You are here: HomeNews2013 09 07Article 285069

Law is immaterial, says Justice Adinyira

Read Comments Comments (96)

• Kojo T 10 years ago

I hope the NPP fanatics read through carefully before insulting Justice Atubuga . This is generally my view
    "According to Justice Adinyira, the Petitioners bore the burden of proof to establish that there were violations, om ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

The Petitioners already conceive the
    idea of frud in their minds and hope
    to base on that,but Nana has accepted
    the result in good fate as a Christian

• william 10 years ago

The petioners who are lawyers definetely know but thried to gamble and naturally failed with Justices who understand and rise above partisanship and 'politicking'!Even the dissenting Judges Judges did well although I don't ev ...

No matter the lies and deceit some facts are evident and the people have woken up to the reality .One mans reality is another's madness. Hegemony you can only fight with hegemony , tribalism with tribalism , chauvinism with c ...

• Joy 10 years ago

This so-called Justice Adinyira is the most stupid of the judges. How can you make such a blatant statement. Obviously she had made up her mind already throughout the period of the case. Such irresponsibility indicates how lo ...

• MARY 10 years ago

THIS IS A VERY MATURE AND SENSIBLE JUDGE WHO USED THE RULE OF LAW AND THE APPLICATION OF THE RULE OF LAW ON THE BASIS OF THE 2 ISSUES OF CATEGORIZATION THAT WERE AT STAKE. THE FACT WAS THEY NEVER DID AFFECT THE OUTCOME OF THE ...

• fuck npp 10 years ago

And you are a fucking idiot. You are blinded by the cocaine you have ingested so you are talking rubbish through your false teeth.. SORE FUCKING LOSERS.... YOU WIN IN @ OUT OF !) REGIONS, AND YOU WANT TO BULL DOZE YOUR WAY IN ...

• ATUBINIGA 10 years ago

Who is this idiot Adinyera who call herself justice. Justice my foot. She better Keep her mouth shut instead of getting people angry.

• Kwao 10 years ago

Its a shame. These guys are just making a big fool of themselves.Can u imagine Adinyiras statement of "law is immaterial" being misplaced by brain-dead, bovine, low-level headed individuals??? Jesus!!!

NPP has brainwashed ...

• Richard Ofunchi. 10 years ago

Let me tell you my poor friend that your inability to come to terms with the stack reality of today's Ghana has led you to think from the wrong part of your body. The only people in Ghana who feel the way you feel now are t ...

• GAWUKO 10 years ago

Evidence through pink sheets. Is/was, would/should that have been enough evidence? The evidence, if any was not enough for Justice Adinyira so she threw the case out. We can/should go for a review if we are not satisfied, abi ...

• LARYEAH 10 years ago

THAT JUDGE IS A FOOL INDEED! MOTHERFUCKER JUDGE MUST GO TO SCHOOL AGAIN. IDIOT KOJOVOO TAMACLOE!

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

THIS STATEMENT IS SIGNIFICANT CONTRADICTION: Interestingly, Justice Adinyira ruled against voting without biometric verification, making it difficult to detect double voting if indeed it occurred.
    MAYTHE TRUTH ALWAYS STAND

• Dzato 10 years ago

Atsu. Fact is there was no voting without verification as explained and accepted by the court.

• baafour atta poku 10 years ago

If the justice has taken her part of the booty,she should shut up her mouth and allow us to go on with our lives. She knows no shame.They made mockery of justice.

• Bonsu 10 years ago

Can't believe my ears. Sworn in Judge??
    Typical Ghanaian boss, or when given power, nothing that she cannot do except to turn a man to a woman or a woman to a man. An ordinary soldier will teach her the law matters or is rel ...

• Koki 10 years ago

So what's the essence of the law? And why the constitutional provision to seek redress if reversing electoral verdict is so serious?

• Kwame 10 years ago

“The petitioners relied on pink sheets and no other evidence, and in view of the fact that the petitioners kept changing categorization, number of exhibits they are relying on, admission of mislabelling and double counting, ...

• CHE ANDREW 10 years ago

Pink sheets don't talk. Live witnesses talk. The Savelegu Presiding Officer who volunteers to give evidence was denied by the NPP itself. The NPP star witness made their matter a laughing stock with his "you and I were not th ...

• maa tech 10 years ago

Thank you all 9 judges for the excellent job. You need commendation not condemnation. Let's bear with the petitioners as no one goes to court to loose a case no matter how irrelevant the case may be. With time they will overc ...

As children our Priest taught us this prayer "Lord help us to be good sports men and women. If we win, may we not be too arrogant in victory. If we lose may we not give excuses. Amen" We are willing to bear with the petitione ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

The onu s of proof lsy with the NPP and they should have come with living people . Read the summation of Justice Anim yeboah . failing that it became a mockery when the star witness Dr Bawumia said " you and I were not there" ...

• wab jnr esq 10 years ago

if you did not witness the alleged incident what ever you say about the issue on oath,is Hearsay.(no exceptions)

Don't always go according to law!

• okpoti 10 years ago

it sad for me to accept what i am reading.in fact it meant that we wasted our time in front of the judges who were being hailed the law meanwhile nothing as i can see is shown as to the application of the law. we are going to ...

If the NPP approaches the 2016 elections with this warped mentality then there will certainly be chaos. For sure the EC will recruit and train better qualified POs. The 2014 local elections will further improve the BMV system ...

• Darling boy 10 years ago

so pink sheet is not good enough,there were instances where jdm vote was far more higher than stated in pink sheet u still have Adinyira disputing those Fact what God ve mercy on us

• K Owusu 10 years ago

Is she a judge or a politcal scientist?
    She should be ashamed of herself to come out with this stupid thinking.

• Dr. Appocco 10 years ago

Exactly. What is she?

• Carl 10 years ago

Justice Anim Yeboah had nearly done a great injustice to legal reasoning and interpretation in Ghana if it were not for the timely intervention of justice Atuguda and the brave three.Anim used a very narrow and restrictive in ...

The ruling of this judge reminds me of the legendary Ananse in folklore. One folklore has it that a despotic ruler had decreed that anyone who committed a crime would have his/her entire family punished. Ananse took advantage ...

• Kwasi Mahunu 10 years ago

Please Madam Justice, how about the additional foreign Materials in the ballots,counted as votes. Any comments

• Kojo T 10 years ago

You are a mischief maker as none was counted as votes. The ballot papers were stamped and numbered and ticked off against the voter

• Dzato 10 years ago

Wrong Kwasi mahunu. No additional foreign Materials in the ballots,counted as votes.

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Thank God the judges have done a very good job in bringing acceptable verdict to all parties involved in the petition.May God them all.Thank you.

• Dr Robert K Glah 10 years ago

Justice Adinyira is a reasonable judge; She validly dismissed all claims in the petition because the petitioners failed to discharge the evidenciary burden of proof, which is a little higher than the civil burden of proof on ...

• CHRISTOS CHRISTOFF 10 years ago

read carefully her reasons for ruling- what a shame.a mockery of THE ELECTORAL LAWS.

She openly admits of electroral malpracticee but CLAIMS IT IS NOT ROLE TO PRESENT TO COURT. HABA Isshe not supposed to be a CUSTODIAN OF ...

• Dr Robert K Glah 10 years ago

She protected our civil liberty from harm. Why you cannot understand her reasoning and analysis?

• John @ 10 years ago

may God bless you Justice Adinyira.

• CHRISTOS CHRISTOFF 10 years ago

read carefully her reasons for ruling- what a shame.a mockery of THE ELECTORAL LAWS.

She openly admits of electroral malpracticee but CLAIMS IT IS NOT ROLE TO PRESENT TO COURT. HABA Isshe not supposed to be a CUSTODIAN ...

• CONCERN CITIZEN 10 years ago

The SC judges whose ruling dismissed the election petition have disappointed Ghana.They have lost their credibility, period.We trusted them to give fair judgement, but they missed it,and have missed it forever.History will sp ...

• fuck npp 10 years ago

You are a disgrace to your foolish parents.. Why did they bring a fool like you to life? SORE FUCKING LOSERS!! YOU WANT TO WIN BUY WINNING 2 REGIONS??
    YOU JUST CANNOT ACCEPT THE FACT THAT YOU LOST.. AND HAVE PROCEEDED TO VIL ...

• YE DEDE 10 years ago

COMMON SENSE IS NOT COMMON TO ALL. LAW IS IMMATERIAL.

• Fred 10 years ago

Good and interesting to note that I can see nothing suggestive of Heading of this story.

• John 10 years ago

This is a very lucid and erudite ruling by her ladyship. This is a solid ruling and I have respect for the justice. Let see how the other lady ruled

• COOL..... 10 years ago

YOU ARE JUST A SILLY AND IDIOT WOMAN,THE PUNISHMENT OF ALMIGTHY LORD IS AWAITING.THERE WON'T BE NO PEACEFUL PLACE FOR THE CHILDREN AND THE GRANDCHILDREN OF YOURS JAH-KINGDOM.

• Kwame Aidoo 10 years ago

Country broke or no broke, you dey inside some! I am grateful there's a SOVEREIGN GOD, NONE OF YOU AT THE SC CAN COMPARE! I AM CONFIDENT THAT YOU ALL OF THE 9 SC SHALL FACE HIM; AND TSIKATA CONNOT. DEFEND ANY OF YOU!

• J.Zuguru. 10 years ago

LAW IMMATERIAL, SO CRIME IS ACCEPTABLE. I agree with this writer giving thanks to GOD for CREATING BLACK PEOPLE WHAT WE ARE AND THE WHITE PEOPLE WHAT THEY ARE with reference GENERAL ELECTION 2012.

The VOTERS can not be tr ...

• Stich 10 years ago

Hahahahahahaaaa Africa, our part of the world is Miserable!!!!!!!

• Kobena 10 years ago

Now compare that with Justice Dotse's well reasoned, intellectually sound interpretation of the law:

"It is especially significant to note that, indeed, article 49 is the only occasion on which details of voting at electi ...

• CHRISTODD CHRISTOFF 10 years ago

“The petitioners relied on pink sheets and no other evidence, and in view of the fact that the petitioners kept changing categorization, number of exhibits they are relying on, admission of mislabelling and double counting, ...

• Kwabena Twum 10 years ago

All I wanted the Judges to do was to order EC to bring all the Pink sheets to the court for all of us to know the truth that the petitioners were being selective just to confused the Judges which they succeeded on four of the ...

• Efo 10 years ago

Well done madam

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

KOJO T I HOPE NPP IN UK AND IRELAND READS THROUGH CAREFULLY THAT WILL STOP THEM BEING DEMONSTRATE IN THE STREET OF LONDON.

• b minus 10 years ago

your prime resonsibility as a Justice is to first and foremost uphold the constitution of Ghana. this is not subject to what and how you feel, What kind of professionals do we have in Ghana.

bminusbminus@gmail.com

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

NPP must blame their lousy lawyers who could not present a formidable petition and leave the judges alone in peace.Thank you.

• O B Obiba 10 years ago

This is poor judgement. The elections were deemed free and fair, in that no one was intimidated or refused the right to vote. The fraud and cheating happened at collation centres where pink sheets were swapped to manipulate ...

• Kwadwo Tawia 10 years ago

Did Npp provide concrete evidence to buttress their so called allegations of 'fraud and cheating at the collation centres'? The answer is big NO. This is because NPP and their lawyers had no evidence of 'fraud and cheating' a ...

• OBOboy 10 years ago

remember Murder of the Judges around the PNDC era.

• GBEVU 10 years ago

WHO VOTED WITHOUT BIOMETRIC VERIFICATION? NOT A SINGLE EVIDENCE.

• Rawlings 10 years ago

useless judgment. You insisted that Biometric verification is not important. Later on u approved it and went ahead to dismiss the casse. Useless bunch of judges.

• Thief people 10 years ago

If law is immaterial then why do you call it law court and not ordinary ahenfie or gamblers' court? I do not respect this stupid SC and its judges anymore!

• ORIGINAL YAMOAH-PONKOR 10 years ago

ALL THOSE 5 JUDGES WHO VOTED AGAINST THE DICTATES OF THEIR CONSCIENCES FOR THE SAKE OF MAKING MILLIONS OF DOLLARS DOLED OUT TO THEM FROM THE LOOT OF THE NATION'S COFFERS, SHOULD THANK NANA AKUFFO ADDO, AND THE NPP FOR THEIR P ...

• Dr. Appocco 10 years ago

The idea that strict interpretation of electoral laws would erode the democratic gains of the country is absurd. The role of the judge is to interpret and not make laws.

• John Dek 10 years ago

I was quite impressed when I heared Dr. Wereko Brobbey classify the points of view on the petition into 1) The Robots and 2) The Human.
    We could examine Justice Adinyira's point on the strict interpretation of the law in thi ...

• Kwadwo Tawia 10 years ago

This is Daily Guide trying to be stupid as always. Do not listen to or read those rubbish from Daily Guide. It is a one-sided paper that will see anything thing anti-npp as madness!!!

• KOBLA ZEGO 10 years ago

YOU ILLITERATES, YOU HAVE THE TO BE INSULTING THE JUDGES WHOSE PARENTS HAVE SENT THEM TO SCHOOL UP TO LAW SCHOOL. INCREDIBLE. WONDERS WILL NEVER END. CONTINUE IN YOUR STUPIDITY. NPP IDIOTS' FOOLS AND BRAGGARTS.

• KOBLA ZEGO 10 years ago

YOU ILLITERATES, YOU HAVE THE GUTS TO BE INSULTING THE JUDGES WHOSE PARENTS HAVE SENT THEM TO SCHOOL UP TO LAW SCHOOL. INCREDIBLE. WONDERS WILL NEVER END. CONTINUE IN YOUR STUPIDITY. NPP IDIOTS' FOOLS AND BRAGGARTS.

• Alhaji Kantogo, Berekum. 10 years ago

Shut up, you took your bribe and sold your judgement. I am raising some money for you to fuck you as well because you like money more than anything.

• ben 10 years ago

so she is trying to tell us that because of peace does why she dismissed the case and that they cannot set back the clock. Pathetic judges

• Kwasi 10 years ago

ASHAWO JUDGE GOD WIL PUNISH YOU,BRIBE RECEIVERS ALL GHANAIANS BLOOD ARE UPON YOUR HEAD NKWASIAFFOUR .

• Eunice Ama 10 years ago

Your mother is ashawo.Fool.

• Lawyer Kodua 10 years ago

Am ashamed to have this thing as a Justice of my country. I pity the future of Ghana if a whole panel of judges from supreme court can say this in given judgement. It is clear that the verdict is full of corruption.
    After a ...

• salina joyce 10 years ago

jj Rawlings is been vindicated for killing the three high court judges bcos they are corrupt,if those entrusted to administer justice are corrupt,then the nation is doomed,ghanaian women are heartless,this justice adinyira wi ...

• salina joyce 10 years ago

The sins u have committed will never be expiated from the heart of ghanaians,ghanaians want a just society to live in,u thought abt 2day not 2morrow forgetting that u will die and leave everything u have require thru corrupti ...

• Oheneba 10 years ago

Nonsense judgement

• mmrosa 10 years ago

WHO APPOINTED THIS ILLITERATE A SUPREME COURT JUDGE? GOD SAVE GHANA

• Plain Truth, Texas 10 years ago

I saw and knew Adinyira was biased against NPP right from the word GO. She consistently over-ruled Addison in every objection he raised. There will never be an election petition in court! WE WILL SETTLE ANY DISPUTE RIGHT AT T ...

• PP 10 years ago

This woman is a disgrace to the law profession. What more evidence was she looking for?

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

What evidence apart from the said pink sheets did NPP present". NPP could have use the collations cards instead of pink sheets

• Ohene. 10 years ago

When will africa just for ones show the World that We are wise. Stupid judges.

• koti koti adjei 10 years ago

your mother and all your relatives are rather stupid. you are as well a useless person. you must learn how to be honest and respect adults. foolish.

• Akans Prophecies 10 years ago

A hopeless Verdict prepared to vindicate a Violent party of voilent legendry people.A judiciary of ancient dolls purified with fear and soumission. The force , the death in the hands of the loser,so they hammer in their dire ...

• usa 10 years ago

This is the verdict you will give after been bribed by the appointment of mahama's appointment of your son and brother to district appointments to Ho and Hohoe. u have disappointed Ghanaians many are suffering

Ho and Kpando respectively I thought

• Kwao 10 years ago

These guys are just making a big fool of themselves.Can u imagine Adinyiras statement of "law is immaterial" being misplaced by brain-dead, bovine, low-level headed individuals??? Jesus!!!

NPP has brainwashed its highly in ...

"bovine, low-level headed individuals" UUh!Hmmm!, Suffering from BSE (Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy) Mad Cow Disease I guess. Ha, ha,.

• SAFO, NY 10 years ago

YOUR JOB , MADAM JUDGE, WAS TO INTERPRETE THE LAW AND NOT GIVE US A LESSON ON DEMOCRACY

• Sankofa 10 years ago

She interpreted the law with a dose of common sense.

You learn to use your common sense too!

• kofi asamoah 10 years ago

this justice have be bribe by john mahama 9 thieves go and share the money god will surely punish you one by one so call justices

• fuck npp 10 years ago

Very sensible correct woman!!!

• Chris 10 years ago

I blame whoever appointed such a idiot to the highest court of the land, what an embarassment to the judiciary system. She calls herself a lawyer by saying the evidence from from the pink sheets are not enough, was results no ...

• OGYATANAA, LONDON 10 years ago

SHE SHOULD NEVER FORGET THAT SOONER THAN LATER SHE WILL BE DIVERTED OF THE CLAD OF JUDICIAL POWERS. A DAY WILL COME......

• Richmond (Abigi) 10 years ago

After reading some of the reasons of the of some of the Judges, I bet election petitions should be heard by a jury.......Retarded judges indeed! This peace people think has been established will explode in our faces! Judge ru ...

• asonaba kofi 10 years ago

no technicalities.straghtforward common sense.as I have said previously.by npp`s yardstick,no elections anywhere in the world can be declared for any of the contesting parties.as far as am concerned,it was more like;lets try ...

• hmm 10 years ago

h