You are here: HomeNews2013 09 11Article 285439

‘My boys did well against Japan’

Read Comments Comments (79)

• ZImla 10 years ago

What was the point about this pointless game? How many of those players who played for Ghana will ever make it to. Brazil if we qualify? Useless coach.

• JOHNNY NPP 10 years ago

I LOVE APPAIH AND WILL ALWAYS LOVE HIM AS A PERSON BUT WILL DISOWN HIM AS A NATIONAL TRAINER; SINCE APPAIH TOO OVER; NOTHING GOOD PLAY HAS BEEING SEEN

• THE COMPUTER DOCTOR - CHARLOTTE, NC, 10 years ago

I suspect strongly that this coach, Kwesi Appiah, though loved by many (and I refuse to mention names, tribes, teams or any affiliations), knows very well that Ghana is gifted with talented footballers.
    And he could RELY hea ...

• Athlete 10 years ago

Who say K Appiah is good enough to handle the black stars. Appiah's difficiency in coaching showed clearly in the very poor performance resulting in the 1-3 loss. Appiah shd be changed b4 we proceed to Brazil

• THE COMPUTER DOCTOR - CHARLOTTE, NC, 10 years ago

Against tough opposition, his wrong tactics might let our men be exposed badly.

AA, I tell you that "You are digging your own grave", you are now 3ft under, if you loose your next game "you would be 6ft under." Nyantakyi does not feel comfortable having a black man as the coach, you were hired as a resul ...

• Anokwale 10 years ago

The German boss’ impact on the US team since taking the reins two years ago can hardly be overestimated. He has injected a new optimism, made strides toward what he calls a “more proactive and less reactive” football an ...

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

U SEEM TO FORGET THAT KLINSMANN WAS A GERMAN PLAYER WHO CAPTAINED GERMANY. IF GH CAN GIVE DESAILLY THE SAME OPPORTUNITY WITH THE GBSTARS. WAT DO U THINK WILL HAPPEN? MIND YOU, DESAILLY IS AN EVEN MORE ACCOMPLISHED, DECORATED ...

• ABONGO 10 years ago

Who is a good coach ? a good coach in my opinion is the one whose team wins most matches and a good team is a team with good players that wins most matches that's why you have coaches like Mourhino ,Ferguson ,Guadiola being g ...

• Mactonto 10 years ago

Coach Appiah does not seem to recognise the problem his team is facing. We are having a serious technical problem, and this coach seems to think that with good players, you can win matches without plan and techniques. I am no ...

• Fighters for Black Stars 10 years ago

A Appiah you are talking rubbish! You want your house and Nyatakyi's houses to be burnt before you wake up ? You have to write letter of apology and address it to " All Honorable Black Stars Fans in one week if not you and Ny ...

• Kwesi Brenu 10 years ago

YOU GUYS KEEPS BLAMING THE COACH WHAT OF THE PRIMITIVE FOOTBALL DANCERS ?

• BE 10 years ago

HE HAS NOT PROOF AT ALL THAT HE IS A GOOD TRAINER

• GhanaRock 10 years ago

YOU ARE AN APE!!

• DR. AMPONSAH, GIMPA 10 years ago

I HAVE ALWAYS BELIEVED THAT MAJORITY OF GHANAIANS ARE MORE EMOTIONAL THAN THEY REASON WELL. I THINK I AM GRADUALLY ARRIVING AT MY CONCLUSION. THE QUESTION IS, WHAT WAS THE OBJECTIVE OF THIS FRIENDLIES? TO ASSESS PLAYERS FOR F ...

• DAVI 10 years ago

OYIWA

OYIWA!THANK YOU SIR,HATE AND ENVY IS BLINDING US TO DEVELOP.

• Anokwale 10 years ago

Ghanaians get too emotional and are quick to ask for a coach to be fired and for new players to be called. Friendlies are a great time to assess what we have. We all like to win but sometimes a loss is a blessing in disguise ...

U ARE MISSING THE POINT. GH LOST TO ZAMBIA BCOS THE ZAMBIANS WERE BETTER N HAD THE EDGE PSYCHOLOGICALLY. GH WENT ON TO WIN THEIR OTHER GAMES WITHOUT THE DEDE'S ETC BCOS THE OPPOSITION WAS SIMPLY WEAK! U CAN HAVE ALL THE CONFI ...

• max 10 years ago

can u yr the usels cocooasi kurasini coach no MY BOYS DID WELL ABOWA NA WO Y3 WATI KWASI APPIAH

• William Sorkpor, USA 10 years ago

With all due respect, I'm inclined to think that Coach Appiah is not sophisticated enough to lead the bunch of professionals that represent our nation.

On one hand, I shall always do my best to support him. However, I thin ...

• Kwesi Brenu 10 years ago

NO I THINK YOU'VE GOT TO BLAME THOSE YOUR PRIMITIVE GHANAIAN FOOTBALL DANCERS. THEIR SOUL MISSION ON SOCCER PITCH IS DANCE EVEN IF THEIR GOALS/GOAL BECOMES USELESS IT DOESN'T MATTER AS LONG AS THEY DANCE

• JOHNNY NPP 10 years ago

I LOVE APPAIH BUT HE IS NOT YET GOOD TO HANDLE OUR BLACKSTAR: WE NEED LOCAL TRAINERS BUT NOT WITH ALL COURSE

• GhanaRock 10 years ago

YOU ARE A FILTHY MONKEY!!!

• your bro. 10 years ago

May be you have some one in mind that you think he can cushion your life. Appiah is doing well, why worry him. This is pure PULL HIM DOWN (Phd. Which team in the world wins all the time??

• John Borboyoe 10 years ago

Coach Appiah,do not be scared by these NDC pull him down commentators. God is on your side. Those against Appiah why don't you apply for the Job? PIGS

• viku vikas 10 years ago

what has ndc got to do with this?
    are you crazy or what?

• Prof Ato Azumah 10 years ago

I won't say AA must go but he has a lot to do with the team (BS). From the way we started we could have beaten Japan who showed us too much respect from the start. Black Stars don't live up to their respect. Passes were poor ...

• pala 10 years ago

this is one of the best comments i have ever read on ghanaweb.
    i have insisted that the blackstars assistant handlers cannot compair favourably to say nigeria or cameroun in terms of pedigree, quality and know how. all the t ...

HE NEEDS TO EAT, LIFT METAL N TRAIN HIS SKINNY LEGS. THIS GUY GOES IN FOR TACKLES N FALLS OVER. OH...HMM, FOLKS DONT BE SUPRISED IF GH GETS BOUNCED IN RD 1 IN BRASIL. THAT IS IF WE EVEN MAKE IT THERE....

AA SAYS WETIN? WAS ...

• Opocini 10 years ago

We have not won any game by dominating since he became coach.. We have been winning on the abilities of the players NOTHING ELSE!

• GhanaRock 10 years ago

You Dirty filthy chimp. Why was Plavi not able to defeat Zambia with player abilities alone you RAT!!!

SINCE AA TOOK OVER. WE WIN BASED ON NATURAL TALENTS N ABILITIES OF IDIVIDUAL PLAYERS. THAT CAN WORK IN A GAME,BUT IN A TOURNAMNT. WE WILL ALWAYS COME UP SHORT. WHY U ASK? PURELY BCOS THE COACH LACKS THE ABILITY TO PLAN OUT TH ...

• Kojo Agatebe, Oregon 10 years ago

Well said.

• CEREBRAL 10 years ago

You are on the mark!!!

• DEE 10 years ago

WHY ALL THESE INSULTS,ROCK?

• Nana 10 years ago

With this attitude and the style of play adopted by AKWESI APPIAH, I doubt if it if we will ever make it out of the group stages of the WC. Our defence is very poor. We need to use experience sometimes. At the recent AFCON af ...

• GhanaRock 10 years ago

You think like the NIgerian dogs who sacked Amodu for a "better foreign coach" and exited in the group. MONKEYS are all the same. Especially dumb AMONKEYS who think Obroni has a magical solution to solve all your problems yo ...

ASIDE FROM DESAILLY. I DONT THINK THERE IS ANY COACH WHO CAN HELP US IN BRASIL. SHOULD WE EVEN QUALIFY. IF WE DONT WANT TO DISGRACE OURSELVES. WE BETTER GET AA THE HELP HE NEEDS TO GET US TO BRASIL. AT THE WAY WE R GOING. I D ...

• Mensah Anthony usa virginia 10 years ago

he collected money from the japanse and lose drastically God will panish all them

• MARK 10 years ago

AA 'S PHILOSOPHY, IS TOTAL FOOTBALL! SO FAR WE HAVE NOT ONCE PLAYED TOTAL FOOTBALL SINCE HE TOOK OVER. IN HIS RECENT INTERVIEW BEFORE THE ZAMBIA GAME , AGAIN, HE STUCK WITH TOTAL FOOTBALL. TOTAL FOOTBALL IS AN IDEAL-NIVARNA- ...

• Kwabena Mensah 10 years ago

THEY DEFENDED POORLY !

• John Blankson 10 years ago

Those of you who are against Coach Appiah let me tell you whether you like it or not he is the Coach. Yu can apply to be Black Stars Coach. Nyankopon Be Tua mo Ka.

• PHOBIA-PHOBIA--Leeds 10 years ago

AA is trying his best.He has already won my admiration by re-inviting these boys. All those who criticise him might have seen a deficiency in an area which,he must appreciate and correct to save us. If u are civilised,u woul ...

• BARIMA TOKOAFRE 10 years ago

Dont tell us BS. You get scored 3 goals to 1 and you speak with your chest up?

• lol 10 years ago

MEDIOCRITY: GFA! Now you know. Act fast. If he plays any big time and loses. My boys did well. The aim is to do well against big teams. Winning is for them. What has made us different as Ghanaians is that there is no big team ...

• Twun Barimah 10 years ago

i think kwasi is not a coach. if kwasi Appiah said his boy did very well GFA should look for a new coach before is too late.

• bangarlee sylla 10 years ago

This coach scares the shiiit outta me,his boys did well ahinful was in the middle totally out played by Zambia.BS are known for their mid field toughness appiah seems to have traded that for the players apology ,God help us a ...

• ????????????????? 10 years ago

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

• ????????????????? 10 years ago

?????

• ????????????????????????????????????? 10 years ago

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

• worried Aussie 10 years ago

Do you guys know the purpose of this game? It was a propaganda! Japan is paying GFA for a few dollars. And do u know how much the Japanese are gonna earn? This game was organised by Japan to show the Japanese people, their t ...

• Kofi of Africa 10 years ago

Appiah surprises keen football observers to say the BS did well. How can failure be deemed 'well'? The mentality that assembles a group of wishy-washy footballers to represent the great BS is a false mentality.

Only the be ...

• Adams 10 years ago

The bottom line is cash. The appearance fee was more important to GFA than the results. Japan has already qualified for Brazil. This is why GFA CANNOT handle "big" players and foreign coaches who will not be pushed around.

• ddddd 10 years ago

Thank you sir

• nana living in berlin - germany 10 years ago

I think ghana will go to wordcup

• NOKORE NA EYE OOH 10 years ago

THE GHANA FOOTBALL ASSO GHANA NEED TO UNDERSTAND THAT WE THE PEOPLE OF GHANA NEED FULL ENQUIARY INTO THE SITUATION WHEN JAPAN ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS USE THE BLACK STARS AS A GOAT FOOTBALLERS TO SCORE US IN DISGRACEFUL MANNER AN ...

• SUAME MAGAZINE 10 years ago

You guys are crazy. You cant judge a coach based on Friendly matches. Friendly matches are just for practice. He is winning the tournament matches and is about to qualify us for the world cup. The problem is not the coach. ...

• SUAME MAGAZINE 10 years ago

Friendly matches are like training matches. They are used for experimenting and trials. Stop whining because the coach is not winning friendly matches. At this stage, the qualifiers are the most important and he is winning ...

• asanka poyooyo 10 years ago

Ghana,japan match was the worst i´ve ever watched as a Ghanaian,my german friend was asking me if that was really Gh playing and i was out of words!!!!!Japan played what we call soccer,this coach needs to coach the local pla ...

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 10 years ago

Why praise a team which has lost a game(3-1)? What a joke!

• Jorotara 10 years ago

He is damn ignorant of the game.ghana needs a proper coach and not AA

• diaba k 10 years ago

How could your team loose a game and you stand tall saying that the boys did well.
    How does Appiah measure success?

This is similar to Bafana Bafana (RSA)loosing to Zimbabwe national team and the coach saying that 'We pla ...

• yiadom boakye,usa 10 years ago

appiah u doing ok,but please don't use that new goal keeper again,he sack

• Ohene Yaw Barimah Boakye-Yiadom 10 years ago

May be Appiah has lost focus of the fact that this thing of the current Black Stars "losing focus" has become an established trend these days. It happened when Ghana led 2-0 against Congo in the recently concluded African Nat ...

• Alex 10 years ago

We always tolerate mediocrity. This coach has to be sacked before it is too late. Look at the performance against Zambia. They were better than us. Yet the coach is impressed with that.

• Kowa 10 years ago

Appiah your comment was appalling.You need to apologize to the entire nation.Wait a minute!So you telling us the Tree that you put in the post did well?How on earth couldnt you see something wasnt right in the post.I swear Ap ...

• him 10 years ago

I love your playing days, but coaching is a strange word for you. Just give up on coaching, ghanas plays just bad under your coaching.

• CHANGE THE COACH 10 years ago

Appiah should be coaching a local club, not a national team because he is not qualified, period. He has no training or certification to coach a national team in international competition.

He is like a fish out of water the ...

• Agyaku NY 10 years ago

Ghana must be wary with coach AA he really don`t have the full concept of his job.International friendly games are vital to figure your incapacitate positions to strengthen it next time.Using your second division players does ...

• A concerned citizen.................. 10 years ago

I think the experimental matches should end up with this one. Good game but lost concentration during the second half because they lack experience. Enough is enough for this justify your inclusion exercise. It is about time c ...

• joseph kow amissah saudi arabia 10 years ago

Appiah can never take us to the world cap and perform, so start to fine a good coach to lead the term to the world cap.

• kass 10 years ago

whatever mr.coach

• kb 10 years ago

Akwasi Appiah woti keka.

• pala 10 years ago

i think kissi boateng is the best bet for the left full back position.
    if KA is in love with afful, then he should make him compete for the new position with rabiu.
    KA should take the word utility out of his football vocabu ...

I DISAGREE. KISSI BOATENG IS NOT OUR SOLUTION FO THE LEFT BACK SPOT. WE HAVE BETTER PLAYERS. KISSI N ASANTE MUST WIN SMTHING WITH MAZEMBE BEFORE I CAN SEE THEM AS GBSTAR MATERIAL. RIGHT NOW, THEY R NO BETTER THAN OUR PREMIER ...

• Eno 10 years ago

How do we expect KWESI APPIAH to win in Japan with this team.KWESI is not a magician,he lost most of his first team players before the match thus Japan is very strong team so it was fair to lose.We shd leave KWESI to do his J ...

• Georges Jean 10 years ago

It's tough to contend with Japan and the coach's remarks are keen regarding his players!

• Alibaba 10 years ago

GFA is time to act. Pls get someone to help him.Coach Akwasi Appiah is inexperienced. His 'TOTAL FOOTBALL' is not helping. Get S. Tetteh or Deasily to help. AA should be made assistant or Duncan

Can someone please mak coach Appiah's qualifications and CV public? So we can first assess them vis-a-vis the GFA requirements and then bench make these against our close competitors. Let's get serious. This does not know wha ...