You are here: HomeNews2013 09 11Article 285463

Ghana must have a second chamber – ex-Prez Kufuor

Read Comments Comments (91)

• OSEI BOATENG 10 years ago

A second Chamber for the PRIVILAGED??????

• KWEKU BOAT 10 years ago

YOU had your fk'n turn and didn't do it why now? You are talking too much outside parliament, you corrupt ex president!

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

piece of nonsense

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 10 years ago

This crook never thinks of development. In all his life in the presidency all he did was to spend time outside Ghana. Thereafter, he has been travelling outside. He has not done anything to develop Ghana. As a selfish, greedy ...

• KOLA,LONDON MAIN 10 years ago

Is this man a toy or what? He is asking parliamentarian to be paid even more to stop them hanging onto ministerial positions after much criticism of their recent increases in pay?

Is K4 smoking wee?

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

The man is indigent of political science. It must be the Castle bridge!

what we need is a confederation or independent states based on ethnic affiliation . most of these issues should be tested with a referendum

• william 10 years ago

At what cost and what real benefit at this stage?

• RJ 10 years ago

USELESS IDIOT!!! DON'T WASTE OUR TIME WITH YOUR STUPID SUGGESTIONS.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Second chamber my very duty foot. Too many mouths to feed upstairs and no no to another fake suit and tie broke at the expense of Mama Ghana.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Say it loud. second chamber my very dusty foot. Too many mouths to feed upstairs and no no to another fake suit and tie brokes at the expense of Mama Ghana.

• KG 10 years ago

People like Kweku Boat and Osei Boateng are disgrace to our nation.People like this are still calling for the late Nkrumah to come back and lead Ghana,Idiot like these never change or grow but like to remain that stupid they ...

• moyo 10 years ago

Ghana has a Council Of State, what do we need second chamber for. We can't increase the cost of governance as this also breeds corruption.

• Kwasi 10 years ago

What is the use of the Council Of State. What useful purpose practical purpose does it serve ...please educate me.

• Nii Lante Okunka 10 years ago

I vehemently disagree with "moyo".We do need a second chamber and the ridiculous council of state set out in our constitution is not representative of Ghanaians.I think it's wise to have anybody dutifully assigned legislative ...

• dunny 10 years ago

Mr. prez, sorry but I beg to differ. this could be a carbon copy of what we already have, and above all will add to our already huge wage bill man!

• AbasZ 10 years ago

What was/is your father? You bastard pekin whose father didnt look after him. Kufour far wiser than your father. Kwasea bi ba.

• ASEM BE BA DABI 10 years ago

Sensible talk.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

A second Chamber will be value for money if only it can serve as a check on the first Chamber and the Executive and devoid of party politics as in the UK's House of Lords. The Lords here in the UK are very independent minded ...

• Akosua Tabuwaa 10 years ago

Who told you that they are Independent.Most are appointed by their parties as Quangos.You no nothing are about the 2nd chamber in England which has been a subject of criticism

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Akosua, I never said that the Lords are independent but "independent minded". That is not the same as independent of political parties but whether appointed by Labour or Conservative parties they often vote with their conscie ...

• LONTO-BOY 10 years ago

I'm opposed to ex-President Kufour's Second Chamber idea in Ghana, because we risk ending up with a bunch of self-interested crooks.

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

Its his idea of an all inclusive government, trust me.

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

It is Kwame Nkrumah's idea. Read his autobiography (pg. 242) Repugnant should as well read Kwame's book.

• QX5 ghanababa 10 years ago

K4 has all it takes to be a president, and has been giving concise ideas all the time, but to this suggestion, I believe he as to rethink it all over again.
    Why dose he think this is a good idea?Why can we go it unitary and ...

• MARY 10 years ago

NPP USELESS TALK BY THEIR NUMBER ONE UGLY MAN. WHY CAN'T HE THINK OF SOMETHING BETTER BUT RATHER A COPY AND PASTE METHOD JUST LIKE THEY DUPLICATED PINK SHEETS IN THE PETITION. WHO WANTS TO COPY BRITAIN THAT TAKES DELIGHT IN B ...

• Kwasi 10 years ago

1. I think there are too many MPs for our population. The current number should be reduced, to around the 200 mark.

2. Having reduced the # of MPs, create a second chamber with equal representation of all the regions - say ...

• Kobena 10 years ago

So why didn't you initiate that in 8 years? You enjoyed the unfettered power of the President to appoint incompetent cronies and relatives, to public corporations, the Council of State, Chief Directors, etc. Do you now realis ...

• Obenfo 10 years ago

Adding layers of political powers to the governing structure of a small country like Ghana, is just a creation of additional pressure on the country's payroll. It takes a few determined minds to make a remarkable difference i ...

• Yaw Buor 10 years ago

Ghanaians are already over-governed. There are too many politicians who do absolutely nothing. If anything, the useless Council of State should become a second chamber. But I sincerely believe we don't need a second chamber o ...

trash

he has been talking trash lately

• Apatupr3 10 years ago

The creation of additional constituencies barely a year ago,claiming it was unnecessary.
    look, now that this bogus presidential election petition has been disposed of,we need to turn our attention on tackling important natio ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

When men are too old to set bad examples, they seat down dishing out good advices. Kufuor since when did this come into your mind? After enriching your self right? De Clerk should fock off from Ghana we don't need him

• ama 10 years ago

this chamber is for the political elite. fight corruption and stop copy copy

• KOLA THE IDIOT 10 years ago

STUPID MAN SHUT THE FUCK UP K4, WHY DIDNT YOU IMPLEMENT THESE SUGGESTIONS DURING YOUR WATCH? NOW YOUR STUPIDITY STARES YOU IN FACE, LIKE AN IMPOTANT MAN, YOU ARE CAUSE OF ALL NPP AND NAN ADDO'S SUFFERINGS, SHAME AND HUMILIATI ...

• shameles 10 years ago

not needed

• Ampene 10 years ago

Ofui again !! Why didn't you do that when you came to power twice? Is it because in your view without it you could loot the country as you did?

We are getting fed up with you lately Kuffour. Please give us a break.

• Mama Tula 10 years ago

Another blind copy of governance from colonial masters suggested by another moumou ?? If he has no more ideas he should sit somewhere.

• OBIBA UK 10 years ago

NO WONDER THAT IS THE ONLY IDEA HE HAS. MORE CHAMBERS MORE LOOT & SHARE !
    WHEN WILL YOU REMOVE THIS ''LAZY THINKING CAP'' HOY MANY 1ST CLASS ROADS DO WE HAVE?

• ASEM WO MANO 10 years ago

Did you listened to me at that time? You even wanted a 7 year presidency, no way.
    What A Nation?

• OBIBA UK 10 years ago

EX-PRESIDENT, NANA ADDO & THE NPP ARE REAPING WHAT YOU SOWED! CREATE LOOTE & SHARE LEGACY!

• spanky 10 years ago

Please what did kuffour ceate? They came to create HIPC and looted the gains made.

• Nana Kofi-London 10 years ago

You havent learnt anything yet,, go and read more on Dr Kwame Nkrumahs book and you will understand where this country needs to focus on.

We should build our own Ghana not "copy cut".

• SayoO 10 years ago

Why would we even contemplate that?

• MANU 10 years ago

We cannot even pay salaries because of our minimal income and you are talking about a second chamber? Oh prez K4, uncle Diewuo, please spare us this one for now. Have a good day.

• KWEKU SOLO 10 years ago

Now that you are no more in power and is obvious your NPP shall never win elections again in this country of ours, you are proposing a second chamber. Shut up.

• Kumnipah 10 years ago

If I were K4, I would stop talking to protect my dignity. This is just like a bandsman who got kicked out and still out there saying he had remembered a song. Twi. Yayi wo agoro mu wose makae nwom. Let there be sanity.

• JK 10 years ago

Did Kufour just suggest that parliamentarians are not paid well, and that is the reason they may go chasing ministerial positions?

Is the ex-president kidding?

• mohammed 10 years ago

Can our Parliamentarian receive minimum wages for the sake of the country? I think they should leave by example. One good way is to institute measures for corruption such that when you are caught you pay back with interest an ...

• AmenAmen 10 years ago

With all these useless politicians roaming around doing nothing but talking (and wasting/stealing state resources in some cases) you want to create avenues for more of them??

God save Ghana!

• WHO CARES 10 years ago

LONG LIVE GENERAL IGNATIUS KUTU ACHEAMPONG. MURDERED BY RAWLINGS

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Our attitude stinks to the extent that nothing will work in Ghana. I hate to hear people trying to compare our porous system to that of the Europeans. What is Kufuor saying? A second chamber for others to plunder the state ...

Why don't you study the Upper Houses in the US & Canada? And advise your country.

• FIREBRAND 10 years ago

SO THAT MORE EX -GRATIA CAN DRAIN THE ECONOMY.BY THE WAY WHY IS IT THAT FORMER PRZ KUFOUR ONLY PROPOSE THINGS THAT AFFECT THE ECONOMY GREATLY AFTER HE LEFT OFFICE, THE SAME WAY HE INCREASE SALARIES WHEN HE WAS EXITING OFFICE

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

Modifying the legislature is electoral reform not the nonsense that has been banded about. Will the second chamber be elected or nominated? What will it's role be? Don't we need a Prime Minister and a ceremonial President? Sh ...

• betty 10 years ago

Who is paying for that stupid chamber? Which is going to be made up stupid people like u.

• TWEEEAAA 10 years ago

When did this man get to know of the idea of having a second chamber? He was there for 8 solid years as president but never did dream of that. Is he now trying to correct what he did not see wrong?

• Ghanaian 10 years ago

Please permit me to ask these hamfull quetions, are they going to be paid by the state? It is the way of increasing the number of politician because we now relized how small they are yet the course all the problems we have in ...

• ICONIC-07 10 years ago

CORRUPT KUFOUR KNOWS VERY WELL THAT HE WOULD BE THE BIGGEST BENEFICIARY SHOULD THE STUPID CONCEPT OF THE SO-CALLED UPPER HOUSE OR SENATE IS INTRODUCED IN GHANAIAN POLITICS.

AT A TIME WHEN MANY THE SO-CALLED CIVILIZED DEVEL ...

• KOW AMISSAH 10 years ago

Mr Kufuor. Thank you for your suggestion. I however disagree with you. Some of our major problems in this country include the following: 1 Our politicians do not no know their work. 2. The Ghanaian public is too docile to e ...

• mohammed 10 years ago

This is a laudable idea but it should not be paid position. it should be for the people who can be able to volunteer their time and skill for mother Ghana.

• atomic 10 years ago

what we actually need is a gas chamber. not for the mass destruction of life, but to annihilate laziness, greed, selfishness, enviness and corruption.

• allofus 10 years ago

Ghanaians ,remember that all these sayings has been said by Paa Kwesi Nduom. He stands tall.

• mohammed 10 years ago

Do we copy the queen too for better ghana?

• Tindana 10 years ago

KURONFOR WE DON'T NEED ANOTHER EX-CRAZY IN GHANA, LOVE GHANA, GHANA NEED YOUR LOVE

• NANA USED BAWUMIA 10 years ago

UGLY KUFUOR WASTING OUR TIME AGAIN.

The idea of a bicameral chamber in Ghana politics was first mentioned by Kwame Nkrumah. It wasn't ex-president de Klerk of Apartheid South Africa. Neither was it Kufuor.
    In his autobiography, he wrote that "with regard to th ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

You have been missing for a while. Marcus, look, any institution or whatever that is of human creation, it is the people that will make that institution or whatever, work better.

There is nothing wrong with the system tha ...

You put things. into practice that would safeguard the rule of law and prevent people from being corrupt. You have to create institutions that force people to observe the rules or else. In Ghana and most parts of Africa we fa ...

• ibrahim tanko 10 years ago

we don't need a second chamber such a small country like ghana.we need effective local assembly.

• Senior Wisdom 10 years ago

I like the idea of a second chamber that will be a check on abuse of power by the executive and rubber stamped by the majority. Sadly how we get people elected or appointed to the second chamber can become messy. It is either ...

• Gawuga 10 years ago

Yes for free

• Gawuga 10 years ago

Sexist-women degrading party on the planet = NDC

• Tanko 10 years ago

I think the nation should seriously consider what President Kufour is saying. Let the first chamber be defined by population concentration, which means the current districts will be redrawn. While the 2nd chamber be, for exam ...

• Mr President 10 years ago

WE NEED FEDERAL FORM OF GOVERNMENT.

• Tanko 10 years ago

That will be great.

• Igp 10 years ago

Where is the money to fund that useless chamber you are talking of? Is Ghana as rich as UK and those countries you are talking of? Shut up or ship out from your the Front door. Why is the country even wasting needed funds on ...

• Fernando 10 years ago

Kufour when you were president did you not know of this all these years?I guess hotel wawa ,jetting,per diem have all but clouded your mind you did not think of this.Moor shutup!!!

• Nicholas Kyeretwie-Chicago,USA 10 years ago

Kuffour again.The most failed president in regards to the constitution is still talking nonsense.Why kuffour for 8 years you did nothing,though you had every chance to do something.You are the most useless and corrupt preside ...

• Nicholas Kyeretwie-Chicago,USA 10 years ago

Go to hell kuffour .Ka wano to mu.Ghana do not need you anymore.How much more do you want for MPs?Soon every village in Ghana will have its own MPs,and Ghana will be the land of MPS,all because you knew what is good but you f ...

• Isaac Azumah 10 years ago

Indeed, Kufour had the opportunity to preside over the entire nation(Ghana)for 8years. Why is he now making these suggestions and to whom. I personally advise that he keeps quiet and stop provoking us into passing comments th ...

• Seth Bonsu 10 years ago

Why didn't you suggest this during your term. Now that the shoe is on the foot you are trying to change the posts.

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

THIS MAN HAS STILL FAILED TO UNDERSTAND WHAT POLITICS MEANSS TO A NATION.

GHANA MADE HIM A PRESIDENT BECAUSE THE PEOPLE OF GHANA NEVER KNEW WHERE THEY WERE AND WHERE THEY WERE GOING.

DOES HE UNDERSTAND WHY THE BRITISH H ...

• concerned ghanaian 10 years ago

Why?
    Ghana is already under strain from salaries of MPS. Somebody like JK who should know better is calling for increasing the burden of salaries/ etc on the poor people of Ghana.

Our present system would work well for u ...

• Apirekyireba Nana Addo 10 years ago

Kufuor is most useless president to have ruled Ghana. To suggest that we have a second chamber is nonesense and an unbecoming of an ex-president.

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST type www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• KWAME 10 years ago

Another chamber to be created to enable him and his thieving bastard gang to finish robbing Ghana. This man has no shame he is a disgrace to the country

• yaw 10 years ago

is it true that the npp are rather strong and very constructive whiles in opposition? this is a great suggestion from JK

• Joe 10 years ago

What has this fool been smoking? His argument shows how shallow he is. Wow and this idiot was a two term president after the bigger fool Rawlings!!

• Kwabena Ansa 10 years ago

Ghana does not need a second chamber. What Ghana needs is an effective, independent and a working checks and balances that is constitutionally instituted.
    Unfortunately, I beg to disagree totally with Ex-President Kuffour' ...