name in every bad news in Ghana? If this is not true then those behind must be dealt with ruthlessly. But if it is true then may the LORD judge him properly

Wisdom, thank you. I agree with you, in fact if the allegations are true, then May the Lord judge him accordingly, but even so, he would need our prayers because we pray to God to give our leaders wisdom, strength and good ju ...

• ODENEHO KASAFADIE DWASO 10 years ago

FEAR HUMAN BEING AND SAVE YOUR LIFE. ETIRI NNYE BREFERE NA YEPUEMU AHWE.OTUMFOUR OYAA YE OBEYE ,EFIRISE, WOYE BI PEN, WOKOTON GOLD, WO ABROKYIRE BEFEFAA NA NO WO GHANA HA .BLACKMAN WITH BLACK SENSE

• ab 10 years ago

this boy called asantehene cannot influence any of the judges.who at all is he,....this is a pure ashanti propaganda meant to hype this old thief,infact he cannot and has no hand in the verdict,com chop ma yaassss

ab or whoever, welcome to the "Argumentum ad captadum vulgus" simpletons. Your insults may influence you and your ilk's attempt at historiography but not the facts of history.

your tribe were sold to the ashantis
    and your people became slaves.hence your
    you so worried by nana kwaku duaaka
    otumfo

• Yomo Beggar 10 years ago

Asantehene should not waste his time on these devil's disciples in the Ghanaian society. They have nothing constructive to offer our beloved country, Ghana.

• kk 10 years ago

If its true the he is not a good king

• 696969696969 10 years ago

DO NOT CONDONE AND CONNIVE ON THS PARTICULAR CASE BECAUSE THERE IS NO SMOKE WITHOUT FIRE. HHMM IT IS TIME WE MUST CALL A SPADE A SPADE. IT ACTUALLY HAPPENED. CAN THEY EXPLAIN THE 4 HOUR DELAY OF THE COURT SITTING ON THAT PART ...

• 696969696969 10 years ago

CAN I A PIG BE CLEAN FOR AT LEAST 1 HOUR? NO. A PIG IS ALWAYS A PIG. SHIT CARRIERS, TOWN SWEEPERS, WATCHMEN AND KAYAYO WILL ALWAYS BE THE SAME AND FOREVER REMAIN THE SAME.IN FACT IF YOU HAVE EVER BEEN TO THE NORTHERN AND VOLT ...

• K.B.HOLLAND 10 years ago

BROTHER WE ARE ALL ASHANTIS BUT I PRESUME YOU WITHDRAW YOUR COMMENTS, THEY ARE ALSO A HUMAN BEING SO TRY TO BE IN HUMAN. WE REAL ASHANTIS ARE MIXED WITH THE NORTHERNERS AS YOU THE STORY OF ASHANTIS.

who easantehene is rouge cant you shoe any evidence to the stupid comment youmade nonsense,

iwii still advise youto be very carefull
    on your statementin this ghana web ok bye
    e

• SLEEP WITH DOGS CATCH BUGS 10 years ago

HOW CAN YOU MIX WITH EWES AND NTAAFUO ? NANA ?

• nana anokye 10 years ago

otumfour osei tutu is a disgrace to ashantis,,.he is the worst king ashantis has ever had,.he should bow his head in shame,.we dont need him..!!!!!

Yes, they judge without hard evidence, just by insinuations, hearsay outright libelous statements. All borne out of hatred and disrespect for age old institutions and tradition. Sometimes I wonder if people understand or even ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 10 years ago

Atta
    Please email me

kenntiamoa@yahoo.com

Kwaku

• ayt 10 years ago

eiii enti eye campaign!!

• k k 10 years ago

king of colk king ofjerwills king of bribbery

• Proud Pepeman. 10 years ago

POLITICS IS A DIRTY GAME. IF YOU ARE A CHIEF AND YOU GET INVOLVED IN IT, BE SURE THAT SOME MUD WILL SOON CLING TO YOU. OUR CHIEFS WHO GET INVOLVED IN POLITICS SHOULD NOT THINK THAT THEY CAN STAY CLEAN FROM THE FALLOUT OF POLI ...

• Mr Okuru Kumah. S Africa 10 years ago

Do not under any circumstances insult Otumfuo.

• Jawatabs 10 years ago

NPP are a disgrace. Accusing the Asantehene will not change the verdict. Ghanaians have accepted it and are moving on. Why can't they accept it. It shows the length they would go to win power at ll cost with this nonsense of ...

• Asem Beba 10 years ago

Asantehene Nana I know you are a peace
    maker, but for this I am 100% behind you take them to court. Please do not rest on this issue, you do not need any deliberation they have to prove their source.

• K.B.HOLLAND 10 years ago

otumfo do whatever is best for you, you have choosing the best party and the best club hearts of oak

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 10 years ago

Read Article
    Comment: AKUFO ADDO EXPLAIN $10 MILLION ISSUE !
    Author:
    BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ.
    Date:
    2013-09-12 06:12:56
    Comment to:
    ‘Akufo-Addo is NPP’s surest bet in 2016’

• JOSEPH ATTAH-MENSAH A.K.A. CAESAR 10 years ago

ASANTEMAN SHOULD NOT LIE DOWN AND TAKE THIS INSULT TO THE OTUMFOU. ALL SONS AND DAUGHTHERS OF ASANTEMAN SHOULD PUT RESOURCES TOGETHER TO MAKE SURE THE PEPERTRATORS OF THIS ALLEGATION ARE CHALLENGED IN COURT WITH A LAW SUIT HU ...

• Nana Ware - London 10 years ago

This cocaine dealer has brought unimaginable disgrace to this historically exalted kingdom of Asante. He was acquiescently quick in yielding to the bidding of this pompous self righteous dictator of a Jerry Rawlings to troop ...

• APUTUGA 10 years ago

Ashantis vote the way they vote not because of the influence of asantehene but because they feel and know their interests would best be protected under a U.P tradition party.After all this Ashanti chief is a known ndc sympat ...

• ONYAME NIPA (Man Of God) USA 10 years ago

CRIMINALS

• Kofi Lawyer 10 years ago

Don't be fooled by the saying the "wentu Asantehene"(you can't destool Asantehene) This is Not true. If you are not sure read history of Ashanti. Asantehene can be destooled. He is only the head of Oyoku Abusua not Bretuo nor ...

• Odikro 10 years ago

Nana, the scandals are too many.

• Barima 10 years ago

All the "Obrepons" (Paramount Chiefs) are scared of Asantehene. Who will set the "coup" in motion?. Not me because I have been receiving bribes and enstooling sub chiefs and worse of all I have been selling lands and paedophi ...

• danger 10 years ago

the crook asantehene again.no wonder

• Oppong Twumasi 10 years ago

IS THE ASANTEHENE INTERFERING TO MUCH? The Asantehenes meddling in political and chiftancy affairs is setting a very dangerous precedent. According to GHANAS legal system, chiefs have to distance themselves from politics. But ...

• Adu Twum 10 years ago

Bribery is nothing new in Ghana. Everyone does so why all the fuss about our Great King? Let's think about the future and leave this nonsense alone

• Kwame Twumasi 10 years ago

What makes Kwaku DUA a great king? Has he fought wars and won, expanded the ASANTE Region or reduced poverty among the ASANTES? You blind asante, open your eyes.

• boka 10 years ago

Hope you investigate both side with clear mind

• from obesco spain 10 years ago

If this allegation is ture, then Nana Asante Hene is no more chief in Ashanti.