You are here: HomeNews2013 09 01Article 284353

Vice president should be charged for contempt – Baako, Ayikoi Otoo

Read Comments Comments (129)

• Richard 10 years ago

I don't know why Kweku Baako is always given so much attention in this country. It makes him to seem like he knows so much in Ghana.

• ekow 10 years ago

I think kweku has nothing to say, he should go n sleep n leave better people to do their work.

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 10 years ago

Let this noisy-maker and loud Mouth be told that the President is not an ordinary citizen and that he and his vice are immune to contempt charges though they should by the swearing in of oath be civil.

But as to what civil ...

• Oburoniwewu 10 years ago

These bushmen suddenly think they know a lot. They need to understand that there is a difference between making statements about a case when it's in progress in court and making one when the trial is over.When the case is sti ...

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 10 years ago

I thought as much, the case is over and there is no court. I really do not know where this Banku Kweku is coming from.

• IDRIS PACAS 10 years ago

The misled petitioners were demanding annulment of votes and nothing else. In those three pleadings that were upheld by only 4 judges, the said judges order a re-run and not annulment of votes. Hence, all the nine judges unan ...

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

GOD IS WATCHING FROM A DISTANCE!!!!!

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

That is why you are an illiterate because the end of trial does not mean one can slander the Judges or the court about its decision and the Atuguba court even warned the public about this. Anybody can still be summoned to the ...

• WHO DARES WIN 10 years ago

The court ordered anyone and everyone from commenting on the case in progress to try to influence the decision and not after the verdict. Hence it's you that is an illiterate in this case. Go and read or research into tis pro ...

• Frimpong 10 years ago

My friend be quiet if you don't know whether a charge for contempt charges can still occur after the virdict has been given. The fact is that, it could still happen even after the verdict has been given so you and your unasum ...

• BlindMan 10 years ago

Hardly did Ghanaians hear Vice President Paa Kwesi Amissah Arthur comment on the NPP’s petition when it was before the Supreme Court.
    The Veep's reaction and Baako's charge is a reminder, that we don't talk by heart! Much ...

• Frimpong 10 years ago

My friend be quiet if you don't know whether a charge for contempt can still occur after the virdict has been given. The fact is that, it could still happen even after the verdict has been given so you and your unasuming vice ...

• ADWEN 10 years ago

My concern when Atuguba started cracking the Contempt Power whip seems to be coming through. My concern then was and is still is, where is the issue of Contempt power going to end? Was it going to end
    1. After the Election ...

• william 10 years ago

hOW COULD vEEP be in contempt/ In his excitement over verdict that a last he can focus, he addS he exptected a unanimous decision. Was he ridiculing or condemning the Court? Of cause not1 If so then Nana would even be in cont ...

• Benard 10 years ago

STUPID ELEPOLE. GO BACK TO SCHOOL AND LEARN. VERY SHALLOW MIND

• Abram Abraham 10 years ago

The Vice-President spoke for the majority of the unbiased intelligent people. What is the verdict of the minority:ANNUL AND RE-RUN.Did the NPP petition request for a re-run?.

What I deduced from the ruling and the logical ...

• Osahene 10 years ago

The vice president should think of how best they can govern the country and stop that unnecessary and dangerous comments. His remarks is as ugly as his face.

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Illiterate fool, you can't even cogently express your thoughts and you dumbass is talking about legal matters your jss education did not teach you. You can't even write IMMUNED(immune) and an asshole like you want to have a d ...

• WHO DARES WIN 10 years ago

Cardinal shut it. You keep talking about people's spelling and grammer and yet, we all have problems with the language. Even the English make mistakes with their own language.

• GEORGE 10 years ago

Nana said he does not agree with the court ruling but said he will just take it so, Amisah Athur said he expected 9 clear win so what is the big deal here. Kwaku Barko talks too much. Honestly I do not know why Ghana is allow ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

How is that doom-monger evil Man_of-God Mensah Otabil feeling now? God never granted his evil prayers for chaos and confusion in Ghana.

God has exposed the Devil's disciples (Otabil, Bempah, Afenyi-Dadzi etc) for us to see ...

• Kwamena Dadson 10 years ago

May God forgive you for the STUPID words coming out of your mouth.

• Concerned 10 years ago

The man was only doing what comes naturally to homos. He is irrelevant in our society

• UNDERCOVER 10 years ago

I can tell you he knows all about Ghana because he reads all and remember them all so piss off Richard

• moyo 10 years ago

The Vice President hasn't made any wrong comment.

• GEORGE 10 years ago

There is no day that pass by without this man Kwaku Barko in news headlines, is he the new president of Ghana? sometimes it beats my mind that an ordinary new paper publisher taking the post of president, making himself the p ...

• ATUB 10 years ago

He is far better than Mahama and Amissah.

• ATUB 10 years ago

No he's not but better than Mahama and Amissah.

• Makyere 10 years ago

I also asked the same question. My
    reflection was more to do with the
    logic and psycology.

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Kwaku needs to seriously consider some education.

Yes, what the Vice President said might have been offensive to the Petitions but he did not insult any Judge, so how could that be contempt.

It is like winning a footba ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Do you want the Vice President to go and carry the losers over his shoulders?Nobody is going to pamper the losers,they can go to hell if they want.Thank you.

• now mahama corrupt more hmmm 10 years ago

GAY VEEP IS AN IDIOT,NDC NEVER DO WRONG,SHAME MAY GOD FORGIVE THEM,BECOS OF POWER THEY CAN DO WHAT THEY WONT,GOD TIME IS THE BEST,WE SHALL SEE WHAT CORRUPT MAHAMA CAN DO,WE LEAVE ALL TO ALMIGHT LORD,HE KNOW WHAT IS GOOD FOR G ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Do you know your party never tells you, your J.B Danquah's son Paul Danquah is a well known gay activist. Check yourself first. Tell them to challenge me if they can.

• DOOBIA 10 years ago

This illiterate Baaku needs some education and the Lawyer Ayikoi who now thinks he is best lawyer in town. He shld understand the punishment for sir John was lessened not cos of Ayikoi's brilliance but cos of intervention fro ...

• kofi baidoo 10 years ago

I am of the view that we all wait for 2016 and see whether the piece we claim we are enjoying is indeed the case. we shouldn't forget that 'what we are today is a reflection of what we did yesterday, ans what we have done tod ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Some of us will not wait but destroy the trouble makers. We are all one people and it is about time some too knowing persons realize that in Ghana.

Some have grown long horns while others have sharp teethes. They must rea ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

I believe the Judges spared this foul mouth of a character many times because they knew he would not even understand a sentence on him.

It is about time he gives Ghana some peace of mind.

• KOJO U.K 10 years ago

OH MY BROTHERS.
    WHY ALL THESE HOLABOLOOO AFTER THE VERDICT? PLEASE LETS STOP ALL THESE THINGS, THINK ABOUT WHAT IS AHEAD OF US AS A NATION,FORGET THE PAST AS WELL, GET TOGETHER AND BUILD GHANA.THAT IS WHAT GOD WANTS US TO D ...

• True Talk 10 years ago

These motherfucking idiots should be buried alive

• NANAO!! MOTHER 10 years ago

History of NDC kill thats all they know.Go and buried them alive and live to turn into a stone.

• Micheal 10 years ago

always bad losers. Does Baako really have to have an opinion always. Really!!!!!!!!!he is tiring.

• Bongo Bongo 10 years ago

Joy FM should also show the names of the panelists on this show every now and again for the benefit of those who have tuned-in after the programme has started and for those in the diaspora.
    Keep up the good work.

• Bohyeba Kojo 10 years ago

I KNOW JUSTICE ATUGUBA DID NOT EVEN HEAR OR READ WHAT THE VICE PRESIDENT SAID BECAUSE RADIO GOLD DID NOT REPORT IT, NEITHER DID DAILY POST OR ENQUIRER PUBLISH IT. HOW THEN WILL HE KNOW ABOUT IT? HIS NDC BIASES MAKE HIM LOVE O ...

• Kartas 10 years ago

Mr. Please, don't try to set another fair in the country;or you're trying to make publicity for your chambers or you just want your name to be heard from conner of the world.

• KOOBAH. 10 years ago

BAAKO WHY SOO,WHY DO YOU STILL SUPPORT THESE CRIMINALS WHO KILLED YOUR FATHER HON.KOFI BAAKO ONE OF KWAME NKRUMAH,S INTELLIGENT MINISTERS?
    THEY MADE YOUR FATHER TO BECOME A DRUNKARD AFTER A COUP WHICH OVERTHREW NNKRUMAH.KWAK ...

• Bohyeba Kojo 10 years ago

EVEN ATUGUBA SUPPORTS RAWLINGS,TSATSU AND AND NDC WHO MURDERED JUDGES IN BROAD DAY LIGHT. WHAT ARE YOU SAYING? BLOOD THIRSTY VAMPIRES LIKE YOU SHOULD KEEP. I WONDER WHERE YOU GET PRIDE FROM. YOU SHAMELESS BRATS IN NDC.

• Kels 10 years ago

Bohyeba,are you serious in life?i think u are the devils son..you npp sympathisers underground bad faith rappers talk and write anything shit like you do not eat salt and pepper..you have a diarrhoea mouth,if its good then it ...

• kate 10 years ago

HUMAN RIGHTS ABUSES

In addition to the 3 judges (who were not proven to have committed any crimes in a court of law) the following also were, innocently killed and today the innocent (from all tribes) blood ; still speaks ...

• Conventional Youth. 10 years ago

True true this is not economics but the totality Law of the land .....

• True Ghanaian 10 years ago

All along I knew our VP, like most NDC appointees, was not a smart thinking guy.

• Wiser 10 years ago

Wo ye kwasea pii, is your short devil a wiser?...kurasenii

• NANAO!! MOTHER 10 years ago

Wo nso ye aboa pii. He is wiser than your corrupt Mahama.

• SAMMY-SON OF OKONKOW 10 years ago

THIS IS NO NEWS

• prof 10 years ago

amissah Arthur has a villagetic attitude ,

• OSEI TAWIA JUSTICE (USA). 10 years ago

KWAKU BAAKO,LET ME ASK YOU,WHAT KNOWLEDGE DO YOU HAVE TO ADVISE THE VICE PRESIDENT? WHY DO YOU ALWAYS WANT ATTENTION? WHAT THE VEEP SAID WAS RIGHT B;COS THE NPP AS A PARTY KNEW THAT THEIR PETTITION WAS BOGUS,THEY KNEW THEY AR ...

• KWABENA 10 years ago

kweku Baako is really toooooo Known. If this statement should have come from npp the same Kweku Baako would have defended it WITH HIS LIFE. HIPOCRISY at it PEAK! Kweku knew their petition was bogus and baseless

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

I had also wish 9-0 for all the 6 pleadings in the petition but unfortunately I got only 3 right.The whole petition was very stupid and wasted our precious time for nothing.Npp should take their humiliating defeat somewhere a ...

• Pinkblue 10 years ago

Kwaku Baako, you are bad person; you should be supporting CPP. You are mental!!!!!!!

• Salutation 10 years ago

The NPP should know that what veep said was indirectly done. Now the petitioners did not ask for a re-run but rather a stupid annulment and deduction to make up the number they want to declear their victory but the judges in ...

• Sarkodie 10 years ago

If KOTOKO BEAT HEARTS 2-0 and I make a comment that the score should have been 3-0 if the referee had awarded a penalty he missed or had not disallowed a goal KOTOKO scored is that too much for HEARTS supporters to bear. Plea ...

• KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK 10 years ago

THEY KNOWN WHAT THEY HAVE DONE IT'S WHY THEY WERE SURPRISE THE NPP GOT 3

• asiedu nketiah 10 years ago

foolish and selfish african leaders. to hell with both NDC and NPP

• Kofi Abotsi 10 years ago

I am surprised this Kweku Baako, and rather dejectedly, Ayikoi Otoo will not simply bow out in utter shame after losing a battle they so much tied their fortunes in with. This attitude will only invite comments that depict th ...

• LONTO-BOY 10 years ago

I disagree with Mr Baako and Lawyer Ayikoi Otoo on this. Yes, as the Vice President of Ghana his statement was very disappointing and extremely disrespectful to NPP's leadership. However, there's no element of contempt in hi ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

This only shows his ignorance and the fact Ayikoi Otoo supported him shows, Ayikio is playing a political game with Kwaku Baako's head.

The good lawyer knows the law, but refused to explain it to him just to keep him blin ...

• Wekpa 10 years ago

Kwaku, I think your own sickness is degenerating into something more serious than I initially thought. Seeing a psychiatric frequently (a day before coming on public shows) will be helpful.

• rich 10 years ago

Kweku Baako is one of, if not the most literate, objective, educated, professional journalists that Ghana has. He knows more than you and your whole family together. He has more sense and he is brilliant with his analysis; t ...

• niinoi 10 years ago

Enemies of progress.

• Kofi lawyer 10 years ago

Stop all these stupid and naïve tribal bashing. We are Ghanaians and in the same BOAT. if the boat sinks all tribes and I mean all tribes sink with it. Whether you an Asahnti, Akyim, Ewe Nfanti Moshe, Frafra etc GROW UP The ...

• BARIMABA 10 years ago

It seems to me that the country is ripe for war. We are not going to sit idle for these faggots to make incendiary comments and go Scot-free. The really. I suggest all prisoners be released now. Because for what what went on ...

• Speedy Gonzalez 10 years ago

The wisest man in Ghana is Kwaku Ananse Baako.I do not think it is his business who should be charged of contempt.This man is more than intelligent,he knows everything and is involved in everything topic.He is yet to write a ...

• BARIMABA 10 years ago

Yes, Ghana is ready for war. Something went on at the supreme court between 8 AM and 1 PM to bring the country to its knees. Yes, money was flying all over the place and there was coercion and pressure on judges to abide or f ...

• Kanawu 10 years ago

Tell him to put up or shut up thanks

• Law Speaks 10 years ago

Please, call veep to order. Thank you.

• JOHNSON DWAMENA AKENTENG 10 years ago

This man talks too much . Who will charge him then ? You ?

• kate 10 years ago

Because he knows more tha you lot put together we ghana needs people who know what they are talking about not the asiedu nketias and babies with sharp teeth insulting their elders

• Nana 10 years ago

President John Dramani Mahama had said it all: all Ghanaians had become pocket-lawyers and arm-chair judges with the election petition case. But is that sufficient for Baako, Ayikoi and so on to believe that they are in good ...

• OMAN FM 10 years ago

The soo Cal barimaba, you are very foolish like your leader Akufo ADDO

• kate 10 years ago

DEVELOPMENT; ROADS, HOSPITALS, EDUCATION, EMPLOYMENT, PRICES, HOUSING, SANITATION, GETTING OUR MONEY BACK FROM WOYOME, ISOTOFON, AA SUTOMOBILE, GYEEDA, AKONFEM, TREE PLANTING FARCE,

We have too many problems and we can do ...

• DESCARTES 10 years ago

HE IS DISPLAYING HIS INCOPMPETENCE:

• Truth 10 years ago

Time to move on Kweku. After all Sir John described the ruling as nkontompo (lies) triumphing over truth......what is more contemptuous than that? You are too predictable in your selective criticisms. Try to surprise us for o ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

Expressing such lame views after the fact and hearing is no contempt of court. These NPP supporters must focus on redeeming the party from Akuffo Addo's stranglehold. They must concentrate on the issue at hand and stop this ...

• concerned Ghanaian 10 years ago

the veep be john!

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

This nonesense must stop now,what kind of rubbish is this?You have lost your stupid petition and you don't want anybody to express his opinion?Do you want the Vice President to go and carry the petitioners over his shoulders ...

• Salutation 10 years ago

Stupid usless Baako go burn the sea

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

AYIKOI OTOO IS A DIVISIVE AGENT EVERYWHERE HE GOES THAT IS WHY THE NPP DOESN'T TRUST HIM. SO HE CANNOT TRY TO DIVIDE NDC OR THE PREZ AND HIS VEEP.

• Shaibu 10 years ago

If MR. Ayikoi's measure of competence is for one to be heard or making noise in the airwaves,then Mr. Ayikoi qualifies as the worse Attorney General Ghana ever had,since independence.Because nobody ever heard of him when was ...

• SHAKAMORA 10 years ago

veep from village even look at his dressing he doesnt deserve veep afuom

• Kwasi 10 years ago

Kwasia Wano Nsuo Gimigimi Veep you wik die like Ekow Nkansa idiot .

• KUMBUN 10 years ago

whatever, shame

• MARY 10 years ago

VICE PRESIDENT IS RIGHT. IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN 9-0 THROUGHOUT. DID THE NPP PROVIDE ANY HARD EVIDENCE OF SOMEONE WHO VOTED TWICE OR VERIFIED TWICE EITHER BY BIOMETRIC MEANS OR MANUAL IDENTIFICATION? WHEN ALL VOTES ARE ADDED UP ...

Mr tooooo known Baako. Wise up and grow up. Contempt only applies during the trial. When the case is active. Read and learn before commenting. It's no wonder our people perish for being fed garbage all these years by the like ...

• dave 10 years ago

the veep said nothing bad, cos I always believed that the petitioners are wasting the nation's time. Shame on Kweku Baako. as for Ayikoi Otoo , since he is a contempt lawyer, he just want a job, but he won't get one from the ...

• SMs 10 years ago

Which law forbids people for expressing surprise at a ruling of the SC? I want to know!

• Osborn 10 years ago

Has Baako never expressed such an opinion?

• ANANI MENSAH 10 years ago

THIS KIND OF PERSON BAAKO NEEDS TO SEE THE PSYCHIATRIST.HE SO FOOLISH BUT KEEP MASQUARADING AS AN INTELLECTUAL.

• kate 10 years ago

AND YOU NEED TO BE ADMITTED TO ACCRA MENTAL HOSPITAL FOR YOUR NONSENSE ON GHANAWEB

• seeMe 10 years ago

Are these the types of journalists we produce in Ghana? It's a pity. What is wrong with Kweku Baako. The case is over, anyone can comment! There are limits to the powers of the SC. That's why we call it a democracy. Read, rea ...

• Phlegmatic 10 years ago

It is because of over joy

• GK 10 years ago

Ethnocentric co-horts of NPP

• Maame Esi 10 years ago

So many of us asked the same question, it was not only the Vice President. I am shocked it was not 9-0. Those other judges who followed party line, what really would they say convinced them there was fraud in the 2012 electio ...

• duke 10 years ago

SO ATUGUBA DID NOT FOLLOW NDC LINE?

• bala 10 years ago

for any one and not least but a lawyer to opine that such a statement is contemptuous either needs his law certificate or his head examined.For goodness sake the man only said he expected a 9-0 verdict.And the operative word ...

• GK 10 years ago

YES

• Mike 10 years ago

Does his comment influence the judgement retroactively? Nana Addo said he doesn't agree but accepts. Amissah Arthur says doesn't agree but accepts and Kweku Baako ascends on him....?{\ ,!)?

• rahman wamab 10 years ago

DONT BLAME HIM ,IT IS HIS OWN WAY OF SAYING AM ARROUND

• Nicmens. 10 years ago

Kwaku Baako or Mienu, Gabby and Ayikoi Otoo are spewing nothing but garbage and shuld give us a break; as their only aim is Ghana must be ruled looters of public land and property.

• Baba, Denmark. 10 years ago

NPP should have gone Syria or Egypt way insteadof going to court because Ghana courts are more corrupt than any where in the world. It is time Ghanaians take guns and start putting bullet into the coconut head of Atuguba and ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A Takoradi man was forced to take a day off from work to appear for a minor traffic summons. He grew increasingly restless as he waited hour after endless hour for his case to be heard.
    When his name was called late in the a ...

• Justice Atogu-aboa 10 years ago

When I heard his comments, I asked myself if that thing is Ghana's Veep then, Ghana has been cursed. He is a big fool to be Ghana's Veep. He is disgrace to Fantes.

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 10 years ago

1. There is no law either in the statute books or in court procedure anywhere that bars anybody from commenting on a case either pending or over in any court of law anywhere. The perceptual concoction that one cannot comment ...

• Latent Fire 10 years ago

What did he say wrong? Was the case not dismissed ? If so, then what is wrong for speaking the truth especially after the verdict?

• Edwin 10 years ago

Somebody is damned peeved because the black rubber bag with the money he used to be spoilt with by ali baba and the 40 thieves will never never and never come again till death do them part. A character like this who does not ...

• Aqua asabea 10 years ago

This is kojo Besia who. sees the road to what he shuold know but choses something different. If you add his sickly condition to Atuguba's biased ruling, you should expect nothing but this verbal none sense

• Too shoji 10 years ago

Paddy man , always grumpy.
    Scared for you. It's not good for your Health.
    Be careful

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

What does the half-educated Kweku Baako know about the law?

Has the petition trial turned every Ghanaian into a lawyer?

The Supreme court should have thrown the petition out instead of wasting resources for 8 months.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

Have you realise your own ignorance? If there was nothing out there for the Judges to hear the case, then having spent almost 8-months on it tells that the Judges are out of their senses and don't know what they are there for ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

"They knew something is not right but with politics clouded in their mind, they woefully came with wrong judgement." How else could society have calmed the hurt of the "mate meho" group without them tearing Ghana apart?

N ...

• BENCO 10 years ago

SHORT AND SIMPLE--SOUR GRAPES.

• Dr Sir ozxy 10 years ago

It seem to me that the NDC did not achieve what theyve wanted to do. Comments from the ranks and file from these animals points to the fact that they were planning for WAR. God will fight for Ghana. All those wishing to spill ...

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST see www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• Whatever 10 years ago

Right now, NO supreme court exist so where is the cpntempt? How can people be so ignorant? A whole journalist....hmm. There was no supreme court in place when the vice president disagreed with the ruling so what is Kweku Baak ...

• Kwasi Mahunu 10 years ago

It is true that he was found around some Judges house during the proceeding?

• DAVE 10 years ago

After the judgement too? How does his comment affect the ruling? Are we not pushing this contempt thing too far?

• OMAN BA PA USA 10 years ago

The most "STUPID" Vice president in Ghana I have ever seen is Amissa Attah. He is useless, non-performing, and above all Ugly person. that is why he speaks like a madman. And I guess he is a mad man too.

• ATUB 10 years ago

Now,anybody can make any stupid statesment or comment like the one made by Amissah without being invited to appear to the suprime court. We would not look unconsern for some few people to be dragged to court because nobody is ...

• Boss 10 years ago

Baako and Ayikoi are wrong on their view. The vice President did nothing wrong. Every person who is rational new that Nana has no case and all what they were saying and presenting in the court could not null the results and i ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

otoo and Baako are twin fools

• Osei 10 years ago

Did you listen to Faiblle and Gabby?