You are here: HomeNews2013 09 12Article 285589

Ghana: Top Seed - Cape Verde: Out -Tunisia In

Read Comments Comments (106)

• esi atta 10 years ago

Kwesi Appiah needs good scouting on these teams

• Odiasembone 10 years ago

Ok but this seeding is deceptive. I am expecting Egypt to qualify; Cameroon, Senegal.. Do you really want to meet these teams??Funny

• nicman@atl 10 years ago

This means the four-time African champions
    Ghana are ranked 24th in the world and 2nd on the African continent
    The Black Stars are ranked among the top five on the continent alongside Nigeria, Ivory Coast, Algeria and Cape ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

This young dude is a potentially dangerous player. He is fast, accurate and strong. Kwasi Appiah must train this dude as a striker.

• esi atta 10 years ago

ghana is sadly tribalized by party politics..

• BENYIWAH DOE(Rat Poison) 10 years ago

esi atta u are a fool.

• Sammy the Sheriff 10 years ago

What has his tribe got to do with his skills? Dirty fools and whores like you are the reason Ghana is tribalistic because you see tribe where you should be looking at People and judging them accordingly wuthout tribal lenses ...

• Gaseous Jupiter! USA!!!! 10 years ago

Expect at least two under dogs out of the 10 to make it to WCup. I Tip Ethiopia and Burkina Faso!!

• esi atta 10 years ago

your need some etiquette classes...bushman...how long have you lived in Accra? you should have acquired some polish by osmosis by now....bushhead!!

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Mother fucker gay idiot !!! An Ewe man claiming to be Akan woman. Fool, if you were Akan, you would know that not only Ashantis own the name Acheampong. Kwasia, go to Kwahu, Akyem, Bono and Akuapem and you will see people wit ...

• Aduanaba 10 years ago

Can't wait to see how the Ghanaian defense comport against Aristide Bance, Ghana,s worst nightmare again lol

Go Bance Go Get Them Boy !!!

• OZA 10 years ago

Esi Atta, Please, allow me to make corrections here: Osmosis simply, is movement of solutes/molecules from LOW concentration to HIGH concentration through a semi-permeable membrane. If you expected your "bushman" to get "poli ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

The dude must first prove himself at the under 23.

• Africanus 10 years ago

Do we havae an active U23?

• JOB LINKS 10 years ago

DRIVERS, OFFIC ECLERKS, HOUSEHELPS.
    020 222 9363
    057 400 3936.

• Slimzay **Unshakable Shaker** 10 years ago

Where is Joe Tex? Why do you think nicman@atl included cape Verde among the top ranks? The answer is simple. That was the information posted and we started commenting on it. The topic was changed and the wording as well, as s ...

• Slimzay@The Unshakable Shaker 10 years ago

There is no deception in these seedings. According to the matches played, including AFCON tournaments, friendly, and qualifying matches, fropm three years ago till today, this is exactly how each team is to be ranked. Have yo ...

• Ato 10 years ago

Cape Verde has been sanctioned for fielding an unqualified player during the Tunisa-Cape Verde game, so in their place Tunisia qualified and seeded among the top 5 in Africa.

• Joe Tex 10 years ago

Slimzay you are talking about deception but you are among those group of people who are always giving false reports and information on this website. Why did you deceived Ghanaians about the seedings. Just to advise you check ...

Joe Tex if you will have the time to check the time I posted my commented, you will realized that the fifa rankings for this month wasn't posted. I visited there severally and even it was there I discovered that Cape Verde ha ...

• kingadjei 10 years ago

while i agree that teams should be awarded 3points when opponents breach fifa rules, i dont agree that the teams should be awarded 3goals. I think awarding 3goals can affect the other teams within the group, who hasnt breache ...

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

1. Partially-good idea.
    However, it's strange that you think the 3 goals must go but the 3 points must be kept.
    Why?

Don't the 3 points also affect the innocent teams in the group?
    Don't you know how close Zambia came t ...

• Redd 10 years ago

I agree with you diamond.This rule is nonsensical and will be exploited by non performing teams all the time.The best thing will be to let the offender forfeit the point but dont award it to the losing team either.In such a c ...

• Orbit Int 10 years ago

Participate in up-coming Agriculture seminar,conference & workshop in Australia,South Africa and Turkey.

TOPICS
    Farming Management
    Modern Farming Technology
    Attracting Investment In Farming
    Agric Business Through H ...

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

ARE OUR ELDERS USELESS?
    MAYELE AA, DESAILLY VS MAHAMA?
    WHAT DO THESE 2 HAVE IN COMMON?
    FOLKS, WAT ARE THE COMMONALITIES BETWEEN BOTH PERSONS HERE? AA AND MAHAMA ARE BLESSED WITH A TAXABLE POPULATION, STAR PLAYERS, AMAZING ...

• victor apreku sellasie 10 years ago

It is now clear that the friendly with Japan was for reasons other than Fifa ranking

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

Isn't it funny how our leaders thought we could just go over to Yokohama with reserves, run over Japan on the cheap, and then get a boost in our FIFA ranking?

You reap what you sow.
    We told the FA not to go.

They shoul ...

It explains why US, Uruguay, Colombia, etc are all teams we can beat but are all ahead of us on the ranking table. Why do you think Spain is always at the top, it is because they take every game seriously and they prepare ver ...

• T T 10 years ago

Cape Verde sanctioned; Tunisia through to final FIFA World Cup qualifying round

• The Stallion 10 years ago

It is rather Congo who are protesting to FIFA. Even that has not been resolved yet.
    Congo's case appears to be strong because the player in question played for Mali U20, but did not get clearance from FIFA to change national ...

• Ben 10 years ago

(ARTICLE FROM FIFA WEBSITE IT IS TRUE )
    By means of a telephone conference, the FIFA Disciplinary Committee has today taken a decision to sanction the Cape Verdean Football Association (FCF) for fielding an ineligible player ...

• Anokwale 10 years ago

Are you saying that Congo may be awarded three points and thus Burkina will be second and Congo will be first instead?

• Africanus 10 years ago

Tunisia in... Cape Verde out. Tunisia is Seeded

• Proudly African 10 years ago

CAPE VERDE OUT!!!.If it is the other way round, i know Fifa will keep Silent. FiFa Stinks

Congo is also well-placed to go through.
    Oh poor Africa, are the football administrators sleeping?

• Proudly African 10 years ago

The Affected nations caused their own problem. The Coach,Technical Crew and the country football administrators should know a player that is ineligible to play. Hardly will some one hear this type of news in Europe. Sorry Cap ...

I just read it too. This means, the top seeding has changed. Burkina Faso, is a must, going to join the top five seediners.

Here is how the new seedings will become and I am 100% of this fact.

Top Seeds

Ivory Coast

• Anokwale 10 years ago

This fielding of unauthorized players is just ridiculous. It is only happening in CAF. The African relax on the job attitude is leading to this. Poor Cape Verde. To be honest, they really had a chance. I could see them be ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Please check your facts well. Tunisia is higher than Burkina Faso in the FIFA rankings.

Rasheed, you are right, however, Tunisia wasn't higher ranked when the information was given concerning the Cape Verde sanctioned. It was later the new ranking was posted. This means when I posted my comment and when Ghanafa. ...

• Africanus 10 years ago

Tunisia ranks higher than Burkina. So Tunisia will be seeded.

• FUFUO DADESEN 10 years ago

CAPE VERDE RUBBED THEMSELVES

• Joe Tex 10 years ago

SLimzay, where did you get your facts? Who told those are the 5 seeds. You have already been misleading Ghanaians with your own imagined seedings telling us those are the official ones. Instead of correcting yourself, you hav ...

If you have a little knowledge of the game, you would have checked fifa rankings at the time I posted my comment and the time fifa posted the latest rankings before you even say a word against me on this issue. The time diffe ...

• Atta 10 years ago

Tunisia will be seeded which means that the unseeded teams according to last August ranking remain in Pot 2. GH watch out and be ready to face any team now.

Exactly as I stated.

Egypt, I wish, should be our next opponent. Having Egypt would be less headach than pairing us with Burkina Faso. Burkina plays more physical than tactical. We do not need such a team to drain us down, ...

Congo has just protested to FIFA that Niger used a player born in Mali in their world cup game. FIFA is looking into it before Monday to decide whether to make Congo the group winner or not.

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Buddy, start preparing for Cameroun.

FIFA has rejected Congo's protest. The statement said that an official of FIFA did endorse the nationality switch of the player in question.

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Hahahahaha, it seems you go shitting in your pants, when you hear of Burkina Faso. Do not worry, we not going to be eliminated by Burkina Faso, but rather Cameroun.

It's only Egypt that's the hard nut to crack in the second group. We will hack any country there in pieces!

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

But Slimzay prefers Egypt to any team in the group.Anyway start preparing for Cameroun

• OGA yum yum 10 years ago

the stars must learn how to beat these teams

• VOLUNTORY CONTRIBUTOR. 10 years ago

I feel your pain, I don't want the black star to meet Burkina Faso either. Neighboring countries are hard to beat.They seem to be the same and they are not afraid a bit. They can inflict atrocious shock on the best of teams.

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

Didn't you hear that Nigeria beat them 4-1 on Sunday? So why cant we beat them with our current team? As far as I am concerned without sounding overconfident, we will beat any of the unseeded teams with the returnees of Essie ...

• Light 10 years ago

Nigeria's FIRST team made up of Shola Ameobi and Emenike beat Burkina Faso's B team that exluded all of their AFCON players. I wouldnt take Burkina Faso lightly they did beat the Black stars less than a year ago to make it t ...

We cannot even meet them anyway. Cape Verde has been demoted for Tunisia and due to that, Burkina Faso will be included in the first 5 top CAF teams.

Case close.

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Tunisia has been seeded, because it is higher than Cameroun and Burkina Faso.

• Slimzay **The Unshakable** 10 years ago

Rasheed, I was right based on the rankings from what was there after the seedings were published before it was changed. When you look at the rankings, you will see that Burkina Faso has been droped by 3 and that is why Tunisi ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Now, start preparing for Camweroun,Please come out with your tactics and strategy.For your information Eto is coming back.

• Joe Tex 10 years ago

Slimzay you told us clearly and surely that those were the seeds you saw. Your quoted your source from Ghanafa. But it appears you read wrongly from Ghanafa. Now you are trying to dodge Rasheed's question. The real questions ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Please my brother ,do not be carried away by the friendly we beat Egypt prior to AFCON 2013(Without their key players).Currently Egypt is the only country with a 100% record in the qualifying series.When it comes to world cup ...

Check the group Egypt came out from. Any one from the top 5 seeds could have gone through without a defeat. Did you watch their matches? That alone would have let you know they are not all that. I am not trying to sound over ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Hot match.

• Light to darkness 10 years ago

You are DEAD wrong about Egypt. I did watch their matches and that team is extremely concentrated on making it to the World Cup and I believe they will. That coach Bob Bradley has got them into focus mode. Dont forget they ...

• Slimzay **The Unshakable** 10 years ago

I'm not underestimating any team. I'm commenting it based on my witnessing their matches.

You know what, we are all here. Very soon everything will come to us. Still, I don't think Egypt will make it.

• Ern 10 years ago

Furthermore Egypt is in turmoil with the military v Muslim Brotherhood saga, therefore this might affect their preparation and make them a soft meat for us to chew!
    You are right Burkina play like Stoke City!

• Joe Tex 10 years ago

SLimzay I don't hate you or anything but I am concerned you are making too much noise. That is not a problem. The problem is there are no truths in your so-called predictions and statements. I suspect you just want to show ...

"SLimzay I don't hate you or anything...." Joe Tex bluntly lied!

You don't hate me? Are you certain of that? I can see hatred all over your comments attached to mine. You don't hate me, but want to dent my image? It is eas ...

• nii 1 10 years ago

GO SLEEP AND YOU WILL KNOW THAT DUUN YEE WAMO

• ME-LONDON 10 years ago

Fifa sanctions Cape Verde for using an ineligible player and so Tunisia qualify.

• opanyin 10 years ago

who wrote this? please note that the word either means one or the other of 2 things. you can"t say ghana will either play cameroon,ethiopia,egypt,senegal and b.faso

• ODINDUSPAPASNONSTOPINWEEBLOWIN 10 years ago

na last una go still carry for any competition, super chickens are now super EAGLES. FAKE TEAM

• Yussif(lucky boy) 10 years ago

Tanks 2 kwesi appiah n the boys

• Ern 10 years ago

You are the only one that has thanked the team and coach.......the other's are just waiting for an opportunity to insult. Well done Yussif

• MAKA 10 years ago

I will not that AA yet until we qualify. There was no way we should not have made it as a top seed. If we manage Black stars professionally we can beat any team including Spain and Brazil.

• Ern 10 years ago

In that case, why dont you wait till he wins the world cup first before you thank him or the players. So the Zambians and other teams that didnt make it should not thank their players for the effort they put in?

• nii 10 years ago

cape verde have been disqualified

• Ern 10 years ago

Cape Verde got 6 free bonto points from Eq. Guinea after complaining to FIFA that Eq. Guinea had used ineligible players.........then they went and made the same stupid mistake!! I dont feel sorry for them. If you live by the ...

• MAKA 10 years ago

YOU ARE OR WILL BECOME WHAT YOU THINK...........LAW OF ATTRACTION. CAPE VERDE ATTRACTED THIS.

• MAHAMA KILLED MILLS 10 years ago

GHANA faces Senegal in the playoffs. Get ready to have some fun. They are hungry wolfs.they mean business .I still believe Akwesi Appia boys will kick ass.

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

It is rather Ghana vrs Cameroun.John Mahama says he praying for God to forgive you.

• MAHAMA KILLED MILLS 10 years ago

IVORY COAST VS ETHIOPIA ,GHANA VS SENEGAL .ALGERIA VS EGYPT .NIGERIA VS TUNISIA .BUKINAFASO VS CAMAROON. GOOD LUCK GHANA !!!!!!!!!!!!

Nigeria cannot meet Tunisia. Read well. Burkina cannot meet Cameroon.

• Cornell 10 years ago

Why can't Nigeria meet Tunisia?...and why can't Burkina face Cameroon? After all two are seeded while the other two are non-seeded.

• Mohammed Awuni 10 years ago

don't u understand the seeding

My friend, in pool 1: IC, Ghana, Algeria, Nigeria, Tunisia.
    Tell me how Nigeria can meet Tunisia.

In pool 2: Egypt, Cameroon, Burkina, Ethiopia, Senegal.
    Tell me how Cameroon can play Burkina.

Or all along you don't k ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

The top teams cannot meet each other likewise those in the second bracket. Look, Ghana cannot meet Tunisia because both teams are in the top brackets and Burkina Faso cannot meet Cameroon because they are in the second brack ...

• Cornell 10 years ago

There is no need to get all excited because of an error. I posted before checking the current rankings.

• Cornell 10 years ago

I got my standings wrong. Stallion you are right.

• KWAKU NAIGA 10 years ago

I wish for this

• Cornell 10 years ago

This CAF system regarding world cup qualification may yield unintended results for Africa. I hope the system prove me wrong. I am not worried about who we face, but their playing strategies coming into the game. Mark my word, ...

• Anokwale 10 years ago

Here is the problem. The 10 groups of four might have bee a waste of time. For instance, in our group, no disrespect but did we really have to play Sudan and Lesotho. In the future, this is what should happen. Simply take ...

Since the WC is played every 4 years, why not we adopt the South American style? It has made them strong in all world cups.
    Start the eliminations early, then when it is left with the 10 we have now, enter in a league format ...

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

"Start the eliminations early, then when it is left with the 10 we have now, enter in a league format with 5 to go".

The concept is is attractive, but the pragmatics are cumbersome, most likely not even pragmatic at all.

I have been following your comments since morning. I can bet my last coin that you still don't understand what "seeding" is AND why they do it. Instead of you asking (which is not a disgrace), you keep on writing garbage for ...

• Cornell 10 years ago

Your interpretation of seeding is utterly rubbish. Perhaps you will be kind enough to educate us all ...since you are an expert on the subject. Let me educate you. In sporting world; seeding means ranking...which means the to ...

• kodjo 10 years ago

Cornell you are right on the money.

• Kwame 10 years ago

Stallion there was no reason to attack Cornell. His comment are quite valid.

• Ghana man 10 years ago

Of all the teams in pot two, the one I dread the most, which could really be a problem for us is Cameroon. I watched their last few matches and think they are the most coordinated team right now, plus they are really physical ...

• esi atta 10 years ago

Instead of being worried about who to pair with, ghana needs to focus on its weak points...defense and goal keeping... bring back John Mensah ...even if he gives you 45 minutes a game ...it counts a lot against a tough team.. ...

• kojo henry 10 years ago

I hope Ghana qualify from this stage to be in Brazil
    we can't wait. Also very sad for Cape Verde lsland better luck next time.

• Andrew Watson 10 years ago

It is better for Ghana to meet Burkina Faso again.

• Mr. K 10 years ago

They should have asked Atubuga to judge it. It would have been 3-0 for Cape Verde

• Amegaxoxo 10 years ago

Ghana vrs Cameroon

• stephen osei 10 years ago

NO PROBLEM WE WILL WIN EVERY ONE.ONLY OUR BACK AND SPEED GAME,NO ONE ALSO DONT WANT TO MEET US.